[X]
Feedburner count

Ruby Tuesday, Inc. - Page 3

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
65 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terribal food and service
Posted by Connie22004 on 08/24/2011
EXTON, PENNSYLVANIA -- We ordered one Ruby's classic burger and one American cheese burger for medium rare. We waited for almost 30 minutes, and asked the waitress for our food. Finally, the food came, one was uncooked, inside of the meat was still cold, blood was coming out of the burger; the other one was over cooked, it was more than even very well done. We had to go back for work, so, had no time to deal with this problem. It is hard to think going back the Ruby Tuesday.

     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-08-24:
I can see why you're upset about the food, but what was bad about the service specifically? Did she at least keep your drinks filled? How did you order the burgers to be cooked?
Posted by At Your Service on 2011-08-24:
I'm surprised they offer any type of ground beef under medium well. Regulations require a certain level of cooking to prevent Salmonella.
Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-08-24:
I believe that is why most menus have a disclaimer about consuming undercooked meat, shellfish, and eggs.
Posted by shayen on 2011-08-25:
My last visit to Ruby Tuesdays, both myself and my friend ordered well done cheeseburgers and they were served burnt on the outside and raw, cold and bleeding on the inside. I haven't been back since.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-08-25:
I have a reply to shayen. Once I got a burger ordered medium rare burnt on the outside and raw on the inside, just like you.

After the manager came out and LIED to me that the grill was "malfunctioning," the server did some investigation, and found a frying pan on a burner. Turns out they shut the grill down early, and the idiot cook had no clue how to cook in the frying pan (I cook med rare burgers that way twice a week).

And THAT was my last visit to Ruby Tuesdays, just like you.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-08-25:
At Your Service - it is within health code to cook burgers medium rare. I have had discussions with kitchen managers, and they have cited state health regs that I have read that tell how it is to be done. It is a *combination* of time and temperature, not just a number like 160 or whatever.

A good restaurant has cooks that can cook properly. Many chains don't cook under med well probably because they are afraid that their cooks will kill someone, or perhaps the quality of their beef isn't so good. I would not want a med rare burger at McD's for a variety of reasons.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-08-25:
Anyone remember the days a menu would clearly state if beef was ordered *well done* it would be dry? I suppose that would be to forewarn customers it would be without juice, dry as a bone and probably tough.

There will be a wait for made to order items but 30 minutes seems excessive for a lunch time hamburger. Unless someone has never worked he doesn't understand many are on a timed schedule and have to get back to work and they also have travel time involved. Perhaps that's why the fast food places do so nicely during the noon rush.

It's really strange both burgers were ordered at the same time, at the same degree of wellness and one comes out virtually raw and the other very well done. Someone royally messed up in the kitchen.
Close commentsAdd reply

Poor manager response
Posted by Coupon queen on 07/22/2011
EDINBURGH, INDIANA -- I love to use restaurant coupons and we often make our restaurant decision based on what coupons we have and when they are due to expire. This week we made a special mid week trip to our local Ruby Tuesday restaurant solely because I had a $10 off coupon that was expiring that night. As a long time vegetarian I love their salad bar and especially like the Veggie Trio with salad bar. My husband was ordering a salmon dinner and with appetizer our bill was definitely going to exceed $45. When our attentive waitress saw our coupon she noted that it would only work on certain entrees, none of which were vegetarian. When I asked to speak to the manager to explain that I hadn't eaten chicken or fish for over 15 years and wasn't going to start now I fully expected him to approve my veggie choice. He was matter of fact and said sorry there was nothing he could do. At this point I felt we had no choice but to get up and go to another restaurant. They lost out on a loyal customer and certainly the revenue from our dinner that night. Seems short sighted to me. I can understand our waitress being unable to make the call but the manager???
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MissLeopard83 on 2011-07-23:
Could it be that the manager was just following the rules handed down by corporate or his franchise manager? Managers may be able to approve somethings, but not all. The fact that you are a vegetarian is something I can empathize with since I was one for 3 years, but it doesn't change the fact that the coupon could not be used on vegetarian dishes. If you are still wanting an explanation, why not contact corporate and request it?

http://www.rubytuesday.com/feedback
Posted by MauiAl49 on 2011-07-23:
Why, oh why do people think that the manager of a chain location has the power to over ride corporate policy just for them? If they break the policy for you, then they have to do the same for anyone else who asks, or risk being accused and possibly sued for discrimination of some kind.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-23:
If you were asking the server to make an exception, you were also asking the manager to make an exception, correct?

When the manager said "I'm sorry, I can't make an exception," I would have been disappointed I couldn't take advantage of a discount I assumed I was entitled to, but was not. I would not have left though.

Were there restrictions printed on the coupon?

As Miss Leopard suggests, RT has a feedback area on the website. I have used it and it works.
Posted by khtom on 2012-05-28:
The restrictions are printed directly on the coupons. It reads "chicken,seafood,steak,pasta, rib and burger entrees only". And it is UP to $10 off. Being that the Veggie Trio is only like $9.99 or $10.99 you wouldnt have saved much anyways. Thats where they get you on their nice little coupons. If people would open their eyes and READ the DETAILS on the coupon, you wouldn't come into the restaurant with preconceived notions. The majority of the time, if the manager tells you they can not do anything about the coupon, they really can not do anything. Think about it, would YOU risk YOUR job to take a few bucks off someones ticket? As a waitress, I see this all the time. It doesnt mean we are being ugly to you, its just the rules and the rules are printed right there on the coupon. When we put your coupon code in the computer, it does the math for us, we have no control.
Close commentsAdd reply

Bad Manager
Posted by Love bucket on 04/17/2011
LUMBERTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- We went to the Ruby Tuesday on 5th St. in Lumberton, N.C. We had coupons 2 for twenty dollars. We had used these coupons many times before. The waitress took our order, all four of us had the ribeyes. My aunts steak was overcooked and her steak looked nothing at all like ours. She sent it back to the kitchen and they brought her another one that was better. Things would have been ok except my mom caught the manager giving my aunt a dirty look! How unprofessional!!! Then we were told we could not use our coupons. No worries, we will not be going back to a Ruby Tuesdays anywhere and neither will our families.

Look out Longhorn Steakhouse we'll be seeing you!
     
Read 22 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by yoke on 2011-04-17:
Why were you not allowed to use the coupons? I do not like Ruby Tuesdays. They are overpriced and the service is awful.
Posted by momsey on 2011-04-17:
Did they give you a reason for not being allowed to use the coupons?

Longhorn is awesome, I would pick them over Ruby Tuesday any day.
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-04-17:
You had 2 coupons for 2 dollars? Does that mean you were looking for a 40 dollar discount off your meal? What was the coupon actually for? Was it for 2 to dine for 20? Is there a limit of one coupon per table? Is there a limit on what can be ordered for the coupon? Too many variables here.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-17:
What was their reason for not accepting your coupons?

Posted by trmn8r on 2011-04-17:
Ruby Tuesday's went "upscale" a couple of years ago. What I mean by that is that they put higher priced items on the menu. Same poor food preparation.

The only thing my RT had going for it was the servers were attractive and wore low cut blouses. A mixed blessing, because while titillating I found it very unprofessional. The food was a decent quality, and some quite tasty. Unfortunately, the horrendously poor preparation and inability of management to diagnose and fix problems caused me to dump the broads and RT over the side.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Agreeing with others that more info pertaining to "why" the coupons were refused would be greatly appreciated.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Sounds like retribution to me. I too would avoid them in the future.

Good review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Very good review. The focal point of this complaint was on the managers attitude than the coupons in question.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
Are you saying the manager didn't accept the coupons to get even with you for sending the food back? Did you present the coupons at the time you placed the orders. Were your meals the ones included in the two for twenty promotion? What was the reason given for not accepting the coupons.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
My Interpetation is that they had 2 - 2 for $20 coupons for a party of for and they probably would only let them use 1 per table. It sounds like there was a limit of one per table, but the OP got away with using 2 before and RT put an end to it. I don't go to RT often put they will cook you a rare burger. Many places won't anymore. They are ok with me.
Posted by yoke on 2011-04-18:
The op's complaint is that the coupons were not honored, did not say how many they tried to use. They should have been allowed to use one of the coupons.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I also get these coupons in the mail all the time. 2 meals for 20 dollars, but if you read it, it tells you it can only be used on certain menu items. For some reason, I dont think that the ribeye steak was included in the coupon.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I just found my ruby tuesday coupon. It says purchase 2 entrees from the seafood, steaks & chicken, ribs & platters, or pasta categories for $20. RIGHT underneath it, it says "not valid with steak combinations, RIB EYE, shellfish trio, full racks of ribs, "create your own" platters, daily specials, other coupon or holiday offers. So theres why it wasn't accepted.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
That's what I thought, Prince. Thanks for confirming.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I also would love to know how they knew the manager was giving them a dirty look. What i dont understand, is this is a rather large coupon they send you in the mail, and the font is pretty large. Unless the OP was just totally ignorant and didnt bother looking at the coupon at all.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I didn't understand the part about the dirty look either, but I thought it best not to mention it. There could have been a million reasons for the expression on the manager's face at any given moment.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-18:
Good info Prince
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2011-04-18:
I went to Ruby Tuesday with my family about a month back and used the same coupons. I had two of them and was able to use them both even though they are one per customer. My two girls and myself used the one and my husband and three boys used the other. We had the best server who spoke with her manager and was able to use both.

There are a lot of restrictions if you use the coupons. You can't get most items on the menu, which includes most of the steaks on the menu. There are to many restrictions to list here or I would be all day. I ordered the steak and shrimp and the steak was medium rare and dry. I didn't like it and probably won't ever order it again. There isn't enough info as to why the coupons weren't excepted.

I don't like Longhorn Steak house. I went there once and the steak had no taste. The lights were dim and when I asked the server why he said so as not to see how the steaks looked on the plate. My preference is Medium rare and it was so I couldn't see the blood on the plate. It was pretty dim in there. I prefer Logan's steakhouse. I just hate all the peanut shells on the floor. It takes all I have not to bring a broom and start sweeping and the steaks don't look like they escaped off of the kid's menu.

I read my RT coupon to my husband before going in there so we had an idea of what to expect, but since our order was complicated we waited until the server came over, and she was awesome! I did commend her performance to the manager.
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-04-18:
Good info price, sounds like the OP did not read the coupon before hand OR let the server know they had the coupons before ordering. That's a recipe for disaster since I'm sure the server could have told the OP before ordering that their ribeyes were not included and they could only use one.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
As far as using 2 coupons, I wouldnt see the issue, as long as there were 4 people, just split the check into 2. No biggie, its the same as if those people just sat at different tables. Im sure the main reason they werent accepted is because Ribeyes were clearly excluded since ribeyes are pretty expensive to begin with.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I agree, Prince.
Posted by erikr715 on 2011-05-27:
As a former employee of Ruby Tuesday, I can tell you that one of the reasons your food is bad is because nearly EVERYTHING on their menu is prepared, at least in part, in the MICROWAVE!!! I went to find a job after having been a Hotel Chef for years, and was AMAZED at the simplicity, and apathy for the taste and complexity of the food. It is considered to be that same type of food found at Applebee’s and Chili’s, but this is ridiculous!! I guess you get what you pay for!!
Close commentsAdd reply

Left Holding the bag in Olympia, WA
Posted by Tyrone Horni on 03/13/2011
With out any prior notice you abruptly closed all of the Ruby Tuesdays in Olympia and those in the surrounding area. Now I am left with a gift card that can not be redeemed. We are senior citizens on a fixed income and unable to drive the excessive miles necessary to redeem our Ruby Tuesdays gift card.

Please forward this to the Corporate Headquarters. A very disappointed patron.

     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-13:
There used to be a site where you could exchange gift cards with people. Can you gift/regift it to someone who would be able to use it?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-13:
It appears there are several. Here's a link to one.
http://blog.giftcardrescue.com/gift-card-exchange-website-makes-it-easy/
Posted by azRider on 2011-03-13:
one other site is cardpool.com I don't know how well it works but might be a place to try.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-13:
I'm looking at half a glass of fine aged whiskey here. My local Ruby Tuesday chain is horrible. I had bad experiences at two locations. They could pack them up and ship them to Spain for all I care.

I hope you find a way to get the remainder of what is on the card.
Posted by Cwazychicken on 2011-03-13:
ruby tuesdays is so expensive. They expect a graduity tip and, i can go to a local diner here for much cheaper, even with a gift card or not. Its too high priced for me. I would just swap it for another on another site if you can or sell it for half of the value on a site.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-13:
CC -> I tend to agree with you. They changed their menu a few years back, and put more expensive items on the menu. If you have a decent quality independent eatery nearby, you can probably do much better.

RT had some good tasting entrees, but I found the preparation to be severely lacking on too many occasions. If I want lousy food, I can get it at BK for a much lower price.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-14:
Sell it on Ebay. You may not get full value for it, but you will get pretty close to it.
Posted by FlShopper on 2011-03-14:
There just happened to be an article in today's paper about giftcard exchange sites. Check these out and see if you can sell yours.

plasticjungle.com
cardpool.com
giftcards.com
giftcardgranny.com
Posted by MRM on 2011-03-14:
Give the giftcard to your friends or family, or even to a stranger.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-14:
You should contact RT to see what your next steps are. They cannot just take the money for the card then close shop and run, keeping your money. If they can, then something stinks.

Contact RT via e-mal at: guestservices@rubytuesday.com.

Or call the toll-free number on the back of your card 1-888-359-7657.

Let us know what happens!

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-14:
They will refund the money left on card. Tyrone, you need to contact them.

Just for kicks, I e-mailed RT about this at guestservices@rubytuesday.com. I wrote: "Hello, My grandmother has a Ruby Tuesday Gift Card, but the RT in her town has closed. Now she cannot use the card at all. Can you let me know what her options are?"

In a little more than an hour they replied: "Good afternoon! We would be glad to refund the gift card amount due to the closing of the restaurant. If you would please send me her name, address, phone number, amount of gift card, and the gift card number (begins with “6” on the back of the card), we will be able to send a check reimbursement to her directly. Please don’t hesitate to give me a call if you have any questions."

She then gave me her name and telephone number. So, I give Ruby Tuesday's a thumbs up on responsiveness and customer service.
Posted by Skye on 2011-03-14:
A+++ for Toto!
Close commentsAdd reply

The Grinch of Ruby Tuesday Who Ruined My Christmas
Posted by GreatRissy on 12/30/2010
JACKSON, TENNESSEE -- On Christmas Eve 2010 I went to the Ruby Tuesday in Jackson, Tennessee with my friends for a few drinks after some last minute Christmas shopping. We were all in great, festive moods until we were approached by the bartender. His name was Joe (we found out from listening to him talk to the other employees) and he was the absolute worst sever we have ever had! Not only did he roll his eyes and mutter under his breath at us, but he gave us the nastiest looks as if we were maggots that he didn't even want to waste a second of his time with. I noticed he was treating some good looking guys with the utmost respect, which tells me what he prefers. When one of my friends asked for a drink he was unfamiliar with, he insisted it was not a real drink and told my friend she should learn to ask for real drinks in the future. What made the visit so bad was his boss was nearby and had to have heard how he was talking to us. Yet he did nothing! My friends and I will NEVER go back to Ruby Tuesday in Jackson, Tennessee again. In fact, we will tell all of our friends and family just what kind of service they offer to paying customers, especially during the holidays.
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-30:
I would much more prefer fraternizing with the ladies, but if I were serving, those wearing bras and those wearing bros would receive similar service. IDSWYPOTSPC.

I don't know why, but the subject of this complaint reminds me of the lyric "Me and you and a dog named Boo"
Posted by Skye on 2010-12-30:
Even though you said the mananger heard everything, you still should of spoken to the manager about the lousy and rude service you were receiving. You are an adult, stick up for yourself.

Sorry you had such a lousy time.

Posted by GreatRissy on 2010-12-31:
I did stick up for myself... by visiting the corporate website and making an official complaint.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-12-31:
If it mattered that much to you, GreatRissy, you should have spoken up on the spot, as Skye suggested. That's the best way to make a difference. You shouldn't have assumed that the manager didn't care.
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-12-31:
the poster has every right to be mad. they felt the attitude from the bartender was rude and un-called for.

very helpful!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-31:
Sounds like the bartender is in the wrong line of work, more like the wrong establishment. I would have told him to go back to the dumpy bar he used to work at.
Posted by Skye on 2010-12-31:
When I told you about sticking up for youselves, I meant speaking to the manager right then and there, not after you left, and then complaining to a corporate website. It could of easily been taken care of, if you had only told the manager verbally how rudely you and your friends were being treated.

More is lost by indecision, then no decision.

Happy New Year.
Posted by GreatRissy on 2010-12-31:
I don't seem to be able to make those who keep suggesting that I go to a manager at the store to complain understand that the manager was behind the bar and heard us discussing how awful the bartender was and how rude he was. We didn't feel that complaining to him would have done anything at all, as he and the bartender seemed to be friends. We decided that a complaint to corporate would be much better because corporate has more authority and less of a chance at tossing the complaint aside. And as for ruining Christmas, like I said before, it was Christmas Eve, and as a paying customer, the last thing I, or my friends for that matter, expected was to be treated like a piece of garbage by an employee who either didn't like women or was in a bad mood and wanting to take it out on whoever he chose.
Posted by Skye on 2010-12-31:
But how do you know the manager heard everything? So what if they did, you still, as a paying customer, deserved to be treated respectfully. I don't know what is so hard about verbalizing a bad situation. If I'm out trying to have a nice time with friends, and being treated as you were, I would let the manager know, not hope he heard, and if nothing was done, I'd get up and go to a place that would appreciate my business and my money.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-12-31:
Maybe the manager knows the guy better then you do. Maybe he was JOKING. Maybe the manager was angry that he had to deal with customers on Christmas eve. I had to close Christmas eve where I work and I was not very friendly to the last customers in the store. Especially the ones who, out of no where, would randomly comment to me "your job must suck huh?".

Yeah it sucks, it sucks more when we have to stay here late to clean up after customers like you! Retail is different from restaurants but still. I guarantee you every person working Christmas eve night was not happy to see customers walking through their doors.

I also fail to see where you were "treated like garbage". He made one off the cuff comment to you and your entire night was ruined?
Posted by moondawg on 2011-01-21:
Ruby's has just gone so far down hill, their upper management are uncapable of seeing wha is wrong with the company. They sit up in Maryville patting each other on the back and giving reach arounds that they have grown blind to customer service
Close commentsAdd reply

I Would Rather Eat My Shoe
Posted by Moondawg on 12/14/2010
The food was overcooked, the salad bar looked like it hadn't been replenished in hours! the salads were crusty and raunchy looking.

The drinks were not worth the price, the service was substandard, and the atmosphere was like a Wayans Brothers movie. We will not go back.

We never saw a manager or anyone that resembled one. We will go to Outback next time.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-14:
Good luck at Outback.
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2010-12-14:
Try Applebees!
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-14:
I gave up on all these "mid-level" chains, including Ruby Tuesday and Outback. Maybe you'll get lucky and find one well-managed. Good luck.
Posted by momsey on 2010-12-14:
We just ate at Ruby Tuesday last night. Everything - service and food - was great! Seriously.
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-14:
momsey -> It depends on management, IMO. I went out 1-2 times a week to places like RT, OB, TRH, AB's, TGIF, OG, etc etc.

Most of these places had some tasty items on the menu. But the "troops" could really screw things up if management was inattentive/poor. My favorite was the local TGIF's. But the GM left a few months ago and then I had two consecutive bad experiences. That was that. Just my experience. Oh, RT had some really nice menu items also, but I had a REALLY bad exp with management/cooks there.
Posted by Inat on 2010-12-15:
""atmosphere was like a Wayans Brothers movie"? -- haha, best line ever. i know exactly what you mean.
Posted by moondawg on 2010-12-21:
at leat a wayan's brothers movie has a script
Close commentsAdd reply

RAW CHICKEN, UNDERCOOKED BURGERS, ROUTE 9 NORTH, HOWELL, NJ
Posted by Chefleppard on 11/30/2010
HOWELL, NEW JERSEY --
After several visits to the Howell, NJ locations we have had many issues with undercooked meats. We request our burgers to be well done. They have come out mid-rare to medium on several occasions. The last time we got a burger there several months ago, it was sent back to the kitchen 2 times for being undercooked, (requested well done with no onions or mayo, it came out rare the first time, condiments correct. Second time came out medium with mayo and onions. I am allergic to onions). After this, the manager came out and made sure we got a well done burger at no cost to us. It was WELL done and dry. The cook pressed it down good to make sure it had no juice or color. I am a professional chef and this was disgraceful. We vowed to no longer get burgers at Ruby Tuesdays. Also the salad bar on several occasions had bad items. I told a worker about it and wasn’t changed. I tasted one of everything first before loading it up on my plate since then. Bad carrots, eggs, cheese, bacon and edamames....also wet wilted salad with hot plates.

On 11/20/10 because we like their watermelon mojitos and holiday sangria we returned with hesitation. My husband ordered a chicken sandwich which after eating 1/4 of it I noticed it was raw. I tasted it before I saw it was raw and got sick for two days with diareah. We had a coupon for buy one get one free ($10). The manager on duty who did not identify herself, came over and offered him something else to eat. At this point his and my appetite were gone but ordered pasta anyway. The only thing we were offered was the chicken sandwich for free. We were charged tax on this and the bill said customer didn’t like. They tried covering up the fact on record that it was undercooked/raw. Manager didn’t comp the bill as they should have given we explained about our prior experiences with undercooked meats there. The cooks at Ruby Tuesday’s need to be professionally trained or fired. I am sure we are not the only ones who experience undercooked meats at this location. The only thing we will ever go there for now is the drinks. Even then the bartenders are especially great with their attitudes. Each time we got a watermelon mojito it was made different and had ingredients forgotten or barely any liquor. Be Wary of this location.













     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Ytropious on 2010-11-30:
"I am a professional chef and this was disgraceful."

I don't know any chefs who will eat well done meat. It takes all the flavor and texture out of the meat. A little pink isn't hurting anyone. I understand you have a right to order things the way you want it but then you got upset when the well done was TOO well done. Well done = tough and gross. You of all folks would know that I assume.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-30:
Y, I agree. Well done is not the way to go. With burgers, though, I think you want it with no pink--unless you know the source of the meat. I also know that pressing down a burger pretty much ruins it. Oh, well, each to their own.
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
singsing -> *you* will want to eat it with no pink. It is a misconception that a burger can't be cooked medium rare safely.

I can also not imagine a chef eating anything well done, but everyone is different.

I gave up on RT for similar reasons. I have had raw chicken there, as well as very poorly cooked burgers. Comping does not help if they don't improve. Nobody wants to waste an extra hour waiting for their food to be recooked 2-3 times.

Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-11-30:
In my youth, I worked at a place called Roy Rogers. We had one customer that always ordered a well-done burger. We cooked all the life/flavor/juice out of his burger every time.

He never complained, I guess that is how he liked them.
Posted by momsey on 2010-11-30:
My father in law orders all his meat very well done. It looks completely unappetizing to me, but to each his own. But, he's never complained about a well done burger being dry. That's what happens when it's cooked well done.

MDS, loved Roy Rogers! They still have them at some rest stops, but that's about the only place you can find them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-30:
Roy Rogers!! Those were the days. Best burgers on the planet! Now they are Hardees and they're gross.
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
The 5 guys chain cooks its burgers to death, and yet they are are juicier than a medium rare burger. Must be very fatty beef, or infused with something. I had one, and while it was juicy it still had no taste. You can't make caviar out of a fish.
Posted by momsey on 2010-11-30:
The Roy Rogers near us turned into Wendy's (other than the aforementioned rest stops.)
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-11-30:
This is only 20 minutes from my house:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Roys_Westminster_MD.JPG
Posted by leet60 on 2010-11-30:
"After several visits to the Howell, NJ locations we have had many issues with undercooked meats. "

My only question, is why do you keep going back?
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
leet60 -> I have been in this situation myself, I have to admit. If the staff is friendly, the place is clean and comfortable, and the food is tasty when prepared right, it makes you hope it will always be that way.

After giving up on several chains, my fuse is much shorter than it used to be. Now I shoot for a 9/10 ratio of good/total visits. If it gets down to 7/10, I am outta there.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-11-30:
I loved Roy Rogers because all the burgers were served plain and you could top it with whatever you wanted from the condiment bar. That way there were no mistakes. The chicken was good, too. I was sorry to see Roy Rogers leave the area.
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
I was surprised to see all the Roy Rogers comments. I don't think I have ever been in one, so I didn't know what I was missing.

Never shopped on Black Friday, never had a RR burger. I feel as though my life's regrets are all flashing before my eyes.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-12-01:
there's a RR on the throughway here. i dunno where the others are. they're ok, though the fish burgers are not worth getting.

and they have giant mugs to support the USO
Posted by momsey on 2010-12-01:
The fixin's bar is the best! And the roast beef sandwiches were my favorite when I was a kid.

trmn8r, you poor sheltered thing! :o)
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-01:
Fixin's bar! Dang, that sounds right special (:
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-12-01:
Ooo.. I forgot about the roast beef sandwiches. They were good, too.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-01:
I worked at RR in 1986, and ate there a couple of years ago in PA. They still have good food, for fast food :)
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-01:
I listened to the hype about Sonic, and was disappointed. I listened to the hype about 5 Guys, and was disappointed. Now I'm all hopped up on the thought of trying Roy Rogers. Will I be disappointed? Will I find one within 100 miles? Tune in later to find out...
Close commentsAdd reply

Sunday Brunch
Posted by Unhappy44 on 09/15/2010
FREDERICK, MARYLAND -- Ruby Tuesday seems to feel that it is acceptable to make the customer wait 90 minutes for burnt food, less than half the order, and then when you speak to manager you are told to leave the establishment. The manager would rather the customer "eat, be quiet, and pay the bill" according to the staff". One must just too much business to care about real customer service.

I came back to see the Owner/General Partner several days later to discuss the matter, however he was no where to be found, and the staff informed me he was never there. I even made the Debit card charge "suspended" so that we could discuss the matter, and sent a letter, however I have yet to get a call to resolve the problem.

When you call their TN headquarters to file a complaint, or leave a electronic posting it goes unanswered for weeks, so Ruby Tuesdays is all about profits, ripping off the public, and serving trash food at high prices. When you ask to get it fixed you are asked to leave the restaurant by the franchise holder as a matter of corporate policy, since they feel that they can get some one else to come in to take your place for the substandard, awful food.

Corporate America -- DO NOT DEAL WITH PROBLEMS -- WISH THEM AWAY

     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-09-15:
We just had lunch a week or so ago at the RT near the airport in Savannah, Ga. Bustling crowd, even the mgr came to our table and waited on us. I had the garden bar, and was pleased with the service and cleanliness. I've never had bad service at a RT.
Posted by momsey on 2010-09-15:
Is there any more to this story? What exactly happened the day you were there and tried to talk to the manager? What happened in the conversation with the manager that you ended up getting thrown out?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-09-15:
Yes, something's not adding up here. . . . . . .
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-09-15:
heh, if the manager tol ME to leave, I would have gladly left, without paying my bill.
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-09-15:
I have been to the area to which you are referring; mostly to visit the COSTCO and at times the Walmart. I almost ate at that Ruby Tuesday, but thought better of it. There isn't much in the area and with the exception of COSTCO, it is hard to actually feel "welcome" in the area.

On a side note, I attempted to eat at a Ruby Tuesday in Westminster. The place was almost empty, but they still chose to try and seat us all the way in the back by the bathrooms. I told the waitress that I didn't want to smell s**t while I was eating and my wife and I left.

Seems to me that Ruby Tuesday is nothing more than an eyesore I must endure on my way to a restaurant that values customers.
Posted by getoverit on 2010-09-15:
I've been to maybe a half dozen different Ruby Tuesdays locations and I have found the food, service, and everything to be really OK. It's not exactly haute cuisine but seems to be good value.

But I've also seen where a restaurant seems really good and another one in the same chain is horrible. Olive Gardens and TGI Friday's are a couple examples I can think of. So, if there's some crummy Tuesdays around, it doesn't surprise me.
Posted by Helpful on 2010-09-16:
I'd be careful about "suspending" the transaction. If you've signed for the transaction to occur, or they've slid your card and you've authorized the transaction with your pin, you're on the line for the charges regardless of what you thought of the food.

If this gets turned over to collections, the charges for the mean can skyrocket.
Posted by momsey on 2010-09-16:
The Ruby Tuesday near us is pretty decent. It's always pretty busy, the wait staff is always pleasant and the food is always pretty good. It's great for what it is.
Posted by MRkranken on 2010-11-14:
face it the compay is going to hell. The upper management cares nothing for employees. They used to give military and senior citisen discounts, not any more. Up yours ruby tuesday!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-14:
Its best to speak to a manager BEFORE you pay your bill. That way if he tells you to leave. you get up and leave.
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-11-14:
90 minutes is a very long time to wait. you did right by trying to get their attention by suspending the charge.
Posted by moondawg on 2010-12-30:
dont worry Ruby's will be closing more restaurants. these idiots will coupon themselves into bankruptcy and good riddens they suck out loud
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-30:
I hadn't seen this post originally. My experience with contacting corporate was different. I had a district manager call me. I told him how poor my last three experiences were, and named names including the do-nothing manager.

He said he understood, and would have discussions with those involved on his next visit. Then he said "You may not want to visit us again, but I'll send you a coupon you can use at any RT's".

Guess what? I took the coupon to another location 20 miles away, and it sucked just as bad!!! Needless to say I don't go anymore.
Close commentsAdd reply

MANAGER POOR CHOOSE OF WORDS
Posted by STONY BURKE on 06/28/2010
SANFORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- THANK GOD MY PARTY HAD ALREADY HAD OUR MEALS AND WAS GOING TO HAVE OUR AFTER DINNER COFFEE, WE HAD TO WAIT WHILE THEY BREWED OUR COFFEE. FINALLY WE GOT OUR COFFEE AND AS I WAS FIXING TO TAKE A SIP I NOTICED SOMETHING IN MY COFFEE. TO MY DISMAY THERE WAS A LARGE FLY IN IT. I CALLED THE WAITRESS OVER AND SHE HAD THE MANAGER TO COME OVER. HE DID TAKE THE COFFEE OFF OUR BILL BUT SAID, "THIS IS WHY I HATE SUMMER TIME, YOU GET ALL KINDS OF INSECT IN FOOD AND DRINK." I DO NOT THINK THAT WAS THE RIGHT THING TO SAY. THE STORE NUMBER WAS #4612 IN SANFORD, NC.
     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-06-28:
Stuff happens, were you on the patio or in the store?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-28:
What was the right thing to say? Sorry?
Posted by Ben There on 2010-06-28:
Its true - there are a lot more bugs in the summer. They fly through the air, and even the cleanest restaurant can't keep a bug from coming thought the door and landing in someone's food or drink at a table.
Posted by momsey on 2010-06-28:
Maybe he shouldn't have said it, but it's true. It doesn't sound like the manager was saying it was ok to have bugs in food and drink. He was just saying it's what happens in the summer.
Posted by Fufu487 on 2010-06-28:
I find this complaint not helpful. It may be possible with your group of people they just didn't have enough coffee to serve all of you at once, so they made a fresh batch. And a fly in your coffee, though gross, happens. Anywhere. I am interested though, were you on the patio?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-28:
I don't think what the manager said was in poor taste either..but I do think he should have offered you a gift certificate in addition to not paying for your coffee. Yes, it can happen, even in the cleanest restaurants...but it's still gross.

As for the fresh coffee...I love it when my waitress asks if we mind waiting while they brew up a fresh pot, why the complaint about that??
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-28:
It could have been worse.
Posted by FlShopper on 2010-06-28:
I don't think any restaurant patron wants to hear that all sorts of bugs get into the food and drink. Even if it is true, I agree the manager should've kept that little factoid to himself.
As for the coffee...I would certainly prefer to wait for fresh brewed coffee than to get the dregs that may have been sitting in the pot for a while.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-28:
I would assume that the customer would already be aware of that possibility.
I know that I am.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-06-28:
I don't think the manager thought the guest would have overreacted over that statement, since MOST people wouldn't have thought anything of it. It's summer, flies are just something we put up with. Sometimes they dive bomb into our food, it's gross but hello, we've all been there. He's only stating the obvious.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-28:
To bad you had to.wait for a fresh pot of coffee. Oh the horror! I don't believe that a fly landing in your coffee should mean you hit the lottery. How do you expect the manager to tell the fly to stay out of the coffee. I know from experience that dead flys don't listen. A fresh cup of the fresh coffee should have fixed your problem.
Posted by Starlord on 2010-06-28:
When I lived in Arizona, if I had a dime for every fly that committed suicide in my coffee, I could retire on some serious cash. This is for you, OP.
The was a young diner at Crewe
Who found quite a large mouse in his stew.
Said the waiter, don't shout
Or wave it about,
Or the others will want one too.
Posted by beanbagbritches on 2010-07-01:
Whoa, truth from the mouths of waitresses. Go figure.
Close commentsAdd reply

Poisoning guest
Posted by Donnierocker on 05/24/2010
GULF BREEZE, FLORIDA -- I WORKED AT RUBY TUESDAYS IN GULF BREEZE UNTIL TODAY I went in at 4 and their were termites flying all over the kitchen area by 4;30 they sent someone to the store for insecticide. their were poison covered insects flying into the food being prepared by 5 and when corporate was called to ask about shutting down they said it was not that big of a deal and to stay open. they were knowingly poisoning our guest. by 6 I clocked out and walked the 7 miles to my house and all night I have not been able to live with myself I am stressed out and need to tell someone in case our guest get sick I didn't know who else to tell so I looked up you on the web.

Please take this seriously it was not just a few bugs we are talking hundreds of poison covered termites landing two or three at a time on peoples food and on the cooks faces.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by goduke on 2010-05-24:
The proper people to notify would be the health department.
Posted by Alain on 2010-05-24:
Santa Rosa County Health Dept., Gulf Breeze Office, 5840 Gulf Breeze Parkway, Gulf Breeze, FL 32561; (850) 934-4074; doh.state.fl.us/chdsantarosa
Posted by oldisgood on 2010-05-24:
if this just isn't a hoax by someone not having anything better to do, then call the health department in your county immediately. I cannot believe you would post on 3cents instead of calling someone who could do something about the situation.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-05-24:
You did the right thing posting this information on my3cents.com. Now heads will roll!!!
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-05-24:
did you call the local health department??

i find it very hard to believe a certified applicator would do this.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-05-24:
Yea I don't know what to think of this...
Posted by FlShopper on 2010-05-24:
If you really wanted some action to be taken by posting on this website, you should've specified the exact location of the restaurant, not just the city.
Hopefully by now, you've contacted the correct authorities and told them your story.
Posted by donnierocker on 2010-05-25:
ok its the only one in gulf breeze Florida. i didn't get fired in fact they called me back today and ask me to come back even though i walked out without telling anyone. third i contacted all the local news and the health dept. fourth i had to go get re-baptised or i would tell u what i think of your accusations about me being fired. fifth this was not a licensed bug killer it was a dang cook and last i posted here to let everyone know how dangerous it may be to eat there for a while. and no I'm not looking for a thank u when u decide not to go there and your child doesn't get sick because of these words.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >