Preview Review

Next Review

Sprint Nextel Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Is Sprint-Nextel a Corrupt Organization Without Any Customer Service?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OVERLAND PARK, KANSAS -- There is a sameness here that should be obvious to anyone who reads this pile of complaints. Sprint-Nextel seems to care about just one thing: you paying them money. There is no customer service. People at Sprint-Nextel routinely promise anything and do nothing or blame the customer for some failure. This seems to be a dishonest organization; dare I say it, a corrupt organization that has zero regard for anything but their compensation.

Last winter they changed something that stopped my MiFi 2200 Internet connections. I went from high speed to no speed. I called, I complained to customer disservice, and I even wrote to senior executives, including president Dan Hesse. Nothing was done. I was paying monthly for zero. They promised to fix things again and again and did zilch!

When I stopped paying them, they sent me the usual demand junk. I did what they had done to me... ignored them. But, then, they upped the ante by putting two questionable collection agencies on my tail who demanded over $300: North Shore Agency and Bureau of Recovery.

Go ahead, Google "complaints Sprint" then the same for North Shore Agency and Bureau of Recovery. You will find the sameness... questionable practices. No one of authority is paying attention and these people are taking advantage of the inattention.

I've heard that for every ONE written complaint you see, there are hundreds or thousands who will not write anything. So, what does that tell you? It suggests to me that they routinely lie and cheat hundreds of people daily. I am not going to pay them. In court, I will introduce my letters detailing what didn't take place. I will also introduce the multiple complaints on various Internet sites to show a pattern of unresponsiveness and lying. This January, a year after they failed to restore my Internet service, I got a hot-spot through AT&T (previously Cingular) who has provided me with excellent cell phone service since 1992.

I am filing complaints against Sprint with the local district attorney, the state Attorney General, the U.S. Attorney General, the Kansas Attorney General, the Federal Trade Commission, the Federal Communications Commission, the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, the New York Times, the Better Business Bureau in Kansas City (which I read has nearly 100,000 complaints against Sprint but refuses to reduce their rating to less than C because they [BBB] cannot bite the hand that feeds them), The Washington Post, the Kansas City Star, 20/20, 60 Minutes, Time, the Postal Inspectors, on and on and on.

Use your imagination; surely you can think of someone who might give them the scrutiny they so richly deserve... or you can support my complaints with regulators and the press that Sprint seems to be an outlaw organization. Sprint dishonesty and abuse needs to be stopped. If you are not joining me in my crusade against these people, then the old saying goes for you: If you are not part of the solution, then you are part of the problem!

When regulators see how unresponsive and abusive Sprint is, someone of them, perhaps all of them, will descend on Sprint and punish them big time. If this is the only place YOU complain, it is like one extra drop of water over Niagara Falls. Don't just sit there... do something! Sprint will regret it if enough people make loud noises.

Replies
Advertisement
Promised It but Not Going to Honor, Even if It Is Noted!
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Back in July (13th-20th) I received a call from customer service telling me that I was a premier customer and I could add a line to my account, during the time I was considering changing my plan to a family plan. The customer service went on about a port in promotion and I would receive a credit of monetary value on my account if I ported in my wife line. The next day I was contacted again by a Sprint rep, so I started the process to add my wife to my account under a family plan.

I inquired about an upgrade on my phone ** and the import promotion. I was told I could upgrade my phone and also I qualified for the import promotion. Days later I called back to confirm what was said after we added her line, and that's when things started changing about what was told to me. I spent hours on the phone talking to countless customer service reps and escalating managers. Finally it was settled that I would receive the port in promotion and an upgrade after September. (Please read all the notes.)

On October 18, 2011 I went into an authorize agent store and inquired about a phone and the representative in store stated that I wasn't eligible for an upgrade, and I responded to him “look at my notes.” The manager said this was an agent store and I would have to call customer service. I called customer service and then I was advised I was not authorized and there were no notes, I immediately ask to speak to a supervisor due to my past experience and the supervisor saw it was noted I could upgrade in Sept of 2011, but about my port in promotion it wasn't clear so he transferred me to the appropriate department. (Please read the notes.)

From here on out it was strictly management and I thought the matter would be resolved at this level. I mean I was promised something for my business and I was simply calling in for them to honor it, but I was dead wrong. A customer service rep/manager ** went back and forth with me even to the point of talking over me, telling me the policy and that it was my fault that I was misinformed. I was so shocked to receive this type of treatment from this level of staffing. I have had management experience in the cellular industry (AT&T, Cingular) and I have never treated a customer with a lack of respect and empathy.

I stated to Mr. ** that I only want what was promised to me nothing more nothing less and it was the representative fault if there was any blame. (Never the customer.) At this point ** transferred me to a Mr. ** (if that was their real names). ** repeated everything that ** said and that they are investigating the port in promotion. I was so out done at this point - not only I wasn't getting my promised upgrade but now instead of applying a credit to my account for the port in credit they now had to investigate it.

I went on to explain to Mr. ** that I have had Sprint over three years and have never had a problem disconnect or anything and I was preparing myself to cancel both lines and go where my business would be better appreciated and without a moment's hesitation he was going to begin the process. He didn't offer me insurance, a replacement phone, or even asked why I needed an upgrade; you know trying to help me. Only thing I have received was not based on our policy like robots with no human side.

I am so displeased with ** and how I was treated. I felt like trash worthless and didn't care to be discarded. I only wanted my phone which would have been a $99.00 HTC for a two year contract. Sprint service is Great but doesn't make up for your poor customer service. I pray you have recorded lines so you can listen to the conversations in July and today.

Replies
Sprint Charged Me $500 for 1 Month of 4G Card Service U250
By -

OVERLAND PARK, KANSAS -- Hi. I have been a Sprint wireless customer for 4 years and never had a problem until a few weeks ago. 3 months ago I was told by the Sprint corporate store in Nashville that 4G was all over Nashville and I could upgrade my 3G connection card to 4G since it was the same price. They stressed that 4G was all over Nashville so 3G was obsolete and no longer needed. I then disconnected my existing 3G card which I had for 2 years and started a new line with the 4G card.

About a month later when I got my bill, I noticed I was charged a $500 overage charge for my 250U 4G card for 1 month of service. When I called Sprint at least 10 times times, spending at least 6 hours on the phone, and being transferred at least 2 times on every call, and having to re-explain this whole story every time I called and every time I was transferred, I was told the $500 overage charge was valid by every person I spoke to.

Five times I went into 3 different Sprint corporate stores and was told that 4G is all over Nashville and especially Nashville downtown which is where I used the 4G card. Nowhere do they say that there is no 4G in downtown Nashville or anything about $500 overage charges since there is no 4G so it switches you to 3G. I have recorded these conversations with these Sprint store reps and you can listen to them yourself as proof.

I am outraged that Sprint is ripping me off. This is multi billion dollar company. They are lying to consumers. Who knows how many people they are ripping off? I just want to get out of my Sprint contract and get refunded the $500 overage for one month they charged me. I only had this card for 2 months now. If I would have known this I would never have signed up. Sprint tried to deceive me and stick me with a big fat bill. $500 for 1 month of service of their 4G wireless card is unbelievable, I am just flabbergasted by this company's billing practices.

I called Sprint at least 10 times trying to get this resolved, and the answer is always the charge is valid. Can you believe this? If I just help one helpless guy not get ripped off $500 for one month of service by this company this will be worth it. If this is how they treat their long time customers I am not surprised they are losing subscribers and are in danger of going out of business.

This whole campaign of customer service improvement is just window dressing. It's just business at usual, ripping off the customer is job number one at Sprint obviously. If you don't want to get billed $500 for 1 month of 4G wireless card 250u service, do not get Sprint. That is my advice to you.

I have proof. Listen to the conversations I had with 5 different Sprint retail store salesman in Nashville in 3 different Sprint corporate stores when I walked in. If you want to do business with Sprint, you better get it on tape. They tell you one thing to your face, and then when you get the bill it's a totally different story. Watch out when you deal with Sprint. 1 ripped off Sprint customer in Nashville TN.

Replies
Terrible Security Measures With Sprint and Shady Business
By -

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I was with Sprint-Nextel for about 6 years and decided to move away from the Nextel to much more robust phone features (iPhone specifically). I co-signed a friend at the time in 2006 (my fault on the part of co-signing someone I thought I trusted). When I made the transition to switch to a new carrier for 1 phone, I paid all my termination fees and left the other phone to my friend where he would promise to pay the bills. He did pay for a portion of every month's bill but it eventually the portions that were not paid accumulated over the months.

Since some of the payments were getting, I was ready to eat the rest of the cost after the termination fees since the amount he was paying was over 80% and the months left would have left the cost of the remaining balance cheaper. I sure did think wrong.

When the time came to cancel when the contract was up, I called Sprint and explained the situation that I was co-signing for someone who was only making a portion of the payment and wanted to cancel. Again, I say that I was willing to eat the cost which was much less than the $200 early termination fee. The phone was canceled for the first time. Little did I know, that he was somehow able to reactivate the phone under my account.

I called Sprint again and spoke with a manager and told him that my account should have not got reactivated without my authority since it is under my name. The manager explained to me that he can activate it with my information. Mind that the first time I canceled, I gave them a new billing address where I would pay the final bill. He was able to not only activate the phone, but change the billing address to his own. So I cancelled the phone for a second time while changing the billing address with 2 SECURITY QUESTIONS and a PIN# (and there is no way of my so-called friend knowing these questions).

I expected a final bill within the month to take the pay the final cost. After a month of not receiving it, I called Sprint again to ask for the final bill. They told me that the phone was activated yet again. The security questions that I had on it became invalid because he was able to change that yet again. For the 3rd time, I canceled again. How was he able to change it??? The 3rd time still was a failure.

So for the 4th time I had to call to cancel yet again and finally spoke to someone who figured out something fishy was going on but said there is nothing they can do. I realized that I remember he knew someone very well that worked at Sprint but could not recall the name. The person was able to give him my security questions and pin# and call it in like no problem. So he was able to get it activated again with all the information.

After finally getting this account closed (I hope), the final bill was still never sent to me but straight to a debt collector. The final bill included 2 termination fees from the reactivation. $200 + $200 + all the activation fees and service fees. So now I am stuck with a huge payment putting a deep hole in my pocket in this down economy.

Replies
Advertisement
Sprint Wifi No Contract Ripoff
By -

Looking over the other complaints about Sprint and their contracts, I no longer feel alone. Here's what went down with me, and I stress that I am both a timely bill payer and I'm not some crank who's too stupid to read a contract.

I recently purchased a Sony Vaio laptop. It came with a built-in Sprint WiFi service that I could "TRY OUT" for 30 days if I wanted to. First time Sprint user, but I'd heard good things and wanted to try it. I did exactly that, using the laptop to sign up. It was very simple and easy to do. In fact, I even got a Verizon WiFi USB dongle to compare the two services on a business trip. I really liked the Sprint service (which becomes very ironic given how I was treated).

Then I had an issue with Sony that required that I return my laptop under warranty and the replacement (which comes in 2 weeks) could no longer have Sprint WiFi built in (I'm beginning to understand why). Plus, I didn't want a USB dongle if I'm paying for a built-in Wifi.

So, the tryout period ended exactly 5 days ago. I was sent NO CONTRACT. I was sent NO BILLS. I was sent NO EMAILS. I was NOT CALLED whatsoever by anyone, until 2 days ago on Saturday, when I received a collection notice for past due fees of 2 months!! This morning, in my office, a waiting message on my phone was dunning me again from the "collections" department. I was stunned. Never in all my years of service with AT&T and Verizon was I ever smacked around for being late with a bill so fast and so hard. And remember, I'm 5 days late after a so-called tryout period.

So long story short, I searched high and low for a way to contact Sprint customer service (interesting when you don't have a Sprint phone), called them up and explained the situation NICELY. After all, these guys in customer service get all kinds of idiots calling up and playing stupid. So I was extremely respectful. Well, not only was I reprimanded for not paying my bills (which I resent), but I was informed that now I also owed a $200 cancellation charge. WOW!! is all I can say!!

After some discussion, nothing moved, I was switched over to the payment department, handed over my Amex number and... $335 later (!!!!) I was finished with Sprint... forever... The last time I was manhandled like this to enrich a corporation's coffers, was in the bad old days of the tech boom years (late 1990's) when soon to be bankrupt ISP companies desperately dunned you for bills that were days old because they were about to go bust and desperately needed cash.

I can't help feeling that this is exactly what is going on with Sprint. I could be wrong of course, but this was a very bad way to keep a customer THAT ACTUALLY LIKED THEIR SERVICE. Like I said to the guy on the phone (nicely), why would I ever want to try Sprint again after this kind of treatment?? Adios Sprint!!

Replies
Sprint Rebate Fraud
By -

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I filed a complaint against Sprint on Sunday, 08 March 2009 with Planetfeedback. As of Thursday, 26 March 2009, this matter has not been resolved to my satisfaction. In fact, this matter was not resolved at all. I was contacted by Sprint on Monday, 09 March 2009. I verified my account information (for security purposes) and supplied the proof of purchase (via email attachment). I was informed that a ticket would be opened and a billing specialist would contact me.

A billing specialist contacted me on Tuesday, 10 March 2009. Once again, I verified my account information (for security purposes) and supplied the proof of purchase (via email attachment) for the billing specialist. Instead of acting quickly to resolve this matter that is almost one year old, Sprint began stalling and wasting my time.

Over the next two days I was sent a standard form letter via email, several times, requesting my account information, proof of purchase, and stating their business hours. I had previously verified my account information (for security purposes) and supplied the proof of purchase (via email attachment) on Monday, 09 March 2009 and again on Tuesday, 10 March 2009. On Thursday, 12 March 2009 I was informed that I would need to contact the Sprint rebate department and supply the same account verification and proof of purchase information I had just previously given to two Sprint employees.

Also, I would have to wait 30-45 days for the rebate. 30-45 days. I have already been waiting almost one year for this rebate. I purchased this phone on Monday, 05 May 2008. I should have received the rebate by Monday, 11 August 2008. Fourteen weeks later! However, I did not receive the rebate. I submitted the proof of purchase via postal service several times, then via fax after I contacted Sprint and was informed that they never received the rebate request.

Now, almost one year later, instead of Sprint acting without delay to resolve this matter as quickly as possible and ensure that a customer is retained, I am informed I need to resubmit the rebate request again (information that has now been submitted via mailing, faxing, and email attachment) and wait. No, I will not wait.

This matter should have been righted by Sprint by Tuesday, 10 March 2009 once I verified my account information and attached the proof of purchase in my email response to Sprint on Monday, 09 March 2009. Sprint should have sent the $50.00 rebate check overnight and given me at least two months of free service to correct this gross inconvenience.

I informed Sprint on Thursday, 12 March 2009 that I would not continue to resubmit information that has been submitted and verified. I informed Sprint that I will not wait another 30 - 45 days for the rebate. I have already waited almost one year! If I do not receive the rebate in 7 business day from today the following will occur: 1. A fraud complaint will be filed with the Attorney General's Office. 2. A fraud complaint will be filed with the Federal Trade Commission. 3. A fraud complaint will be filed with the Better Business Bureau. 4. Another complaint will be filed with Planetfeedback.

Again, instead of Sprint acting quickly they stalled and continued to delay in bringing this matter to a close. I was informed the matter could be expedited and I would only have to wait 15-20 days for the rebate. I replied with No and stated again that Sprint has 7 business days to deliver the rebate check.

In an effort to ensure that I am not satisfied and keep the money that I am owed, Sprint offered an account credit. I replied with No and stated again that Sprint has 7 business days to deliver the rebate check. On Tuesday, 17 March 2009 Sprint stated that would not be able to fulfill the 7 business day request. I quickly informed Sprint that if I did not receive the rebate check on Monday, 23 March 2009 the following would occur:

  1. A fraud complaint will be filed with the Attorney General's Office. 2. A fraud complaint will be filed with the Federal Trade Commission. 3. A fraud complaint will be filed with the Better Business Bureau. 4. Another complaint will be filed with Planetfeedback. 5. A fraud complaint will be filed with Ripoff.com. 6. A fraud complaint will be filed with TheSqueakyWheel.com. 7. A fraud complaint will be filed with MeasuredUp.com. 8. A fraud complaint will be filed with ConsumerAffairs.com. 9. A fraud complaint will be filed with Complaints.com. 10. A fraud complaint will be filed with The Consumer Advocacy Group

Sprint's response only made the matter much worse. They informed me the rebate check would not be delivered in 7 business days and I would have to resubmit the rebate request again and wait. I have since halted all communication with Sprint because that this company is committing fraud and has absolutely no intention of delivering my rightful rebate. I will continue to pursue this matter until I receive my rebate and at the very least two months free service for this gross inconvenience.

Replies
Sprint Nextel Is Disingenuous
By -

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- It is unfortunate that I must write you this but it is apparent that Sprint's retail customer service is inept and unable to provide a resolution satisfactory to my needs regarding the matter to be presented to you. Over the summer, I began to have trouble with my phone, a Treo 650. The phone would not retain a battery charge for any length of time and I found myself having to recharge it every 5-6 hours. I took the phone to a local repair location, store #1451, where they determined a problem with the battery. The technicians kindly replaced the battery, all was covered under my protection plan, I was happy and on my way.

Less than a week later the phone began to exhibit the previously described problem in addition to arbitrarily and automatically turning on, arbitrarily and automatically rebooting and freezing/locking up to a point where removal of the battery and a reboot of the phone was required to continue use. One or more of which occurred at least once a week. Recently (past 45-60 days) the problems began to occur more frequently, almost daily and I was missing a number of important calls so I took the phone in again. Here is where the customer service problem begins.

December 5, 2008 - Took the phone into the same repair center I had previously visited and described the problems to the host. At that time, I was given a CD, a user manual, a hot sync cable and told I needed to back up my data and update the software. I took the phone back home, completed the tasks and the phone seemed to work fine for approximately week then began to exhibit the same problems. No explanation was given to what the problem was.

December 22, 2008 - Took the phone into the same repair center, this time I was given another battery and a hard reset was completed. Later that night it was obvious that the phone had not been repaired as it froze somewhere between leaving the repair center and making it home. Still there was no explanation given in reference to the problem.

December 23, 2008 - Took the phone into the same repair center, this time the technicians just took it upon themselves to order me a new phone (Centro 690) without consulting with me or explaining to me what the issue with my phone was. Not to mention attempting to downgrade my phone from a Treo to a Centro, this starting a completely different and new issue.

When I complained about both issues, the host had the audacity to suggest that if I didn't like the Centro, I purchase another phone through Sprint's upgrade plan in which Sprint would be so generous as to provide me a $150.00 discount off the retail price of a phone but I would be required to sign another two-year agreement.

I am sure you can imagine my frustration at this point. As I began asking more detailed questions and continuing the discussion it was clear that all I was going to get from the host and subsequently the Assistant Store Manager, ** was regurgitated corporate spin designed to appease the masses. ** and I talked for several minutes unable to determine a resolution that was acceptable to me, she advised that she was no longer able to assist me and that she would request the store manager **, to call me to address my concerns.

I left the repair center for the 4th time with a broken phone, no clear answer to what the problem is, no resolution at hand and waiting for a call from the store manager. It has now been two weeks and I still have not heard from **. ** I have generally been very happy with Sprint as a service provider but this current situation is COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE and has me feeling like SPRINT IS DISINGENUOUS!

In today's struggling economy and competition tight for limited consumer dollars I would think that Sprint would aspire to provide a higher level of customer service, not diminished. In addition, I have been a Sprint customer for at least ten years, purchased a number of phones (with or without your upgrade program), increased my service plan with each purchase or upgrade and continually pay $7 a month (about $840 in the past ten years) for a device warranty/protection plan that, based on my current experience, is worthless.

Bottom-line **; I want my phone repaired and restored to its optimum working condition. In the event there is absolutely no possibility to repair my phone, then I want the option to choose a phone that works best for me, NOT the phone Sprint thinks I should have. I am confident in your ability to resolve this situation in a manner that is satisfactory to both Sprint and I. I look forward to your future correspondence.

Replies
Upgrade Fiasco
By -

So it's October 14th, our wedding anniversary & my husband & I decide it would be a good day to upgrade our phones we have with Nextel that are several years old. We have been customers with Nextel for many, many years. He chooses a phone, I choose a phone & we arrange to have them delivered to the Nextel dealer shop locally so they can be programmed & ready to go as soon as possible, as my husband will be conducting business out of state the entire month of Nov..

My husband's line is particularly valuable to us as it is also our primary number used for our business customers. We are assured that the phones would be delivered within 2 days & we would also have better service & coverage than our older phones had. Much to our surprise our phones don't arrive until 4 days later & at our home, necessitating a 25 mile drive (one way) to the Nextel dealership for programming.

Another unexpected surprise is that, despite her own calls to S/N our exceptionally helpful & patient representative at the store cannot have my new phone activated on our account because it's registered with a different Nextel customer! Back it has to go, so sorry Nextel says they can't do a thing about it, a different phone has to be ordered. I choose a totally different & advertised cheaper phone & have to wait another week, causing exceptional inconvenience with business calls.

A few weeks later & the phone issue (so we thought) has been resolved & my husband goes to Nevada for business. He is expected to be there a month & is looking forward to the "new & improved" phone service that we are told will be available in the area. More disappointment when we find out that he has NO SERVICE except within a small spot on a road approx. 30 feet long.

We then have to have all of his calls forwarded to my phone so as not to inconvenience our own customers. Nextel happily charges us for the call forwarding "service." Again I contact our local Nextel Rep. & she in turn contacts everyone she can to find a resolution to not having service available to us out of state.

One of the solutions is that we need to consider changing our phones to strictly Sprint network, thereby losing our customer connections with those who contact us with the Nextel Direct Connect frequently, or perhaps we can try a "hybrid" phone that will work on BOTH the Sprint & Nextel networks & towers (funny, same company but still running as 2 separate entities, that's convenient). HOWEVER to try the hybrid phone we have to change our service plan. It should be comparable I'm told, but once we change we can't go back to our old plan because it's, well, old.

Meantime back in Nevada my husband is STILL WITHOUT phone service (except the before mentioned 30 feet of road), the hybrid phone is not a viable option either. So we are told having the service plan changes only being in effect a week it SHOULDN'T be a problem to get our old service plan back in effect as we only upgraded for a phone we cannot use.

Bringing us up to date on our Sprint/Nextel bill, November 17, I pay for ONLY the charges for the phone service, waiting for the equipment charges to be properly credited to our account for the returned & exchanged phone etc. Never mind the fact that it will be nearly an entire month my husband has had virtually no phone service.

That brings us to today, Dec. 3, where when I attempt to make a call on my phone I am redirected to a Sprint/Nextel payment resolution line - no calls will go through & are all redirected for "payment resolution." This is yet again NOT A GOOD THING FOR A BUSINESS PHONE LINE!

Our account balance for some reason now sits at $951.42. This is an increase of over $600 than is should be, even including the new equipment purchases. I finally get in contact with a phone representative, go over the charges one at a time explaining each situation as it occurred.

45 minutes later he unraveled the facts that: We are on the wrong service plan & are being charged $208.18, when in fact it should be $89.99. There has been NO CREDIT recorded for the phone (I880) I had to return due to A FACTORY ERROR. This bumps us up another $227.90. The replacement phone I chose due to a promotional price of $79.99, we were charged $248.33.

Just because I'm annoyed, the fact that we have been charged $6.43 for a LATE PAYMENT, $12.00 for OVERNIGHT SHIPPING (DIDN'T HAPPEN) & $9.40 for call forwarding we were forced to use as a result of no phone service, stand out as more indifference to the issues & charges we have been dealing with for over a month with as yet NO RESOLUTIONS. Oh & what is the $18 "handset upgrade" charge.. well it's just something S/N charges when you get a new phone - WHAT?!?!?! Not to mention they charged us $48 - I remember something about 18+18=36.

But there is light at the end of the tunnel, after 45 minutes my phone representative tells me, not unexpectedly, that he needs to consult a higher up manager for authorization to fix our account.. while I'm on hold my call gets TRANSFERRED.. I DO NOT want to start this process all over again but I'm told my call was transferred to an incoming calls only center & they have NO WAY to return me to the previous service representative!!! Would I please hold because they need to again transfer me, this time to someone who works with Nextel accounts.

Another person & starting from scratch all she can do is make notes (yet she sees the previous notes made by the "mystery" original service representative they couldn't transfer me back to). I've been on the phone over an hour now & she is trying to be helpful but can only send my "dispute on the charges" to a "resolution" person.

In the meantime I ask can we at least get this resolved so that our phone service won't forward us to the "payment resolution" line should we need to, oh say, conduct business of our own??? YES.. this at least can be done. Glory be, we have phone service tonight (we'll take THAT day by day.. I have no faith in the S/N powers that be for some reason) but our charges? Why thank you for your payment last month for the service, but our account continues to sit at $951.42 until it is "reviewed."

Replies
Advertisement
New Insurance On Phones
By -

LUBBOCK, TEXAS -- I have had trouble for many years with Sprint. The first phone I got with them was a silver flip/camera phone I believe called the A620. It never had service, could make calls, or hold a call when I finally connected one. When I took it into the store, they told me their "diagnostic test" said nothing was wrong with the phone. They also told me they got no complaints ever about it.

After growing tired of the poor service I buckled and bought a new phone, when I asked if they ever had complaints about my previous phone and the customer service person laughed at me and told me they had never had more complaints on any other phone. So I was being lied to to stay with the phone I had, they wouldn't even let me exchange it for a less expensive one.

Now that I have explained why I have had some distaste for Sprint in the past, let me tell you the latest reason why my disdain has been reborn. Lately I have been less and less angry with Sprint, a couple charges to my account I disagreed with but they seemed for the most part to be getting better(except for the minimum hour long wait every time I have been to a Sprint store, but I digress).

I own a Treo 755 and accidentally cracked the screen. I am also insured on the phone through Sprint to have it repaired and or replaced for such incidents. Upon arriving at the Sprint store this morning I was told they don't do repairs/replacements in the store anymore and suggested I contacted the insurance company. I did. After 5 minutes of pressing 1 and 2 on a machine I was finally put on hold for 10 minutes waiting for a service rep.. About that time the call simply disconnected.

So I got online and went to the insurance company's website where I found out that just to have a screen replaced, or whatever reason you may need something repaired/replaced on your phone, you must now pay a $50 deductible. I was under the impression that was what my $5/month was paying for.

So instead of just dropping my phone off at a Sprint store where they are fully capable of replacing my screen in 20 minutes, I have to try to work the phone for 4-5 days until a replacement (refurbished) one arrives at which time I will then have to pay more to have the broken phone shipped back to the insurance company, not before having to go up to the Sprint store anyway to have the numbers transferred over to the new phone... Is this a ridiculously poor system or what?

I apologize this review has been so long but I hope that the people at Sprint realize that they DO have competitors and issues like this insurance nonsense seriously make me consider going and getting an iPhone, which are awesome anyway. Go back to business school Sprint people and re-take the class that focuses on customer service.

Replies
Horrible Reception, Mysterious Charges, and Phantom Phones, Oh My!
By -

CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I have been with Sprint since 2002. They were the best, and I would sing their praises. Most of family and friends even switched to Sprint back then. Now since they merged with Nextel, it's just been money down the drain. It would probably take a small novella to write down all the problems I've had with this company, so here are the main ones.

My first phone that was Sprint/Nextel was horrible. The microphones and speakers went out in about three months, and I had to pay $50 each time for refurbished phones that would have the same problem afterwards. They also downgraded me because I had a limited edition phone at the time that they claimed they no longer had, even though when I visited next week to pick up my phone, I saw someone activating a new one at the store.

After having to change my phone number with the same phone, they renewed my two-year contract when they said they would not, and took away my coming up 2-year rebate on a new phone. Even with my receipt from Best Buy showing that I bought the phone 2 years before, I had to fight for another year and a half just to get a $75 rebate, which I would have gotten at that time anyway.

I bought another phone which had the same problems. Next phone, same thing! In fact, after I bought my Katana II, I was told by an associate that they were such awful phones, they immediately made the Katana Deluxe. With this phone, not only did the speaker eventually go bad, but I would never receive calls and miss out on important voice mails and text messages. However, Sprint said they would check the "coverage" several times, but always told me it was alright. So I was either lying, should get a whole new phone at wholesale price, or should add an extra line to get a free phone, and just not use the original.

Sprint does not stand by their products, and should be able to upgrade you if it is a reoccurring problem. Not only that, they shouldn't try to renew your contract behind your back for every little thing. I had them renew my contract for 2 years when I called the inquire about canceling my contract. That was about the only thing they had ever fixed for me. However, that's not even the worst of it.

Throughout my contracts, I would notice from time to time that they said I ran over my minutes when I did not. Twice they had charged me for Sprint Mobile to Mobile minutes, even though I already paid the $5 fee to have them. More often than not though, a Sprint representative would tell me that BOTH my phones were sharing minutes, and that the second line had gone over in the minutes.

Now I had NEVER gotten a second line, as I had always declined when they offered it to me as a "solution" to my non-working phones. My bill given to me would never show a second line, and so they would always take off half the charges at least, and apologize for the mix up.

The Sprint Store closest to me was also never helpful. They are always extremely rude and their "tech guy" is always "out to lunch" or "it's not his day to work". So several times I would have to drive 30-45 minutes out of my way just to be told they'd have to charge me for a refurbished phone or they couldn't help me.

I am no longer a Sprint customer. I just canceled my plan. I knew since I was almost up in my contract, at least a little more than halfway, that my early termination fee would be $150. Of course they would not waive it for me being unable to use my phone in my own home, but then they told me it would be $200! I tried to stay on, but eventually got so fed up I just told them to cancel it because I couldn't take it any more each month.

Now I have gotten my bill and it shows two termination fees, one for $150, one for $50. Once again, I was told it was because I had two phone lines! When I asked why this problem kept occurring, the girl I was on the phone with immediately backtracked, and said she made a mistake, and that it was a computer error that split up the costs of $200, and she had no explanation besides "she wasn't looking at my account, so she only assumed because of the bill there were two phone lines."

So I asked for the extra $50 to be taken off since they were mistaken again, as well as the government taxes. She also said she could not take off the government taxes they applied (the 911 and county taxes) despite that this was a ETF, and not a phone bill. She eventually took $15 off because "she could only do it for one line" and once again I asked why she kept referring to me having two lines. She quickly backtracked again.

I hung up after she credited my account and got another agent. She, as well as a male supervisor, also mentioned two lines, then quickly backtracked. That happened about ten minutes ago and I am still wondering about the second phone line that would come up, especially since I have been fighting identity theft for several years now. It is a scary thing to think about, but I will never suggest Sprint/Nextel to anyone ever again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sprint Nextel Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
190 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sprint Nextel
2001 Edmund Halley Dr.
Reston, VA 20191
703-433-4000 (ph)
www.sprint.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services