Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Washers Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Continued Lack of Servicing of Products
By -

GRASS VALLEY, CALIFORNIA -- We purchased this high end $1300.00 washer in 2006 from our local Sears. My husband then purchased the matching dryer as a gift at Christmas for me. Within the first 2 weeks of using the washer I noticed the whites started feeling stiff and unclean. I adhered to the HE policy of the detergents needed so the warranty wasn't voided as stated by the salesman. I called the service department to complain our clothes weren't getting cleaned. I tried to send the unit back. They stated this wasn't possible and I wouldn't get my money back and a service appointment was required.

They came and ran diagnostics with stating the washer was working fine. They also stated I wasn't using the right detergent. I showed them the HE label and quantity I was using within the guideline of the unit. I was told to decrease the quantity and that was the extent of the service. I called the store I purchased the unit from and asked to return the unit at which time I was told I could not do so. The unit now has again failed with a code displayed for the problem. I called the service number and talked to a person in the Philippines.

I asked to speak to a service tech to find what the code meant. I was told that I had no warranty so I couldn't talk to anyone. I was told I needed to go online to a site and speak online with a service tech. When I tried this site I was told there is no such address. I called service again to ask to speak to the service department in our store. An automated message shows to push 1,2 or 3 for your problem. When doing so I was given the message that I needed to call the original number I had already called and then was told goodbye by the machine.

I now sit with a 2 year old high end machine filled with water, clothes, a locked door and no one to talk to. I will never purchase another item from Sears and have now written a full report to our Attorney General about this company's neglect to follow through with their customers after selling substandard products while stating quality servicing of them. Everyone passes the buck after they get your money and spend a lot on commercials promising great service. There is no such thing with this company.

For all customers who have written their complaints at this site you might want to follow up with an Attorney General's formal complaint against this company. The results will soon put a stop to the continued false advertising of quality service and the lack of it. Your complaint will also alert them to number of consumers who are experiencing the same problems from this company. I have also informed corporate of the Attorney Generals and Better Business Bureau's complaints I've filed. Good Luck to you all. Please follow through to prevent others from having to go through what we here are experiencing.

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Repair Customer Service is terrible
By -

Several weeks ago, I noticed that my Maytag Neptune front loader washer was making a strange sound so I decided to call for service. Because of my work schedule, I asked for someone to come on Saturday. The following Saturday a repairman came out and determined he needed to order parts. He told me that they had to come back on Monday because they didn't like to do the big jobs on Saturday. I explained then that it was difficult for someone to be home during the week and at the scheduled time, but I would do my best.

9 days later, by 5:00pm the repair man has not arrived, so I called the dispatch office. A little while later, I received a call from the repairman stating that he needed a partner to help him with my machine; did I still want him to come? I said, no, it was fine to reschedule. My machine was still working, so he could put me on when there was availability. He scheduled me for Wednesday, 3 days later.

Wednesday, the dispatch office called my cell phone to let me know the service man was on his way. I was at work and unfortunately missed the call. When I called back (10 minutes later) I was told it was too late, they had already moved on that I would have to be rescheduled. The next earliest appointment was not until the following Wednesday. That was very upsetting, but again, my machine was still working so it wasn't a huge deal.

Wednesday, the repair man came and began working on my machine. I again received a call on my cell phone, this time from the repairman himself. I was not able to answer the call, so he left a message letting me know that the spinner had fused to the drum and another would have to be ordered. He would be back again, the following Monday.

I realized after I listened to his message that there was a chance my machine was NOT put back together so I began to call the repairman back on his cell phone to ask him. I left a message asking for him to please call me. In 1 hr he did not call so I called again. No answer, so I left another message. I then called the dispatch and ask them to send him a message that I needed him to call me or come back and put my machine back together. It was working when he got there… he should not have left it in unworking order.

When I got home, sure enough my machine was in many pieces all over my garage. I again tried to call the repairman on his cell phone and then called the service desk again. They said they had already sent him a message, but they would send another one. 8:00 pm that night after I returned home no one had called. I called again and no one at the service desk could tell me why or what to do. I again called the repairman and he did answer. (he didn't know who it was..) He said there was no way that he could have put my machine back together without the new parts…. that he would see me Monday … click he hung up.

I immediately called the dispatch office again and ask that a supervisor call me. I just wanted to let someone know how unhappy I was with this situation. I was so upset at the fact that when he got there my machine was working and by the time he left it was not and he had parts scattered all over my garage. I did NOT receive a call from anyone. The woman that I spoke to told me that she could send me a $25 gift card for Sears, but that was all she could do. When I asked to have a supervisor call me, she asked me if I still wanted the gift card. I told her absolutely. To this day… I have still NOT received the $25 gift card.

Because my machine was going to be down over the weekend, this meant I had to go to the Laundromat. Saturday morning I spent 2 ½ hrs of my time and $55 of my money to do my laundry.

The parts arrived on Friday. Monday he came to repair my machine. When I got home he was still there and explained to me that he did put the new parts in, but now the seal was leaking. That he had order more parts and would be back the following Monday. He explained that he had spoken to his supervisor and tried to get authorization to give me a “comparable” new machine. His supervisor told him that this was not an option because I didn't have the type of service plan that would warrant that type of replacement.

He also told me that his supervisor had told him that I had called to “complain” and he was apologizing for everything. At that time, I realized that “the supervisor” did get my message to call, but obviously didn't feel it was important enough to call me back, she left it up to the repairman to apologize. That upset me greatly. This was very bad customer service. I did ask the man her name and he told me it was Ms. **. With the latest issue, this meant another weekend without a washing machine and more time at the Laundromat. This time I spent 3 hours and $65 more of my money (that I don't have by the way).

Monday came and the repairman came once again to install the new parts. During the installation of the new seal, he broke “something” else and had to order more parts. He called to tell me while I was at work and I thought I would faint at the thought of this… he felt terrible and apologized again for all the trouble. He said that he once again had spoken to his supervisor Ms. **, about replacing my machine with a “comparable” new model and once again he was told no. He said he was going to order any and all parts that he might possibly need and they would be there in time for him to come to my home on Saturday to install.

At the very first appointment I had asked the repairman about replacing the rubber piece inside the washing machine because it was all stained with mold and had a strong moldy odor. He told me at that time that he was not able to replace that piece just because it was stained. When he told me this time that he was ordering any and all parts possible to fix my machine, I asked if one of those pieces was going to be a new rubber piece and he said yes. Well, apparently it was not one of the parts, if it was; he did not put it on.

At least I would not have to spend more money and time going to the Laundromat. I asked again for him to pass along a message to her supervisor, Ms. **, asking her to call me. I told him to tell her that it was very upsetting to me that as a supervisor she would not even call me herself to apologize for the inconvenience, especially since I have asked on several occasions for her to call. To this day I have still NOT hear from Ms.**.

While trying to get a supervisor to at least talk to me I called and spoke to the Customer Solutions department. I spoke to a gentleman; he read my report record and apologized. When I told him that I wanted to speak to a supervisor, he told me it was not possible for anyone to call me. I was confused and upset by that and his response to me was “What do you want me to do Mrs. **????" I could not believe that I was speaking to yet another rude person from “Sears”.

My machine did finally get fixed…thank God! But I cannot let go the fact that to this day I have not heard one thing from anyone to apologize or anything.

So after all was said and done, I have spent $120 of my money at the Laundromat, several hours of my time following this entire thing through, I still have a stained, musty smelling rubber piece on my machine, and my garage is filled with old parts, boxes, and some BRAND new parts still in the box (except the rubber piece that I specifically asked for…) No instructions on what to do with the parts, no offer to help clean up this mess, no $25 gift card, and no call from ANYONE!!!!!

We have to spend more of our time cleaning up the mess left by Sears. I did not have the good conscience to throw out brand new parts without at least asking if someone from Sears wants to come to pick them up. It has now been several weeks since all of this has happened. I was thinking of just letting this all go, but I can't. I am so disappointed in the customer service that Sears has offered me in this situation that I am sending this letter in hopes that someone at Sears still cares about customer service.

I have to say, we will be purchasing a new washer and dryer in the near future and I will no way be purchasing from Sears. I have always been loyal to Maytag and Sears products, but not anymore. I have lost all trust in the Sears service and would rather spend my money elsewhere. I have and will continue to share the horrifying story with my friends. I really hope that I hear from someone in management very soon. The best time to reach me is after 3:00 when I am off of work.

Replies
Sears -- Never Again!
By -

TOLEDO, OHIO -- On 2/16/09 our 4-year-old Kenmore front-loading washer (purchased at Sears, along with a warranty) started making loud banging noises & the fabric softener dispenser did not working. We scheduled a repair appointment with Sears for 2/18/09. The tech arrived on 2/18 & diagnosed a cracked drum and clogged dispenser valve--but had no parts with which to complete repairs. He ordered 5 parts (dispenser valve, steel drum, drum shell, belt, and 2 sets of anti-vibration shocks)it took 3 weeks for all the parts to arrive!

I scheduled an appointment for the repairs to take place on 3/9/09 and took the day off work. I called Sears at 1 P.M. on 3/9 and learned that my repair appointment had not been "coded" correctly and there was no technician available. I rescheduled the repair appointment for 3/11 & my husband took the day off--the techs showed up and worked on the washer. They took the old parts away, informing us that the machine was repaired. They were kind enough to let us know that the repairs would have cost us $890+ if it had not been for the warranty we purchased previously.

After they left, we discovered that they had not transferred the baffles from the old drum into the new drum when it was installed. Further, the new fabric softener dispenser valve does not work. As an added bonus, when we tried to wash a load of clothes we got a nice puddle on the floor in front of the machine (that's a new problem)!

We immediately called the Sears 800 number on 3/11 to try to get the tech back to install the old baffles--no such luck! We had to schedule a 3rd repair appointment for today (3/13/09). Meanwhile we made numerous calls on 3/11, 3/12 and 3/13 in an attempt to get through to the tech to remind him that the baffles needed to be brought back. No such luck--again.

I took a vacation day today (3/13) to wait for the tech. He called at 11 A.M. to say he would arrive in 30 minutes and wanted to know what kind of problem we were having--amazing that he had received none of the many messages we left! He called back again to say that--of course--he had to order a new dispenser "assembly" (not valve this time) and that the old steel drum and baffles had been discarded, so he would now have to order baffles as well. I am now scheduled for a 4th repair appointment on 3/17/09--I suspect the parts won't arrive before 3/17!

Sears has been a huge disappointment with regard to this issue. According to my warranty, we don't qualify for a replacement washer until we've had 4 separate service calls in a 12 month period on 4 different problems! Meanwhile, I'm trudging to laundromats and family members' homes to get my family's laundry washed. DO NOT BUY APPLIANCES OR A WARRANTY FROM SEARS--IT'S NOT WORTH THE MANY HOURS/DAYS YOU'LL SPEND WAITING FOR SERVICE AND TALKING TO NUMEROUS PEOPLE AT THE 800 NUMBER!

Replies
Poor Kenmore Washer Product Quality And Poor Customer Service
By -

ILLINOIS -- 3 weeks ago, our Kenmore Calypso washer that we had purchased from Sears not even 5 years ago, broke down for the second time, and I set up a 1-5 pm Kenmore/Sears service appointment for which my wife stayed home from work (the appointment was confirmed by phone by Sears the day before). At 1:15 pm the day of the service (Nov 13th) however, we were called that the service had to be canceled and needed to be re-scheduled for 2 days later.

I called that same afternoon to complain about the late notice as unacceptable (as my wife now had to stay home again), and was promised that this would be investigated and I would receive a call (I also gave my cell phone number for that) with feedback. Never received a call though...

The day of the re-scheduled service, a technician shows up, who in our modest view had no clue what he was doing. He tried to run the washer, and after not being able to get it running (it got stuck in the beginning of the cycle, with an error message "ld" which I already knew from the operation manual, meant "low drain". The technician's comment was "it's broken..." He could have told me that over the phone too... Then, he removed the top part, pushed the inside cylinder a few times, and tried a few more cycles, then he came back with the conclusion "it's broken," and also "I don't know what's wrong with it..."

After some further pushing and trying, he said that the control panel would need to be changed and some of the internals also, and that it would cost 482 dollars +tax to do so (he printed out an estimate). We are however puzzled how he came to that conclusion from just taking the top of, and not even trying verify, if the drain system or pump was not at the source of the problem. Anyhow, I was not willing to pay that kind of money to fix our washer, and decided we would just as well be off buying a new one.

By the way, the technician did not speak very highly of the Kenmore Calypso washer and said that these were prone to many issues and we would be better off getting rid of it...? Kind of strange since the salesperson back then in the store never mentioned anything about possible issues (of course, we were going to send 1100 dollars on it back then), and now after researching this a little on the internet, I do find indeed that this washer is indeed a piece of junk, and that many many similar complaints and even a lawsuit was filed on the poor reliability of this washer.

Anyway, to continue the story of the service call, the technician now asks us to pay the 109 dollars+tax for him to show up (and not fix our washer), which we reluctantly end up doing, because we felt he did so little effort on it and we were left with the verdict of having to spend more on buying a new one. My wife also pointed out to him at that point that his repeated trials to get it running left a large amount of smelly water inside the washer, which made it impossible to even move it also. So she asked him if he could take care of that, but his response was to add some bleach for the smell and let the people from Sears who would deliver the new washer deal with it???

So for his 115 dollars and 30 min service call, we cannot even get him to help us drain the washer (had to do it myself afterwards by hosing the water out). Furthermore, just when he offered us the bill for his "service", we were also offered a coupon towards the new washer at Sears, which started at 30, and went up to 100, discount depending on how much we spent towards a new washer at Sears.

At this point this was more like a slap in the face than anything else for us, as now I have to spend over 750 dollars to get only part back of what I just paid for this nightmare, and after I spend already 1100 dollars not even 5 years ago, on a washer that apparently does not even have the durability and reliability to run and service us for 5 years.
The next day, still in shock, I called Sears back to file a complaint regarding this matter, and again I am told that this will be looked into and a service manager would call me back on this.... Well, I'm again still waiting for the promised call.

This weekend, my wife and I bought and installed a new front load LG washer (highly recommended on the internet), and no thank you, not at Sears of course. As far as I am concerned I will never buy anything at Sears again.

Replies
Advertisement
Sears - Terrible Service/Repair
By -

MAGNOLIA, TEXAS -- My 1-1/2 yr old Kenmore front loader washer broke on Dec 8, 2007. I paid $850 for it new. Called Sears repair service and they came out on Dec 14, 2007. Parts were ordered. Total for that visit was $248 for parts & labor. A 2nd follow up appointment was scheduled for Dec 21, 2007 to install the ordered part.

Sears policy is to call the night before the scheduled appointment. If you do not pick up the phone, they CANCEL your appointment and leave a message for you to reschedule. So I called back and was moved to the back of the line, next scheduled appointment was for Dec 31. Same thing happened again. I missed the call, received a voice message that my appointment for the following day was canceled and to reschedule. I only have a cell phone at my house. They keep saying they need an alternate number but there is no alternate number.

I am single, no roommates or spouses whose number I can give out. I have complained to Sears through email and by phone about my situation. Their solution is to call me at least once, sometimes 4 times a day to reschedule. I keep asking them if their policy has changed of canceling the scheduled appointment the night before if you don't pick up. They say no so I say why should we waste both of our times and schedule something that they are going to cancel.

Since it is apparently critical to Sears that they get a confirmation, why don't they say in the voice message to call back within a certain time frame to keep your appointment? Or why isn't the initial service person in charge of the ticket from start to completion? That way no job falls through the crack like mine has. Or since I already kept one appointment and paid $248 for parts and labor, why can't they assume I am a good risk and just show up and honor their appointment?

I finally gave up and bought a low-tech top loader Whirlpool washer from Lowes. In retrospect I should have called a local appliance repair man. Only reason I called Sears was because I thought they would know Kenmore better and be more familiar with their product.

UPDATE 2-4-2008: I received a letter from Sears today thanking me for their recent work on successfully completing my repairs on 1-13-2008. Huh? Last I heard from Sears was 12-31-07 when they cancelled my appointment again. I called Sears and asked them, "Can't you see by your records that no service was done on 1-13-2008 and also that my job was never completed so this letter is like a slap in the face." Sort of Sears little joke on me that they can call this a successfully completed job and they know full well that it wasn't. NOW it's personal, I'm filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Office of the Attorney General.

UPDATE 12-10-2008: One year anniversary of my washer problems. New top loader washer from Lowes works great. The piece of crap Kenmore that sits in the garage is finally going bye-bye this weekend. I called Sears Home Repair tonight to ask them if they have changed their policy of cancelling scheduled appts if no one picks up the phone the evening before. The answer is YES THEY DO!!! So nothing has changed at Sears. I hope they go out of business. I will never buy another Craftsman or Kenmore product again, no more HD TV's, no more push or riding mowers. Will the last Sears customer please turn out the lights?

Replies
No Customer Service
By -

FONTANA, CALIFORNIA -- On Thursday, October 14, 2007, we started experiencing problems with our Maytag washer's timer control. To make sure we got the appropriate service for our washer we consulted the, “Maytag User's Guide” that came with our washer. It states on page 11 to call 1-800-688-9900 to locate and obtain authorized factory service. I called this number and I was given the name and phone number of A&E Factory Service in my area. Then I looked on the Maytag website and I found that A&E is listed their number one "Nationwide Service Provider".

I called A & E to obtain service for my washer. I got an appointment for October 18, 2007. When the service tech came out I explained to him what the washer was doing. He told me, without even touching my washer that the timer was out and he didn't have one on the truck. He said he could order it and it would be here in three days. I said, OK and he placed an order on his laptop and I paid him $149.45 on my credit card. He said when the part came in to call the office and they would come right out and replace the timer.

Three days came and went and no part arrived. After a week went by and no part arrived I called A&E on Wednesday, October 24th to find out if they knew anything about the missing part. I talked to a guy named **. After taking my information he informed me the part was on backorder. He said it was on backorder and is not scheduled to arrive until December 31, 2007. I was shocked upon hearing that I would be without a washer for two and a half months. And I didn't understand why I had not been informed, by A&E that the part was going to be delayed. I told ** to cancel my part order.

He said he would cancel the part order, but another department had to refund my money. He said someone would call the following day. No one called. On Friday, October 26, 2007, I again called A&E. A man named ** answered my call and I told him what had been going on. He said he would cancel the part order and he would transfer me to a person who would refund my money. After waiting on hold for five minutes the phone clicked and went dead. I called back and talked to a lady named **. I had to give her all my background again. She told me that she would now cancel the part order and she transferred me to a lady named **.

Upon talking to **she told me that no one had canceled the part but she would? But she couldn't refund my money. She said she would cancel the part and I would have to call back for my refund. I asked her why I needed to call back when I was already on the phone with her. She said she had to fill out paperwork and call the parts department. I told her to call the parts department and cancel that part order and then I would stay on the line and we could fill out the refund paperwork together.

She stated to me that to obtain a refund I would still have to pay the $50.00 service call charge. I said fine. She seemed reluctant to help me at this point so I asked her if I could talk to a Supervisor. She transferred me to a man name ** who said he was the Customer Service Manager. For the fourth or fifth time I had to tell my story again to **. He tells me that “none of the other people I have talked to are allowed to cancel my part order only he could do that”.

I told him that I am getting the runaround from his company. He says “he” will help me personally. He looks up my information and says he has cancelled my part order. He then tells me he can refund my money, but I will have to pay the $65.00 service call charge. I said wait a minute, I just talked to **, your employee not more than five minutes ago and she told me the service charge was only $50.00.

At this point ** said because ** had said it was $50.00 he would refund $100.00 to my credit card and keep the $50.00 for the service call. I said that was fine and asked for his direct phone number in case I had any further problems. He gave me his direct line and assured me he would take care of my problem.

After a week went by and not receiving a refund I called **. I was on hold for ten minutes. I then called the service number and the lady I spoke to tried to call ** at the number he gave me, and she was also placed on hold. She tried an internal number but no one answered. I then drove to A & E (aka: SEARS). I finally found “**” and asked him where my refund was. He said the employee who does the refunds had gone home for the day, which I found very convenient. He assured me that he would call me the next morning, which he did. He said that my refund would show up on my charge account in three days.

Well three days turned into a week without a refund. I called ** again and as usual he didn't know what had happened, although he is the manager of the department. Once again he promised my refund would be in my account in three days. Again a week went by and then my refund was in my account, sort of. Instead of the hundred dollars I was scheduled to get I only got $84.45. So on November 12, 2007, I had to call ** again about what had happened to my full refund. And as usual, ** didn't have an idea of what went wrong. He promised to call me back with the information. I'M STILL WAITING.

Replies
Sears HE3t Washer
By -

GEORGIA -- We bought a washer from Sears about 3 years ago (HE3t). We also purchased the extended warranty. We were told that it was the top of the line machine and would handle heavy loads. I wash on a daily basis with a family of four. My children play sports and therefore we have a lot of clothing with heavy stains. I've never been very happy with the machine (it agitates so much that the entire house feels as if it is vibrating, and I have discovered holes in our towels from the heavy agitation). Nevertheless, we paid over $1300.00 for the washer and I've tried to make it work. FInally, the machine stopped working with water inside. Luckily, my husband was able to get it unlocked and the water drained before ruining the clothing and even worse damaging my new hardword floors in the hall adjacent to the laundry room. We called Sears around 1:00 p.m. that Friday afternoon. We were told that a technician could be there on Monday and would call us between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. We waited the entire day, and finally the technician called at 4:20. He was a very nice gentleman and I think he did what he could, but he said we needed to have a new water pump installed and that he would have to order it. He said the parts would arrive by UPS at our address by that Wednesday. He said that my husband could install them if he wanted, but he could not come back until a full week had passed due to his computer not allowing him to schedule appointments at the same address in the same week (that sounded pretty strange). We again went along with the plan because we had no choice. When no parts arrive that week, I knew I was in for more waiting without a washer. My patience were pretty thin having been without a washer for ten days. We got a call from Sears that Sunday (a recording) that said our appt would need to be rescheduled. I called Sears and was told that the part must be back ordered. I think what offended me most was that when I called, they tried to sell me some kind of home improvement service. Why would I want to buy anything else from them? I did tell them that they could add a room onto my home for all of my dirty clothing. They have at this point rescheduled my appt for this Friday (being 15 days without a washer). After reading the many comments and complaints about Sears on the Internet, I certainly will NEVER buy anything from them again. How do they expect a family of four to live without a washer for over two weeks (and possibly longer)? From my reading, it seems that this water pump problem is certainly not a new one--they should have done a recall on them or better yet kept a lot of these in stock to fix hard-working consumers' products. GOOD RIDDANCE SEARS. You will NEVER be a part of our family again.

Replies
Won't Honor Master Service Agreement
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- 4-19-07, HE3 Washer-CSR4210241, SON:95685351 Eric, the technician was rude, insulting and argumentative from the moment he walked in the door. He saw a synthetic sheepskin rug laying on the washing machine and stated that we were washing things that were way too heavy. He pointed to the sheepskin and said "things like that should be taken to a Laundromat." The item he stated was too heavy for the machine weighs 1.1 lb. In comparison, 3 of our bath towels weighed as follows: 1.55 lb, 1.11 lb & 1.31 lb. Are bath towels also "too heavy" for the HE3 machine? I disagreed with him and he said fine, if I didn't want the washer repaired they could walk out and I could wait for the next technician. I told him he was being deliberately inflammatory and to stop shouting. He turned to his trainee and said "did I say anything inflammatory?" "Was I shouting?" As the supervisor of a trainee, no one with an ounce of sense would expect a trainee to disagree with his supervisor. Eric next claimed that the detergent we were using was responsible for the broken seal (caused it to deteriorate)so we had abused & misused the machine. First: there is nothing in the HE3 owner's manual that states we MUST use a High Efficiency detergent. It states "For best washing performance, use a High Efficiency (HE), or low-sudsing detergent. Second: I demand to see the study showing that a laundry detergent will cause a heavy rubber seal to rip apart. Third: a previous technician told us that the laundry detergent we were using was acceptable. Eric stated that wasn't true (calling me a liar), that all technicians were instructed to insist that an HE detergent be used. Eric saw some "scratches" on the washer's window and said that was proof that we were abusing the washer. I have no idea what caused the scratches. Does that mean that people are not allowed to wash items with zippers, buttons, etc.? I told Eric to just identify the part, order it and leave, because he didn't have the part anyway. Eric told me that every technician carried that part and did I want him to repair it or not? He and the trainee went out to the van and were gone about 15 minutes. When they returned, Eric stated that the repair would not be covered by our warranty because we had "abused" the machine. He said he could order the part (what happened to getting the part from the van?) and that I would have to pay around $277.73 for the repair. I said, and why would I have to pay for the repair, we have a 5 year Master Maintenance Agreement on the machine. Eric stated that a previous technician found a "rabbits foot" and some straw in the machine and identified that as an "abuse." He stated that he was reporting that this (waving his hand to the detergent and synthetic sheepskin) was an abuse and the repair was therefore not covered. (I'm counting to 100 by now.) We are an animal shelter. We RESCUE rabbits we do not cut off their feet. Eric had walked past numerous rabbits on his way to the washer. (I feel that his statement that a rabbits' foot had been found in our washer was a deliberate lie that Eric made up as one more inflammatory/harassing statement. If this statement is actually in our file it is an outrageous lie by someone in Sears' employment.) On a previous visit it is true that there were a few strands of hay (not the heavier straw found in the machine). We changed our procedure and there has never been even one strand of hay since that time. Eric handed me a "Master Protection Agreement" and identified paragraph 9.d He stated that we were misusing the machine by not using the HE detergent and that the scratches & synthetic sheepskin proved we were abusing the machine. On the same date, I phoned Sears service center, filed a complaint and was told that I would receive a return call with a "decision" within 2 business days. 4 business days have elapsed and still no phone call. We paid for a 5 year master service agreement and expect Sears to honor this contract.

Replies
Advertisement
Washer repair/customer service
By -

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA -- My washer leaked. Called Sears's obnoxious 800 number with mechanical voice options, scheduled appointment for 9/8/06. Mechanical voice said it cost $45 for tech to walk through front door. Tech came, looked at machine, said hoses needed tightening, tightented hoses. And charged $65, not $45.
As soon as he left my son started a load of clothes. Machine lost its tub of water when it tried but couldn't agitate. Prior to tech's appearance it had worked fine, just leaked.
Called Sears back, next available appointment is 9/13/06, a week later. Tech comes, admits that first tech had disturbed the electrical connections causing the no agitate/dump water problem. Ran small load test, did not charge for service and left.
He also said first tech did not diagnose that the hoses needed replacing, not tightening. Also said I could buy their $30 hoses, the only kind they bring with them, or go to local home store and buy and install my own. Which I did. So at this point they haven't actually fixed my problem, I did.
I then tried to start a load of clothes. Washer would only agitate half-load of clothes, would dump water from a full load down to half-full, then agitate, would not spin for the first rinse cycle, and only spun on the final rinse. Similar problems appeared randomly throughout the various wash cycles.
At this point I'm angry, call up Sears 800 repair number (by this time I can get to a real person in about 35 seconds) and discover the next available appointment is another week away, on 9/21/06.
Keep in mind for all of these appointments one must stay home and available for either 8:00 a.m. to noon or 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. I don't know what people who work outside the home do. Actually, they're lucky, they probably call somebody else.
Anyway, 9/21 comes and nobody shows. At 11:45 a.m. I call and the person says there's no appointment scheduled. Ballistic I went. Asked to speak to supervisor, talked to person named Laura, who condescendingly said I could wait at home 9/22 from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. So sorry for the inconvenience.
And as long as I'm totally irate, I ask about the $65 versus $45 walk through the door fee, since mechanical voice assured me it was $45. She spends several minutes looking this up and, frankly, was unable to explain the difference. Upon more closely examining my receipt I see it says "Sun appt (65.00)". 9/8 is a Friday. I point this out to her. She disregards it. This comes up because she's explaining to me that if my current issue is NOT a result of the tech's screw-up I get to pay again. At this point I think I'm entitled to my $65 back.
Then I get a voice mail message from someone who would only identify themselves as Sears telling me that the reason they charge the $65 was because my machine went off warranty on December 19th, 2004. Well, the machine was purchased in 1985 and I've never had an extended warranty so was probably off warranty sometime in December of 1988. So where they're getting this is beyond me. And the point is not that I had to pay at all but why was I paying $65 and not the $45 as promised by Ms. Mechanical Voice.
Bottom line: Don't call Sears for repairs.
And, stupid me, the last time I called them was in 2003 when my stove/oven quit working about 10 days before Thanksgiving (which I was hosting that year.) Their first available appointment was mid-December!! That time I just bought a new stove/oven and made sure it wasn't a Kenmore.

Replies
Avoid at All Cost!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KILLEEN, TEXAS -- My WORKING machine would not spin. I called SEARS. They have been out to me 5 times (sorry the 4th time I took off from work and waited, waited, waited... the guy no showed). Now, my machine will not work at all! I can't wash clothes now, spent 260$ and 5 days from work. Customer service reps terrible service and all I keep getting is we have to wait until they come out. I contacted the BB in hopes no one has to go through this service! So, still without machine… sigh.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Washers Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
124 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores