Preview Review

Next Review

Pep Boys Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Worst Customer Service Because He Was About to Be on Break
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY -- I was requesting help on a part I need, and they only had one so I ask if I could get one more and the person in charge said, "Well don't you know that I'm about to take my lunch break, I guess I'll never be able to eat". That made me so mad because he kept ignoring me so I could go away. Bottom line, if you don't want to deal with customers go work at a zoo.

Replies
Advertisement
Maintenance and Inspection
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

HUNTSVILLE, ALABAMA -- Pep Boys (store 1593 Memorial Parkway, Huntsville, AL) did the scheduled maintenance on my (used) 2003 SAAB. I recently had the oil changed so PB checked filters, fluids, belts etc. for FREE! The estimates from other shops in the area for this maintenance/service started at $500. The staff was friendly and efficient. I will definitely go back to Pep Boys store 1593.

Replies
I Was Told I Needed a New Belt and Wouldn't Make It Home.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PRATTVILLE, ALABAMA -- I went in for an oil change, and ended up paying around $250 for a belt that didn't even need replacing. They told me I would not make it home on my vehicle unless I got a new belt. They said it has dry warps and had cracks all through it. Before I left I asked for my old belt to show my husband and I realized right away that I had gotten screwed over.

Replies
Being Racist.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARIETTA, GEORGIA -- I went to the store and bought a floor mat for my car and I was waiting for my brother and my brother paid for something else. And there was three cashiers and one of the cashiers was accusing me of stealing a floor mat when I bought it just cause I'm Mexican.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVANSVILLE, INDIANA -- The Store manager Scott was very rude and showed no respect for his customers or even coworkers. Scott has a very bad attitude and treated customers like he didn't even want to help them. So I'm advising that no one go to Pep Boys cause Scott will make it the worst experience you have ever had.

Replies
Yes, You Have a Warranty, No We Won't Honor It
By -

MORENO VALLEY, CALIFORNIA -- Two years ago I took my 1998 Dodge Grand Caravan in to have the serpentine belt replaced since it was original to the vehicle that now had 119,00 miles on it. The service was relatively quick and the van seemed to have new power and life. Two days later, the belt started squeaking again. I called the service department and the man there told me that it does that for a while when it's new and to not worry. I am not a mechanical person. Over the next 2 years my wife and I drive the van a total of 8,200 miles since I drive a company car.

Fast forward to last night, my wife is driving the van home from work at night and the van suddenly loses power to the steering, but can still accelerate. My wife attempts to pull over, nearly wrecking the van due to no power steering and then the van starts overheating. Upon inspection, the serpentine belt had just come loose. We called Pep Boys since the belt had a 3 year warranty and they came and towed the vehicle to their store nearby. Tow service was quick by the way. :D

Inspection revealed that the serpentine belt had come loose, causing loss of power steering, water pump power was lost and caused the radiator to overheat and crack, thermostat was now damaged as well. After replacing the radiator and reattaching the new belt, the system was pressure tested and revealed that no other components were damaged that may have led to the belt coming off. Interesting... I commented to the service manager that it was not a labor warranty issue as the belt would have come off in a matter of days if not immediately if something was not tightened. Since there was no other problems with the van, then it had to be a belt problem.

To make a long story short, the belt failure falls under warranty and resulted in the damage to the radiator. The service manager does not want to cover it under warranty for unknown reasons. He says that the part was put on 2 years ago, I told him that it had a 3 year warranty. He was then evasive and did not talk to me anymore. I have contacted corporate office and haven't heard back from them yet, I have also contact the Bureau of Automotive Repair and filed a complaint with them.

Replies
Be Aware of repair and diagnostic service at Pep Boys (3 repairs worth $194.52 but still the same problem)
By -

WAUKEGAN, ILLINOIS -- I have send a letter to the Pep Boys CEO Lawrence N. Stevenson and posted in their web site (www.pepboys.com) the following information, the manager from their local store (Waukegan IL) called and he said he could not do any thing and I should contact their corporate office which I did. I was told that they will forward that information to their regional manage BUT HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM ever since.

My vehicle was overheating and I took it to the PepBoys in Waukegan IL on 02/11/2006. I was told to replace the THERMOSTAT which I did (see invoice 0966 1111197 for $100.75). I went out of town next day and I came back on 02/16/2006 (the vehicle was not driven in that time) I found the same problem: the vehicle was overheating while in heavy traffic.

I took it back to Pep Boys Waukegan IL on 02/16/2006 and they told me that on 02/11/2006 the mechanic recommended to change the cooling fan relay and thermostat but the service advisor on 02/11/2006 did not say any thing about the cooling fan relay. But any way, as I was told to change the cooling fan relay I agreed and told me to bring the vehicle back next day as they did not have the parts available but I paid for the parts in advance (see invoice 966 1111389 $68.48).

On 02/17/2006 after waiting for 5 hours someone told me that the POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE had to be replaced and they won't be able to do it that day so I had to bring the vehicle next day (they had to order the POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE from the dodge dealer). But I had to pay for the installation of the relay (see invoice 0966 1111410 $25.29).

On 02/18/2006 when I went there someone else informed me that I had to take the vehicle to a Dodge Dealer to reprogram the POWERTAIN CONTROL MODULE as they can not fix that there. This made me wonder that why I was told the previous evening to bring back the vehicle to Pep Boys.

I took the car to a Dodge dealer and after the diagnostic they informed me that there was no problem with the POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE but the only possible cause for vehicle overheating was a cable between relay and PCM. That cable had been replaced and there was no problem with car overheating any more.

Replies
Taken Advantage of
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONROEVILLE/WILKINS TWP, PENNSYLVANIA -- My daughter recently took her car to a local Pep Boys store to have new tires put on her car. She was quoted a good price for the tires and the sales clerk she spoke with was knowledgeable on the product, friendly and very helpful. At this point she was pleased and decided to purchase the tires from the store. What happened next is typical garbage that you hear about but hope it never happens to you.

She was contacted by the store to say that her serpentine belt was cracked and needed to be replaced at a cost of $200.00! She thought something may have been wrong with the belt so she agreed to let them change it. But for a cost of $200.00 really? That is ridiculous. There is no way that belt and the labor to install it would have cost $200.00 at any other reputable garage. She was then told that her bushings needed to be replaced as well but it was decided that the work could wait until later. She was once again contacted stating that she needed a some type of a cam kit (?) on her car.

At this point she was extremely upset and I could not understand a word she was saying. This β€œkit” also resulted in a charge of a few hundred dollars. Her total is now in the $900.00 range. I have heard stories of Pep Boys overcharging customers and making repairs that do not necessarily need to be done and now we have had the unpleasant experience ourselves.

It's a shame as I too am due for 4 new tires on my car and was considering taking it to the same location she has. After what has transpired today, I will never take my car or refer anyone to any of your stores for any type of service. I won't even enter one of your stores to purchase an air freshener. I truly feel that they saw a young women coming into the store alone and she was taken advantage of.

Replies
Advertisement
$600 of Work Including Brakes, Oil Change, Belt, Air Filter and Battery Terminal
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PISCATAWAY, NEW JERSEY -- I am disappointed in the service I got at that store. That store from my experience is all show but no substance to making a customer happy with the work done. For the past few times I have gone there there is always a lapse in performance on the help in the garage to get their tasks done and lack of management to make sure it never happens again.

Today when I picked up my car I asked them everything was done and the counter person said yes. I go to my car to find out they never bothered to top the fluids where they missed checking the washer fluid and the other fluids which were low too, but they remembered to charge me for everything else that needed fixing the car that cost me today $600. The last time I was there for an oil change they forgot the reminder in the windshield. The time before that I had a similar experience with fluids not topped off. It seems they don't care about the customer and I experienced the rudeness from one of the employees today with what I am about to tell you.

As soon as I noticed they did not top the fluids today I drove my car to the bay in the garage where my car was. A man who works for them was driving a customer's truck drove behind my car. He yelled out the window of the truck and said "You can't park there and block the bay." I said, "You didn't top my fluids and I am first before you get to this other customer." I was pissed too that I spent 4 hours for my car and I am not going to be told to move aside. He told me to move anyway. I said no. Another employee in the garage who I address the issue before the man in the truck yelled at me - told him that I come first. I still pissed.

If they like hiring people who don't dot their I's and cross their t's that is your choice. My choice will be to go somewhere else to get the full service I paid for and not to keep checking your employees work out in the garage. My wife keeps telling me not to go there because she had similar experiences in the car being tied up all day and to the next and I tell her the price you can't beat and I like going there. I guess I should say, I get what I pay for.

Replies
Pep Boys Not Men
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I called Pep Boys Store on E Washington St in Indy 317-353-0020 at 5:30pm Friday Dec. 2, 2011 after a lengthy wait and several transfers a male voice answered. "What can I do for you?" he said. I replied, "Well my car won't start. It turns over but doesn't fire. I need a tow and would like to get it fixed.” His reply, "I can't set that up. Call 1-800 Pep Boys. They'll set you up but call me back after that or I won't be able to get to it. They don't give me all the info I need so make sure you call me back if you want it fixed." I said OK and hung up.

I should have not even called the number because I got this feeling that was not positive about how professional this guy was on the phone. But silly me I call and explain to the dispatch woman the behavior she explains to me that the man could have done it but she would help. She then took all the pertinent information; make, year, and color of the van then she told me it would be 100 minutes or an hour and a half – as if I was just some stupid person and that be then towing would be here to pick me up and she would call back in 106 minutes to make sure the request was completed.

Then 106 minutes later I received a call from an automated service to confirm service had been completed. Service had not been completed as stated so a live person took over the call and "forced" me to go over all the info again to verify the order it was all verified but the process was ridicules and when I stated to her that it was ridicules and how incompetent this process was and that I should cancel she said, "OK and you have a better day." as if I was having a bad day.

I told her I wasn't having a bad day that the next two days would be bad days because based on her attitude and inability to relate properly to the problem that I would go ahead and cancel the request and that I'll find a mechanic to fix my van tomorrow.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Pep Boys Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 41 ratings and
133 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Pep Boys
3111 West Allegheny Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19132
215-229-9000 (ph)
215-229-5076 (fax)
www.pepboys.com
Product/Services
Compare General Auto Companies