Snap Fitness

3 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Avoid This Gym At All Costs
By -

HESPERIA, CALIFORNIA -- On 3/1/10 I signed up for a gym membership with Snap Fitness, which is a 24-hour gym. I liked the idea of a 24-hour gym because my schedule is not like most people’s 9-5, I usually do not get off work til around 1 am, the membership was $44.95 a month for both my sister and I. I told the gym employee that I was not sure how long I would be able to go to the gym, I was planning on moving within a year, so he told me that it would be month-to-month, which little did I know he wrote 1 year on my contract. Fast-forward to about a month and a half ago, Snap Fitness was bought out by a company named Super 5 Express Fitness. This gym was no longer 24-hours, it was only open from 7am-9pm, which was clearly not going to work for me, it was also only $9 a month for members. I went into the gym and explained my situation, which they said there was nothing they could do for me. I went home and dug out my contract with Snap Fitness, and in the terms it states “Club Unavailability- If any of the services or facilities described in this agreement become unavailable or are no longer fully operational, I am only liable for the portion that was available for the public to use while this agreement is in effect…” Well, in my opinion, the club is no longer fully operational and the services are no longer available because I signed up for a 24-hour gym, which is stated in the contract. I went back in the gym and explained and, they again gave me the same run around that there was nothing they could do. Well, I gave up and felt that I needed to pay the $150 cancellation fee, but decided to freeze my account for a month so I could save up the money. Fast-forward to 2 days ago, I looked at my bank statement after I froze my account and I was still charged the $44.95 so I went back in furious. The employee told me that there was nothing he could do and he would have the manager call me. Well, I never received a call so I went in today and demanded to speak the manager and he told me he would put the money back in my account and would give me 2 free personal training sessions. “Free personal training sessions?!?!?! I do not even go to the gym any longer.” Then the manager said that he would reverse my refund and keep the $44.95 and that he was trying to do me a favor. Isn’t that fraud? What can I do? I would just pay the cancellation but I do not want to give in to them. I was paying 44.95 for a 24-hour gym, how is it that everyone else in that gym is only paying 9? Is there anything I can do to stand up to these monsters?

Company Response 01/10/2011:

This is simply a case of a customer that did not want to follow their contract. The person complaining here changed their story so many times as to why they wanted out of the contract. It boiled down to they could not afford it. That is something we can all understand and we gave her and her sister many options to help with that. The amount of energy and time wasted on writing a complaint of this length could have been put into exercising or creating more money to pay for the gym membership. Unfortunate.

     
Replies
Snap Fitness, Dishonest, Untrustworthy, Unhappy!
By -

HESPERIA CA -- Snap fitness recently under new ownership as Super 5 Express Fitness is a total Fraud! My sister and I signed up about 3 months ago thinking that we would be treated with the utmost respect and would never expect a community gym to be capable of being so dishonest. When we originally signed up, the franchise owner Matt brought to our attention that they had two different payment plans. One being month to month to try it out and see if it was for us so we could quit anytime we choose to, OR a one year contract. We were unsure if it was going to fit into our schedule so we of course chose the month to month plan. We loved it because it was a 24 hr gym and we were never able to get a workout in until about 1 or 2am. But unfortunately recently they changed the hours of the gym from 7:00 to 11:00. This of course was not going to work for us. So we regretfully went in to cancel. Upon requesting to cancel they informed us that we were locked into a one year contract. We were shocked! We tried to explain to them that when we signed up we were told we would be paying month to month so that we could cancel at any time. The only thing that they could tell us was that we should have read the contract and fully understood it before signing, which is very true. Regardless we explained to them that we were unhappy about the recent changes in the service and that we find it unfair that they won't do anything to try to resolve this matter. When I asked to speak to the person (MATT) with whom we had originally opened our account with, and they simply said he was no longer employed there. At this point we let it go. I was truly so unhappy at this point I looked over the contract to see if there was anyway to bring justice peacefully to the matter, upon which I found a section stating that, "If any of the services or facilities described in this agreement become unavailable or are no longer fully operational, I am liable for only that portion that was available for the public to use while this agreement is in effect". It made perfect sense to my sister and I that indeed a service was no longer fully available which was the fact that the gym was no longer available to us 24 hrs(that was the only reason we joined in the first place). So at 8:00am Friday morning my sister and I went to the Hesperia location, we were helped by an employee by the name of Jerry. We pointed out this section in the contract and he explained to us that he agreed completely and that it made sense that we should no longer be bonded to this contract since the gym is no longer available to us 24 hrs. He then told us that there was nothing that he could do right then and we would have to come back on Monday morning he gave us his word that he would have this matter resolved "even if I had to step on some toes", he said. Upon returning Monday morning, what do you know he's not there. Even better the general manager was. We then showed him the same paragraph we had shown Jerry. He said that theirs was nothing to be done other than to pay a termination fee of 150.00. When we asked why he wasn't going to honor what the contract clearly states he said, "the club is still here and available and everything is still operational, the hours are the only thing that have changed." From what I understand, we signed up for a 24hr gym, that gym is no longer operational 24 hours. How is this fair? I am prepared to fight this until I get the justice I deserve. I think it is absolutely wrong that he had tricked us into signing the contract in the first place but again it was our fault for not fully understanding everything in the fine print. But to deny what the contract states and to not honor it is another thing. My advise to you guys is to NOT trust these people and no matter which gym you decide to joint always make sure you READ the fine print.

Company Response 01/10/2011:

This is simply a case of a customer that did not want to follow their contract. The person complaining here changed their story so many times as to why they wanted out of the contract. It boiled down to they could not afford it. That is something we can all understand and we gave her and her sister many options to help with that. The amount of energy and time wasted on writing a complaint of this length could have been put into exercising or creating more money to pay for the gym membership. Unfortunate.

     
Replies
Screwed by Snap Fitness
By -

JEFFERSONVILLE, INDIANA -- Went to this gym to get the guest pass as advertised. Endured 15 minutes of stale sales pitches until finally agreed to $45 a month membership. Another 15 minutes while rep tries to figure out how to program my key card. Finally gives me one that, upon my return, doesn't work. Nobody answers posted number or returns messages. Does nothing when I do get a hold of her except promise it will work next time. Make several attempts, each time doesn't work, each time they don't know why but assure me it will and we start the whole thing over again. This goes on 4 or 5 times with gas prices what they are. I finally have to take time off from work to meet her at her convenience where she promptly cops an attitude with me. Next thing I know, additional money is drafted from my account, overdrawing it. When I protest the owner throws some kind of temper tantrum and cancels my membership. Wasted time,money and gas, missed workouts and now have no gym. Avoid this place like the plague!

Incompetent, rude staff. No less expensive than any other gym and far less to offer (if you're lucky enough to get a working card). Shameful, despicable customer service.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >