Sears - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 210 ratings and
817 reviews & complaints.
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Dear Valued Customers: My name is Brian and I work for the Sears Cares Executive Escalations team. We want you know we are here for assistance. If you have any questions, concerns, or current problems you are experiencing with Sears please contact my office. We can be reached via email at smadvisor@searshc.com. In your email please include your name, phone number and an outline of your current issue and we will contact you directly. We appreciate your business and we look forward to hearing from you soon.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Wrong information
Posted on
ORANGE, CALIFORNIA -- This is my second attempt at writing a review, sorry if it's not proper. I just wanted to vent a bit. thanks

It all started when I got new tires at Sears a few month before. About a week ago I started to hear a grinding noise on a Monday, so I figured it was my front brakes because that’s what it sounded like. Being cautions I just wanted to have it check since I’m not an “expert” at auto repair. I took it to Sears Auto Center at The Village in Orange, Ca. I told them specifically about the noise and that I thought it was the brakes. So the guy said they could check it for me and had to check all the brakes as company policy for $15, from there they would advise me on what needed to be done. I come back about an hour later and they tell me that “all the brakes a shot” they said the discs were fine but brakes were  Metal  we’ll come back to this in a minute. He advised ceramic brakes would be better. I asked him, are you sure they are metal? I remember having the brakes changed (with father in-law’s help) and I thought they were ceramic. Nope, they are metal they need to be changed and we can do it for $335?? Really! Of course I said no thanks her is $15 have a good day.

Now, why did I go to Sears in the first place you ask? Remember they are the ones where I got my tires. So when I went to check my front brakes I could not remove one of the lug nuts (Sears had cross threaded it). So as soon as I told these guys of that and I even dealt with the “manager” from the beginning he gave me some bull about how they had to do it with impact gun because it’s a 4000 pound car blah, blah, blah…. But then they hand torque it to make sure…hmmm. So of course they had to order the part and I said I will pick it up tomorrow, fine. I told them from the FIRST day to had torque the lug nuts after they “inspect” my car please. OK so I leave think great it is the brakes and I will do it. After I left Sears it was already late that day. So I was going to do my brakes the next day. Low and behold, what happened they cross threaded another freaking lug nut, so I called and they are like uh OK well bring it in. This is my second trip to Sears for their mistake.


I park the car in the bay and right away I get about 3 or 4 guys come at me what is going on what is the deal. So I say well you cross threaded another bolt and I told you guys to hand torque them. So one of the idiots apparently can’t here well, so he comes with hand torque (without checking proper pressure for the car) and starts to torque the wheel I pointed at and says there you go. I said, what are you doing? He looked at me like I was crazy and was like what did you want . I told you I cannot take a lug not off I’m trying to do my brakes! He looked at me dumbfounded again and started telling the other guys no it was the other side that we worked on. I said YES, it was but now you messed up another one on the other side! So remember how they had ordered the lug nut (which I found out they use Auto Zone to get parts) they got the right one. I’m sitting there and they said "we’ll order you another lug nut I will call you when it’s ready." I go walk around the mall and almost 2 hours go by and no call. I go back and they tell when I get there they said hey a couple more “went bad” so we need to order some but we will stay open and make sure it get’s done tonight.
Well a couple more hours pass and he is like OK parts are here and they are working on it now. So he comes about half hour later or so and says so you know your car, it has 2005 wheels on it mine Is a Nissan Altima 2003? I said how is that if everything is stock. Well sometimes dealers will do that?? Hmmm… so what’s the problem well they brought us the lug nuts for a 2003 Altima, but your car has the 2005 wheels. I said, that makes no sense because you already ordered 2 lug nuts previously and they brought you the right ones. How is it that they brought you the wrong ones this time? I left that night they took some lug nuts off other tires to compensate for the ones they had messed up. So I told myself finally I can do my brakes tomorrow and just pick up these lug nuts after and put them on myself.
HEY GUESS WHAT! They messed up yet another lug and when I called Sears what does the manager tell me? It’s the metal on these lug nuts they are not made very well….. blah blah, that’s because these lazy idiots are still using an impact gun and just telling me that they are torquing it by had. This time when I went back I stayed in the garage and kept telling them I want you to just take the bad on off and I’ll do the rest, well of course they messed up the stud (bolt that lug nut goes on) and they had to replace it. This time I stayed until (autozone) dropped off the stud and even then the manager kept saying I’ll have these guys put on the lug nuts for you. By this time I had the new lug nuts (4 of them) in my trunk. He said hey give them the lug nuts so they can put them on. I said no, I will do it just replace the stud and hand torque the lug nuts on that one wheel. Then the manager said let them put all the new lug nuts on the one tire and they can put the other ones back on the 3 other tires. I said NO, I already changed my back brakes leave those tires alone!
So I stood there and watched them had tighten (without the impact gun) and finally next day I changed the brakes. Now by this time I already bought brakes form Auto zone, when I finally looked at the front brakes they were still good. So I got to thinking and I took the old brakes back to Auto Zone and they were still under warranty. So I got approx $97 back (spent about $100 on new ones). Only my back discs needed to be replaced and front ones turned, this came to about $87. So all told I spent about $90 for a brake job that Sears wanted to charge me $330 for. These people are some of the best crooks you will find and maybe that’s why they are going out of business from what I hear.
     
Replies
Stay Away from Sears Appliance Layaway
Posted by on
WEST MIFFLIN, PENNSYLVANIA -- 3 weeks ago my husband and I decided it was time to purchase a new refrigerator. After doing a lot of looking and research, we decided to go to Sears to get one. Now, we don't buy appliances on credit, we make sure we have the cash first, as we don't see the point in paying more for an item than its worth. Since we had a savings check come in, we decided to use part of it to buy a new fridge, since ours was on it's last legs. So, we deposited the check on a Thursday, went to Sears on Saturday. (my husband works construction, and it was one of few Saturdays' he had off) We found a refrigerator that met our specs for size, style, and brand. We put in on layaway, intending to pay off the layaway on the next Tuesday, which we did.

The problem was that once I paid off the layaway, the delivery date couldn't be changed to anything earlier than the middle of January. See, when you put an appliance on layaway at Sears, the delivery date is automatically set for when the last scheduled payment is due/made, and apparently that delivery date is set in stone. It also doesn't help that Sears customer service is not in this country...I spoke to several women who had horrible English, and repeatedly told me that the date was set there was nothing they could/would do.

I called the local Sears here, and got a hell of a run-around from the people working there, too. This was the Wednesday before Black Friday. It was very frustrating, to say the least. Finally, on Black Friday, after calling the service center again, explaining that I had paid off the appliance and wanted it delivered earlier than the date on the receipt, I was still being told by the nice Indonesian woman that tough, that's the way it is deal with it. After getting a bit angry, she offered me 10 percent off the price I paid for the fridge, but did nothing to change the delivery date, and then she offered me a 50 dollar gift card for my aggravation. I told her no, I wanted my fridge. So I called the Sears where I made the purchase, got through to a lovely young woman named Cindy, explained the situation, and added that if I didn't hear from someone within the hour I was bringing the receipt back and demanding every cent I had paid for the fridge and the 3 yr. warranty. Not something they want on Black Friday of all days. Within 30 minutes, I got a call back saying that my fridge would be delivered the next Monday, which it was, surprisingly.

My complaint, as such, is that Sears seriously needs to revamp their program. It's great that you offer layaway on appliances, however people can and do pay those layaways off early sometimes. Why set the date for delivery when the layaway is made, why not wait until its paid off? Would that really be so hard? I know, logistics and all that good crap, right?

Wrong. Bring your damned customer service back to this country, and give them the ability to actually do something for the customer. Those idiots in Indonesia don't do anything but take your money and make you look bad, all the while laughing at you behind your back.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Would Not Honor Parts Warranty
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- The upper rack adjustment lever of my dishwasher is sagging because the spring retainers on both sides have snapped off. The machine was purchased 15 months ago, there is a two year warranty on parts. I spent almost two hours today in one phone call and three chats when I was given another phone number to call. I'd had enough at that point, I went to the parts site and ordered them myself. The total price was $62.42, the time I wasted trying to get parts under the warranty was more valuable to me than that.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Sears And Warranty Run Around!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ANYWHERE!, TENNESSEE -- BUYER BEWARE! SAVE YOURSELF the headache and DON'T BUY from Sears! Purchased a mattress set a Sears Outlet. Tried to use warranty as TWO mattresses are defective. Got the run around from Sears for 3 MONTHS! Today was told mattress has NO WARRANTY because everything at Sears Outlet is clearance and has no warranty. Called Sears corporate and was told by KIRSTEN #252500 this "is not true unless Outlet can prove you bought on clearance and your receipt does not indicate this." and we have full manufacturers warranty. Our mattresses were not bought on clearance. KIRSTEN said we had to go through "Store Manager Jerry" and Outlet Store MANAGER JERRY #851 explained that ALL SEARS OUTLET PURCHASES have a 60 day "RETURN POLICY" and that t "NO WARRANTY IS HONORED" (!!) and "Sorry for your inconvenience." NOTHING on receipt says we void our manufacturers warranty. Sealy has a specific department that deals with Sears Sealy defects- they send you back to the outlet where purchased! Have purchased countless appliances through them for rental properties over the years- NEVER AGAIN. Have been lied to and mislead by Sears mattress returns and we will not be doing business with Sears again after this experience. We should have read other peoples complaints and never purchased with them! CANCELING SEARS CREDIT CARD and NEVER PURCHASING with them again!
Update 12/08/2014:
SEARS adding insult to injury. On the evening of December 2, 2014, I received a telephone call from "Manager Jerry" Employee #851. Jerry explained that his "District Manager wanted him to call and that they were going to figure out a way to help me." Jerry asked for my receipt information on my defective mattresses. I told Jerry I was happy to email or fax him. He said he "just needed the numbers from it and would call me right back. " I gave Jerry this information and now, as of 5 days later, on Sunday, December 7th, 2014, we have heard nothing from Jerry or anyone from Sears. I was supposed to hear back from a District Manager by Thursday, December 4th, 2014 as I called requesting to discuss this and customer service told me a "District Manager would call me back within 48 hours." Emailed the Sears employee above, Brian. NO RESPONSE FROM SEARS. They should be ashamed of their "business" practices.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I am now a former customer
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AUBURN, MASSACHUSETTS -- I received a pair of gold hoop earrings as a Christmas gift. I don't wear them every day, and I am very careful with them (off OR on). I was putting them on yesterday, when one hoop snapped into two pieces (later discovered there was another crack in the same hoop).
I took the receipt and the broken earrings to the jewelry counter. The clerk looked at my receipt and showed me the return policy listed on the back - 90 days...but my earrings are broken...the hoops shouldn't snap in half after six months.

Called the manager over. He did the same thing...showed me the return policy on the back of the receipt. He told me if I had purchased the 'care policy', I would have been covered. I reminded him that I received them as a gift. Told me there was nothing he could do. I said to him, "it's too bad you opt to lose a customer instead of giving me a store credit to keep me happy."
I asked for the corporate headquarters phone number. They wrote it down and I went on my way.

I dialed the number they gave me. At the other end of the line, I was told to press the star key, and I would get a text. Oh, I got a text alright, the text told me I would be charged $9.99 for a locator service, unless I replied STOP. WTH? I immediately called the jewelry department and told them about the number they had given me. She offered to transfer me to the office. I spoke to someone in the office, who asked me what the number they had given me was. Come to find out, they had TRANSPOSED the digits when they wrote it down. UGH! I told the woman in the office that if my cell phone is charged, she will be hearing from me again.

I proceeded to look up the corporate number on line. The first time I got through, the woman asked for my name. No sooner had I told her my first name, and the call was disconnected. Great. I called right back. The receptionist said if I give the next CSR my phone number, they can find Pam - the CSR I was speaking with.

Ha. After 10 minutes of waiting, a CSR picked up. I told her I had been disconnected. She said, "there's no way we can find out who you were speaking with"...funny...the receptionist said you could. Anyway, I didn't want to fight that battle...they were already on strike two.

Once again, I told the CSR the story of how the manager told me there was absolutely NOTHING they could do - even with the receipt in my hand. She told me she would submit my complaint and the department that handles complaints would look into it. Oh, and she'll send me a $10 gift card for the phone number hassle. GREAT. Too bad I'll NEVER shop at Sears again! If/when the card arrives in the mail, I'll be cutting it to pieces and sending it back.

My issue isn't really resolved. I have a broken pair of earrings - which is embarrassing to the purchaser, and I've got a bad taste in my mouth - they wouldn't even settle for giving me a store credit. Even with the receipt in my hand. Ridiculous!

So if I hear from the complaint department, I'll be very surprised. In my opinion, the CSR may as well have said she was sending it to the dead letter department.

I stopped shopping at Sears about 15 years ago, after a horrible experience in the photo department. I wrote a letter directly to the president of the company back then, expressing my displeasure with the photographer and that day's experience, and never heard one peep back. Stores that don't respond to complaints don't get my business.

And to Sears - just remember - bad word of mouth travels faster than good.
     
Replies
Siding Disaster and Sears Mismanagement
Posted on
MASSACHUSETTS -- If I wrote the entire story here, no one would have the time to read it. Here's the much abbreviated version:

1. Incompetent project manager. Did nothing and left that role to me (the owner).
2. 1st crew - subcontracted to an incompetent bunch from "Better Built" in Littleton, MA. These guys didn't know what they were doing at all. Their work looked like crap. Insulation was a joke. They cut little pieces to put them where they had to nail the siding. Big 5 inch gaps between the insulation scraps. They used nails that were too short for the entire job. I complained daily and was told by the incompetent Sears project manager that a foreman would show up but no-one came until after the work was done and I refused to sign off. I seriously doubt these two clowns were even legal to be in the US (only one spoke any English).
3. 2nd crew - Arriving having been told they were coming for a half day fixup rather than the 1 week redo I had been promised. I went over the work again with that person and his crew did one day of work the next day and then didn't come back because of a dispute with Sears.
4. 3rd crew - Again arriving having been told they were coming for a half day fixup rather than the 1 week redo of the whole job. Apparently Sears lies to their contractors to get them on site. Both the 2nd and 3rd crews told me this happens all the time with Sears. This crew is committed to other jobs and has to spread the work over many weeks to finish.
5. Power is lost in several circuits in my house for weeks. The electrician Sears sends doesn't ground the lights on the outside of the house and gives me the wrong answer on one of the damaged circuits in my house. So I buy another dimmer switch and that one is immediately blown. As bad as the siding installers were, this electrician was a danger to our lives. Several electricians later and after 6 weeks we finally got light restored in our dining room again so we could eat as a family. Interior walls cut into fix the damaged wiring. Believe me I'm giving you the highlights, there's a lot more to this story.
6. Damages in addition to the electrical wiring. The railing on my front porch was never fixed and looks poor now. Part of my deck was damaged and can't be fixed without resurfacing the deck because the material is about 7 years old and is no longer available. My phone lines were pulled down by their truck going off the road. I believe I'm going to have an icing problem on my driveway this winter because their truck went so far off the road I think it crushed my drain pipe along my driveway.
7. Sears didn't address a problem with my eaves which was in the contract. Didn't wrap the doors the way the sales guys said. Actually they did one and not another. The guy actually stood there and told me that couldn't be done and I showed him the other door they did. I had to do part of the work in the contract for the first crew because they didn't know anything about it. The 3rd crew redid that but I never should have had to the first time. I won't let Sears come back for any of this. I don't want them near my property.
8. Throughout the 3 month ordeal I was reaching out to Sears customer support, Sears social media support, escalating to senior managers (who would not call me back), but there was no venue to resolve this mess.

In the end I complained until we settled on a 15% discount, but honestly they didn't deserve to make a dime on this fiasco and I'm sure they still made a lot of money. These disgruntled crews told me what they were being paid and it was a small fraction of what Sears was charging me for their "Premium" package. Comparable material costs are all easily found online. I will never use Sears home improvement again. They were deceptive and incompetent from the beginning and throughout the whole process. I live in Northern Massachusetts and I highly recommend you find a local company for siding and gutters, NOT Sears.
     
Replies
Sears - Don't Bother Them With Problems
Posted by on
Below is documentation of a complaint I filed with Sears and their, well, answer? You will need to go to the bottom of this page for the full story! By the way no resolution to the problem as of 7/19/2011 5:38 PM, no phone call, no nothing! Just the responses below. So good to be a "Sears valued customer! NOT!

Good Morning Eleanorkopen,

Eleanor
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We owe you an apology.


Eleanorkopen, we are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered with our service regarding the order. We know that your time is valuable and we appreciate the fact you took the time to give us feedback on our performance.


We are listening to what you have to say. The feedback that you have provided today regarding our service will be taken into consideration as we continue to enhance our services to meet the needs of our customers, (including you) going forward.


Many of the changes that we have made have been a result of feedback from customers like you.


We want to make you happy. Take our survey to tell us how we're doing.


Make sure you're registered at Sears.com for emails, so we can stay in touch!


>

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance. We hope that you will continue to make Sears your choice for future purchases.


>

You can reach us through telephone at our toll free # at: 1-800-349-4358 and also you can chat with us online.


>

We thank you for your patience and cooperation. We are here for you! Please reply should you have any further questions. We value your business and look forward to serving you in the future. Have a wonderful day!


>

Don’t forget to visit Sears.com often to check out our Deal of the Day.


>

Look for Great Ideas throughout the store and find Sears exclusive innovations from great brands like Sony, Kenmore, NordicTrack, Craftsman and Reebok.

Shop www.Sears.com now to pick up great products for the season.



Sincerely,

Collin T (tsingh9)


>

Sears Customer Care

help@customerservice. Sears.com

1-800-349-4358


>>>>>>>>>> Original Message Follows: ------------------------
>
And by the way, I have spent so much time on this its not funny!
1) I tried to place the order via website on Tuesday
2) I tried again to place the order on Weds.
3) I tried again to place the order on Thursday the web and no luck, I then spent over an hour on the phone via live chat with agent Rosy, who advised me that I needed to make changes to my computer., which I did and still no luck.
>4) Thursday evening I called the 800 numbers, spoke to an agent ( I think his name was Rodney) who could not help me., he tried to place the order for me and could not. He also suggested I try to order from the Kmart web site. He also told me he would send in a request to the IT dept and let them know of my problem and that I would get a call or email. I did not get either. I tried again and could not. I then called to the Kmart 800 number and was told there was a problemm with the website, he had no idea when it would be fixed to try again.
5) On Friday I tried again and again and again. Still no luck On Friday night I Called Kmart to order. I spent over an hour on the phone with that agent. He tried to place the oder AGAIN and could not. I asked him why I could not place the order over the phone, he said I could not, that I was blocked and that he would also sent a request to the IT department for resolution. I asked the agent how long DOES IT TAKE to resolve a problem like this, he told me it could take up to 72 hours. He assured me that my order was IN THE SYSTEM and that when the issue was resolved I could either try to place my order or call in, the order was there I would just have to give my credit info when I called.
6) I tried again on SUNDAY, yesterday, no luck, no emails and I called again. I spoke Agent Dolby and I asked to speak with a supervior. I sopke to Lydia agent # 59759 who told me that THERE WAS NO ONE IN THE IT DEPARTMENT ON THE WEEKENDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WHAT?????
THEN SHE SUGGESTED I PLACE THE ORDER WITH HER AGAIN! I told Lydia that if this issue was not resolved BY MONDAY MORNING I WAS GOING TO CONTACT SEARS CORPORATE OFFICE. And this is the reply you sent me.
7) I don't just have one Item I was trying to order it was 20!!!!! Oh and yes I was also told online I was not permitted to order more that 10 ITEMS AT A TIME!

So there you have it and know why I am so frustrated and I will be getting in touch with the corporate office to let them know just how bad service from the website is. I would suggest fixing this problem before they get in touch with you.

Thank you



>

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> From: eleanorkopen
>To: Sears Feedback
>Sent: Mon, July 18, 2011 10:09:57 AM
>Subject: Re: Page Feedback Sears.com (KMM18091428I15977L0KM)
>
>
I have already done this. This order I tried to place on Saturday night, the agent I spoke to told me that the order was in the system. Am I to believe that this agent was not correct? That I need to place this order again?


>

>

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> From: Sears Feedback
>To: eleanorkopen
>Sent: Mon, July 18, 2011 8:29:31 AM
>Subject: Re: Page Feedback Sears.com (KMM18091428I15977L0KM)
>
>> >> >
>>
Dear Valued Customer,


> >

Thank you for contacting Sears.com.



We are glad to assist you.


> >

I'm sorry to hear that your shopping experience with us has not met your expectations since you are unable to place an order and you have even tried contacting our associates regarding this issue.


We know that your time is valuable and we appreciate the fact you took the time to give us feedback on our performance.


We are listening to what you have to say. The feedback that you have provided today regarding unable to place an order on our website will be taken into consideration as we continue to enhance our services to meet the needs of our customers, (including you) going forward.


Many of the changes that we have made have been a result of feedback from customers like you.


Please provide us the following information so that we can sent a request to our web support team to look into your issue:

1. Item# or model# you are willing to purchase.

2. Your Zip code.


> >

Our motto is to help our customers with all their queries and resolve them to their satisfaction.


> >

We thank you for your patience and cooperation. We are here for you! Please reply should you have any further questions. You also have an option of chatting with us on Sears.com and speaking with our associates at 1-800-349-4358. We value your business and look forward to serving you in the future. Have a wonderful day!


> >

We're here to make everything easier. Take our survey to tell us how we're doing.


> >

Make sure you register in Sears.com so that we keep in touch and you sign up for the e-mail promotional deals.

>>>>>
Look for Great Ideas throughout the store and find Sears exclusive innovations from great brands like Sony, Kenmore, NordicTrack, Craftsman and Reebok.


Buy with confidence from Sears! To ensure you receive the best price on your purchase, please review our Price Match and Price Protection policies here!


Shop www.Sears.com now to pick up great products for the season

>>
Sincerely,

Kelvin T. (kthingb)

Sears.com Customer Care

webcenter@customerservice. Sears.com

1-800-349-4358


> >
>>>>> Original Message Follows: ------------------------
>>
>>
>>
>>()
>>Please enter your email address if you want us to contact you:: eleanorkopen@bellsouth.net
>>Share your feedback here:: I don't know what's going on, but I am very upset and will be calling and emailing the corp office in the morning. I have tried to place an order since Tuesday and I have call THREE times to have this problem fixed and no one can place my order nor can I. I keep getting messages to call the 800 number to resolve the issue or to place an order. NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE and then I am asked to fill out a survey! And I can't do that either. YOU HAVE A PROBLEM ON YOUR END THAT IS BLOCKING ME FROM ORDERING AND EVEN YOUR REPS CAN NOT PLACE THE ORDER FOR ME. AS FAR AS CUSTOMER SERVICE SEARS GETS A BIG FAT 0. I have lost points on my ebates accounts, sale prices on what I wanted and most of what I wanted to purchase is more than likely out of stock and your sale prices will be gone. I do most of my shopping with Sears and am VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT THIS ISSUE IS STILL NOT RESOLVED. This matter should have been expedited by now !
>>
>>-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>This message, including any attachments, is the property of Sears Holding Corporation and/or one of its subsidaries. It is confidential and may contain proprietary or legally privileged information. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete it without reading the contents. Thank you. >
>
Company Response 7/20/2011:
Dear eleanorkopen6:

My name is Susan and I am part of the Social Media Escalations team at Sears and I am very concerned about what I have read here. We would like to help. We are a single point of contact for escalated concerns which means we step into a situation and handle it start to finish with one Case Manager. My immediate concern is the time and effort you expended to place an order with Sears.com and still no order was apparently shown by Sears.com. I am also concerned that you have not received a phone call or any communication from Sears.com at all. We value your business and want to help you resolve this issue. We are part of the Corporate office and will help you get this sorted out. At your convenience, please contact our office at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be impacted by this. Please send us an email. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the items were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email please provide the screen name (eleanorkopen6) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support
     
Replies
Customer Solutions solves nothing
Posted by on
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased a Whirlpool G2IXEFMWF Gold Fridge from Sears in June. In August I called to report a really foul smelling odor coming from the Fridge and the Freezer. I was told to check for spoiled food (duh?)which I did. Then I cleaned everything out, washed it down with baking soda and water and let it sit empty overnight. The next morning, in spite of being empty, it still smelled like something died inside. It was putrid. I called Sears and explained what I'd done. They spent a good hour lecturing me about leaving the Fridge unplugged. At no time was the Fridge unplugged, at no time did I say it was unplugged and I got the lecture anyway.

They sent the tech who wanted to sell me charcoal filters for my brand new fridge. I said "No Thanks! Fix it." He spent 30 minutes on his laptop and left.

The problem continued. First thing in the morning the smell was so awful it turned your stomach. Once the Fridge was opened a few times it got better. But it would get ripe again overnight. When I couldn't take it anymore, I called Sears again. When the tech came out - he opened the fridge, pronounced it "well", made the grand gesture of giving me the charcoal filters and left. They did this same thing a two more times and worked on the icemaker once. The filtered water dispenser and the icemaker both produce foul smelling and tasting cubes and water. The charcoal helps a bit but - it's a brand new Fridge! It should not smell like road kill. The tech had no solutions and refused to have a glass of water when I offered it.

I think all it takes to qualify as one of there techs is the ability to open the door and check if the light is working. At that rate I know a three year old who needs a job.

After six months I finally called Whirlpool. I'll let you know how they do. But I will never buy an appliance from Sears again.
Resolution Update 12/03/2009:
Fridge was replaced. Squeaky wheel and all.
     
Replies
Sears Kitchen Cabinets Are Garbage
Posted by on
LAKELAND, FLORIDA -- I have another cabinet that cracked and I am reopening my Better Business Bureau Complaint about SEARS. I also will investigate LEMON LAW protection in this matter, as I live in the State of Florida. I am going to put everything on the Internet in a chronological history until this issue is resolved.

This is the 4th cabinet to be defective! This means that within 1 year, I have had 4 of my "HIGH QUALITY" :-{ Sears cabinets split open due to inferior wood facings. My first 3 bad cabinets had the open fissures sealed with putty to hide the fact that they were defective!

This is SEARS folks!

DO NOT BUY KITCHEN CABINETS AT SEARS! I WILL TELL AS MANY PEOPLE AS I CAN THAT SEARS IS GARBAGE! GO ONLINE AND SEE FOR YOURSELF HOW FREQUENT THIS HAPPENS WITH SEARS CABINETS!

GARBAGE! GARBAGE! GARBAGE!


     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
$17.99 Oil Change Resulted in Negligence and THOUSANDS in Damages!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GLEN ALLEN, VIRGINIA -- On September 22, 2014 I went to Sears Auto Center in Glen Allen, VA (store 7511) for the FIRST time (also the LAST) just to get an oil change. A week and a half later my car started experiencing some issues so I took it to my dealership to be checked out, that is when they discovered my radiator cap was off and I was told that whomever dealt with it last either didn't put it back on or didn't secure it. I knew exactly whom that last entity was, Sears. I went back to Sears immediately after leaving my dealership and spoke with the manager Mac about the situation who Immediately apologized for the inconvenience. I also showed him the paperwork stating that due to the loss of coolant and it causing my engine to overheat that there may be engine damage. He said that they DO check the radiator fluids as a "courtesy service" and that he would make it right by reimbursing me what I had paid my dealership and that he would speak with the mechanic to make sure that nothing like this happened again and that he hoped I would consider coming back to them. A week later I was experiencing similar issues and decided to take it back to my dealership, I didn't trust Sears to handle anything, they then let me know that my water pump was busted and there was indeed engine damage. I paid my $200 deductible to have my warranty cover the water pump but the engine damage was Sears' liability to have to cover. I called Sears and again spoke with Mac who informed me that due to the extent of the repairs he had to file a claim with the insurance company Sedgwick to cover the repair costs and that they would also reimburse me my deductible. For weeks I dealt with an incompetent insurance company that did nothing to rectify the situation. They ultimately denied the claim DESPITE the fact that Mac/Sears took responsibility in the beginning KNOWING they had something to do with it. I even have a document typed by Mac stating that they had left the radiator cap off and he reimbursed my fees. So I couldn't understand how the insurance company could deny a claim if the client admitted responsibility. I spoke with Mac in reference to the decision and they tried to pass the blame by saying my dealership did not run proper tests and now it is their fault. Unfortunately for Sears I have documentation from Mac stating they left off the radiator cap, I also have witnesses of my dealership that can attest to the fact that the causation expert that was sent to evaluate the damage did not follow up with anyone at the dealership, he did not ask questions, no true investigation was done by him or the claims adjuster. I also was told by a CURRENT employee/mechanic who works for Sears Auto Center that they are "taught how to rig cars so that they will have more issues and the customers Have to bring them back for more repairs." This is very vital Especially in terms of having them subpoenaed to court if I take the lawsuit route which is PRECISELY where we are headed. I now have a blown head gasket and may need an entirely new motor thanks to their negligence and they are trying to turn the cheek and not do anything to correct their mistakes. I have not owned my car for even a YEAR and it was ruined by a careless mistake.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >