Preview Review

Next Review

Slumberland Inc Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Cheap Wood and Fabric
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LACROSSE, WISCONSIN -- We bought 4000.00 dollars in new furniture from Slumberland. The dining room table - the stain is coming off. My grand kids were doing their homework on it. When they picked up the paper we seen all the writing marked in the wood. It went right through the paper. My living room - we bought reclining sofa, a lift chair, end tables, coffee table. You can't touch the wood - it will mark. I put my laptop on it and it left a indentation of the laptop on it. My reclining sofa - the fabric is all running like a pair of stockings. We bought the warranty for it all. What a waste of money - it don't cover the fabric or the wood.

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Sofa
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS -- BUYER BEWARE!!! The sofa purchased at Slumberland in Springfield, IL less than two years ago is literally coming apart at the seams. Brought one of the cushions to the store and the first question asked by the employee was "did we purchase a five year warranty." Since we had not, our only option was to talk to the sales manager (who wasn't there, of course). In the meantime, I took the cushions to an upholsterer who removed the fabric from a cushion and pointed out how there was almost no backing in various places on the fabric, which was why the seams were fraying out. He said that if he reinforced the seams, the same problems would probably occur again.

A day later, no phone call from Slumberland. I called the store and was given a number for "service." Bottom line: "Sorry, your year is up!" Said we could possibly purchase replacement covers for the cushions. Said there would be no guarantee that the fabric would perform any better than the defective stuff we now own and the replacements would be nonrefundable even if defective. Later received a call to say that 'Oops, replacements covers are no longer available.' Repeat: BUYER BEWARE!!! My opinion: If you want a couch to last approx. one year, go to Slumberland.

Replies
Mislead at Purchase and Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLE CANADA, MINNESOTA -- Don't be trusting. I purchased a sofa and two chairs from Slumberland Furniture on 4/18/13. I also purchased the Furniture care plan. The salesman said it was a good thing to do especially since the sofa had reclining motors. They will come to your home and fix the product. You however are not given the Furniture contract to read before you purchase. The furniture was delivered and placed in the proper place by the delivery men. They looked it over and said everything was good. What they don't tell you is that if there is anything that is damaged it must be found right away.

Two months later I installed new drapes and moved out the sofa to do this. I noticed a small scratch. In the rear leather on the top of the sofa. Which appeared to be from a packing staple. I was not worried as I had this great Furniture Care package. The company was difficult to deal with and informed me they do not repair scratches. Slumberland customer service said I had to find the scratch within so many hours. I got two different quotes on the amount of time from different employees.

I am advising everyone who does business with Slumberland to not allow the furniture to be placed by the delivery workers until you have gone over the piece with a fine tooth comb for problems. I also would advise against the purchase of the furniture care package. My opinion is buyer beware with this company and certainly don't rely on oral information. Read everything. I will not do business with them again.

Replies
Broke Couch With Warranty and Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CASPER, WYOMING -- Purchased sofa and the extended warranty. Got it home and upon inspection found that the back was broke and defective. Sent email and never got a response. I called and they refused to resolve the issue and told me it wasn't covered by warranty and that it was my fault. Worst customer service I have ever had. Beware that the warranty plans do not cover anything and are a waste of your money. I would never shop at this store again; they were deceptive in selling an extra warranty plan. The couch was defective and it was not due to our use. Spent a lot of money at this store and came home with junk.

Company Response 09/10/2015:

This customer purchased a stain and accident warranty it doesn't cover a sofa that they damaged while trying to move it into their home and dropped it. They were never told the warranty would cover anything other than accidental rips, tears, stains, and burns.

Replies
Advertisement
Returning Anything Is Challenging
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- Slumberland had an sale for living room end tables with charging stations. We thought that would be a good idea for our tablets and smartphones. We bought one, had to come back to pick it up. When we took it out of the box to assemble we found a giant chip (more than 3") off one of the sides -- plus you could see stain drips. My husband didn't even assemble it -- we put it back in the box. But here's what really irks me. Only a certain "manager" can authorize returns. If he/she is not there you are told to come back. That is so bogus.

Every store should have someone who can authorize a return on duty at ALL OPEN hours. To add insult to my injury when I went in the first time and said I needed to return an item -- I was told the "manager" was out to lunch and I would have to come back in about 15 min. I went to a nearby Target to waste time -- came back to Slumberland and the "manager" told me she was NOT authorized to do returns!!!!

Why the heck did they tell me come back! I am furious at all the time I have wasted. I still have the blasted thing in my car and have to schlep back there. They tout a great 30 day return policy -- but good luck. I will not buy there again.

Replies
Slumberland - Just So So
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BEAVER DAM, WISCONSIN -- I'm going to start with this story: I went to visit a friend who lives in Rochester, MN. I slept on her couch during my visit. The couch was Heaven. I slept almost as well as I do in my own bed, and it was beautiful and high quality to boot. I asked my friend where she got it and she told me Slumberland.

Fast forward 1.5 months. I desperately need new furniture. My living room furniture consists of a futon from my college days and an old, ugly hand me down sofa that I bought from my cousin. However, as a single teacher, my budget is pretty small. I went on to Slumberland's website and saw a perfect sectional that would be perfect in my apartment - on sale for $716, originally $1800. To make things even better, there was a label on the page that said "Quick Ship."

I clicked the Quick Ship link and it said that this sofa is in stock in all stores and should be able to ship immediately. Well, based on my friend's experience, the great price, and the quick ship option, I went ahead and placed my order. I immediately received a confirmation email that said my order was placed and I should expect a call within 72 hours (3 days) to set up delivery.

Fast forward 3 days. 72 hours passed - no call, no email, nothing. I log in to my account on Slumberland.com, and the status is listed as: Confirmed-Shipped. WTF? It most definitely has NOT shipped! I then logged in to my credit card account and for sure - they charged my credit card.

So, I decide to call the customer service number listed on the website. I call, and I get the "all operators are busy," but I decide to stay on the line and wait. After a minute or so, I'm automatically sent to a voicemail system. I'd also like to add that the voicemail message is the "we're closed" message. It lists the hours for today as 8 AM to 6 PM. The corporate headquarters are in MN, I'm in WI, thus in the same time zone. I called at 3 PM. 3 hours before closing time. I called probably 5 more times, and get the same "we're closed" message. So, I decide to leave a voicemail and I provide my order number and my phone number. We'll see if they actually call me back.

Getting no response from corporate, I decide to call the store closest to me - the Beaver Dam, WI store, to see if THEY know anything. I call and explain my situation, and the person who answers the phone says "Oh let me check that out for you!" She tells me that corporate JUST sent them the order and yes, they would be delivering my sectional. She was extremely helpful and set up my delivery for me and saved me a HUGE headache. So, after my experience, and after reading other reviews on here, Slumberland Corporate seems pretty disorganized and not very helpful. However, the Beaver Dam, WI store was very helpful and seem to have their stuff together!

Replies
Great Staff, Great Store, and Great Customer Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ROCHESTER, MINNESOTA -- I bought a bed, sofa, and loveseat. Really great sales staff! These guys are no pressure and really helped me find the best deal for my budget. I didn't know shopping for a mattress could be so easy and fun. Delivery team was fast and professional (they even moved my old sofa to garage). Best store in town, hands down!

Replies
Avoid Slumberland Furniture!
By -

ROCHESTER, MINNESOTA -- My wife and I went to Slumberland to buy a love seat and sofa. Everything seemed fairly simple and the salesman was nice. Thus far no problems... Then we paid cash for the furniture and paid for delivery. The date was set and missed. According to the salesman, we would be called prior to the delivery, but they missed the call and the delivery date that was scheduled. Big problem? Not really. We talked to them and they set another date out a couple more weeks. Annoyed thus far, but not too concerned.

The day comes and they bring us the furniture. Two younger kids who seemed OK. They bring in the sofa first and I notice a leg problem. (Large chip out of the wood.) I asked one of the kids about it and he said that I need to bring it up to my salesman? Okay... They bring in the love seat and the opposite side from where I'm standing has a huge hole in it! (Softball size.)The employee from Slumberland was on that side and certainly saw it, but never said a word.

I ran out to the truck and pulled them both in to look at it. He laughed and said, "Yeah, it looks like it is messed up, call the salesman." He couldn't take it back on the truck because there was other furniture on there for delivery. I called the store and the salesman was busy and they gave me the General Manager. I told him about the large hole and the chip in the leg and he laughed... saying that his delivery people cannot be held responsible for it. "They wouldn't know it was bad..."

My wife then talked to him and tried to work out some sort of remedy and he acted like he didn't care. She finally just asked him to take them back and he said it was not company policy to do so... but OK, in a week they would come get them back. (Which they did.) Ultimately, we ended up losing about $100 in fees (delivery.. some restocking fee... for broken furniture) because they will not refund those period. Slumberland ripped us off and I highly recommend NO ONE buy furniture there. When we brought the issue up to the corporate offices, they kept repeating, nothing can be done or someone at the store will call us. It never happened. These guys really suck.

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- I ordered this chair through Slumberland Online in November. It was delivered to my mother in Nebraska City, Nebraska in early December. She is 82 years old, suffers from spinal stenosis and osteoarthritis and fibromyalgia and is home-bound. From the time the chair was delivered she has had problems with it. The cushioning in the chair back has collapsed at the bottom, and the cushioning at the top of the chair back is asymmetrical and obviously defective.

I visited her in January and after seeing first hand the issues with the chair, I made a trip to the Slumberland store in Lincoln, Nebraska, the closest to her home. I was told by the manager that it was beyond thirty days so no return or refund or exchange was possible, but that I could contact Slumberland about warranty service. I did that, and in early February a technician visited my mother's home and told her that he could not fix the chair because he was out of the material necessary to make the repair because he had recently done several similar repairs to the same brand and model chair.

A week or so later my mother received a call from Slumberland customer service informing her that the technician had fixed the problem and her warranty claim was being closed (claim # ** at Slumberland). My mother told the customer service representative that in fact no work had been performed because the technician told her he did not have the necessary material. My mother then received a second call a few days later disputing her account and asserting that the claim was being closed.

Needless to say, we are not satisfied with the quality of the merchandise or the service provided by the merchant. We are sharing this information with the Better Business Bureau of Nebraska and the office of the attorney general of Nebraska.

Replies
Customer Service?
By -

HAYWARD, WISCONSIN -- In February of 2008 we had gone to Slumberland to purchase a leather sectional and coffee table. Upon delivery our coffee table had a gouge in the corner and our leather sectional was terribly scuffed by the delivery BOYS! We had told the BOYS this and pointed it out to them and they said there was nothing they could do and we would have to call the store.

We did call the store and they had sent a repairman who came out. This repairman was very polite and honest in telling us that this is something he should be fixing at the store! But they had told him it could be fixed in our home. He did what he could, bless his soul, but two days later, the staples were showing and the leather tacks were popping out and our beautiful leather was sagging!!!

We had taken pictures and taken them to the store. We had agreed that they would order us a new coffee table, which came in with the same gouge in the exact same spot!! We denied that one as well. The delivery manager then offered us a whole new table if we saw one that we had liked. We picked one out and they then said that they would have to put in an order for it. We then told them that to save them we would wait to have the furniture fixed until the table could be delivered as well. O.k., remember?

This is the end of February 2008. It is now July 2, 2008. We called yesterday and lo and behold... our new table had been delivered earlier that day. (No one called us to let us know.) We then set up that delivery would be for this a.m. at 9. The delivery man was here at 9, on time, but alone!!! He could not lift our recliners to take them back to the store to fix! So, it is 2:30 p.m. and he is back with a helper.

Now, they told us that they would pick up the recliners this morning and we would have them back this afternoon. On taking the recliners out of the house they again gouged our leather on the door frame. Will it take another 5 months to get this fixed? In closing I would like to let you know that our saleswoman was very nice as well as our first repairman!! They are a true asset to the company!! Oh, just one more thing.... BUYER BEWARE!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Slumberland Inc Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
20 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Slumberland Inc
3060 Centerville Rd
Little Canada, MN 55117-1105
651-482-1746 (ph)
651-482-7512 (fax)
www.slumberland.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores