Preview Review

Next Review

State Farm Insurance Auto Insurance Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Loyal Customer Taken Advantage Of
By -

NORFOLK, NEBRASKA -- A little over a year ago on Dec, 24 2007. I was involved in an accident in a car dealers car lot. I had just gotten done with some last minute Christmas shopping, and when I left the store I decided to drive through the car dealers lot to see if there was anything of interest. I pulled down one lane of vehicles, and stopped, I looked at the price tag on one particular vehicle, than decided to back up, and leave the lot in the direction I came in. I looked in both side mirrors, and my rear-view mirror, and started backing up slowly.

Then all of a sudden I felt like I was running over something. I looked in all my mirrors again, and turned around to look behind me, but did not see anything. I than decided to get out of my pickup to see what was wrong, and to my amazement there was a small vehicle crashed in to the side of my pickup right behind the cab. I got out to see if he was OK, and to ask him what the heck happened, and he said he was making a u-turn in the lot, and he said he saw me, and was waiting for me to stop. We called the police, and they investigated it.

They said on the report that the other vehicle drove in to me, and it was reported to state farm in that manner, and when they interviewed me I told them the same thing, an I expected that it would probably be at least a 50-50 deal on the damages, as it was not on a public roadway, and it should have been a no fault accident. But instead they said it was my fault because I was backing up. I argued with them, that the damage was not to the rear of my vehicle, but to the side, and it was so obvious that he drove in to me, and probably was not paying any attention. They would not reason with me at all.

I have been a loyal customer for over 25 years, have my home mortgage through them plus other policies. I think that the other driver just had liability on his vehicle so they made it my fault so he would not get stuck with all of the cost to repair his vehicle, we both had State Farm Insurance, the other driver was a young driver, and probably was a higher risk, and good ole me, had never had any major claims so why not lay it all on me.

So it cost me 500.00 Deductible to get my pickup fixed, and the other driver did not have to pay a dime I threatened to sue over the deal, and the adjuster said, well do what you have to do, but the courts would not favor me because I was backing up. I was just totally frustrated over the whole deal, and just let it go, but every time I think about it or discuss it, it just reminds me again that there is no such thing as customer loyalty any more, and you have to look out for your self or you are going to get the short end of the stick.

Replies
Advertisement
Who Do I Contact to Resolve a Complaint About an Agent?
By -

GARLAND, TEXAS -- My wife was involved with a wreck a few months ago and has run out of energy to fight anymore, but I haven't. My wife was backed into while she was in a parking lot and the people involved have been spinning lies ever since. Unfortunately my wife got pretty much zero info about the other party which has given them an opportunity to lie their rear ends off. The person driving the Hummer was not the owner but because my wife did not get the driver's license of the person at the scene they have magically reassigned who was driving. The owner now says that my wife rear ended her.

My wife returned to the accident site shortly after the accident and talked with the manager of the restaurant who saw the whole thing. In fact he said the girl that hit my wife had just quit her job with his restaurant and stormed out backing into my wife. My wife provided his information. We received mail a couple of weeks later that indicated that the other girl was not at fault. We inquired and found out that the witness was not even contacted. He was called at the restaurant and a friend of the girl who backed into my wife intercepted the call and informed the investigator that the manager hadn't seen anything but that she had and it was all my wife's fault.

We contacted our agent who has apparently been sitting on his hands the whole time and he said he'd look into it. Both my wife and the other party are both covered by State Farm. He got back to us and said the investigator was rude to him and ended up hanging up on him. Now this is a fellow employee with State Farm that he called and she hung up on him. My wife called her and my wife was told the case was closed. My wife appealed to the woman that her witness hadn't even been contacted and the representative replied that the case was closed.

My wife replied that she was going to file a complaint and the representative told her in an impolite way to do whatever she felt she had to. We managed to get the case reopened and all sides provided taped statements including the restaurant manager but the investigator still found for the other party, saying that she discovered the manager was a personal friend of my wife and his testimony was apparently not seen as valid.

The assertion that they are personal friends is completely false, my wife only met the man after the accident when she went looking for witnesses but apparently the girl who ran into my wife still has friends at the restaurant who are lying for her. We were told by the investigator that she was told (apparently by these lying twenty something year olds) that the manager was her personal friend.

The investigator is at least incompetent if not worse. How do we go about getting justice, particularly how can we make a complaint against this agent/investigator that has been repeatedly been given the facts but refuses to correctly dispense justice? We live in Texas, the Dallas area.

Replies
Anything to not pay a claim...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I understand that things like this happen, but this is about credibility and people knowing that they should be doing the right thing. About a month ago while out during my lunch break my car was 'dinged' by a car that parked next to mine. The ding was so big that while walking past the rear of my car to get to the drivers side I could see the damage. I was of course surprised and I looked at the parked car next to mine and there was a significant amount of the paint from my car (a huge chip of it) along with another minor amount of the paint on his door. The driver of the other car did not leave a note so of course I took pictures and contacted my insurance.

State Farm was able to track down the owner/driver of the vehicle using the plate information that was provided in the photos. Fortunately for me (or so I thought) was that he has State Farm as well. He denies being at the place of business where the damage was done. That lie didn't pay off as I have pictures of the damage as well as pictures of his license plate and the insurance company would have had no way to contact him otherwise.

Second, he was a no show to the appointment that he set up with State Farm to have his vehicle inspected. Gee, maybe enough time to have his door buffed out and my paint removed from his door? Long story short, they sided with someone who definitely lacked credibility and denied the claim stating that there were no witnesses. They also denied making a claim on my comprehensive insurance (to waive the deductible) because they said the damage was done by another car door, just not his car door. How convenient!

To a certain extent I understand their point. If there were no pictures, if the other gentleman had been more credible by not lying about being at the scene and had he shown up for his inspection I would be able to see how State Farm came to this decision. To me, State Farm was fighting to avoid paying out and I am the casualty in their decision. My State Farm agent did his best to have this decision reversed, to no avail. Unfortunately he lost a customer with more than one policy because his parent company wouldn't pay an $800 claim.

Replies
Poor customer service
By -

20634 BISCAYNE BLVD -- On Friday, January 14th 2011, I called this State Farm Location for a quote. After speaking to ** (agent), I decided to sign up with her for insurance as she gave me a quote I liked, considering I had a past suspended license and that I am under 25. I gave her my credit card number to finalize the charges and she assured me we are all set. I had cancelled my insurance with the prior company knowing I have a new company. On Monday when I checked my online account and saw no charge was posted, I tried to call them several times - left messages - but no answer - I assumed that due to the Martin Luther king day, they were off and the payment was delaying. I kept calling since - no answer.

Today 01/19/2011 after several messages, I was able to get in touch with another agent ** who was able to transfer me to ** within a few seconds (suddenly she is available on the phone...) - When I told her who I was, she immediately knew who I am. She put me on hold, only to get back to me and tell me State Farm didn't approved me as I had in the past a suspended license.

Why would you let someone cancelled their insurance without having a 100% confirmation he was approved. I am 7 months pregnant driving with no insurance for the past few days - without knowing - Just because ** didn't answer my phone calls. All she needed to do is a courtesy call stating I was not approved or at least answer my calls. I do not recommend this company to no one, if you want to have a reliable company. Thanks god I was able to find a new company which right away insured me, and now I can finally relax.

Replies
Advertisement
Non Renewal for a 15 years customer
By -

PARSIPPANY, NEW JERSEY -- I have been a customer of State farm Insurance in New Jersey for about 15 years. Along with Auto Insurance, I also have the Home owners insurance with State Farm. I chose State farm a while back because of their proximity in Parsippany and cheaper rates among other companies. All seems to go well till I submitted a claim few weeks back. I had rear ended another car. There was minor damage to my car and other car.

This is the second claim I know of for the past 15 years as State Farm customer. State Farm claim agents on the phone tried to prevent me from filing the claim, repeatedly indicating deductibles etc., Most disappointing of all, in a week my agent calls me to inform me in advance that State Farm will not renew my auto insurance citing all the tickets I had for the past 5 years and that the "trend" of my auto claims is alarming to them. This is by far most ridiculous reason considering, there are 2 claims in past 15 years. This is horrible way to treat a customer and branding someone as insurance fraud.

If medical insurance company withdraws insurance because of increasing health claims based on age and all insurance carriers selectively profiles their customer to unilaterally decide not to renew their long standing customers, what is the purpose of buying Insurance? To send a fixed sum into a black hole every month to support their huge offices and bureaucracy?

It is important for everyone to realize the dark side and the real business model behind State Farm insurance. While I can easily find another insurance carrier, I will make it a point to educate all customers on State Farm insurance's wrong practices. I am also considering legal action around lack of business ethic and accountability for their own line of business.

Replies
Run as Fast as You Can From SNAKE Farm Insurance Co.
By -

BLOOMINGTON, ILLINOIS -- In May, 2007, I was rear-ended by a person insured by Snake Farm. My husband and I have been insured by Snake Farm for 20+ years (home, auto AND earthquake). Although Snake Farm quickly and without complaint paid for the damages to my vehicle as well as all medical bills resulting from the crash (I spent 13 months in agony due to the collision), I was offered a paltry $8000 for pain and suffering.

It became necessary to sue to get an an amount anywhere near appropriate in compensation. So, do you think Snake Farm would come to their senses and offer me a decent amount of money for 13 month of pain & suffering then? NOOOOO!!!!! Much, much better to pay a rude, crude, hateful, @itchy attorney somewhere in the neighborhood of $45,000 plus another $10,000 or so in expenses to fight it in court -- where they will most certainly LOSE since they've already admitted fault by paying my damages and medicals.

We're in the process of changing insurance companies now. I don't know if any of them are any better, but I'll be damned if I'm going to send our insurance premiums to this piece of ** lawyer who is intent on putting me through hell and back just so that she can bill Snake Farm more than most families in this country make in a year.

I'll say it again: Snake Farm will take and take and take your money from now until the end of time, but if you ever need that "good neighbor", you'll find he's fled the country with every penny you've given him -- just like Bernie Madoff. They're thieves, they know it, and since their pockets are deeper than ours (because we were stupid enough to give them so much of our HARD EARNED MONEY), they don't give a damn what they put you through. They'd obviously rather pay a shyster attorney twice what they should be paying you than own up to their responsibilities. They're rip-off artists, and they delight in it.

Replies
What kind of NEIGHBOR?!!!
By -

FAYETTEVILLE, ARKANSAS -- I have been with SF Ins for many years. My monthly premiums were auto drafted from my bank account. Over the past several years there were times they were unable to draft the money due to my payroll checks not being there when they attempted the draft. When this would happen, they called and let me know.

Well, Aug 4, my daughter and I were traveling to see family. There was a black, cow in the middle of my lane and I hit him. My car was totaled. No injuries, thank God. I called SF the following morning to file my claim. Several hours later I received a call from them stating my policy had been cancelled due to non payment. I was in shock! The woman stated they were unable to draft my payment in June and sent me a letter in July stating I had until Aug 1 to pay. I never received this letter. Where was the phone call, like all the ones I had received before? I always took care of it when it happened.

I had a very nice car and would never go without insurance, I also have a 6 year old daughter. I agree it is my responsibility to maintain my insurance. But when you have had a policy for 15 plus years with an agency and something is wrong, you should be able to expect a phone call telling you your policy is going to be cancelled or to confirm receipt of this letter. Mind you, it was one letter!!!

So, now I am stuck eating the total bill for my totaled car... I am so disappointed about this. I trusted these people to take care of my needs like they had for many years. Now, they will not rewrite a policy for me on another vehicle due to the lapse. They said I will have to get coverage through another agency, have good standing with them for at least 6 months, and they will rewrite me then. NO THANKS! I plan to find everyone I can with SF Ins and tell them to change immediately. Especially if it is with Larry Floyd Agency.

The woman who told me she was sorry and they could not do anything about this also stated she was new to that office in June. The woman who always called me no longer worked there. So, she dropped the ball and I get to eat it! State Farm, change your motto!

Replies
A Really Bad Neighbor
By -

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- If you have not already been notified, we have decided to obtain insurance from another carrier. This includes our Auto policies, and our Home Owners policy. This decision was based on several factors. First, we were surprised how soon your company sent out a Cancellation Notice, only after 2 months, for which you seemed to indicate that we had not disclosed an incident that occurred last year to our daughters car, like road hazard doesn't ever happen to anyone?

Not to mention the fact, that this was disclosed to our agent here in Albuquerque, before I bought off on your policy, which by the way, we were only getting coverage for ourselves, and not our daughter, since she and her husband now have their own policy. Also, both of our credit has been immaculate for over 35 years, as well as our 35+ years of driving records. So my conclusion is your company does not deserve good drivers. I hope that you continue to drop the good drivers, like us, so that all you are left with are those other kind of drivers that you so much deserve, and will help businesses like yours, on their way out of business.

The other factors for our decision was that since I did not hear any other status from our State Farm Agents here from the Tim Gallegos office here in Albuquerque since 2 weeks ago as to whether we were going to be covered or not, we assumed we had NO coverage as of your of cancellation notice for May 27th, which by the way, was right in the middle of our vacation, and only allowed us less than 1 week to find another insurance carrier.

Thanks… that made us feel ever better during our vacation, as we were trekking around the country, not knowing if we had coverage or not. The only good thing is that it didn't take us long to figure out how STATE FARM really is to their customers. Also, just to let you know, I will be posting a copy of this letter on the internet, to let everyone know what a “really good neighbor” STATE FARM is. State Farm should drop its “like a good neighbor” slogan, as if this is the way “good neighbors” really are then I will have no part of your kind of friendship or any part of your business.

Replies
Advertisement
They lower my rate and then raise it and won't give me proof
By -

RISING SUN, MARYLAND -- I purchased auto insurance with State Farm in April of 2010 I was quoted to pay $243.79 a month. A month later I got a letter from State Farm saying that my insurance had been decreased to $155.71 a month. I got a letter this month (June) saying that my policy is going up $231.97 and that a payment of $475.76 is due by June 28, 2010. I paid my June 28th premium on June 1, 2010.

My policy is current. I spoke with Sharon (at State Farm) and she tells me that this increase is because of an accident that is on my driving record from November 2007. I asked her to send me a copy and she told me she would check with the Underwriter and see what she can do. I went to the MVA and pulled a copy of my driving record and no where on it does it mention an accident of any kind. Sharon mentioned this accident to me when I first signed up and then told me everything was taken care of shortly after. Nothing has changed I have not had any accidents or infractions of any kind.

On July 7, 2010 I got a letter from the MVA fining me for lapsed insurance. According to the letter sent to me by State Farm I had a few days until the cancellation date. I was able to get the money together to make my payment. The MVA is charging me $150 for me paying State Farm 12 after the 28th but before the cancellation date.

On July 10, 2010 I got another letter from State Farm saying that I have made partial payments. That is not true because my premium was $155.71 and I paid it. State Farm is trying to charge me extra money for months past I have already paid for. This letter also states that even though paid my July 2010 insurance on June 1, 2010 State Farm is saying they are canceling my insurance on July 20, 2010. To date State Farm still has not supplied me with a written report with full details of a 2007 accident.

Replies
A Wrong Way Driver "Owns The Lane"
By -

A wrong way driver “owns the lane”. This is what I was told by a State Farm adjuster. My daughter was in the high school parking lot, when she tried to enter the northbound lanes. She had just started to enter the lane when she was struck by a State Farm insured driver that was rushing to pick up his friend at the south end of the parking lot.

I contacted my insurance company, and also State Farm. I never received a call back from State Farm. I called them back several times, each time I was promised a call back. The standard excuse was, “We never heard from our insured.” I finally received a letter from S F, stating that they were waiting to receive a copy of the police report. I gave them the # on the first call (and each subsequent call).

Three months after the accident, I called the representative from “Team 1” and was told that they were in negotiations with my insurance company. I knew that was a lie, as I had just reviewed the current status of my accounts with USAA. I informed the S. F. adjuster that I knew better. I asked how they could justify dragging their feet as their driver was going the wrong way in a clearly marked crowded parking lot. He stated that because their driver was in the lane, “he owned the lane” and my daughter was at fault for not yielding to him.

I called USAA and was informed that S. F. had contacted them a month previous, and that S. F. informed them that they had determined that my daughter was 80% responsible for the accident. USAA has no interest, as the car my daughter was driving was not covered for a collision that was not her fault. Their own phone interview determined that she might have been slightly at fault for not seeing him coming through a crowded parking lot.

Their driver has admitted at the accident that he was at fault. The second representative I spoke with informed me that the owner of the car wanted to settle without of the insurance company. How can a wrong way driver not be at fault? My attorney friend is recommending suing the owner of the car. I am sure that the local judge is not going to approve of allowing wrong way drivers to own the road.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

State Farm Insurance Auto Insurance Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 21 ratings and
67 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
State Farm Insurance
1 State Farm Plz
Bloomington, IL 61710-0001
309-766-2311 (ph)
309-763-5959 (fax)
www.statefarm.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies