LANTANA, FLORIDA -- The staff and management of this hotel did everything in their power to ensure a miserable stay. The evening I checked into the hotel, I was told that I would receive two nights' accommodation. The next morning the front desk called me to confirm the fact that I would be staying a second night. When I returned that night, however, I could not gain access to my room. I asked the front desk clerk to update my key. She said, "You only reserved the room for one night, so we have to put you in another room." I pointed out that I had, in fact requested a two night stay -- and this had been confirmed twice by the hotel.
I told the clerk that I would be happy to stay in a new room and that I would like my property transferred from the original room to the new one. She then told me that the hotel could not return my belongings until the next day! I asked to call the manager. The clerk said she didn't have a phone number for the manager. I told her that I didn't believe her, but she persisted. When I told her that I was ready to call the police, she suddenly discovered the manager's number.
The manager refused to fix the problem. "I have a life," he said. "I can't worry about that." Eventually I did have to resort to calling the local police in order to retrieve my belongings. Though the desk clerk had claimed that she had no access to the property, it had miraculously appeared on her desk in time for the police. Amazingly, the front desk clerk had apparently asked the attending officer to arrest me, because, in frustration earlier in the day, I had disconnected the handset of her phone and placed it outside! Altogether hideous.
HUMBLE, TEXAS -- We reserved a room approximately 2-3 weeks before our arrival date of 7/30/12, received a confirmation #, had the telephone number of the motel with us and when we arrived they claimed not to have a reservation with our name but if we could give them a conf # that would be fine. My husband came out to our car to get the number from me and while he was gone the clerk started to help another customer.
When we both returned with the number the clerk was in the process of completing the other guests' reservation with our credit card which had been left with the clerk by my husband when he came out to get the confirmation number. Needless to say my husband was very upset about this and took his credit card back quickly. The manager then came out (with a bit of an attitude) and requested the conf. number. We gave it to him and then he claimed that it was not one of their confirmation numbers. He admitted that the telephone number was for his property but not the confirmation number.
He was totally unwilling to work with us and said he had only one night available if we wanted it. This would not help as we were there for several nights to participate in the AAU summer Olympics. Our grandson was competing in 3 events. When we made the reservations over the phone we were told that the only room they had left for that time frame was a smoking room. Even though that would not be our preference we agreed to that type of room.
We have never had a room with a confirmation number not honored and feel that they just did that because they knew they could get more money for the room because of the number of out of town people needing rooms for the youth AAU Olympics. Also, when we made these reservations we were required to leave a credit card number with them to GUARANTEE the room. Now we have to worry about who has that number and where and when will they use it. To say the least, we are not happy with the Super 8 system.
PASADENA, CALIFORNIA -- I stayed at the Super 8 in Pasadena, CA on 12/22/10. My home was evacuated due to flooding and I needed a last minute place to stay that could accommodate my lab. Since I only had 2 hours to get out and the price was great, I chose Super 8. The evening manager was great and helped me find a smoking room that did not have too much odor, they require a smoking room if you have a pet. I'm almost 8 months pregnant so I appreciated this.
About 11:30 PM I went to get a Kleenex, there were some bugs on the walls-really gross and I wanted to get rid of them. Pulled out Kleenex from the dispenser and as I pulled a CRACKPIPE and a paper baggie came out. I was absolutely shocked and called the night manager, his English was terrible and couldn't understand exactly what I was saying but agreed to come up. Meanwhile the phone rang and it was the general manager who said that his assistant was coming to pick up the item. He then told me it was a medical device and not a crack pipe. I said you haven't seen it! How could you know that?
I hung up and waited for the assistant manager. He wouldn't come in the room, and finally I raised my voice and told him to get the item and that I was extremely upset. He got the item and left. By this time it is midnight and pouring rain outside. This was the only room that was "acceptable" in terms of the smoking status. The others I toured reeked of smoke. I was exhausted, had my dog with me and with the horrible storm outside, I didn't feel safe at 7.5 months pregnant changing hotels.
I slept for 6 hours and got up to speak with the manager about the evening and to request a refund. The same assistant manager was there in the morning, incredulous that I wanted my money back. He called the manager, who said to me over the phone that he could give me 20% off and that I should not have stayed in the room. He was terrible to me on the phone, did not apologize or offer to make it right.
I explained to him that I am 30 weeks pregnant, evacuated from my home, my husband was out of town and there was a raging storm outside. He said that I was offered a refund last night--totally not true and I called him on it. He refused to admit what the item was and told me to call the paparazzi he didn't care. Huh? I am absolutely taking this to the corporate level. I took a picture of the item and am so glad I did. I understand that they may have not known about the activity in the room, but to not apologize?
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- We had the most horrible experience at the Super 8 Motel-San Francisco/Fisherman's Wharf Area (2440 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA!!! My husband and I brought my 87 year old mother on a trip to San Francisco with us. We started off with no parking spaces remaining at the motel. The manager/desk clerk suggested we park down the street at the Blockbuster after they closed at 10:30. Parking spaces are given on a first come, first serve basis. We arrived at about 4:00 P.M. but all spaces were already full. Inadequate parking!
All of the motel rooms are located upstairs on the second and third floors. We were given a room on the third floor. The motel had no elevator and we all climbed up the most unbelievable flight of stairs I have ever seen in my life. This was not near to code. The stairs were so steep and the height of the steps varied. I am not a tall woman but some of the steps were as high as distance between my ankle and knee making it quite a venture just to get up the stairs to our room!!!
When my mother and I got to the top we felt like we had climbed Mount Everest!!! Just absolutely unbelievable! The ADA (American's With Disabilities Act) would never allow for a place like that to exist without an elevator to accommodate disabled or elderly people. They just haven't had a lawsuit yet!!! The included Continental breakfast was served on a tiny counter in their tiny, tiny lobby. My husband brought us three cups of coffee up that steep, steep staircase!
To top it off they even placed an addition hold of fund on my credit card after I had already paid for the room. It took a few days to get that straightened out with my bank. This place does not represent San Francisco and all of the lovely, wonderful places to stay there and at much, much better rates. My suggestion is to never, never stay there! I stay in the Bay Area about once a month and have for the last 20 years. This place is the worst motel I have ever had the displeasure of staying in.
CRESWELL, OREGON -- My wife and I stayed at the Super 8 Motel in Creswell, OR while on our way to Washington. The clerk, apparently acting on orders from the part-owner/manager, charged us a $15.00 Pet Fee. Under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, charging a fee for service animals that is not charged to every other customer is illegal. The clerk made copies of our dogs' IDs, so he knew, or had reason to know that they were not pets, but service animals. His explanation was that it was a deposit toward cleaning the carpet.
After taking one look at the carpet in the room, I did not let our dogs walk on it, but carried them in and out of the room. The carpet looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in at least two years. When we checked out the next morning, the lady on duty told my wife if she had come into the office when she came on duty later that evening, the lady would have refunded the 'fee.' She stated the guy who checked us in had worked there about 6 years, and she had been there just a couple of months, and she knew the law better than he did apparently. I prefer to think the clerk knew he was committing an illegal act, and just didn't care.
As he was acting as the manager's agent, the manager shoulders the blame for the offense. I attempted numerous times to offer a reasonable settlement, but the manager/part owner refuses to answer my emails. Taking this case to court, which I am entitled to do, would be a hardship, so I am posting this so others will know to avoid this place and maybe corporate for Super 8 will investigate. In addition to the illegal fee, they did nothing about a loud party that went on across the lot from us until about 6 in the morning, when we were leaving.
LAGRANDE, OREGON -- In June, 2006, my husband and I stayed one night at the above mentioned motel. On registering, I requested a non-smoking room as we are both non-smokers. I was told by the desk clerk that all the rooms there were non-smoking. On entering the room you could detect a slight smell of stale cigarette smoke but not offensive enough to complain. We had been on the road 14 hours that day and were quite tired so turned in early. We checked out the next morning at 6am. On returning home from our trip we had a notice from the motel that they had charged our credit card $50.00 for "smoked in room." I immediately called the motel and spoke with the manager. I was very straight forward with her and told her the smell was in the room when we checked in and that we did not smoke. She was rather rude and told me that if we had an issue with the room we should have requested another room. She said the smell was so bad that the room had to be put out of service for 2 nights! To make a long story short, we are out our money. We did complain to the OR Better Business Bureau, disputed the charge on our credit card, and reported our concern to the OR Dept. of Justice. They tell us that it is lawful to do this in accordance with the OR Unlawful Trade Practice Act. It seems the manager of this motel takes no responsibility regarding her housekeeping staff nor does she care that she has now lost a customer. (We feel the staff failed to report the smell in the room the morn. before we checked in.) We are also very concerned that our credit card was vulnerable to a bogus charge and that our number appears on the printed documents that she sent to the BBB and Dept. of Justice. Never mind contacting Customer Service...all the motels are independent franchises. Our lesson learned here is that we will no longer pay for a room before going in first to see if there are any "issues"...even a hair in the sink will be enough to turn us away. We will no longer stay at any Super 8 on our travels to OR or anywhere else. As consumers, we have to protect ourselves and our good credit. Using credit leaves us all vulnerable to just about any scam that comes along!! We believe that this motel has done this before. We were unsuspecting travelers wanting a good night's rest before continuing on the next day. If we had known that we would be blamed for the smoke smell, we would have called the front desk and complained. No room at any Super 8 has ever been perfect, but they are Super 8 and not a 5 star hotel!
MARTINSVILLE, INDIANA -- Martinsville, in. Super 8 motel. 55 bill road.
When we got to the room and settled down the walls started shaking. The headboard stared shaking. We could hear the office down below doing things. It turned out that room 205 was right above the office. No biggie, I'll just go talk to the desk clerk. Turns out the desk clerk was also the manager. With a bad attitude. It was 11 pm. I told abduhl that I wanted a partial refund. He laughed and said. I give you a whole refund, you leave and go across the street. If you don't leave I'll call the police." Astonished I told him it was a noisy room. He kept threatening me with arrest.
I made a complaint to customer service the next day. Waste of time. I demand a full refund because of Abduhl's lousy attitude. They're still refusing. I'll get my money one way or another. [mod removed comment]
GROVE CITY, PENNSYLVANIA -- I booked this hotel online and will not do this again, or ever stay at a Super 8 again. When you stay there, they are not friendly, breakfast is terrible, the room is not that clean and the towels are not clean. We had people next door slamming doors all night. When we called the desk, they said they could not do anything about it.
When we were leaving to come back to Canada, the desk clerk said she doesn't give proof of payment because I booked online. I have been going down there for a while and never had any problems with any hotel I have stayed in. I will never stay at any Super 8 Motel wherever I go again. The coffee maker was so dirty you could not see through the glass.
NIAGARA FALLS, NEW YORK -- They double booked us then said that we would have to pay for the extra room, even though their clerk made the mistake! The manager said he would give us a "break" if we would accept a lesser room (no Jacuzzi) for the same price as the better room. Manager demanded a credit card, even though we paid cash up front. Spent nearly 2 hours on the phone with corporate, trying to resolve the problem. Got that taken care of.
That night, the people upstairs had a loud argument. We asked the manager to please ask them to keep it down. No such luck! They spent the next several nights running back and forth until 2 or 3 am. Management did nothing about it. Called corporate when we got home. They said that we "could've stayed somewhere else."
Well thank you for the good advice! I think I will stay "somewhere else"! They (**) promised us a $100 refund for the shoddy service. Here it is, October, and still no check? No one there seems to care very much about happy customers. Fortunately, other motels and hotels do. Make your own life easier and avoid Super 8 at all costs. You'll be glad you did.
FRANKFORT, INDIANA -- On 6/13 we made a reservation through Priceline for a room for 2 nights (6/29-7/1) in Frankfort, IN. This room was refundable until noon on 6/28. I have a copy of the receipt which confirms. Priceline charged our credit card $145.64. On 6/25 we called to cancel reservation and were given a cancellation # and told needed to do nothing else.
Last week we noticed that our room had not been refunded, so we called hotel. At first we were told we needed to have cancelled in 7 days. Then when we had proof of cancellation policy, we were told he didn't understand, he couldn't do anything, ask Priceline. Each time we talked with same rude worker, who we think is manager. He is very difficult to understand and work with. He would not tell us his name. He kept asking why we cancelled. He was very uncooperative and unprofessional.
We called Priceline, who said they would refund our money, but needed to confirm with the Frankfort Super 8. We have had 3 different customer service workers from Priceline call this man. He evades them and says we called too late, etc. Then when the last Priceline worker called. The Super 8 worker said we never called to cancel. (We have a cancellation #!). So Priceline dropped our cause. We are trying to get someone higher up in Super 8/Wyndham to help us, but are having difficulty getting a response.