[X]

The Parts Bin

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Just because the website SAYS it's in stock...
Posted by on
The Parts Bin - Ignition coil complaintFriends, Romans and countrymen - lend me your ear. About a month ago, the wife's 2000 VW Passat with 125,000 miles on it developed an engine malfunction. It was mis-firing on what turned out to be cylinder one. I found this out by using my code reader to determine the cause of my "check engine" light.

Deductive reasoning told me that by misfiring on only one cylinder that my initial guess of "bad gas" was not going to be the culprit - and when I pulled that particular plug, I noticed it didn't appear to be fouled, but was indeed wet. That told me it was indeed getting fuel, just no fire.

Because this 1.8 turbo engine is a distributorless ignition, I quickly determined that the likely culprit was the ignition coil for that particular cylinder. In these kinds of lower maintenance engines, each cylinder has its own individual coil.

Because I have a number of vehicles at my disposal, and wasn't in a big hurry - I decided to search for the part on the internet - as the local parts shop wanted 80.00 for it.

A simple google brought me to "ThePartsBin dot com" The website showed me the part I needed, that it was a mere 30-odd dollar charge including shipping, and that the part would be to my house in a few days.

The plot really doesn't need to "thicken" at this point gentle reader, as I'm sure you know where this tale is headed - and no, "the butler didn't do it." Of course the part didn't arrive as I was informed. I call them back, to be told that they don't have that part in stock right now, and that they sent me an email telling me they cancelled the order and refunded my card. Of course I never got said email and have yet to check with Visa to see if they refunded me.

I ended up paying the 80.00 for the part at NAPA, replaced the faulty coil and now the wife is happy again. She's still not cooking or sleeping in the same bed with me, but hey you choose your battles in life eh?

So now my wife's fun-2-drive car is back on the road getting 30 plus MPH, and I think to myself, "self, if ONE of the 4 coils has gone bad, perhaps it'd be prudent to have a second one on hand, in case it happens again - like when you're driving 14 hours to Jackson Hole Wyoming this summer where you don't want to get stranded on the side of the road only to become some grizzly bear's afternoon snack.

So...................silly me now goes back to THE PARTS BIN to see if they've gotten new stock - after all they had the far better price. The website indicated they did in fact have the part in stock. Not to be fooled again, I engaged in an online chat with a monkey on the other side of the keyboard who claimed to be working for the website and "yes they had coils in stock." I REPEATEDLY (3 times) axed her/him if that particular part was in stock - YES it is in stock and READY TO BE SHIPPED! WE JUST GOT ANOTHER SHIPMENT IN THIS WEEK!

Now here's the part where I need "sucker" tattooed across my forehead. OF COURSE THE PART DOESN'T COME AGAIN - JUST LIKE IT DIDN'T COME THE LAST TIME! (At least they are consistent) I call their 800 number AGAIN and AGAIN am informed that they don't have the part and that they emailed me (they didn't) and refunded me - (I'm not sure).

So fellow shade-tree mechanics, it comes down to this, don't use "ThePartsBin dot Com" to order anything - especially VW Passat ignition coils. In fact, I wouldn't order from them at all, as their website doesn't appear to really reflect what parts they do in fact have in stock. Even their online chat personnel don't seem to have a grip on what they got, or what they don't got - but they sure like to play "gotcha."

Happy motoring - urfriendlypirate.

[admin edit urls]
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

MRM on 2008-03-21:
Pirate, very informative review. Next time visit autopartswarehouse.com and autorock.com as they have excellent prices and they are always in stock. Does any of your vehicle in your driveway include a Jeep?

O||||||O
Anonymous on 2008-03-21:
Naw, no Jeep! Got an SUV I need to ditch as I'm sick of gas prices.
MRM on 2008-03-21:
2008 Jeep Patriot has 32 MPG and costs $13,000 MSRP. But that's not what I will buy in December. I will purchase the 2008 Jeep Commander but it has 18 MPG:(
Slimjim on 2008-03-21:
Pirate, I'm going to say this to you because I would say the same thing to anyone who wrote this, and then I will drop it. A simple one page complaint that the place couldn't ship an in stock listed item would have been sufficient.
DebtorBasher on 2008-03-21:
I thought only Ejack was guilty of "Bad Gas"!
Anonymous on 2008-03-21:
LMAO, you own a VW Passat.........that explains sooooo much
Anonymous on 2008-03-22:
Excellent review Pirate. I'll be sure to never order a single thing from these flimflam artists. (VH)
Anonymous on 2008-03-22:
This review is way too long and I could not get pasted the first part of it. I think the op should learn to shorten thing like this up a bit or maybe take a writing class. ~JMO~ (NH)
Anonymous on 2008-03-22:
Again slim, try to quell your compulsion to trail and troll me and my reviews. Your jealousy is blatantly obvious as you never have a nice thing to say about anyone or anything. Just stay off my reviews and keep your snide remarks to yourself.
Anonymous on 2008-03-22:
Lidman, if you'd have pursued your education beyond grammar school, perhaps reading wouldn't be so difficult for you - let alone spelling and writing.
Slimjim on 2008-03-22:
Pirate, I'm not going to get into it with you even though you are baiting with ridicullous statements, knowing that if I give you the BIZ, I'll be deleted. The risks and effects of posting here are debate and criticism are possible. You should know that more than anyone. I simply said in a far nicer way than lidman btw, that your review is full of extra unneeded and irrelevant quips and information that are of no value to it. My constructive opinion is that you should stick to the facts. Jealous?!? My wife drives a loaded 2007 Escalade and I don't turn wrenches. So um.. no.
Close commentsAdd reply
Return Policy / Customer Service / Management
Posted by on
The Parts Bin / Auto Parts Warehouse / All OEM Parts Inc. The companies listed all have the same phone number and are all affilliated. I actually ordered a set of WeatherTech window deflectors from The Parts Bin. They arrived damaged due to packaging (shipped in a thin cardboard box with plastic parts inside, box was only as thick as the window vent visors, with no extra protection). I called the phone number on the packing slip (All OEM Parts Inc. 888-628-3247)and they said I had to wait 2-3 days to receive a Return Authorization Number by e-mail. Well, needless to say I had to call them and get the Number, and only to find out that I have to pay for return shipping and they also said that I had to try to get refunded for shipping by FedEx since they delivered the banged up box (Yeah, Right!). I actually wanted them to replace the part at first, and their response was that I had to purchase another $103.00 set of window deflectors and wait 4-6 weeks for a refund on the unusable damaged set (Like I was going to give them my credit card number again, NOT). I asked to speak with a supervisor because I just could not believe what I was hearing, and of course they were in a meeting! Well, I tried 2 more times and was finally told that they would not transfer me to a Supervisor because they would tell me the same thing. I filed a complaint with the BBB and after filing that complaint, noticed that hundreds of others have filed compaints as well, with very few resolved issues and very few complaints replied to (needless to say, they are not a member of the BBB). Unfortunetly, I was not able to look them up before purchasing from them, as they do business under so many different names. So, I hope this will help others not make the same mistake that I made by ordering from these unethical businesses. The complaints from the BBB are numerous and the issues vary, so definitely check them out before purchasing anything! Hopefully, I will receive my refund, as their policy is to send the package to the manufacterer for inspection and then after they receive Their Credit from the manufacturer, will they issue me a refund! I will also keep you posted on that!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

mfults on 2007-10-18:
These people sole me brake rotors they didn't have in stock, charged my credit card, then didn't even email or call to tell me they cancelled my order. 10 days later I still haven't received a refund. When I called customer service to, they acted like it was my problem. When I asked to speak to a manager, this little $%*& said that not a single representative from management was in the office, at 3:00pm in the afternoon. These guys are crooks. If anyone else has had the same experience, please post a comment. If enough people respond, I believe we can force these morons out of business with a CA suit.
SHINO on 2008-12-30:
THE PARTS BIN SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN. THEY ARE AN INTERNET SCAM COMPANY. THEY SOLD ME A DEFECTIVE PART AS NEW AND I PAID A MECHANIC TO INSTALL IT AND THEN TO UNINSTALL IT AND INSTALL A GOOD ONE. THEY REFUSE TO GIVE ME A REFUND BY SENDING ONE RIDICULOUS REQUEST AFTER ANOTHER. THEY SAY THEY NEVER GOT A FAX WE SENT 10 TIMES, YES 10 TIMES. THEY ARE CROOKS PLAIN AND SIMPLE.
reddd on 2009-08-10:
They have an "F" rating by the BBB

http://www.bbb.org/new-jersey/business-reviews/auto-parts-and-supplies-new/all-oem-parts-in-hamilton-nj-11004229#bbbrating
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >