Preview Review

Next Review

The Dump Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Avoid The Dump
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- Every experience is different, but I wish that I'd taken the negative reviews more seriously and not purchased from The Dump. The furniture is beautiful, but, as I'm learning the hard way, is poor in quality. Most of the furniture that was delivered to my home was broken or damaged. The delivery guy was very nice, however, my walls were also damaged by The Dump's delivery personnel.

To add insult to injury, trying to get this matter rectified has been a time-consuming headache and The Dump has made it repeatedly and abundantly clear that they do not care and are not particularly interested in addressing the concern in a respectful and timely manner. It seems like they adhere to a blame the customer model. This was my first and, obviously, last time doing business with this company. I'd advise checking out Art Van or The Room Place before spending money at The Dump. I sincerely hope that your experience turns out better if you do decide to give them a try.

Replies
Advertisement
Mattress
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- I purchased a mattress at their mattress sale. It looked great. Within less than 18 months my daughter complained that she was tossing and turning because the mattress was lumpy. I called The Dump and the customer service representative was friendly and said she would email me a claim package. Well, I had sent pics of bed frame, tags on bed, and measurements of the lumps and depressions. After a month they said they needed more pictures. Still waiting for response.

In the meantime my daughter, who has rheumatoid arthritis is sleeping in guest room on mattress I purchased 12 years ago and is still in perfect condition. I had bought a "Italian leather" recliner for what I thought was an extremely good price only to have the leather discolor and split after 3 years. Run away from this place!

Replies
This Company Is the Worst! Terrible Furniture and Business practices. Worst Customer Service and a Real Nightmare to Deal With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- We my fiancé and I wanted to buy a new couch. Rick is my fiancé and he is on kidney dialysis awaiting a kidney so we were looking for a nice couch that offered comfort for him. We seen an ad and we went there to purchase the couch in the ad. Well they said that they did not have that couch. I said "when will you be getting it". They said that they weren't going to get that couch in. Well I was very disappointed to say the least so I wanted to speak to the manager. The manager told me "sorry" and I said "isn't that like a bait and switch". Everyone looked shocked that I said that. Little did I know what I know now I would have ran out that door fast and not looked back.

So we look around and we find a nice ivory leather sectional by Natuzzi. So we decide to get it. They say that they have one in the warehouse and they deliver it on memorial day 2015. Two days later I call telling them that there is a lot wrong with this couch. They tell me to call customer service. Well needless to say it has been 9 months and 2 repairman and a lot of promises and stringing us along and we put down $1,000.00 down and took out credit or the rest the couch cost $3,700.00 and it is literally a piece of crap. We got taken by this company and they are not very nice either.

This company is ripping people off! This has been a nightmare. Isn't it enough for someone to be disabled and on kidney dialysis let alone deal with this kind of aggravation too. Please help us the consumers and someone please be a voice for us and I highly urge you to investigate this company "the Dump" for unfair business practices!

Replies
They Forge My Signature & Stole My Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- I bought a dining table brand new out of the warehouse on 2/17/2018. Delivery was set for 2/23/2018. The table arrived at my home with a chunk of wood missing in the center of the table. I denied delivery. 2 hours later I receive a email stating that I purchased the table "as is". My receipt say I purchased a new table. Someone forge my signature on 2/23/18 after I wouldn't accept a damage table. When they returned the table back to The Dump they had the audacity to ask me if I wanted to use my warranty to repair the table. Why would I use my warranty on a brand new table. The table should have came to me damaged free.

I bought a dining table brand new out of the warehouse on 2/17/2018. Delivery was set for 2/23/2018. The table arrived at my home with a chunk of wood missing in the center of the table. I denied delivery. 2 hours later I receive a email staying that I purchased the table "as is". My receipt say I purchased a new table . Some one forge my signature on 2/23/18 after I wouldn't accept a damage table. When they returned the table back too The Dump they had the audacity to ask me if I wanted to use my warranty to repair the table . Why would I use my warranty on a brand new table . The table should have came to me damaged free .

I have been calling every day about the refund of my money. They stated to me that they will would charge me a restocking fee of 15%. There cannot be a restocking fee of 15% because I denied delivery on the table that was damaged to start with. I've been calling trying to get in touch with a manager. They keep hanging up the phone or not coming to the phone at all. The Dump is the worst place ever. The furniture comes damaged and they're only nice to you until you swipe your credit card. I will never shop there again. Whomever forged my signature is going to be in a lot of trouble. I'm filing a lawsuit against The Dump for forgery.

Don't be a fool trust all the reviews that you are reading. True enough everyone's experience is different but I also have a friend that purchase a sofa for thousands of dollars and one year later all the cushions are sagging. Their products are not of good quality. It's a waste of money. They're sneaky. They're conniving and if you read policy it states no returns or no exchanges so people please be careful. Inspect all furniture before they leave.

Replies
Advertisement
Avoid Shopping Here
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- Purchased a not so cheap sectional about 5 months ago from the Dump where I live in NJ. In those 5 months my couch has been serviced 5 times and it's a hassle each time. I hope oh have at least a hour just to get a hold of customer service and expect no callbacks. You have to keep calling and demanding them to fix stuff under your warranty.

I had to contact the Better Business Bureau for the latest problem with the couch which they told me they don't have the serial numbers to replace and ship parts. Mind you it's been serviced a couple of times now just for that piece of the sectional. I had to keep calling and asking where my parts were which after a month waiting they responded they didn't have the parts numbers and neither did the manufacturer. Lol. So I threatened immediately to go to social media and contact the local news.

Amazingly right away they were going to replace my piece which I previously asked and was denied seeing it has been serviced so many times and paid a repairman more than that piece was worth. Well the next week I take off work for the delivery. What do you know it's the wrong piece. I call back. They act like they don't understand and after so many phone calls they will reship it. Well today is the day. I called after taking off work. Again they have no record of me calling or a shipment so after they not allow me to talk to a manager (happens frequently apparently the managers are on business calls every time) I ask to be called back.

Still nothing. I contact the Better Business Bureau again and now I have to file against the manufacturer. Lol. So I am in contact with them now. Didn't receive back after they said they would a hour from when I called. It's been 2 hours. DONT SHOP HERE!!!

Replies
Not Worth Your Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KING OF PRUSSIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Ordered table with 6 chairs with delivery. This is fifth time when delivery did not happen. First time they brought damaged table - refused. Second time they brought repaired table, but it was even more damaged - refused. Third time they brought table, but missing parts - took the legs, but still waiting for top. Fourth time they simply did not come - was waiting half a day at home. Fifth time they brought - yes, instead of top, they brought more table legs... Every time I had to come to the store to schedule another deliver - you cannot call them.

Replies
Delivery of Furniture Was a Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- My 2 pieces were suppose to be delivered on a Friday. They only delivered the loveseat. They said the couch was lost. Late Friday night they found the couch and said it would be delivered on Sunday but they call Saturday and said they were 15 minutes away. It was a good thing someone was home. When they got there they tried once to get the couch in the door and said it would not go into the house. They said they were going to leave it in the middle of the yard during a snowstorm.

Finally I had them put it in the garage. A friend came over and the couch went right in. The delivery people did not even try. This is the worse company I have ever dealt with and I am so sorry I went there and bought anything. No one will return my calls or address my problem. Plus when I got the couch in the one set on legs will not touch the floor, I had to put something under it. No response when I called to get it fixed. Do Not Go There!!!

Replies
The Worst Ever Product Sold
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- The chair was delivered along with leather sofa 12/17. The recliner began to have a big sink hole in the middle
of the back and seat of chair 07/17. Customer service sent technician to house (not customer friendly), took picture & left. The weekend following I received a call from corporate denying the claim indicating the chair was up to manufacturing standards. The chair was purchased @ The Dump. It looks like it actually came from a "dump". Buyers beware/terrible ethics/sellers of sub standard product at high prices.

Replies
Advertisement
Stop and Run, Never Buy Anything From the Dump
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- This company sells substandard furniture and beds but charges too much. I purchase a mattress for $1,300 but is real value was probably around 400.00. It didn't even last 9 months. It had body impression two weeks later. Six months later the large form that surrounds the form poked out around the bed and it looked lumpy just ugly. The manufacturer went of business so I was told back into Lombard IL location and select another mattress well, I choose one but it was $100.00 more than what I paid so the manager said "pay the difference or get a refund." This was my way out and ridding myself from them so I agreed to be refunded.

Now here is where the catch comes in, The Dump has a financial company they partnered with for customer which will allow them to purchase but purchase must be paid within 90 days, which I had gone. The Dump says they are responsible for refunding me but Progressive is, Progressive says they paid The Dump. Neither is willing to reach out the other about the refund but wants me to communicate to the other about my money.

Truly The Dump owes as the mattress went back into their warehouse over a week ago, Progressive paid them six months ago, I contacted the Better Business Bureau for help and is reaching out to my local news station about this. As is stand as of today neither has started the refund process. Progressive simply says they won't and for them I understand but the dump-not. Please stay aware from this company. I hope the government shuts them down, after my refund of course.

Replies
Horrible! Damaged With No Recourse! Rating -10
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- Bought several pieces of furniture, 3 mattresses, bedroom, etc. Some items were delivered. Took smaller pieces with us. Opened nightstand boxes and two were broken. I notified The Dump in writing via their website customer service. No reply. I repeated the process and that time I took a screenshot before submitting. No reply.

I called. They tell me it's been too long for them to do anything about the two damaged items. I explained they never responded to my reports online. They repeated they would not do anything because it had now been too long. They say they never received my correspondence and were not doing anything about the damaged furniture. How convenient. Rip off artists!!! BEWARE! This is NOT an upstanding, honest, dependable furniture store!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

The Dump Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
31 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
The Dump
5324 Virginia Beach Blvd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462-1828
800-768-0348 (ph)
www.thedump.com
Compare Furniture Stores