[X]
Feedburner count

Royal Caribbean - Page 2

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
35 Reviews & Complaints
www.rccl.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unresponsiveness Of Customer Service
Posted by Cybermac on 11/28/2010
MIAMI, FLORIDA --

September 28, 2010


Corporate Guest Relations
1050 Caribbean Way
Miami, FL 33132

I am writing to complain about the unsatisfactory service regarding my attempts to fax a Request For Medical Records form to your Medical Services Department.

After downloading the form from your web site and providing the necessary information, I faxed the form to the number appearing on the form (305) 982-4900. Following up the submission, when talking to a customer service representative, I was notified the number I had faxed it to was incorrect and to use 305-982-2104. However, this number just rings without connecting to a fax. I called in a third time and was told the fax number to use was 954-517-3721. This also didn’t work. Today, I called again and asked to speak to a Supervisor. I was told that the number to use was, in fact, 305-982-2104, I asked her to ring the number to confirm it was a fax. After being on hold, she assured me she had verified it was a fax. After completing the call, once again, I attempted to send the form to 305-982-2104. Not surprisingly, all I got was the phone ringing and no fax modem connectivity.

This dissemination of an incorrect phone number information and the failure of a customer service representative to handle the process correctly is unacceptable. I’m mailing a copy to the Medical Services Department, as well as enclosing a duplicate copy herein. Hopefully, the form will get to the appropriate focal point so that I can receive a copy of my Medical Services Bill as soon as possible. The form on your web site needs to be updated as well ensuring customer service representatives confirm the accuracy of the information they are providing.

Thank You,


     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2010-11-29:
Let us know if you get your information.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2010-11-29:
Do you belong to the Crown & Anchor Society?

If so try these numbers:

Phone: (800) 526-9723
Fax: 305-373-4394
Email: crownandanchor@rccl.com
Address: Crown & Anchor Society,
P.O. Box 026053, Miami, FL 33102-6053

I have found that they tend to be better informed.

Good luck!
Close commentsAdd reply

'Why not' ignore the guest and make their stay unhappy.
Posted by Unhappy mom on 08/26/2010
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Made the mistake of sailing with Rhapsody of the Seas in August, 2010. First night I slid out of bed. The mattress was old, lopsided and had never been turned. Child froze the first night until I gave her my blanket. One bed was left without a blanket or comforter. Reported it the next day. They laughed at my sliding out of bed but did give us the missing comforter.
The adult pool had so many kids in it, us two adults had to leave after being jumped on, splashed on and kicked. RC did nothing about it when it was reported to them.
A broken hairdryer and the refusal of the housekeeping dept to answer their phone and of guest services to bring a working dryer after they promised one was on the way resulted in our family pictures not being taken.
For two days and repeated attempts to call housekeeping and 3 face to face requests our stateroom was out of soap for the shower. We also ran out of toilet paper and had to go across the hall to get some.
I tried to talk to the manager of guest services about these situations. He said it was cultural and none of it was his area anyway but he would write it up.
The refused to leave us a guest survey until I had waited in line for 20 - 30 minutes on two occasions to try to get one to fill out.
One of my kids found a weeks worth of various pills in a pill dispenser on the shelve in their room. That could have been a very bad situation.
Some of the food for sale in the stateroom had been previously opened and retaped and half the boxes were expired. In the other room, the boxes disappeared then reappeared, minus one. Our departure was delayed while we argued about the missing box which the room attendant had told me she took. We were charged for it anyway.
I asked the pursers desk to have housekeeping come up so I could talk to them. Housekeeping refused. The purser then handed me the phone saying the head housekeeper was on it. It was actually the guest in room ####.
A girl from their customer relations department called me trying to talk me out of writing the President. Then she didn't believe what I reported since the managers I had spoken with never wrote anything up like they were supposed to.
The girl called back today saying they weren't going to refund my money (I had never asked for or even hinted at that response). She was kind of snotty. I told her I hadn't asked for a refund. She replied 'Well, you said you sold your car to pay for the trip and the it was expensive.' I said yes I did say that but I never asked for a refund.
She got me to thinking, though, most travel places will comp you a trip or part of a trip or something to try to get you to try their service again. I had one airline do that after a flight that was as bad as this cruise. I always use that airline now. Obviously RC has so many customers they don't care to work to correct any problems, after all you are a captive of theirs for the duration of the trip.
This is our third cruise in 10 months. The other two were with Carnival. One Carnival was awesome. The second was great. This RC sucked big time. As one mother told me "I am underwhelmed." Another mom and daughter asked me, "Where's the fun?" I agree wholeheartedly with both assessments.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
I can understand not having toilet paper, that would be annoying. Its weird because our room steward was always there when we needed him, since they work off tips and gratuity. The pool situation, I really dont know what you expect RC to do. Kick everyone out of the pool so you can have it for yourself? You actually sold your car to pay for a cruise? Sounds a little weird. I think you kinda ruined the vacation yourself by letting every little inconvenience get to you. Let it go and think of the good time you had, man. Life is too short.
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-08-26:
You sold your car to afford a cruise? Uh, ok....
Posted by unhappy999 on 2010-08-26:
I don't get it, you sold your car to go on this cruise but it was your 3rd cruise in 10 months? Sounds like you had a few small problems but nothing that would ruin a vacation. I've read a lot worse on some of the hotel stays on this site.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
Cultural?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
Wow selling your car to go on a cruise hope its worth it. I have never been on a cruise so I prob don't understand whats so spectacular about them.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-08-28:
"This is our third cruise in 10 months"....but you had to sell your car to go on it? I'm sorry but what? That doesn't make any sense from a financial standpoint.
Close commentsAdd reply

Ruined Vacation
Posted by Corgifirstsarge on 06/28/2010
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Just wanted to say thank you Radiance of the Seas for ruining my Alaskan vacation that I had saved for a year to pay for. First my clothing was stolen at the Vancouver Dock. Complaint was made to customer service who just shrugged his shoulders as if to say what do you want me to do. Simply asked for a newsletter and was causticly replied to that it was in the room. Told him yes, it may be but we cannot access the room until 1:30 so please give me a copy of the newsletter. He slammed it on the desk and walked back into his inner sanctum. The food was deplorable -- pork every night and hardly any fresh vegetables. Now if you were from India you had ample selection of food to choose from. My key card did not work and it took not one but three customer service personnel to figure out how to issue a new one. Then when it came time to purchase an item on the ship, I found out the key card was invalid. The pool was out of order for the first four days of the cruise. All the so-called seminars on the next port were nothing more than enticements to pick up their brochure on where to purchase their diamonds from the ship-owned stores. All you heard was purchase our diamonds. Forget playing a friendly game of bingo as the ship was charging $20 a card to play -- outrageous. When a group of us tried to go off the ship to do our laundry, we were told we could not do so because it was against international law and there was no customs agent at the dock to inspect our laundry. Told the customer service person that in the USA we do not consider laundry a package. The ship's personnel kept stating we could not take a "package" off the ship. Nowhere in the newsletter did it ever state a person could not take their laundry off the ship. Thanks to Radiance of the Seas they made what was suppose to be an enjoyable trip, a trip from hell.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by BEJ on 2010-06-28:
Sorry you had such a bad trip with RCCL.

I have no love for the big cruise lines--too many people and impersonal service. Just got back from Alaska--we were on board the National Geographic Sea Lion. Ship had a maximum of 62 passengers. It was a trip of a lifetime.
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2010-06-28:
I just got off the Carnival Splendor on a 7 night cruise to Mexico and it was a very good time. The food selection was great. I can see why they wouldn't let you offload your laundry. They want you to pay them to do it. On Carnival, one load costs $7. I never thought of going on a cruise but this was my mom's retirement getaway and there were 40 of us in 10 cabins. The port stops are the best part. Everything on board is a complete ripoff.
Close commentsAdd reply

False Advertising on Web Site on Room
Posted by CharlesP on 06/10/2010
Incident = I booked an Alaskan Cruise for May 21-28, 2010 with Royal Caribbean Cruise Line through Scott Mintz at Vacations To Go and the room was supposed to have two beds and a couch that made into a bed for three adults. When I got on the ship the room had two beds and a pull down bunk with a ladder, no couch. This was not what I wanted or paid for. I called Guest Relations immediately on the ship and she told me the ship was completely booked and there was nothing they could do, and that she had received 3 or 4 complaints about the same thing. I turned in the information on this on the customer survey and e-mailed Royal Caribbean and the Travel Agency with Vacations To Go and Royal Caribbean admitted the web link photo showed two beds with a sofa but all they offered is a 10% discount on a future cruise which I would never use with them again. I also would never use Vacations To Go again as they lied to me three times about the accommodations. A very bad experience and a cheating deal from both companies.

     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-10:
Shouldn't your complaint really be with Vacations To Go?
Posted by saj80 on 2010-06-10:
My thought exactly, Dryad. The agent should be trying to get this resolved.
Posted by goduke on 2010-06-10:
So, I suppose a big question is "what's the impact of the problem." Were there 5 folks in the room that needed to sleep, so that someone slept on the floor, or was it more of a aesthetic issue? The compensation would likely be tied to that.
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-06-10:
This is where it pays to do your research. I cruised with Royal Caribbean, but we researched the ship and the rooms before we called the cruise line and reserved the room. We used cruisecritic.com

We also booked directly with the cruise line; watched the prices over the next 12 months and called in for a price adjustment whenever the price dropped.

Our room was exactly as we expected
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-10:
MDS, cruisecritic has some very valuable information. I always read reviews before I book.
Posted by goduke on 2010-06-10:
Stew has some sites he visits before cruising as well. Oh wait...maybe that's something different.
Close commentsAdd reply

Was a Loyal Customer--Never Again--Where is the (Customer) Service?
Posted by DeannaBinDC on 06/07/2010
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I have cruised with Royal Caribbean a few times in the past and thought I would take my new fiance on his first cruise to celebrate our engagement. We saw a ship leaving out of Norfolk, VA and thought it was perfect so we wouldn't have to fly. The day of, we had our family drop us off at the port and in the frenzy, the porter took my fiance's carry on bag with his passport inside. No more than five minutes went by before we told the people at the ship what happened and they told us not to worry because it happens all the time and they could bring us the bag in time for us to board the ship. Over two hours went by and by the time we were told that this was actually impossible, we were standing in the terminal watching the ship sail away and booked as no shows standing in the port.

We immediately got on the the phone with our travel agent and Royal Caribbean to see what could be done. Of course, after hours on hold and talking to multiple people, they said nothing. They wouldn't even let us talk to them directly without our agent on the phone! Long story short, after 5 people teamed up to try to get an answer, we got a letter stating that the only way for us to redeem our trip would be for it to meet it in the next port of call, San Juan. At our own expense of course. None of this was met with a kind word or an "I'm sorry for your situation" from the time we were at the pier to the time we arrived in San Juan. When we got there, they didn't even ask to see identification, we were just on some sort of list along with the other lucky few who had the means to fly down.

To top it all off, we were NOT told that someone had gone in my fiance's bag to retrieve his passport and thought it had been lost when they transported it to the room, because it was in the outside pocket of his suitcase. But on the last day on the ship (which was not the greatest ship I've seen), we happened to run into the same crew member who we told about the passport issue in Norfolk and he said "Oh, yeah, hey man, I have your passport". Ridiculous!

How is it possible that you can hold on to someone's property and not tell them? Not to mention if we hadn't met the ship, they would have kept our bags on the ship and we would have had nothing. We saw them turn people away in Norfolk with nothing but the clothes they were wearing and their purses, and these people had no where to go. We were lucky in that we left out of our hometown and had family to stay with.

Admittedly, we have two things working against us, one being we booked through an agent and turned down the agent's insurance. However, we did learn after the fact that the insurance would not have covered our situation and we would have been out the money anyway.

Regardless, what is my ultimate concern is that you can keep people's money without providing them any kind of service. They made real money off of the three days we missed of our cruise and would have made more had we not showed up. Also, what makes it worse is when you encounter sour people with callous attitudes who put you on hold for minutes on end and respond flatly with the company line, "there's nothing I can do". If you're going to put me through a hassle, at least don't patronize me in the process. I am going to be vacationing for decades to come, and from what I hear, RC doesn't want you on their boat if you are going to complain about anything, so 'so long' Royal Caribbean! And you can bet, I've told this story to everyone I ran into who sails as well. Sorry to say.
     
Read 17 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-06-07:
I cruised on Royal Caribbean just last year and I can assure you, the boarding procedure is far from frenzied unless you wait until the last minute.

Simply put - no passport = no travel; I really don't fault RCL for this one, but I do feel sorry for the OP, this sucks.
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2010-06-07:
This was terrible, but let me give you some advice. Wallet, keys, cellphone, passport...ALWAYS in your pocket. Where was yours?
Posted by Skye on 2010-06-07:
When we travel, I usually keep things for my husband in my pocketbook, wallet, keys, etc.

I do feel for the OP also.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
MDS and Weedwhacked, BA.

Posted by goduke on 2010-06-07:
I'm not a cruiser (so to speak), but from a look at the facts on the surface, it appears that (1) the porter took a bag s/he wasn't supposed to take and (2) the cruise type folks said "no problem, we can get it back for you prior to the cruise," but failed to do so. Irrespective of whether the OP should have kept the passport on his person, it seems like the cruise line has a bit of culpability here.

BTW, Deanna, congrats on the engagement.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
That's pretty much the way I see it goduke.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
I'm unaware of how the porters (who, for the most part, don't work for the cruise line, BTW...I can't speak for every line) would be able to take my carry on. It wouldn't leave my person at any point, until I go through security.

Unless they grabbed it out of my hand, or I handed it to them.

As a matter of fact, I remember being asked quite clearly "Does this bag go?"

Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-06-07:
Before we even set off for our cruise, we received a package in the mail from Royal Caribbean; this package contained everything we needed prior to getting on the ship, including luggage tags. The porters will not take any bag that is not tagged, this is just not how it works.

The turn-around time from the time one cruise ends and the next one begins is very short; I doubt that porters have time to go through thousands of bags trying to find a single bag. Even after the cruise began, it took hours for our bags to arrive at our room.

I flew to Puerto Rico for my cruise and I had to show a passport at the airport both going and coming; if the OP made it there without a passport and still salvaged most of her cruise, she should consider herself lucky. -- Just Saying.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
MDS + 10. Same here with Carnival and Princess.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
Cruising sounds too complicated. Yet another reason I'll never cruise.
Posted by MRM on 2010-06-07:
Stew, cruising is complicated? You're a complicated man yourself, so you shouldnt have any problems going on a cruise!
Posted by goduke on 2010-06-07:
Thanks for the helpful info, MDS.
Posted by goduke on 2010-06-07:
I don't think Stew is talking about cruising on a ship, MRM....
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
Oh? Give us some insight, Goduke.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
Yeah, I was talking about cruising on a ship. Who want's a vacation full of rules and dealing with a bunch of yardbirds like the ones manning this RC cruise. That doesn't sound like something I'd want to do.
Posted by BEJ on 2010-06-07:
I keep all of our travel documents with me in my purse-- my husband's as well. Sorry you had such trouble.
Posted by saj80 on 2010-06-07:
My only question is this: what happened to your old fiance?
Close commentsAdd reply

Alaskan Disaster
Posted by Po'd blonde on 05/25/2010
Took my second Alaskan cruise on Rhaposody of the Sea May 7th. This will be the last time I ever board a cruise ship especially anything owned by Royal Caribbean. Pool deck was being repaired for at least 3 days, Power saws, caution tape the works. Not in the least relaxing. Every night prior to docking in port. Staff would assemble ramps, exit equipment etc. at midnight to approximately 1:30 am again not relaxing or conducive to sleep.

I contracted food poisoning which lasted a week. Sail with these guys again, STAY AWAY!!!!

Believe when anyone asks how my cruise was I tell them!!!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2010-05-26:
The work should have been done before the ship sailed.
Close commentsAdd reply

Can I Get Home - Not Easily You Can't
Posted by Pirate Paul on 01/22/2010
A group of us bought a cruise on Royal Caribbean thru a travel agency. Once having the cruise booked, it was time to air transportation, in this case to San Juan. OK, that's done. Now we need to get from the airport to the ship. Going a day early (it snows where we are) so we decided to deal with that when we got there...Next - what shore excursions are available and how do we book them - little problem, create an account with RC, pick your activities, pay with credit card, get confirmations. Neat. Now, how do we get from the ship to the airport when cruise ends. RC site says that if you book thru travel agent, call RC customer service to arrange transfers or you can buy them on board. Decide to get it done before the distractions of onboard life. So, call RC customer service. They say "call your travel agent". OK, we can spent a grand on their site arranging shore activities but can't buy a transfer to the airport (unless you happen to be on the ship, then its OK) We play their game. Call travel agent, provide airline itinerary, and the obligatory credit card info. They promise to arrange with RC. "its a done deal" (maybe)

Do an online check on the RC site of travel documents, it says nothing about shore transfers for two days. Check with credit card company and find RC took the money immediately when contacted by travel agent. Call RC and ask why transfer documents are not in our "guest vacation documents" on line. They tell me that's a problem for the travel agent, but don't worry "your on the manifest". I have visions of being on the pier in San Juan and saying to the bus driver "but Amanda told me I was on the manifest" Him saying "who is Amanda?". I insist that since RC took my money, they should be responsible for issuing a transfer voucher. After talking to a supervisor, they promise to do me a favor and deal with the travel agent for me. Later, they send a voucher to the person who booked the cruise who lives in another state. It took hours in several days to get done what should have been a simple few clicks on their website.

IF YOU CAN BOOK SHORE EXCURSIONS, BUY SODA PACKAGES, BEER PACKAGES AND ALL MANNER OF OTHER THINGS ON THEIR WEBSITE, WHY NOT A SIMPLE AIRPORT TRANSFER ????
ROYAL CARIBBEAN IS IMPOSSIBLE TO DEAL WITH.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Ben There on 2010-01-22:
Every cruise I have taken has been met by tons of taxis, and their rates were generally cheaper than the transfer especially if there are several of you sharing a taxi. You should wait till your departure date to see how many taxis are in the area and the cost. If you decide that you do not want to deal with a local taxi or the price is more expensive then book it on board.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-22:
I agree with Ben. I've had to use that option once, and it wasn't expensive.

Close commentsAdd reply

The yellow Sea...Slept in urine on my birthday!
Posted by Snap01 on 01/15/2010
My fiancé and I thought we would celebrate my birthday with Royal. At first, we were going to book with a competitor. But then our travel agent suggested Royal Caribbean. Our first afternoon on the boat on my birthday we decided to take a nap. We slept very well for about 2 hours… in urine… because the staff had not changed the bedding. We only found this out after we retired for the evening at about 2am. We pulled the bedding off of the beds to push them together that evening. The bedding reeked of urine when we pulled the bedding off. We immediately reported this to management. We were then moved to a very cold room where the temperature could not be controlled. The following day we advised management of this issue. We were then moved to another room…smaller! Wow, three days into a five day cruise the issue was finally semi-resolved. I won’t bother to go into how hard it was to find a clean dish to eat on this cruise. But back to the urine… “The guest services manager M advised that it wasn’t his problem. He directed us to another guy who sent us back to M. This was the worse service that I had ever had. Well, to sum it all up, we were promised 20% compensation on our next cruise… to sleep in urine. We then complained to Associate Hotel Director. M then promised 30% compensation on the next cruise! Wow, would you sleep in urine for 30%… on the NEXT cruise? No takers? Well, we never saw the 30% in writting.

We then received a call a month later from a cruise line representative who left a message with us that gave a toll free number that led to… oh, nowhere to call them back! Wow! Never again will I cruise Royal… or any of their affiliates. Now I doubt that this is published to be read by potential customers who desire to know that truth about this cruise line, or their reputation for NOT addressing passenger issues

     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-15:
Firstly, you can't use personal names in reviews. Secondly, they moved you to probably what they had open at the time. Thirdly, they are offering to compensate you by giving you a pretty healthy discount but you keep saying you're gonna sleep in urine. Get over that part. It's disgusting but move on. Fourthly, you can't use personal names in reviews. Oh, I said that already.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-15:
How disgusting! Either the maids didn't change the sheets, or they peed on them themselves. Either way, this is completely unacceptable. I don't care how many rooms they moved you to, the fact that they started you out with a pee bed is unacceptable.

The discount should have been for the trip you were on, not for a future trip. I'm sure they offer 30% off every now and then as it is. I guess they don't pee on you with those everyday discounts.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-16:
you slept *very well* for two hours in urine. yet didn't notice the *reek* of urine until the bedding was pulled off later. I find that surprising.

is it possible one of you had an accident while napping?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-16:
Ah, "Yellow River" by I.P. Freely...one of my favorite books.
Posted by Inat on 2010-01-16:
"Slept in urine on my birthday! " Hey, you're lucky. I have some creepy friends who PAY to do that...
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-16:
Frankly, I'm not buying this. On all the cruises I've ever been on, you are not even allowed in your cabin until all cleaning has been done. They even close off the whole area with big doors.

KJ, I was thinking the same thing.

LOL at Trixta!

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-16:
I'm with you on that point Marps, the story makes no sense.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-16:
Trix, hadn't heard that on in years!!! LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-16:
OP, you are basically saying that the previous guests made up the beds and cleaned the cabin to make it look like everything was up to par. Highly unlikely.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-16:
Makes no sense at all.
Close commentsAdd reply

Ship should be rated as a 1 star
Posted by Marya3804 on 12/30/2009
We were to cruise on the "Voyager of the Seas" by Royal Caribbean.
Beware that the ship is not at all a 4 star. The service was pitiful,
the food and coffee not fit for consumption. Our luggage was not found
until 10 pm the first night.
We sat in port for two days (not Royal Caribbean's fault) and were told
if we would disembark by 11 pm that they would give us a voucher for another cruise. Over 1,000 people got off the ship. I am pretty sure
they were happy to do so. I know we were.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Slimjim on 2009-12-30:
Although it was 8 years ago, I've been on this ship. I had a completely opposite experience, not just on Voyager, but all RC cruises I've taken. Maybe it was just one of those off trips for them.
Close commentsAdd reply

Royal Caribbean Management Disaster
Posted by Hamlet35_2000 on 12/26/2009
I recently got back from a 4 night cruise on your cruise ship “The Enchantment of the Seas”. We sailed out on the 10th of September and my partner and our friends from Texas were all excited and ready to begin a relaxing and fun-filled voyage. While we enjoyed the cruise as a whole (mainly due to one of your crew members) there were moments of extreme rudeness from managers, absurd comments (Once again from the management team) and aggravating inconsistencies from – once again, you guessed it – from managers. I don’t know if these managers didn’t care, or are not aware of how rude they sounded, or if they were just giving us what they believed we paid for, but whatever the reason, I for one was especially not happy with them and continued to be aggravated at times with them, even as we were debarking.

Problems for us began on Day One – we were assigned one table and then they moved us because there were guests still at our table when we arrived for the late seating at 8:30. The table was right off the kitchen and we got to see the parade of food and drinks go by on each night of our cruise – while we could have had the pleasure of looking down upon the rotunda area of the dining room and the Captain’s Table if we had our original table. But, we were there to have fun and did not complain, even when another of the Head Waiters tried to move us to the table we should have been in, where the next group of guests that should have been at our new table where now seated. They removed our bread and glasses and began having us move until…another head waiter said “No, they are staying here.” This Head Waiter/Dining Room Manager/Whoever Manager then took out his sharpie and changed our table number on our room keys on a permanent basis for the rest of the cruise …so we were then stuck at the kitchen table. This was fine and we didn’t complain. Service took forever that night – surprising because we were right next to the kitchen.

Day Two – problems really begin. We had an enjoyable day in Key West and were coming back to have lunch in the dining room. Hostess ([snip] – rude in a smiling nasty evil way) said one of our friends had a sleeveless shirt on (which it wasn’t – it was a shorter sleeved shirt, with hemmed sleeves, but was not a tank-top). Our friends decided to go eat in the Windjammer because they didn’t want to change, while my partner really wanted to eat in the dining room – so because of some arcane European rule, we did not get to eat lunch with our friends who we see if we are lucky once a year. Sad, sad, sad. Where was the customer service? Not in the dining room that day, and I didn’t even get what I ordered for lunch! Later that night, at the kitchen table, our Head Waiter was talking with us, and we mentioned about the lunch. He said that if we had problems getting into the dining room again, just tell the hostesses to call for him and he would take care of it. Guess what, we took him at his word and actually tried to get into the dining room for breakfast the next day – silly us…

Day Three – Breakfast. Same type of shirt (not a tank-top – not a sleeveless shirt, still no one seems to care). Ask for Head Waiter – says to follow him… Hostess ([snip] again of course) decides she will get Head Waiter in trouble (hence why you don’t hear me mention his name, since he was wonderful and was the only one at that point attempting to provide any form of guest service) and [snip] goes to her manager and we are denied breakfast in the dining room. The most upsetting part of this was the only time I was able to have a breakfast with Metal Building Company my friend from Texas who also happens to be my best friend from Grammar School, so we missed out on a special time because of an uptight hostess with a God Complex and an inconsistent rule. I saw women in tank-tops and women in bathing suits and any other assorted strapless tank-toppy things, but we were denied because, and here I must quote some manager who came from above “we are hairy men”. This Manager (assuming he was a manager, don’t really know) then told us to go to Guest Relations if we have a problem, which I did. This particular quote “hairy men” continued to be spoken out loud and expanded upon when we went to Guest Relations. I still haven’t had breakfast … up since 6:30 and still haven’t had breakfast at 9:00. Guest Relations can’t do anything – we are after all “hairy men” in shirts which are not tank-tops and not sleeveless, but anyways… Windjammer here we come… packed – no seats…. Back to Dining room with my partner, minus my best friend who decides to eat in his room. We are there at 9:35 – Dining room is closed and [snip] tells us she will not seat us (my partner and I both are in appropriate shirts). Back to Guest Relations where this aggravating comedy is about to get a star player – [snip] Torrez, Guest Relation’s Manager. Once again we are “hairy men” and can she get us room service (remember I still haven’t eaten). Food and Beverage Manager not available have a nice day, maybe you can talk to him later…. I’m on vacation, I give up! I finally do get breakfast once the whole ship leaves for Cozumel.

We are still on Day Three, and we hear that [snip] has maybe set up a meeting with the Food and Beverage Manager or maybe that the food and beverage manager will be available at 8:00 or something which is never quite communicated to me, but and this is a big but … who sets up meetings for someone on their vacation? If I want to attend a meeting, which I was not told about, I would stay home at work and have all the meetings in the world. I am not here for anyone to schedule a meeting for me, and besides we were at the Magic Show during the “meeting”. If [snip] or the Food and Beverage Manager really wanted to talk with us, why not show up at the kitchen table – they have to know what time we eat. Maybe they don’t know what table we are at… Odd Guest Service Manager was all I could think of… Dinner is uncomfortable because I didn’t know if the Head Waiter got in trouble or what.

Buffet Dinner that night on the pool deck – I get to talk with the Food and Beverage Manager – [snip]. We are now “sweaty and hairy men” and certainly I can understand that we don’t want to offend the ladies in the dining room – I feel as if he thinks I am a crew member after berating me for missing the meeting, which I had no idea was scheduled for me by your Guest Service Manager, [snip]. After attempting to get in some comments, I finally have had enough of this Manager talking at me, and I tell him that he was being rude and not bothering to listen to my problems whatsoever – I then tell him that I was upset about the arcane rule in the dining room and that even if this rule is in place, my friends who were kicked out twice from his dining room were in fact not wearing tank-tops, and that the daily compass said nothing about just men in tank-tops. Once again I was informed I could write my comments at the end of the cruise. I informed [snip] that I would not bother with that, but would write a letter to the corporate office in Miami. This news apparently did not sit well with [snip] because as I walked away, he called our Nameless Head Waiter over and berated him in full view of guests and myself on the Pool Deck! I could not believe this. This conversation with our Head Waiter and [snip] continued with guests around them and I just sat dumbfounded that a manager was treating crew members like this, especially since I had informed [snip] that there was nothing wrong with his staff (except for [snip]) but the issues I was having rested solely with the management. I guess he disagreed and instead of taking personal responsibility for his words and actions with me decided to blame a crew member and berate him in public, on the pool deck. Very sad. Very sad. I went upstairs and just wanted to get the cruise over with.

Day Four – I am blamed once again for missing a meeting this time by [snip], and of course this doesn’t sit well with me. I am on the phone with a Guest Service Manager who is blaming me for missing my meeting with the Food and Beverage Manager – [snip]. I guess no one told her that I was already talked to by [snip]…

In conclusion, because this could go on for pages and pages, I did not appreciate how the managers blamed me and my friends for the problems we had on the ship, I did not appreciate being talked to like a member of the crew, I did not appreciate meetings being scheduled for me – you come find me, I am the guest, and finally I did not appreciate the way the managers handled the crew members involved, especially since for the most part they were trying to be accommodating. I would not sail on “The Enchantment of the Seas” ever again and luckily Royal Caribbean has a wonderful crew member named Janet Facey who is the only reason I would sail with Royal Caribbean again. There are other cruise lines with better management staff, and maybe on those I will find a management staff that actually cares for not only their guests, but their crew as well.

And just a quick note to [snip], when you are saying goodbye to everyone at debarkation, it is not a good idea to say goodbye just to one member of a party and ignore the others, especially the one you set up a meeting for. You couldn’t remember my name – bad guest service and rude. Well, at least it set me up to go back to the reality of the real world – no, wait, the custom officers were actually nice and friendly and good at guest service.
Thanks for your time in reading this and I do apologize for the length, but someone needs to be aware of these guest relation nightmares and how they are dealing with guests and the crew on the ships.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-26:
So you were told the shirt was inappropriate and then your friend showed up in the dining room with the same type of shirt again? You were asking for trouble and got it.

Someone needs to sit at the table by the kitchen. Did you pay more than anyone else to sit away from the kitchen?
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2009-12-26:
Sounds like you were looking for drama and confrontation and you found it.
Posted by Ben There on 2009-12-26:
I took Royal Caribbean and the Enchantment of the Seas and I also found the RC staff to be very rude. I prefer Norwegian Cruise Lines... I think you would like the "Freestyle" cruising more as well since they don't have set tables and dining times. The dress code is much more relaxed.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-12-26:
cruise ships have strict dress codes for the main dinning room. a lot of this story is not relevant to the issue.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-26:
Hugh hit the nail on the head.

Posted by PepperElf on 2009-12-26:
and technically none of the employees names are suppose to be in the post - good or bad about them
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-12-26:
And I'm still wondering why
I'm seeing employee full names mentioned here

=(
Posted by puggo63 on 2009-12-30:
I think this poster will have issues everywhere he goes. I have been on numerous Royal Carribean cruises with my parter(we're gay)and never had a problem with the staff or the ships rules and regulations. I did have issues with the many obnoxious and entitled passengers. It sounds like you nit-pick EVERYTHING and were expecting the ENTIRE staff to cater to your whims - mind you - this is a ship of 2000+ passengers. There IS a dress code for the main dining rooms and captain's night - this is not Carnival Cruise lines where anything goes. Also, with so many passengers onboard, there must be time limits/strict schedules to accomodate EVERYONE. Since you wrote that you had "pages and pages" of complaints is a dead give-away that you are never satisfied with anything. My suggestion is to travel on the Cunard's magnificant Queen Mary II and SEE what incredible complaints you can come up with!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-30:
Puggo63, Carnival does have a dress code.

Posted by Slimjim on 2009-12-30:
It's so hard to really get a feel for this without being there to survey the whole context thing, mostly how unsightly was this hairy guy in this shirt. I mean, it does make a difference if he stood out as under dressed. If he was any bit borderline with a dress code, why not just wear a different type shirt into the dining room to avoid all the hupla?
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >