[X]

Stehouwer's Sizzlers

1 reviews & complaints.

Sizzle Steaks
Posted by on
SAGINAW, MICHIGAN -- Stehouwer's sizzler steaks are a thin, seasoned beef patty covered top and bottom with thinly sliced ribeye.

They are very tasty and salty and I have only ever been able to locate them in Michigan.

I've lived in New Jersey and Florida and were unable to find them there.It almost makes it worthwhile to have moved back to Michigan to have them again!
     
Read 25 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-02-26:
OldF,are these like "steak ums"?
old fart on 2008-02-26:
Nope... If you can imagine a thin beef patty with steak-umm style beef as a covering to the patty you'd have a better Idea..
Plus the fact that the thin beef covering is real slices, not that smushed reconstituted crud that Steakums are made of..
Anonymous on 2008-02-26:
That sounds very tasty. Good review, OF, I'll have to look them up.
old fart on 2008-02-26:
Cherpep... Our local Walmart carries them...
old fart on 2008-02-26:
Princi all the diners in Jersey had Porkroll sandwichs... If I remember, even Friendly's restaurants had them..
old fart on 2008-02-26:
We used to go to a Diner on route 37 just before the bridge to the island( I can't remember the name) and I either had the pork roll sandwich or I got the fried chicken livers.. It was a humongous pile of cholesteral but God! was it good!
Principissa on 2008-02-26:
If you remember what was close to it I can tell you which one it was. I've been to all of them! If it was past the Saturn dealership there's Toms River Diner or Joe's Fast Break. If it was past Joe Joes Italian Hot Dogs than it was probably Jimmy the Greek.
old fart on 2008-02-26:
I think it was the toms river diner... thank you, now I can go to bed and not think about it all night!
Principissa on 2008-02-26:
LOL! The hill in the parking lot is horrible, the waitresses are all rude, but dang it all that pork roll is so good I keep going back!
old fart on 2008-02-26:
I loved diner waitresses!
I thought it was cool when they'd slap a menu down in front of you and snarl "wadda want"! "Ya want coffee!, HERE'S YOUR COFFEE!"
MSCANTBEWRONG on 2008-02-26:
They all remind me of Flo on the sitcom Alice. Some of the best food I've ever eaten has been at a diner. I love that show on Food Network Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. They portrayed The Beacon in Spartanburg SC a few months ago. They have the best burgers, fries and onion rings in the world!
old fart on 2008-02-26:
There's nothing better than an east coast greek diner... A 6 page menu with more food than you can possibly eat on the plate!
Anonymous on 2008-02-26:
Good review, we never heard of them though. Send me 50 lbs and I'll let you know if they are any good.

Hey Steve, things are back to normal, 83' today and bright sunshine. Glad all that rain is gone. It really messed up the NASCAR race though.
MSCANTBEWRONG on 2008-02-26:
OF, at the Beacon, they have what they a chili cheese a plenty, it's a chili cheeseburger on a bun served underneath piles of french fries and onion rings. They serve it with sweet tea with shaved ice...Heart attack waiting to happen but OH SO GOOD!!!! They have a guy that been working there since I was a little girl...he stands at the door, takes your order as you walk in and yells it to the folks in the back. It's an awesome experience. A lot of fun!
Principissa on 2008-02-26:
Tell me about it OF. I go to the Sandcastle diner every time we go home. I love the greek salad, gyros, burgers, fried zucchini. Man I need to go home for a visit! I'm starving.
Principissa on 2008-02-26:
Of the best is when they're cracking their gum in your face and tapping their foot like you're angering them because you don't know what you want yet. But I'll be darned if they ain't the fastest most efficient waitresses I've ever encountered going out to eat.
sue on 2011-12-13:
I just purchased these today at Wal-Mart in Indiana. Hth.
leah on 2013-06-15:
I haven't had a sizzler in over 3 years since we moved to Florida! My husband keeps saying the steak umms for philly steak and cheese are sizzlers... Wish I could find some down here so I can remind him of what's what! Lol I used to make em with bbq sauce and throw em on a bun like an arbys roast beef sandwich.. sometimes id throw some Velveeta on top!
Principissa on 2008-02-26:
That sounds so good. I love my philly steaks when I visit home.
old fart on 2008-02-26:
Princi.... Those were great. The other thing I miss from Joisey are "pork roll" sandwiches with melted cheese on Kaiser rolls..

You no doubt have heard the phrase "don't let your pork roll"...
old fart on 2008-02-26:
Super... If Stehouwer's likes my review, I'm hoping they send me a crate of them...LOL
old fart on 2008-02-26:
Princi... I just remembered the rest of the phrase...

"Don't let your meat loaf"...

A typical New Jersey equivalent of "Good Bye"...
Principissa on 2008-02-26:
LMAO OF!
I love pork roll sandwiches. We used to get them from the Sandcastle Diner in Bayville or from Luigi's meat market in south Toms River.
ejack053824 on 2008-02-26:
Good going down but damn when they come back out! LOL!
Anonymous on 2008-02-26:
OF - do you buy those at the grocery store?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >