Preview Review

Next Review

Time Warner Cable Internet Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Friendly Service but Empty Promises Won't Run a Successful Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I'm going to detail out the experiences I've had cancelling TWC's service, because the amount of time I've had to spend ensuring the job is getting done by TWC has been absolutely unacceptable. The reason I cancelled is because I was moving to an area that had Verizon, which I feel is a better service as far as technology goes.

I called a week or two before my move date of 9/24 to schedule my service to be disconnected (trying to be proactive). I was very clear with the representative that I needed the service all the way through 9/24. The representative assured me that the service would be disconnected on 9/24. Great, I wouldn't expect to have to call again at all after this. Just receive the final bill with charges through 9/24, and then turn in my equipment and done. Not quite.

On 9/19, my service was disconnected early (physically unplugged). I called to have it corrected and had to wait until the following day for a tech to come reconnect it. I asked to speak to a manager, and was told that he would call me within 30 minutes of my call with the rep, and I never got a call. One of my biggest peeves is when a company says they'll call me to resolve my issue, then doesn't call. This is embarrassing since it was even a manager.

I need internet because I work from home, so this was quite an inconvenience. It was then disconnected early again on 9/23, so I had to call again to get it reconnected. The representative assured me that I shouldn't have any more issues because they had noted it in the system. So my service then stayed on through my move date, 1 more day.

Then, I receive a bill for $382, which was apparently because each time the service was restarted, I was billed for a full month. I called again, and the representative adjusted it and I paid my final (so I was told) bill of $18.92. I was told that all I needed to do at that point was turn in my equipment and I was all set, I also asked what the time frame was for returning my equipment. I work a lot, so it's hard to get to a physical location to drop it off, so wanted to know if there was a due date so I could plan my schedule.

I had the equipment for about 2 weeks because I was moving and thought I had some time to return it (after being told there was no due date at all). I then get another email from TWC saying I owe $380 dollars again, after squaring this away previously. I call again to find out what happened. Turns out that they wouldn't take my call because I'd already been sent to collections for a balance that I thought was removed from my account and was charged for "€œunreturned equipment"€ after only a couple weeks.

I get that I probably should'€™ve returned the equipment earlier, but I was told I had no due date for turning it in so I was taking my time. I immediately took the equipment into a physical location in Plano thinking that I could resolve all my billing issues in person and be done. Well, they told me to call customer service to get the balance resolved, and that they couldn't do it in store. Seriously? TWC doesn't allow their employees to resolve customer issues face to face? Ridiculous. So I call again on 10/14 and spent 30 minutes on the phone with a representative trying to convince me I owe the money.

Apparently the service wasn'€™t physically disconnected until 10/7, so they tried to charge me through then when I moved completely out on 9/24, as I had stated several times with each person I talked to. She finally reads through the extensive notes for my account and sees that I don't actually owe anything, and adjusts my account, but said that there was about $18 in fees that it wouldn't let her adjust, so she said to wait and she would call me back on Wednesday to confirm that the fees had rolled off my account. I never received a call. This was the second time in this experience that I was told I would receive a follow up call and didn't.

I got an email 10/18 saying that I still owe $18 to TWC because obviously the fees identified by the representative on Monday had not rolled off my account. At the time I wrote this review, I was on hold with yet another TWC representative (identified as a "brief" hold) for the 25 MINUTES so I decided to write how frustrated I am with their service. I was told that the balance was now zero and I would receive a final bill stating that I don'™t owe anything. I have yet to receive this final bill on 10/25. If this is how other customers experience this service, frankly, I'm surprised they'™re still in business.

I'm hope this is the last time I ever have to speak with a TWC representative to resolve an issue that should've taken one phone call. So far so good, but it'€™s only 10/25. I sent this review to TWC and said that I would make sure I would post this anywhere I could to ensure potential customers knew what they were getting into. I'€™ve never written such an extensive review on customer service, but this whole experience made me so upset that I really want TWC to read this and hopefully improve their processes so this doesn'™t happen to anyone else in the future.

Replies
Advertisement
Outage Takes > 5 Days to Resolve, No Phone Nor Internet for Almost a Week
By -

Looks like I have to live without my phone and internet for a week. And I pay more than $100 per months for this? What kind of service I'm buying with my money?! Here is the full story: Starting Saturday afternoon I found the internet connection very slow. Even some very reliable websites (gmail, yahoo) was only working intermittently or got timed out. I thought it might be just temporary glitches, thought it might fix itself later so I brushed it off.

On Sunday evening situation stayed the same. I power cycled my modems, wireless routers and computers several time but problem persisted, so I called customer support. The representative asked me to go through the same power cycle thing, somehow it worked better after the representative resetting the modem from their end. I thought problem was fixed for good. Only to find out the problem came back after used the internet for about 30 minutes. I call them again, this time the representative told me there was a regional outage and ask me to call again tomorrow to find out the status. OK, it was time to bed anyway so I decided to wait.

Tried to go to some websites on Monday morning - same problem. I have a real job so I have to go to work and had no time to deal with this non-sense. After I was back to work, I used their online chat to talked with some technical support. She basically told me I have to confirm it wasn't my wireless router being the problem, suggested me to use their website speed test when I'm back at home. Also the tech support told me there was no outage last night on record. So wth was the representative talking to me last night? Probably just making up stuff to get rid of an annoyed customer. Way to treat your customer Time Warner!

Back at home from work, tried the suggestion. Big surprise - of course the problem is still there even I plug my computer directly into the modem without router. Tried to go to the roadrunner speed test website to do the test as suggested by the support, the connection was so slow that I can't even load that test page, what a joke.

Call them again, this technical support seems to be more knowledgeable, he did some test, and tell me my connection is dropping intermittently that's why it appears slow, they need to a tech to my place to take a look. OK fine... so just help me fix it right? Nope - they can't get any one out until Friday!!! WTF? Problem started on Saturday. They can't fix it until Friday?!

At this point my digital phone isn't even working so I have to leave without my phone and internet for about a week. This is internet age and we're not cavemen I can't imagine how can I survive without both internet and phone. OK maybe if I drop dead from heart failure because I can't call 911 in time as the phone in my home is not working, it will make a story and maybe Time Warner will up their service? Again... WTH...

The whole thing is very frustrating. I lost count of how much time I spent to get them to admit there is something wrong with their hardware (which I suspected to be the case to begin with), and then it takes them ages to send someone to fix their faulty hardware. WTH? I pay more than $130 for this kind of service? Serious if there is a choice I'll never use Time Warner again. Give me a break Time Warner.

Replies
Service Appointment Lies and Deception (Rectified Incident)
By -

NORTH CAROLINA -- I have been jerked around and deceived by Time Warner Cable's call centers about setting up an appointment to transfer service. The issue was remedied after a long struggle on my part and being on the phone all morning, including with my cellular phone dropping calls and phone system problems with Time Warner Cable.

I called Time Warner Cable the morning of 08/26/2010 to transfer service within North Carolina. The phone number that I used was 1-800-TWCABLE, which is advertised on TWC's Website, including for matters of service disconnections. I am an undergraduate starting school on 08/30/2010 and was getting my apartment lease on 08/26/2010, so I wanted either the earliest possible appointment on or before Sunday the 29th, or if that was not possible, I could only do evenings between Monday-Friday.

The first agent was able to give me an appointment for 08/31/2010 for 7-9 p. m., which was the earliest time that would work for my schedule, but unfortunately after Sunday. 7-9 P.M. is the latest possible time slot on any day. Because I asked to be put on the waiting list for 7-9 P.M. on Monday or anytime Sunday or sooner, the agent said that, because she is a Sales agent, she would need to transfer me to Customer Service to be put on the waiting list, but did still confirm my Tuesday evening appointment. (I don't even know why I had gotten the Sales department instead of Customer Service.)

After being transferred I spoke with a Customer Service agent, who said she could put me on the waiting list, but also searched for an earlier time for me. She found that 7-9 P.M. on Monday actually was available (even though it wasn't when I spoke with the Sales agent), so she was going to set me up for that Monday time slot instead, but unfortunately, my cellular phone dropped the call right as I was confirming this change. Up to this point, I had recorded this first call -- both the Sales and Customer Service agents.

Because the call was dropped, I tried to call back on my landline (on which I couldn't yet record the calls). For some reason the phone system had problems at the point where it routes the caller to the department they want; for example, I would say "Customer Service" then "Appointments" or just "Appointments", and sometimes it would drop my call or give a busy signal after that. When I was transferred to someone, after waiting some time, for some reason I got the "Retention" department, and the lady was going to transfer me back to Customer Service because "Retention" couldn't help me.

This time the call accidentally went into a dead queue (error on their end) and the Retention agent called me back while I was in that queue, but I had to answer on my cell phone and was stuck with the call on my cell again. I asked her if she could call me back again so I could answer on my landline, but she said she could only call me back once because the error was on their end. So I was transferred to Customer Service again. This time, I gave the agent my callback number and said it's very important that she calls me back if we get disconnected.

The agent I spoke with said she couldn't do anything with my account because another agent was modifying it. I explained my situation, that I wanted the Monday appointment 7-9 P.M. which I was told was available. This agent was going to call me back once she could get into the account, but eventually it was unlocked, and she saw that it popped up that I did have an appointment for 08/31 7-9 P.M. However, I accidentally lost the call from my unreliable cell phone again. The agent did not call me back as I had asked.

I called back to Customer Service and spoke with a man, but this time he said that he saw my appointment as being for 08/31 from 3-5 P.M. I inquired why it was 3-5 instead of 7-9, but he insisted that he saw nothing for 7-9 p. m., even though the other agents I had spoken to were aware of the Tuesday night appointment. He said that the earliest available evening appointment was going to be 09/03. I was very upset, and I made it very clear that I had recorded the initial phone call in which the first (Sales) agent confirmed my appointment for 08/31 7-9 P.M. I argued with the agent at length that it was wrong for my appointment to be mysteriously revoked like this.

He said that the maximum relief that he could provide me would be one day's service credit. He gave me some flak about my dropped calls that I had mentioned, but to prove what I was saying, I even played Bits and Pieces of the call recording in which the first agent confirmed the Tuesday 7-9 P.M. time before transferring me to the Customer Service agent to be put on the waiting list. (Also, each agent said that if a call is dropped, the previous agent would have to undo or drop all of their changes on the account.)

The agent I was speaking to said that without a confirmation number, which the Sales agent did not give me, there was no way he could look up the original appointment. He asked for the Sales representative's name, and when I gave it, he said that agent doesn't work for Time Warner Cable but for some 3rd-party contractor or something. I pointed out the phone number that I was using to call TWC and asked if I had been scammed; he said no. He wasn't being helpful at this point, and I was persistently upset and wanted to know what happened to my original appointment.

After quite a long runaround, he eventually finally resolved to call the dispatcher to ask if they could make this situation right by squeezing me in for the same day that I was calling, 08/26. This was put in place, and he still agreed to the one day's service credit. I was finally relieved at this improvement, and to get accommodated on the same day. He gave me a confirmation number, and I remarked that apparently it is very important that we customers make sure we get a confirmation number (which I never knew about) and to record the phone calls.

The dispatcher and I agreed for 4 P.M. -- the time that I actually had a meeting with my property manager to see the apartment for a final time and to sign my lease and get my keys. I did have to take care of both matters at once, and the signing of the apartment lease was the priority, but the service technician was patient, courteous, and understanding of the situation.

After I was finished with my property manager, I completed the appointment with the technician and the service was in place. Thus the end result was pretty good, though this accommodation was a side-effect of being on the phone all morning and having to go through the stress of being deceived about my scheduled appointment time, which never should have happened. If I had not recorded my initial phone call in which I was promised the appointment, and not made such a compelling argument, I would have been ripped off and forced to go with a much later appointment, and only one day's service credit to make up for it.

When I called up my phone company (not TWC) to transfer my phone service thereafter, I also asked them to add the paid feature of unlimited 3-way calling (the feature that I need to use for my method of recording calls), so that I can more reasonably record calls on my landline. That's what I'm going to do, both with Time Warner Cable and my phone company.

This situation evidences that when customers are promised appointments, they may be ripped off by Time Warner Cable as their appointments may mysteriously "disappear" or be changed without communication. Apparently everybody needs to know to ask for a confirmation number if they are not automatically given one. I am also encouraging people to record phone calls with telecommunications companies, especially in one-party consent states.

Replies
"Sorry There's Nothing I Can Do"
By -

RICHMOND, KENTUCKY -- Absolutely the worst company that I have ever dealt with. I suppose this is what happens when a cable provider monopolizes a town. Any call to Time Warner goes directly to their corporate lines and the "Supervisors" that you need to speak with to get anything done are MIA. I have tried for three weeks - no exaggeration, literally three weeks to the day - to get television and internet service through these guys. I honestly need internet service to do my job and I am a graduate student - so I am in a bind to have it. One would think that they would want our business as we plan to be here a few years and have perfect credit.

My wife called on a Friday, and the soonest that they could get to us was in two weeks. They only offer hours from 8AM-5PM and being working people it was hard to fit in their schedule. The only opening that was available was for a 3PM-5PM time slot. We asked if we could make it about 3:15 as my wife is a teacher and would be able to make it by then. The lady on the phone said it should be fine.

Two weeks later, I get a call from my wife (who was supposed to meet the Time Warner guys) that there was a note on the door saying "Sorry We Missed You." The note was half-filled out, as the cable guy's ink pen had run out mid-sentence. That guy must have been ecstatic to get an early start on his weekend.. as he didn't have time to find another ink pen. I looked at my phone to see the time of the call, and it was 3:06PM.

She immediately called Time Warner to try to get the guys to come back, as they couldn't have much more than pulled out of the driveway, but the number sent her directly to a touch-tone corporate pass-around. Finally she was able to reach customer service and they considered it "unfortunate" but since she had admitted to being late for our 3PM time slot it was our fault and all she could do was reschedule.

In technicality they were right on this one. We had a 3PM-5PM time slot and my wife was 5 minutes late. I think that it is rude, frustrating and stupid - but TECHNICALLY they are right. Although the lady told us that 3:15 should be fine - it was informal and not corporate policy. So, OK. When I get home I immediately called the number, which sent me back to the corporate touch-tone pass-around and I explained the situation.

The lady on the phone was exceptionally nice and said that she would set us another appointment for the next Friday (the once-again nearest open date), but would elevate our status so that if there were any cancellations we would be contacted. She stated that we should get a call the next day - but, worst case scenario, they would be there the next Friday in the 8AM-12PM time frame. I explained to the lady that my wife could not make that time frame, but that I would take off of work.

By now you've guessed that I did not get a call throughout the whole week, and Friday morning I was up and ready at 8AM to let the cable guy in. He arrived at 10AM and spun a big rut in my drive-way (I'm not really mad about that, just had to include it). I went out to greet him, and he immediately began questioning my name and address. Turns out, the account was in my wife's name, and therefore he was not allowed to talk to me.

He repeated that he was "sorry" but there was "nothing he could do." I tried to reason with the guy; I explained that I had made the call to schedule the appointment and I had clearly told the lady that I would be there. The guy was not open to reasoning or even willing to listen to me - he was seemingly thrilled to have found a reason to leave the appointment early. I tried to show him a check that had both my wife and my name on it, he would not look at it... just continued to mumble "I'm sorry - There's nothing I can do."

He said that the only exception would be if I had a signed letter written from her with a copy of her driver's license. Typically, I don't carry things like that with me on a daily basis and I was never told that I would need anything like that. I asked if I could call my wife or drive to her work (5-minute drive) and he shook his head "No." At this point I was frustrated and I told him to just leave.

I called Corporate to complain, but I just got passed around on the phone and had to explain my story in excess of a dozen times. Literally. And after an hour of trying to get something done on the phone, they said they would "see what they could do" and would call me back immediately. After another hour and a half, I hadn't been called.

So, I drove to the local office and attempted to explain my situation to the lady there. She wouldn't make eye contact with me. I will admit that I was frustrated, but I didn't raise the tone of my voice, use strong language or anything remotely unreasonable. I made sure not to pin my frustration on her as she was inherently innocent. No matter - she couldn't have cared less about what I had to say, and repeated the official Time Warner motto "I'm sorry." She said that she would make a call to the guys in the field and "see what she could do" - and then would call me back directly.

A few more hours pass - and it is now almost closing time for Time Warner - and I haven't gotten a call. I made another trip to their office, but it was to no avail... same response from another lady. I requested to speak to the Supervisor, but he/she wouldn't come out to meet me. I'm now waiting on a call from this "Supervisor."

I have never been treated like such trash in my life. The Richmond Time Warner Office couldn't care less if they get your business or not. Luckily for them - they have a monopoly on high-speed internet. The only other options are satellite internet and DSL. So even though Time Warner treats everyone like dogs - we all keep running back to them asking for more. If there is an entrepreneur out there looking for something to get into - consider becoming a cable service in Richmond. I'll be knocking on your door the minute you're open for business.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Service Department in the World
By -

HARLINGEN, TEXAS -- About two years ago I made the terrible mistake of ordering Time Warner's complete package which includes cable, internet and phone. This began a lengthy session with some of the most incompetent service people I have ever dealt within my entire life. From the phone techs, who by the way really need to learn to speak clear English, to the local "techs" that are the most untrustworthy in the world and has had very little on the job training, that is when you actually have one to show up for an appointment.

Two months ago it started with my phone not working. After two weeks of talking on my cell phone with someone from Bangladesh or some foreign country, that could not speak enough English to be understood, kept wanting me to unplug everything from the modem or my PC and wait several minutes and then re-plug to see if it was the signal which it was not and I knew it. I waited two weeks to actually get an appointment with a local service tech.

When the tech finally showed up at 9:30 PM, two and half hours after the appointed time and that was after I had called to see if someone was coming, he just took my phone and plugged it directly into the modem which allowed me to receive and make calls, but left it with such a buzz that I was unable to carry on a decent conversation. This commenced with a rash of phone calls requiring additional service which was never received.

A week later the main TV with the DVR chose to only show a few of the local stations and nothing else. Once again I started calling for service, and by the way all of this happened before Hurricane Dolly ever showed up, but every time I called I would get a recording that they were so backed up I could not even get a dispatch person.

When I finally did get to talk to a live person and was given an appointment, I would take off work early to be at home and after waiting 2 hours after the last hour of the appointed time I would call to find out if the agent was coming only to be told he had marked the job as complete or that there was no one at home which was a total lie. This happened 3 times over a month and a half. Each time I would go ballistic to the poor dispatch person and would be told it would be another two weeks before I could get another appointment.

The best part was when I went to the office to cancel my services. The girl at the desk said, "Then I guess I should cancel this appointment they have for you on the 18th of August." I laughed so hard everyone standing in line thought I had completely lost it. This appointment was made after the last tech never showed up.

I finally decided that evidently Time Warner no longer needed my business and that they needed to know that they are not the only business in town that could provide me with the service my money was entitled to. Of which my payment steadily kept going up. And they still charged me for a partial month of service not received when I cancelled. Of course I had been paying for service up front for several months for service I was not receiving.

So Time Warner I'm afraid the way your service department is going you will be losing a lot of us as I have been hearing a lot horror stories about you. Just go online and take a look at the complaints. I intend to let everyone I know my story and I work for a very large Aerospace Company.

Replies
Time Warner Sucks
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Yes, this is a verbatim email with the lovely idiots at Time Warner Customer Service...

Forwarded Message
From: ****
To: NY/NJ Support_NYC
Sent: Monday, April 21, 2008 9:53:18 AM
Subject: Re: Time Warner Cable of NYC (****)

No response?
I'll find a blog site to post this email communication as clearly your customer service is a joke. I'M TRYING TO PAY YOU AUTOMATICALLY EVERY MONTH AND YOU CAN'T GET IT RIGHT???

Original Message
From: ****
To: NY/NJ Support_NYC
Sent: Wednesday, April 9, 2008 3:26:39 PM
Subject: Re: Time Warner Cable of NYC (****)

REALLY??
ARE YOU KIDDING ME??
THAT WAS 8 MONTHS AGO ON A STOLEN CREDIT CARD, SO I CHANGED THE NUMBER AND HAVE SINCE RESUBMITTED THE NEW CARD (THE SAME DAMN ONE I USE FOR ALL THE ONE TIME PAYMENTS) COUNTLESS TIMES SINCE. "SUSPENDED STATUS?" FOR 8 MONTHS? EVER THINK TO CALL ME? EMAIL ME? YOU SEEM TO HAVE NO PROBLEM BILLING ME OVER $150 EVERY MONTH AND ARE VERY ADEPT AT TRYING TO THREATEN ME WITH LATE PAYMENTS THAT ARRIVE 24 HOURS AFTER YOU 'SUGGEST' THE BILL BE PAID. HMM - YOU CAN YELL AT ME IN A DAY BUT HAVEN'T TOLD ME FOR 8 MONTHS MY RECURRING PAYMENT REQUEST 'MIGHT' HAVE AN ISSUE???

CHECK YOUR RECORDS BEFORE YOU REPLY TO A CUSTOMER COMPLAINT WITHOUT READING IT OR DOING MORE THAN FIVE SECONDS OF RESEARCH.

FIX MY ACCOUNT.

GIVE ME THE NAME OF A MANAGER I CAN TALK TO VS YET ANOTHER WORTHLESS "CUSTOMER SUPPORT" TAG LINE THAT IS ANYTHING BUT. I AM FAR FROM SATISFIED AND WILL ONLY BE 'SATISFIED' IF YOU FIX THIS OR I START SPENDING MY MONEY ELSEWHERE VERY SOON WITH A COMPANY THAT GEE, WILL TAKE MY MONEY LIKE I ASK IT TO?!@?!?!

FOR GOD'S SAKE - I'M TRYING TO PAY YOU AUTOMATICALLY AND YOU CAN'T EVEN TAKE MY MONEY RIGHT...

Original Message
From: NY/NJ Support_NYC
To: ****
Sent: Wednesday, April 9, 2008 1:50:09 PM
Subject: Re: Time Warner Cable of NYC (****)

Though we appreciate the time that you have taken to contact us, we are
sorry that you have some concerns.

Please be advised that our records indicate that the reason you are
experiencing a problem with your recurring online payment is, due to a
declined payment on 8/9/2007 (Do Not Honor). When this occurs; it
places the recurring payment option in a suspended status, whereby you
are only able to make one-time payments.

Therefore, you will need to pay your current statement with a different
method (i.e. one-time credit card payment).

We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and look
forward to keeping you as a satisfied Time Warner Cable customer.

Sincerely,

Customer Support
Time Warner Cable

Original Message Follows:

Customer Name: ****
Customer Email: ****
Subject: billing
Account Number: ****
Phone Number: ****
Date: 04-09-2008 11:15
Comments: I REALLY WANT to pay you every month in full and on time. And EVERY MONTH I request - directly through your website - to have you collect that bill with the RECURRING credit card payment. And EVERY MONTH I get the CONFIRMATION email saying that yes, you have it. And if I go into the system for recurring payments, it shows its there and any changes would suggest "cancelling" it - that's NOT what I want. But EVERY DAMN MONTH your stupid system FAILS and I get the angry "pay your damn bill" letter. So EVERY DAMN MONTH I have to go into YOUR system to do yet another "one time" payment and again request the recurring payment. I called you today. The lady said she couldn't help me at all but YES, the "system" shows I have requested the recurring payment but for "some reason" it rejected it - but she had no info. I need someone to email me back and CONFIRM this has been fixed once and for all. I do NOT want a call - I want a written email so when (or if?) it remains broken I know exactly what person to talk to yet again. Really, this is insane - you can't even process a customer who is giving you a request to PLEASE - take my money!!

Replies
Another Disappointed Customer
By -

I have to post this because this is another bad experience with TWC but not due to anything under my control. Everyday for 2 weeks our internet would go out. We have Vonage so the phone runs through the internet and if the internet is not working, neither is the phone. No big deal since I have a cellphone. When the internet would go out everyday, it would happen from 10 am to 2 pm. Then again at night from 6:45 to 7:30. I had started to get aggravated and contacted TWC to have someone come out to look at my equipment (I had not touched it after it had been installed. I am not real tech savvy).

They had scheduled someone to come out 2 days after. Fine, I had no problem. Two days go by and no one showed up. I called TWC the day after a tech was supposed to come to find out what happened. They said they could not find that technician and they will have someone come out the following week! I was a little upset at this point, but I let it go. The following week when the tech was to arrive, he never showed AGAIN! This is now 2 days I had to take off from work to have this problem fixed.

When I called TWC again, to let them know that a tech had not shown up AGAIN, they rescheduled me for 3 days later! Well, I almost had it. But believe it or not a tech showed up this third try. He came in, checked out the modem, and said "Yup, it doesn't work. I will have to send someone out to fix it". If it was legal to beat the crap out of someone, I would have seriously hurt this man. I called TWC back and told them what he said. They would schedule someone to come out the following week! I lost it! It was now a month without internet and phone.

During all of this, they kept telling me that the problem was with an outside box, not with my modems. The entire time I was telling them I didn't think that was the case, but what was I to know? They sent over the head technician after I had threatened to call their corporate office (I still have a letter written to their Board of Directors but haven't mailed it yet). He came over and said it was the modem. He brought a new one over and that fixed the problem.

WHY WOULD I HAVE TO WAIT OVER A MONTH TO GET RESULTS?? TWC is the WORST cable company ever! Someday karma will get back at them, but until then, I hope every employee gets a flat tire everyday on their way to work, the jerks. I had missed work, sat at home and wasted days trying to get them to come out to me. They would call the house phone while it wasn't working and stated that they don't call cellphones. The customer service is pitiful and I work in customer service for a living. I would be embarrassed to work for them.

I don't want to hear any whining from employees of TWC how they don't pay well and blah blah blah. There are other jobs out there. YOU decided to work for a horrible company so YOU get to deal with the angry customers. If you hate working there so much, then leave! No pity for you at all.

Replies
Poor Service Quality
By -

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- TWC is a perfect example of why our country has (or is supposed to have) laws against monopolization. Over the past 3-4 years that I have had TWC cable and Road Runner services, I have had a number of problems, and it has finally reached the breaking point. Today I am calling DirecTV and having their services installed. If you choose to purchase TWC services, do so at your own peril. You are likely to experience the following as we have:

Slow service response. When you call for a cable or internet connection problem, you can first expect to wait 20-40 minutes on the phone (listening to TWC's own propaganda about why they are so wonderful as opposed to easy listening music (just imagine listening to the same speech for 30 minutes straight!)).

When you do get an all-be-it friendly voice on the phone, they are quite helping and knowledgeable to help you with the problem. If the problem requires someone to come to your house, you should expect 2-4 days for that to happen. If you are without any cable service, well, your problem. The fact that all their technicians are so heavily loaded probably speaks volumes with the number of problems they have to deal with.

As a side point, TWC ran a cable line from their pole in our backyard, over ground across our yard and into another person's yard. 9 months later I am still calling asking that they come bury the cable so I don't have to move the cable when I mow.

TWC's Road Runner advertisements about speed are misplaced. I run several computers through a single modem. If someone is using the family computer for internet access, my access becomes sluggish and I can no longer run my Shoutcast Radio (even at a low BAUD rate).

Also, the internet kept dropping out when I put in a new router. TWC quickly told me it was a router problem. I got so fed up with this that I recently switched my internet connection to WindStream's DSL. WOW! What a difference. Under RoadRunner, when viewing a video on YouTube, it would frequently freeze (download rate slower than viewing rate). Not with DSL! It would take a natural disaster for me to go back to RoadRunner.

When we had our cable service upgraded to full digital HD signal, the cable guys came out and installed the new equipment (3-4 days after the request). Within a few weeks, I noticed a few problems. First, Pay-Per-View seldom worked, and when it did, the picture would freeze, or we would lose the service. Then it was another 30 minute call in to get a refund or have them reset the service. We also noticed some channels freezing or sound just going out. Last month, I finally decided to break through the long hold times to get this resolved.

The first time, I waited 3 days for a TWC guy to come out, only to find out that when they put in the new HD service, they didn't upgrade the cable between the outside connection to the TV. This meant that the signal was not strong enough and was causing the problem. Of course THIS guy couldn't fix it because replacing cables is subcontracted. So I had to wait 3-4 more days (after, yes, having to call again and wait for 30 minutes to schedule the service) to have someone replace the cable (and yes, at no cost to me). This fixed the problem for 90% of the time.

Last week we tried the Pay-Per-View (for a relaxing evening at home and nothing to do but see a movie we wanted to catch). No worky-worky: frozen screen and limited sound. Again, I called (and waited). This time the problem was apparently a pay-per-view fight was causing a heavy load in the area. After all I went through to get this all fixed, it failed when I most needed it to just work.

SO, I have had enough of TWC service. The people I have talked to have been helpful and friendly. And they do work to help fix the problems. My issue is with the fact that the company has some serious problems and does not seem interested in fixing them.

Replies
Advertisement
Time Warner is AWFUL!!!!!!
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- Time Warner is a perfect example of how pathetic and atrocious big business gets when any company has a total monopoly over a service region.

This company is completely and utterly PATHETIC!!!

I have had cable television in Los Angeles for over 10 years. Never before have I been harassed for fractional late payments, had my cable actually cut off for partial overcharges, and DAILY phone calls hounding me for money.

My bill is approximately 150.00 a month for TV and internet. This company decided, not only to levee a late fee against my account, (which I don't actually understand) but they then shut off my cable for my failure to pay it within about 8 days. That was ten days ago. I was forced to make a 30.00 credit card payment over the phone to turn service back on. It took me 48 minutes on hold to speak to someone; within minutes we were "accidentally" disconnected.

I then spent another 43 minutes on hold to get reconnected a second time. The customer disservice rep told me I had an additional balance due on Feb 1st of 150.00 dollars - give or take. I told him I would mail that in and that I didn't want to pay it yet. After paying my "late fee"(30 whopping dollars) I asked to speak to a supervisor about my dissatisfaction with this whole process.

I was told it was not possible to speak to anyone but they would call me back within 24 hours. I asked for clarity about this and they ASSURRED me I would be contacted within the next 24-48 hours by a supervisor.

I never did hear from anyone. NOTHING.

As disgusted as I was, I decided to just let it go anyway. It simply wasn't worth the another hour and a half of my life to try again.

Ten days later I went to order a pay per view movie (January 31st) and this feature was blocked due to "billing related issues."

That's odd, I thought. How could I be late again, I just paid my bill current ten days ago? The automated phone system then told me I had a balance of over 320.00!!!!!!

WTF!??!?!?!?!

In a moment lapse of reason I chose to walk down the path of shear madness and absolute stupidity and called in to speak to customer disservice again.

This phone call set a new personal record for hold times to speak to any organization... 1 hour and 14 minutes!!!

Wouldn't it be nice if massive multi-billion dollar corporations like Time Warner could actually hire enough people to handle customer service calls with... well, SERVICE!??!?

After cooking and eating an entire meal while on hold, I was greeted by a harsh and impatient woman who began by telling me I now had a 38 days past due balance of 152.00! This was very strange, since only a week and a half ago I paid my bill current... and was told that my next payment of 152.00 was due on February 2nd.

***scratching head while looking bewildered***

What's more, she was totally unable to tell me when this past due amount was originally due! I checked my check stubs and I have sent in payments of over 140 dollars monthly since at least October. The mystery grows larger…

I told her I wanted a copy of my “ledger” which is a breakdown of the last six months of service, payments, etc.

During this conversation, I told her about the previous “engagement” with customer service. She asked if I would like to speak to a supervisor right now.

“WOW!” I thought. Just like that?

A few minutes more hold resulted in her getting back on and saying that she couldn't transfer me, but she would be glad to have a supervisor call me back within 24 hours… blah, blah, blah…

Truly amazing. Why do we not have an open and competitive market when it comes to cable TV?

Needless to say, I am going to switch to direct TV. These scum don't deserve the 2000.00 dollars annually they get from me. If they cared at all, they would man their phones, solve problems, and come up with some real answers to customer concerns.

If you have a choice, DO NOT GET TIME WARNER CABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

…if you have a choice, that is.

Replies
Deceitful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- TWC increased our service rate so I said "I'm switching to AT&T" and CS responded with offer of $77/m for extreme internet and TV. I got a bill for $150. CS says the TV is 77 and internet 70 + taxes. I cancelled service for second and final time. TWC is not reliable and internet service is not as good as Uverse.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Time Warner Cable Internet Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 37 ratings and
146 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Time Warner Cable
60 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10023
1-800-892-4357 (ph)
Timewarner (fax)
www.timewarnercable.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services