S. C. Johnson

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
3 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Showers Of Praise
Posted by on
LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- My friend that asked me to post the Domino's review, also sent me this tidbit. I keep telling him he needs to sign up for this site, but maybe he's just shy. Here is what he has to say about this product.
-----------------------

A year or so ago, my wife had our master bath remodeled – out with the old, and in with the new, Italian marble tile floor to ceiling. Really grand, it kind of gives you the feeling of a Roman bath or at least a weekend at Caesars where hopefully you didn’t get too drunk winning 800.00 at roulette staying up all night, then lose half of it back guzzling free Jack Daniels tipping the hot waitress too much only to be dragged off to bed by a wife who’s irritated you might have insulted some Asian hotel guests whilst trying to give them directions in your best Chinese accent, ah-so.

The shower and tile looked awesome until my water softener went out a month or so ago – now the dreaded grunge of hard water stains and soap scum have made their ugly appearance and it’s really dragged down the appearance of my little slice of Roman Empire. I’m putting off replacing the water softener until my neighbor the plumber returns from his trip around the world – he said it’d take 80 days. I tried old fashioned “elbow grease” and a scrub brush along with some pretty toxic chemicals to clean up my shower – why is it we “wash-up” but also “scrub down” anyway? Nothing worked, that powdery white soap and water stains just wouldn’t budge!

Saw a TV spot for “Scrubbing Bubbles Mega Shower Foamer” and thought to myself, “self, give that a try, it’s likely not going to work but would be neat to see if there really ARE little bubbles with scrub brushes coming out of that can as they are on TV – and says you don’t have to do anything but watch!” Always up for a good show, I bought this can of Scrubbing Bubbles Mega Shower Foamer and headed back to Italy. Like any guy, I didn’t read the directions, gave the can a good shake and started spraying.

The stuff comes spritzing out of the can in a mist which initially disappointed me – no little bubbles with brushes for feet – but quickly turns into a thick foam that coats everything including you if you’re not careful where you’re aiming it. I sprayed and sprayed the entire shower including the glass doors which you almost couldn’t see through anymore because of the buildup. I stepped out of the shower to the din of what only could be described as bacon frying in my shower. The foam was really making a bubbling sound that if not cleaning was sure putting up a good fight!

I walked away to let the battle rage, coming back a ½ hour later wondering who had won! To my delight the Scrubbing Bubbles Foamer had really done a nice job – had cut that crud down from the doors, the walls, the cracks and crevices. The chrome sparkled, the tile gleamed and I’m left with a pleasant scent instead of that toxic chemical smell. I truly couldn’t believe it worked so well, and with so little effort on my part – believe me when I tell somebody “it’s the least I can do” for them, I mean it.

Would I say this fabulous product for under 5 bucks did a 100% perfect job? No. There were a couple of spots I had to touch up with a brush. But hey, that’s okay by me, even if the little guys with brushes for feet didn’t show up and do a dance. Great product and good job on a nasty task that nobody wants any part of - which will see me through until Phileas Fogg gets around to helping me replace my water softener.
     
Read 32 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
I only read the title and I can say...Ya got to be kidding...some actually WASTED their money on this rip off crap?

OK...now I'll go read the review.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
Wow, this is one great review. Hey Sheriff be sure to thank your friend for such a well written, clever and informative review. It's going to be an absolute pleasure clicking this one 'Very Helpful'.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
I've used it before and thought it worked pretty well too. Otherwise, I would not have passed on this endorsement.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
been a long time since we've had a review of this caliber....vh! bravo!!
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
OK...I take back my first comment...and will learn to read before posting. I thought this "Friend" of yours bought that automatic shower cleaner that sprays itself around the entire shower and like four days later after repeated automatic sprays, your shower is clean.

BUT...I see he is just talking about a can of scrubbin' bubbles and I have to say, this is the only cleaner I ever use...I use it for my toilet too...my bathroom walls are ceramic tile and I use it all the time. I just amazes me that he is only just now learning about this product...Oh ... and I DO have a Scrubbing Bubble rubber character from the commercial, if he'd like one to play in the tub with, have him contact me! He floats and squeeks!
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
This was a vast improvement over that yawner of a Dominoes review, I must say. Personally, I could have done without hearing about the visits to Roman bathouses, marble floors and his 'bouts' with alcohol abuse. What's your friends name, Eileen?
Anyway, I too saw that 'spot' and can't wait to give it a try.
Tell your friend that I gave him a (VH) and to make it his "bizness" to come aboard!
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
How many times do I have to tell ya Bahser... READ the review FIRST --- *THEN* comment. That just seems so logical.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
DB, those sprayer thingies don't work that well?
bargod on 2009-01-23:
Great stuff, a bit of a "soap" opera but I enjoyed it nonetheless.
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
ZZ...I've never been dumb enough to buy one of those...to me it's as useless as a dishwasher...for lazy people. Why have your shower sprayed for four days to get it clean automatically, when all you have to do is spray and wipe and be done in fifteen minutes?
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
Crabby...you're speaking to a person who reads from the bottom, up...from the last page to the first.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
DB, I am a sucker for commercials and automatic dishwashers are a convenience, thank you.
cherpep on 2009-01-23:
Those sprayer things are a joke. Hubby came home with it once, and even though I told him it wasn't going to work - he, of course, had to give it a try. It just sprays a bunch of junk around on the walls - a bunch of junk that doesn't do a thing. Waste of money. But, of course, I was thrilled (though not surprised) that I was once again correct. LOL!

I haven't bought the scrubbing bubbles in years!! I wasn't too impressed before, but based upon this entertaining review, I'll have to give it a try. My surface isn't ceramic, though, does anyone know if it will work on the resin surface without scratching?
cherpep on 2009-01-23:
Basher, I love my dishwasher - I can't imagine taking all that time out every day to wash those dishes. Too many! Too much time! I'd rather spend those precious moments doing something else.
cherpep on 2009-01-23:
"Showers of praise" -- Love the title!
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
I've voted everyone "very helpful" for your great responses. Scrubbing Bubbles, unite!
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
When we had indoor plumbing, I tried one of those shower sprayers. All it did was make the shower floor slicker than turkey snot for the next shower.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
Cherpep, poor little DB, is stuck in the sixties don't you know? She sits around all day listening to Liberace records on her old Victrola player!
Starlord on 2009-01-23:
We used the Scrubbing Bubbles on a fibreglas tub/shower enclosure in Arizona, and never had one sctrach. As far as we could dettermine, it is totally safe for all surfaces.
Slimjim on 2009-01-23:
Well I for one was especially impressed with the ENTIRE first page of this review. That would be the section where your friend treats us with his big spending stories and doesn't bore us with any reference or relevance to the ($5) product he's complimenting.
He really should have a sit down with Hazel though. It's a bit disgusting to avoid cleaning so long that you "couldn’t see through(the doors) anymore because of the buildup."
If she can't keep the mansion a little less revolting, I think Alice or Mr. Belvedere are available to replace her.
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
Slim...why do you want to look though his friend's shower door at him?

I understand that you miss him...but, I really starting to worry about you.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
Slim, when you are living a high octane lifestyle, have a super model for a wife and 5th chair Celloist for a Son, who has time to clean?
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
Now ZZ...once again, Sheriff didn't say which friend this was of his. You are "assuming" again.
Slimjim on 2009-01-23:
DB, nowhere did I even slightly give the notion I wanted to peer through the shower doors on the Airstream. It was just a little gross to me that the doors were describe as being so filthy. I'm also a little disturb at the dig to Asians. We had a guy here who was like that, couldn't seem to avoid referencing them. From their car seats to their Laundry Mats to their rickshaws.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
Lets just say that I am making an educated guess.
Who else would refer to their income and wordly goods on a lousy bathtub cleaner review?
DebtorBasher on 2009-01-23:
Awwwwwwwww...Slim!
Slimjim on 2009-01-23:
I guess you can splurge for all that marble when you live off pizza delivery and clean your bathroom once every winter solstice.
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
A high end lifestyle but too cheap to hire a friggin, plumber!
Addy, can I take have vote back?!!!
Nohandle on 2009-01-23:
Sheriff, kindly tell your friend if his Roman bathroom is that nasty forget the Scrubbing Bubbles. It appears several bottles of Tilex Soap Scum Remover and Tilex Mildew Remover, along with a number of gallons of Clorox might take care of the problem. He really shouldn't let it get to that point. LOL
Slimjim on 2009-01-23:
LMAO, got that right NH. Sheriff, I think your friend misunderstood the Asian hotel guest's accent when one said to the other. "get a load of this drunken ah-so."
Anonymous on 2009-01-23:
^^^Nice!
imp3400 on 2013-03-23:
I love the mega shower foamer. I use it all the time and no elbow grease needed. It powers soap scum and hard water spots off the glass doors effortlessly.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Annoying TV commercial
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
TROY, MICHIGAN -- Don’t know if this should be a complaint about a commercial or a compliment for a response from the company. But, complaints get read sooner, right? So, I'll make it an 'Informative.'

S. C. Johnson Co. has a commercial about their new(?) Ziploc bags which has annoyed me since the first time I saw it.

A shopper is at a butcher counter and tells the server: “Four pounds of __?__ but only wrap half of it. I’ll just throw it out anyway.”

Using the ‘Contact Us’ link on their website I told them they need a new advertising agency/department. Why doesn’t she just order two pounds to begin with? Or she could do as I do when having excess product on hand or when buying in quantity, use a FoodSaver for storing any extras. Her food will be better stored by using this machine than the Ziploc bags. (I’ve had steaks stored by this method for almost a year with no loss of flavor/texture.)

I fully expected the email to be ignored. Surprise! I received an answer which was not the usual scripted—blah, blah, blah. It reads in part: “Please know we value your comments and are sharing them with the people responsible for our advertising.”

Who knows? Maybe I helped get rid of an annoying commercial. I give kudos to S. C. Johnson for actually reading and responding to an email sent by a nit-picking viewer. Now-—if I can just convince some writers/speakers that it’s not a *healthy* diet/food/meal, etc. It’s *healthful*.
     
Read 26 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2012-02-15:
It sounds like you are really on the same page as the commercial.

The whole point of the commercial is that with the new bags, she (we) can finally save our excess product - there's no reason to waste two of the four pounds of meat now.

While I agree with you that a FoodSaver is probably the better way to go, with the vacuum seal and all, SCJ is merely making a claim that their new bags are a fine way to save your food - the exact same way the FoodSaver infomercials do. (I believe FoodSaver also talks about how much food we *throw away*.)

That's just how I interpret all this.
Anonymous on 2012-02-15:
I just saw this commercial the other day and was annoyed as well. We are so wasteful, that now we need commercials telling us we have options to store the $500 worth of food we throw out every year?

I'd rather see a commercial that says stop being stupid and give that $500 to a local food bank. But I guess that wouldn't sell too many Ziploc bags.

Ponie on 2012-02-15:
Scruffy, I agree we're on the same page--saving food. However, no way can a zip top plastic bag vacuum seal product as the FoodSaver does. 'Course, I've sometime just wrapped something in plastic wrap knowing I'll use it fairly soon. What a surprise when I forget about it. :)

justcuz, the thing that really annoyed me is that they implied (or is it insinuated?) we don't know how to save $$. Hey! I know how to sqeeze a quarter until the eagle loses it's feathers.
DebtorBasher on 2012-02-15:
Their point is, you won't have to waste half of your food if you use Ziploc bags. Therefore, even if she only ordered 2 lbs, half of that would be wasted. It's a commercial to sell a product, exaggeration is what the companies us to sell a product. Of course someone isn't going to go and tell a butcher that. It's just like those commercials selling slicers and shows people trying to cut a tomato and squeezing it to make a mess all over the place, when we know you don't squeeze tomotatoes when you slice them. Or when they sell airlock containers and make it look like other brands will cause the food to fly all over the kitchen it if isn't sealed right.

And by the way, “Please know we value your comments and are sharing them with the people responsible for our advertising.” IS a scripted response that you get from just about any company. You said that was 'in part' of their response, was the other part more personalized to your complaint?

Ponie on 2012-02-15:
DB, I'm almost fearful to disagree with you. Yes, earlier they made mention of the initial cost of the FoodSaver. And I agree but in the long run, it saves. Also, if someone commented about the quantity of bags in a package, they wouldn't refer to 'advertising.'
DebtorBasher on 2012-02-15:
Fear not the Basher! LOL!
No, I'm not talking about the actual product, I'm just saying that's the way commercials work the public.
Ponie on 2012-02-15:
Yes, DB, I know that's the purpose of commercials--to get us to buy the product. But this is not an 'As Sold On TV' company which is usually a fly-by-night organization. It's S.C.Johnson.
DebtorBasher on 2012-02-15:
I know, but they all use the same tactics, some are more obvious than others.
Ponie on 2012-02-15:
OK, DB. You can have the last word. :) I now realize this was a foolish waste of time by the other members by reading the review. After not having time to peruse M3C for quite a while, I can see I made a mistake posting this morning. I promise--I won't do it again.
CrystalSword on 2012-02-15:
Not a thing wrong with the FoodSaver, we have one and I do use it....I just wish the bags were cheaper.
traceylynn on 2012-02-15:
Crystal me too. I have one, I love the thing. Freezer burn is a thing of the past! But the bags are more expensive then just getting ziploc bags. And more of a pain too :/
Nohandle on 2012-02-15:
Ponie, I found your *informative* helpful as did several others. Yes, I generally believe some of those advertisers perceive the general public to be dumb as dumb can be. Heaven knows how many products were sold in the past before the days of *as seen on TV* products were found on shelves. They certainly make them interesting on TV.

I understand those FoodSavers are nice but have an acquaintance who was given one. She has a very small kitchen and could not leave hers on the countertop and have room for anything else. After a while she quit using it and simply squeezed every drop of air out she could and used one of those bags with a twisty tie. She found she could get more air out than with a ziplock bag. I use the ones with the twist tie as well. Old fashioned, but it works.

She will use her FoodSaver in the summer when she has lots of vegetables to freeze or for an overabundance of meat purchased at one time. She won't drag it out for a one time use for a small amount.
Ponie on 2012-02-15:
Crystal & Tracey: I agree the bags are expensive. I lucked out about a year ago. A KMart store in my area was closing. They had the 8" x 22ft., 2 rolls to a box, on sale for $9.99 a box. I got 4 boxes so I'm very well supplied at a really low price.

Also, are you aware they can be cleaned in the dishwasher and reused?

Nohandle, yes they do take up room. I keep mine in a small pantry, perpendicular to the wall where part of it extends from the shelf. If my once-a-week housekeeper has time, she gets it out to pack items I might buy. I buy things such as a 5lb. bag of meatballs, 5lb. bag of chicken breasts, etc., whenever I use the last one.

I agree it's useless to get it out for just one item. I have quite a few packages of veggies and fruits from last summer. If it's just one item, I toss sit into a plastic bag--and hope I don't overlook it. :)

Thanks for your comments.
Terminator's ghost on 2012-02-15:
I've seen the commercial, and it made sense to me. I'm not one to throw food away due to poor planning, so I am not their target audience.

To answer your question as to why someone wouldn't just order half so they don't waste the remainder, that is very logical. But this is marketing. The idea is to appeal to those people who end up wasting food regularly, and lead them to believe this is a tool to help prevent it. At the end of the day, it won't. You know that and I know that.

If the person this commercial appeals to bought 2 pounds instead of 4, they may end up wasting half of that anyway...
Venice09 on 2012-02-15:
I waste no food at all.. zero.. none. It can be done with a little planning. I am also able to squeeze the air out of a Ziploc or Baggie just as efficiently as a Foodsaver. If there was a way to measure the air in the bag, mine would come pretty darn close to a Foodsaver bag.
DebtorBasher on 2012-02-15:
LOL Ponie...I JUST noticed you are the OP of this review...so, I guess you know what the point of this review is, better than anyone. LOL!
Ben There on 2012-02-16:
I wish I could be one of those people that never wasted food, but I am not perfect. I get stuck eating out for work, I chose to be social at night and grab a bite out, and sometimes I am just so sick of what I cooked on Sunday for the week I ditch it by Thursday.

I am also a germaphobe that tends to throw out stuff before I should. I would probably check out this product...
Cwazychicken on 2012-02-16:
I agree ben. While saving food is good for some people, I can't stand the thought of eating food that's 6 months old (even frozen that has been opened and past its expiration.) Heck, I hate going 1 day over for milk LOL. Not a germaphobe though but I hate expired food.

However, if these bags tend to keep air out, might be good for something that could last a day or 2 or for snacks. But other wise, I probably wouldn't use them.
Churro on 2012-02-16:
My wife has an interesting habit that at first I thought quite odd but have grown to like. Aside from condiments, seasonings, cereals and such she only buys what she's going to prepare that day. So unless we're eating out we hit the market everyday. Certainly cuts down on the waste and snacking and eh keeps you active. She's a smart lady that wife of mine is.
Alain on 2012-02-16:
With only two of us (and both watching what we eat-kindasorta) it's a lot easier to have portion control.
Ben There on 2012-02-16:
Churro - Ideally that is what I would due to... Unfortunately if I often find myself popping into the Subway or McDonald's next door to the market cause its 8pm, I'm tired, and I just want to get home and eat. Five bucks for a low fat sandwich or a McD's salad with grilled chicken seems cheaper and faster than anything I can do.

I am not saying that is what I always do - If I magically get home around 6pm its a different story.
Nohandle on 2012-02-16:
Some individuals really enjoy going to the grocery store. Fine it that works for them. I, for one, am not going to a store each day, walk the aisles and decide what would be a swell evening meal. My time could better be spent aggravating someone.

No, don't throw your scraps in the refrigerator or freezer if you have no intent on using them later and just don't want to feel guilty. Everyone, at some time or other, has found some strange something and wondered what it was. I'm a firm believer if you see a special on meats at your grocery by all means buy several, package the additional meat in the freezer and use a couple of weeks later. Nothing wrong with that if you have the space available.

I had a neighbor once who would take the leftover cooked veggies after the evening meal and immediately pour juice and all into a quart sized jar and pop into the freezer. Layer upon layer. Once she had two quart jars filled would be an indication for homemade vegetable soup. I promise that was the best soup you ever had and she didn't go to the grocery and purchase canned/frozen mixed vegetables. The vegetables she had already had been seasoned and about all she did was purchase tomatoes and whatever meat she might want, if she wanted it at all. Come on folks, what's wrong with that?
Venice09 on 2012-02-16:
"I, for one, am not going to a store each day, walk the aisles and decide what would be a swell evening meal. My time could better be spent aggravating someone."

I second that!

I go to the store once a week. Twice, tops. I buy what I need for the week and stock up on sale items since I have plenty of storage space. If I went every day, I'd end up buying too much.
Churro on 2012-02-16:
"My time could better be spent aggravating someone"

I find that most people better spend that time watching TV. Personally, I find it far more exciting to be in 'the real world' than watching 'the real world' even if that real world is merely perusing grocery store aisles. Sure, that bites you in the butt on Pub Trivia night when you can't answer what actress played so-and-so's mother on Friends but on the other hand you don't imprint your couch with butt groves.

So yeah Nohandle you want to dance.
Nohandle on 2012-02-16:
You're the most aggravating member here Churro and you know it. BTW, my Valentine flowers did not arrive from you. Do I want to dance? Heck yeah. What do you plan on doing with Sue in the meantime? Is she to sit and watch? I'm not into that kinky sort of thing but you've always been a tad strange. Admit it.

Now, what is really strange is going to the grocery each day, selecting the evening meal and then going home to cook it. Just drop by the deli and purchase a plate or two since I expect you don't like leftovers. Throw whatever is not eaten into the garbage. That makes a lot of sense.
Churro on 2012-02-16:
"You're the most aggravating member here Churro"

That's one idea that's sure to die of loneliness.
Close commentsAdd reply
Not Reliable
Posted by on
NORTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I purchased a countertop from S.C. Floor Covering in Norton in October, 2007. The salesman who sold us the countertop explained the product and the installation procedure. He highly recommended the installers and said that they used them all the time. On October 23, I received a call from S.C. Floor Covering to say that our countertops would be installed on Friday, October 26th between 9:00 am and 1:00 pm. We took the day off from work to be there and let the installers in. Needless to say, the installers did not show up on Friday. Because S.C. Floor Covering closes early on Friday, we were unable to get them to help us with the installation. Only after many calls to the installers, did I arrange for them to come out on Saturday. But, we had missed a day's pay for NO reason. When I spoke with S.C. Floor Covering in Norton, I said that I was surprised to see that they did not reimburse us for the missed days pay. The salesman told me that they do not do that. He also said that they lived up to their contract and delivered the counter.

However, NOT on time, when promised. I think that if S.C. Floor Covering were decent they would have taken off the missed day of pay. I would NOT recommend them.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
shawnp80 on 2007-11-01:
Get a better job. At my job they actually pay you for days off.
jktshff1 on 2007-11-01:
how many is we? don't take but one person to watch a counter top being put on.
delays come up (shyt happens), they don't owe you anything but a good install, sure they should have called you.
Anonymous on 2007-11-01:
jkt, we is three and that will be enough of the "S" from you today!
jktshff1 on 2007-11-01:
yea, can't believe I did that, long week, couple of drinks, ya'll know the story
Anonymous on 2007-11-01:
Yeah Jkt but you must set the example for the others on here and drinking/Internet just don't mix.
jktshff1 on 2007-11-01:
I'm too old to set an example any more. That's what nice about getting old, and being successful, I really don't care what people think.
Anonymous on 2007-11-01:
OK JKT, I hear ya and I understand so now I will drink and Internet. Thanks for setting me straight.
jktshff1 on 2007-11-01:
LOL!!!!!!
scfloorcover on 2008-05-05:
See my post to this as the owner of the company
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >