TCT Property Services

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Do Not Rent From TCT Property Services
Posted by on
MESA -- We rented through TCT Property Services; also known as Great Homes 4 Rent for four years. We were never late on a payment and never had a HOA complaint. They required $1563 in a rental deposit: $785 last month rent, $600 in pet deposits, $178 in cleaning deposit.

We left the rental in above and beyond what a typical renter would leave a property. Painted walls (with what they provided and bought new paint to make sure all the walls looked 100%; even though it flat paint), had a landscaper come in to reshape all the plants and thin out trees, had the carpets cleaned and more.

They refused to give us more than a 30 minute notice for a final walk through. They also refused to let us know what they were marking down for as damage, if any.

When we got our bill we were outrage. They were charging us for replacement of carpet for the entire house! The carpet was in good condition except for 3 medium size stains; since the carpet was 7 years old, we were the 4th tenant on these carpet. We were told they only replace the carpet every 10 YEARS. Yes you are reading the correctly every 10 YEARS. We are responsible for the remaining 4 years.

Then they are charging us for a landscaping fees of $175 because they saw a few weeds inside a plant. These were not weeds it was a vine plant! They installed. They also refused to replace a tree we complained on more than one time due to the roots being broken during a bad monsoon season. There landscaper called them and told them but they said since it was not on the ground it was fine. To dangerous for us to that side of the yard since the tree was sideways and not safe.

When we called them about these charges they said we were LUCKY we were getting $125 back from them.

We also request her pictures and receipts but we still have not received any from them. I told her we had pictures and she said it does not matter because there normal wear and tear standards are higher than what the statutes require.
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 07/06/2009:
Sue them in small claims court.
moneybags on 07/06/2009:
Had a landlord like that once. The house had been FILTHY when we took over and we took pictures. They agreed to reimburse us for having a cleaning service clean it, which they did. When we vacated, I did a walk through with them and we repainted a bedroom they had given us permission to paint. Did another walk through after I took pictures. They charged us for item by item cleaning in exactly the same words and order the professional cleaner had charged.

I sued in small claims court. The landlord turned white when I told the Judge I was a professional property manager. And had been for 14 years! I then showed the Judge the 2 invoices and all the pictures. The landlord brought the AC filter which he claimed had never been cleaned in 1 1/2 years. The Judge laughed at him and said the filter showed about a week's worth of dust. When the landlord tried to argue with him, he threatened to award damages as per the allowance of the law - treble damages (Triple!)

Hope you really do have pictures and a move in checklist. SUE THEM!
DebtorBasher on 07/06/2009:
Check your landlord/tenant laws for your state and look over your lease you had with them. I'm going through the exact same thing with my parent's ex-landlady. I'm taking her to court. I have video of the place when we left. I also went above and beyond what is expected for a renter...put new filter in furnace, fresh chalking around the toilet, sink and tub, cleaned all the light fixtures...I won't go into all the details, but you get the picture. Anyway, the purpose of the walk through is for them to go over and point out any damages or areas left dirty...and they HAVE to provide you with a written itemized statement for everything the deducted from your deposit and provide receipts within 30 days of you leaving.

Anonymous on 07/06/2009:
I hate those sleezy landlords. Some are great--but then there are the others. I think anyone who has ever rented has probably had both kinds of landlords. Everyone knows that you can clean a carpet and if the pad is stained (which it probably was after that period of time), the stain will return shortly. I hope you are able to recoop your money through small claims court.
BokiBean on 07/06/2009:
I think some landlords typically revamp the whole apartment/house after a tenant of several years moves out, and some of them try to stick the tenant with the bill just so they don't have to pay it.

If there's obvious damage, the tenant should pay..not for WEEDS or some stupid stuff like that. That's just amazingly cheap of them, and you might do better to take them to small claims court.
Anonymous on 07/06/2009:
True. When we are away from our home and rent a temp place (condo/apt), we are never asked to maintain the "garden". When we've rented a house (long ago), that was dependent on the arrangements at the time of the lease.
DebtorBasher on 07/06/2009:
My parent's lived at that place for 12 1/2 years...and I made sure it was in better condition when we left, than it was when we got the place. Stupid landlady is charging us $60 to replace four windowshades that weren't even provided to us when we moved it. I measured all the windows and bought all the shades. I left them ON the windows went I turned in the keys so someone wouldn't see the place empty and vandalize, she's charging us for window shades WE paid for AND left there! Oh yeah...and my Much Older Brother drove past the place yesterday, she has a 'for rent' sign in the window and guess what? NO WINDOWSHADES! Where are the windowshades SHE charged us to replace? He took's in my "Basher's Kickin' Butt" folder for court.
BokiBean on 07/06/2009:
I can't wait til you take that witch to court.
Soaring Consumer on 07/06/2009:
DB, would you please take your case to one of those TV courts? I'd love to watch the proceedings.
DebtorBasher on 07/06/2009:
I would love to bring her in front of Judge Piarro or whatever her name is...she's my favorite!
DebtorBasher on 07/06/2009:
I'm anxious to see the Judge's face when I present her with the check we were given for the PARTIAL deposit, dated April 3rd and received on April 10th (sent to me certified with the date I received it) and the receipt she gave us for the 'cleaning service' dated 11 days later, April did she deduct for cleaning that wasn't even done or billed yet? AND the receipt plus the itemzied statement (a page printed out of a book) that doesn't even add up to what she deducted... Oh yeah...she's going doooooooooowwwwwnnn! LOL!
BokiBean on 07/06/2009:
Or Judge Judy..she would take her head off.
MundoCaniDog on 07/07/2009:
The only thing you can do is take them to small claims court. Don't be intimidated by it -- it's not complicated. You simply must sue.
Close commentsAdd reply
Avoid renting from TCT Properties if you want your deposit refunded
Posted by on
MESA, ARIZONA -- I am so disappointed in this Mesa, Arizona company. After being a loyal tenant for 18+ months with not a single late rent payment, prompt attention to the single complaint by the HOA that we left the basketball hoop out overnight and excellent care of the property - above and beyond what a typical renter would provide (having been a landlord before I can attest first hand) - TCT Property Services still kept over $400 of my deposit to clean a spotless house, "clean up" the landscaping which was in perfect condition, and shampoo carpets that were very stained when we moved in and had been cleaned before we moved out.

Yes, when I complained they provided invoices for these services, but clearly the money was used to grease the pockets of their contractors since there was no work to be done inside the house.

There are a lot of unscrupulous landlords out there, and unfortunately it appears TCT Property Services falls into this category. I would recommend avoiding doing business with them if you have other options.
Company Response 08/18/2010:
Unfortunatley we are the go between with HOA's and renters. We just relay the information that we are given, we do not set individual Rules and Regulations for subdivisions. Per the lease, tenants are required to have the carpets professionally cleaned upon move out and supply us with a receipt. You also have the option to have us coordinate the cleaning and this will come out of the security deposit. We collect a non-refundable cleaning/redecorating deposit up front, however the home still needs to be left in the same condition upon move out minus normal wear and tear. The vendors that we use are licensed and bonded and not affiliated with TCT Property Services, LLC. We do shop around for vendors that complete good work and are reasonably priced. It is always going to be more expensive to pay a vendor to complete something if you can do it yourself. They are not only paid for parts, but for their time.
We take pride in the properties that we manage and the standards we set for our owners and tenants.
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 06/24/2008:
You could have saved yourself a lot of grief if you had the property manager do a walk through on your last day. Photos might also have helped.
Anonymous on 06/25/2008:
It's sad, but a few property managers will actually refuse to take a walk-through with a departing tenant if there is an expectation that the tenant is seeking to verify that the property is in good shape. Most states have only 'broom clean' and 'no damage beyond normal wear and tear' standards. Review your lease for any exclusions to those standards. Send a certified letter contesting the damage assertions and suggest that you are prepared to take a small claims issue here. They may back off on their $400 claims. Photos would support your position, as PassingBy suggested. Not foolproof, as some landlords will attempt to assert the photos are actually 'pre-occupancy' shots.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >