Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Big Box Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- I have been a kitchen designer for 15 years now and I have never been stonewalled by an appliance manufacturer when asking simple dimension questions. As they did not provide a drawing with dimensions for the unit like any other manufacturer would I had questions. All other manufacturers have helped me in some small or large amount but Sears/Kenmore actually actively resists the entire conversation. See the movie "Idiocracy" if you need a better example.

Replies
Advertisement
Kitchen Cabinet Refacing
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- I was told that the kitchen cabinets had a 100% lifetime warranty. However, I contacted them over peeling and they now tell me that they charge to send a technician. Really??? So it really isn't a 100% warranty if you charge. It is very disappointing. I should have read the reviews before hiring them. I'm no longer a Sears customer!

Replies
Delivery Team Destroyed Chandelier, Sears Refused to Reimburse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLD SPRING, KENTUCKY -- The Sears delivery team, while in the process of delivering a refrigerator, smashed it into my dining room chandelier, virtually destroying the fixture, along with the door blinds on my entrance door. Such carelessness and recklessness I have never before experienced from a retail organization, which is exceeded only by their lack of accountability.

After two months and countless communications with multiple claim departments, I have yet to receive a penny in reimbursement. Not only will Sears not stand behind the product they sell, but apparently, they refuse to accept accountability for property damage caused by them or their representatives/agents. STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM SEARS AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN!!!

Replies
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- Item ordered originally 28 May 2015 was delivered 2 Jun 2015, damaged. Called Sears customer service. advised could return and reorder at store. Returned to store (Fairview Heights IL) and reordered. I was told I would receive email order update. Received email with hyperlink that took me to site that listed orders only not the item I ordered but the one I had received, and it was listed as delivered. Contacted store, was told to contact Sears.com. Contacted Sears.com was told item would be delivered 10 Jun 2015 it was being processed.

04/06/2015 Received email that order was being shipped and tracking information would be sent, never received tracking information. 10 Jun 2015 checked status online status shows item delivered. Called customer service was told item was released by warehouse to UPS, asked for warehouse location agent placed my call on hold and then hung up after 25 min. Called customer service back connected with "ELLIE" (undisclosed location), asked to talk to an American representative was told she could only connect me with a case representative.

Connected with “Vince” at undisclosed location. Vince was extremely apologetic and assured me would do everything possible to help me. Ask to talk to American representative could not do that could provide me with CORPORATE EMAIL ADDRESS after much ranting and frustration results were: No Product, No Shipping Information, No Status other than that Item had been shipped and delivered, No Americans Talked To, and not enough room on their feedback page to complain & more aggravation because there was no customer service just lip service with NO RESULTS.

06-11-2015, 20:43- Used Talk Hyperlink. Took me to web page requesting open phone line. Was contacted by CSD explained that item still not received and that tracking number given indicates item that is supposedly 44 lbs. is listed at only 5.00 lbs. Call placed on hold. After 15 min 51 sec. call was disconnected. Called back connected to “Stacy” could hardly understand so not really sure. After explaining AGAIN approx. 24 min at this call center was placed on hold while “Stacy” contacted UPS for conference call. Was assured she would not hang up on me.

Connected with Ms. ** at UPS call center located in Southeast Asia. “Stacy” did not stay for conference call so had to explain my complaint AGAIN. Informed by Ms. ** that the label for the item was created on 08/06/2015 and item was picked up in Bartlett, TN on 09/06/2015 and delivered to their sort facilities.

It was incorrectly sorted at their facility and may be delayed, but would be delivered by the end of the day 11/06/2015, this information was still current as of 16:32 Eastern Time on the UPS tracking site. After I complained it was listed on their tracking site on another update as having departed Bartlett, TN at 20:47 11/06/2015. It left the sort facility approximately 4 hrs and 15 min after the updated delivery scheduled time.

13/06/2015, 13:50- Asked for incident # or control # to refer to was told all information was in case notes. Asked who was listed was the last representative I spoke with, NOT “Stacy” but, Suhaiv was supposedly the agent I talked to on my last call at 12:44 pm my time. “CHRIS” informed me that the item had been shipped 12/06/2015 ask to be connected to an American agent was informed they cannot connect me to an American representative they accept random calls and could only connect me with a supervisor.

Connected to “Nathan” case # ** informed that their system had several layers and customer service representative have limited access to case/problem information. When I ask to be connected to an American, was told by “Nathan” that they cannot connect me to an American Supervisor they accept random calls and are not able to connect customers even if it is specifically requested. 13/06/2015, 18:54- No return call. SURPRISE, SURPRISE, SURPRISE.

13/06/2015, 19:12- “LUCY” called after I posted on Sears Holdings Company's Facebook Page. Told I would be refunded in the form of a Sears gift card and that it would be processed once UPS has finished its investigation possibly in 10–14 business days. Asked if there was a maintenance fee on the gift card “Lucy“ stated she was unaware of any. Told me that she felt no resolution can be reached and that I should NOT CALL BACK. Told me I could contact their corporate office at 1-800-549-4505.

13/06/2015, 19:47- Called Sears solutions talked to “Shakira” supposedly an American in Hoffman Estates, IL. Told her about the problems I was having and that if she needed more information she could find up to the minute logs on The Sears Holding Company Facebook page. She informed me she would call me back, I however forgot to mention I posted it more than once and that it was also on my Facebook page.

20:10 awaiting her return call. 23:06 No Return Call. 14/06/2015- No Return Call. 15/06/2015- No Return Call. 22/06/ 2015- Still no product. 30/06/2015, 13:16- Called Sears.com connected w/ Kris told item would arrive 10 Jun 2015. 13:20 put on hold. 13:22 told needed to contact store in Cordoba. Unable to find out which country/state that is in, put on hold again. Barely able to understand agent must have most comments restated.
13:27 Agent came back online told to continue holding. Returned to hold Music.

13:29 told would provide me with store telephone # 901 937-7400 located in TN. 13:33 put on hold again while agent tries to contact store. 13:38 Agent came back online told to continue holding. Returned to hold Music
13:44 No delivery date at this time. Informed this would be posted.

Update 07/03/2015:

Received Email from Sears. 2 Jun 2015
Dear Victor,

We have reviewed the feedback you provided on your recent concern. I sincerely apologize for the experience you have had.

Our records indicate we have issued a credit in the amount of $111.87 on 07/02/15 and this credit will be issued in the method of payment you had used. If you have any questions pleae let us know.

Pam M
Sears Member Services

see order details below:
Garden Oasis Lighted Rock with Wheel Fountain
Placed on Jun 3 Order #822899264
Qty: 1

write a review
$129.99
Sears is willing to refund me approx. $18.00 less than I Was charged. I Guess that is to help offset the language lessons for customer service agents.

Replies
Advertisement
$17.99 Oil Change Resulted in Negligence and THOUSANDS in Damages!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLEN ALLEN, VIRGINIA -- On September 22, 2014, I went to Sears Auto Center in Glen Allen, VA (store 7511) for the FIRST time (also the LAST) just to get an oil change. A week and a half later, my car started experiencing some issues so I took it to my dealership to be checked out, that is when they discovered my radiator cap was off and I was told that whomever dealt with it last either didn't put it back on or didn't secure it. I knew exactly whom that last entity was, Sears.

I went back to Sears immediately after leaving my dealership and spoke with the manager ** about the situation who Immediately apologized for the inconvenience. I also showed him the paperwork stating that due to the loss of coolant and it causing my engine to overheat that there may be engine damage. He said that they DO check the radiator fluids as a "courtesy service" and that he would make it right by reimbursing me what I had paid my dealership and that he would speak with the mechanic to make sure that nothing like this happened again and that he hoped I would consider coming back to them.

A week later, I was experiencing similar issues and decided to take it back to my dealership, I didn't trust Sears to handle anything. They then let me know that my water pump was busted and there was indeed engine damage. I paid my $200 deductible to have my warranty cover the water pump but the engine damage was Sears' liability to have to cover. I called Sears and again spoke with ** who informed me that due to the extent of the repairs, he had to file a claim with the insurance company Sedgwick to cover the repair costs and that they would also reimburse me my deductible.

For weeks, I dealt with an incompetent insurance company that did nothing to rectify the situation. They ultimately denied the claim DESPITE the fact that **/Sears took responsibility in the beginning, KNOWING they had something to do with it. I even have a document typed by ** stating that they had left the radiator cap off and he reimbursed my fees. So I couldn't understand how the insurance company could deny a claim if the client admitted responsibility. I spoke with ** in reference to the decision and they tried to pass the blame by saying my dealership did not run proper tests and now it is their fault.

Unfortunately for Sears, I have documentation from ** stating they left off the radiator cap. I also have witnesses of my dealership that can attest to the fact that the causation expert that was sent to evaluate the damage did not follow up with anyone at the dealership, he did not ask questions, no true investigation was done by him or the claims adjuster.

I also was told by a CURRENT employee/mechanic who works for Sears Auto Center that they are "taught how to rig cars so that they will have more issues and the customers Have to bring them back for more repairs." This is very vital Especially in terms of having them subpoenaed to court if I take the lawsuit route which is PRECISELY where we are headed. I now have a blown head gasket and may need an entirely new motor, thanks to their negligence, and they are trying to turn the cheek and not do anything to correct their mistakes. I have not owned my car for even a YEAR and it was ruined by a careless mistake.

Replies
Sears Worsened Condition of Home
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I find it amazing that after 50 plus years as a loyal customer and purchasing our refrigerators, stoves, washers, dryers, TVs, and water heaters from Sears, that they are now telling us they do not provide a superior product. However, that is what a representative from the Sears Legal Department is putting out there when she wrote “to shop around” after our family addressed some issues with a $3,400 patio door Sears Home Improvement installed in our home and asked for a resolution to the concerns.

The Sears Home Improvement website argues differently “You can trust us to be there through the life of your project and equipment.” and “why would you call someone else?” The new patio door did not improve our home but made it worse by severely limiting access out of the rear of our home. The purchase was made mainly to make it easier for a 75 year old woman with weak upper body strength and who uses a four wheel walker to exit her home.

The new patio door according to the sales representative would open and close easier because it would be made of lighter material and would hang from the top of the frame so all its weight would not solely glide on the bottom rollers. The new door is not only just has heavy to use as the old patio door but has higher threshold to try and get over.

The 2 ½ “ – 3” threshold has made it difficult for the 75 year old mother with the walker and her spouse, a 76 year old veteran with 26 years active duty in the Marine Corps has bad knees and uses a cane, to exit their home through the rear to do laundry or simply enjoy their backyard. The couple also has a quadriplegic son in a wheelchair who cannot exit through the new patio door now.

The Sears representative from the Legal Department also wrote that the family “did not mention a concern in regards to the height of the threshold to the sale representative...” The sale representative was in our home to assess our need and complete his sales pitch. He saw for himself the family's physical limitations. The sale representative had an awareness of a potential problem with the new threshold because although he did not directly address the concern to the family, he did say something in passing about the family pet making it through the door.

In a phone conversation with the representative from the Sears Legal Department, she essentially told us ‘Buyer Beware' and that it was our responsibility to know what we were buying. There must be hundreds of patio doors available for purchase of which we have no detailed first-hand knowledge of and would reasonably rely on the expertise of another.

The Sears Home Improvement sale representative did not bring a complete sliding glass door with him for examination. Instead, his presentation kit had a small mockup ‘window' representative of the plastic and glass that our purchase would be made of. It was not representative, however, of what a potential problem the raised threshold would cause. Of the three product options presented to us, we purchased the highest priced option hoping for a superior product. ‘Buyer Beware' is something one would expect to hear from a fly-by-night company or someone purposely trying to pull a scam but not from a major retailer.

We asked for a solution to the problem Sears had caused with its product immediately after it was installed. The installer suggested we hire someone to build a ramp on both sides of the new patio door. He could not help us because he was only there to install the product. First thing the following morning, we called Sears Home Improvement to express our dissatisfaction with the product and relayed to the individual who answered the phone what installer suggested.

We also let the Sears Home Improvement representative know that we felt that because Sears had caused the problem, they should be responsible for ramping the new patio door they installed and if not, we wanted a refund on the product because we were not happy with it. The representative then put the Project Coordinator on the phone.

We again reviewed the threshold problem with the Project Coordinator. He also suggested ramps. We let him know about our want for Sears to make right a problem to our home that Sears was responsible for. He said he would find a solution and get back to us. He never did. At which point, we filed a complaint with BBB and that is when Sears involved their legal department.

We find it inexcusable that Sears is making the problem caused by a product they sold us our responsibility and that the Sears legal representative has the impudence to write “Sears is always willing to assist when we can but… Sears does not have any ADA ramps to offer...” There is a variety of wheelchair ramps at the Sears.com website. Are these ramps not ADA compliant? Could Sears not have supplied us with two of these ramps as a solution to the problem Sears caused?

Maybe we should take the advice given by the legal representative from Sears and “shop around” next time we need new appliance, a TV, or a water heater. We hear there are other good appliance brands and retailers out there. We can't stand to think of the tens of thousands of dollars we have spent on Sears appliances and extended maintenance contracts we have spent over these past 50 years.

Replies
Loyal Customer Turned Sour.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WISCONSIN -- The following is a story about a valued customer who was very loyal to Sears parts; until Sears did not value them as a customer anymore. So right after Thanksgiving, our Kenmore stove stopped working, not bad considering our stove is 9 years old. I figure the stove quality did pretty well for 9 years. So quick background on myself; I'm an electronics technician, so I troubleshoot the stove to the circuit board, bad component on board. So being a loyal customer I have always ordered parts through Sears not even doing a comparison shopping for cheaper prices. The last three years of getting parts for my Sears snow blower have always been good.

The circuit board would not be shipped to me without a technician coming out. Makes sense to me since it is a stove and high voltage, perhaps concern with house fires. So I scheduled an appointment for Dec 20, 2013 since my wife will be home. I put a detailed note about the circuit board be needed. This would be my first red flag. The technician comes out and does not have the circuit board and read my notes that day at the house.

My wife requests a new circuit board and not a refurbished circuit board (never know what other issues may arise). Technician states he needs to order board and will have shipped to house and come back to reinstall the circuit board. So labor was $125 that day and for the return visit. The stove part was $354. Total bill $436 (red flag could probable buy a new stove).

Part is supposed to arrive before January 4, 2014 and the technician will be out that day. The day before the circuit board comes, we get a phone message of the part being on back order. So we call Sears and they are not sure of when the part is coming, so we reschedule the appointment not sure when. Sears states will call back next week Monday. Monday comes and goes no phone message or email message. So we talk to a person at Sears who states after 28 days, if we don't have the part, they will replace the stove (another red flag). Still not sure when part is coming in.

So on January 10, we are like why not replace the stove, why wait 28 days? Talked to another Sears person, Sears is now backpedaling on the replacement of the stove. My guess, they figured out the stove is not a new stove, but 9 years old. She states a 20% of a new stove for us. Which I laughed at considering in the Sears store at the time they were offering some stoves at a 30% discount. (Red flag again). We still don't have working stove yet and Sears still cannot confirm when the part is coming in. Sears states they will escalate the issue to a manager who never seems to be around.

On January 14, talked to another Sears person still no reply from the parts department on when the part is coming in. I noticed on the original sales receipt a part number for the circuit board. So I Google the part number, what a surprise a part number comes up. So the internal parts are not Sears parts, but Whirlpool parts. So I go to Whirlpool's website, which gets me to Marcone Company, which states has 6 new circuit boards. I'm a little hesitant since Sears's states the part is on back order, so I call the Whirlpool/Marcone and they verify over the phone that part is new and they have six on hand. The price is $230 (over a $100 cheaper). This one is a huge red flag.

January 20, we give Sears one last chance, no luck. So we cancel the order, because I need a working stove. My wife talked to two Sears people, because we also want the labor refunded, partially since the technician never came back to install the circuit board. Sears will not refund $75 of the $125. That is fine, we just want to be done.

As my wife is talking to them on canceling the order on her cell phone, I receive a call from Sears parts about the canceling of the technician coming out to the house. I have to laugh because all this time ,Sears does not seem they can contact us on the back order of the part, but they are very fast about if a reschedule of technician work needs to be done. I think that Sears needs an update on their way they order parts. The system should notify the technician about a back order on parts.

Sears states 10-15 business days before our refund to our credit card. Have to laugh in the sense companies are more than happy to charge your card in less time, but refunds take longer. Do you sense another red flag and continuation of the story? You are correct.

So on January 20, I ordered the part from Marconne, to be shipped to the house in 3 business days. Marconne notifies me a delay in shipping and will be a day late. They don't charge me shipping so my cost dropped down to $200. I get the part and stove works fine. Just unplug stove, take a picture of all the connections. Unbend a few metal clips (straighten them out) and then a little lever on the bottom of the circuit board you just need to push down to get the board out.

So after 15 business days, no refund and on February 11, I call Sears and get disconnected. So I call again and get a Sears person who is helpful, who was very nice; calmed me down and kept me on the phone line as she talked me through what she was doing. She stated 3-4 business days and gave me a case number. Well 4 days later, Sears did not call. On February 17, talked to another Sears person who gave me another phone number, but that phone number does not work. Major red flags everywhere.

Finally, at the end of February, we get a refund and a $30 dollar gift card to Sears - I think I will use on Lands Ends clothes. Love the clothes and always get great service with Lands End. As for Sears, while this stove board was happening, I decided not to buy a Sears drill. Instead, I went with a rigid drill and I needed a new pull start for my Sears snow blower, part at Sears was $80, found it online for $30. So part of me would like to thank Sears for a wonderful customer service and showing me to shop online for cheaper parts. Lesson learned.

Company Response :

Hi jleegab,

Thank you for taking time to write your account of all that transpired surrounding your stove repair we can certainly see how this experience was disappointing for you. We definitely know how important it is to have a stove repaired in a timely manner and having to wait a long period of time because a part(s) are on backorder certainly makes the for an unpleasant repair experience. My name is Brian and I am a member of Sears Social Media Support team. After reading your post I would like to reach out to you to offer our assistance. We would like the opportunity to speak with you for further assistance and to provide feedback to the appropriate management team. Please send your contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (jleegab), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. Again, thank you for taking time to bring your stove repair concerns to our attention. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thanks,
Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Sears Is Very Deceptive and Won't Honor Warranty by Making Up Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I purchased carpet and laminate flooring from Sears in December 2012. I was assured by the Sears representative that the price we were paying was going to include a lifetime warranty that would cover any damages/defects to the floors for the life of the floors. In July, I noticed some cracks in one of the boards. Called Customer Service and they said someone would be out to take a look.

Finally, a gentleman did come out on August 5, 2013. While in our home, he got on his hands and knees and pointed out several defects in our floors. He took pictures of many boards that had begun to bubble. He asked me how we cleaned our floors and I told him all we have ever used is a Swiffer, as we were told this is an appropriate way to clean the floors. The gentleman asked how many extra boards we had in our home.

Since we had a box and a half left over from the installation, he said it would be easy to replace the defective boards. I had a party coming up and he promised someone by the name of ** would be calling me in 2 days to schedule the repair. I never received a call from ** or anyone else from Sears. I again called Customer Service after a few weeks to find out what was going on.

After being transferred several times and hung up on, I finally spoke with ** who gave me the name of my project coordinator, **. She gave me **'s e-mail address and I e-mailed her right away. ** responded the same afternoon saying she would contact the installation company to come take a look at the floors and perform the repair. I didn't hear back from ** or the installation company for several days.

Finally, after a few more emails and calls to Customer Service, I finally received a call from the installation company to come out on Sept 7th. The gentleman who came out did nothing except look at the floors for an hour and state that since he was the original installer, this could not have been an installation issue… He argued that the product was defective and that is what was causing the bubbling. He counted 20 boards that needed to be replaced and since we only had 16 extra boards in our home, said he couldn't perform the repair. He said he would submit a report to Sears and then call us after the other boards were ordered. No call from him or **.

I repeatedly called the installation company and finally was told that this guy submitted his report and was waiting on ** to respond. After several repeated efforts to contact **, I finally spoke to her on September 30, 2013. She stated that the installer submitted in his report that the bubbling was caused by us the customers cleaning the floors with soap and water and therefore, neither he nor Sears was responsible for the repair. I was livid at this point. This guy made up this lie so Sears wouldn't have to honor the warranty. I told ** this was a lie, but she did not care to investigate further.

I finally contacted the BBB and filed a complaint against Sears and **. That finally got the attention of the corporate office, who contacted me within hours to discuss a resolution. First, I was contacted by **, and then the case was transferred to ** who is in charge of BBB complaints. ** stated that as a one time courtesy to us, she was willing to replace the floors free of charge; however, she could not guarantee that the floors would not bubble again and she couldn't guarantee a delay in future repair requests. Wth?

I asked her for the name of some dedicated Sears employees that I could contact in the future so I would never have to go through what I had to endure for the last three months. She declined. She set up the repair without confirming with me. A new installation company (I had requested a new one since the old one made up lies about us) came out this past Saturday, Oct 26th. We were never informed they would be coming. They had some boards in their van, but stated they did not have all the pieces to complete the repair. I had this new installation company look at the defective boards and they agreed it was a product defect.

After our discussion, I told them I did not feel comfortable replacing these boards with new boards from the same manufacturer - Mohawk. I called ** and relayed this info to her. She agreed that someone dropped the ball about the appt since we were never called to confirm the day before. She asked the installers to leave since I did not want to replace the floors with Mohawk boards. She told me she would talk to her manager on Monday and get back to me about a manufacturer visit.

No response from ** on Monday, Tues, or Wed. I sent several e-mails to her and the BBB representative assigned to my case. Finally, today ** writes me and the BBB back saying she is going to retire my file since we cannot come up with a resolution. They obviously are making up this water damage story so they don't have to honor our lifetime warranty. I have told Sears and the BBB a million times that we never introduced water to our floors. Never did water spill on the floors and we never cleaned with anything but a Swiffer.

I told ** I would not pay anymore payments to Sears on my $5,000 floors. She said that was my decision. I am so upset with this entire situation. Especially because we paid triple the amount that these floors typically cost just so we could have peace of mind with the lifetime warranty. I am seriously thinking about getting legal counsel to deal with this situation since nothing else has worked.

Replies
Advertisement
They Cut Granite In My Home While I Was Out With No Wet Saw Or Tenting. Totally Ruined My Home!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ASHBURN, VIRGINIA -- It has been a living ** with granite dust throughout my entire home. They ruined all of my new appliances with scrapes and dents. My hardwood flooring, granite counters, furnishing also have been ruined. Imagine 911 on a smaller scale dust wise! Sears said the subs were at fault. FSA said go to **. Hired a lawyer and it's been over 2 yrs and I have over $100,000 in damage. Not to mention my health issues from breathing the stuff.

Replies
Broken Hood Latch!! Horrible Customer Service
By -

YUMA, ARIZONA -- December 28, 2009 - 6:00 pm: Myself and a friend, arrived at Sears, in our town to purchase 4 new tires for my 1999 Volkswagen Beetle. About an hour or so, prior to that, we had an oil change done. Earlier during that day, my friend had spoken to ** (the Manager of the Auto Shop area) on the phone, regarding prices of tires, etc. ** quoted her a price on tires, and assured her they had 4 in stock.

When we arrived at the store, we were assisted by one of the Associates, **. ** had gone home for the day. ** advised us that they did not have the tires in stock that ** had talked to my friend about. He helped us by looking for some other tires, and we decided on another set that was on sale, and in stock. We also agreed to have an alignment, tires balanced, and a free inspection on our bug to see if it needed anything else.

We were in the waiting area, and after an hour or so, ** came back and advised us that they had looked at our bug. He then proceeded to give us an estimate of things/work that my bug supposedly needed. That amount totaled to about $700.00. The first thing he mentioned to us was that we needed an oil change. We were surprised because we had just gotten an oil change prior to arriving at the store. Needless to say, it bothered us that they told us that. It made us wonder how many other times they have done this to other customers!!

8:00 pm: ** called us back to the shop because there was an issue. My friend walked back with **. I was very tired of waiting, and I didn't feel like going back there, so I stayed behind in the waiting area. As they were walking to the back, I overheard ** telling my friend, “€œWhat'€™s wrong with your latch? It'€™s broken.” She then told him “What do you mean? No, it'€™s not.” While in the shop, she SAW the techs poking at the latch area with screwdrivers. They advised her that the hood would not close. My friend also tried to close the hood as well, and it wouldn't shut.

** then called another manager to see what could be done, as it had been confirmed that the latch was indeed broken on my bug, and my hood would not close. Since it was closing time, they asked us to come back the next morning and talk to ** the Auto Shop Manager to see what could be done. We were extremely upset because of what the techs had done to my car. We drove home with my hood that would not shut properly, and my latch dangling. It was very obvious that they had broken it. There is absolutely no doubt in our minds that the hood to my bug was working properly prior to this incident!

December 29, 2009 - 1:00 pm: My friend and I returned to the shop to talk to **. He asked us to pull the vehicle up to one of the stalls. His techs started working/looking at our hood. After about an hour or so, he called us back and advised us in a very sarcastic manner, that “His guys did not break it, and that they were not going to fix it. He said I will fix this (pointing to the top part of the hood), but we will not fix the latch part, because we did not break it€.”

He also tried to tell us that my friend had broken it when she tried closing the hood the evening before!! He gave us some more excuses as to why it wasn'€™t their fault. He also tried to say that the latch had not been installed correctly to begin with. I'€™ve had it for a year now, with no problems at all!

We were extremely upset at the way that he was talking to us, and also because he tried to tell us that it was my friend's fault. That she had broken it. It was very obvious that our hood was closing perfectly fine before arriving at the shop the prior evening. So in other words, we drove in with a perfectly working hood, and came out with a broken latch, and a hood that did not close.

** then proceeded to give us a number to call (1-800-549-4505). The last question he made to us was, “So you'€™re sure that your hood was working correctly before bringing it here?”€ We told him “€œYes of course!”,€ then he told us “Okay, I'€™ll talk to my techs!”€ That was the end of our conversation.

1:46 pm: I called the Sears 800 number and spoke to **. I explained what had taken place. I also told ** that I was afraid of driving on the freeway because I had to take it to get to work, and I was concerned about the hood flying open or something. She apologized, took my information down, and advised me that she was going to submit my complaint, and that someone would be contacting me in 24-48 hours.

3:13 pm: I called the Sears, and I was transferred to the Store General Manager. As I was speaking to her, she advised me that she was aware of the complaint, and that she had it noted that according to the Auto Shop department, it was our fault and that we had broken the latch on the hood. I advised her that the statement was incorrect. She was very unprofessional and quite rude and used a tone that tried to belittle me, and I did not appreciate that at all.

December 31, 2009 - 1:02 pm: Once again, I called the Sears 800 number to find out what the status of my complaint was. This time I spoke to **, who advised me that District Managers would not be available until the following week, due to the holidays, and that someone should be contacting me then. She reiterated to me what my complaint was, and what the store had corresponded, which was of course, that they did not break my latch and that it was our fault. She then advised that I should contact the Operations Manager at Sears.

2:02 pm: I called the store, to see if she was available for me to speak with. I was advised that she was out until the following week, due to the holidays. January 04, 2010 - 3:52 pm: After waiting all day for a call from the District Office, I called the Sears 800 number. I was connected to ** who was extremely '€”nasty”€ to me, and very unprofessional.

She also reiterated to me what she had noted as my complaint, and the response from the Auto Shop (which was by the way, totally incorrect). The store stated, “That they had talked to ME, and that I had said the latch was broken previously, and that I had broken the latch when closing the hood.” I corrected ** on the fact that I was not the one they had dealt with, but rather my friend. I did advise her that the statement was totally incorrect. She then told me that my complaint had not YET been submitted to the District Office.

I was very upset at the fact that they had treated my case as if it did not matter. She then advised that she would submit it to District Office and that a District Manager would be contacting me in 2 business days. I asked her who the District Manager was, and she said, “€œShe didn't know€,” and refused to give me a name. ** also advised me that she recommended calling their insurance. She gave me their name and phone number (1-800-352-1521). Her demeanor and customer service relations were absolutely horrible and rude.

5:30 pm - Once again, the both of us went in to try to talk to a Store Manager in hopes of getting something resolved. We were able to talk to the Operations Manager. She was extremely helpful, and we appreciated her attention and concern. We explained everything to her once again. She advised we fill out insurance paperwork, get estimates, and take pictures, and gave us **'€™s name so that we can submit our paperwork to her.

January 6, 2010 - No call received from District Manager. I was advised by ** that I would be receiving a call from someone today. January 7, 2010 - I did not receive a call from the District Office/Manager today either. I am at work all day, and I don'€™t have time to call that office everyday. I really don'€™t think I should have to, especially after I was assured my complaint would be submitted and that someone would be contacting me. It'€™s been a couple of days already. This is extremely disappointing.

January 08, 2010 - Went in to the store to submit our insurance paperwork. Of course, ** was unavailable. We submitted our paperwork along with pictures as advised earlier during the week. ** advised he had to take pictures himself. As he was doing that he said they had mentioned to him, "something about a wire."

We had no idea what he was referring to, and wondered what that had to do with anything. He showed us a little wire on the latch (shown in the pic). The point was that they broke the latch to my hood, and now my hood won't shut properly!! It was fine before taking it in there, and they are only trying to make any excuse they could, to say that it was our fault!

January 11, 2010 - I have yet to hear from anyone at the Sears Auto Shop Department here in town, or their District Office. Since December 28, 2009, I have been driving my vehicle with the hood not shutting down all the way. I am concerned it could pop open and that something could happen.

Just about everyone from this company that we have come in to contact with (aside from the Ops Manager), has treated my friend and I with such disregard and unprofessionalism, that it really makes me wonder if these employees don'€™t realize that ethical behavior is demonstrated not only in how they act toward others, but also in how they treat property that is brought to them. This has been a horrible experience!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 219 ratings and
825 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores