Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Rude Refrigerator Repairman After I Refused to Purchase Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKELAND, FLORIDA -- 7/22/2015 - Had a Sears refrigerator repairman out to repair ice maker. Repairman immediately went into warranty sales pitch. After declining the warranty he became rude and belligerent. He finished the repair and presented the bill for $342.15. I counted out that amount for him in cash and handed to the repairman. He then states that he couldn't accept cash as payment. I stated "you have to be kidding me". He says no cash. He could only accept credit, debit cards or money orders. I told him it was cash or nothing.

Then he states he would accept cash, but I would have to pay an additional $2 so he could purchase a money order. I gave him the additional $2. I have never heard of such crap! Rest assured Sears will never get my repeat business for service or purchases. By the way - they accepted over $3000.00 in cash when we purchased our appliances at the store!

Replies
Advertisement
What Happened to Sears Selling Quality Merchandise?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UTAH -- Purchased high line mattress from Sears. Over the 47 years buying various products products from Sears we felt satisfied with the quality. Until the mattress purchase. Wow. Unbelievable. After 2 months we had 2 In. Sags on each side where our bodies laid forming a huge hump between us. Really quality huh!!!! Contacted Sears about their warranty. Wow! They can't help. They give you number to call. No idea who we were talking to but surely not the Sears salesperson that made promises to us about previous customers being greatly satisfied.

Well after experiencing the worst mattress you could imagine we called the number they gave us. They assured us after pictures of the sags and humps using a straight edge they agreed to help. Not Sears mind you but the person whomever they may be on the other end of the phone. So back to the Sears store reluctantly with no chance of refund only to choose another mattress.

Again we asked "please be truthful, what is your best mattress." They showed us and we agreed to try it. Really another 300.00 after all the grief? We had no choice as we didn't want to lose our original investment. Two months later same thing. Congratulations Sears you lost a lifelong customer. Tired of jumping through hoops and never being satisfied. And I can't help but wonder how many more will choose to do business elsewhere. Shame on you!!!!!

Replies
Missed Promised Installation Date
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNETONKA, MINNESOTA -- What has happened to Sears? I have purchased many, many appliances in the past - and received excellent service. But that has changed drastically.vWhat has happened to Sears? We purchased a washer and dryer at the Ridgedale MN store one week before we needed installation. We stressed the date we needed delivery and were assured we would receive delivery and installation on that day. The appliances arrived, but could not be installed because the correct parts weren't provided to the installation company by Sears.

That day we started calling Sears at 11:15 AM to be sure installation would be made same-day or at least the next day. Fred did not communicate with the installation company or with us. We visited Jessica - the appliance manager who promised to call us the next morning. That did not happen. Now - after an out of town 6 day vacation and house guests arriving today - we have no washer/dryer. What has happened to Sears?

Replies
Worst Customer Service of All Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Nice job Sears! I ordered $4,000 worth of Kenmore appliances 5 weeks ago for a scheduled delivery today. I took a day off from work to be ready and made an "extra" trip out to the hardware store last night for drop cloths to protect my floors. This morning, I find out my delivery had been unilaterally rescheduled for Sunday and I was never notified! Thank you for waiting for me to call you to notify me of this change. Funny thing was I received an email 3 days ago confirming delivery today and it even said "We will let you know if your delivery date changes."

Does letting me know entail waiting for me to call you to learn the news? I've been told it's the manufacturer's issue, but here's the thing, isn't Kenmore a Sears brand! Great work on customer service AND logistics with your delivery and manufacturing teams! Chalk me up as another "satisfied" customer who's out $4,000 dollars for over the past month and yet to receive his appliances!

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Garage Door Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STERLING, VIRGINIA -- Called the Sears Home service. I ask for the ballpark estimate for labor for installing garage door. They reassure, they are competitive. And that "We are well known, Sears." The service call $89 will be part of the total service bill. Okay sounds good. Guess what? When they came out much later than estimated, they ask for total of $574; $89 (coming out) + $195 labor + $290 for opener. This a pure misleading and captive selling. The garage opener is selling on their site for $158. The average labor is $127, a total of $285. I do not agree to such misleading service, and ask him to leave. He threaten to put me on collection.

Replies
Cabinet Refacing Materials Coming Unglued; Some Warped From Heat
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONTGOMERYCREEK, CALIFORNIA -- In April of 2005 we had our countertops installed with Corian, new Corian sink, new range hood, new disposal and all cabinets resurfaced which cost $18,705. We were not instructed regarding hot or warm appliances was under any of the cupboard doors, as we found out heat would warp the resurfacing material.

The Corian sink had a large chip in it; Sears would come out for $150, but would not warranty same. I got a hold of Corian and they did come and refinish the bad spot. Several corners and bottoms of corners of the resurfacing material have come unglued, too... I have re-glued all the edges that have come unglued, but the resurfaced material has shrunk in some areas, and when it is glued, it will be short of covering. I would have been better off paying to have all our cabinets built rather than resurface them.

Replies
Don't Do Any Business With Sears. They Make Your Life Miserable.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE -- Don't do any business with Sears. They make your life miserable. Ordered treadmill online with delivery and installation and scheduled for December 5, they delivered on that day but did not install as they could not do installation on that day. So it was rescheduled on a date week later. Again the delivery team said that they were not communicated by the customer service so they did not show up on December 12 and rescheduled next day.

On Dec 13 no one showed up. Spent 4 hours on the phone with customer service, every single customer service representative kept saying that they left the voice message to the delivery team and we will get a call from them. Until now we did not receive any call from them and we are not sure whether they install it or not. Anyway we have paid and we have the proof and know what to do next. Worst customer service and delivery team from SEARS. Never do business with them. They make your life miserable.

Replies
Sears And Warranty Run Around!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANYWHERE!, TENNESSEE -- BUYER BEWARE! SAVE YOURSELF the headache and DON'T BUY from Sears! Purchased a mattress set a Sears Outlet. Tried to use warranty as TWO mattresses are defective. Got the run around from Sears for 3 MONTHS! Today was told mattress has NO WARRANTY because everything at Sears Outlet is clearance and has no warranty.

Called Sears corporate and was told by ** # ** this "is not true unless Outlet can prove you bought on clearance and your receipt does not indicate this," and we have full manufacturers warranty. Our mattresses were not bought on clearance. ** said we had to go through "Store Manager **" and Outlet Store MANAGER ** # ** explained that ALL SEARS OUTLET PURCHASES have a 60 day "RETURN POLICY" and that "NO WARRANTY IS HONORED" and "Sorry for your inconvenience." NOTHING on receipt says we void our manufacturers warranty.

Sealy has a specific department that deals with Sears Sealy defects - they send you back to the outlet where purchased! Have purchased countless appliances through them for rental properties over the years - NEVER AGAIN. Have been lied to and mislead by Sears mattress returns and we will not be doing business with Sears again after this experience. We should have read other peoples complaints and never purchased with them! CANCELING SEARS CREDIT CARD and NEVER PURCHASING with them again!

Update 12/08/2014:

SEARS adding insult to injury. On the evening of December 2, 2014, I received a telephone call from "Manager Jerry" Employee #851. Jerry explained that his "District Manager wanted him to call and that they were going to figure out a way to help me." Jerry asked for my receipt information on my defective mattresses. I told Jerry I was happy to email or fax him. He said he "just needed the numbers from it and would call me right back. " I gave Jerry this information and now, as of 5 days later, on Sunday, December 7th, 2014, we have heard nothing from Jerry or anyone from Sears. I was supposed to hear back from a District Manager by Thursday, December 4th, 2014 as I called requesting to discuss this and customer service told me a "District Manager would call me back within 48 hours." Emailed the Sears employee above, Brian. NO RESPONSE FROM SEARS. They should be ashamed of their "business" practices.

Replies
Advertisement
Worse Appliance Repair on in Warranty Equipment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I own a Sears stackable washer and dryer that was purchased on 1/18/13. In the 9 months that I have owned it the unit has been out of service for 8 weeks and it is still out. Do not buy any of their equipment if you expect any sort of repair service. Sears has outsourced their service program. You call and wait for service. They drop ship parts to your house and then they schedule to come back to install. If the parts don't arrive you are out of luck. This has taken 3-4 weeks or more to go thru. No one can service this... STAY AWAY FROM SEARS! I am stuck with lots of new equipment that has issues and poor service..

Replies
Improper Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- I had an eye exam and bought glasses. First, she did not finish the exam until I ordered glasses. Then they did not include pupillary distances on the RX nor axis numbers. I asked and was ignored, I went back and was told by two employees it is company policy that they do not give out that info so you can't buy glasses or makes it difficult to but glasses online.

I e-mailed Luxottica and Sears to no avail. I checked with Highmark and the PA AT&T general's office and both said these were bad business practices and if not resolved (RX) illegal. Stay away from any Luxottica business, Sears, Pearle, Lenscrafters, Sunglass Hut and many more. Whatever happened to anti-monopoly laws?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 224 ratings and
830 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores