Pool City Kayak Pools

1 reviews & complaints.

Poor installation
Posted by on
TERRELL, TEXAS -- I recently purchased an Above Ground Perfect Bottom Kayak Pool. There are several issues with the quality of the product and the installation of this pool. First of all I would like to give you some background information on what we have been going through trying to get these issues resolved. The pool was installed on June 21, 2001. Your installation team completed the pool after dark. The inspection was preformed immediately after the completion. It was approximately 10:00pm. We are in a rural location with no available outdoor lighting at that time the installation team were standing on the deck in what now appears to be key places to hide the problems that were not noticed until the following morning in daylight.
We have contacted your office several times beginning the first week of July 2001, and were told that the inspector would call us back. He did not call us back; we had to track him down. Finally when we reached him, he made several appointments with us and did not show up. Four different times we waited all day for him. He did not show up nor did he contact us to explain the delay. When he did show up he filled out a service form and told us that they would schedule the repairs within two days. No one contacted us to schedule repairs. After calling your office several more times, someone had the audacity to fax me a service request form, as if the many times we called had been totally ignored. I returned the form July 30th 2001 and no action has been taken to rectify the situation. After contacting your inspector several more times, we were told that this would be taken care of by the end of the week. On Wednesday the 15th of August I called your inspector Michael. He informed me that the sand that was left out of the installation process would be delivered that day. Instead of delivering the sand an installation person called my house and left a message saying that I would need to find the sand, wait around for delivery and pay for it. This is totally unacceptable. I have already paid for this product to be installed correctly, waited for you to correct the problem and have been very patient with all of the mismanagement and delays. My patients has come to an end.
At this point we are a very unsatisfied customer. We have been very patient with your employee’s rude and disrespectful attitude. All of our efforts to get your company to respond to our complaints have gone unanswered. I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau and every other consumer organization that I can find to file a complaint against your company. I am demanding that you pick up your product immediately. Additionally I demand that you return all of the money that you have been paid for this product including the cost incurred for set-up and installation within ten days. This will be done within a timely manner or I will request that my attorney take appropriate action to recover my loss. I personally own a corporation and we believe customer satisfaction to be our top priority. If I treated my customers as you do, I would not have any customers and would no longer be in business. I believe that you should consider this in future dealing with your customers. Find attached a list of our complaints concerning your product and installation problems.


Issue #1- The deck that was sold to us had been presented as a no slip surface. This is not the case. When wet it is extremely slippery and several people fallen and been hurt. Two such incidents have caused injuries that required medical attention and may result in a claim against my homeowners insurance. I feel that the sales person grossly misrepresented the quality of this item during the sale. This being one of the main reasons for purchasing your product left me very unsatisfied.
Issue #2- The deck was not properly installed. The deck is not joined properly at the corner and when stepped upon collapses at the corner leaving a gap large on the surface, which is extremely dangerous.
Issue #3- We purchased the Perfect Bottom Pool. The sales person explained to us that this would be a perfectly flat surface. Unlike other above ground pools with lumpy bottoms it would be perfectly smooth with 3 inches of sand under the heavy-duty liner. Unfortunately the sand had been left out of the installation leaving the bottom of the pool very lumpy. You can feel the support bars at the bottom and there are big holes and rocks that were not removed or smoothed out during installation. This has been getting worse every day since the installation. At this point we are unable to use the pool due to the danger of tripping over the lumps and falling over the bars in the bottom of the pool. Far from perfect!
Issue # 4- The fencing was installed very poorly. It appears that it was installed before the pool was filled. It bows out on both sides and is very loose. If you apply any pressure at all to the fencing it feels as if it will fall off.
Issue #5- The pool entrance/exit ladder was installed very poorly. It is loose and slides around when in use. This is extremely dangerous and totally unacceptable.
Issue #6- The pool is not level. When filling the pool one corner is about 2 inches lower than the rest of the pool. This should have been leveled at the time of installation.


To help keep me as a potential future customer, I would like the following:

I want my money back

At the very least I would like a response from your company regarding this incident. Thank you for your time.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 08/21/2001:
This is ridiculous! This company should be ashamed of itself! I cannot believe that they even installed this pool without the sand!! Did they think you wouldn't NOTICE??? I have used my3cents service before and have gotten very positive results. Good luck!!
Anonymous on 09/07/2001:
You go dwhiteside!
Anonymous on 09/07/2001:
You go dwhiteside!
Kouma on 04/18/2006:
I am havin Kayak come tomorrow. I sure have a lot of questions that need to be answered. Has the company changed your customer service or are they still poor? Most of the complaints are over a few years old. Have the changed the way they do business? If installed correctly is this a good pool? How much do they charge for a pool and what tactics do they use on the sale pitch?
kayak sucks on 05/09/2007:
I bought a kayak pool in 2005 at the end of the season. We didn't get to use the pool until the following season. That's when we noticed the problems. First problem was that they dug down about 16 inches. I have flat land so there was no good reason for that. We were supposed to be able to put the pump under the deck, which was a total joke. I must have been on the phone for 3 weeks straight trying to get them to come out and run a longer hose. They wated to charge me for them to come out. Then we noticed the pool wasn't level, there was sand inside the walls, and the bottom filter was raised up too high. Kayak east coast was constantly giving me different days to come out and repair my pool. They were supposed to complete the work by the end of the season. I was told to drain the pool to 6 inches from the bottom. Needless to say they never came out until the Monday. At first I was told that the installers were at fault, and that they would take care of all the problems. Then they decided water got under the pool and it was because of the water table. If the pool hadn't been dug out so deep then it shouldn't have happen. The only was I got them to come out was to pay for sand and 600.00 for the job to be fixed. Those guys were here for 3 days. They probably worked a total of 11 hr. And here I am stuck paying for a pool that should have been warranted. I guess that explains why the installer take so long to get to our homes. To make a long story short. I like my pool, but I would not recommend a kayak to any one , just for the fact that service sucks.
my2girls on 06/02/2007:
I almost bought a Kayak pool, however, stumbled upon some negative feedback. I'm having trouble finding any other feedback (negative or positive). Has anyone ever had any positive experience with Kayak pools? How about Gibraltar pools? Also, has anyone ever volunteered to be a demo home? What was your experience?
cindy on 05/30/2012:
I was just going to call them, but now with these problems, thank you, sounds Like a bunch of headaches, which I don't need. Thank you for these, sorry you are going through this. But you helped us out.
David on 06/23/2012:
Congratulations Cindy, You have made the BEST decision of your life! KAYAK pools are an OVERPRICED P.O.S. Their "Lifetime" warranty ends when you sign the paperwork. Their customer service is horrible. This goes for Pool City in Dallas, Texas as well as KAYAK Pools. We are considering starting a Class Action Lawsuit against all parties involved in our pool purchase. Not very happy in Texas City, Texas.
Monty on 06/12/2013:
Michigan Owned-Purchased in 2003 16 x 32 4ft deep, had to replace all the walls in 2006, paint was coming off the walls under the liner. I had to fight with them a little bit, but the covered it. I had to pay for the water and then they sent me a check back for it.
2010 had the wall by the return line buckel, that cost me over $1000 for kayak service to repair it, 2011, the next two wall buckeled, I replaced all three on the end this time, cost me $1200 this time. I would say the pool is way over price and the quality of the materials are poor. The fencing ontop of the decking was fading after 2yrs, and after 5 yrs when you touch it, your hands have white paint on them.
LearnedTheHardWay on 08/06/2013:
I bought a 16x32 flat bottom Kayak in 2002. We've had several problems with it. Before I start, I should say My family love the pool.

We've had to replace the liner 4 times, in that time spand. We've had to replace all the walls once.

I've learned quite a few things about Kayak Pools. I can put the whole thing together now.

The root of all of our problem started because the pool was not level when they installed it. As a result, we've had bulging walls, we've had decks bulging. In the winter, when there was snow on it, the entire deck would bow up and down. The liner had several pin holes.

Last year, I got fedup. I emptied the water and took out all the deckings and the walls. I leveled it. I fixed the deckings. I bought some sand. I bought the new lifetime walls, I bought the 25 mil liner. I installed everything myself. It took me 3 weeks to put everything back together. My wife and kids were pissed at me for taking so long. But I was working alone and it took awhile to make sure the thing was leveled and the walls were put in right. I felt I was building a house. I took no short cuts. Now the pool is fantastic. No poped out decks like before. No bulging walls. No pin holes in the liner. We had a bad winter--lots of snow. The pool did not bow at all. The pool is level and looks awesome.

I wish I could have done that since day 1. The installers don't take the time to put these pools up properly. They cut corners. Ultimately the headache is for us the buyers.

Lessons learned
1. Buy the 25 mil liner.
2. Buy the lifetime walls.
3. Make sure the pool is level.
4. Make sure everything is screwed in properly and all parts are how they're supposed to be (decks ,etc...). Make sure all the walls are supported by the posts. . Make sure all posts are vertical and are sitting flush in the bottom channel.

Do those things before adding water to the pool. It takes time to it right. But if you do take the time, you'll enjoy the pool for a long time.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >