[X]
Feedburner count

Satellite Solutions


1 Reviews & Complaints

Whatever You Do Don't Take A Job With Satellite Solutions Its A Scam
Posted by Homey g on 02/15/2010
OAK RIDGE, TENNESSEE -- I recently responded to a add on the craigslist for a position installing Dish Network satellite dishes. This was a 1099 sub-contractors position that promised after 2 weeks of unpaid training they would get you a tech# from Dish Network and get you work installing satellite dishes. Well they get you the work alright I worked for 6 weeks of unpaid training only to never get a tech# they worked me till I couldn't buy my own lunch any longer. And on top of that they had a another company (that gave out the work orders) called updish that sells you on buying installation tool and supplies at a inflated rate that your never gonna use because you never get a tech#. I figured maybe I wasn't good enough to be out of training yet until the last training tech that I rode with I knew a lot more about installing dishes than he did. I knew then that all they wanted was for me to buy the tools and equipment and work for free till I got smart broke or both in my case both. I haven't got a paying job now and I'm left with a bunch of useless satellite installation equipment. I spent all my savings on trying to get this dish installation job with this company and I'm gonna lose my home over this little mistake. Run don't walk from these company's they want what little money you have left and for you to work for free while there taking it.

It's a scam praying on the unemployed and there Marching job seekers through the door by the dozen so there scam is paying off big for them especially in these times. you take a job here and your done your kids are on the street because they want your last meal there gonna leave ya too broke to go out job hunting again.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 03/04/2010:
To whom it may concern,
I am writing in response to the complaint filed above by Mr.Herron. Satellite Solutions in no way scammed or mislead any individual as Mr.Herron has stated in his complaint. We regularly post ads on craigslist seeking technicians as we are a growing business in the satellite television industry. Individuals are recruited to be satellite installers for us as a 1099 subcontractor. Individuals who have no previous experience in satellite installations have to be trained before being assigned work orders. Individuals like Mr. Herron are made aware upfront that there is no compensation for training. Individuals who are interested in subcontracting for us have to pass a background check and a drug screen prior to being assigned a tech number. Mr.Herron called our main office a few days prior to filing this complaint inquiring about his tech number. I told him I could get him one in two days max and thats when he stated he had been training for six weeks. I called my FSM and asked him about Mr.Herron's statement and my FSM told me that he had just completed training and it took him a little over two weeks to learn the business. I then told Mr. Herron to fax me any workorders he felt he deserved compensation on since his training had went over two weeks. Mr. Herron faxed in a few work orders and I wrote him a check for them that day. (check #3528) I started processing Mr. Herron's paperwork that day for his tech number when he called back and stated for us to not proceed as he was going to subcontract for another contractor in our area. They are in the same business as we are and he wanted them to process his paperwork so he could subcontract for them. In closing we in no way mislead or scam people in this business as I have been in the satellite industry for 13 years. I have around 60 subcontractors that work for us that can testify that we have never shorted or not payed them for work completed. I can provide many references for this if needed. Finally as I have stated these are subcontractors and are in no way forced to work for us. As a subcontractor it is their right to refuse work or tell us when they are going to work. I find it odd that Mr.Herron would have worked for six weeks without compensation but never called the main office to report it until recently. Thank you.
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2010-02-15:
I suggest filing a complaint with the Tennessee Department of Labor:
http://www.state.tn.us/labor-wfd/wfboard.html
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-15:
Did you get any of this in writing? what you describe is very common in commission based jobs. they tell you what you CAN make, not what you WILL make.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-02-15:
not commissioned....sub contract..big difference.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-15:
Call DISH and DirecTV in your area and see who they really use for installs and apply with those subs. Based on what we read around here all the subs have a fairly high turn over rate. You never know, it just might be something you will like.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-15:
Sorry jkt, of course, you are correct. Wrong choice of words on my part. That said, here in central ohio, those jobs are a dime a dozen with theEXACT scam the OP describes. usually, young guys in their early 20's fall for it. My best friend just had her son finally give up on it after three months of promises, buying his own gear and never seeing a dime even though he went on a zillion runs.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-02-15:
no apologies necessary....gotta read the fine print. That said, what they do and how they do it ain't right.
Posted by homey g on 2010-04-14:
Moved From Other Review: Im writing this review requarding a review I wrote a few months ago concerning satelite solution and would appreciate the two reviews being placed together in this forum. In retrospect I feel that review was unfair and hard on sat solutions and updish as I was being used for personal gain by a sat solutions employee not the company itself and that employee was relieved of his position shortly after that review either on his own or by the company itself I do not know which. I did find what I believe to be the snake in the grass company in this industry that I was warned about but it is not satelite solutions and updish updish is still not held in very high requards in my eyes because of there treatment of there employee's but as a company in whole they are a legitamate and a viable resource to the industry they just got a manageral problem that they have not corrected yet and over time I'm sure will. My previous review although not fiction and the company response was not fiction either aired a improper feeling towards satelite solutions and updish so I'm am writing this review to eduacate your readers as to my exsperiances in this industry and correct the wrong feelings that I implied torwards satelite solutions because in the time that I worked for the other company that was also working out of updish's warehouse prime home entertianment I learned that satelite solutions is a good up and coming satelite company with good practices I was just the victim of a rouge employee that used my labor for personal gain and I don't believe that satelite solutions had any knowledge of this going on especialy me doing jobs on my own with no compensation that I still have not been paid for but I believe that is because the rouge employee pocketed that money under his tech# and never told the company. the jobs that I worked that the company knew about I was satisfactory compensated for. So I'm here today to make a more educated review of this company.
It is true that I was trained for 7 weeks without pay and that it did use up all my personal saving that I had set aside to get into this industry. I had spent $2500 in tools materials and living exspences and had still not gotten a tech # but it is now to my beleif that this was because my employement was not reported to satelite solutions and they as a company had no knowledge I was employed by them at that time during my training. by the time I did finally get in touch with the company itself I had used up all my assets and was heavly disturbed because I knew that I had the training to complete the jobs and was still in training. And I feel that sat solutions was blindsided by this fact and at which time I left the company for another satelite company and at which time I wrote my last review.
During the last few days of my training with satelite solutions (not with the other trainee)I was trained with a tech that we'll just call Jim for the record that I feel is the most knowledgeable and professional satelite tech that Ive had pleasure of working with that taught me invauluable skills and knowledge and is in my eye's the best tech I met in all the companies that I worked for in my time in the satelite industry. And that if I had trained with Jim first in the beginning that I would still be happily employed by satelite solution today he is a shining star in this industry and is still employed by satelite solutions.
I was warned of dishonest satelite companies when I first entered this industry by several people that had worked in it before. And the company that I left satelite solutions for Prime Home Entertianment has a long history of not compensating its employee's through chargebacks, recons?(ever heard of that 1? me niether) and by other means of shrinking there employees paychecks and some I have talked with in the industry prime home just never paid at all. and prime home still owe's several other past employee's compensation that I'd say they'll never see without a civil suit. but It has not been 30 days since I left Prime Home yet so it is too early yet to see If I'll ever get compensated by prime home. but I know of many other techs that have not been compensate by prime home that are now working for other companies and some that are just out of the industry all together and all there stories seem to match so I seem to believe that they are not lieing to me about this. Ever heard the old saying 10,000 indians aint wrong? well I believe that to be the story of prime home.
Satelite solutions on the other hand does not have chargebacks and recons and shrinkage practices that they use on there employee's and from what I hear from other techs in the industry are a honest and fair company thats why I felt compeled to make another review of this company that is fair and just to them.
The reason I left prime Home though is not just there employee compensation problem I was more or less forced to install a satelite system for a elderly lady on easter Sunday morning that wanted it rescheduled for Monday because she had family coming for easter dinner and didn't want a satelite installer there during her easter festivities and a manager at updish(henseforth my saying they have alittle manageral problem) demanded that it be installed easter Sunday morning which went agiast my religous beliefs so I quit installing on the grounds of a religous conflict. They begged me to install for them another day which I reluctantly did (haha they had the jobs hand picked for me)but they only did that so they could fire me because they knew I was quitting because of my religion and the conflicts I had with pushing a dish system on a customer on easter Sunday morning for updish.
But thank you for this forum and allowing me to set the record straight with satelite solutions that they are a good honest fair dish company and my complaints earlier were because of a rouge employee and not the company itself. I'm sorry to say I'm finding a new line of work now that will not conflict with my religous beliefs as I am a born again christian and wish to never be placed in the position again of installing a dish system at a customers house on easter Sunday morning at updished's demand agaist mine the customers and gods wishes.
Posted by homey g on 2010-04-14:
Moved From Other Review: Im writing this review requarding a review I wrote a few months ago concerning satelite solution and would appreciate the two reviews being placed together in this forum. In retrospect I feel that review was unfair and hard on sat solutions and updish as I was being used for personal gain by a sat solutions employee not the company itself and that employee was relieved of his position shortly after that review either on his own or by the company itself I do not know which. I did find what I believe to be the snake in the grass company in this industry that I was warned about but it is not satelite solutions and updish updish is still not held in very high requards in my eyes because of there treatment of there employee's but as a company in whole they are a legitamate and a viable resource to the industry they just got a manageral problem that they have not corrected yet and over time I'm sure will. My previous review although not fiction and the company response was not fiction either aired a improper feeling towards satelite solutions and updish so I'm am writing this review to eduacate your readers as to my exsperiances in this industry and correct the wrong feelings that I implied torwards satelite solutions because in the time that I worked for the other company that was also working out of updish's warehouse prime home entertianment I learned that satelite solutions is a good up and coming satelite company with good practices I was just the victim of a rouge employee that used my labor for personal gain and I don't believe that satelite solutions had any knowledge of this going on especialy me doing jobs on my own with no compensation that I still have not been paid for but I believe that is because the rouge employee pocketed that money under his tech# and never told the company. the jobs that I worked that the company knew about I was satisfactory compensated for. So I'm here today to make a more educated review of this company.
It is true that I was trained for 7 weeks without pay and that it did use up all my personal saving that I had set aside to get into this industry. I had spent $2500 in tools materials and living exspences and had still not gotten a tech # but it is now to my beleif that this was because my employement was not reported to satelite solutions and they as a company had no knowledge I was employed by them at that time during my training. by the time I did finally get in touch with the company itself I had used up all my assets and was heavly disturbed because I knew that I had the training to complete the jobs and was still in training. And I feel that sat solutions was blindsided by this fact and at which time I left the company for another satelite company and at which time I wrote my last review.
During the last few days of my training with satelite solutions (not with the other trainee)I was trained with a tech that we'll just call Jim for the record that I feel is the most knowledgeable and professional satelite tech that Ive had pleasure of working with that taught me invauluable skills and knowledge and is in my eye's the best tech I met in all the companies that I worked for in my time in the satelite industry. And that if I had trained with Jim first in the beginning that I would still be happily employed by satelite solution today he is a shining star in this industry and is still employed by satelite solutions.
I was warned of dishonest satelite companies when I first entered this industry by several people that had worked in it before. And the company that I left satelite solutions for Prime Home Entertianment has a long history of not compensating its employee's through chargebacks, recons?(ever heard of that 1? me niether) and by other means of shrinking there employees paychecks and some I have talked with in the industry prime home just never paid at all. and prime home still owe's several other past employee's compensation that I'd say they'll never see without a civil suit. but It has not been 30 days since I left Prime Home yet so it is too early yet to see If I'll ever get compensated by prime home. but I know of many other techs that have not been compensate by prime home that are now working for other companies and some that are just out of the industry all together and all there stories seem to match so I seem to believe that they are not lieing to me about this. Ever heard the old saying 10,000 indians aint wrong? well I believe that to be the story of prime home.
Satelite solutions on the other hand does not have chargebacks and recons and shrinkage practices that they use on there employee's and from what I hear from other techs in the industry are a honest and fair company thats why I felt compeled to make another review of this company that is fair and just to them.
The reason I left prime Home though is not just there employee compensation problem I was more or less forced to install a satelite system for a elderly lady on easter Sunday morning that wanted it rescheduled for Monday because she had family coming for easter dinner and didn't want a satelite installer there during her easter festivities and a manager at updish(henseforth my saying they have alittle manageral problem) demanded that it be installed easter Sunday morning which went agiast my religous beliefs so I quit installing on the grounds of a religous conflict. They begged me to install for them another day which I reluctantly did (haha they had the jobs hand picked for me)but they only did that so they could fire me because they knew I was quitting because of my religion and the conflicts I had with pushing a dish system on a customer on easter Sunday morning for updish.
But thank you for this forum and allowing me to set the record straight with satelite solutions that they are a good honest fair dish company and my complaints earlier were because of a rouge employee and not the company itself. I'm sorry to say I'm finding a new line of work now that will not conflict with my religous beliefs as I am a born again christian and wish to never be placed in the position again of installing a dish system at a customers house on easter Sunday morning at updished's demand agaist mine the customers and gods wishes.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-04-14:
however i believe the OP is correct
it doesn't matter if the workers require training, they are still on the clock and legally have to be paid
Posted by harold p on 2011-11-06:
updish hires subs and subs hire subs to do the grunt work. one of the subs they hired is called satellite solutions, which i never saw called their real name. i was told verbally satsolutions. and went to training class and worked for 2 weeks as an installer. what a scam. 1200 miles a aweek comprised of 120 miles per day reporting to duty at 6 am, problem is 4 am wake up involves work. from arising you must plan your day, which is on a tablet you buy, and a cell phone is required and 1500 min a month minimum. so 4 am wake up, drive 60 miles to the warehouse, and then you pay f0r all tools, wire, mounts, poles, cement. even om $40 trouble calls you are required to supply from your slender billfold whatever the last tech did not supply to bring it up to their code. it may require a 100 ft dual twin with ground orange dug up and buried with 8 connectors. etc . it is told up front but then the math cannot be done until a week in the field. you are promised you will be taken care of, not true. anyone that says they worke less than 60 hours a week is lying. i worked my ass off 80 hours a week. my fellow trainees did the same, and some 1200 milers a week on your vehicle, your time your gas. thats right. pay is as follows....250 a week. then subtract your materials and gas and miles....you actually lose money!!! the carrot is in front...big bucks later on. false. connectivity means you also have to hook a phone line or a password from customer to wifi or hook up a device to their satellite recdiever. for free. thats right run a line for phone, hook up a gizmo to tie in broadband after each room for sat is runa nd dish installed. for $95. minus 10 for pole and cement, all cables for 6 rooms, all cable, tools and connectors and oh yeah,,,keeping a tablet, phone, drills, flash lights. reqires lots of work...by the way the tablet dont work but half the time, 2 hours on phone getting each activated, on a nd on..and oh yeah an hour a day telling dispatch their psycotic where you are and when you will be there crap for an hour a day, etc. on and on...and oh yeah you are on the road for 14 hour a day, driving while using phone and tablet. being on road is very costly. your transportation will need attention. etc. gotta go there is more hidden stuff and no benefits galore. all that is done to break even and theyt are always there act an asshole. its one big fat scam. desperation is the only tool they have for you. the one that make it lie about their profit. its a backstabbing cut throat dope head industry. and tier metrics is in place now for contractors? that ferret faced manager needs his ass kicked. what a ripoff
Posted by rudy nester on 2012-06-19:
they are the best company i have ever worked for bar none...some just cant do what it takes to be a sat tech..it takes a 1 of a kind type of person i have done sat's for 14 yr's..and they always paid on time and ur pay was right u won't find that anywhere trust me...im hoping satsolution jump's on the 4g wagon with verizon i wud love to go back to work 4 them...im just burned out on sats for now..!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply


Top of Page | Next Page >