[X]

Snap Fitness


3 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Screwed by Snap Fitness
Posted by JimMorgan on 06/05/2008
JEFFERSONVILLE, INDIANA -- Went to this gym to get the guest pass as advertised. Endured 15 minutes of stale sales pitches until finally agreed to $45 a month membership. Another 15 minutes while rep tries to figure out how to program my key card. Finally gives me one that, upon my return, doesn't work. Nobody answers posted number or returns messages. Does nothing when I do get a hold of her except promise it will work next time. Make several attempts, each time doesn't work, each time they don't know why but assure me it will and we start the whole thing over again. This goes on 4 or 5 times with gas prices what they are. I finally have to take time off from work to meet her at her convenience where she promptly cops an attitude with me. Next thing I know, additional money is drafted from my account, overdrawing it. When I protest the owner throws some kind of temper tantrum and cancels my membership. Wasted time,money and gas, missed workouts and now have no gym. Avoid this place like the plague!

Incompetent, rude staff. No less expensive than any other gym and far less to offer (if you're lucky enough to get a working card). Shameful, despicable customer service.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-05:
If they lost their temper and cancelled your membership AND they were rude and incompetent before they lost their temper...they did you a favor and you no longer have to suffer their incompetence and rude behavior. There may be a better gym closer to your home or to your work. Cheers!
Posted by madconsumer on 2008-06-05:
at least you got them to cancel your membership.
Posted by JimMorgan on 2008-06-05:
Thanks guys, you're swell :)
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2008-06-05:
Maybe their "workout program" is actually just trying to get through the door. There ARE no weights or workout equipment on the other side!
Posted by ARLETTE on 2008-11-05:
I too have had problems. In addition to the cards not working properly when I joined. I then had billing issues over paying a one of the trainers, I pay cash and they charged my card in addition to my paying cash. That taken care of when I decided to quit my membership, there is a thirty day cancellation policy. I guess you should read the fine print no contact but make sure you quit thirty days before you want to because they charge you anyway. Will not join another one or recommend them.
Posted by payingcustomer on 2009-04-07:
I had the EXACT same experience with Snap Fitness of Mt. Pleasant, SC. I joined the beginning of March, 2009. I tried my card several times, with assurances each time that it would work next time, then told to adjust MY schedule and attend during business hours. I joined specifically for the never accessible "24 hour" access. The manager then said he would leave a card under the door mat that I could use each time! When I tried to explain that I worked the midnight shift and was not happy with the situation I was ridiculed and personally attacked. I then cancelled my membership. I saved all the e-mail correspondence and would be happy to share. My co-workers have a had a good laugh reading them, the guy seems very unstable. I contacted the corporate office and had no response, other than each is privately owned and all they could do was to put me in contact with the owner (which they never did). Stay away.
Close commentsAdd reply


Avoid This Gym At All Costs
Posted by Caliqueen91 on 09/21/2010
HESPERIA, CALIFORNIA -- On 3/1/10 I signed up for a gym membership with Snap Fitness, which is a 24-hour gym. I liked the idea of a 24-hour gym because my schedule is not like most people’s 9-5, I usually do not get off work til around 1 am, the membership was $44.95 a month for both my sister and I. I told the gym employee that I was not sure how long I would be able to go to the gym, I was planning on moving within a year, so he told me that it would be month-to-month, which little did I know he wrote 1 year on my contract. Fast-forward to about a month and a half ago, Snap Fitness was bought out by a company named Super 5 Express Fitness. This gym was no longer 24-hours, it was only open from 7am-9pm, which was clearly not going to work for me, it was also only $9 a month for members. I went into the gym and explained my situation, which they said there was nothing they could do for me. I went home and dug out my contract with Snap Fitness, and in the terms it states “Club Unavailability- If any of the services or facilities described in this agreement become unavailable or are no longer fully operational, I am only liable for the portion that was available for the public to use while this agreement is in effect…” Well, in my opinion, the club is no longer fully operational and the services are no longer available because I signed up for a 24-hour gym, which is stated in the contract. I went back in the gym and explained and, they again gave me the same run around that there was nothing they could do. Well, I gave up and felt that I needed to pay the $150 cancellation fee, but decided to freeze my account for a month so I could save up the money. Fast-forward to 2 days ago, I looked at my bank statement after I froze my account and I was still charged the $44.95 so I went back in furious. The employee told me that there was nothing he could do and he would have the manager call me. Well, I never received a call so I went in today and demanded to speak the manager and he told me he would put the money back in my account and would give me 2 free personal training sessions. “Free personal training sessions?!?!?! I do not even go to the gym any longer.” Then the manager said that he would reverse my refund and keep the $44.95 and that he was trying to do me a favor. Isn’t that fraud? What can I do? I would just pay the cancellation but I do not want to give in to them. I was paying 44.95 for a 24-hour gym, how is it that everyone else in that gym is only paying 9? Is there anything I can do to stand up to these monsters?
Read Company Response
Company Response on 01/10/2011:
This is simply a case of a customer that did not want to follow their contract. The person complaining here changed their story so many times as to why they wanted out of the contract. It boiled down to they could not afford it. That is something we can all understand and we gave her and her sister many options to help with that. The amount of energy and time wasted on writing a complaint of this length could have been put into exercising or creating more money to pay for the gym membership. Unfortunate.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2010-09-21:
Give a call to your states attorney's office and see if they can't give you some advice and help on this. Your contract should be honored or your money refunded.
Posted by Karen34 on 2010-10-05:
Wow. I have been going to this gym first as a Snap member and now as the the new owenership and location. This place has really stepped up. The gym is great as well as the new staff and management. I was concerned also about the $9 rate they offered, but what I learned was that that was a promo rate and a limited days membership. I further learned that my rate was just as good as their current rates. As for not being 24 hours, they are only closed 4 hours a night or something. I have nothing to positives to say about this gym and I have refered all of my friends.
Posted by caliqueen91 on 2011-01-11:
In response to the comment from the company Super 5 Express Fitness, I'm assuming this is either Matt(owner) or the other terrible employee that I had to deal with. The reason I wanted to leave this gym so terribly bad had absolutely nothing to do with the amount of money that I had to pay each month. I actually pay a bit more for my membership at 24 hour fitness but my sister and I are much more happy with quality of service and equipment than at Super 5 Express Fitness. As you probably have already seen from Googling your business name, I was NOT the only person that had major problems with the your gym. Your lack of experience with running a company and the fact that your hired extremely incompetent and unprofessional employees lead to your downfall. I wasted much more time than any person ever should driving back and forth to your location in Hesperia, since you never go to your Apple Valley location, trying to get my money returned that should have never been taken out of my account in the first place, since my account was on a freeze. You did NOT honor the contract that I signed for Snap Fitness and I still wish that I would have taken you to small claims because of the way you took advantage of me. Please explain what "many" options you gave my sister and I when it came to canceling our membership? It was basically pay the cancellation fee or don't and pay the monthly membership fee. Matt, how many times did I have to come in your location asking why money kept coming out of my account when it should not have? Why when I was told that my membership was cancelled by an employee of yours over the phone, and when I brought it up to you, your had nothing to say but, he must of misunderstood? Well, that misunderstanding of your employee caused my bank account to overdraft. Oh and just a bit of advice, Angie or whatever her name is, needs to go. She is terrible at keeping accounts and your money straight and seems to "lose" every important paper.
Just a couple questions, what is going on with your relocation of your Apple Valley site? I see that you still haven't moved to the "bigger and better" location site, is it because you are not making enough money? Why do you still have the temporary name banners still up over the "Snap Fitness" sign outside of your gyms? Are you afraid that your gym will be closing soon, or are you just too lazy or stingy to dole out the money to pay for a normal sign?
Have a wonderful day. Good luck trying to clear your name over the Internet. Too bad it wont work very well because you have many unhappy customers.
Close commentsAdd reply

Snap Fitness, Dishonest, Untrustworthy, Unhappy!
Posted by R2d232 on 07/20/2010
HESPERIA CA -- Snap fitness recently under new ownership as Super 5 Express Fitness is a total Fraud! My sister and I signed up about 3 months ago thinking that we would be treated with the utmost respect and would never expect a community gym to be capable of being so dishonest. When we originally signed up, the franchise owner Matt brought to our attention that they had two different payment plans. One being month to month to try it out and see if it was for us so we could quit anytime we choose to, OR a one year contract. We were unsure if it was going to fit into our schedule so we of course chose the month to month plan. We loved it because it was a 24 hr gym and we were never able to get a work out in until about 1 or 2am. But unfortunately recently they changed the hours of the gym from 7:00 to 11:00. This of course was not going to work for us. So we regretfully went in to cancel. Upon requesting to cancel they informed us that we were locked into a one year contract. We were shocked! We tried to explain to them that when we signed up we were told we would be paying month to month so that we could cancel at any time. The only thing that they could tell us was that we should have read the contract and fully understood it before signing, which is very true. Regardless we explained to them that we were unhappy about the recent changes in the service and that we find it unfair that they won't do anything to try and resolve this matter. When I asked to speak to the person (MATT) with whom we had originally opened our account with, and they simply said he was no longer employed there. At this point we let it go. I was truly so unhappy at this point I looked over the contract to see if there was anyway to bring justice peacefully to the matter, upon which I found a section stating that, "If any of the services or facilities described in this agreement become unavailable or are no longer fully operational, I am liable for only that portion that was available for the public to use while this agreement is in effect". It made perfect sense to my sister and I that indeed a service was no longer fully available which was the fact that the gym was no longer available to us 24 hrs(that was the only reason we joined in the first place). So at 8:00am Friday morning my sister and I went to the Hesperia location, we were helped by an employee by the name of Jerry. We pointed out this section in the contract and he explained to us that he agreed completely and that it made sense that we should no longer be bonded to this contract since the gym is no longer available to us 24 hrs. He then told us that there was nothing that he could do right then and we would have to come back on Monday morning he gave us his word that he would have this matter resolved "even if I had to step on some toes", he said. Upon returning Monday morning, what do you know he's not there. Even better the general manager was. We then showed him the same paragraph we had shown Jerry. He said that there's was nothing to be done other then to pay a termination fee of 150.00. When we asked why he wasn't going to honor what the contract clearly states he said, "the club is still here and available and everything is still operational, the hours are the only thing that have changed." From what I understand, we signed up for a 24hr gym, that gym is no longer operational 24 hours. How is this fair? I am prepared to fight this until I get the justice I deserve. I think it is absolutely wrong that he had tricked us into signing the contract in the first place but again it was our fault for not fully understanding everything in the fine print. But to deny what the contract states and to not honor it is another thing. My advise to you guys is to NOT trust these people and no matter which gym you decide to joint always make sure you READ the fine print.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 01/10/2011:
This is simply a case of a customer that did not want to follow their contract. The person complaining here changed their story so many times as to why they wanted out of the contract. It boiled down to they could not afford it. That is something we can all understand and we gave her and her sister many options to help with that. The amount of energy and time wasted on writing a complaint of this length could have been put into exercising or creating more money to pay for the gym membership. Unfortunate.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2010-07-20:
Try going to this website, http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/complaints.shtml (California Department of Consumer Affairs), I think they have some information that you'll find helpful and (as I recall) a contact phone number, as well.
Posted by bargod on 2010-07-20:
Try taking this to a lawyer and see what they say. You may have a case there.
Posted by r2d232 on 2010-07-20:
Thanks Guys I Will Defiantly Try everything In my Power!
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >