[X]

ReportSwap.com

Star Star Star Star Star
5.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
1 reviews & complaints.

StarStarStarStarStar
Reportswap.com Offers Reports Cheaper Than Carfax
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
IOWA -- I ordered a report for a car I saw on Craigslist. Since I was buying a car from a stranger, I wanted to purchase a vehicle history report. I heard of Carfax.com. I checked out the prices on the reports for Carfax reports I was astound. $40 for 1 Report?? This information should be free. Anyway after doing some searching on Google. The cheapest solution I found was reportswap.com. They only charged me $7.50 for the report. It's not free but hey its better than paying $40 from Carfax.

Phil
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

jktshff1 on 2012-07-09:
Just curious, but why should it be free? Someone has to pay the labor for maintaining a database.
Susan on 2012-07-09:
Why do you think this report should be free? And cheap is not always the way to go when you are buying something like a car. I would pay the extra money to get a report from a reliable company.
trmn8r on 2012-07-09:
I don't know why the report should be free, but if so, $7.50 would be a ripoff as well.

It certainly does beat CarFax, which is $34.99 on the page I saw. I'd like to know if you get the same information.
madconsumer on 2012-07-09:
this is great info!! I never knew carfax cost so much money.

this is a very helpful hint, and voted as such.
GenuineNerd on 2012-07-10:
Carfax once offered a one-time price (I think it was $29.95 at the time) that allowed unlimited Carfax VIN checks for a month. Whether Carfax still offers that plan I don't know offhand. Also, many dealers offer Carfax with their vehicles for sale.
DebtorBasher on 2012-07-10:
I agree with Nerdy...I did the same when I was looking for a car...it was unlimited use for one month. Then, when I bought my current car, the dealership's website had the CarFax reports for each car listed with the car, all I had to do was click on it to view the report and it was all free. I noticed quite a few dealerships have that available online at no charge to the customer.

I don't really take CarFax's info too seriously because there could be a lot of work done on a car through neighborhood garages and self fix 'em ups that are never reported. I think CarFax probably only reports what work is reported through insurance companies...I don't know...I just know that everything I had done on my other car didn't show up at all on the CarFax.
MHR on 2012-11-14:
I paid around $50 for a month on Carfax. Too pricey but the best in details of how often the car was sold and maintenance done. I ran my own car and it only listed my insurance claims and NOT all the times I took it into a professional garage to have it worked on (about 4 times). As much as I hate to say this I would purchase again at $50 for what I got. Also I did vinhistory.com and it wasn't worth it, minimal details and they charged my card 19.95 instead of the 1.95 I thought the site advertised.
Cyclo on 2013-09-05:
Reportswap is a scam. I ordered a report and never got it.
The contact us option on their website keeps giving an error. There is no way to contact them. I have requested a refund through Google Wallet. Lets see what happens.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >