RothRock Nissan

4 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Couldn't Care any Less....
Posted by on
ALLENTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- Rothrock Nissan was very kind and helpful during the shopping process of our car, but once the sale was over, so was the cooperation, congeniality and customer service.

My husband and I dropped our car off for an oil change and to have a dent repaired. Never ever were we told that the dent would not be repaired, that it would take 24 hours for an oil change and that we would have to guess when the car would be ready to be picked up.

Worst of all, my husband and I later were told by the General Manager that he would like to help try to resolve our frustration with the Service Department's handling of our car repair. He asked that we allow him five minutes to speak with us and that five minutes was all he had anyway.

INCREDIBLE!!! Rothrock had our car on their lot for 24 hours and performed NOTHING except an oil change, yet management only had FIVE minutes to discuss this?

Not only could we NOT get an answer in the service department when numerous telephone calls were made to check on the car, but my husband a tractor trailer truck driver eventually had to lug his 18 wheeler, load included to the dealership to find out the status of the car. Even upon doing this NO ONE said that the dent would not be fixed or estimated and that it would take another 6+ hours to do an oil change.

MORE than 18 hours after having dropped the car off, NOTHING had been done. More than 6 hours later, my husband calls and for the first time ever gets an answer from the Service Dept. who then says "yes" your car is done. Could NOT someone have called and let us know that the car was ready to be picked up?.....Just to arrive to the dealership to find that the auto body work had not been done nor estimated, but after 24 hours of having our car in their possession, they did manage to do a measley oil change.

Frustrated by the lack of concern by the staff, the delay in service, the lack of communication and notification, we expressed our displeasure regarding the handling of our repairs with management (General Manager)who said he had only five minutes to discuss it. Our car sat on that lot for 24 hours and the end result was an OIL CHANGE, an unaddressed repair and a manager who had only five minutes and an arrogant attitude.

Thank goodness for ONE staff member that seemed to sincerly care that we were disregarded and being inconvenienced. That relief was short lived when the Assistant to Mr. Dean Rothrock spoke of a free oil change. Whoopie!! Now we get to leave our car ANOTHER 24 hours and disrupt our schedules while we manage with one car to get to two separate jobs and other appointments during the day. NONE of the staff (excluding that one exception I just spoke of) really seemed to care that our car was on the lot for 24 hours to have an oil change and a dent repaired. NONE of the staff really seemed to care that it was inconvenient for us to have ONE car for 24 hours, drag an 18 wheeler to the dealership, make numerous unanswered calls, just to finally arrive to find that the repair was not only not done, but then to learn that it probably wouldn't have been, but an estimate could have been drafted.

Great, so now after calling, dragging in a truck, etc etc at our last stop (The assistant to Mr. Dean Rothrock) we learn that the repair probably couldn't have been made after all...NO one within that 24 hour period felt it necessary to inform us of this upon checking the car in, checking on the car mid day, returning to pick it up, or even pay for the measely oil change. It took the Upper-management to inform that our request to have a repair probably couldn't have been met any way.

Wow, incredible. If you do NOT want a run-around. If you want to buy a car from a company that can also maintain it, repair it and care for it. If you want to buy a car from a dealership that will respect you even AFTER the check has been cashed..if you want to buy a car from a dealership that has a staff that could actually manage to apologize for human error, carelessness and/or neglectfulness you may NOT want to buy your car from the dealership that we did.

We did not leave feeling as though upper management or anyone else down the line really cared that we were inconvenienced for 24 hours for an oil change that we could have had done at a quickie place during our lunch breaks. We did not leave feeling as though upper management cares if we or anyone else for that matters chooses to purchase another car from them again.

If any of this matters to you, you may NOT want to purchase from the dealership that we have. Unless you have 24 hours to spend on an oil change, unless you like requesting a service that you don't get, unless you like finding out 24 hours later that a service you requested may not have been possible that day, unless you like guessing when your car may be ready, unless you like having to leave work in order to speak to someone in the service department, you may want to make different choices than we have.

This was an unpleasant, inconvenient experience that the staff of RothRoth really couldn't' have cared any less about. (Of course there are exceptions to some rules and we are grateful for the ONE staff person who did seem sincere in hoping we received satisfaction)

In sharing this unpleasant experience, we hope to prevent others from enduring the same circumstance by the same dealership. If we need to purchase another Nissan, the 17 miles to Easton's Nissan Dealership will be well worth the trip.
Read 14 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
spiderman2 on 09/01/2006:
Few things you may want to think about: I'm sure you car was not on their lot for 24 working hours; did you have an appointment or did you just drop it off? Also, the service department and the body shop are usually separate. I don't think anyone is going to repair body damage to your vehicle without you approving the estimate. Most of us are inconvenienced when we drop our cars off for service, unless you have a fleet at home! The manager telling you he had only 5 minutes was pretty rude.
*Brenda* on 09/01/2006:
Hey! I live right down the street from there. Another dealership to stay away from is anything Faulkner. Especially stay away from their collission repair place. It's a long story why but maybe I'll post it on my blog.
Congenial on 09/01/2006:
Dear Spiderman,

I can understand that you find it hard to believe that my car was literally on the lot for 24 hours, BUT IT WAS...... from 7 PM until 8:30 PM the next day...even MORE than 24 hrs since we are getting literal. Your disbelief in the facts just proves how UNBELIEVABLE this experience was.
spiderman2 on 09/01/2006:
But, I highly doubt that they work overnight so it may have been there for over 24 hours, but the dealership wasn't opened all 24 of those hours. No one made you drop it off at 7PM when the place was closed. Brenda, I have had great luck with the Faulkners in Central PA, I wonder if they are the same? Bobby Rahal Honda on the other hand sucks.
*Brenda* on 09/01/2006:
Well Spiderman, we haven't. They basically caused another $1200.00 in damages to the brakes and for things they were supposed to fix that they didn't. We took it to David's BMW and they were really great. I don't know if they are all the same but I think I still would feel uncomfortable with the Faulker name. This was at the collision center and I think it's in Allentown (not sure, this was a year ago). The manager was also really rude.
Congenial on 09/01/2006:
Spider man, WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT: 1st of all, they were NOT closed at 7 PM when we took the car to them, 2nd of all...never mind, I'm not going to bother pointing out all the errors you made in your remarks. Bottom line, they kept the car in their possession for 24 hours and did NOT call, communicate, perform the requested duties. You should go work for them because you'd fit right in with all the excuses and incorrect assumptions. You probably DO work for them lol. Brenda I appreciate your remarks, because I certainly want to avoid places like these. No apologies, lots of excuses, I will NEVER buy another car from Rothrock.
spiderman2 on 09/02/2006:
con -- I believe your car was there for 24 hours, but what I am saying is it wasn't 24 hours that people were there able to work on it -- most service departments are not 24 hour operations, I.e. -- you dropped it off hours before there was anyone available to work on it. You know what, they treated you like crap, go find another dealer to work on your car. You don't have to take it to them.
Brenda -- I am curious if all the Faulkners are connected, because they are down by Philly too. The manager at ours is wonderful, but all its takes is a bad manager (Like congenial had to deal with) to make the whole place suck.
Ponie on 09/02/2006:
Whew! Wonder if Congenial's (appropriate nic, right?) 'attitude' had anything to do with the perceived poor service? Considering the sharp snip at spiderman, whose reply made perfect sense, they probably didn't want to talk to her. That car was there 24 clock hours, not 24 working hours. I don't believe I've ever heard of a dealership that is open 24 hours per day--but then I haven't heard everything.
spiderman2 on 09/02/2006:
Thanks Ponie -- I thought it made sense too and I think you may be on to something there.
Congenial on 09/02/2006:
Spiderman, as you know the word congenial means friendly, believe me when I tell you when I went to the dealership that is what they got, friendly, polite me, but that is NOT what I got in return.

As per Ponie's reply, my recount of the events listed were not all from my perspective, or view points, but the FACTS. If they were not perceived as poor service to you then great, you have high tolerance of poor service. See, here is the problem when I say you had some misunderstandings Spiderman:

(1) You thought I dropped the car off without an appointment, but that was not true, I just didn't explain that in my reply because there were a lot of things to explain and the reply was so long already lol. There was an appointment set.

(2) You thought I dropped the car off when they were closed. Not true, again they have very long hours so they were actually open and a live person (not one of those drop box/envelope things) accepted the car. I know some dealers do have drop boxes, but in this case we registered the car 3 hours before they closed. Now I know you are going to tell me you don't believe they were open until ten, but they were.

(3) You said something that made perfect sense: You said you doubt that would repair a dent without giving a quote. YOU WERE RIGHT and that was my point when I said my husband and I called and called and called and called all day and had to leave work to find out what was going on because we could not get an answer and NO one called us with an estimate (which by the way is not exactly unusual for this dealership either).

See we had a dent fixed before and they did NOT call me with an estimate first (but it was OK with us at the time because it wasn't unaffordable or a huge shock), so it wasn't unreasonable to think well maybe they did it that way again, just fixed it with no call to us, but we still needed to know what was happening...estimate-wise? being done?..what was going on?

You were also right when you said that they (the service dept and body shop are usually separate). In my reply I didn't explain all this 'cause it's a lot to write and explain, but again you were right, they are separate, BUT the requests for repairs are taken by the same office, the same person that took our requests and they transfer the vehicle next door to that department.

See, aside from what Ponie may detect as an attitude, is something called facts...yes I admit in writing this I am frustrated so I can understand Ponie's assessment, but the facts are that:

(1) My car was on the lot for 24 hours, if I must count the hours the shop was literally opened, well they close at 10 PM and open at 6 or 7 AM so Ponie being you wantd to point this out you do the many hours is that? (math is not my strong point *smile*) I gave the car to them at 7 PM and picked up the next day after 8:30 PM.

The real point here though is:

(A) NO shop should maintain a car that long open or closed to perform a mere oil change. I'm sure Ponie has calculted and will report back on, but that is TOO long.

(B) Secondly if they could NOT fix the dent the same day as they have done in the past, that is totally understandable, but just INFORM us of that and/or at least provide an estimate.

(c) Thirdly, when you are in possession of someone's car for maintenance and/or repair, let them know when it is done. A simple phone call usually takes care of that

(d) Fourth, I understand they may have been busy, human error may have come into play and that mistakes happen, but a SIMPLE apology would have made a HUGE difference..but NO apology just a LOT of excuses.

I did not post this remark to debate with anyone about how they perceive my attitude because naturally the people replying are anonymous, weren't present and are reading my expression of frustration,(expressions of frustation are most often attitudes lol) so yes I do sound not very frustrated at this point. That doesn't mean that because I am frustrated now after having dealt with this, that I was rude, because I myself deal with the public and I'll leave it at that. I posted this to help some other consumers so they do NOT have to endure the same inconvenience.

NOT one person said "we are sorry about the inconvenience", but the staff themselves endorsed my feelings of poor service, but I would NEVER tell who those employees were, because it's not worth them losing their jobs. I was even told not to bother wasting my time talking to the Service manager because not only would he not care, but he is the force behind this dysfunction. The powers that be were NOT interested in the problem, were not at all apologetic and frankly didn't care and that for me was the disturbing part.

I will not return there for ANY services free or otherwise because of the inconvenience and treatment and I only hope that OTHER consumers don't have to be faced with this because inconvenience is one thing, but to be treated the way my husband and I were made it so much worse.

A service department that is open for 12 hours or more really shouldn't keep a customer's car for 24 hours.

A customer shouldn't have to leave their job in order to speak to someone in the service department.

A customer should be called when the car is ready if they are not given a time when they drop it off.

This is not good service and I hope no one else has to be inconvenienced and then treated poorly on top of it all. This was not a good experience, but I'm glad to put it behind me.

Thanks Nic, I mean Spiderman/Ponie. lol

JAEBrown on 09/05/2006:
I am surprised at the comments I am reading. Whether the dealer was open for 24 hours or not is not the point in the least.

If you drop off a car with or without an appointment, you should have your car back sooner than Congenial received hers. Period.

As for the snippiness in the comments above, why wouldn't any person be snippy if they were in this situation?

I now know not to deal with this car dealer and isn't that the point of this site? If I did not know better, I would think that Spiderman drew a check from this dealer.

Bottom line: If the car dealer could not perform an oil change they should let the customer know. When a car dealer is finished performing the oil change, after the customer already inquired about it, they have a responsibility to notify the customer.

It is for these reasons that so many industries are outsourcing. American businesses have forgotten completely about quality and the consumer.
*Brenda* on 09/06/2006:
Congenial is there a reason that you get your oil changed at the dealer? Me and my hubby get ours changed at the Strauss on 145 and they are always friendly and quick.
Congenial on 09/08/2006:
Brenda, I thought that using the dealer just guaranteed the right oils for the right car models etc., I am thankful for this information. We will definantly try Strauss, it's closer to home and we literally have to pass it in order to get to the dealership. Thanks for the tip, it's very much appreciate and our next stop for an oil change :)
ELH on 02/08/2008:
I have learned the hard way to wait at the shop for my car, if you read my review, you'll see what happened with me. I took my car to Aamco and not only didn't they fix the problem, but they also kept it for DAYS just to do a transmission flush, and later went out of business.
By the way, the Faulkners of Harriisburg are not that great, they have A LOT of complaints. I have an exboyfriend who worked there, he was 17 at the time, a complete moron ( I knew more about cars!), and he was constantly under the influence of drugs! If they employed that, then I can only imagine what their other employees are like! Needless to say the relationship was short-lived, and I came away from it with just some further proof that there are few 'good' mechanics out there and that we are all screwed if we don't know what we are doing or if we don't have one on our side working on our vehicle!
Close commentsAdd reply
RothRock Nissan Complaint (Stay away from RothRock)
Posted by on
ALLENTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- My wife and I purchased a new 2009 Nissan Rogue in 4\2009. Purchasing of this particular vehicle was satisfying.

However when I took the Nissan Rogue in for its first free oil change I started to think twice about this dealership. I dropped the Rogue off the night before for its oil change. The next day (late afternoon) I got a call from the service tech indicating the work was done. So I went to pick up my the Rogue. I opened the hood to the Rogue to confirm the oil change was done (I always try to confirm any work done on my vehicles before I accept the car) I pulled the oil dip stick out and immediately noticed the oil was not new. Took a look at the oil filter and also noticed it was very dirty on the outside and appeared unchanged. Went inside and brought this to the service manager's attention (or RED team manager for Nissan vehicles). His simple answer was they never got to it for the oil change and asked if I could wait 15 minutes for them to do the oil change. I ended up waiting about 45 minutes. I was very frustrated knowing if I did not check the Rogue I would have accepted the vehicle without an oil change. For me this is there first #1 RED flag or lie.

2nd negative experience with service department.

Made an appointment for 4 recalls on my 2009 Rogue and was told they could do all the recalls in 4 hours. Dropped of the Rouge again the night before for the recalls. Got a call that all the work was done accept for one of the recalls which they said they would have to order a part. This was OK with me even tho it means I have to drop it off again and they don't issue out loaners and that they should have known that this part was not available before I made the appointment. Service manager asked me if I would like to have the vehicle inspected now before I pick up the car as this was due in about a month. I said yes, go ahead with the inspection. Well got a 2nd call that day saying the inspection was done and I could pick up the Rogue. I went there to pay for the inspection and pick up the vehicle. When I got to RothRock I looked at my inspection stickers and took notice that they wear never changed to reflect new inspection stickers. I brought this to the attention of the RED team service manager and again I had to sit around for another 45 minutes for the inspection to be completed.
It appears our vehicles are never inspected after the work is supposedly done. This was very frustrating and unprofessional. #2 RED flag .

Today 4\2010 I went to Nissan to trade in my vehicle for another. I was aware that there was marketing support from Nissan to Nissan dealers in the amount of $500. While shopping for a vehicle with the salesman (Steve Castillo) I asked him twice if RothRock Nissan passes this marketing support to there customers on the purchase of any new Nissan vehicles on the lot. Steve Castillo answer was yes both times. For the customers this means that with the support of Nissan, RothRock Nissan dealership will deduct $500 from any vehicle purchase as Steve stated combined with any rebate incentives that may also exist..

So we started negotiations on a Nissan Altima that I was interested in purchasing. We settled on some numbers for the trade in and the purchase of the new Nissan Altima
I guess the salesman and floor manager thought that I was getting to good of a deal because the salesman came back to me and said I cannot have the Marketing support of $500 towards the purchase of this vehicle. This is after he already told me twice that the marketing support of $500 can be passed on to me for the purchase of any vehicle. Steve Castillo also stated that the floor manager said the marketing support does not apply to the purchase of an Altima and that there is not any reference from Nissan to indicate that it does. I asked Steve Castillo if I could use the computer at the dealership to show him that such "Marketing support" does exist. I showed him the marketing support online via there computer which is available on the purchase of a Nissan Altima. Steve Castillo said he would show this to the manager. Well they both came back at me insisting that I was not going to get the marketing support of $500 which is available today 4\13\2010 on the purchase of a Nissan Altima. Again this is after I was told that it can be applied for me towards the purchase of a Nissan Alitma and from the facts online indicating that marketing support does exist for me. Well I was disgusted by the salesman Steve Castillo and his floor manager and told them both I was no longer interested in purchasing the Nissan Altima as they are obviously lying to me and do not wish to pass on the marketing support from Nissan to me which initially I was told that RothRock Nissan does pass this marketing support to there customers.. As I walk towards the front door the floor manager was very arrogant and decided to be abusive & pick an argument with me. We both ended up screaming at each other in the showroom. While some customers where also in the showroom.
Again very unprofessional, disrepectable and a bunch of liars at RothRock Nissan. I guess the money comes first and customers come in 2nd at RothRock Nissan.

I apologize to all those in my area that told me to stay away from RothRock Nissan dealership. I cannot at all recommend this dealership to anyone.
Company Response 04/30/2010:
We at Rothrock Motor Sales are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on your recent service visit. The goal of every Rothrock Employee everyday is to provide each of our customers with excellent service. Unfortunately sometimes we fall short of that goal. We are always looking for way to improve our relationships our customers. We will review our processes and make changes accordingly so a situation such as this does not happen in the future. We did not complete the service you had requested prior to you returning to the dealership due to a paperwork and computer glitch. In essence, the vehicle was assigned to a technician that had left that day early. Unfortunately the job never got reassigned to a different technician in the computer so the vehicle never came in to the shop to have the service completed. Upon your arrival and as soon as we noticed the error we immediately pulled your vehicle in to the shop and completed the service as requested. In apology for the delay we have offered you a complimentary oil cahnge and wash/vacuum/window service for your next visit. That coupon was sent out in the mail today. We pride ourselves on our customer service and apologize for the confusion on that day.

In regards to the sale issue. The deal that was worked with you Rothrock had included all incentives and monies that you were available. Our Sales Manager, Joe, tired to explain how the discounted number was arrived. Incentives and dealer cash monies are taken off the price of the vehicle, not given to you in cash as you had desired. We provide our customers with very competitive pricing. You were receiving a great deal on a new vehicle however you had a different number in mind that we were unable to reach. When you became upset and started using profanity towards our staff that is when we ended all conversation with you. Witness to this fact was Mr. Rothrock who happened to be in the showroom at that time. Our staff was never disrespectful or unprofessional towards you, we do expect the same courtesy in return.

We are still willing to pride you a great deal on a vehicle and would welcome the opporunity to serve you. We are celebrating our 50th Anniversary in business this year! We strive to make every deal and satisfy our customers. We look forward to getting you in a new vehicle soon.
Company Response 05/06/2010:
Dear Sir,

My name is Jason Pereira. I am the Internet Manager/Customer Relations Manager for Rothrock Motor Sales in Allentown PA. Your incident with both our sales and service staff has been brought to my attention. We try very hard to meet and exceed our customers expectations. Between our sales department and all of our fixed operations we deal with over 4000 customers on a monthly basis. We are very proud to have the highest BBB rating possible and strive to keep it!
Please contact me directly and I will personally handle any and all issues you have with our service and sales department. If you are still in the market for a new or pre-owned vehicle, I will handle all the figures for you or make the service appt with the service manager.
Below is my contact information.

Jason Pereira
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 04/14/2010:
You may want to contact The Bureau of Consumer Protection-Office of the Attorney Genaeral, Allentown Regional Office, 801 Hamilton St., 4th Floor, Allentown, PA 18101, ph#610-821-6690. They'd be interested in hearing about this and their location should be convenient to you.
Jr~ on 04/14/2010:
Hi Alain, Thanks for the reply. I will give them a call asap. What do you feel they would be interested in hearing about? Are they like the BBB ?


Jr. :)
PepperElf on 04/14/2010:

I just looked this up and NO it's not like the BBB - it's better actually.

It's the Attorney General, which means they have legal powers.
The BBB has *no* legal authority whatsoever.
Jr~ on 04/14/2010:
I can't thank you both enough. I have emailed them a complaint. I'm sure they will respond asap.

Jr. :)
Anonymous on 04/15/2010:
Jr, when you get resolution please let us know what happened.
Jr~ on 04/15/2010:
I also emailed "Nissan North America" and was surprised when I got a call from them today. Hayley from "Nissan North America" was pleasant to talk to. She said she would look further into my situation although she could not promise me anything with RothRock Nissan dealership but stated that she will call me back on Monday.

The "Attorney General's" office is also looking into my claim and should reply within 48 hours or so.

I really don't know what can be done about this terrible experience I had at RothRock to purchase a car but just leaving postings online here and at and several other sites is enough for me to insure that others may perhaps avoid a car dealership that's willing to take negative chances with its coustomers.

Jr. :)

Jr~ on 04/21/2010:
Just a quick update. Nissan North America got back to me offering a "Gold maintenance" plan on the purchase of only a new Nissan vehicle and good for only 6 months or 12000 miles. Basically covers only 2 or 3 oil changes as that would be only what a new car would need within said time frame besides rotating the tires. Hayley appeared to be more concern with RothRock's service department as the "service department" complaints is what she handles. She forward my sales complaints to other departments within Nissan North. But I thought I'll get a response.

No response from "Attorney General's" office. Perhaps I'll email them again.

If I do decide on getting a new car I'll be avoiding RothRock and Nissan cars.

Seems like the little guy always tends to get the poop end of the stick.

Jr~ on 04/30/2010:
RothRock Nissan Company Response:
"We did not complete the service you had requested prior to you returning to the dealership due to a paperwork and computer glitch. In essence, the vehicle was assigned to a technician that had left that day early. Unfortunately the job never got reassigned to a different technician in the computer so the vehicle never came in to the shop to have the service completed."

Are we referring to the oil change? If so, please let's get the facts straight. The vehicle was dropped off for its first oil change and for the technician to listen to a noise that was coming from the engine area.

And as I stated on my comment and complaint,
"The next day (late afternoon) I got a call from the service tech indicating the work was done. So I went to pick up my the Rogue. I opened the hood to the Rogue to confirm the oil change was done (I always try to confirm any work done on my vehicles before I accept the car) I pulled the oil dip stick out and immediately noticed the oil was not new. Took a look at the oil filter and also noticed it was very dirty on the outside and appeared unchanged. Went inside and brought this to the service manager's attention (or RED team manager for Nissan vehicles). His simple answer was they never got to it for the oil change and asked if I could wait 15 minutes for them to do the oil change.

Here are more facts I can add to my original post.

When I arrived to pick up the supposedly done work to my vehicle and spoke with the Red team service manager, the Red team service manager immediately went and spoke with the technician. I approached the technician before he went out to bring my vehicle in for the oil change. I asked the tech. if he heard any noises from the engine area. He stated that he drove the vehicle early in the day and heard no unusual noises. So he (the tech.) decided to let my car cool down throughout the day so that he may again check for any noises. The tech. said he did not have the chance to drive the car as of yet and that he would do that now before the oil change. He drove the car around the RothRock lot and said he did not here any unusual noises but stated that the CVT tranny is noisy and takes a little getting used to and also stated that he would check for any Technical service bulletins (or as he said TBS) on my vehicle after the oil change. Well eventually the oil change was done. I said Thank you to the tech for getting to the oil change and waited for him to reply on the TSB report. He never did so I brought it up to him. He apologized and said he would do it now. I told him not to bother as I had to leave and had no time to spare.

RothRock, as you can see the same tech. never left for the day but was in fact there all day. So technically the oil change, 2nd drive check for any possible engine area noises was not done prior to me receiving a call indicating my vehicle was ready for pickup. And TSB check was not done while I waited for my vehicle.

RothRock also writes, "Upon your arrival and as soon as we noticed the error we immediately pulled your vehicle in to the shop and completed the service as requested." Excuse me, but I noticed the error.

RothRock also writes, "Our Sales Manager, Joe, tired to explain how the discounted number was arrived. Incentives and dealer cash monies are taken off the price of the vehicle, not given to you in cash as you had desired."

The msrp on the vehicle that I was interested in was $20660.00. Steve Castillo (salesman) came back to me saying there was only $812.00 on this vehicle. He asked me how much of the $812.00 I wanted to give to him\RothRock as this is the only profit on this vehicle. Terrible sales tactics to ask your customers a question like that. I told him that I would purchase the vehicle for only $800.00 below the msrp or $19860.00. And also the option of the 1.9% financing (for 5 years) or $1000 rebate from the manufacturer which was available. And also the marketing support of $500.00 from the manufacturer which was also available to the Nissan dealerships and I was told would be pass on to me. And the trade in amount we all agreed to.
Steve Castillo went back to Joe the floor manager. Steve Castillo came back to me and said I'll agree to this price if you buy the car now. I said, I can buy the vehicle tomorrow as I need to have my wife present for the paper work which she will need to fill out for the loan.
Steve went back to Joe (the floor manager) and came back to me saying that the floor manager said the marketing support of $500.00 does not apply to altimas but only maximas. Now there trying to back out with a false statement. You can now re-read my original post on how I proved to them ( and they already knew) that the marketing support of $500.00 does exist. And indicated how it was promised to me and then eliminated from the deal. Perhaps because of the $800.00? I'm sure you can see now why the floor manager was very arrogant and decided to be abusive & pick an argument with me while I walked away towards the front door knowing I would bring my business elsewhere.
Mr.Rothrock was never in the showroom as I'm sure he would have pulled me over and tried to gain my business back. And I know what he looks like. Nice try.

At the least, one would think that RothRock would be working on retraining Steve Castillo and Joe the floor manager on how to better deal with customers for the sake of the buissness. And improving your service department. Let's not also forget the inspection stickers they forgot to put on my car.

RothRock writes, "We are still willing to pride you a great deal on a vehicle and would welcome the opporunity to serve you." It would take a lot from RothRock to gain my confidence in there dealership. And to also recommend RothRock in the local area. Your reply post to my posted complaint is not enough as it is not factual.
Samato79 on 08/24/2011:
Hi, I have also had problems with Rothrock. I purchased a Dodge Journey 09, in April 2009. I have had many issues with this vehicle along with horrible customer service. Any suggestions who to contact?
NissanOwner on 02/05/2013:
Ditto on the terrible customer service. They never call you, I mean they say they'll let you know at a certain time, and it comes and goes, you have to end up hunting them down to get an answer. The best part is, that after a crappy service visit (oil change taking 2.5 hours to complete, after making a reservation/appointment to wait), they have the nerve to "suggest" that you respond with the highest survey results when you get called in the next day or so.
Close commentsAdd reply
Beware of Rothrock Used Vehicles
Posted by on
ALLENTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a 1999 Chevy Venture about three weeks ago. The first thing I told the salesman was that I wanted something for my kids. He showed me the Venture and told me I didn't need to look at anything else, that this was the van for me. Reliable and safe.

Turns out, the transmission was shot. And Rothrock refuses to repair the vehicle despite the fact that I've only had it for a few weeks because I bought it "as is".

So, in the end, I spent $7,000 for a van with a bad transmission. Second vehicle I bought there in two years time. I would never, ever, buy another vehicle from them.

I figured the company would value me as a customer just a little more considering the fact I've spent almost $14,000 with them over the past two years. I was surprised that they were content with letting me drive away in such a piece of garbage knowing what they did. I thought this company would have a little more integrity.
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 09/27/2007:
If you bought it "as is" with no written or implied warranty of even 30 days, then you can't hold them totally liable.
Anonymous on 09/27/2007:
I agree with PirateWithParrot !
Jr on 04/05/2012:
I disagree, RothRock should have at the least offered to take care of half of the bill. Considering this was a returning customer and word of mouth goes a long way. They most likely knew something was wrong with that vehicle as they have been around long enough to spot a problem with a tranny. RothRock is a large dealership with large complaints. Do a Facebook search "RothRock Complaint" or on google and read all the issues associated with this dealership.
Close commentsAdd reply
Diagnostic Fee
Posted by on
ALLENTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I took my vehicle to Rothrock for a service repair. They had my vehicle for about a week and charged me almost $800 for a diagnostic fee. They did not diagnose the problem, but told me it could be this or it could be that. They wanted to replace several parts but could not guarantee that would solve the issues. I do not feel I should have been charged a diagnostic fee without diagnosing the problem. I took my vehicle to another dealer, they diagnosed the problem the same day, and replaced the part for about $1500 total.
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 12/18/2010:
What work was done for the $800 (test drives, disassembly)? More details would help, beyond they had the car for several days.

What was the final remedy to the problem?
NashEminof on 12/18/2010:
According to the service ticket, computer diagnostic,checked electrical and computer. The problem was the fuel pump which was diagnosed by another dealer.
trmn8r on 12/18/2010:
$800 of diagnostic work was done on a fuel delivery problem, and no parts were replaced? I have never heard of such a thing. I compliment them on not replacing parts at random, but there is a limit to puttering around and saying it might be this or that. And not even coming to a conclusion.

What were the symptoms?
NashEminof on 12/18/2010:
The vehicle is a 2004 Isuzu Axiom direct injection. The check engine light and reduced power were coming on. It has a low pressure fuel pump and a high pressure fuel pump. The high pressure fuel pump was the problem. The dealer told me it could be the computer, it could be the harness, it could be the barometric sensor, and other items. They could not guarantee me if a part was replaced the issue would be resolved. That is when I told them I need my vehicle back so I can take it to another service dealer.
trmn8r on 12/18/2010:
Rothrock is an Isuzu dealer, isn't it? That's bogus. I'm really sorry this happened to you. I don't see why they couldn't put a gauge on there to check the fuel pressure or something. Heck, I'd do that for $50. I admit, it sounds a bit complicated, with two pumps.

It sounds like they don't know what they are doing there. A trained tech should be able to narrow it down more quickly than that, IMO. What dealer fixed it for you?
NashEminof on 12/18/2010:
Rothrock is an Isuzu dealer according to Isuzu corp. I called up Isuzu in California and they told me they have a working relationship with Rothrock. Isuzu also told me they have a technical dept that dealers use if they could not diagnose a problem. I asked Isuzu if Rothrock got in touch with them about my problem, they said Rothrock never called them, otherwise there would be an open case for the vehicle. Isuzu was really surprised why Rothrock did not call them for technical advice (free service for dealers). Rothrock should have called for technical advice if they couldn't diagnose the problem. Fred Beans Nissan in Doylestown Pa. was the dealer that diagnosed the problem. They got my business from now on, and I will recommend them to others.
trmn8r on 12/18/2010:
What a bizarre experience. I'll spread the word - I live in this area, and test drove a car at Rothrock once (with a totally disinterested salesperson). That is highway robbery.

I hope Rothrock gets a large lump of coal in their stocking this Christmas. I'm glad you got it on the second try.
David on 07/30/2013:
Where would the port be for testing the fuel pressure on the 04 ISUZU axiom
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >