Preview Review

Next Review

Sirius Satellite Radio Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Another Bait and Switch
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MICHIGAN -- I received a 1 year trial subscription for Sirius Radio with my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. A few weeks before the trial period ended Sirius sent me an offer to get internet radio free for one year if I renewed my subscription. I listen quite a bit and was planning to renew anyway. I renewed my subscription one week before the trial expired and got used ID and password for internet radio.

The day after the trial period ended my service was shut off. I paid for the renewal with a debit card so I checked my bank account and found that the transaction had net been processed nor was it pending. However, the internet radio was still working. I called customer support and they still had a record of my previous call to renew; the CS gave me the date I called and the last 4 digits of the debit card I used.

After giving me the price for 1 year of service (which had not changed) the CS asked if I wanted internet service added. I explained that I had already taken advantage of the one free year of service offer. I was asked to wait while the CS checked something. She told me that the only way I could get Sirius internet was to buy some sort of all inclusive package for an additional $50 dollars or so.

It's not so much the $50 as the fact that I thought I had been promised the service for a lower price; that they went ahead and shut my service off and tried to jack the price up when I tried to renew. I know everybody would like to make an extra dollar, but I don't like to be lied to. I told them not to renew. I'll be back with another review if they turn the service back on and bill my debit card.

Sirius Has Stolen Money From My Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- I am a very dissatisfied customer of your company and here is the short story. I purchased a 2012 Mustang for my wife in November 2012 it was a Christmas present for her. I had the car loaded with everything Ford offered including Sirius. The Sirius program came with the car and was to run for 12 months, in March of 2012 I purchased a 2012 Ford F150 STX for myself and it came with 6 months of Sirius.

Then fun started, immediately I begin getting calls for late payments for both account as well as bills through the mail, along with marketing material asking me to join, when I was already a customer. Each time I explained to your customer service people the situation and it would stop for a while then pick up.

In September of 2012 Sirius took 93.61 out of my account, I immediately ask to see any authorization given to Sirius to make withdrawals from my account. Verbal or written, that request has been made to your folks as resent as 4 weeks ago and I have yet to receive a copy of the authorization, that is illegal! Both of the accounts have now been canceled, without allowing the Mustang to receive its full 12 months of service.

What do I want? I want my 93.61 back or a copy of the authorization, I want the service to the Mustang restored for 6 months, and I want your people to stop calling me with threats of service termination for accounts that are no longer in service and I want your marketing department to stop sending me materials.

We have a group here in Texas called the PUC as well several consumer protection groups each of them will receive a copy of this letter. I am a very serious man, the kind of man who when he washes his hands he washes up to the elbow that means I follow through on everything I start, so don't just think I'm someone to blow off, I would recommend you take this letter and me very serious. You have 10 days to respond!!!

Don't Expect a refund if you sell your car (worst customer support ever!)
By -

1100 CORPORATE OFFICE DR, MICHIGAN -- Hello, first let me start by saying we don't normally complain but this deserves to be heard!!! Six months ago we sold our car equipped with a Sirius Sat Radio. In the beginning we did enjoy the service for many years. We always paid yearly in advance.

So we called and cancelled. They said we had a refund of $113.00 coming since we only used a few months of the service this time around. They said it would be 8 weeks to process the request and to expect a check. So 8 weeks came and went no money. So we called again. They said "sorry we will put in another request for refund." Another you guessed it 8 weeks... Again nothing! Nada Zip! In the meantime we started getting bombarded with 3 to 4 calls a day trying to sign us back up for a service for a radio we don't have anymore. It got so bad we had to threaten them in order to get the calls to finally stop.

Meanwhile no refund again. This has been going on for 6 mos now. So we just called again this evening. Same run around. Seems no one can give us a straight answer. They even tried to tell us they may have put it back on a CC we cancelled two months before we called them the first time. We told them prove it... of course they can't! It's impossible! So we asked for a supervisor and they transferred the call to a bigger idiot than the last one. This guy promising he would put in another of many trouble tickets.

Here's the rub... They will just keep giving you the runaround till you just give up and they keep your hard earned money for FREE!! The worst part is they now have pissed us off so bad that we will never do business with them again. They have lost two loyal customers and we will tell everyone STAY AWAY!!! Imagine how much money they keep off hundreds of thousands of unsuspecting clients this way. It makes me sick!!! No honesty and no integrity... that sums up Sirius Radio! Just hot air!!!

Sirius Will Not Be Around For Very Long!
By -

IN AUGUST 2010 I bought 2 new Fords, an Explorer and a Mustang Convertible. Both came with 3 months "free" Sirius radio. Every three days from that date on I received, not one, but TWO "renewal notices" from Sirius. What a deluge of mail and a waste of trees and postage.

I finally called them to place an order for not ONE but TWO lifetime contracts. I then learned that there was no discount for TWO lifetime accounts for the same person and since one cannot drive 2 cars at once, I did not see any value whatsoever in paying $495 plus tax a grand TOTAL of $576.49 for 2 vehicles (2 times $576.49).

So after some consideration of telling Sirius to F Off, I decided to sign up for coverage for my Explorer for $495 plus taxes to total $576.49, which I DID (on record and tape recorded) on Nov 13th at 9:15 am EST...on my Amex card. So imagine my surprise when coming home from a busy day at work on Nov 17th, I have NO SIRIUS RADIO!!!

So I call the number annoyingly flashing on my screen in my lovely Ford Explorer, only to reach an idiot in Sirius customer service who advises I have no account... ** the "genius" cannot figure it out or help me, so finally I tell him to F Off and hang up. I get home and thinking I had just by chance gotten an idiot on the phone, I call again and get another idiot who after about 15 wasted minutes disconnects me by accident.

I call back again and ask for a supervisor...I get ** who although nice is unable to help me, tries to charge me even MORE MONEY $616 for the lifetime membership, asks me to hold while he gets his manager who when the: "manager" picks up he cannot hear me and hangs up. I have now wasted over an hour with these buffoons.

These folk are idiots who will NOT BE AROUND TO SERVICE YOUR ACCOUNT. RUN AND HIDE...DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. Use your ipod instead. These incompetent jerks will be GONE during this recession/depression and they deserve to GO UNDER. Idiots can't even process a lifetime membership. Good riddance, I will dance on the grave of your dead business!!!

Poor Customer Service
By -

We allowed the sat. service to terminate following the introductory offer from purchasing our 2010 Jetta TDI. My wife and I enjoyed the service however could not justify the cost considering the limited time spent in our car. A representative of Sirius called our home and solicited a promotional offer to reactivate.

The wife being in a wonderful mood that morning thought it would be a nice thing to do for our son and I to activate the service. She proceeded to set up an account and of course provided credit card information. She was then told to go out to the car for the activation portion.

During this process a problem was discovered and the service could not be activated due to possible technical problems. The representative then informed my wife she was being transferred to someone who could resolve the issue. After waiting on the phone for 2 hours (the credit card was already billed) a technician answered and quickly found account information was not entered correctly and told my wife she would be transferred to someone who could help.

After waiting on the phone another hour someone answered to which the wife explained her situation and considering all the problems would like to just drop the whole matter and cancel all orders. She was told that would be no problem and all billing were suspended and any payments processing would be canceled. Three days later the charges appear on our bank statement at which time I called Sirius. I offered the account number given to my wife by the Sirius representative and was told our name was not on that account and no charges were processed to that account.

I provided our credit card information to the person on the phone which enabled him to locate the account which our information was listed on. We were not the account holders: names, addresses, and personal information did not match however the representative refused to offer the account holders name. The only information that matched was our credit card information. I then proceeded to instruct the representative I would like to cancel the future billing and was told that was not possible as we are not the account holders.

To end this long story we eventually notified the bank contesting the charges and had to cancel our credit card and reissue. The excessive wait time to speak to someone coupled with the clear inability of Sirius reps to address possible fraud of poor performance is upsetting. This company knew the billing information was incorrect, knew the mistake was made on their part however refused to address the problem.

This company wilfully and knowingly allowed charges to be leveled against someone knowing they were not the account holders. Beware of situations such as this while the features offered by the company are nice it is nearly impossible to get something corrected as you are likely to wait on the phone for hours.

Billing and Customer Service Nightmare
By -

Run away from this company. I've been a customer of 5 years and have made numerous incidents of overbilling my credit card/checking account. Was always able to resolve problem until now. Paid by subscription of $97.98 on 8/21/10. Company took $397.00 out of my account (4 X 97.98).

Took 2 days, 12 phone calls and 4 hours to get anyone on the phone who would not disconnect me. On 8/23/10 @ 9:15 PM CT, spoke to a supervisor who agreed to refund my money plus $60.00 in overdraft charges. He told me it would be refunded within 3 days. On Thursday, 8/26, I spent several hours and many phone calls. I could not get anyone on the phone.

Finally, called the corporate NY office and spoke to Corporate Customer Care. Was told my refund would be expedited. On Friday, received refund for all my money PLUS $60.00 overdraft. Later that day, XM charged by account for $60.00. Called NY back and was told that they don't pay overdraft charges.

Finally, on 8/28 I called to cancel my subscription. Service was disconnected and was told I would receive refund of $62.16 in 7-10 days. I called on Fri. 9/3 to check on status, was told refund would be processed that day. No refund. Called on Sat. 9/4 - was told then that company doesn't process refunds from the 1st to the 5th as they do billing, but refund should be in my account by 9/7.

Today, 9/8 still no refund - called NY again. Now told refunds take 2 weeks to process. Asked to speak to supervisor was told there isn't one. I just want my money back - I love this product but this customer service is horrible. Called my local TV station's customer reporter who told me she has a "drawer full" of billing complaints on Sirius XM. Do not do business with them. I will be a walking talking advertisement against this company.

You go to collections for only 30day of not paying invoice??
By -

My name is Robert **. I live in Tampa, FL and the Sirius Satellite Company is wanting to send me to Collection Agency for an amount of a 3 month service. The amount due is $70. The Collection agency representative contacted me at 8:30 am first attempt and then a second attempt I answered at 9:30 am very persistent 30 day late bill collecting **.

My complaint is that with my last contact to Sirius radio, was with a sales representative that only after I speak to my girlfriend to help split the cost, then I would continue till then let me have a number to call back to get this done or not use the service. At this point I talked it over to my girlfriend and decided to not use or call back to the representative so that the service would not continue as we spoke about.

Now it is May 29 and I get called about collecting the debt for something that I truly didn't use or want a service to continue. Informed the collections representative this and as all of them reps are mostly ex-cons in New Jersey (representative truly didn't care to help pay off the debt) didn't want to help with getting this resolved to understand that this was a misunderstanding of my continued service when I was not even using the DAMN thing during this 3 month period it was on!!!

So here I am to voice that granted you can enjoy for a huge fee for 3 months of service and be sent to a collections agency only after a month of not paying an invoice when other companies offer you 90 days before you're sent to collections agency? Do I expect that Sirius cares about my complaint? Probably not! Why, because I was a customer to them for some time but had stopped the service and apparently they have it on an auto renewal hence the 3 months that wasn't paid for because I didn't know it was needed to be paid, I was not wanting the service to continue. Thank you for your time in reading my venting. Have a great Memorial Day weekend ALL!

Sirius Refuses to Correct Their Own Error
By -

I had an annual service contract with Sirius from March 2009 to Feb 2010. On February 6th, 2010 I called Sirius and cancelled my subscription for the following year, making sure I called with sufficient time so I wouldn't be automatically billed for an additional year. The cancellation of the subscription went through fine and I was not billed for the next year's service. However the phone agent did not enter the correct cancellation date and their system showed that I owed them $75 for an early termination fee.

I was never notified of their error until I received a collection notice from EOS CCA collection agency stating that Sirius had turned my bad account over to them and I now owe $80. I immediately contacted Sirius to resolve this issue and they admitted that they had made the error. It showed that I did everything correctly on their system, however they could not do anything because it had gone to the collection agency. So now after wasting several hours with Sirius to get someone on the phone, I try to contact the collection agency.

Three hours later now of trying to contact someone there, they won't pick up the phone. So I thought that I would send an e-mail to Sirius customer service. Surely if I explained that it was their error, they could verify the information on their system, recall and cancel the collection account and remove the negative information from my credit report.

Their reply e-mail was more of the same, "We cannot do anything because it is at the collection agency. We apologize for the error but we cannot do anything". How can companies operate with total disregard for people and consequences. Stay far, far away from Sirius. Even if you follow their rules, they will find a way to complicate your life.

Sirius WORST Customer Service & Fraudulent Return Policy
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Sirius Satellite Radio is one of the absolute worst companies I've ever had the misfortune to deal with – second only to the contractor who destroyed my home instead of remodeling it! I purchased a NEW Stratus 6 radio from their website, after the previous (very expensive) Sirius radio I'd had less than 2 years died. I had the radio professionally installed at a large retailer, one recommended by Sirius. Then the nightmare began. I spent over 2 hours on the phone with 7 different people, was disconnected 3 times just to try to activate my radio. I finally gave up out of frustration & exhaustion. Only 2 of the people I spoke with were even remotely friendly &/or concerned.

The rest of them were total idiots, condescending or indifferent & did nothing to try to help. I called again the next morning & thankfully finally spoke with a tech that realized that my only problem was that I was tuning to the wrong radio station, which he figured out within 2 minutes! Perfect! In less than a week, my radio stopped working again. I spent over an hour on the phone with 4 people, who finally came to the conclusion that my antenna was faulty & the unit needed to be returned for a replacement. I finally made my way through the phone maze to a lady who stopped passing me around to useless other departments.

She actually took the time to help me. She arranged for a return and an install card so I wouldn't have to pay to have the non-working radio removed & a new one installed – AGAIN! Yesterday, I got the replacement radio. Guess what – I received not a NEW radio, which is what I purchased – but a “reconditioned” radio! I couldn't face endless hours on the phone again, so my husband dealt with this one. He had the same experience. He was on the phone for over 2 hours, passed around from department to department & was disconnected (or was it hung up on?) numerous times.

He was told that it was “company policy” to replace any radio purchased online with a reconditioned model. I'm sorry, but I consider that fraud & theft! He did finally get someone to agree to give us a $20 credit (which is the amount their reconditioned radios are discounted online), but we have to pay for shipping the return back to them! What a load of crap! I'm now waiting on a callback from the “Install Card” activation, to see when I can get an appointment to pull out the old & reinstall my reconditioned radio. Yeah, right! This is the last time I do this. NEVER again will I order anything from Sirius online, and I may cancel my service altogether.

Sirius Ly Avoid This
By -

Yeah... Sirius had me hooked. Till this latest endeavor that is. I had 5 cars and a marine application with them. In all I have been spending nearly $1000 a year. Last August my wife and I sold our VW Tourag back to Mid Western Auto Group as it was in the shop more in the 364 days we had it than in our garage. I canceled Sirius service on August 27th, 09. On September 6th, 09, Sirius auto billed me for $110. Just found out about it March 29th, 10. No refund given.

This is not the first time I had an experience like this with Sirius. After a conversation with a supervisor it was resolved the last time. This time after sitting on hold for 47 mins, I was called a liar and charged $75 for canceling that service and $15 to transfer service from another car I just sold to one I just bought. I requested to speak to supervisor. After 15 more minutes on hold and a lengthy conversation this was reversed.

I previously had asked not to have auto renewals as I change cars out a lot. After reviewing my account I found 2 other charges for someone else's accounts (nearly $300). Another hour on the phone to straighten out. Could barely understand guy on other end as he had thick accent and kept breathing heavily into his mouth piece. Also, if I hear one more JAZZ song while on hold I am going ** POSTAL!

Now I have found out that their marine program does not cost $149.99 a year as I was told by the dealer. In all, it cost $321.02 a year! My boat is in the water (Lake Erie - Ohio) from May 15th-Sept 15th and is used 20 hours a season. That is about $16 an hour. The real problem is their satellite only works about half the time and weather is ALWAYS WRONG!

But what pisses me off every 5 minutes is the commercials we SUBSCRIBERS are PAYING to listen to. Sirius was supposed to be commercial free... Guess not. Screw your clients - screw yourself. I will not be renewing any further and have closed the credit card they have on file and that they would not remove unless I gave them another good account. Goodbye Sirius.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Sirius Satellite Radio Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
92 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sirius Satellite Radio
1221 Avenue of the Americas, 36th Fl.
New York, NY 10020
212-584-5100 (ph)
212-584-5200 (fax)
Compare Entertainment Companies