Preview Review

Next Review

The Dump Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Leather Sofa
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I bought about $3,500 worth of furniture for my new apartment after relocating. While I have been pleased with the bedroom set and mattress, the leather sofa that I bought turned out to be absolute junk. The only part that was leather was the cushion seat and back faces. The balance of the material is some very cheap vinyl. These surfaces split and separated within the first two months of use. And I am a bachelor with very small demands on such a product.

I have contacted the company and they responded ONCE only, saying that they would work with the manufacturer. I have never heard back from them after numerous emails over the past 6 months. I will never shop with this company again. They do not stand behind their products.

Replies
Advertisement
Avoid The Dump
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- Every experience is different, but I wish that I'd taken the negative reviews more seriously and not purchased from The Dump. The furniture is beautiful, but, as I'm learning the hard way, is poor in quality. Most of the furniture that was delivered to my home was broken or damaged. The delivery guy was very nice, however, my walls were also damaged by The Dump's delivery personnel.

To add insult to injury, trying to get this matter rectified has been a time-consuming headache and The Dump has made it repeatedly and abundantly clear that they do not care and are not particularly interested in addressing the concern in a respectful and timely manner. It seems like they adhere to a blame the customer model. This was my first and, obviously, last time doing business with this company. I'd advise checking out Art Van or The Room Place before spending money at The Dump. I sincerely hope that your experience turns out better if you do decide to give them a try.

Replies
Mattress
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- I purchased a mattress at their mattress sale. It looked great. Within less than 18 months my daughter complained that she was tossing and turning because the mattress was lumpy. I called The Dump and the customer service representative was friendly and said she would email me a claim package. Well, I had sent pics of bed frame, tags on bed, and measurements of the lumps and depressions. After a month they said they needed more pictures. Still waiting for response.

In the meantime my daughter, who has rheumatoid arthritis is sleeping in guest room on mattress I purchased 12 years ago and is still in perfect condition. I had bought a "Italian leather" recliner for what I thought was an extremely good price only to have the leather discolor and split after 3 years. Run away from this place!

Replies
This Company Is the Worst! Terrible Furniture and Business practices. Worst Customer Service and a Real Nightmare to Deal With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- We my fiancé and I wanted to buy a new couch. Rick is my fiancé and he is on kidney dialysis awaiting a kidney so we were looking for a nice couch that offered comfort for him. We seen an ad and we went there to purchase the couch in the ad. Well they said that they did not have that couch. I said "when will you be getting it". They said that they weren't going to get that couch in. Well I was very disappointed to say the least so I wanted to speak to the manager. The manager told me "sorry" and I said "isn't that like a bait and switch". Everyone looked shocked that I said that. Little did I know what I know now I would have ran out that door fast and not looked back.

So we look around and we find a nice ivory leather sectional by Natuzzi. So we decide to get it. They say that they have one in the warehouse and they deliver it on memorial day 2015. Two days later I call telling them that there is a lot wrong with this couch. They tell me to call customer service. Well needless to say it has been 9 months and 2 repairman and a lot of promises and stringing us along and we put down $1,000.00 down and took out credit or the rest the couch cost $3,700.00 and it is literally a piece of crap. We got taken by this company and they are not very nice either.

This company is ripping people off! This has been a nightmare. Isn't it enough for someone to be disabled and on kidney dialysis let alone deal with this kind of aggravation too. Please help us the consumers and someone please be a voice for us and I highly urge you to investigate this company "the Dump" for unfair business practices!

Replies
Advertisement
They Forge My Signature & Stole My Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- I bought a dining table brand new out of the warehouse on 2/17/2018. Delivery was set for 2/23/2018. The table arrived at my home with a chunk of wood missing in the center of the table. I denied delivery. 2 hours later I receive a email stating that I purchased the table "as is". My receipt say I purchased a new table. Someone forge my signature on 2/23/18 after I wouldn't accept a damage table. When they returned the table back to The Dump they had the audacity to ask me if I wanted to use my warranty to repair the table. Why would I use my warranty on a brand new table. The table should have came to me damaged free.

I bought a dining table brand new out of the warehouse on 2/17/2018. Delivery was set for 2/23/2018. The table arrived at my home with a chunk of wood missing in the center of the table. I denied delivery. 2 hours later I receive a email staying that I purchased the table "as is". My receipt say I purchased a new table . Some one forge my signature on 2/23/18 after I wouldn't accept a damage table. When they returned the table back too The Dump they had the audacity to ask me if I wanted to use my warranty to repair the table . Why would I use my warranty on a brand new table . The table should have came to me damaged free .

I have been calling every day about the refund of my money. They stated to me that they will would charge me a restocking fee of 15%. There cannot be a restocking fee of 15% because I denied delivery on the table that was damaged to start with. I've been calling trying to get in touch with a manager. They keep hanging up the phone or not coming to the phone at all. The Dump is the worst place ever. The furniture comes damaged and they're only nice to you until you swipe your credit card. I will never shop there again. Whomever forged my signature is going to be in a lot of trouble. I'm filing a lawsuit against The Dump for forgery.

Don't be a fool trust all the reviews that you are reading. True enough everyone's experience is different but I also have a friend that purchase a sofa for thousands of dollars and one year later all the cushions are sagging. Their products are not of good quality. It's a waste of money. They're sneaky. They're conniving and if you read policy it states no returns or no exchanges so people please be careful. Inspect all furniture before they leave.

Replies
Avoid Shopping Here
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- Purchased a not so cheap sectional about 5 months ago from the Dump where I live in NJ. In those 5 months my couch has been serviced 5 times and it's a hassle each time. I hope oh have at least a hour just to get a hold of customer service and expect no callbacks. You have to keep calling and demanding them to fix stuff under your warranty.

I had to contact the Better Business Bureau for the latest problem with the couch which they told me they don't have the serial numbers to replace and ship parts. Mind you it's been serviced a couple of times now just for that piece of the sectional. I had to keep calling and asking where my parts were which after a month waiting they responded they didn't have the parts numbers and neither did the manufacturer. Lol. So I threatened immediately to go to social media and contact the local news.

Amazingly right away they were going to replace my piece which I previously asked and was denied seeing it has been serviced so many times and paid a repairman more than that piece was worth. Well the next week I take off work for the delivery. What do you know it's the wrong piece. I call back. They act like they don't understand and after so many phone calls they will reship it. Well today is the day. I called after taking off work. Again they have no record of me calling or a shipment so after they not allow me to talk to a manager (happens frequently apparently the managers are on business calls every time) I ask to be called back.

Still nothing. I contact the Better Business Bureau again and now I have to file against the manufacturer. Lol. So I am in contact with them now. Didn't receive back after they said they would a hour from when I called. It's been 2 hours. DONT SHOP HERE!!!

Replies
Horrible Buying Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Didn't think it could get any worse... then it did. My earlier review details how I never received $10,000 worth of furniture that was bought and paid for 11/24/17 with an expected delivery date of 12/23/2017 until 5/15/2018... AND IT WAS DAMAGED!!!

The crack team at the Houston store promised a technician would be at my house on 5/17/2018 to resolve the damage issues. Guess what??? Another no show!!! Oh and the free TV I was promised... never received it either. The Store Manager is a weasel who repeatedly offers to take every thing back just to get rid of me. The customer service people share his arrogance. I WOULD NOT BUY FURNITURE FROM THESE CLOWNS AGAIN EVEN IF IT WAS FREE!!! (they wouldn't deliver it anyway)

Replies
Won't Return My Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRVING, TEXAS -- I purchased two sofa sets. Upon delivery they were marked and damaged. The repair tech said he could not repair it. This was 8 months ago and I am still fighting to get the delivery fee reversed on my bank card. The salesman I am working with never follows up with a phone call as he promises. Nobody ever calls. They continue to ask me to “wait for our business manager to get a reply from your bank”. Well, this has been going on since Nov 1 and now it's May 12, still asking me to wait. I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Replies
Advertisement
Not Worth Your Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KING OF PRUSSIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Ordered table with 6 chairs with delivery. This is fifth time when delivery did not happen. First time they brought damaged table - refused. Second time they brought repaired table, but it was even more damaged - refused. Third time they brought table, but missing parts - took the legs, but still waiting for top. Fourth time they simply did not come - was waiting half a day at home. Fifth time they brought - yes, instead of top, they brought more table legs... Every time I had to come to the store to schedule another deliver - you cannot call them.

Replies
Delivery of Furniture Was a Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- My 2 pieces were suppose to be delivered on a Friday. They only delivered the loveseat. They said the couch was lost. Late Friday night they found the couch and said it would be delivered on Sunday but they call Saturday and said they were 15 minutes away. It was a good thing someone was home. When they got there they tried once to get the couch in the door and said it would not go into the house. They said they were going to leave it in the middle of the yard during a snowstorm.

Finally I had them put it in the garage. A friend came over and the couch went right in. The delivery people did not even try. This is the worse company I have ever dealt with and I am so sorry I went there and bought anything. No one will return my calls or address my problem. Plus when I got the couch in the one set on legs will not touch the floor, I had to put something under it. No response when I called to get it fixed. Do Not Go There!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

The Dump Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
34 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
The Dump
5324 Virginia Beach Blvd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462-1828
800-768-0348 (ph)
www.thedump.com
Compare Furniture Stores