[X]
Feedburner count

Sugardale


1 Reviews & Complaints

'Thick Sliced' Are You KIDDING Me?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 05/11/2011
CANTON, OHIO -- Lately, I've been buying 'Premium Thick Sliced Bacon' because my Dad is tired of having his bacon cook up to nothing.

Being that I only find the Premium brand in only one store...I decided to try the Sugardale Thick Sliced Hickory Smoked Bacon. Why not? Sugardale is a good company. At over $6.00 for the 1.5 pound of bacon, it can't be too bad IF it's as good as the Premium bacon.

This morning I opened the Sugardale bacon and peeled off the first slice (See photo)...I could NOT believe it! It was cut so thin it actually fell apart! Ok, maybe that was just one piece...so I continue to peel away the bacon slices and one slice after the other were cut exactly the same. If I wanted the paper thin slices like this I could have gone with the $2.99 per pound brand!

This Sugardale Thick sliced bacon can't even compare to Premium's thick sliced bacon!

What a rip off...and they package it onto a Styrofoam tray so you really can't tell how thick it is cut when you look at it.

I'm very disappointed with Sugardale, they usually have good products worth the money you pay, but in the case of their Thick sliced bacon....needless to say, I will be going back to the Premium brand even if it's only sold in one store.

     
Read 89 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Sounds as bad as the Hormel bacon I buy. I switched to Turkey bacon much healthier and cooks better.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
I buy from a local butcher shop and specify exactly what and how much I want, how I want it cut, and watch them cut, weigh, and wrap it.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
I can't believe someone would have the guts to say, 'Hormel' on MY thread! How could you Wally, HOW COULD YOU???
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Perhaps the OP should find a meat market or stick with the more prominent brands.
At least the strips were fairly lean.


Hmmm, Sugardale is from the same place the NFL Hall Of Fame is (Canton, OHIO). Obviously a nice place to visit but not to buy groceries, I'd say.
Posted by BEJ on 2011-05-11:
I like the Oscar Mayer Center Cut Bacon. Less fat and tastes good. Rather on the expensive side but I buy it on sale and stock up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Where did the OP purchase this item?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Like Wally, I do the turkey bacon now. It's pretty good, too. I used to buy a really thick pepper bacon from a shop around here. I'll try to remember the brand because it was very good.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
I WISH we had 'Meat Markets' around here. We DO have the Farmer's Westside Market on West 25th street. I've been tempted to take a ride there...the 'scenic route' of course!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
I like Kunzler thick cut, but I've had this happen to the end pieces sometimes. Just a wafer thin slice on the end.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
There is no way...NO WAY I would ever get my Dad to eat Turkey bacon. I've had it before, it wasn't bad. A little on the cardboard side, but it was pretty good.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
That's what I thought Unslated, that it was just the end piece, but it wasn't ... the entire package was like this.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Hopefully the OP sends these pics off to Sugardale and gets a years worth of coupons in return for their shady advertising!

Hopefully the OP also knows that her grocery store should have a meat department where she can purchase non pre-packaged bacon?

Bacon packaged in Styrofoam....yummmmmy!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Processed turkey of any kind is disgusting!!

http://www.mrbaconpants.com/oscar-mayer-super-thick-cut-applewood-smoked-bacon/
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Was it meat glued? That pic is nasty looking. I wouldn't feed it to a pig.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
I am going to notify Sugardale on this. They can't improve it they don't know there are issues. Maybe it was a simply mis labling or something.

The grocery store I bought this didn't have a meat department where you can talk with a butcher.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Ript, that is the fat (connective tissue).
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
If it was meat glued, it wouldn't have fallen apart. I think meat glue would have helped. LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
I bought some steak cut bacon the other day. I still haven't decided what I'm going to do with that. But, you can clearly SEE how thick the slices are.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Yes I know it is the fat, but it shouldn't be seperated like that, never seen anything like it, and wouldn't eat it if I had.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Debtor, how many slices of bacon do you normally cook for breakfast? Five is the norm for me (nearly half the pack).
Are rationing the bacon?

Ript, the OP did that for added effect.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Shoddy bacon or not.. this review has me craving fresh green beans cooked in bacon grease, and sprinkled with bacon bits.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Ah, I see Lsal. Dramatic effect. Oscar worthy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
JC, that sounds so good!! Don't forget the onions and potatoes in there.
Then you have a meal.

*LOL* Why did you edit, Ript? She is one. j/k
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Don't get me wrong. The bacon was very tasty...it's just that paying the extra $$ for thick sliced and ending up with this...that's my complaint. It tasted really good, as I said, I've always used Sugardale products and have been happy with it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Good review Basher.
Posted by momsey on 2011-05-11:
Well, thanks, DB, now I want bacon!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
L, I substitute crushed red pepper for the onions. also, a splash of vinegar, keeps the beans crisp. So good!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Sally, how much bacon I cook depends on what I'm having. Sometimes (like this morning) I just wanted a bacon sammie...so it took quite a few slices, being they were so thin. If I'm having eggs with it, I usually cook four or five pieces.
Posted by momsey on 2011-05-11:
If SLGIII READ the review, he'd have the answer to the question about why the OP bought a different brand than normal.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
I can't stand crispy bacon. Make my bacon soft and my easy over eggs slightly runny.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Gross! Bacon has to be cooked almost to burnt status before it's any good.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Stuart...I wondered the same thing. A pound of bacon is a pound of bacon no matter how it's cut. But looking at this brand, I noticed it is 1.5 pounds...but, is that they styofoam tray or the bacon? I didn't weight it, so I do not know. The other brands of thick sliced bacon comes in 8oz sizes and 1 pound sizes. So, who knows?

It is needless for me to say, but I felt the need to say it anyway.

I already told you why I bought this brand instead of the Premium brand that I usually buy. Because I was not at the ONE store that sells my other brand, so I tried this for a change.

Ok?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
NET WEIGHT, OP!

JC, you are missing out.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Stuart, now you're forcing me to hurt you. After I answer all of your petty little questions, you deleted them?

I agree with Sally...I don't like my bacon burnt to a crunch. I like the meaty part a little crisp with the fatty part a little chewy. Doesn't sound too good to hear it, but it tastes yummy.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Wow, my review went green in less than a half hour of posting it. Let's see THAT happen with a newbie review! *Ducking the shoes*
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Mmmmmmm bacon *drooling*
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-05-11:
It's sad stories like this that tug at my heart. Just because you went with the "entry level" doesn't mean they can just package weights that don't "stack up". Reminds me of that guy who got fleeced on a can of Pringles.
Posted by Sugardale Foods on 2011-05-11:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is not indicative of our normal quality standards. We have alerted our Production Department and they are examining their processes to determine how an inferior product made it past our normal quality checks. We apologize that the system failed in this circumstance. We will be contacting you personally to resolve your complaint.

Sincerely,
Sugardale Foods
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Wow!!!! Sugardale Foods saw this review, activated an M3C account and jumped all over this complaint. That is what you call above and beyond customer service!!!

I hope one day I am as powerful as the mighty DB.

Posted by Slimjim on 2011-05-11:
Wow, that's pretty awesome. Talk about getting results. I assume you had contacted them DB and let them know of this well-written informative?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Great customer service....Pathetic looking bacon
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Just like in politics nothing happens by coincidence on consumer gripesights either.

Thanks Sugardale.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Very insightful, L.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Thx.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Yes, I did get a personal reply as well. I had contacted them through their website and sent them the link to this posting. It was nice to see their response was not a 'form' letter stating, 'thank you for contacting us, you complaint has been forwarded to the proper department'.

Here was their response:

Good Afternoon [Edit name],

We recently received your email and reviewed the online forum “My 3 cents” that you had listed in your email.

The product featured in the “Sugardale Complaint” is not indicative of our normal quality standards. We have alerted our Production Department and they are examining their processes to determine how an inferior product made it past our normal quality checks.

We would like to send you replacement product. Will you be home during the day? We would like to confirm that you will be available to receive the new bacon.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,
[Edit Personal Info]

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
A little free publicity for the hometown meat packing plant, eh?

Nice!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Pirate would be so proud of me. I've learned a lot from that peg-legged, patch-eyed, parrot percher!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Just got another Email from them...they said they will have my replacement bacon sent out this week.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Okay, can we consider this review closed so you can stop gloating?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
It's called an 'UPDATE'.
And it's not closed until that bacon is sizzling in my pan...wanna picture of that too?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Their going to "mail" you some bacon? *classy*
Why can't they send a gift certificate?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Where does it say, 'mail'?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
"....they said they will have my replacement bacon SENT out this week....."

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Oh Sally, Sally, Sally...*Shaking my head and walking away*
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Courier?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
I'm not here anymore, I SAID I walked away, so I'm sorry to say, I can not answer you.
Posted by old fart on 2011-05-11:
At least the bacon appears to be lean!
Posted by Alain on 2011-05-11:
I'm gonna go shoot a feral pig an' cut some raw pork. Or maybe take Ript's suggestion. Oh, helpful review, DB and it's interesting that Sugardale hopped on it. I like their hams, but I've never tried their bacon.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-11:
Glad the company is resolving your complaint, Debtorbasher!

I've found that pretty much every brand of "thick sliced bacon" carried in my local grocery stores isn't any better than regular bacon! Only difference is the price! The best value & best quality bacon I have found is the AppleWood Bacon at Costco, you get 2 large packages for 11.99! I would give the exact size but unfortunately, we already ate the package with the content information! I'm pretty sure you get around 16 slices per package, probably more than that. Most packages at the grocery store have 8-10 slices unless you get one of the premium packs for almost $10!
Posted by Skye on 2011-05-11:
You know DB, if you want quality bacon, try the butcher.

Good review.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-05-11:
I'm glad they responded because that is the most pathetic bacon I have ever seen. I'm surprised they are delivering a replacement instead of just sending you a coupon. I guess they want to make sure you don't pick up another defective package.
Posted by leet60 on 2011-05-11:
@debtorbasher. Just curious if you have ever tried cooking bacon on a microwaveable plate, put a paper towel on the bottom of the plate and one on the top. Not only does it cook up nice and crisp, it doesn't curl and waste away to nothing.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
Yes, I've done it in the microwave before with the paper towels. It turns out pretty good and like you said, usually stays flat. We have one of those iron bacon presses now, but I always forget to use it...it seems to over cook the center to a crisp while the ends are not cooked. Maybe I should only leave it on for a few minutes then finish cooking it without the press.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-05-11:
Good catch, Venice. They're going to stock the pond, so to speak, so they know what DB will be catching.
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2011-05-11:
Bacon from the deli department or from a meat market/meat vendor (such as at the West Side Market) is much thicker and often has less fat. I've bought bacon that appeared to be more fat than pork, and was disappointed.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-11:
I usually can pick a good pack of bacon regarding fat vs meat...
Nerd, I take it you are from the near West side of Cleveland?
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-05-11:
Trmn, when is the last time a company delivered a replacement product in person?

Never!

They are going to make sure DB gets the BEST package of bacon to come off the line. I'm not sure what to think of that.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-05-11:
I just hope they don't use UPS. I can see the complaint now...

"I checked the online status, and it said my bacon was on the truck for delivery. I smartphoned a request to have it redirected to the health spa, and UPS refused. So I was stuck at the spa, with no bacon to make my lunch. Very embarrassing. Horrible, and I will NEVER use UPS again."
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-05-11:
Hahaha!
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2011-05-12:
DebtorBasher: I grew up in Cleveland, and now live in Berea. I still go to the market off and on.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-12:
I'm thinking about going to the Westside Market, maybe next week. There was one stand there that sold the best yogert and cheese! I hope they are still there. They were set up near the enterance of the Fish department....Man-O-Man does it stink in there! LOL!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-13:
***************** Issue Solved **************
Posted by MRM on 2011-05-13:
Yahooo!
Posted by MRM on 2011-05-13:
At my jobby job, we get alot of those styrofoam coolers as they cool pharmaceutical items.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-13:
This is a good sized one...not real tall but big enough to throw a few things in. Of course the best option would be to have 50 degree weather all year around...it's already a stupid 66 degrees!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
The SBDT arrived?!

Posted by Starlord on 2011-05-13:
I like the Farmer John's Ends and Pieces. I do not need to have my bacon all looking like lovely little strips, and the Ends & Pieces are great for sandwiches and salads and such. Once you take the first bitr, the strips don't look so pretty now, do they? We found that if you fix a John Morrell smoked sausage in a little bacon grease, it becomes irresistable. Congrats of the resolution!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-13:
It doesn't have to be pretty to me either...but I like a decent amount of meat vs the fat, which I get with Sugardale.....
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Hormel bacon is good also. *Runs away fast*
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Basher, I would like a BLT with extra bacon please, on un-toasted white bread with lots of Miracle Whip.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-13:
You got it YaYa....coming right up!
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-05-13:
I'll have a BLT with LETTUCE AND TOMATO on wheat toast, no mayo. Thank you.

So, how does it look? Are the slices thicker?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-05-13:
I didn't open them, but they look pretty good.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-05-13:
Denny's currently has Baconalia going, and I had the BBBLT sandwich. Hmm-m-m-m-, good. Crystal had the breakfast with 6 strips of bacon, and they tried serving four. We had to have the waitress bring us the other two strips. Thanks to the swine for giving us the candy bar of meat.
Posted by Delta54@aol.com on 2011-05-20:
Sam's Club has some wonderful thick sliced bacon that is MUCH cheaper than $6 for a pound and a half.
Posted by Southern Gentleman on 2011-05-20:
Sam's Club sells some wonderful thick sliced bacon that if MUCH cheaper that $6 for a pound and a half.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-05-20:
I had forgotten about this thread.

NOW I want some bacon. Mmmmmmm.
Posted by Alleen on 2011-05-20:
I hate when that happens, and I have had things like this happen. I try to always write to the company. They should be ashamed of themselves, for sure.
Posted by slimster on 2011-05-27:
good review, and better results! New here, but seems "shakin' the tree" gets the resolution ya need!
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >