Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Dryers Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Possible death from gas dryer hook up
By -

Complaint Description: I purchased a Kenmore gas dryer including hookup and all necessary parts for hookup from Sears on 4/3/10. When Sears delivered my new dryer at 8:30 am on 4/6/10, they unhooked my old dryer leaving the gas line open and exposed, put my old dryer in their truck, brought in the new one (denting my door), and noticed they did not have a necessary part to hook it up. They left with my old dryer to get the part all the while leaving the gas line open and exposed to my home.

They never came back to hook up my new dryer! I called from 10:00 am-7:00 pm to try to get someone to come back to my home to hook up my new dryer or at least hook back up my old one that they took. I got the total runaround. It was a nightmare. My gas line is exposed creating a serious threat to my family's safety. No one ever came back even though I told them I smelled gas and was afraid my house was going to blow up. They told me that I would have to wait until the next day for someone to come back out to hook up the dryer, and that I should call the gas company and the fire dept. to come to my house at my expense to make sure there isn't a leak. Unbelievable!!!

All I wanted was someone to come back to hook up the dryer they left in my laundry room. It is now 11:30 pm, and I only hope and pray that my family will not die from this exposed gas line. Even though I turned off the gas to my home, I am afraid of a leak. The service at Sears is not only horrendous, it seems criminal to me.

I do not even want this dryer because of the incompetence of a dangerous hook up, terrible service, the lack of concern or help, and the overall safety issue of leaving a gas line exposed. I was on the phone trying to get help for 9 hours. I want Sears to be held liable for anything unfortunate that should happen to me or my family if a leak or explosion does occur. I will NEVER make another purchase at SEARS.

Company Response 04/07/2010:

Dear aegtjg,

We can certainly understand how frustrated you are about the installation on your new dryer. We should have returned the same day to get this taken care of. My name is Shayne and I work for the Sears Cares Escalations Team and we are here for assistance. At your convenience please contact my office via email at searscares@searshc.com so that we can look into this for you. Please provide us a contact number and the phone number the dryer was purchased under and we will call you at your convenience. In addition, include your screen name (aegtjg) in the email so we can reference to your case.

Thank you,

Shayne W.
Senior Case Manager
Sears Cares

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Purchase Sears Appliance Extended Service Agreement
By -

COSTA MESA, CALIFORNIA -- When I called to have my washer serviced using my extended service agreement I was told I would not be able to have someone come out for 2 weeks. My washing machine was leaking large amounts of water making it unusable. When I asked to speak to a supervisor at 1-800-myhome I was told the supervisor would tell me the same thing and the representative would not transfer my call.

When I insisted the representative finally agreed and placed me on hold for over 30 minutes. The phone call was disconnected at 5pm when I assume their phone system closed for the evening. I never received a call back from a supervisor. Although, I did get a call back to service my appliance earlier when they had a cancellation.

This is not my first bad experience with Sears. Their customer service is extremely poor. It is difficult to get through on their phone line, the wait time to speak with a live person is long. The phone reps will not transfer to a supervisor when requested. I have been transferred to multiple numbers when trying to rectify a problem. The numerous phone reps I have spoken with have not had the knowledge or authority to help me solve the problems I have had with the poor repair service I have received from SEARS.

On one occasion the service man left my machine dirty with grime and grease on the exterior of the machine. Plus he could not speak or understand English. On a separate occasion the same service man left my machine leaking water. It took me 3 hours on the phone to get someone out to my house to fix the problem he created. And the phone representative told me "IF they could send someone it wouldn't be until the end of the day". I was furious. I DO NOT RECOMMEND PURCHASING THE EXTENDED SERVICE AGREEMENT ON SEARS APPLIANCES!!!

Replies
Poor Customer Service
-

I had an appointment for Monday July 13, 2009 between 8 am-12 pm and received a call from Sears during that time informing me of a scheduling problem and the technician would need to reschedule. I rescheduled the appointment for Friday July 17, 2009 between 8 am-12 pm. No technician showed. Someone was there the entire time.

I called the national customer service number at 1-800-795-5030 at 1 pm the same day and was referred to the call center that handles the area (I live in Miami). It is called Plantation Customer Service. The number is **. I was told the technician arrived in Miami at 11:20 am. I told the person waiting at home to not accept the service if the technician showed because the wait was ridiculous. I called the customer service number again to complain and was told that technician actually had a light day and was then told that he was in a meeting.

I was then forward to someone I guess was a supervisor. I made a mistake by not recording her name. She told me that Sears would reimburse $150 in labor and $100 in parts and told me that my file number would be my phone number and she would call me later with all of the information. She also told me that I would be rescheduled for Wednesday July 22, 2009 between 8 am-12 pm.

I called Tuesday July 21, 2009 to verify my appointment was scheduled for Wednesday. The representative told me that all she had in the computer was my last appointment for Friday. Apparently there is no record of anyone doing anything after my Friday call. After calling on Tuesday I received a voice mail later that day informing me of my new appointment. It was not scheduled between 8 am-12 pm as the person said. It was scheduled between 1 pm-5 pm.

I called Sears again on Wednesday July 22, 2009 at 1-800-469-4663 at 915a and the representative (Gabe) confirmed my appointment. I asked who scheduled it and she was unable to do so. I asked because I did not and would not schedule it for that time period. She returned and told me the technician's supervisor (Olga) rescheduled it. I asked if there was anything in the file stating that I would be reimbursed and she found nothing. I canceled the appointment during that call because I was tired of this. This is horrible customer service. I advise you to never use them.

Replies
Sears Did Not Deliver Merchandise As Promised
By -

CLAY, NEW YORK -- My dryer stopped working during the week. I am a single mother who works full-time. I have A LOT of laundry!! When I realized that my dryer couldn't be saved. I looked online and found that Sears had next day delivery - yeah, I could do my clothes!! I called the store to make sure that it could be delivered and they said yes as long as I ordered it by 3 pm.

I went to the Great Northern Mall location and purchased a dryer from a salesman named Joe. Joe assured me that the dryer would be delivered the next day. He said delivery would call that evening with the time of the delivery. When Sears delivery arrived, they had a washer not a dryer!!! They said that the earliest it could be delivered was Monday.

I changed my Easter weekend plans and spent less time with my family because I was getting my dryer delivered. I spoke to customer service, "Joe the salesman" and Craig **, his manager and was told that he couldn't produce a dryer "out of thin air". He said that I was being unreasonable. I said that if I expected to purchase a dryer and have it delivered that same day, that I would be unreasonable but I expected them to HONOR THE AGREEMENT they had made.

I added that with the retail business in the poor shape it is in, it was not a good idea to sarcastic to his dissatisfied customer. He offered me a $50 Sears gift card for my inconvenience and added that they had a 10% sale going on! What the man did not appear to understand was that because of this I will not shop at Sears again. I would strongly urge others not to shop at Sears as well. It is rather sad that when our economy and the retail industry in particular is suffering, that company can treat customers in this manner!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality, Poor Service
By -

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- When I bought a new home last year, I went to Sears to pick out the major appliances. At that time I bought a high-efficiency electric dryer. From the time I bought the dryer, the lint trap did a poor job, with Sear's response to my complaint being "you can probably buy a new one online." When the dryer stopped working 14 months after purchase (and of course, 2 months out of warranty), I called Sears to come out for the repair. It took over a week to get the initial appointment, with a 4-hour window, of course. I re-arranged my life to wait at home for the service person. When he came, he said he thought it was the control panel, and he could order the part for me.

Another appointment was scheduled at that time, but Sears changed it without notifying me a day before the work was to be done. The part arrived in a reasonable period of time, and it was installed for a price of $350. He informed me that the work would be warrantied for 90 days, so if the same symptom came back, they'd come back and repair it for the price of the parts. When the dryer failed again (the very first load after repair), I called Sears service. They informed me that the warranty only applied to the part they had just installed.

If the repairman had mis-diagnosed the problem and sold me the wrong part, I'd have to pay the service call, plus labor, plus the new part for whatever they diagnosed the problem to be this time. At that point, I decided to cut my losses--I will never again purchase any Sears products, nor will I have a Sears repairman in my home. I have found a local repair shop that actually stands behind their work.

Replies
Never Buy From Sears!
By -

PROVO, UTAH -- Until now, we have bought all of our major appliances at Sears -- but NEVER again! We bought a Maytag dryer and the delivery date was set for a week later. On the day of the delivery, I was looking forward to arriving home to find my old dryer gone and my new dryer hooked up and ready to process a week of dirty clothes. Instead I found the dryer in the middle of the downstairs hall, blocking all access. The old dryer was gone but the new dryer wouldn't fit through the door so they just left it! My daughter explained that we would need to solve the door problem (that makes sense) and then call them to have it installed. However, they didn't leave a number to call.

I had to crawl over the dryer to just get in my bedroom! I removed the door (easy) and moved the dryer into place. I then had no choice except to hook it up myself so we could have some clean clothes to wear. When I purchased the dryer, I also purchased a new power cord (not included?) and a new exhaust hose. They didn't leave an exhaust hose and the power cord they installed was the wrong one. I spent the evening running back and forth to Home Depot getting the necessary parts, installing the parts and getting the dryer hooked up. WHAT A PAIN! And I had paid extra to have this done for me!

The next day I called Sears to complain about the incident and get a refund of the extra parts I had paid for. They were nice about it, apologized for the "inconvenience" and promised a quick refund. Then they did nothing. A number of days later I called back and yelled at them. They apologized again and promised a refund. They even offered a gift card for all the problems. Then they did nothing... Again. I called back today and spoke to a manager who explained that I had to take this up with the store -- they couldn't do anything about it. AHHHH!!!

So I called the Sears store and wrestled through their ASININE automatic phone system only to be hung up on twice and dropped in a void once. Once I ended up speaking to their credit card service, who (of course) couldn't help me and told me to "call the store". I still have not been able to speak to a human by calling SEARS. ** YOU SEARS! So it is worth it to drive half a hour to the store to get my $30 refund? I probably will just to vent my extreme anger AT THE ENTIRE STORE, AT THE TOP OF MY LUNGS! How is it that a major store like this can have such poor service now? Does anyone have a suggestion for a good place to buy appliances?

Replies
Horrible Customer Service And Lies
By -

AJAX ONTARIO CANADA -- My son bought a Kenmore Dryer from Sears home store in Whitby Ontario on November 20th, 2007. On or about December 9th this dryer stopped working (2-3 weeks after purchase). Although it spins there is no heat. The house fuses that control the dryer are okay and not blown, but the dryer does not heat nor does the timer work. My son called Sears home store wanting to return this dryer within the "first 30 days as per the return policy" but the Store said "NO", they would not take it back and insist on sending a technician out to repair it.

My son does NOT want to be stuck with a Lemon of a dryer that has broken down within the first 30 days, but Sears home store in Whitby will not take it back nor will Sears Customer Service do anything but say they need to send someone to repair it. Therefore their 30-day refund for any reason policy is a total way of defrauding the public and supplying them with faulty appliances. We really need some help in this matter.

To top it all off, Sears will not send a guy out to look at this dry until next week. My son works 24/7 almost and I have to make a trip to his home 40 miles from mine and take time off my work to meet the man there, and they will not give me an exact time and make no promises on either fixing or taking back. And my son is now out a dryer which he needs badly because he works outside and gets wet, dirty, and needs to clean his clothes on a daily basis. This has left us in a real mess and we will be losing a lot of money from taking time off work. We would never buy from Sears again. They lie, defraud the public, and have created a nightmare for us!!

Replies
No More Sears For Me
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I am absolutely furious with Sears. I bought a Whirlpool Duet Sport model – both the washer and dryer in October. The washer washed a total of THREE LOADS before breaking down. I stupidly bought a five year service contract from you. I ordered the part which took about ten days to arrive. I scheduled an appointment for service today – a window between 8 am and 12 pm. At 12:20 pm I called (obviously a housewife who takes the calls because you can hear the baby crying in the background) and she said she would have the guy call me to let me know when he's going to arrive.

40 minutes later, no call from the service guy, so I call again. The next housewife informs me that one of the service guys called in sick, so someone else is taking his place and he's behind. I asked her to have him call me to let me know about when he'd arrive. That was almost an hour ago – STILL NO CALL FROM HIM. He FINALLY shows up at 2:15 claiming he had a different window for me on his schedule. Great!!! But even better - he is unable to install the part! Thank you Sears for ruining my day. This is so unacceptable.

I chose Sears because I thought I could trust quality service and products. Obviously neither is true. I am furious with this shoddy treatment. I've bought almost every appliance from Sears for years. I doubt I'll be doing it again. And if this Whirlpool isn't fixed this time – you had better be prepared to replace it or be sued. Lest you think I'm some kook – I've never written a complaint letter to a company in my life. What has happened to Sears? I am fast becoming a FORMER customer.

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Elite dryer
By -

So, after a lot of research, I bought a Kenmore Elite dryer. It is now 8 months old and on occasion simply does not work. The unit is receiving power (as the light turns on when the door is opened) but when I push the dryer setting I want, nothing happens. No response. Zilch.

Much like what happens when I call Sears service. This is the second service call I've requested for the same problem. The first call I made was on a Friday and I had to wait until Thursday for the tech to come out. During that waiting period, the dryer spontaneously starting working again. So when the tech came out he was "unable to diagnose the problem" since it appeared to be in working order. Well, here I am a mere 2 weeks later with the same problem. It's a Saturday and I again have to wait until Thursday for a tech to come out. I expect that he will again scratch his head and say he doesn't know what the problem is. Do I hope for the dryer to start up again on its own?

I am totally frustrated not just with the fact that I have a crummy dryer. I am frustrated with the wait for "service," I am frustrated that there seems to be no way to escalate a complaint. I've spoke to "customer relations" who tell me I can't complain to their supervisor because he's "left for the day." Everyone basically tells me there is nothing they can do at this point.

I've been put through to OneSource, which I am told is a separate customer relations dept which is just as worthless as the rest of the lot I've spoken to. I'm told that my dryer can't be considered a lemon until I have made 4 service calls for the same problem. These dryers are not cheap and neither is the extended warranty I purchased that now seems completely worthless. So I am left to cross my fingers each time I go to use my dryer. And right now it's full of wet bedding. I will never again purchase anything from Sears or Kmart. I think this is a shame. I've always considered Sears to be a reputable company. But it's just not so.

Replies
Worst Delivery/Installation Ever!!!
By -

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I just have to vent how terrible of an experience I have had with Sears delivery service. First, it was a week and 1/2 before they would even deliver the wash machine. Then, they told me they couldn't install it because the valves needed replacing and I would have to get a plumber (so much for free installation). They came up to my place with no tools of their own, so I find it hard to believe they even intended to install it. I had to loan them both a phillips head and regular screwdriver. I never got the phillips head back. They left the Stack Washer/Dryer in my living room. (I guess I should be happy it's in my possession, though it may be Christmas before I can use it !!!)

Then, after the plumber came, they returned and told me they still couldn't install it because the valves were leaking. Well, that's understandable, but they also went on and on about a pan I was supposed to have to sit the machine on to prevent leakage to the condo beneath me. That's fine also, but why didn't someone tell me about this earlier. Then, I get the plumber back out here and fix the valves. I scheduled an installation day for the following Wednesday (MY DAY OFF). When that day comes, I find out they mis-scheduled it for Thursday and now I have to wait another week because I work every day and they can't set a "time" for delivery.

According to the way Sears seems to work to me, nobody else in the world must work since everything has to be according to their time frame EVEN when they make a mistake. At this point, I wonder if I will EVER have my washer/dryer installed. Nobody at your delivery center has any empathy, consideration, or helpfulness to help somebody through these problems, I might as well be talking to a robot! I, personally, will NEVER order another Sears appliance, because I hope to avoid ever having to go through this living nightmare again! Hopefully Lowe's, or other home centers have more consideration!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Dryers Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
76 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores