Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This to warn everybody who is thinking of any home improvements such as windows, furnace or central A/C, gutters or roofing. My advice to you is to avoid Sears on everything. Please go with local contractors which are cheaper or Home Depot or Lowes (but be careful because they sub contract too, just like Sears.) My parents and I have always used Sears for everything from appliances to home improvement. (Carpet, furnace, washer, dryer, freezer, refrigerator, microwave etc.) I have purchased tools, snow blower, lawn mowers, lawn edger, etc.

But here is the problem from being way more expensive then local contractors, Sears customer service sucks. I fought with Sears for 20 yrs. to get them to replace 3 windows under warranty. I fought with Sears customer service and blue ribbon social media team (they said they would get back to me and never did) on damage to my house from improper installations of appliances and crappy workmanship. We had gutters installed - they leak.

I really used to like Sears but as of now I have given up on Sears. In fact most Sears appliances have been replaced with new ones from other stores. Home depot and Lowes isn't the best but I have been treated pretty good by the Home depot team on certain complaints they have taken care of me above and beyond anything Sears ever did. Sears once they get your money, they ignore you. It's a shame Sears at one time was a good store but now they are one of the worst.

Replies
Advertisement
Item sold not in stock
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a game table from Sears.com over a month before Christmas, it was to be my parent's gift to the kids. Two weeks before Christmas I get a call telling me that the table is no longer in stock. I searched the internet and found this store. I explained the situation, and while they could not guarantee that I would get the game table before Christmas, but they would do what they could. They processed the request and I received it a week before Christmas. Saved the day that Sears messed up! Thanks RecRoomStore.

Replies
Big Box Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- I have been a kitchen designer for 15 years now and I have never been stonewalled by an appliance manufacturer when asking simple dimension questions. As they did not provide a drawing with dimensions for the unit like any other manufacturer would I had questions. All other manufacturers have helped me in some small or large amount but Sears/Kenmore actually actively resists the entire conversation. See the movie "Idiocracy" if you need a better example.

Replies
Kitchen Cabinet Refacing
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- I was told that the kitchen cabinets had a 100% lifetime warranty. However, I contacted them over peeling and they now tell me that they charge to send a technician. Really??? So it really isn't a 100% warranty if you charge. It is very disappointing. I should have read the reviews before hiring them. I'm no longer a Sears customer!

Replies
Advertisement
Replacement of Bad Engine
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ENID, OKLAHOMA -- I just want to say thank you for replacing the motor on my Craftsman Mower. The serviceman was excellent and did a great job.

Replies
Great Experience!!!!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LYNCHBURG, VIRGINIA -- I had my windows installed by Sears 3 years ago and I am very pleased. Everyone from the salesman to the installer were amazing. In response to David's post Sears is not going bankrupt at all. I did have a window that got some moisture between the glass and they replaced right away. Any double pane window will at some point have a problem. I am just glad I had Sears to go back to. I have always had a great experience with them and I believe their customer service is why they have been around forever.

Replies
Delivery Team Destroyed Chandelier, Sears Refused to Reimburse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLD SPRING, KENTUCKY -- The Sears delivery team, while in the process of delivering a refrigerator, smashed it into my dining room chandelier, virtually destroying the fixture, along with the door blinds on my entrance door. Such carelessness and recklessness I have never before experienced from a retail organization, which is exceeded only by their lack of accountability.

After two months and countless communications with multiple claim departments, I have yet to receive a penny in reimbursement. Not only will Sears not stand behind the product they sell, but apparently, they refuse to accept accountability for property damage caused by them or their representatives/agents. STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM SEARS AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN!!!

Replies
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- Item ordered originally 28 May 2015 was delivered 2 Jun 2015, damaged. Called Sears customer service. advised could return and reorder at store. Returned to store (Fairview Heights IL) and reordered. I was told I would receive email order update. Received email with hyperlink that took me to site that listed orders only not the item I ordered but the one I had received, and it was listed as delivered. Contacted store, was told to contact Sears.com. Contacted Sears.com was told item would be delivered 10 Jun 2015 it was being processed.

04/06/2015 Received email that order was being shipped and tracking information would be sent, never received tracking information. 10 Jun 2015 checked status online status shows item delivered. Called customer service was told item was released by warehouse to UPS, asked for warehouse location agent placed my call on hold and then hung up after 25 min. Called customer service back connected with "ELLIE" (undisclosed location), asked to talk to an American representative was told she could only connect me with a case representative.

Connected with “Vince” at undisclosed location. Vince was extremely apologetic and assured me would do everything possible to help me. Ask to talk to American representative could not do that could provide me with CORPORATE EMAIL ADDRESS after much ranting and frustration results were: No Product, No Shipping Information, No Status other than that Item had been shipped and delivered, No Americans Talked To, and not enough room on their feedback page to complain & more aggravation because there was no customer service just lip service with NO RESULTS.

06-11-2015, 20:43- Used Talk Hyperlink. Took me to web page requesting open phone line. Was contacted by CSD explained that item still not received and that tracking number given indicates item that is supposedly 44 lbs. is listed at only 5.00 lbs. Call placed on hold. After 15 min 51 sec. call was disconnected. Called back connected to “Stacy” could hardly understand so not really sure. After explaining AGAIN approx. 24 min at this call center was placed on hold while “Stacy” contacted UPS for conference call. Was assured she would not hang up on me.

Connected with Ms. ** at UPS call center located in Southeast Asia. “Stacy” did not stay for conference call so had to explain my complaint AGAIN. Informed by Ms. ** that the label for the item was created on 08/06/2015 and item was picked up in Bartlett, TN on 09/06/2015 and delivered to their sort facilities.

It was incorrectly sorted at their facility and may be delayed, but would be delivered by the end of the day 11/06/2015, this information was still current as of 16:32 Eastern Time on the UPS tracking site. After I complained it was listed on their tracking site on another update as having departed Bartlett, TN at 20:47 11/06/2015. It left the sort facility approximately 4 hrs and 15 min after the updated delivery scheduled time.

13/06/2015, 13:50- Asked for incident # or control # to refer to was told all information was in case notes. Asked who was listed was the last representative I spoke with, NOT “Stacy” but, Suhaiv was supposedly the agent I talked to on my last call at 12:44 pm my time. “CHRIS” informed me that the item had been shipped 12/06/2015 ask to be connected to an American agent was informed they cannot connect me to an American representative they accept random calls and could only connect me with a supervisor.

Connected to “Nathan” case # ** informed that their system had several layers and customer service representative have limited access to case/problem information. When I ask to be connected to an American, was told by “Nathan” that they cannot connect me to an American Supervisor they accept random calls and are not able to connect customers even if it is specifically requested. 13/06/2015, 18:54- No return call. SURPRISE, SURPRISE, SURPRISE.

13/06/2015, 19:12- “LUCY” called after I posted on Sears Holdings Company's Facebook Page. Told I would be refunded in the form of a Sears gift card and that it would be processed once UPS has finished its investigation possibly in 10–14 business days. Asked if there was a maintenance fee on the gift card “Lucy“ stated she was unaware of any. Told me that she felt no resolution can be reached and that I should NOT CALL BACK. Told me I could contact their corporate office at 1-800-549-4505.

13/06/2015, 19:47- Called Sears solutions talked to “Shakira” supposedly an American in Hoffman Estates, IL. Told her about the problems I was having and that if she needed more information she could find up to the minute logs on The Sears Holding Company Facebook page. She informed me she would call me back, I however forgot to mention I posted it more than once and that it was also on my Facebook page.

20:10 awaiting her return call. 23:06 No Return Call. 14/06/2015- No Return Call. 15/06/2015- No Return Call. 22/06/ 2015- Still no product. 30/06/2015, 13:16- Called Sears.com connected w/ Kris told item would arrive 10 Jun 2015. 13:20 put on hold. 13:22 told needed to contact store in Cordoba. Unable to find out which country/state that is in, put on hold again. Barely able to understand agent must have most comments restated.
13:27 Agent came back online told to continue holding. Returned to hold Music.

13:29 told would provide me with store telephone # 901 937-7400 located in TN. 13:33 put on hold again while agent tries to contact store. 13:38 Agent came back online told to continue holding. Returned to hold Music
13:44 No delivery date at this time. Informed this would be posted.

Update 07/03/2015:

Received Email from Sears. 2 Jun 2015
Dear Victor,

We have reviewed the feedback you provided on your recent concern. I sincerely apologize for the experience you have had.

Our records indicate we have issued a credit in the amount of $111.87 on 07/02/15 and this credit will be issued in the method of payment you had used. If you have any questions pleae let us know.

Pam M
Sears Member Services

see order details below:
Garden Oasis Lighted Rock with Wheel Fountain
Placed on Jun 3 Order #822899264
Qty: 1

write a review
$129.99
Sears is willing to refund me approx. $18.00 less than I Was charged. I Guess that is to help offset the language lessons for customer service agents.

Replies
Advertisement
$17.99 Oil Change Resulted in Negligence and THOUSANDS in Damages!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLEN ALLEN, VIRGINIA -- On September 22, 2014, I went to Sears Auto Center in Glen Allen, VA (store 7511) for the FIRST time (also the LAST) just to get an oil change. A week and a half later, my car started experiencing some issues so I took it to my dealership to be checked out, that is when they discovered my radiator cap was off and I was told that whomever dealt with it last either didn't put it back on or didn't secure it. I knew exactly whom that last entity was, Sears.

I went back to Sears immediately after leaving my dealership and spoke with the manager ** about the situation who Immediately apologized for the inconvenience. I also showed him the paperwork stating that due to the loss of coolant and it causing my engine to overheat that there may be engine damage. He said that they DO check the radiator fluids as a "courtesy service" and that he would make it right by reimbursing me what I had paid my dealership and that he would speak with the mechanic to make sure that nothing like this happened again and that he hoped I would consider coming back to them.

A week later, I was experiencing similar issues and decided to take it back to my dealership, I didn't trust Sears to handle anything. They then let me know that my water pump was busted and there was indeed engine damage. I paid my $200 deductible to have my warranty cover the water pump but the engine damage was Sears' liability to have to cover. I called Sears and again spoke with ** who informed me that due to the extent of the repairs, he had to file a claim with the insurance company Sedgwick to cover the repair costs and that they would also reimburse me my deductible.

For weeks, I dealt with an incompetent insurance company that did nothing to rectify the situation. They ultimately denied the claim DESPITE the fact that **/Sears took responsibility in the beginning, KNOWING they had something to do with it. I even have a document typed by ** stating that they had left the radiator cap off and he reimbursed my fees. So I couldn't understand how the insurance company could deny a claim if the client admitted responsibility. I spoke with ** in reference to the decision and they tried to pass the blame by saying my dealership did not run proper tests and now it is their fault.

Unfortunately for Sears, I have documentation from ** stating they left off the radiator cap. I also have witnesses of my dealership that can attest to the fact that the causation expert that was sent to evaluate the damage did not follow up with anyone at the dealership, he did not ask questions, no true investigation was done by him or the claims adjuster.

I also was told by a CURRENT employee/mechanic who works for Sears Auto Center that they are "taught how to rig cars so that they will have more issues and the customers Have to bring them back for more repairs." This is very vital Especially in terms of having them subpoenaed to court if I take the lawsuit route which is PRECISELY where we are headed. I now have a blown head gasket and may need an entirely new motor, thanks to their negligence, and they are trying to turn the cheek and not do anything to correct their mistakes. I have not owned my car for even a YEAR and it was ruined by a careless mistake.

Replies
Sears Worsened Condition of Home
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I find it amazing that after 50 plus years as a loyal customer and purchasing our refrigerators, stoves, washers, dryers, TVs, and water heaters from Sears, that they are now telling us they do not provide a superior product. However, that is what a representative from the Sears Legal Department is putting out there when she wrote “to shop around” after our family addressed some issues with a $3,400 patio door Sears Home Improvement installed in our home and asked for a resolution to the concerns.

The Sears Home Improvement website argues differently “You can trust us to be there through the life of your project and equipment.” and “why would you call someone else?” The new patio door did not improve our home but made it worse by severely limiting access out of the rear of our home. The purchase was made mainly to make it easier for a 75 year old woman with weak upper body strength and who uses a four wheel walker to exit her home.

The new patio door according to the sales representative would open and close easier because it would be made of lighter material and would hang from the top of the frame so all its weight would not solely glide on the bottom rollers. The new door is not only just has heavy to use as the old patio door but has higher threshold to try and get over.

The 2 ½ “ – 3” threshold has made it difficult for the 75 year old mother with the walker and her spouse, a 76 year old veteran with 26 years active duty in the Marine Corps has bad knees and uses a cane, to exit their home through the rear to do laundry or simply enjoy their backyard. The couple also has a quadriplegic son in a wheelchair who cannot exit through the new patio door now.

The Sears representative from the Legal Department also wrote that the family “did not mention a concern in regards to the height of the threshold to the sale representative...” The sale representative was in our home to assess our need and complete his sales pitch. He saw for himself the family's physical limitations. The sale representative had an awareness of a potential problem with the new threshold because although he did not directly address the concern to the family, he did say something in passing about the family pet making it through the door.

In a phone conversation with the representative from the Sears Legal Department, she essentially told us ‘Buyer Beware' and that it was our responsibility to know what we were buying. There must be hundreds of patio doors available for purchase of which we have no detailed first-hand knowledge of and would reasonably rely on the expertise of another.

The Sears Home Improvement sale representative did not bring a complete sliding glass door with him for examination. Instead, his presentation kit had a small mockup ‘window' representative of the plastic and glass that our purchase would be made of. It was not representative, however, of what a potential problem the raised threshold would cause. Of the three product options presented to us, we purchased the highest priced option hoping for a superior product. ‘Buyer Beware' is something one would expect to hear from a fly-by-night company or someone purposely trying to pull a scam but not from a major retailer.

We asked for a solution to the problem Sears had caused with its product immediately after it was installed. The installer suggested we hire someone to build a ramp on both sides of the new patio door. He could not help us because he was only there to install the product. First thing the following morning, we called Sears Home Improvement to express our dissatisfaction with the product and relayed to the individual who answered the phone what installer suggested.

We also let the Sears Home Improvement representative know that we felt that because Sears had caused the problem, they should be responsible for ramping the new patio door they installed and if not, we wanted a refund on the product because we were not happy with it. The representative then put the Project Coordinator on the phone.

We again reviewed the threshold problem with the Project Coordinator. He also suggested ramps. We let him know about our want for Sears to make right a problem to our home that Sears was responsible for. He said he would find a solution and get back to us. He never did. At which point, we filed a complaint with BBB and that is when Sears involved their legal department.

We find it inexcusable that Sears is making the problem caused by a product they sold us our responsibility and that the Sears legal representative has the impudence to write “Sears is always willing to assist when we can but… Sears does not have any ADA ramps to offer...” There is a variety of wheelchair ramps at the Sears.com website. Are these ramps not ADA compliant? Could Sears not have supplied us with two of these ramps as a solution to the problem Sears caused?

Maybe we should take the advice given by the legal representative from Sears and “shop around” next time we need new appliance, a TV, or a water heater. We hear there are other good appliance brands and retailers out there. We can't stand to think of the tens of thousands of dollars we have spent on Sears appliances and extended maintenance contracts we have spent over these past 50 years.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 219 ratings and
825 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores