Tax Software Store - Austin TX

1 reviews & complaints.

Tax Software Store Deceptive Trade
Posted by on
AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Tax Software Store, Austin, TX deceptively shows TurboTax Home & Business program on their website, deceptively prints out a picture of the same product on the invoice, then shipped an entirely different product that states on the label, Personal Federal Return only. He also sent 2 programs that were in plain white envelopes unsealed and without the box but states on the order, “New, Unused”. Owner refused to refund even though the website states it does refund money until reported to PayPal, then he sent an email to mail it back and he will refund, then states he will not refund on a used product. His email states do not mail back (sic) will not refund any money.

Very Deceptive Business, DO NOT BUY from them. Despite sending him a picture of the disc showing it is Personal Federal only, he changes his story over and over. Last story, "Manufacture put Wong Wable on Disc" A real Crook!

“Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practice to deceive”

Sir Walter Scott

Image reference - Product ordered and product received:

Product Ordered Product Received
Company Response 04/16/2009:
In 2004, Intuit merged TurboTax Home & Business and TurboTax Premier into one product and retain "TurboTax Premier" as the name. Intuit normally released product twice. In late November 2004, they released 2004 TurboTax Premier retail product. When a customer purchased that product, she/he still need to do online update in order to use the product.

Around April 2005, Intuit released another version of TurboTax software with all updates for 2004 TurboTax Premier Version. In order to differentiate this one from its Number 2004 version, Intuit clearly labeled the new CD as "Personal Income Tax Software". Thus this CD contains 2004 TurboTax Premier/Home & Business version with all updates.

The seller repeatedly suggested that the buyer call 1-800-4INTUIT and find out if he received what he ordered. He refused to do so. Instead, he posted all defamatory information online. The buyer should stop doing so. The seller reserves the right to take further action. The seller also suggests that any customers call Intuit at 1-800-4INTUIT if they have any doubt for any TurboTax product purchase from this store.

The seller also encourage the buyer to send the CD to Intuit to verify the authenticity and functionality of the software program.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2009-04-16:
Bootleg software is what you got. He needs to be reported to federal authorities. The web site is registered to:

Lijun Yang
8412 Nairn Drive
Austin, Texas 78749
Anonymous on 2009-04-16:
You might also want to report him to Intuit, who owns and markets Turbo Tax.
Anonymous on 2009-04-16:
Ken and PB...push the 'very helpful' button for this review. Excellent review, one of the best.
glw511 on 2009-04-16:
Thank you both, yes I emailed him this morning that I am going to notify the FBI and Intuit is where I got the documentation he sent the wrong product but will follow up on the bootleg issue with them as well. Thanks again.
Anonymous on 2009-04-16:
When I first responded there was no image. Now that I have looked at it and enhanced the image I can say it doesn't look like a bootleg disk. But the OP got something other than what was ordered.
taxsoftwarestore on 2009-04-16:
This is the seller’s response:

In 2004, Intuit merged TurboTax Home & Business and TurboTax Premier into one product and retain "TurboTax Premier" as the name. Intuit normally released product twice. In late November 2004, they released 2004 TurboTax Premier retail product. When a customer purchased that product, she/he still need to do online update in order to use the product.

Around April 2005, Intuit released another version of TurboTax software with all updates for 2004 TurboTax Premier Version. In order to differentiate this one from its Number 2004 version, Intuit clearly labeled the new CD as "Personal Income Tax Software". Thus this CD contains 2004 TurboTax Premier/Home & Business version with all updates.

The seller repeatedly suggested that the buyer call 1-800-4INTUIT and find out if he received what he ordered. He refused to do so. Instead, he posted all defamatory information online. The buyer should stop doing so. The seller reserves the right to take further action. The seller also suggests that any customers call Intuit at 1-800-4INTUIT if they have any doubt for any TurboTax product purchase from this store.

The seller also encourages the buyer to send the CD to Intuit to verify the authenticity and functionality of the CD.
glw511 on 2009-04-16:
This was one of many stories the Seller tried to tell me up to "Intuit put on Wong Wable". I have documentation from Intuit showing he is not telling the truth. He flat lied that he ever told me to send it to Intuit to verify, and I have already printed documentation he is not telling the truth. He also doesn't seem to understand in this Country if it is true, you can state whatever you want to. This is only one of many, many places that exposed him and I will continue with the truthful statements. Why would anyone buy from someone like him and then have to chase around to verify he is wrong. I begged him to refund and not go this route but he was too bull headed. He could have settled this with an $85 refund but chose not to after sending me an email he would refund. Show the mental capacity of a Businessman that would let the entire world see how he treats customers over $85. Wow, how dumb!
Soaring Consumer on 2009-04-16:
I suggest that you file a dispute it with PayPal. Keep on top of this person until you get a refund. This is bait-and-switch and a whole bunch of other fraudulent business practices.

Voted helpful.
glw511 on 2009-04-16:
Thank you S C but have you ever done a search on PayPal, they are sleezy then he is. Despite all the info I sent them they closed the case within minutes because they only deal with Products or Services! Hello Paypal, that was both! They are next on my list as he was with the FTC, I found another link PayPal is 3rd or 4th on the Nation Wide Complaint List. I have used PayPal for years but never knew they were as sleezy as him! Thanks for the post.
glw511 on 2009-04-22:
This CON ARTIST is so crooked he thinks he can take further action for exposing his Deceptive Trade actions on the Internet. He doesn't understand in this country it is Legal to tell the truth about a Con Artist that rips people off.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >