[X]

Southeastern Institute in North Carolina


1 Reviews & Complaints

Review of Southeastern Institute in Clt NC
Posted by Chriscatty on 05/03/2010
CHARLOTTE NC. -- I have attended this school without any complaints & have completed the courses with a grade A &(2) B in the class.
Another student & myself went with out current (last teacher & newly hired)to an externship site on Wenesday, April 28, 2010. We were to begin Externship on Monday, May 3, 2010. That being said, a problem
arose regarding my financial aid check that was due in December 09.
I called the school on Thursday, April 29, 2010, at 12:30 pm & spoke with the vice president as my financial aid check issued from ths school(according to my financial aid loans the check was ready back in Jan. 2010)had "bounced" for whatever reason.
The vice president kept blaming Wachovia bank- I went to the bank & they informed me they only process the transactions- they cannot do anything if the money is not available for whatever reason.

Now, Monday, May 3, 2010, I went up to the school & met with the vice president & she told me that the reason I did not get the externship was because my behavior was "obnoxious" - she told my counselor, that I had a"New York attitude" When I asked her what type of behavior I had as I had never been reprimanded by anyone, teachers or staff,
while attending the school,but her response was "you are obnoxious " & just kept repeating that. When I asked her if I could ask her some questions ie what her problem was with me- was she racist? she turned her head away & kept looking out the window as if nothing I had to say was important!(No class, not even low this woman had & I come to find out she does not even have a Bachelors Degree!!!)
whilst making tapping noises with her fingers on her desk! How rude !!Is this a professional attitude?? Especially for a so called
vice-president of a school? It appears to me she was angry that I compalained about my "bounced" financial aid check & because the school has such a sad rating, many doctor offices refuse to have the schools students extern for them.
I paid a lot of money to go to this school & have worked in the professional world many years.
I need advice as to what I can do. I have filed complaints with the appropriate agencies; as in this school , the new director loves to put on movies that do not pertain to the material we should be learning- ie we watched, The Blind Side, The Hangover- wow, really medical assisting material!!!
tks.

     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Obsfucation on 2010-05-03:
Just a suggestion, but maybe you could re-write this post so that it makes a little more sense. I read it more than once and cannot determine what the actual problem it, beyond an unresponsive representative from the school.

If you feel there is a real issue that you can document, contact the state's licensing board, and also whatever body gives them their accreditation.
Posted by chriscatty on 2010-09-28:
Stay away from Southeastern Institute in Charlotte, NC
Once they get your money, they really could care less about the students & the director loves to constantly eat in the class- food galore!!!
Posted by Current Student-J on 2012-02-19:
Just an fyi this Vice President is no longer at the school. I have had no issues at this school personally I have seen a few things that I have not agreed with but we have voiced our opinions as a class on several different occasions and things were dealt with accordingly. No matter what school you attend there will be issues or someone if going to treat you in a way you don't approve this should not reflect the entire school or staff just that person. And the issues with physicians not taking the students from this SE is because of student not doing what they are supposed to do once they get on site, again not the school in its entirety just that person
Posted by chasity on 2014-02-11:
I am considering attending SEI for medical assistant.....i need to know after finishing was it easy to get a job?
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >