Service Magic

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
20 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Service Magic Is A Scam Rude Fraudulent
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GOLDEN, COLORADO -- My company was contacted by Service Magic YEARS ago. They claim to offer pre-qualified screened leads for services that we offer in our area. They charge up front for the name and phone number of the lead. Years later we are still getting emails, phone calls and many spam faxes from this company for very iffy maybe leads hundreds of miles away for types of work our company does not do, nor ever has done. The more I email them and tell me to take me off their email and fax list, the more they call, fax, email and harass. Their office help is nice an polite, but insist you talk to their sale staff who are pushy, nasty, rude, loud, hateful. I have had to resort to threatening to have a cease and desist order placed against them to keep them from filling my fax machine with a dozen pages of unqualified leads hundreds of miles away that are probably phoney on top of it. When I talk to other contractors at contractor meetings they tell me of similar experiences, hundreds of dollars in draws from their checking accounts for leads that no-one ever answers the phone. I just got a lead that said they were considering buying a house and want to know how much a fence would cost before the placed a bid on one. This was 130 miles away in an area that has 74 fence contractors by my count in the yellow pages. what kind of lead is that?

     
Replies
Servicemagic Is A Rip Off
By -

Service magic will not give you any monies owed to you. The will take money out of your account, but will never give it back even if it is there mistake !!!
The leads they supply are only shoppers that want to waste your time and shop for the cheapest lowest priced work they can get. The customers will lie, run you around and waste your time. Watch out !!!! The leads are terrible. They will tell you anything to get your business.

It all sounds good, but no one that I know who has used them has been happy.

     
Replies
Service Magic Stinks
By -

LEVITTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I used to be a Service Magic Contractor. I had great reviews and earned them. I am saddened but not surprised that I am reading about Service magic doing unethical things. They abuse the contractors in a big way financially. Basically they are a huge ripoff to small contractors even if they are good ones such as myself. Repeat leads, people who have no intention of doing any work, people who ask for return visits for new estimates on the same work, people who do not return phone calls and emails....and an absolutely horrible system for making good on bad or mistaken leads.

Service Magic stinks all the way around.

     
Replies
Accountability and Customer Service
By -

GOLDEN, COLORADO -- This company monopolizes the search engine when consumers try to search for reliable contracting service. They talk a good game at first, they bombard you with contractors that supposedly can handle the job. But they fall very short in delivering qualified, reliable, dependable, and honest contractors. The contractor they sent to us, which is who we hired, is taking 4 months to finish our renovations. He does shoddy work, leaves debris outside, doesn't show up on time, and sometimes doesn't show up at all. Service Magic hasn't tried to help us resolve our issue and they will ignore your calls until you mention that you will be contacting consumer affairs about their practices. Whatever you do, do not use this company. They are just as shady as the contractors they send to you.

     
Replies
Don't use Service Magic-waste of time and money
By -

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- I am a small business owner trying to make it in this economy. I was delighted to find a company like Service Magic who would send me real leads. I started using Service Magic 10 months ago. The first 3 months I only received a few leads and got some good ones so it paid off. After that all I receive are useless leads, and hundreds of them. 3 a day or more. I haven't gotten one lead in 6 months. Service Magic will not turn my account off. I have $500.00 in overdraft fees from this company. They make up these leads, you get one or two real people and the rest are phony. Don't use this company, it will hurt you in the long run.

     
Replies
Service Magic Rip Off
By -

They charged me for leads that were people wanting to ask questions they didn't want any work done they wouldn't stop charging me for a web site they were supposed to build for me that they never built after calling them numerous times and being put on hold for between 15 and 20 min I would hang up and call again and get the same thing.

If you are trying to make clients don't use them they charge me more than I made from their leads. Awful service but they are never late to charge my credit card.

     
Replies
Still charging on cancelled contract
By -

ELYRIA, OHIO -- Have been a contractor for 25yrs. I always worked by my reputation. A salesman from Service Magic talked me into taking ONE lead. If it worked out, I would take more. The first lead was a dud. I called the salesman to cancel, of coarse he was not in. Meanwhile, more leads kept coming in. I called back again to cancel. By the time I finally talked to my salesman, they had my account to $800.00. I only made 2 calls to 2 leads and no one ever called me back on either calls. I closed my checking account before they could take any of my money for any of the leads. The funny thing is they stopped giving me leads because I owed them money. It was the only way I could get them to stop giving me more leads. They refused to cancel my contract of One lead. Now I owe them even more because of attorney fees. As the saying goes, LET THE BUYER BEWARE.

Company Response 04/18/2011:

Hi Armymom8088,

My name is Chelsey Richey and I am the Online Customer Liaison here at ServiceMagic. I am very concerned to hear about your experience and would like the opportunity to speak with you in regards to the issue. If a mistake is made on our part we gladly accept the responsibility and adjust accordingly; please contact me directly so that we can go over your account together. I can be reached at crichey@servicemagic.com or at 303.963.8145. I look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you kindly,

Chelsey Richey

     
Replies
Routinely attempts to make unauthorized charges
By -
  1. Their leads are predominantly bad, unqualified leads. Over and over again they charged or attempted to charge us for leads that were wrong address, wrong phone number, and wrong email addresses. Often the "customer contact" didn't even own the property in question, and had no authority to make any improvements to it.

  2. When we finally gave up on these losers, they refused, yes REFUSED to stop sending and charging us for leads after we told them several times that we no longer would be using their service. I finally had to change my credit card number so that they couldn't charge it anymore.

  3. They routinely sent and billed for more leads than we authorized to be sent each month.

  4. They continued to try to charge us for leads even after I changed the credit card number, then have continued to send threatening emails and make threatening phone calls if we don't pay for leads they sent literally MONTHS after we discontinued their service.

Under NO circumstances would I recommend that ANYONE do business with these crooks. You literally do better going door to door than using their leads, and you won't have the aggravation of having them try to steal from you the entire time.

     
Replies
Profiling
By -

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- Service Magic in West Palm Beach FL.

I called what I thought was a number listed on a web site for sprinkler system repairs and ended up with this company called service magic. The person I spoke to did not identify himself as anything but the company I called ____ sprinkler systems. I asked a lot of questions and after a while I asked what he needed all this information for all I wanted was a simple repair. He then identified himself as a representative of SERVICE MAGIC. He explained that they take all the information and build a profile and put into their data base so they can have other contractors call. In other words they sell your contact information to whatever firms or marketing organization that are willing to pay. BE VERY AWARE OF WHOM YOU ARE TALKING TO AND WHAT INFORMATION YOU ARE GIVING THEM.
If they do not identify themselves and or the purpose of the information they are taking from you they are violating a number of laws. Contact the FCC as well as your state attorneys office with the complaint.

All companies that operate across state lines are require to have licenses. They should be able to tell you what it is and you will use it in filing your complain. If they refuse or don't have it file the complaint on what ever information you can get from them.

Company Response 02/17/2010:

Hello- this is Brooke Gabbert with ServiceMagic. It seems as though there may have been a misunderstanding regarding your experience with our services. Our purpose is to facilitate communications between consumers and service professionals. That is why when you contacted the intended company you had reached our offices. It is never our intent to mislead you or falsely represent a company in our service.

Professionals in our network have been screened to ensure they meet the minimum state required credentials and that information is passed along to you the consumer upon contacting one of our service professionals. We do not sell or share consumer information with any outside companies besides the service professionals that the consumer is looking to receive service from. Visit our Web site at servicemagic.com or don't hesitate to contact us at 877.699.4736 if you need more information. Thanks!

     
Replies
Do What You Say You'll Do Or Don't Charge Me
By -

I started with this service in Nov 08 under the impression I would be receiving qualified leads. They had a disclaimer for payment but the sales people stated the leads would be ready to go customers. I paid their fee & received 'leads' almost immediately. This was a bathroom remodel looking for budget numbers. All he wanted was a ballpark figure for summer 2009. That cost me $25 The second lead was for a roof replacement. We went to the site to do an estimate. This roof was a large, steep Victorian that needed replacement years ago. After speaking with the owner I knew there was no funds. I sent them to the County Dept of Community Development for a grant and offered to put a tarp on for $500. She didn't even have the money for that. I paid another $25 for her call. Our next lead was similar so I complained to Customer Service and they suggested changing my demographic. I did and received a request to modify a trailer who's floor was failing (not likely to have funding), several other leads fishing for prices and one viable lead which (also provided to 3 or 4 other local contractors). Service Magic has no idea who their customers are and if they are qualified. In January & $500 later I said enough was enough.

I have been receiving Spam, 'Surveys' and phone calls from Customer Service to the point of harassment trying to get my business back. I paid for something they implied in their sales & did not provide and I get harassed for discontinuing service. The $500 for 'advertising' with Service Magic & provided $0 in sales and only one qualified lead.

Dan S. Brewerton, New York

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >