Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Do Any Business With Sears. They Make Your Life Miserable.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE -- Don't do any business with Sears. They make your life miserable. Ordered treadmill online with delivery and installation and scheduled for December 5, they delivered on that day but did not install as they could not do installation on that day. So it was rescheduled on a date week later. Again the delivery team said that they were not communicated by the customer service so they did not show up on December 12 and rescheduled next day.

On Dec 13 no one showed up. Spent 4 hours on the phone with customer service, every single customer service representative kept saying that they left the voice message to the delivery team and we will get a call from them. Until now we did not receive any call from them and we are not sure whether they install it or not. Anyway we have paid and we have the proof and know what to do next. Worst customer service and delivery team from SEARS. Never do business with them. They make your life miserable.

Replies
Advertisement
Sears And Warranty Run Around!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANYWHERE!, TENNESSEE -- BUYER BEWARE! SAVE YOURSELF the headache and DON'T BUY from Sears! Purchased a mattress set a Sears Outlet. Tried to use warranty as TWO mattresses are defective. Got the run around from Sears for 3 MONTHS! Today was told mattress has NO WARRANTY because everything at Sears Outlet is clearance and has no warranty.

Called Sears corporate and was told by ** # ** this "is not true unless Outlet can prove you bought on clearance and your receipt does not indicate this," and we have full manufacturers warranty. Our mattresses were not bought on clearance. ** said we had to go through "Store Manager **" and Outlet Store MANAGER ** # ** explained that ALL SEARS OUTLET PURCHASES have a 60 day "RETURN POLICY" and that "NO WARRANTY IS HONORED" and "Sorry for your inconvenience." NOTHING on receipt says we void our manufacturers warranty.

Sealy has a specific department that deals with Sears Sealy defects - they send you back to the outlet where purchased! Have purchased countless appliances through them for rental properties over the years - NEVER AGAIN. Have been lied to and mislead by Sears mattress returns and we will not be doing business with Sears again after this experience. We should have read other peoples complaints and never purchased with them! CANCELING SEARS CREDIT CARD and NEVER PURCHASING with them again!

Update 12/08/2014:

SEARS adding insult to injury. On the evening of December 2, 2014, I received a telephone call from "Manager Jerry" Employee #851. Jerry explained that his "District Manager wanted him to call and that they were going to figure out a way to help me." Jerry asked for my receipt information on my defective mattresses. I told Jerry I was happy to email or fax him. He said he "just needed the numbers from it and would call me right back. " I gave Jerry this information and now, as of 5 days later, on Sunday, December 7th, 2014, we have heard nothing from Jerry or anyone from Sears. I was supposed to hear back from a District Manager by Thursday, December 4th, 2014 as I called requesting to discuss this and customer service told me a "District Manager would call me back within 48 hours." Emailed the Sears employee above, Brian. NO RESPONSE FROM SEARS. They should be ashamed of their "business" practices.

Replies
Worse Appliance Repair on in Warranty Equipment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I own a Sears stackable washer and dryer that was purchased on 1/18/13. In the 9 months that I have owned it the unit has been out of service for 8 weeks and it is still out. Do not buy any of their equipment if you expect any sort of repair service. Sears has outsourced their service program. You call and wait for service. They drop ship parts to your house and then they schedule to come back to install. If the parts don't arrive you are out of luck. This has taken 3-4 weeks or more to go thru. No one can service this... STAY AWAY FROM SEARS! I am stuck with lots of new equipment that has issues and poor service..

Replies
Improper Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- I had an eye exam and bought glasses. First, she did not finish the exam until I ordered glasses. Then they did not include pupillary distances on the RX nor axis numbers. I asked and was ignored, I went back and was told by two employees it is company policy that they do not give out that info so you can't buy glasses or makes it difficult to but glasses online.

I e-mailed Luxottica and Sears to no avail. I checked with Highmark and the PA AT&T general's office and both said these were bad business practices and if not resolved (RX) illegal. Stay away from any Luxottica business, Sears, Pearle, Lenscrafters, Sunglass Hut and many more. Whatever happened to anti-monopoly laws?

Replies
Advertisement
DieHard Men's 6 inch Nubuck Work Boot - Tan - Complaint
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GOLF MILL NILES, ILLINOIS -- If you're thinking about purchasing DieHard Work Boots. Check out the reviews on their website you'll be shocked. I cannot believe they would put their name on such a inferior work boot. DieHard Boots were in my opinion the best work boot's in the industry, comfortable, priced right and they went the distance and were Made in the America. I was disappointed to see they were being made in Korea. Still purchased them and they were a quality product. The leather uppers would wear out before the soles. I was very disappointed to see they were being Made in China. Still purchased them and that's when everything changed.

Bought 2 pairs at the same time. Wore one pair for over a year and retired them. Took the other new pair out of the box. The soles of these were a little sticky. Wore them for a short period of time less than 3 months. The soft composite material that the sole was glued to literally crumble apart. I work for a home improvement company and I'm in customers homes. I had to pick up the pieces of my boots threw out this house because they started to fall apart. (Thank goodness for duck tape.) I was embarrassed to say the least.

And to add insult to injury, I took the defective product and I sent it registered mail to Sears Holdings Corporation in Hoffman Estates, IL to the former CEO Mr Louis D'Ambrosio. They received it and I never got a response. Sears 90 day warranty for shoes and boots is worthless. I've stopped purchasing footwear Made in China because it's the poorest of quality. High profit margins for them, poor quality boots and shoes for their customers.

I will not purchase new boots 2, 3 or 4 times a year that would be nuts. It will be far less expensive to purchase American Made boots. I purchased a pair of boots from Farm & Fleet back in 2009, though I didn't the way they looked. Dark brown with a black sole. I prefer the buck skin color and the lighter sole. They are Made in the U.S.A. and have lasted.

Replies
I Am Now a Former Customer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUBURN, MASSACHUSETTS -- I received a pair of gold hoop earrings as a Christmas gift. I don't wear them every day, and I am very careful with them (off OR on). I was putting them on yesterday, when one hoop snapped into two pieces (later discovered there was another crack in the same hoop). I took the receipt and the broken earrings to the jewelry counter. The clerk looked at my receipt and showed me the return policy listed on the back - 90 days… but my earrings are broken… the hoops shouldn't snap in half after six months.

Called the manager over. He did the same thing, showed me the return policy on the back of the receipt. He told me if I had purchased the 'care policy', I would have been covered. I reminded him that I received them as a gift. Told me there was nothing he could do. I said to him, "it's too bad you opt to lose a customer instead of giving me a store credit to keep me happy." I asked for the corporate headquarters phone number. They wrote it down and I went on my way.

I dialed the number they gave me. At the other end of the line, I was told to press the star key, and I would get a text. Oh, I got a text alright, the text told me I would be charged $9.99 for a locator service, unless I replied STOP. WTH? I immediately called the jewelry department and told them about the number they had given me. She offered to transfer me to the office. I spoke to someone in the office, who asked me what the number they had given me was. Come to find out, they had TRANSPOSED the digits when they wrote it down. UGH! I told the woman in the office that if my cell phone is charged, she will be hearing from me again.

I proceeded to look up the corporate number online. The first time I got through, the woman asked for my name. No sooner had I told her my first name, and the call was disconnected. Great. I called right back. The receptionist said if I give the next CSR my phone number, they can find ** - the CSR I was speaking with. Ha. After 10 minutes of waiting, a CSR picked up. I told her I had been disconnected. She said, "there's no way we can find out who you were speaking with"... "funny, the receptionist said you could." Anyway, I didn't want to fight that battle, they were already on strike two.

Once again, I told the CSR the story of how the manager told me there was absolutely NOTHING they could do - even with the receipt in my hand. She told me she would submit my complaint and the department that handles complaints would look into it. Oh, and she'll send me a $10 gift card for the phone number hassle. GREAT. Too bad I'll NEVER shop at Sears again! If/when the card arrives in the mail, I'll be cutting it to pieces and sending it back.

My issue isn't really resolved. I have a broken pair of earrings - which is embarrassing to the purchaser, and I've got a bad taste in my mouth - they wouldn't even settle for giving me a store credit. Even with the receipt in my hand. Ridiculous! So if I hear from the complaint department, I'll be very surprised. In my opinion, the CSR may as well have said she was sending it to the dead letter department.

I stopped shopping at Sears about 15 years ago, after a horrible experience in the photo department. I wrote a letter directly to the president of the company back then, expressing my displeasure with the photographer and that day's experience, and never heard one peep back. Stores that don't respond to complaints don't get my business. And to Sears - just remember - bad word of mouth travels faster than good.

Replies
What Happened to Sears ? Part 2 Legal Issues (Useful for Everyone)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- If someone hasn't had a chance to read my previous complaint regarding my purchase of a defective refrigerator from Sears Outlet, it's not a big deal. Here is the bigger issue: I wanted to return it immediately, but I was told that appliances bought from Sears Outlet are subject to repair only, unless a Sears Product Repair Technician determines that the appliance is not repairable!

Oops! I wish I knew it before I bought it. Let's go ahead and take a look at some legal issues. It might be very useful for everyone: “California law requires that retailers who have a policy of not providing a cash refund, credit or exchange when an item is returned with proof of purchase within 7 days of purchase must inform consumers about their refund policies by conspicuously placing a written notice about their policies, in language that consumers can understand, so that it can be easily seen and read.

The policy must be displayed either at each entrance to the store, at each cash register and sales counter, on tags attached to each item, or on the company's order forms, if any. A return policy printed only on a receipt, for example, is not sufficient. If a store violates this law (California Civil Code section 1723), the purchaser can return an item for a full refund within 30 days of purchase.” (Copied from California Attorney General's Return Policies webpage)

Unfortunately, at Sears Outlet, I did not see any sign regarding their Return Policy - neither on the item, nor at the cash register or entrance. None of the employees ever mentioned the terms of the Return Policy to me. I believe that Sears Outlet Return Policy sign must be written something like: “Sears Outlet has a policy of not providing any refunds or exchanges unless a Sears Product Repair Technician determines that the appliance is not repairable" or "The sales are final." Is it understandable? Yes, it is, but it was not there.

The part of my receipt which called the Customer Solution Commitment states: “Return Policy-Satisfaction Guaranteed or Your Money Back. We will be happy to accept your ‘In Warranty' returned product after a product Repair Technician has determined the product is not repairable… Our goal is that you are completely satisfied with your purchase. If for any reason you are not satisfied, simply return your purchase in its original packaging.”

First of all, it is not clear what is going to happen if product is repairable. What if I don't want it to be repaired? I am assuming that as soon as their goal for me to be completely satisfied I have a right to simply return the product according to their own Policy, even if “Sears will not be happy” to accept my returned product after a product Repair Technician has determined the product is repairable.

Sears Outlet sells the previously returned items. Of course, it's in their best interest to get rid of this items under any circumstances. That's the point of the Return Policy they have. Besides the fact that I've never seen Sears Outlet Return Policy anywhere but on my receipt, I was not even able to understand the “language” they used. Sears Outlet Return Policy written on my receipt is vague in order to keep their customers in the dark.

If I would have known the real terms of Sears Outlet's Return Policy, I would never even entered the store! In cases like mine, most people will give up and keep the item they bought. That's what Sears is counting on. I am not going to. I believe that my rights as a consumer have been violated as well as California Civil Code.

Replies
Disappointed in Sears
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE AND CORPORATE SERVICES -- This is an email I sent off to another department at Sears. Hopefully they will have a competent employee who understands customer service. I sent it yesterday and still no response. I will never give that place another dime. I am sick of fighting them for my $250. It all started on Sunday afternoon. I placed a Craftsman 2700 PSI Pressure Washer in my cart at Sears.com. I used my Sears rewards points and a coupon code and got the price down to $249.17. I ran up to my local grocery store and bought $250 worth of gift cards so that I would not have to use my credit card online for security purposes.

I left the screen pulled up (I live 1 minute from the grocery store) and when I returned, the site had me log in again and it changed the price. Apparently at 5:00 a 5-15% off sale went into effect and it must have kicked out my coupon code. Instead of lowering the price (like one would expect from a sale), it raised my price. I called the 1-800 number to see if anyone could figure it out and help me place my order over the phone. I did not get the customer service rep's name. She was very nice and placed the order for me to pick up in my local store. I was told that I would receive a confirmation email shortly.

I did not receive an email by the next day and called my local store to see if they had the order. They did not have any order for me. So, I called the 1-800 number and spoke with **. She said my order had been cancelled because the store did not have it in stock. The reason I did not receive an order confirmation email or cancellation email is because they had misspelled my email address (even though I did spell it twice for the original rep). ** said she would send the cancellation to my email-it never arrived. I once again called my local store to see if it was in stock or not because the night before online, it showed they had one.

After a few calls to my local store, I spoke with a lady named ** every time, she finally determined they did not have the one I needed in stock but they had the California version of it, which was the same price. She did not know why she had the CA only version in an Indiana store. I then called the 1-800 number again to see if my order could just be switched to the CA only one and spoke with a lady named **, once again having to repeat the whole story. She said nothing could be done and that I would have to wait a week or so for the gift cards to have their balance restored.

She said my only option was to go to my local store, pay the full price for a new one and wait for the gift cards to have their balance restored and then I could use them for something else. I needed the pressure washer this week because of a company party being held at my house this Saturday but do not feel I should have to shell out another $300 in order to have one. I finally asked to speak to a manager. Instead of transferring me to a manager, she sent me back to the main menu where I was forced to wait and explain the whole story again to **.

** finally gave me to her manager ** who said the only thing she could do was sent me a $30 gift card for my inconvenience and knock off 10% but I would still have to wait for at least 3 days to have the gift card balance restored before I could purchase the other one available locally. I asked her why the balance couldn't be restored immediately because they were able to drain the balance in less than a minute. She said I should talk to someone on the "executive team" at corporate.

So once again, I had to call a different person and explain the whole story. I spoke with ** who said all the right things that a customer would want to hear. He sympathized, apologized and yada yada. He ended it by saying he understood that I needed this as soon as possible and that he would call my local store to get something resolved. By 4:45 the next day, I still had not heard from him. I called my local store to see if he had contacted them and perhaps just forgot to call me back. They said no one had called them that day about it. They are a small store and the same lady answers the phone every time so she would know.

She also said the store manager was out that day and that is who ** claimed he was going to talk to. I received a call from ** about 25 min later and he said that he had talked to the local store manager and that they did not have one in stock. Which he already knew because I told him that the day before and said I would be willing to take the CA version. So he obviously did not call and talk to anyone there.

He then proceeded to tell me that nothing could be done about the gift cards, I would just have to wait several days for them to be restored. He also said they wouldn't have the pressure washer in for 10-12 days (that info was available on the Sears.com website). Why couldn't Sears just ship one to me? Or have me go to the next closest store which shows 3 in stock and is only 40 min away? I would have even driven there just to get my pressure washer asap.

So not only did ** not help, he actually quoted me a longer time and offered less of a discount / compensation than the manager at the 1-800 number. I am not asking for a free pressure washer or anything insane. I am just asking that I get my gift card restored today and get a pressure washer today. I don't care if it is the CA version from my local store or driving 40 min to pick up the 49 state version. I just need one. I do not think that is an unreasonable request.

What has happened to the wonderful company that Sears used to be? My husband and I bought all of our appliances there 20 years ago and they still work fine with the exception of the dryer. It is messing up and we will need to replace it within the next month. We have always been happy with Sears and been loyal customers. My grandparents always shopped there, my parents still shop there and all 6 of my siblings shop there. Sears used to stand for quality and service. I am disappointed. They have just lost my entire family as customers. I would not recommend shopping at Sears/Kmart/Land's End to anyone. If I could give them negative stars, I would.

Replies
Advertisement
Solid As Sears... No Longer Holds True!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We are writing to you to express our extreme disappointment in our shopping experience with Sears. Growing up, the popular slogan in both our households was "Solid As Sears". Unfortunately, we do not feel this way any longer. On December 17, 2011 we purchased four new appliances totaling $4700.00. The merchandise was delivered on 1/6/2012. On 2/22, the dryer stopped working on our Kenmore stacked washer/dryer unit.

We contacted Sears immediately and they agreed to exchange for a new unit. The delivery was scheduled for 3/3 but on the morning of the 3rd, Sears delivery called and said the unit was defective and the delivery would have to be on Monday, the 5th. On the 5th, the new unit was delivered but unfortunately, the washing machine did not work properly. We immediately contacted Sears and the third unit was scheduled for 3/10.

On 3/7, we received a call that the unit would not be available until 3/13. Okay, not so bad a few days later! On 3/10, we received four phone calls saying our replacement unit would be delivered on 3/13. Great... imagine my surprise when five minutes later, Sears called back to say there was a problem with 3/13 delivery and now it would be 3/20. 6 WEEK OLD UNITS BREAKS ON FEBRUARY 22ND AND WE HOPEFULLY WILL RECEIVE A NEW, WORKING UNIT ON MARCH 20TH. Something is not right with this picture!

When we phoned Sears delivery to clear up the confusion, we were told this unit was being held up by the manufacturer and it wasn't Sears fault! The unit is a Kenmore and Kenmore is the Sears brand so this remains a confusing point why Sears is not responsible for making a defective product!

We then called our salesperson at the Edison Mall in Ft Myers, **, who has been extremely conscientious and professional through this entire fiasco. Obviously, he understands the mantra "keep the customer happy"! He suggested we contact Sears Solutions in hopes to resolve this issue.

After several calls and many hours on the telephone to Sears Solutions and Sears Delivery, we were told by all there was nothing anyone could do to speed up the delivery or to guarantee 100% that the product we are scheduled to receive on the 3/20 would in fact be delivered without another delay! On 3/10, we contacted the Edison Mall store manager ** in hopes that he could assist us but to date I have not heard back from him.

Through all of this confusion, both my husband and I were treated in a totally unacceptable and unprofessional manner by your Sears team of service representatives. We were hung up on more than once when questions couldn't be answered by them as well as they refused to give their ID numbers or last names.

Each time, we requested to speak to a supervisor, we were told there wasn't one available or "I am the best you are going to get". Each time we asked if we could be compensated with a discount for being asked to wait ONE MONTH for a unit that works, we were told we would be receiving a $50.00 gift card in the mail. It has cost more than $50.00 to drive back and forth to do our laundry over the past weeks! We have kept a log of all the dates and the representatives we have spoken to should you want this list.

We did make the mistake of paying for this merchandise in full immediately on a Sears charge card or we are positive this problem would have been resolved immediately. We can appreciate appliances having manufacturing issues but will not tolerate unprofessional and rude behavior on the part of customer service representatives. We understand you are the CEO of a very large corporation and we are only two customers who spent $4700.00 in your store. We also understand that we have not been singled out to be treated with such unprofessional customer service and if this has been done to us, it is being done to others.

We understand as the CEO, one of your roles is to develop new distribution as well as maintain existing distribution and not to deal with the day-to-day at the customer level, however; in the end if the customer doesn't walk through the door and make a purchase, sales are lost and stores end up closing. Even with the challenges Sears has been faced with of late, my husband and I held to our belief that Sears was a reputable retailer. Today, we don't feel that way and you have just lost two customers! What a shame "SOLID AS SEARS" is no longer a valued slogan!

Replies
Siding Disaster and Sears Mismanagement
-

MASSACHUSETTS -- If I wrote the entire story here, no one would have the time to read it. Here's the much abbreviated version:

  1. Incompetent project manager. Did nothing and left that role to me (the owner).

  2. 1st crew - subcontracted to an incompetent bunch from "Better Built" in Littleton, MA. These guys didn't know what they were doing at all. Their work looked like crap. Insulation was a joke. They cut little pieces to put them where they had to nail the siding. Big 5 inch gaps between the insulation scraps. They used nails that were too short for the entire job. I complained daily and was told by the incompetent Sears project manager that a foreman would show up but no-one came until after the work was done and I refused to sign off. I seriously doubt these two clowns were even legal to be in the US (only one spoke any English).

  3. 2nd crew - Arriving having been told they were coming for a half day fixup rather than the 1 week redo I had been promised. I went over the work again with that person and his crew did one day of work the next day and then didn't come back because of a dispute with Sears.

  4. 3rd crew - Again arriving having been told they were coming for a half day fixup rather than the 1 week redo of the whole job. Apparently Sears lies to their contractors to get them on site. Both the 2nd and 3rd crews told me this happens all the time with Sears. This crew is committed to other jobs and has to spread the work over many weeks to finish.

  5. Power is lost in several circuits in my house for weeks. The electrician Sears sends doesn't ground the lights on the outside of the house and gives me the wrong answer on one of the damaged circuits in my house. So I buy another dimmer switch and that one is immediately blown. As bad as the siding installers were, this electrician was a danger to our lives. Several electricians later and after 6 weeks, we finally got light restored in our dining room again so we could eat as a family. Interior walls cut in to fix the damaged wiring. Believe me, I'm giving you the highlights, there's a lot more to this story.

  6. Damages in addition to the electrical wiring. The railing on my front porch was never fixed and looks poor now. Part of my deck was damaged and can't be fixed without resurfacing the deck because the material is about 7 years old and is no longer available. My phone lines were pulled down by their truck going off the road. I believe I'm going to have an icing problem on my driveway this winter because their truck went so far off the road I think it crushed my drain pipe along my driveway.

  7. Sears didn't address a problem with my eaves which was in the contract. Didn't wrap the doors the way the sales guys said. Actually they did one and not another. The guy actually stood there and told me that couldn't be done and I showed him the other door they did. I had to do part of the work in the contract for the first crew because they didn't know anything about it. The 3rd crew redid that but I never should have had to the first time. I won't let Sears come back for any of this. I don't want them near my property.

  8. Throughout the 3 month ordeal, I was reaching out to Sears customer support, Sears social media support, escalating to senior managers (who would not call me back), but there was no venue to resolve this mess.

In the end, I complained until we settled on a 15% discount, but honestly they didn't deserve to make a dime on this fiasco and I'm sure they still made a lot of money. These disgruntled crews told me what they were being paid and it was a small fraction of what Sears was charging me for their "Premium" package. Comparable material costs are all easily found online. I will never use Sears home improvement again. They were deceptive and incompetent from the beginning and throughout the whole process. I live in Northern Massachusetts and I highly recommend you find a local company for siding and gutters, NOT Sears.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 225 ratings and
831 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores