Preview Review

Next Review

Radio Shack Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Warranty Runaround
By -

Bought a set of wireless headphones to replace the realistic ones that lasted for years. After about six months quit working. After reading the manufactures 1 yr warranty, the warranty told me to take the product and receipt back to place of purchase. First try, yielded nothing but the runaround. I asked not for a refund or replacement but help on the warranty. The associate said that it was after 90 days. I know that, I'm doing what the warranty told me to do. The associate then said that he couldn't do anything, the manager would have to decide and he wasn't there.

Next try, same thing. I didn't want a refund I wanted help with the warranty. The warranty that said to take it back to the store. It is after 90 days won't do anything and I need to contact the manufacturer, said the associate. Funny thing is Auvio premium products can only be bought at RadioShack outlets. It is almost like RadioShack contract manufactures them. I would say that almost makes them the manufacturer. "The warranty says take it back to the place of purchase", I said.. nothing.

What was upsetting is that this time the manager was in back, but wouldn't come out and tell me. The manager let the associate handle the situation. I do need to say that after a while they did say if that they would send them in that it would cost $20. By that time I was upset enough that I was done. Why wouldn't they offer that suggestion at first, that was the help I was asking for. However, after the runaround, the lack of urgency, and making me feel like a bother to them, I was done.

Again, let me be clear I was not asking for a refund or replacement but help in the warranty. The warranty that said take it back to the store. Thinking back, I do not remember ever receiving bad service from RadioShack. However, after this episode and reading that others have had the same experience, I'm done with The Shack.

Replies
Advertisement
Mandatory Upsell
By -

I wanted to buy a Virgin Mobile Optimus V phone. I checked the RadioShack web site, and saw that they had them for $149.99. I then checked availability at the Radio Shack located nearest to me. The site said it was in stock at the RadioShack store in the Defiance, Ohio mall. This is as bit under 20 miles from where I live. I drove to the store, and found the Virgin Mobile display models. I then asked if the phone I wanted was in stock. Yes it was.

I was ready to buy the phone when the clerk asked me if I was already a Virgin Mobile customer. I answered that I was. He then told me that I was REQUIRED to buy airtime. I said no. I asked if the phone was for sale or not. He said that I HAD TO BUY AIRTIME TO BUY THE PHONE. I do not take orders from sales clerks. He stated that it was store policy that I buy airtime in order to buy the phone. I responded that I did not care about the store policy.

If I wanted a cup of coffee, I would go to a restaurant and order one. If the waitress told me that I could only have coffee if I bought a piece of pie too, I would get up and leave. I do not want or need to buy additional airtime. I have enough already and simply want to buy a new phone. The store policy is that customers must buy what the store tells them to buy. My policy when someone is trying to upsell me is to take my business elsewhere.

Is Radio Shack doing so well in this economy that they can afford to turn down sales and lose customers? The clerk said I could come back and talk to the manager. I intend to do just that. Hopefully he or she will be more reasonable, and I will be able to buy the phone that I want. If I don't receive satisfactory service tomorrow morning, RadioShack has lost a customer forever.

Replies
RadioShack Service Plans - Warranty - RSSP
By -

My name is ** and I work for the RadioShack Warranty Company. We provide these warranties to warrant your product free from defects. If you have an issue with your product and call the number on your brochure, we will assist you in a timely manner.

Many people have false hopes on this service plan that is sometimes misrepresented by the Store Representatives. Well I am here to clear that up for you. The Prepaid Cellphone Plan- On prepaid cellphones sold BEFORE 11-15-2009 we will do an in store replacement on the phone. No physical or liquid damage can be present. Also, on any plan THEFT or LOST goods are not covered.

On prepaid cellphones sold AFTER 11-15-2009 due to the amount of store stock we were effecting with in store replacements, we have to issue you a gift card. It is true, they sell gift cards in the store. However, because the warranty sold through RadioShack is administrated by a parent company, the gift card comes from a claims department rather than the Store.

Repair Plans - GPS, Laptops, TVs, Etc. You bring your product into the store, again no physical or liquid damage, and they will troubleshoot it and then call the warranty company for authorization to send it into repair. The repair takes 10-14 days maximum, UNLESS problems or part unavailability happens. IF we cannot repair the product, it will be replaced by our replacement team.

Contract Phones - Phones you sign an agreement on for 1+ year. There are two ways to do this: Repair - You send in your phone for repair (Only TX and NB cover Accidental Damage at this time, on CERTAIN plans) If we are unable to repair your cellphone a replacement usually of same model will be sent.

Advanced Exchanged - We will send you a phone within 1-2 business days, a deposit is required. $550 for Smart Phones (EG. BlackBerry ) $250 for Non-Smart Phones ( EG. Normal Flip Phones), that is 100% refundable once our repair facility receives your phone and the problem is covered under the warranty.

Product Replacement Plans-These are replaced with a Gift Card mailed to you. We have you return your product to us either by a shipping label from the mail or from your E-mail. The gift card covers the price you PAID for the product plus local tax. If you have any further questions feel free to post. I will try and address them promptly. I hope this clears a few things up.

Replies
Employee Perspective
By -

I am a full time sales associate at RadioShack, and after reading some of the posts here by customers and employees, I thought I would share an experience of mine. A customer (an elderly gentleman) came into my store a couple of weeks ago, angry because his cell phone charger wouldn't work and he felt the AT&T store's prices were too high. My manager told him he was eligible for an upgrade and he could get a free phone that comes with the charger. He bought the phone, and left much happier than he came in.

Fast forward a couple weeks, and he comes charging into my store, waving his phone in my face saying that it doesn't work. I politely asked him what the problem was, and he practically threw his phone at me and said "You figure it out". I turned it on, and it turned off again right away. I asked him if he had charged it, and he said he had. I plugged it in to one of the chargers we had in our store and "magically" the phone worked. I was able to make phone calls and everything.

When I unplugged the charger it said "battery low" and I asked him if he had his charger with him, so I could see if there was something wrong with it. He said no and that he wasn't going to waste his time going to get it. He then began screaming about how he shouldn't have a problem with the phone after two weeks.

I tried explaining to him (though he interrupted me several times) that sometimes electronics JUST DON'T WORK, and that I would GLADLY exchange the phone and charger for a brand new one as long as he had the packaging and receipt. He replied with "this is going in the garbage" and stomped out, screaming about how he would never buy anything there again.

The reason I am writing this is to give everyone an idea of some of the people we deal with on a daily basis. I am very well versed with electronics, and I am always pleasant and friendly to my customers, even though they are not always that way with me. Just an FYI.

Replies
Advertisement
Seriously??
By -

People complain so they can get free stuff. More than half of the problems I see at the store is User Error. If yelling at the bottom of the totem pole is what makes you feel like a bigger person - then good for you. Just because they pay the employees to serve the consumer does not mean that they have to take abuse from them. Are there exceptions to the rule? Absolutely.

I worked in a store where none of us were trained by management, we had to train each other - and the staff was not composed of idiots. If you don't like how a company is run then write a LETTER to corporate. If the employees are ignorant it is most likely due to the way they were trained. Customer service is not always personal. I worked in a store that would put people on the schedule for twelve hours at a time back to back days, or put someone on for 13 days without a break. No one is happy all the time kids. NO ONE.

If you get bad service - look around. Consider being human, one bad customer can ruin your WHOLE day, and one understanding person can turn it around. Get over yourselves. When you call a store and send the employees on a scavenger hunt, or when you get angry because we don't know what you want, or when you point fingers at the people just trying to help you - when you yell because Virgin Mobile screwed up your account, when you come in and just want to yell at someone - or when the ignorance is NOT a problem of the staff - BE HUMAN. The angrier you are - the less I want to help you.

It is that simple. We work in a thankless environment. We have to know about everything in the store - and there are new things coming in on every order. Personally - I don't know why your phone isn't working. Managing your prepaid account is not listed in my job description. Working at RadioShack has made me a better customer in other stores. Keep working hard guys.

Replies
Rebate
By -

LEWISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased an MP# player from Radio Shack after seeing an advertisement offering a $70.00 rebate.
I took the item home in December 2005 and with the Christmas hustle and bustle forgot about it.
At the last minute, I remembered and sent the rebate in.
According to Radio Shack rebate....the postmark could be no later than January 13th.
I walked the rebate offer into the post office and asked them to stamp it in front of me...so I was sure the postmark was January 13th.
Two weeks later I received an e-mail that Radio Shack rebate center received my rebate and it was in process.
I waited another two weeks to come home from work to find what I thought was my rebate check, only to find that my rebate was declined saying it was mailed after the rebate.
I called Radio Shack rebate center and was told my item was postmarked January 16th. I asked for a copy of the envelope with the postmark on it telling them I watched them stamp the envelope myself.
I was informed by the person on the telephone that after the information is input into the system the paperwork is destroyed. They have nothing to prove my item was postmarked the 16th.
It's funny how you can walk into a post office on April 15th and have your IRS TAX Form postmarked with that date....but somehow when Radio Shack gets your rebate.....the postmark has a 3 day delay?????
I unfortunately never thought to get a photocopy of my rebate letter stamped with the date......who would have?
For all you out there who purchase with a rebate offer....send them in right away...but even then you probably won't receive it....
Radio Shack will find someway not to give it to you.
What they count on is people forgetting......and if you don't forget....they'll find some other way around it.

Replies
Radio Shack Refusing to Provide Refund (radioshack.com Order)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- On 11/22/12 I ordered an Xbox with free promotional headphones from Radioshack.com. I returned them to my local Radio Shack store on 11/30/12 (found a better deal). I opened the shipping box only to confirm both items were there, but I never opened the box containing the Xbox or the package with the headphones.

The store manager (Oaks Mall, Gainesville, FL), **, and employee **, explained they could not refund me for returning an online order. Radioshack.com states that you can return items to a Radio Shack store and provides the steps you must follow in order to do so, unless the packing slip indicates the item must be mailed back. If their website policy stated that online orders must be mailed back or if my packing slip indicated that, I would have mailed it back.

However, nowhere did my packing slip & order confirmation state that this purchase can only be mailed back for a refund. ** explained what they can do is ship my purchase back via her regular Federal Express guys who deliver from and ship to the Ft. Worth TX warehouse for her every day. Then she explained when the warehouse receives the package, they will process my refund. She provided me the tracking information from the shipping receipt she filled out. The items were shipped back in the same box they came to me in.

On 12/4/12 that tracking info confirms the box was received and signed for by **. However, the only item they acknowledge that was returned were the free headphones. Radioshack.com says b/c the Federal Express shipping receipt lists the weight as too light for an XBOX, they only refund they processed was $0 for the free headphones.

** confirmed for me that she ALWAYS ships back to the warehouse listing the weight as 1 pound, b/c the weight doesn't matter b/c they are using their own Federal Express delivery account. I returned my purchase unopened to Radio Shack which the website says is one of two ways to return an item. Two Radio Shack employees confirmed I returned these unopened items. This company owes me $180.19. Fair warning if you elect to patronize this company.

Update 12/31/12: The local store processed my refund. They admitted the error was on their part for not refunding me when I originally returned the unopened items to the store. At this point, either the warehouse improperly cataloged it upon arrival or the XBOX was stolen after it left the Gainesville store, either en route or in the warehouse.

The local District Manager and Store Manager did their best for me and were able to confirm the box weighed 8.5 pounds when it left Gainesville, and during at least one of the Fed X transfers, and apologized for not simply refunding me in the first place when I returned the item to the store. While I will never again order from Radioshack.com, at least my local Gainesville Radio Shack eventually made it right.

Resolution Update 12/31/2012:

The local Radio Shack refunded me in full.

Replies
Unsatisfactory Service & Unprofessionalism
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLEVILLE, ILLINOIS -- I am writing in reference to a recent encounter I had last night at the Belleville Crossing Radio Shack location, store number #01-6605. I went there to purchase a Cricket Huawei Mercury Ice phone. The first mistake was that I was not greeted and had to actually go up to the counter and approach Angela, a sales rep, rather than her approach me. Tim, the store manager was unable to do so because he had a customer and Bill was counting down the till which were perfectly fine.

I ignored her lack of experience which was evident in her inability to retrieve the desired phone unbeknownst to me that mistake number two was fast approaching. As Angela rung up my transaction, she forgot to add on the rate plan which caused both Bill and Tim to come to her aid, giving her different instructions. Nevertheless, I waited patiently as Tim made her re-ring the transaction the correct way. Before we finished the transaction, I asked if I were receiving the advertised "$10 for every $50 spent promotion" being that I spent $216.

I was informed by Bill that 1) Angela had completed the transaction, 2) they could not offer me the promotion because I bought "airtime", 3) You just missed out this time. Let me mention that Bill went to the back to speak to Tim, the store manager which meant arguing the point was moot. I was dumbfounded because I had all three associates which included the store manager and was not offered the promotion - not even when the two "experienced" sales reps came to Angela's aid.

I thought that the purpose of training was to correctly show the trainee what to do and also to model appropriate actions when an error is made and the customer was at no fault. I did not know I had to suggest promotions that are plastered ALL over the windows and throughout the store in order to receive them.

I am going to post this on Facebook and other consumer sites because I don't believe that they were fine with making me lose out on $30 on the phone and possibly $10 on the plan. Over the last 35 days I have spent almost $600 at Radio Shack purchasing phones and am now of the opinion that I will definitely take my business elsewhere.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't buy cell phones from Radio Shack
By -

GARDEN CITY PARK, NEW YORK -- Went to upgrade my Verizon phone at Radio Shack to get the new Bionic in 9/2011, had a salesperson that knew almost nothing about the phone or Verizon and I was in the store for close to 4 hours to do a simple upgrade. The salesperson told me that Radio Shack's insurance plan was better than Verizon's for the same price, that they replaced your phone with a new phone instead of a refurbished one, which is what he said Verizon did. I asked about lost or stolen phones and he told me they were included, so I switched from Verizon's plan to Radio Shacks.

About 2 weeks later, I brought the Droid Bionic back because it kept shutting down for no reason. They switched it for another one, again in the store for over 2 hours, they just didn't know how to use the equipment. I have to say after all of this I never lost my patience. Went back to Radio Shack this past weekend, 12/18, for a totally different reason and was met with the normal unprofessional behavior of the salespeople. They didn't know what was in their circular, where products were in the store, didn't care if they helped me.

I had my phone in my hand and put it on the counter to find some batteries in my bag that I wanted to recycle. The sales person told me RS doesn't recycle batteries. I told him I was pretty sure they did, so he took them. I left the store, walked to my car, went to make a phone call and realized I didn't have my phone. I searched my car and realized I left it in the store. Went back in within a few minutes of leaving and asked the guys if they saw my phone and they said no.

Another customer offered to call the phone for me and it was ringing on his end, but we couldn't hear it in the store. the ringer was definitely on, so I went back to my car, looked for it some more, looked in the parking lot and called it several more times, nowhere to be found. Very strange since I hadn't gone anywhere. I asked about my insurance plan and guess what? it doesn't cover lost or stolen phones!!!

SO I am out my very expensive phone, have no insurance and no upgrade left. I called and emailed Radio Shack corporate and they couldn't care less, they don't care that their salespeople are lazy and uninterested, don't know how to sell their product and couldn't care less when you walk into the store on football Sunday, because they are too busy watching the game in the back.

Replies
Employee Fried My Sony Vaio!
By -

EL PASO, TEXAS -- 3 weeks ago this Wednesday I happened to make a poor mistake in life. I took my computer to work when I realized I was low in battery and I forgot my charger. I then called a nearby Radio Shack store to confirm if they had any OEM or universal chargers, and the employee (who happens to be brand new and in his first day of opening the store by himself) said to bring the laptop over to see which charging tip it was going to be. I got there about 30 minutes after I called to buy the charger, I took my computer as instructed and I put it in sleep mode with only 15% battery left.

The RS employee then begun trying universal tips on my computer and finally found one that fitted with no problems. He then found a universal plug in the wall charger, which I thought it was weird as laptops only use AC adapters, and connected it to the wall. The computer then completely shut off. My laptop is a Sony Vaio w/ 19.5v plug in. I left the store thinking my computer was completely out of battery and that I had to wait till I got home and that's what I did.

When I got home I connected my computer to the OEM AC adapter and still did NOT turn on. I then removed the battery and smelled it giving me a burned smell and I started fearing the worst, that my computer was fried. I called a computer tech friend and he confirmed that my computer or at least the motherboard was fried. The store where the incident happened has no manager, just a supervisor which makes no sense. I've called the district manager the day it happened and have been calling her constantly and says it all depends on risk management dept. I need my computer to work yet they have no hurry. What should I do?? It's been 3 weeks, should I seek legal advice?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Radio Shack Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
172 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Radio Shack
300 RadioShack Circle
Fort Worth, TX 76102
800-843-7422 (ph)
www.radioshack.com
Compare Electronics Companies