Preview Review

Next Review

Sprint Nextel Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Customer Service Is Better at McDonalds
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LADY LAKE, FLORIDA -- My experience with Sprint's customer service started when I noticed my iPhone 4S was "extended" for 5 days. Now I realize when the phone is roaming this is going to happen; however it's not supposed to happen for a week consecutively. So I was surprised when I called *3 which is supposed to call Sprint directly and I received a message stating that I had called Verizon wireless.

Out of concern I called the 800 number for Sprint where I was told to shut my phone off and they would restart the phone, fixing the problem. Unfortunately not only did that not fix the problem but made the phone completely unusable. Now at this point I was using my boyfriend's cell bc mine was no longer making or receiving calls. I was then told to do a master reset where I lost everything including all of my contacts and pictures. Still the problem was not fixed. So I was advised to go to a local Sprint store. Now I had to go three days without a phone bc I work and that was the soonest I could get to a store.

The person who "fixed" the phone was outrageously rude, blamed me for breaking the phone and even suggested that if he couldn't fix it I would have to pay for another one and wait a week for it to come in, which was totally ridiculous because the phone stopped working because of what they did to it. And furthermore why should I have to wait for a new phone when you would think they would have phones in a Sprint store that sells cell phones.

I was then told that the person who was fixing my phone who was in a "Sprint" store and wearing a "Sprint" shirt doesn't work for Sprint and couldn't help me at all. When I questioned him he felt the need to tell me it was like the people who work for "McDonalds" - they work under the person who owns the franchise. So, I then said "You mean to tell me if I go to McDonalds and they screw up my order I have to pay for another one even though it was their fault?" I don't think so. Oh and when I tried to ask for a manager, I was first told there was none, and then that he wasn't in the store that day. I guess they didn't want me to speaking to him.

Even when I told them I was planning on switching my provider I was told that I had to pay an early termination fee just to keep my phone number. Because of course they want their money. Nevertheless my phone was eventually fixed but my experience with Sprint both on the phone and in the store was disgusting. I now understand why they are rated poorest in customer service. I always pay my bill on time and I just can't wrap my head around paying for something I didn't do. I will not recommending Sprint to anyone.

Replies
Advertisement
Refused to Port a Number and Required 1 Month Payment to Leave Sprint
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEARWATER, FLORIDA -- About 5 1/2 years ago we tried to port a number; moving it from a Corp. Account to a Personal Account. Sprint refused to do this; even with letters from and phone calls from the company that was releasing the number to us. As a result had to buy a new phone and the 1st phone number was NOT never ported and Sprint billed the company for that number for ~5 more years; account was finally closed about 3 months ago. That makes 5 years and 3 months billing for a phone that could not be used.

The first week of June we had had enough of the poor call quality and dropped calls and charges to the bill for items not requested or used on the "new" number. Sprint required a full additional months full payment -- told by the Account Supervisor "once Sprint sends out a bill it will not/can not be adjusted for any reason." I was not getting anywhere with him so I said, "Fine I'll pay the bill."

Went online to pay the bill, it would not put the payment though. They were asking that a new checking account be registered or register a debit or credit card. Could not figure out why I couldn't pay, so called billing. The lady that took the call was helpful (1st one with Sprint) and she found when we ported the number the first part of June that Sprint closed out the checking use because we were no longer a Sprint customer. Makes no sense, will not prorate for days used, phone was deactivated the minute the number was ported, so it could not be used and yet they threaten to sent the account to collections if not pay ASAP.

Sprint was a pain changing corporate account to personal account, pain keeping 2 accounts open when 1 was to be ported to the other (according to sales person) as soon as the "proper paper work was presented." That same sales person over several months refused all paper work and phones because he did not like them. Sprint kept the corporate number active for 5+ years after refusing to port it and were told to close it (all that time for two lines where paid for; when only one was needed or wanted by all parties; except Sprint).

Sprint claims that is fine print in the "paper work" that states you must pay full months even it only one day is used. "Paper Work" was to be provided when number was ported -- see above. Sprint does not adjust bills once sent; according to Account Supervisor; bill was sent after the line was canceled -- nice touch on the way out. I would warn anyone to avoid Sprint at all cost.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had 3-4 phones on my account for almost 10 years. One of the phones I use as a secondary phone stopped working when I switched to a different device. SPRINT CUSTOMER SERVICE gave me instructions to repair it and never worked. Unfortunately I don't have 24 hours to spend to do their jobs for them. They are supposed to make the phone work that's why I pay a ridiculous amount of money to these idiots every month. Of course that number is somehow the main number to my account so I don't get any payment reminders or anything.

When I tried to set up auto pay over the phone with them, they said "You have to set up online." When I go online I have problems logging into my account. So when they turn off my service without any warning. I CANNOT EVEN CALL IN TO MAKE THE PAYMENT. This is unacceptable to me and it has now happened twice where I can't call in to make my payment and they rob me on late charges. The first time it happened my wife was pregnant and I had to literally leave my house at 3am to go call the doctor in an emergency. Of course there are no pay phones anymore so I had to beg the clerk at 7-11 to let me use their phone.

This happened again today. I CANNOT EVEN CALL IN TO MAKE THE PAYMENT. I was scheduled to have a conference call for a $200k project that I have now missed the call and the client is now furious and we will probably lose the project. THANKS SPRINT! YOU JUST COST ME $200K!

There is obviously a reason that VERIZON and AT&T are the preferred provider for these services. I have been a long time SPRINT customer, but you have now lost all credibility. I don't know whether to switch services or file a lawsuit for this HUGE LOSS that I have now incurred. I am sure $200k is nothing for SPRINT, but for me and my small business it was a life line. If anyone is looking for a good service provider, look the other direction!!!

Replies
Poor Service and Poor Phones
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- Over the last year with Sprint my daughter has had 8 different phones from HTC Evo to Samsung 3. She lives and goes to school at MSU and her phones dropped calls, had ghost conversations, texts that would not go through, texts to people she did not send, garbled reception or no service on MSU campus. They have put us off all year saying they were improving the towers and the latest is December 26th for the improvements to happen.

After multiple hours on the phone with Customer Service in California, a long way from Michigan, they say call back again if the issues are not resolved by December 26th. I have spoken to an engineer, supervisors and various representatives and each one says "Your service is not bad enough for us to do anything." The safety of my daughter and a kidney transplant hang in this "not bad enough service" balance. We pay for the premium service and get an "I'm sorry" for service and advised that unless we sign another contract and pay for upgraded phones they can do nothing and don't guarantee that that will fix our problems. What happened to service to the customer.

Replies
Advertisement
Lawsuit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA -- I started with Sprint, Oct 7, 2010, and canceled my service Oct 2012... When I spoke to a manager she advised me that I have prorated fees. I was shocked because I wasn't never made aware of this. After minutes on the phone she stated she will cancel my account and no fees or bills will be charged. To my surprise a payment was sent to collections on July 2013. I called and they stated I have to pay. I don't believe this is fair because when you first start with Sprint they state it will be for 2 years.

What most people assume is that what will happen is they will connect with Sprint, January 4, 2010, and their service will automatically end January 4, 2012. But no that's not true, they will continue to bill you. How in the hell am I being charged for a bill for October that I must pay in November when I canceled my service in October? Shouldn't my last bill be in October? I asked the manager today (July 15, 2013) if she have the recorded calls on file to show exactly what this person told me about me not having to pay any more money. She stated not all calls are recorded.

That doesn't make sense if someone takes you to court due to false recorded information how can you prove that? You can't. If the lady would've given me correct information on October 2012 that I will be charged still my funds would've never went to collections. They need to be held responsible for their actions and their services is very useless. Do not make the mistake and connect with SPRINT...

Replies
Sprint Service Sucks Stay Away
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I upgrade my phone to a new s4 5 weeks ago. After numerous phone calls, wasted hours of my life on hold, and being sent to 2 service centers, one an hour from where I live, I was told I had to go through Samsung that it was not a Sprint issue. The service reps I spoke with all told me different things and promised to get my problem resolved, but they all turned out to be minimum wage idiots and could not help me at all. I just re-signed with Sprint as part of my upgrade and regret my decision.

Stay away from this provider. They make it so it takes a good 20 min on hold to speak to a human about your problem and they are useless!!!! I plan to pass my message on to every blog, website, Facebook, public location, that I can. I have never been treated so poorly from a company.

Replies
6 Weeks of Dropped Calls on 2 Cellular Phones
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOCKBRIDGE, MICHIGAN -- Beginning Thursday March 21, 2013, both of our cell phones in the same household started dropping calls. This happened consistently on almost all of our calls until we discontinued service on May 5, 2013 because it was causing both my husband and I a lot of stress. We switched to Verizon. In a ten minute call the call would drop every minute or less, until we gave up on the call.

We contacted Sprint approximately 10 times in that period and did everything that they suggested doing to no avail. Then they said the cell towers were going through renovation and that they would be ready in 3 days. We were told this on 3 different occasions. They said that service would get better in the future. A friend told us that Sprint said that the towers would not be ready until August. I'm happy that service is supposed to get better in the future, but what about now?

Finally on May 4 we switched to Verizon. I paid my final bill today of $98.67 after it was put into collections, but I am paying the bill under protest. The service from Sprint is really terrible and in my opinion, the customer service reps are not very honest in their responses. We are in a rural area and the service with Verizon is better, but not perfect. At least Verizon suggested getting a used Network Extender that works well in the house and gives us a few more bars and has improved service greatly. We don't get dropped calls, only a few missed words occasionally, which is a great improvement.

Replies
Unexpected Charge
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I want to inform you of my dissatisfaction with your service. I have been a customer since [date]. Briefly, the problem is: for my Sprint bill on September 18th, 2012, which covers the billing period of August 15th – September 14th, I was charged $75 for 3600 KB Sprint 3G Data @ $.03/KB. I called to dispute the charges because I did not knowingly use any data.

When I called to dispute the data charges, I received an email from a Data Retrieval Representative telling me that Sprint could not legally retrieve data on my usage without the account holder ** signing a notarized form authorizing the data retrieval. I replied to the email complaining that, while I understood the legal reason for the requirement, the demand that I spend my own time and money in order to get a notary so that I could even argue against the $75 chargers were unjustified. Representative ** also suggested that I put a data block on the phone just in case I was still incurring data. I immediately asked her to do so.

After exchanging several emails and being forwarded to several representatives over the phone, I was told by ** from Sprint Data Retrieval that his manager would in this specific case credit my account $15 for the notary fees, but only given the fact that my complaint against the $75 charge was valid.

On October 10, after I had submitted the notarized form and the complaint was investigated, I was told that the reason for the data usage was that the Twitter program on my phone was unknowingly constantly updating without my knowledge. I was also told that the Twitter App continued to cost me an additional $45 between September 14 and the date of the data block, September 24. Sprint said that would credit me the $45 because I put on the data block and the $45 was not my fault and had already been billed.

I then called customer service to inform them of this investigation and ask to have the $75 credited to my account because those charges were effectively the same as the $45 except for the fact that they had already been billed to me. I was denied my request and repeatedly told that the $75 were not the same as for $45 even though when I explained myself step by step, they agreed with every step. I was also denied the $15 credit because when Sprint decided the issue was resolved because the notary (which was paid out of my pocket) would only be paid if the $75 was deemed a faulty charge.

In summary, I am told that the only reason that the $75 was not credited is because it has already been charged, but the $75 bill was the only reason that I became aware of the problem with my data and phone settings. Sprint recognized this as a problem and credited me $45, but they should credit me the entire sum that was billed due to the issue. In order to resolve this matter, I would like to be credited the $75 I was billed for on September 18th and I would also like to be credited the $15 for the time and money spent on a notary.

Replies
Advertisement
Lied To
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONDON, KENTUCKY -- 2/21/13 09:30 am starting to have trouble sending text messages, began to receive (error) messages (failed) network not responding. This lasted the remainder of the day, and also began couldn't retrieve voice mail or send or receive calls. I had great difficulty reaching Sprint to report it, but I did finally get through by using *2. This is when (ESCALATED HELL BEGAN) I was transferred to technical support who tested and tested for about 30 minutes, and every test made produced (ERRORS FAILED). This technician ** advised me to take the cell phone into the Sprint store to get it replaced.

I did go there 1136 Washington Avenue St. Louis Mo., but no replacement did I get. The agent that helped me was **, he advised just walking in to get an replacement even though I told him Sprint Technical support sent me says it doesn't work like that. He said it was an easy fix, and he would have it ready only in a few minutes, and within (5) minutes he told me that I was good to go, I was able to retrieve my voice messages. OK good, I believing the troubles are fixed only to discover (15) minutes later all troubles have returned.

This is such an atrocious series of events there is probably not enough space to give all the details, so I'll give an synopsis from here on in. This 2/21/13 originating date of trouble until this writing I'm still having the initial troubles plus some new ones with the new replacement Brio Kyocera picked up Friday 3/1/13. I've made (8) *2 calls, I've talked to (8) customer service Representatives, I've talked to technical support (5) times and twice to supervisors (TWICE BOTH OF THEM LIED) - 2/22/13 **, and 2/24/13 **, both assured me that I could expect to receive a new phone within 2 to 3 days. This never happened.

I talked with (8) other supervisors. (2) who were (ABSOLUTELY) obnoxious - one even hung up on me, and ** told me that she wasn't going to transfer me to the executive complaint department, and that she chooses to disconnect, and disconnect she did. I've made (4) trips to the Sprint store at the 1136 Washington avenue address.

I've talked with executive complaint ** twice - reached her through **, she didn't seem to be up for such advanced troubles. I had already sent her an email detailing every thing, and when she called me she began to ask repeated questions that she already had the answer to if only she had read the email totally. She was the one that made the agreement with the Washington ave Sprint store to come in on Friday to possibility pick up a new replacement phone, but there was no guarantee that it would be there Friday, and if not Friday it would be there Monday 3/4/13.

Also she would be making a report to network engineering to look at the troubles and that could take 7-10 days. But I assured ** I wouldn't be awaiting 7-10 days for their findings, and that's when she came up with the idea to give me a replacement phone, and it is defective, like as last Saturday 2/23/13, I own a business, and Saturday is my most vital day.

I couldn't use the cell phone at all, the phone powered itself down, and didn't come back on until I plugged it into the electrical outlet to be charged, but even then it only worked intermittently, and the new replacement cell phone Saturday caused to very great (DISTRESSES and HUMILIATING). 11:30 a. m., I was serving a customer, she asked me a question, and I needed to use the cell to make a call, and the screen was completely white, several experiences with this new phone before this incident. The customer was detained unnecessarily for (2) minutes.

And the next critical issue - I had received a phone call from my son that was critical, but was unaware of it until after getting home, charging the phone, because it had powered itself down and off received at 12:30 PM, it was 9:00 PM when I got the voice mail. The cell phone is the only phone that I use, and I've been messed around so very poorly by Sprint. I now have an email sent advising Executive Representative ** she and I no longer have a need to discuss my cell phone troubles.

I'm expecting a callback, email, overnight express correspondence from either Mr. Hesse, or a vice president who can pay my bill for a month, and get me a new upgraded phone. I will not accept another Brio Kyocera cell phone. I've filed a formal complaint with the FCC, Missouri Attorney General, I'm expecting to file complaints with The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioner, and the BBB. I'm an 11.5 + years continual service customer with Sprint, and my monthly bill equates to between 175.00+ to 188.00 monthly. I did file an Executive Complaint with Sprint too.

Replies
Sprint Hidden Fees vs Sprint Boost Mobile Prepaid
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- If you are looking to get Sprint services I would suggest go with Boost Mobile, yes Boost mobile used to be slow internet and old phones not anymore!!! Same phones that Sprint have.

Sprint: Highly price plans. Unlimited internet - not true. You still have to pay an additional $10 fee per every phone (premium data) even that your plan includes unlimited internet - is like you are double paying. Higher taxes - way higher!!! Not unlimited international calling plan - you have to pay p/month and then you pay for minute price varies depending where you call. Contracts - and now they have increased their early termination fee to $300. If you don't have auto pay - recurring card you will get charge $4.95 in top of everything.

Protection plan - well what can I say - it good and bad at same time because all Android phones at least you have to pay $100 and you will also have where they can fix the phone if you have problems. They will have you to take it to the store to have it tested - and at least you are going to be without a phone for at least 2-4 hours minimum if not will be an overnight process.

And they will always tell you that the issue was an app - my phone was not charging. The port where the charger is bad, so I took it and told me it was an app. I didn't even had any apps on my phones just the ones Sprint loads to the phones that you can't remove. I told them is the port of the phone. My roommate has same exact phone - has tons of apps, I tried her battery, her charger and she tried same thing on her phone. Everything worked except mine. I keep telling them - nothing still same phone, mind you has been for about 13 months. My manufacture warranty ended when they had me going back and forth.

So if I want to have it replace I have to pay the deductible when is not even my fault. Other times that I had to wait for the phone to be tested there were customers having issues and same response from Sprint agents - the problem was an app - omg really older people different people were like "I had already reset my phone there's nothing on it!!" One of that was an old women - she said "I don't even know how to download an app, I just use it to call. My son got it for me!!!"

Customer service the worst. You can go to their website and see that they are getting awards. For best customer service. Don't let them foul you - they get those rating only on new customers within 30 days, by then you still don't have your bill and still have no issues with your phones. The questions you may calling for are simple like questions regarding your phone.

But once you start having issues customer service is the worst. They hung up on you, they transfer you without you knowing, they put on the notes call drop is a lie because you can hear where they are trying to send you to a different department. Then you are speaking to someone for at least 20-30 minutes and no answer. You wasted your time - nothing was resolved and by then you are frustrated.

Boost Mobile: No contract agreements. No hidden fees. You don't have to pay $10 fee for Premium data - you still get unlimited internet. The Android plans $55 p/month with unlimited everything and you can get your bill lower without changing plans just by you paying on time every 6 months. Taxes - super. Low $5. Unlimited international calling plan either $5 or $10. Insurance - protection plan, so in case you break your phone or lose it don't worry you can get it replace same as Sprint. Phones are actually way cheaper if you check on their website - there's several to choose even like evo's, galaxy phones.

So there you go, Sprint has nowhere to pit reviews and if you go Boost mobile website does, that says a lot!!! On that note I used to love Sprint but I've been having issues and that I notice my hidden fees, since I renew my contract so 30 days passed there was nothing that I could do unless I paid the termination fees. Can't wait for November to get here so I can at least pay about $100 from my Sprint contract.

My Sprint bill is never what it was supposed to be, with all the fees my bill is never less than $260 p/month and yes I do have a second line but second line has no fees but the $10 premium data and protection plus $8 and I have the everything data plan is supposed to be $129.99. But I have an employee discount so that plan was supposed to be 97.99. So there you go. That's my horrible experience. I actually pay more on my Sprint cell phone bill than what I paid for my house electric bill and cable w/ internet together, that for me is outrageous.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sprint Nextel Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
189 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sprint Nextel
2001 Edmund Halley Dr.
Reston, VA 20191
703-433-4000 (ph)
www.sprint.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services