Preview Review

Next Review

Sprint Nextel Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Nextel Won't Let Me Cancel My Contract
By -

MACON, GEORGIA -- I had a two year contract with Nextel, which was completed June of 2008. I received a call from Nextel asking me to extend my contract. I said no. They wanted to know why. I told them they didn't have good signals where I lived, and it was a waste of money to have stayed with them for as long as I did. I told them I would be switching to another service. When I tried to cancel, they refused to end the contract. They said I had to pay the outstanding amount, which was the last month of service, but they continued billing me after the phone was shut off at the end of my service contract.

I refuse to pay the bill until they adjust the bill and reject everything they billed me for after my phone service was cut off. They are refusing to do so, and said they will continue billing me for services, even though I don't have services with them any more, until the bill is paid. I told them to adjust the bill and get rid of the fees they charged me after my contract was up, and I will gladly pay the bill. We are in a stand off. They won't end my contract (but continue billing me) when I don't even have phone services any more.

They are holding my contract "hostage" as if to say, they will not allow me to end my services with them even though my two year contract is up. I don't know what to do. Update: 09 OCT 08. Just received another bill. All this, when I don't even have service with them!

Replies
Advertisement
Free Sprint Nextel Phone Upgrade SCAM!
By -

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- My April Sprint bill included a note: "Come to your nearest Sprint store and get a free phone as our thank you for being a loyal Florida customer." So I did. Went to the Sprint store, told them I wanted to take advantage of the free phone promo, SIGNED A NEW TWO YEAR CONTRACT, and on my next Sprint bill was a $192 equipment charge! I called Sprint, got nowhere with the rep, asked for a supervisor. (He wouldn't give me his last name, but he did give his rep # to me -- **.) He was arrogant, placating, and sarcastic. He told me I'd have to go back to the Sprint store to settle this "with them."

"What do you mean, 'with them?' Your bill instructed me to go to your store." He then tried to tell me that the phone would have been free if I had transacted the purchase online, or on the telephone. AGH!! The bill instructed me to "Go to the store!" Round and round we went, getting nowhere. Now I have the exciting prospect of going back to the store to try to settle this - where there is always a line that takes at least half an hour to get through. And now, thanks to their little scam, I'm stuck with them for 2 years. It's criminal.

An update... it just keeps getting better! The Sprint store is CLOSED! Out of business. I called back, to file a dispute for the charges - got the same obnoxious, condescending supervisor. He said he'd file a dispute. A week later, I had a text message informing me that my service was about to be cut off, over the "past due" charges. (I paid the bill on time, but didn't include the charges for the "FREE" phone in my payment.) I called, the rep said, "I have no record of a dispute or of a request that we file one." Unbelievable.

Replies
Double Billing
By -

On June 3rd I contacted Sprint to make a payment on my cell phone account. I was told during the process that their computers had froze and I would have to call back. I called back a few hours later and made the payment, and it was deducted from my checking account. Two days later I noticed that there was a large amount being held aside in my account. I contacted my bank and they told me it was for Sprint, the exact same amount that had already been deducted.

I contacted Sprint and after being told repeatedly that there was no double payment was finally (at my insistence) passed on to the Escalation Department where the woman who answered initiated a three-way call with my bank and told them to let go of the hold. I thought it was taken care of...

The next day it had been deducted from my account after all. Called my bank and was told that they had taken the hold off but that Sprint had presented the payment again. Called Sprint where I was once again told that there was no double payment, was once again passed on to the Escalation Department where a woman told me that she would fax my bank and have it taken care of. She did, but it was not the right paperwork.

Tried to call back and was (of course) unable to get a hold of the same person, in fact this time I was somewhere out the of the country, where I was once again told that there was no double payment. I asked to be passed on to the Escalation Department where a smart-aleck young man told me that "You were told that there were not two payments. What do you want me to do." Am going to my bank today to file fraud charges against Sprint. Will also be changing carriers. Unbelievable!

Replies
Nextel/Sprint Customer Service
By -

GRAND BLANC, MICHIGAN -- 4 words. DO NOT DO IT! This is pertaining to "Sprint together with Nextel." Been customers of Nextel for some years and currently love the plans and we are on month to month for 1 phone and contract for another. Everything was fine until one day in January 2006.

Here is the quick story: A representative advised me would give the 3 phones we have (2 on month to month and 1 on contract) a set discount going forward every month. Oh yeah, the rep stated "Notes are documented. We will take care of this, the discounts will be on the next bill" - or so they said. Pretty funny when I called Nextel back, no record of discounts! Seems like everyone has this problem.

In February 2006 somehow, I got in touch with a Supervisor who pulled the recorded conversation (you can request to have it recorded) between myself and the representative and honored what the rep stated to me. Still no discount on the bill. In between all this, my husband cancelled 1 of our phone lines and guess what? They all were cancelled in March 2006! Their response to me was "I guess your husband was not specific enough on what line to cancel." How more specific can he get when he told Nextel "Please cancel **." I guess that was not specific enough.

Finally turned on the 2 phones back on and another Supervisor stated "We will not charge you the $250 cancellation fee because of the one phone on contract was cancelled." Let me get this straight, Nextel cancelled all the phones in error and she is waiving the cancellation fee? Mighty nice of her don't you think since NEXTEL cancelled all our phones? WOW. The lady that I originally spoke to in January 2006 who told me about this discount that will show up on my next bill, called my house and was very "in your face" to me and advised me "she does not lie, she needs her job" and "if you don't like Nextel, go to another company."

Excellent customer service if you ask me! I spoke to (no joke) 23 different service reps who say "I am so sorry for your inconvenience, but this is not my department." Wrote letters and emails because of bad service and was told "we will call you back if we feel it is necessary."

Moral of the story, no one can help you at Nextel. No one can make corrections to your bill and no one including Supervisors are accountable for their actions. Got a billing error? That is the customer's fault. Disconnected service on accident? Customer fault. Been thinking ongoing to the media, since I have a full notebook of everyone I talked to at Nextel. Document who you talk to along with their name, extension, operator ID and department they are in. Funny how I was told no one can help me apply a discount since there was no notes in Nextel's computer. Am I going to go to another provider? YES I AM. As soon and my discounts are applied.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Service and Poor Phones
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- Over the last year with Sprint my daughter has had 8 different phones from HTC Evo to Samsung 3. She lives and goes to school at MSU and her phones dropped calls, had ghost conversations, texts that would not go through, texts to people she did not send, garbled reception or no service on MSU campus. They have put us off all year saying they were improving the towers and the latest is December 26th for the improvements to happen.

After multiple hours on the phone with Customer Service in California, a long way from Michigan, they say call back again if the issues are not resolved by December 26th. I have spoken to an engineer, supervisors and various representatives and each one says "Your service is not bad enough for us to do anything." The safety of my daughter and a kidney transplant hang in this "not bad enough service" balance. We pay for the premium service and get an "I'm sorry" for service and advised that unless we sign another contract and pay for upgraded phones they can do nothing and don't guarantee that that will fix our problems. What happened to service to the customer.

Replies
Lawsuit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA -- I started with Sprint, Oct 7, 2010, and canceled my service Oct 2012... When I spoke to a manager she advised me that I have prorated fees. I was shocked because I wasn't never made aware of this. After minutes on the phone she stated she will cancel my account and no fees or bills will be charged. To my surprise a payment was sent to collections on July 2013. I called and they stated I have to pay. I don't believe this is fair because when you first start with Sprint they state it will be for 2 years.

What most people assume is that what will happen is they will connect with Sprint, January 4, 2010, and their service will automatically end January 4, 2012. But no that's not true, they will continue to bill you. How in the hell am I being charged for a bill for October that I must pay in November when I canceled my service in October? Shouldn't my last bill be in October? I asked the manager today (July 15, 2013) if she have the recorded calls on file to show exactly what this person told me about me not having to pay any more money. She stated not all calls are recorded.

That doesn't make sense if someone takes you to court due to false recorded information how can you prove that? You can't. If the lady would've given me correct information on October 2012 that I will be charged still my funds would've never went to collections. They need to be held responsible for their actions and their services is very useless. Do not make the mistake and connect with SPRINT...

Replies
Sprint Service Sucks Stay Away
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I upgrade my phone to a new s4 5 weeks ago. After numerous phone calls, wasted hours of my life on hold, and being sent to 2 service centers, one an hour from where I live, I was told I had to go through Samsung that it was not a Sprint issue. The service reps I spoke with all told me different things and promised to get my problem resolved, but they all turned out to be minimum wage idiots and could not help me at all. I just re-signed with Sprint as part of my upgrade and regret my decision.

Stay away from this provider. They make it so it takes a good 20 min on hold to speak to a human about your problem and they are useless!!!! I plan to pass my message on to every blog, website, Facebook, public location, that I can. I have never been treated so poorly from a company.

Replies
6 Weeks of Dropped Calls on 2 Cellular Phones
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOCKBRIDGE, MICHIGAN -- Beginning Thursday March 21, 2013, both of our cell phones in the same household started dropping calls. This happened consistently on almost all of our calls until we discontinued service on May 5, 2013 because it was causing both my husband and I a lot of stress. We switched to Verizon. In a ten minute call the call would drop every minute or less, until we gave up on the call.

We contacted Sprint approximately 10 times in that period and did everything that they suggested doing to no avail. Then they said the cell towers were going through renovation and that they would be ready in 3 days. We were told this on 3 different occasions. They said that service would get better in the future. A friend told us that Sprint said that the towers would not be ready until August. I'm happy that service is supposed to get better in the future, but what about now?

Finally on May 4 we switched to Verizon. I paid my final bill today of $98.67 after it was put into collections, but I am paying the bill under protest. The service from Sprint is really terrible and in my opinion, the customer service reps are not very honest in their responses. We are in a rural area and the service with Verizon is better, but not perfect. At least Verizon suggested getting a used Network Extender that works well in the house and gives us a few more bars and has improved service greatly. We don't get dropped calls, only a few missed words occasionally, which is a great improvement.

Replies
Advertisement
Under Phone Contract- Dropped Calls
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I'm having a problem with Sprint. Either the call is dropped or broken. I cannot even receive my voice mails. I had to drive 8 miles today to make a call because anywhere closer to my house and the call was dropped. I live in Indianapolis in zone 46240. This problem has been going on for more than a month. When I have called Sprint to complain they say that they are working on the towers and that we will get good service in the future. They cannot say exactly when.

My question is whether I am bound to the contract with Sprint since they have given me less than minimal service in the last month? I believe they will fix their problem sometime in the future or go out of business. I am just not willing to wait for that time. I also believe I should be entitled to a refund for the last month.

Replies
Sprint's Horrible Treatment of Loyal Customers
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SALINAS, CALIFORNIA -- I noticed the extra 100.00 off used phones approx. 45-60 days ago. I informed a friend whom I recommended to Sprint. She wanted that phone as an upgrade. So, when she called, first they told her it was a glitch, then they couldn't find it. When I contacted Sprint, they too told me that they couldn't find it, that I was not seeing what I saw. When I wouldn't go away, they said "Oh, that's for new customers only"...After all the lies, time, headache, effort.

One of which Sprint did not respond to me for almost a month...not until I contacted them again and informed them that I would be writing to the corporate office. Now some guy says they will waive the activation fee. REALLY? Any first line representative can do that.

For all the lies, games, untruths, waste of my time...this is all Sprint is willing to do? Most of all being a customer for well over 8 years this is how I am treated? I will give corporate one shot to correct this matter before I jump ship due to their misleading advertisement, poor customer service, and quite frankly their poor cell coverage.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sprint Nextel Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
189 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sprint Nextel
2001 Edmund Halley Dr.
Reston, VA 20191
703-433-4000 (ph)
www.sprint.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services