Public Storage - Page 5

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
2.8 out of 5, based on 45 ratings and
85 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Public Storage Bills After Move OUT
Posted by on
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Public Storage has many ways of making money depending upon your situation. In my case since I was out of state, they chose to keep on billing me for a non-existent account.

I had a storage locker for 10 years. I contacted PS about moving out and local organizations who would pickup donations. Donna was very helpful. I was able to contribute thousands of dollars of clothes, furniture, and other household goods to the Viet Nam Veteran for their use or resale.

After I moved out the new clerk went on a rampage billing me for an account that I no longer had. I called Donna and she seemed very scared of this new clerk and his system of billing. The other clerks had even nicknamed him a very derogatory name. She wanted nothing more to do with the situation.

Needless to say, I received a bill for over $500 but it did not include disposal charges for the items that were supposedly there. As I would not pay for this modern day extortion, PS referred the charges to a collection agency. I gave them my information and supporting data but of course they do not get paid if I do not pay. The account has ended up on my credit report as a dispute. Be very careful with Public Storage company. I have had 4 other rental situations with other storage companies during and after the time that I had the account with Public Storage, and there were never any problems. Perhaps that they were small private companies was beneficial.

I contacted the Public Storage home office but they couldn't care less. After all their clerks have found ways to make money in creative ways.

Love to know if there are any lawyers who specialize in going after a company like Public Storage that can invoice you without a valid contract and for not providing any services.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
moneybags on 2008-05-31:
Sounds like a big scam. Contact the DA. Also, if the "company" does nothing, perhaps a US attorney might be interested in a RICO case.
Close commentsAdd reply
Public Storage... more like Pubic Storage. They are the "real storage experts" at taking your money, and poor customer service
Posted by on
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I made the mistake of using their self storage company back at the beginning of September 2006. I have never used self storage before so I booked a reservation online with Public Storage. Their website was easy to navigate and setting up a reservation was actually pretty easy. My movers were on time and everything was actually going smoothely as far as the moving process. I followed the online directions and the public storage location I had printed out driving directions on was not there! I stopped into a Shurgard Storage and they had let me know they were in fact the Public Storage and something about Public recently merged with them. I gave them my reservation number, and the person working there went to show me the storage unit, when they opened it there was a drunk man sleeping inside the unit. I was shocked not only was he apparently living in the storage unit he was using it as a restroom. I was utterly disgusted. The manager apologized to me and offered to transfer me into another unit, and said they would take care of the situation later. We spent another 30 minutes in the office trying to locate a space that would accommodate me while my movers where waiting outside. My movers were being paid by the hour and I had been there just a little over an hour and nothing had been moved in yet. The person behind the counter told me there was no more units to move into and offered to go take care of the situation so I could move in. I said NO WAY, she then found a unit for me at a facillity another 20 minutes drive from that location and transferred my reservation, when I arrived there I found a sign on the door that said they would be back in the next 15 minutes... 50 minutes later I see this person come up and unlock the door and let me in. This individual who claimed to be the manager had to have the worst personal appearance I had seen that day aside from the vagrant found in my original storage unit at the other location. With no apology for the delay the manager proceeds to take their time shows me the unit which I found was acceptable. More time passes while my movers wait because the manager is going over the 30 minutes of paper work that I had done for the second time. I bought my lock and was given a code to access the gate. The manager let my movers in to get me moved finally and I thought all the calamity was over. It turns out I finished the move after the office had closed I put my code into the gate correctly and the gate DID NOT OPEN. I called the office number too see what I could do and I was rolled over to the managers voice mail. I eventually waited until someone came to access the property to exit with my movers. After paying an enormous moving bill I called the store again to complain where I had moved into. It turns out the manager was illiterate and wrote the wrong code on my card. They told me next time I came up there they could fix that issue for me. I asked if I could get the code over the phone because I needed to go there later that evening after the store closed. They told me they couldn't give codes over the phone and I just had to wait until I could come in during business hours. I plan to get my items out of storage as soon as my home is ready to move in. The sooner the better, I just hope my stuff is safe for the time being.

     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2006-09-21:
Public Storage managers have poor personal appearance because they tend to be spun-out tweakers who more often than not trade the blue-prints to the storage facility for an 8-ball of speed.
rah332 on 2006-09-21:
is it possible to put your own lock on the storage dr? I had a neighbor that had things in storage. they checked back on the locker a month later and things are missing. the strange thing is the lock was still on there and no signs of tampering. someone else had a copy of the key or they are expert locksmith. good luck
Anonymous on 2006-09-21:
robwolf100, you know everything about everybody, don't you? I'm very impressed...
Ponie on 2006-09-23:
I was going to read your letter--really I was. I got as far as the 8th word and refuse to go any further! Whatever happened to you--if you were highly overcharged for something--if you were swindled in some way--you deserve it and I hope it doubles! Tacky--tacky--tacky!
Gengar on 2008-04-15:
Public Storage is the worst and I would strongly warn anyone against using them. There are plenty of other choices for storage options.
storage on 2008-06-09:
I believe this. In MI on Haggerty Rd the roofs leak and the employees tell that bids have been taken. The problem seems to be the district management. When you try to resolve issues, you get told to be calm. A mess growing daily.
storage on 2008-06-30:
They are getting worse. Now the unit I use is getting painted; not repaired but a cheap coat of paint and a sign. The roofs still leak, district management hard as ever to get hold of, but apparently paint will improve things. I am trying to relocate.
ncoclub on 2011-01-27:
I am a Ex PS employee. Knowing the policies, I find it highly unlikely that someone was actually living a unit reserved for a customer or living at the property as well. Will be happy to answer further questions about PS. PS was not perfect but in my opinion was not a rip-off.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Wonderful Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
5240 EDISON AVE COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- The first time I stopped by to check the place, I knew that this was where I wanted to leave my possessions. Kristie was a very knowledgeable person, and offered to show us the place without being pushy.

she made us feel comfortable, we moved from Las Vegas NV, and we immediately felt safe and knew that our possessions would be well taken care of. The place is clean, and has easy access.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Outrageous Rate Increases After 6 Months
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- This is the second time I've rented from Public Storage and I should have learned my lesson the first time. They increased my rent more than 12% the first time and I stupidly paid it without complaint. I searched for another storage place but Public Storage had slightly better rates (but not if they are increased after 6 months). And moved. So here I am again. Six months later I am being told that my rates have increased by 14%!!!!!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Considerate, Efficient and Informative Service
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
25820, FLORIDA -- Recently my husband passed away and left the storage unit in my care. the manager, Fred, was very helpful and patient in informing me how to obtain entry into the unit.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Great Service after break-ins PLUS manager Monte busted BOTH guys
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
PORTLAND, OREGON -- At location # 24103 my unit was broken into 2x after we got a new manager. He was quick to inform, very sympathetic and apologetic, had a good handle on making the next attempt harder, at PS' expense, and because of being really vigilant after hours he was able to get police there before the 1st guy finished his 2nd attempt, and again, in time to nail the 2nd guy red-handed. Not only that, but he's always cheerful, polite and professional.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Very Personal, Friendly and Courteous Service. I Thank You.
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA -- She is (Debra) a keen asset to your business. As I am sure you are already aware.
Once again I transition my belongings into your facilities. I appreciate the level of competence that I am greeted with, as well as the fluent flow of the language of the land.

We see the level of many companies and services degrading for sometime now.. Its good to know that I am received at Public storage with the same friendly, knowledgeable service that keeps me a loyal patron.

Thank you, once again.

Sincerely,

James Baylie
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Public Storage - Bait 'n Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
FLORENCE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- 1st month FREE..then, after 5 months, Public Storage increased their rates from $44 to $51 for my 8 x 10. Really??? I realize companies need to raise rates, but that's $84/year from ONE person. I moved my stuff out my house to keep people from stealing things while I'm away, and I still get RIPPED off by the trusting name of "Public Storage." I want a breakdown of WHY so much?
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Great Service From Adriana & Jocelyn
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
VAN NUYS, CALIFORNIA -- On November 27,2013 I went to Public Storage Location 26311 in Van Nuys on Balboa Blvd to complete paperwork for the rental of a unit. I was helped by Adriana & Jocelyn. Both young ladies were very helpful and kind. Public Storage is fortunate to have both young ladies as part of the Public Storage team.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Longtime Customer Very Satisfied
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
WEYMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS -- Property manager John Demore has been an excellent customer service representative. He has always been pleasant, helpful, made me feel safe. Answered my concerns with good information. I am very comfortable having my property in this facility.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >