Sugardale

1 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
'Thick Sliced' Are You KIDDING Me?
Posted by on
CANTON, OHIO -- Lately, I've been buying 'Premium Thick Sliced Bacon' because my Dad is tired of having his bacon cook up to nothing.

Being that I only find the Premium brand in only one store...I decided to try the Sugardale Thick Sliced Hickory Smoked Bacon. Why not? Sugardale is a good company. At over $6.00 for the 1.5 pound of bacon, it can't be too bad IF it's as good as the Premium bacon.

This morning I opened the Sugardale bacon and peeled off the first slice (See photo)...I could NOT believe it! It was cut so thin it actually fell apart! OK, maybe that was just one piece...so I continue to peel away the bacon slices and one slice after the other were cut exactly the same. If I wanted the paper thin slices like this I could have gone with the $2.99 per pound brand!

This Sugardale Thick sliced bacon can't even compare to Premium's thick sliced bacon!

What a rip off...and they package it onto a Styrofoam tray so you really can't tell how thick it is cut when you look at it.

I'm very disappointed with Sugardale, they usually have good products worth the money you pay, but in the case of their Thick sliced bacon....needless to say, I will be going back to the Premium brand even if it's only sold in one store.
Resolution Update 05/13/2011:
Today, I just received two packs of Sugardale Thick sliced bacon 1 1/2 pounds each as a replacement for the package in which this review was written.

Not only did they send me the bacon, it came in a nice Sugardale styrofoam cooler that I can keep in the back of my car for frozen foods when I go shopping!

Hilary Rossi has gone above and beyond to make sure customer satisfaction was reached.

Thanks Hilary and Sugardale!
     
Read 89 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Sounds as bad as the Hormel bacon I buy. I switched to Turkey bacon much healthier and cooks better.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
I buy from a local butcher shop and specify exactly what and how much I want, how I want it cut, and watch them cut, weigh, and wrap it.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
I can't believe someone would have the guts to say, 'Hormel' on MY thread! How could you Wally, HOW COULD YOU???
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Perhaps the OP should find a meat market or stick with the more prominent brands.
At least the strips were fairly lean.


Hmmm, Sugardale is from the same place the NFL Hall Of Fame is (Canton, OHIO). Obviously a nice place to visit but not to buy groceries, I'd say.
BEJ on 05/11/2011:
I like the Oscar Mayer Center Cut Bacon. Less fat and tastes good. Rather on the expensive side but I buy it on sale and stock up.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Where did the OP purchase this item?
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Like Wally, I do the turkey bacon now. It's pretty good, too. I used to buy a really thick pepper bacon from a shop around here. I'll try to remember the brand because it was very good.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
I WISH we had 'Meat Markets' around here. We DO have the Farmer's Westside Market on West 25th street. I've been tempted to take a ride there...the 'scenic route' of course!
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
I like Kunzler thick cut, but I've had this happen to the end pieces sometimes. Just a wafer thin slice on the end.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
There is no way...NO WAY I would ever get my Dad to eat Turkey bacon. I've had it before, it wasn't bad. A little on the cardboard side, but it was pretty good.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
That's what I thought Unslated, that it was just the end piece, but it wasn't ... the entire package was like this.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Hopefully the OP sends these pics off to Sugardale and gets a years worth of coupons in return for their shady advertising!

Hopefully the OP also knows that her grocery store should have a meat department where she can purchase non pre-packaged bacon?

Bacon packaged in Styrofoam....yummmmmy!
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Processed turkey of any kind is disgusting!!

http://www.mrbaconpants.com/oscar-mayer-super-thick-cut-applewood-smoked-bacon/
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Was it meat glued? That pic is nasty looking. I wouldn't feed it to a pig.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
I am going to notify Sugardale on this. They can't improve it they don't know there are issues. Maybe it was a simply mis labling or something.

The grocery store I bought this didn't have a meat department where you can talk with a butcher.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Ript, that is the fat (connective tissue).
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
If it was meat glued, it wouldn't have fallen apart. I think meat glue would have helped. LOL!
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
I bought some steak cut bacon the other day. I still haven't decided what I'm going to do with that. But, you can clearly SEE how thick the slices are.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Yes I know it is the fat, but it shouldn't be separated like that, never seen anything like it, and wouldn't eat it if I had.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Debtor, how many slices of bacon do you normally cook for breakfast? Five is the norm for me (nearly half the pack).
Are rationing the bacon?

Ript, the OP did that for added effect.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Shoddy bacon or not.. this review has me craving fresh green beans cooked in bacon grease, and sprinkled with bacon bits.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Ah, I see Lsal. Dramatic effect. Oscar worthy.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
JC, that sounds so good!! Don't forget the onions and potatoes in there.
Then you have a meal.

*LOL* Why did you edit, Ript? She is one. j/k
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Don't get me wrong. The bacon was very tasty...it's just that paying the extra $$ for thick sliced and ending up with this...that's my complaint. It tasted really good, as I said, I've always used Sugardale products and have been happy with it.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Good review Basher.
momsey on 05/11/2011:
Well, thanks, DB, now I want bacon!!!
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
L, I substitute crushed red pepper for the onions. also, a splash of vinegar, keeps the beans crisp. So good!
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Sally, how much bacon I cook depends on what I'm having. Sometimes (like this morning) I just wanted a bacon sammie...so it took quite a few slices, being they were so thin. If I'm having eggs with it, I usually cook four or five pieces.
momsey on 05/11/2011:
If SLGIII READ the review, he'd have the answer to the question about why the OP bought a different brand than normal.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
I can't stand crispy bacon. Make my bacon soft and my easy over eggs slightly runny.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Gross! Bacon has to be cooked almost to burnt status before its any good.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Stuart...I wondered the same thing. A pound of bacon is a pound of bacon no matter how it's cut. But looking at this brand, I noticed it is 1.5 pounds...but, is that they styofoam tray or the bacon? I didn't weight it, so I do not know. The other brands of thick sliced bacon comes in 8oz sizes and 1 pound sizes. So, who knows?

It is needless for me to say, but I felt the need to say it anyway.

I already told you why I bought this brand instead of the Premium brand that I usually buy. Because I was not at the ONE store that sells my other brand, so I tried this for a change.

OK?
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
NET WEIGHT, OP!

JC, you are missing out.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Stuart, now you're forcing me to hurt you. After I answer all of your petty little questions, you deleted them?

I agree with Sally...I don't like my bacon burnt to a crunch. I like the meaty part a little crisp with the fatty part a little chewy. Doesn't sound too good to hear it, but it tastes yummy.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Wow, my review went green in less than a half hour of posting it. Let's see THAT happen with a newbie review! *Ducking the shoes*
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Mmmmmmm bacon *drooling*
Slimjim on 05/11/2011:
It's sad stories like this that tug at my heart. Just because you went with the "entry level" doesn't mean they can just package weights that don't "stack up". Reminds me of that guy who got fleeced on a can of Pringles.
Sugardale Foods on 05/11/2011:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is not indicative of our normal quality standards. We have alerted our Production Department and they are examining their processes to determine how an inferior product made it past our normal quality checks. We apologize that the system failed in this circumstance. We will be contacting you personally to resolve your complaint.

Sincerely,
Sugardale Foods
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Wow!!!! Sugardale Foods saw this review, activated an M3C account and jumped all over this complaint. That is what you call above and beyond customer service!!!

I hope one day I am as powerful as the mighty DB.

Slimjim on 05/11/2011:
Wow, that's pretty awesome. Talk about getting results. I assume you had contacted them DB and let them know of this well-written informative?
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Great customer service....Pathetic looking bacon
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Just like in politics nothing happens by coincidence on consumer gripesights either.

Thanks Sugardale.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Very insightful, L.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Thx.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Yes, I did get a personal reply as well. I had contacted them through their website and sent them the link to this posting. It was nice to see their response was not a 'form' letter stating, 'thank you for contacting us, you complaint has been forwarded to the proper department'.

Here was their response:

Good Afternoon [Edit name],

We recently received your email and reviewed the online forum “My 3 cents” that you had listed in your email.

The product featured in the “Sugardale Complaint” is not indicative of our normal quality standards. We have alerted our Production Department and they are examining their processes to determine how an inferior product made it past our normal quality checks.

We would like to send you replacement product. Will you be home during the day? We would like to confirm that you will be available to receive the new bacon.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,
[Edit Personal Info]

Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
A little free publicity for the hometown meat packing plant, eh?

Nice!
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Pirate would be so proud of me. I've learned a lot from that peg-legged, patch-eyed, parrot percher!
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Just got another Email from them...they said they will have my replacement bacon sent out this week.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Okay, can we consider this review closed so you can stop gloating?
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
It's called an 'UPDATE'.
And it's not closed until that bacon is sizzling in my pan...want to picture of that too?
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Their going to "mail" you some bacon? *classy*
Why can't they send a gift certificate?
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Where does it say, 'mail'?
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
"....they said they will have my replacement bacon SENT out this week....."

DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Oh Sally, Sally, Sally...*Shaking my head and walking away*
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Courier?
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
I'm not here anymore, I SAID I walked away, so I'm sorry to say, I can not answer you.
old fart on 05/11/2011:
At least the bacon appears to be lean!
Alain on 05/11/2011:
I'm going to go shoot a feral pig an' cut some raw pork. Or maybe take Ript's suggestion. Oh, helpful review, DB and it's interesting that Sugardale hopped on it. I like their hams, but I've never tried their bacon.
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
Glad the company is resolving your complaint, Debtorbasher!

I've found that pretty much every brand of "thick sliced bacon" carried in my local grocery stores isn't any better than regular bacon! Only difference is the price! The best value & best quality bacon I have found is the AppleWood Bacon at Costco, you get 2 large packages for 11.99! I would give the exact size but unfortunately, we already ate the package with the content information! I'm pretty sure you get around 16 slices per package, probably more than that. Most packages at the grocery store have 8-10 slices unless you get one of the premium packs for almost $10!
Skye on 05/11/2011:
You know DB, if you want quality bacon, try the butcher.

Good review.
Venice09 on 05/11/2011:
I'm glad they responded because that is the most pathetic bacon I have ever seen. I'm surprised they are delivering a replacement instead of just sending you a coupon. I guess they want to make sure you don't pick up another defective package.
leet60 on 05/11/2011:
@debtorbasher. Just curious if you have ever tried cooking bacon on a microwaveable plate, put a paper towel on the bottom of the plate and one on the top. Not only does it cook up nice and crisp, it doesn't curl and waste away to nothing.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
Yes, I've done it in the microwave before with the paper towels. It turns out pretty good and like you said, usually stays flat. We have one of those iron bacon presses now, but I always forget to use it...it seems to over cook the center to a crisp while the ends are not cooked. Maybe I should only leave it on for a few minutes then finish cooking it without the press.
trmn8r on 05/11/2011:
Good catch, Venice. They're going to stock the pond, so to speak, so they know what DB will be catching.
GenuineNerd on 05/11/2011:
Bacon from the deli department or from a meat market/meat vendor (such as at the West Side Market) is much thicker and often has less fat. I've bought bacon that appeared to be more fat than pork, and was disappointed.
DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011:
I usually can pick a good pack of bacon regarding fat vs meat...
Nerd, I take it you are from the near West side of Cleveland?
Venice09 on 05/11/2011:
Trmn, when is the last time a company delivered a replacement product in person?

Never!

They are going to make sure DB gets the BEST package of bacon to come off the line. I'm not sure what to think of that.
trmn8r on 05/11/2011:
I just hope they don't use UPS. I can see the complaint now...

"I checked the online status, and it said my bacon was on the truck for delivery. I smartphoned a request to have it redirected to the health spa, and UPS refused. So I was stuck at the spa, with no bacon to make my lunch. Very embarrassing. Horrible, and I will NEVER use UPS again."
Venice09 on 05/11/2011:
Hahaha!
GenuineNerd on 05/12/2011:
DebtorBasher: I grew up in Cleveland, and now live in Berea. I still go to the market off and on.
DebtorBasher on 05/12/2011:
I'm thinking about going to the Westside Market, maybe next week. There was one stand there that sold the best yogert and cheese! I hope they are still there. They were set up near the enterance of the Fish department....Man-O-Man does it stink in there! LOL!
DebtorBasher on 05/13/2011:
***************** Issue Solved **************
MRM on 05/13/2011:
Yahooo!
MRM on 05/13/2011:
At my jobby job, we get a lot of those styrofoam coolers as they cool pharmaceutical items.
DebtorBasher on 05/13/2011:
This is a good sized one...not real tall but big enough to throw a few things in. Of course the best option would be to have 50 degree weather all year around...it's already a stupid 66 degrees!
Anonymous on 05/13/2011:
The SBDT arrived?!

Starlord on 05/13/2011:
I like the Farmer John's Ends and Pieces. I do not need to have my bacon all looking like lovely little strips, and the Ends & Pieces are great for sandwiches and salads and such. Once you take the first bitr, the strips don't look so pretty now, do they? We found that if you fix a John Morrell smoked sausage in a little bacon grease, it becomes irresistible. Congrats of the resolution!
DebtorBasher on 05/13/2011:
It doesn't have to be pretty to me either...but I like a decent amount of meat vs the fat, which I get with Sugardale.....
Anonymous on 05/13/2011:
Hormel bacon is good also. *Runs away fast*
Anonymous on 05/13/2011:
Basher, I would like a BLT with extra bacon please, on un-toasted white bread with lots of Miracle Whip.
DebtorBasher on 05/13/2011:
You got it YaYa....coming right up!
Venice09 on 05/13/2011:
I'll have a BLT with LETTUCE AND TOMATO on wheat toast, no mayo. Thank you.

So, how does it look? Are the slices thicker?
DebtorBasher on 05/13/2011:
I didn't open them, but they look pretty good.
Starlord on 05/13/2011:
Denny's currently has Baconalia going, and I had the BBBLT sandwich. Hmm-m-m-m-, good. Crystal had the breakfast with 6 strips of bacon, and they tried serving four. We had to have the waitress bring us the other two strips. Thanks to the swine for giving us the candy bar of meat.
Delta54@aol.com on 05/20/2011:
Sam's Club has some wonderful thick sliced bacon that is MUCH cheaper than $6 for a pound and a half.
Southern Gentleman on 05/20/2011:
Sam's Club sells some wonderful thick sliced bacon that if MUCH cheaper that $6 for a pound and a half.
trmn8r on 05/20/2011:
I had forgotten about this thread.

NOW I want some bacon. Mmmmmmm.
Alleen on 05/20/2011:
I hate when that happens, and I have had things like this happen. I try to always write to the company. They should be ashamed of themselves, for sure.
slimster on 05/27/2011:
good review, and better results! New here, but seems "shakin' the tree" gets the resolution ya need!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >