[X]

Ride Auto

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
8 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Watch Out For Ride Auto In Burnsville, MN
Posted by Reggielvr123 on 02/13/2009
BURNSVILLE, MINNESOTA -- Don't believe a word these people say. I called Ride Auto about a vehicle I saw on their internet website. They asked me, "the '05 or '06", I said the '06. I got the info I wanted and asked if it had been in any accidents. I was told "NO ACCIDENTS" The next day when my husband got home from work, we went to the bank to get the money to purchase this vehicle. When we left the bank, I called Ride Auto again, just to make sure the vehicle was still there. I told them that we would be driving 2 hours to get there and even asked about the rush hour traffic, to make sure we'd make it before they closed. I again asked if the vehicle had been in any accidents and this time was told, "I don't think so" When we got there we went into the office and said we were there to see the '06. One guy got up to get the keys the other guy said that vehicle was sold and it didn't even make it to the lot. He said he had sold it to his friend. He tried to get us to look at the '05, which had more miles and a higher price. When I was telling them what I thought about their business, one of the guys said it had a salvage title anyway. They told us so many stories.

One of the guys even told us that the vehicle had never been advertised. So we went to our car and got the ad that I had printed out. When I got home, I decided it was well worth the money to run any vehicles we were thinking about buying thru Carfax. I checked the '06 vehicle, and it did have an accident on 12-20-08. It said the accident involved a front impact, it hit a median safety barrier. So we wasted a 4 hour long trip, and $26 in gas.

DON'T BELIEVE ANYTHING the people from RIDE AUTO tell you. BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read Company Response
Company Response on 10/14/2010:
A very loud and large lady and her husband marched into the office and demanded to be helped while I was on the phone and the other sales man was helping his customer.  After my phone call I asked what they needed and she asked to use the rest room that had no toilet paper.  The husband informed about a vehicle that we had for sale online. I walked them to the vehicle and after the test drive they liked it and wanted to talk numbers.  Our asking price was over their budget she said and after almost 20min of none sense unrelated topics and her fighting about the price and why they couldn't get it for $1500 less since we drove 2 hours we find out that they had a personal check to pay with.  Our policy is that we can not accept personal checks.  She got really upset and acted like this was the end of the world.  I offered her several options but she would not listen.  The husband was trying to keep her cool and collective and understood our policy.  They were from a small town and people trust each other there but unfortunately times have changed.  Long story short after they leave and im relieved I find out that they made up this wild story about "salvage titles" and lying to them about the title.  None sense. Get off your high horse lady and understand that you were wrong and we made every attempt to give you alternative options.  God bless and good luck in the future.
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-13:
When you purchase used cars you HAVE to do your homework. Don't get your heart set on a car that you have never even driven. Run the Carfax BEFORE you take money out of the bank. Sounds like the salesman saved you a headache.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-13:
'Don't get your heart set on a car that you have never even driven.'

Very well said, BokiBean. My dad always said 'Never fall in love with a car'.

And, yes, Carfax is well worth the money. My last vehicle purchase was through a private seller, and he never hesitated to give me the VIN, so I could run it through Carfax.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-02-13:
Good advice from Dad, MissMarple! Also, if you're houseshopping i learned never to fall in love with a house, same deal.
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-10-17:
I agree with the others, pay for the car fax yourself before even looking at the vehicle.


OH shoulda noticed very old review sorry
Posted by Maverick10 on 2011-07-28:
I called about a 2001 bmw 540i advertised for $6,995 that seemed priced a little low. I didnt want to drive a hour and a half to see the vehicle before asking some questions. The manager there was the absolute most unprofessional and rude business owner I have ever talked to. He immediately got defensive and it was like how dare I ask questions. He said what else do you want I have pics and a video and started getting argumentative and raised his voice several times. I mean how can a guy looking for business not take the time to answer a few questions about the history of the car and get angry unless he is hiding something. He then proceeded to tell me that he didnt need to tell me anything about a car for that price! I tried to calm him down but the more we talked the more animated and defensive he got. Needless to say I never got any information let alone a word in. I would never look at this place again and strongly suggest you dont either if there manager has this kind of cusomer service! 2 Thumbs down for ride auto!
Posted by Robert and Dana Bradley on 2011-11-16:
My wife and I bought an '05 Ford 350, crew cab, 4x4, deisel from Ride Auto. We gave $14,995 for the truck which was a very fair price. The staff at Ride Auto was very helpful and attentive. They answered all of our questions and addressed all of our concerns. We had driven from Fargo to pick up the truck and decided to trailer our other truck home. The gentleman that helped us not only called two UHAUL centers to find a car hauler for us, he also negotiated a reduced rate for us. The truck was everything it was advertised to be and my wife and I couldn't be happier.
Sincerely,
Robert Bradley
11/16/2011
Posted by World Loves on 2011-11-28:
This dealer is not reliable and a lier. We have gone to see Toyota Corolla and Toyota Camry yesterday.We called them up 4 times to ask if the cars have clean carfax and clean title,then we would come up to see the cars(We told them that we are coming from 50 miles far this dealer shop),They said both cars have clean car fax and title, in fact, they mentioned the same in their video too.

When we went to see the car, they told us, Corolla got sold out, so we end up with Camry. We drove the car ,It was Okay, But When we requested to see the car fax, we shocked, it got Odometer tampering notification.They tried to tell some stupid stories to make up.

Thank god we did not get Corolla too, When we check the carfax for Corolla, It had accident history, I don't know whether the Corolla buyer had a chance to check.

Don't believe this dealer,They are not good ... They are cheating...
Want to save people time and money ...

Thanks...
Posted by Jerry on 2013-04-08:
I've seen a few cars Ride Auto has posted online and when I asked questions about these cars, they only respond with "WHAT'S YOUR OFFER" Why would I make an offer without knowing anything about the car (damage, previous accidents, clean title, etc) and they refuse to tell you this info? And who would give their hard earned money to these idiots who are unprofessional and rude?

Although, if you look at their store it's a small little sh*tbox used car junk lot, so it's not surprising they have employees to match. They probably aren't looking for college grads with a clean criminal history when they are hiring their sales guys.

STAY AWAY FROM RIDE AUTO
Posted by Chris on 2013-09-07:
This is my advice to all those who don't know anything about Ride Auto. I bought boat from them not to long ago. At first I saw they post the boat on craisglist. They wrote that the boat was excellent condition and ready to hit the water. So I went there to check it out and I really like the boat so I did buy the boat. But before that I told him that I’m not a mechanic so I want to know if the boat have been rewinterized and ready to go he say yes. . I took it home for couple day then I try it out at the lake. The boat was not running and all the gear lube is out. Also the oil is out, the trim hose was bad. Now I can’t even take it the shop to fix it. One more thing they promise me that before I take the boat from the dealer they will make it clean and ready to go. I went the first time they still didn’t clean it so I came home. I went the second time they still haven clean the boat so I have to ask them to clean and I wait to hour just for that. Do any one know how much I pay for it? I pay $8600 for that boat. I recommend all of you not to go there. They don’t have any customer skill plus you don’t want to spend your entire money packet to something that is not working in order. I don’t know how to explain it to make people to understand but please don’t go there. You can always go somewhere else. During that time I saw one of this white guy he came to ask one of the sale guy or the owner that he want to test drive one of the chevy truck. So they just told him to go wait outside at the car. He wait and wait they still sit in the office. I saw him stay outside more than good 40 minutes then left. What kind of customer service is that?
Posted by Jason k on 2013-12-28:
Lets be honest people...anyone prepared to purchase a vehicle without putting an ounce of effort into checking its history via carfax/autocheck OR getting it inspected by a qualified tech before purchaseing gets exactly what they deserve. I am the general manager at a repair facility in the metro and I find it alarming that so many college educated people bring vehicles in that they "just purchased" and there are thousands of dollars of things wrong with them. These are people who are tasked with saving our lives as doctors and multitude of others swaggering on About their big dollar educations and their masters degrees but they don't even know how to open their hood. Your average motor vehicle is 10,000 moving parts built by the lowest bidder regardless of what it says on the grill or what you paid for it. That coupled with the amount of natural disasters that the United States has suffered in the last six years has left millions of vehicles that shine up just fine but have a multitude of problems. Unless you're speaking to the owner of the dealership or the person who physically purchased that machine you should not take anybody's word for it whether they're lying to you or it's an honest mistake. Take responsibility for your own actions and don't drive two hours one way based on the words of a person you've never met...... I have spoken to the employees at ride auto over the telephone and via email for some vehicles they have had for sale in the recent past. Are they the friendliest guys have ever worked with? No they're not but you're not there for a massage Or to make a new BFF--you're there to buy a car And you cannot expect it to be all daisies and lollipops when they want as much as they can get and you want to pay as little as you can. And just as a parting thought to ponder, 30% of all motor vehicles on the road in United States have been in a serious accident---Only 65% of those, are reported through any Vin verification process like Carfax. Most reputable shops will do a full vehicle inspection without an appointment for between $59 and $99. Given the fact that most "seemingly intelligent" people can't see past the shiny paint and smell of armor all, I would say that doing that coupled with a $29 AutoCheck report are probably money well spent....
Posted by jjm5454 on 2014-02-06:
I believe the lady's story. Because it matches up with the many other stories about Ride Auto's shady business practices. I have been dealing with Buy Here Pay Here lots for a long time. And this sounds very familiar to me. Those guys are sharks. The best thing you desperate people can do is your homework. Know what you are dealing with. There are thousands of businesses out there in every category who's sole purpose is to make money. Some will not cross the line. Some don't care. I think Ride Auto does not care. They will lie to you to make money. Therefore, to make the cancer go away, you need to stop feeding it. Stop doing business with them and they will go OUT of business.
Posted by joe bob on 2014-02-12:
They are absolute jerks the manager there told me my money was no good because they wanted to make 150 on awaWarranty that was bull any ways people don't buy from this place
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lying Deceptive Sales
Posted by Jaxonman on 04/03/2014
BURNSVILLE, MINNESOTA -- I called about ( 2007 F150 dark blue vin 1FTPX04557KD32126 ) and specifically asked if it had rust on it and was assured it had none. I specifically stated if it was a repaired or rusty vehicle I was not interested in purchasing. So after talking on the phone with two people at Ride Auto and being assured it was a clean and exceptionally nice truck, I booked a ticket to fly in to buy it.

When I got there, they took me into the garage to see the truck. Upon my first visual I see it has indeed been repainted. On closer inspection I find it has a very poor quality paint finish. I further inspect open door jambs and see large spots of bubbled rust in areas declared on video that there is no rust. Clearly this truck has been repaired to hide damage and rust further more the interior is repaired From holes and wear. Which in turn leaves me with a question of true miles on vehicle, after the fact I see a complaint online of odometer roll back discovery with one vehicle.
I did not buy and walked out they wasted my valuable time dealing with these degenerates So buyer beware STAY AWAY FROM RIDE AUTO.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
$2,000 in Repairs in Less Then 30 Days
Posted by Rachel.bjork on 10/31/2013
These people are rude and lying "salesmen". I had bought Mazda Hatchback from this [snip]parking lot, and less than a month later it needed a new head gasket. Since every car on their lot is "as is no warranty" they completely screwed me over. I am paying $15,000 for this car and am now adding onto that for the parts that have to be replaced. Don't waste your time and money at this [snip] hole.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Every Word They Said Is Lie and Bad Customer Service
Posted by Chu_yan on 09/07/2013
2933 MINNESOTA 13 BURNSVILLE, MN 55337, MINNESOTA -- I did not have a very good experience with Ride Auto Sale. Everything they post or write on Craigslist about their car or boat was lie. I bought a boat from them they said that was excellent condition and ready to hit the water. So, I went there to check it out and I really like the boat so I did buy the boat. But before that, I told him that I’m not a mechanic so I want to know if it has been de-winterized and ready to go, he said yes.

I took it home for a couple days then I tried it out at the lake. The boat was not running and all the gear lube is out. Also the oil is out, the trim hose was bad. Now I can’t even take it the shop to fix it. One more thing, they promised me that before I take the boat from the dealer they will make it clean and ready to go. I went the first time they still didn't’t clean it so I came home. I went the second time they still haven cleaned the boat so I had to ask them to clean and I waited two hours just for that.

Does anyone know how much I paid for it? I paid $8600 for that boat. I recommend all of you not to go there. They don’t have any customer skill plus you don’t want to spend your entire money packet to something that is not in working order.

I don’t know how to explain it to make people understand, but please don’t go there. You can always go somewhere else. During that time I saw this white guy, he came to ask one of the sales guys or the owner that he wanted to test drive one of the Chevy trucks. So they just told him to go wait outside at the car. He waited and waited, they still sat in the office. I saw him stay outside for more than 40 minutes then left. What kind of customer service is that?

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by cmthru on 2013-09-07:
You readily admit you are not a mechanic and took their word. I would have had a qualified mechanic check it.
Posted by FoDaddy19 on 2013-09-08:
Generally speaking, I wouldn't trust a car dealership that sells on craigslist, and I probably wouldn't buy a boat from a car dealer either. Those are two red flags in my book.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Purchased Camper With Issues and Lies
Posted by on 06/02/2013
BURNSVILLE, MINNESOTA -- I purchased camper found water damage just hours after and found they
lied to me about type of trailer construction. When I called them they put me off long enough to cash check and flat out lied to me about who was manager and owner.
Found out with research one person that told me 3 times he is only salesman is actually listed on BBB complaints as manager was told owner not available found out I had seen him there a number of times.

I cannot get them to speak with me face to face about issues they only
misdirect and talk about unrelated things obviously to wear me down.
     
Add reply

Ride Auto is a Rip Off
Posted by Zimmers on 01/18/2012
BURNSVILLE, MINNESOTA -- Purchased a 2011 Kia Forte from Ride Auto they gave me the Carfax that showed the vehicle was in good condition, No accident was reported. When I got the Vehicle home I noticed missing parts and lose bolts under the hood. I took the vehicle in to the Kia dealer where they told me that the car was in an accident and had extensive repair work. It also has bondo all the way down on the passenger side of the vehicle. It had a used strut and knuckle on the passenger side front wheel and had a bent tie rod on it. They also told me it could cost me up to $1000 dollars to fix the Air bag issue. I brought the vehicle back to Ride Auto and told them I want my money back. They told me that there was nothing they could do for me I purchased the vehicle ASIS-NO WARRANTY. I told them about the air bag issue and the missing parts and they told me they would cut me a check for $560 dollars to fix the air bag and the missing parts on the vehicle. I later on got a current Carfax which showed me that the vehicle was in an accident and the air bag was deployed. I again tried to return the vehicle and they told me the same story I purchased the vehicle ASIS- NO Warranty and there was nothing they would do for me. I told him about the cars suspension and the used strut and he told me the only thing he can do is cut me another check for 100 dollars for a front end alignment. I brought the vehicle to tires plus for an alignment and they told me that there was several issues with this vehicle and they couldn't do an alignment on it. The following day I returned to Ride Auto and they told me they would take back the car minus $800 dollars I paid for it. I called the Burnsville Police Dept and told them what was going on and had an officer come in and return the vehicle. The Officer Demanded for them to return the full amount of money back and that I Didn't have to sign anything. They refused to give me my money back, and gave the police officer his attorneys card. They argued that I bought the vehicle ASIS-NO Warranty and that he needed the $800 dollars to pay his employee's and to fix the title. We later got it down to $500 dollars and I was forced to sign an agreement that I wouldn't take any legal action against Ride Auto. Ride Auto is a HACK SHOP that takes in used damaged cars and fixes them up half ass and puts them back on there lot. Don't believe anything these guys say, not even the Carfax. They know how to get a clean carfax report when there is damage done to the vehicles. They purchase the vehicles from out of state damaged, fix them half ass, and give potential buyers (Like Myself) a clean carfax report. Do your research before buying from this place make sure they didn't misrepresent any of the information. A dealer must not withhold information as to the condition of the vehicle at the time of purchase. Fraud may be commited by an autmobile dealership by misrepresenting or failing to disclose such things as the true condition of the vehicle whether the vehicle was involved in an accident or sustained some type of damage when in possession of a prior owner. Make sure you do your research and buy from a reliable Dealer.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by FoDaddy19 on 2012-01-18:
"As-Is" means you accept the vehicle with all faults both known and unknown. It's very important that when purchasing a used car to have a mechanic of your choice give the car a once over before you buy it. I'm surprised they were willing to work with you as much as they did.
Posted by zimmers on 2012-01-18:
AS-IS Doesn't mean you falsify the carfax to sell your damaged product do your homework there is lemon laws that pertain to this.
Posted by Euphonically Endowed on 2012-01-18:
You didn't notice or question the bondo before purchase zimmers? The amount deducted from the refund was most likely for the time you had the vehicle. I returned a vehicle within 3 days of purchase (which was my right under my state law to nullify a contract within that 3 day time period) due to isssues and they deducted for the 3 days of use.
Posted by big daddy on 2012-01-18:
There are lemon laws. BBB has 15 complaints. So why is this place still selling cards?
Posted by zimmers on 2012-01-18:
Its hard to see the bondo when they did a fresh paint job on the passenger side go to craigslist mn and type in kia forte and look at the pic's for ride auto
Close commentsAdd reply

Do Not Buy From Ride Auto Sales
Posted by Jack M on 08/05/2011
BURNSVILLE, MINNESOTA -- DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH RIDE AUTO. I purchased a vehicle from them that came with a 3 month, 3000 mile warranty on 6/14/11. When I went to use the warranty on 8/4/11, the warranty was never activated. I was given a number of reasons by the man that sold me the vehicle, Arash, why the warranty was not activated. First, the warranty people must not have received the check, then the warranty information must not have been entered into computer, third I did not call him sooner to tell him that it was not active, and finally, because my wife and I had expressed a problem the day after purchasing the vehicle and they made the offer for us to bring the vehicle back at that time, the warranty was never activated because I did not speak to Arash himself and instead I spoke to a gentleman named Francisco to tell him that we would not be bringing the vehicle back. Arash said because he never actually spoke to me, he told his sales representative at the warranty place not to activate the warranty. When a problem arose, the ... I purchased a vehicle from them that came with a 3 month, 3000 mile warranty on 6/14/11. When I went to use the warranty on 8/4/11, the warranty was never activated. I was given a number of reasons by the man that sold me the vehicle, Arash, why the warranty was not activated.

First, the warranty people must not have received the check, then the warranty information must not have been entered into computer, third I did not call him sooner to tell him that it was not active, and finally, because my wife and I had expressed a problem the day after purchasing the vehicle and they made the offer for us to bring the vehicle back at that time, the warranty was never activated because I did not speak to Arash himself and instead I spoke to a gentleman named Francisco to tell him that we would not be bringing the vehicle back. Arash said because he never actually spoke to me, he told his sales representative at the warranty place not to activate the warranty.

When a problem arose, the warranty had not been activated, and when it was activated, it was then considered a pre-existing problem even though the problem arose during the supposed warranty period of 6/14/11 - 9/14/11. When I spoke to Arash, he refused to do anything about the problem and said that he didn't know if I was going to bring the vehicle back, so that is why the warranty was not activated (2 months later). When I told him that I would like to bring the vehicle back and receive a refund, he told me "there is nothing I can do for you." If I can't get my problem fixed or get a refund for the vehicle, I will have no choice but to seek legal remedies for breach of contract. Please, if you are considering buying a car from Ride Auto, think again and go somewhere else.
     
Add reply

Never Buy Here!!!!
Posted by AROD on 01/21/2011
BURNSVILLE, MINNESOTA -- I can not warn you enough about staying clear of this dealer. I purchased a Chevy Silverado on April 18th 2010 for $6,995.00. I put $2,000.00 Down the mileage was 131,982 since then the mileage is 139,994 and I have put in over $4,000.00 1.) Replaced engines computer, replaced a solenoid in the transmission $1,100.00 2.) Then $2,200.00 For a new transmission 3.) Now $900.00 For a new fuel transfer system. That is $4,100.00 In 8 months. There is no doubt that they knew the condition of this vehicle and if not they should have. Since I have to continue making payments I am stuck!! Don't you get stuck!! I am contacting the attorney generals office so maybe they will be gone!!

I am married with 4 children and I teach in the school system I was so excited about my new truck only to have had to borrow money several times s0 I could get to work, that is not right.

     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
Well, thats what happens when you buy a high mileage vehicle. I mean 140,000 miles on a chevy is a lot......Did you have a mechanic look the vehicle over before you bought it?
Posted by dan gordon on 2011-01-21:
I'll bet money you didn't check this car out at all before you bought it. People don't normally trade in perfect condition used cars. A vehicle with 132k miles isn't exactly 'new'. I'm sure it looked really pretty but honestly I'll bet you trusted the dealers statemtnts. The AG will do nothing for you.
Posted by momsey on 2011-01-21:
That really stinks, but it's the risk you take when buying any used car, and especially one with so many miles.

What is the attorney general going to do?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
Dan, spot on....most people dont trade in their high mileage vehicles unless they have a reason to do so....and a lot of these small town used car lots get their cars at auctions.....so they have no idea where the vehicle came from or what is wrong with it until they buy it.....these used car lots are in business to make money....if they find a car with a problem, they are going to try to cover it up, or fix it as cheaply as they can....and chances are, if its at an auction house, its because a dealership didnt want it, or couldnt sell it.
Posted by AROD on 2011-01-21:
I am sure you are right about the mileage, but that doesn't mean any dealer should sell a car or truck if it isn't right. I can see if it is one thing that needs fixing but not over 3 for $4000 if they don't know about a vehicles mechanics then they shouldn't' be selling them. I would never go there.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
oh agreed AROD...if we could trust everyone in this world, this site wouldnt exhist. Its the consumer's job to protect themselves from things like this.
Posted by Jim on 2013-06-20:
the dealer is not at fault here, YOU are. the items listed the dealer most likely had no knowledge of and with those miles it is expected to be replaced with the items you mentioned. Always have an expert check the vehicle before buying but no expert can predict engine computer going out, or any thing that is internal.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >