Shout

1 reviews & complaints.

A Shout Out to Shout Color Catcher!
Posted by on
I am pleased to see television commercials for Shout Color Catcher because I don't think many people are aware that it exists. I have been using versions of this product for many years, and other than detergent and occasional bleach, it is the only laundry product I buy.

Shout Color Catcher is a very effective laundry aid that saves time, water and money. I am writing this to convince any skeptics that this product really does work. The Color Catcher makes it safe to combine your whites and colors into one load. As the commercial says, the proof is in the sheet which changes from white to the colors it collects from the water. It also helps remove grunge from the water that can make whites look dingy.

The instructions say to use one sheet per load and then dispose of the sheet. I find this to be unnecessary. If the sheet is only slightly discolored, it can be used until it looks like it's ready to be discarded. That helps bring the price down to a point of being economical. The price is approximately $4.00 for a box of 24 sheets, but I think the new boxes have only 20 sheets. I buy them when they are on sale and usually use a coupon, which makes it very affordable.

Shout Color Catcher can turn several small loads into one without a guy's fear of pink socks and underwear. I've put this product to the test many times, and it really works. My only word of caution would be not to use it on new clothes that are dark in color and might bleed. Wash those clothes separately or with similar colors one or two times first. After that the Color Catcher should do the trick.

UPDATE: As I was doing laundry today, I realized that I have always used the Color Catcher in a top loading washer, and I wouldn't want anyone to try this product in a front loader based on this review. Being curious about how it would work in a front loader, I looked on the box for directions, which say to place the sheet in a mesh or delicates bag. I'm not sure what difference that would make, but I do know that front loaders use less water, and the bag might help the sheet circulate more evenly through the clothes and water. I have a feeling the Color Catcher might not work as well in a front loader.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 08/31/2010:
That's great to hear of a product like this that works that well.

Venice, do you think it will still work if you cut the sheets in half? I've been doing that for years with dryer sheets.

Venice09 on 08/31/2010:
I don't know. I never thought of doing that. The sheets are pretty small, so I don't think I would cut them any smaller. But they are definitely reusable. I usually just leave the same one in the washer until it looks like it needs to be thrown away. Sometimes I get three or four loads out of one sheet depending on the amount of colors in the loads. Shout wants you to think you need a new one each time, but you really don't.
Alain on 08/31/2010:
As the laundry washer in our household, thank you, Venice! These are available in most grocery stores?
Alain on 08/31/2010:
Wait, I recognize the box. Question answered (pictures DO help!)
Venice09 on 08/31/2010:
This idea originally came about a long time ago from a person who sold it on QVC during its countrywide search for new inventions. The original was called Dye Magnet and was similar to a washcloth. I think the idea was then sold to Woolite which first sold it in the cloth version and then switched to sheets. Eventually Shout came out with its version called Color Catcher. I've used them all and they work equally well. I haven't seen the cloth ones in a long time. I'm not sure if they're still in production.

The new Shout box is red, Alain. It looks a little different than the one in the picture. They're in the laundry aisle of supermarkets. Target has them, too.
BEJ on 08/31/2010:
I was wondering if the product really worked. Thanks for the review!
jktshff1 on 08/31/2010:
good info
raven2010 on 08/31/2010:
AWESOME! I keep seeing that commercial and thinking it cannot possibly work the way they say it does.

it's nice, in this case to know I am wrong. I will pick some up this weekend!
DebtorBasher on 09/01/2010:
I've never heard of this product. Thanks!
Venice09 on 09/01/2010:
That's why I posted this, DB. I think a lot of people never heard of it. To my knowledge, this is the first time it's been advertised on television even though the product has been around for years. When I first tried the original Dye Magnet years ago I was very skeptical, so I figured this might encourage people to try it. I do a lot of laundry and this helps me combine loads that would otherwise have to be done separately.
Lifemates on 09/02/2010:
Never thought there was a possibility of washing the white cloths with the color ones and not ruining them. Very interesting.
sunshinequilts on 09/03/2010:
As a quilter, I rarely wash a quilt without tossing in a Color Catcher. Love them!
Venice09 on 09/03/2010:
Great point, sunshine. Color Catcher is great on items of multiple colors, like a quilt. I'm not a quilter but I do love them and have many in my house.
Skye on 09/03/2010:
Great review Venice! I actually just saw the commercial for this product for the first time the other day.
ok4now on 09/04/2010:
You see these info commercials all the time that look great (slick marketing) then are disappointed after they get your money. Good info Venice09. Because I am "Mr. Mom" and have the laundry detail I will take your advise on this product and give it a try. Any cooking tips because that falls under my job description also. LOL!!!
Venice09 on 09/04/2010:
My only cooking tip, ok4now, is to experiment and have fun. Don't worry about following recipes, just improvise. I was always intimidated by cooking until I decided to throw caution to the wind and play it by ear. I get basic ideas from recipes and then do it my way!

There's a lot of stuff on television ads and infomercials, but I'm usually disappointed. This product and its predecessors really live up to their promises. I do hope you give it a try.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >