Preview Review

Next Review

Time Warner Cable Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Customer Service and Extremely Long Wait Times!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I called TWC to find out what was going on with my online bill pay. I never miss a payment ever and TWC cancelled my payments as they arrived from my bank. I called to see what was happening and I wanted to make sure that they were receiving my payments. First you call the 800 number and go through the ringer for 25 minutes just to get to a real person. Then when you reach a real person, they are not the correct department so you are then put in the never ending phone loop once again for another 25 minutes.

After 50 minutes of wait time you arrive to the right person and as they answer the phone, the service representative accidentally hangs up on you and does not call back. I have called 3 times since and to this day, I have still not resolved the issue.

Replies
Advertisement
Refusal to Downgrade Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGETOWN, INDIANA -- I called Time Warner Cable to downgrade my services due to excessive rate increases (Time Warner recently acquired services from Insight in my area). I recently transferred my phone number to a new carrier (MagicJack) that saved me several hundred dollars each year. I contacted Time Warner customer service to discontinue my phone service and to downgrade some of my cable services. I did this on 1/9/2014 after MagicJack completed the transfer of my phone number.

Time Warner Cable told me there was a lock on my account due to the phone number transfer and that they could not process any changes. I asked them to go ahead and note the cancellation and they said I would have to contact them after the account was no longer locked. The service representative could not tell me when this would happen. I then asked to downgrade my cable services and was told they could not process any changes. I also attempted to downgrade via their Chat service and was told they could not process downgrades via chat. They can however process upgrades through this service.

Replies
Money Taken From My Account Without Permission
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am located in Erie Pa. I received 2 valued customer movie tickets from Time Warner. When I was having trouble redeeming the coupons I ended up speaking with a guy who got me interested in adding to my package. The end result of this ended up being the guy took money from my account WITHOUT my permission. When I contacted TWC I let them know what had happened and they kept giving me the runaround. I ended up contacting the corporate office to make a complaint with the president of TWC. I ended up speaking with his secretary and they told me that they were unable to pull all the calls so they could not confirm what exactly happened!

They then said that they would refund me any fees that I incurred with my bank and they credited my TWC account with the fees. Um, NO you put it back in my account! Ohhhh that will take 4-6weeks to do! They then told me the guy who did this will definitely get a coaching session for what he has done!!! Um, what!? Only a coaching session! Well, the guy took something he had NO right to take! That's it!? Really!

Very very disappointed in my experience with TWC! I do not recommend using them, I am a very dissatisfied customer! I have no clue what else to do except to look for another provider and spread the word to make sure you do not have your credit card information on file with TWC! They have no problem taking money out of your account!

Replies
Unacceptable
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- After AT&T finally p*ssed me off for the last time I decided it was time to change providers. I called Time Warner Cable the first of August and asked about how much basic TV and Roadrunner turbo it cost me. The woman over the phone told me it would cost me $72.66 a month. The woman took my personal information street address, social security number, that kind of stuff and, told me how would I like to pay for that over the phone or in person. I told her I would like to do it in person so I can pick up the equipment, she said no problem. After that it was about 12 o'clock we both hung up and I went out to eat with family.

It was 2:58 when I get up front at Time Warner Cable to talk to a person about getting the service and everything. The woman over the counter said that she saw everything was set up and all I would have to do is pay my first month for the service in advance and a deposit. I told her I talked to a woman over the phone and she said nothing about the deposit. The woman over the counter replied with they couldn't check my credit because I have none and that there would be a $50 deposit up front with the first service in advance, so the $72 became $123 before they would establish my service.

I paid it and she gave me the modem for the internet. Now that's when I asked her when would it be turned on and she replied later on today if not Friday. She said for more accurate time description I would need to call the 1866 number and ask for more details. I got home and hooked up the internet modem and hooked up all my TVs and nothing was working. I called Time Warner Cable and they told me that there's a service appointment set up for Friday at 5 o'clock. I told the man over the phone thank you and have a good day. He told me the same and then we hung up.

I was home all day Friday and no one came out to my house. I called Time Warner back and I was told that there was no appointment for Friday that I would have to schedule one for Monday. I said okay now I got to go all weekend without any service, what a drag. I setup a service appointment for Monday and the woman over the phone to be an all day thing from 7 a.m. till 10 p.m. And that the service technician could drop by anytime in between those two times, I said wow very accurate timing. Everything was set so we part our goodbyes and we hung up.

Was home all day Monday again no one came out to my house, shocking. I called Time Warner right before the calling center closed they told me I was still within the appointment time and can a rudely asked me not to call until tomorrow. I called Time Warner Cable Tuesday and they tell me the service appointment was set up for 11 to 12 that Tuesday, and they told me that no service appointment existed for Monday. I was just flat-out confused.

Around 11 o'clock there is a white Ford F 150 parked beside the utility pole across the street from my house at the neighbor's house. The truck had bags of potting soil in the back and a trailer attached with a large ladder in the trailer. He climbs the pole messed around with something for about 15 minutes got his ladder put it up and then left. My service still wasn't working.

Wednesday nothing else happened. The pole for the cable is in my backyard and no one touched it and my service still wasn't working so I called Time Warner back. The woman over the phone didn't tell me that could have been the cable man to hook up the service but she said that she didn't know for sure and in fact a service technician did report that he did hook up my cable but it wasn't. I told the woman over the phone I was getting pretty upset about this that she said that she scheduled appointment for tomorrow in between 11 and 12 for Thursday.

She told me that that was the earliest appointment I could get on Thursday and I told her that it would have been exactly one week that I paid over $100 for the service that I'm not getting. She apologized, we both said goodbye I hung up and wait until Thursday. Boy was I mad. The technician called directly at 11 and said is around the corner and we'll be there in about 10 minutes. Well he showed up 30 minutes later. I told him what happened about the other guy across the street he said he didn't know either.

In my backyard he'd looked at the pole and told me it wasn't hooked up, I told him it wasn't hooked up. He climbs the pole and 60 seconds later all the TVs started working and the internet started working too. He asked me did I have any other problems and I told him no. I got the internet registered and it was working completely and so he left.

Time Warner Cable also informed me that I paid for service days I didn't get and there's nothing that they were going to do about it. That was a weeks worth of service I paid for down the drain and on top of it they charged me $50 for the service call to come to hook up my service that was supposed to be done right the first time. Right now I haven't brought that to their attention so it's still on my bill. If they decide to remove it or not I'll make sure to update this to let you know what happens.

Other than paying for service for a week that I didn't get, getting the runaround, lies and other stuff I have to say just watch with the sign up with these guys. Now that the service has been turned on I've been using it for a couple days and TV fine the internet is blazing fast and I think I'm paying a pretty good price so I'm happy for now. P.S Time Warner Cable Informed me if I left that my $123 for not be refunded it would go to a credit towards my bill First. A bill that I never got. But what Time Warner Cable is trying to tell me about my $123 that they would keep it even know I left and never had any service.

Update 8/28/13 2:32 pm. Today Time Warner Cable has charge me $45 extra to install internet which they didn't and charged me an extra $30 for an "Easy Connect" follow up fee. I don't understand those two charges, but, together they add up to a whole month of service and I was told by representatives that they were first time customer charges and there are no way out of them.

I've already paid them a $123 in advance and now they're demanding $147 has my first bill. I don't know what these people are up to, but they're just downright CRAZY! Also another thing is driving me wild they're charging me full price for my turbo internet. No promotional pricing nothing. This is how they treat new customers. Now I see why they only lose them.

I don't even have enough to pay the $72 myself my brother pays half of it and I pay the other half and together we can't pay $147.62. Well then again it should have been a red flag that everyone in my neighborhood has AT&T U verse I'm the only one with Time Warner and now I know why. The Internet is still fast the TV still reliable no issues but it's just too much start up fees. They are just trying to rip you off. Once again I'm going to attempt to call them and ask them to remove those two fees or lose me as a customer.

Update September 9th 2013. Today I finally had those 2 charges for installation removed off my bill. After I called Time Warner Cable and talk to the first employee who was very rude to me. He told me that there was no way out of the two charges. He refused to listen to me and I told him about my story about the first technician not showing up, and the second technician did what the first technician should have done in the first place.

And he told me that the $45 fee was for someone to physically come out into my house and hook up my modem themselves, and that the $30 follow-up connect is where I hook it up myself but didn't do it right and they have to send somebody out to do it right. But that's two charges shouldn't be together. It was so called hooked up by a professional then why was I charged because I didn't hook it up right, that's what I didn't understand.

He was being so rude to me and wouldn't listen to me then I ask to speak to his manager. I had asked four times before I finally got transferred. Once I got his manager listen to me for about the first minute and then told me he would remove the charges on there was no battle or arguing with his manager. He just remove the charges right off my bill. I've already paid my bill for this month switch with $68.50 for some reason. I have everything on.

I'm happy everything was resolved and I can continue being a Time Warner customer, but I would have been even happier if none of this ever started. In the near future I plan to buy my own cable modem and save $7 a month of the finance fees that they charge for their modem. I will post information to let you know how that goes, and I plan on downgrading my internet from turbo to standard. I'll let you know how that goes too. For Now I'm happy with the service and I'm happy with the price.

Replies
Advertisement
Unethical contract and threats
By -

I contact Time Warner Cable to connect a home-based business/personal internet service. My residence was zone both residential or commercial. I resided there and obviously requested residential service as it was almost half the cost of business service & that I would be using it for mostly personal. The percentage of business use in the residence was less than 30% of the total square footage. Time Warner refused to provide residential service and claimed they would only offer business class service with a 3-year contract, and a difference of $82 (residential) vs $162 (business class) per month for internet.

After installation, the installer handed me a slip for me to sign agreeing that service was connected. I had no idea that the slip I was signing was for the 3-year contract. I had hoped to negotiate the contract on my account after connection. After connection, I tried to discuss this contract with a representative on the phone. He was quick, vague, told me the contract was my only option, they only offered 3-year contracts and mentioned NOTHING about termination fees.

After closing my account 9 months later and early, due to economic downfall of my industry and inability to cover my monthly personal and business expenses, I was informed that I owed them over $3000.00 for future service per my contract. I disputed this and informed the representative that I was unaware of an early termination fee and to please explain it to me. The representative said he would "settle my account" and I would be invoiced for a lesser amount. I waited for an invoice. One never came.

Twenty two months later, in early February 2011, I received a letter from CMI collection agency stating I owe "their client" $633.33. I contact CMI asking what this is for, and they stated Time Warner sent my old business account to collections. I asked CMI representative why Time Warner Cable did not make attempts to collect the outstanding balance they claim I owe FIRST, or send me an invoice, and the representative could not answer that question. I disputed and sent CMI a letter asking to settle, as I was told back in April 2009 that Time Warner would agree to settle my contract. I am not capable of paying this in full at this time.

I received a letter from CMI, simply stating Time Warner does not settle accounts. No additional documentation I asked for was provided (ie. final invoices or their attempts to collect). I disputed a second time and stated I would seek legal action and CMI threatened they would "purposely damage my credit" if I did not pay in full immediately.

I feel coerced into an unnecessary lengthy business contract and threatened by CMI's claim they will purposely damage my credit. I find sending a consumers account to collections, regardless if they owe or not WITHOUT their knowledge or offering an opportunity to be informed of status of their account, is unlawful. Why should Time Warner be allowed to dictate whatever settlement "amount" they want? Especially since their rates have reduced since 2009. They will never receive a dime for this "early termination fee", and these contracts should be against the law.

Replies
Undue effort for promised $100 "gift card"
By -

The Short Story: After putting me through over seven months of effort, more than fifteen phone calls, and a tremendous amount of aggravation, Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. could not even provide the full $100 that they promised when I signed up for their Fios "Triple Play" promotion. In the end, I only received $93.50. ** at Private Network Communications has not returned my calls thus far.

Comments: Almost all of the people that I spoke to (below) were very polite. This was such a drawn out series of lapses and inactivity that it seems unfathomable to me that overall, it was simply an issue of incompetence or indifference among staff level employees. Is Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. actually making a good faith effort to honor and issue all of the "gift cards" due to Time Warner's customers or is something else happening here?

When Time Warner outsources, they need to take some responsibility for the actions of the organizations that they hire. Does Time Warner effectively have a monopoly in NYC? Personally, I have no other option for cable television services. On the gift card instruction sheet provided by Saveology, no mention is made anywhere of "Private Network Communications" although they perform most of the customer services and administrative functions regarding the "gift card". Many of the calls that I made to Saveology have not been documented. I spelled the names of all employees phonetically; they may be misspelled.

The Long Story: On 10/12/2008, I signed on for Time Warner Fios "Triple Play", and was promised a $100 Mastercard gift card. On 11/16/2008 I completed and mailed the "Time Warner Cable Promotion Redemption Form" in order to receive my $100 Saveology gift card. The form indicates that a card should be received 16-18 weeks after all qualifications and subscriber obligations are satisfied.

On 2/2/2009, I spoke to ** at Saveology, requesting the status of my $100 gift card. She informed me that I did not use the proper rebate ID in completing the redemption form, and instructed me to add the proper rebate ID to my copy of the form, and fax it to Saveology.

On 5/8/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** informed me that they did not receive my faxed, corrected, redemption form in February. When I stated that I have the successful fax confirmation, she again stated that the person who receives all faxes was not able to locate it. She asked me to fax it again, and told me that she would call me back to confirm that they had received it this time.

On 5/8/09, after not hearing back from ** for several hours, I called ** myself, and she confirmed that she did receive my corrected redemption form. Upon my request, ** stated that since they have been delinquent in processing my card, she was willing bring my redemption form to her supervisor in order to expedite it more quickly.

On 5/28/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** stated that my redemption form was in fact escalated to a supervisor on 5/11/09, but that no progress had been made. ** stated that she did not know what the issue was or why the supervisor had not acted since receiving the form on 5/11/09. ** volunteered to look in to why my card had not been processed and call me back on 5/29/09. On 6/3/09, I attempted to call Saveology five times using the "Offer Redemption Center" phone number provided on the Redemption form of 1-877-405-5035, but each time I receive a message stating that the phone number is out of service.

Again on 6/3/09 I finally reached Saveology by calling a phone number on their website, once again to request the status of my card. I reached ** (ID# **) in Customer Service, and requested to speak to **. I was told that ** was having lunch. I explained my frustrating situation to **, and ** stated that if she could put me on hold for a few minutes she would find out as much as she could about my situation from her colleagues.

Within five minutes, ** discovered that my card had indeed been mailed to me in March. When I asked why nobody else at Saveology could figure this out for me, ** did not have an answer. ** provided me with the name and phone number of the person at the company who is responsible for issuing the cards. ** did not know the name of the company who had this responsibility.

On 6/3/09, I spoke to the Executive Vice President of Private Network Communications. He informed me that a card had been mailed to me in March, but that it did not have any charges against it. I told him that I did not receive the card. He confirmed my name and address, and said that I should have my card within 7-10 days. I received the card with its instructions in the mail on 6/10/09.

On 6/11/09 I attempted to activate the card through the automated menu, but did not have the required PIN number to do so. The instruction sheet that the card came attached to indicated that the PIN number should be on the instruction sheet, right where the card had been attached, but there was no such number printed. I reached a customer service representative who was able to activate the card anyway.

On 6/12/09 I attempted to make a purchase with the card, but apparently any use of a debit card requires a PIN number, which I did not have. Also on 6/15/09, I called Saveology for help, read my card number to the customer service rep, and they told me that my PIN number would be right behind where the card was attached on the instruction sheet. I told them that no such PIN number was printed, so she transferred me to "Cardholder Services", which is part of Private Network Communications, Inc.

After reading my card number to **, at Private Network Communications, told me that my card actually did not have a PIN number, and needs to be used as a Credit Card, as opposed to a Debit Card. When I explained to ** that my card has "Debit" printed on it, and the instruction sheet indicates that I should have a PIN number, he apologized, but offered no explanation of what may have gone wrong. Also on 6/15/09, I successfully made a $79 purchase using the Saveology card as a credit card.

On 6/16/09 I attempted to make a purchase using the remaining balance on the card. I attempted to make the $21 purchase using the card first as a credit card, then as a debit card. Both times, the card was rejected. On 6/17/09, I spoke to ** at Saveology and explained that the previous representative that I spoke to transferred me to Cardholder Services in an attempt to help resolve the issue of my remaining balance, but I cannot reach anyone there because the automated menu requires a PIN number, which, in my case, I do not have. ** told me that there was nothing that she could do because Cardholder Services is handled by an entirely different company.

Also on 6/17/09, I called Saveology again, and reached **. I explained my dilemma about the remaining balance on my card, as well as the fact that I do not have a PIN number. ** was able to provide me with a different phone number for Cardholder Services which does not require a PIN number. Also on 6/17/09, unable to reach anyone in person, I left a voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, using the phone number given to me by **. In my message, I explained the issue about the remaining balance on my card, and asked her to call me.

On 6/18/09, I left a second voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, asking her to call me. I tried to reach ** five different times by phone between 6/17/09 & 6/18/09. Also on 6/18/09, at a store, I was able to determine that there was actually only $14.50 remaining on my card, and that was why the $21 purchase had been rejected. After all this work to obtain my "gift card" and to actually get it working, Time Warner / Saveology / Private Network Communications had only given me a $93.50 "gift card", not the $100 actually promised.

Replies
The Worst Company I've Ever Dealt With
By -

SANTA MONICA, CALIFORNIA -- I had previously had trouble with Time Warner before when I was a cable customer. I canceled my service, and because of their practice of billing for the coming month, they still owed me money for one month. They sent it to my old address, and I had to call numerous times to get my address successfully changed. 2.5 years later, I still have not received my refund. In fact, they no longer have a record of my account.

In Jan. 08, I moved into a new apartment with my boyfriend, and our only option for DSL was Time Warner, unless we got a landline. I decided to give them another chance. Their internet connection was so bad that I couldn't pick up the signal even though I was right next to the modem. My computer picked up our neighbor's unsecured network, but not our own network that we were paying $45 a month for.

We cut off our service that month, and they assured us that we would be getting a refund because of the forward-billing that they do. Instead of getting a check, every month I kept getting a new bill with a growing balance. Each month, I would have to call them and speak to an idiotic customer service representative who did not know what was going on. They would try to convince me that I did not in fact cut off my service, and that I still owe them money. I would have to point out to them that it was not possible for me to be a customer when I returned my modem months ago. At this point, I would hear an "Oh, let me talk to my supervisor".

The customer service agent would come back on after putting me on hold, tell me it was their mistake, and they would cut off my service immediately, and I should no longer get a bill. Each time I would fall for it because I believed that it should not take a company numerous tries to shut off service to one customer. But then each month, I would come home to a growing bill.

The second to last person I talked to actually looked through my account and said once again that I never cut off my service. All the calls that I had made before were logged down as "bill inquiry" and "general programming". When I once again pointed out that I returned my modem in January, he "talked to his supervisor" and offered me a $40 credit to my bill, which was a ridiculous offer because Time Warner is the one who owes ME money, not the other way around. I said that I could not accept that offer, after which he talked to his supervisor again, and agreed to wipe my balance clean.

At this point, I was willing to accept a loss because I do not ever want to deal with this company again. This is of course conditional on the fact that they would finally shut off my service. I wanted to talk to his supervisor, and was put on hold, at which point I was hung up on. I had to call back again, and go through the whole process again, and finally got someone who said that all the previous customer service reps had tried to cut off my service online, when they actually needed to send someone to my apartment to cut off the cable manually. He promised that it will not happen again, but we will see next month if I get another bill or not.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
By -

ENCINO, CALIFORNIA -- We have had the worst experience with Time Warner customer service. We needed to change our plan from just internet and basic cable to include also a phone service. At the same time we found their package called All the Best which we have decided to opt for. To get this installed they scheduled a guy to come in over a week from then between 1 and 4 pm, which I guess is typical? As annoying as it is to have to wait a week. We figured fine let it go. They are busy.

The date finally comes and 3 pm hits so my wife calls them to see if the guy is still coming, which they assured us he would be before 4 pm. At 4 pm we call them again and they assured us that the guy would be there shortly. Around 5:30 we call them again and they say "Sorry the guy can't make it. We have to reschedule" give us some reimbursements etc. While we are doing all this annoyed on the phone the guy shows up finally. (Makes you wonder how much the support people on the phone know, apparently nothing. They just BS you all day long to shut you up.)

Then the guy starts installing all the new services when he gets a call from his boss, apparently they have a problem with another customer so he needs to go for 30 minutes to deal with that. He leaves his equipment behind as he assures us he will be back.

1.5 hours later we decide time to call support. They tell us that the guy is not coming back and we need to reschedule etc, which this time we refuse to listen to and after about 30 minutes going back and forth on the phone with the customer support trying to get them to understand that the guy left his equipment and our current service is not even working the guy finally comes back. (Again support has no clue what is going on with the field people.)

The guy gets everything hooked up, and we check everything, seems like phone and internet are finally working properly. However we do not have the cable package we had ordered. The technician informs us that his orders do not say anything about the new cable lineup thus there is nothing we can do and we have to call Time Warner to get it figured out. We call customer service again, and they tell us they can schedule a technician to come two days from then between 1 and 4 pm. Which we are extremely annoyed about, but apparently there is nothing we can do about it (by now it is 9 pm) so we accept.

Two days goes by and it is 1:07 pm, my cell phone rings with "Private Number" which is what my apartment buildings downstairs front door shows up as so I answer. I hear some fumbling and then the phone hangs up. After few moments the phone rings again with "Private number" again, I answer and hear nothing again except fumbling, I figure it is the technician at the front door so I hit the key to open the front door. Just because I felt something weird might be going on I get my shoes and walk downstairs, there is nobody at the door, so I figured must have been someone else as any number that the caller ID cannot fetch shows up as "Private Number".

After all you would think that if the front door was giving problems the technician would call the home number on the account to see if they can get hold of someone, which is my cell phone. An hour goes by and my wife gives me a call after she has landed from her flight and apparently the technician has left a voice mail on her cell phone stating that he was here and that he could not get hold of anyone in the apartment.

After this I give a call to customer service yet again, assuming that they can just dispatch the guy back to my building the same day as it is only 2 pm still well within the 4 hour time that the technician was supposed to show up. However I am given the same runaround. Now I have a time for the technician to come install it tomorrow between 9 am and 7 pm (yes anytime during the day).

My other alternative according to the guy is week from now because according to them "it is not their fault nobody was in the apartment when technician came by". Which baffles me as out of any number the tech should have been calling it would be the number on my cell phone not the one on my wife's and of course the front door is our fault if the technician doesn't know how to speak to the telephone headset on it as those haven't been around that long... even though he did figure out how to dial my apartment from it.

Now I already know that I will not be able to be here all day tomorrow, however I am hoping that they show up at a time when I am there. (Although I am sure that this will not be the case.) Thanks Time Warner for the worst customer service experience of my life so far! I would not wish my worst enemy to have you as the cable provider. Now I have to go research who I can switch at least the phone and internet to, unfortunately I am not allowed to install satellite TV on my apartment building so I will be stuck with Time Warner for that.

Replies
Advertisement
They Would Not Be Accountable For Their Mistake!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREEN BAY, WISCONSIN -- I receive my statements on-line, which is an email saying its ready, but I don't log into the site and look at them. It is the same amount every month. Also being a busy summer, I briefly scan my checking account and confirm balance and know my TW is set up auto pay. Well I happened to check it just yesterday 8/21/2013 and saw the balance was over $600. I had a heart attack. Thought how could this be, and how do I still have working cable and internet? I went and traced back my checking account and sure enough they have not taken out a payment since April. (I pay $116 a month).

I of course am so frustrated thinking I was paying all along and now I have yet another bill to add to my pile! My expiration date had changed in May, so why didn't they call me by June to tell me I am past due? The few other auto pays I have set up contact me a month prior to expiration, as they should if they want to get paid and appreciate the auto payment process.

I pick up phone and call them. 1st person somewhat understands, but I said, I would really like to talk to someone because this is not entirely my fault and I cannot just pay $600 in full right now! He says he has to transfer me to billing. Well I get Collections on the phone. They state, I must pay $475 immediately. I again state, "it is not that I don't want to pay it, but I am asking for some help here, because this is not totally my fault. And for the 3rd time, I am the one calling you, being honest and informing you of your defected system and the issue it has caused!" She says I must have to talk to customer care then as she is only a collections department and if I am not making a payment she cannot do anything.

Guy number 3 on the phone, basically says the same thing and I say, "I just want to talk to someone who can work this out for me. I have been a loyal customer for over 4 years, paying monthly on time always!" I state, "I can pay $300 in two days, but I would like to know what I am getting in return for your fault." He says "well it looks like they won't shut you off until next week." After an hour later, I said, "fine, I will call back Friday and make a payment."

I get home during tornado warnings and storms and guess what? NO TV or Internet! I was furious! I call and talk again to three different people and one a supervisor. They are now saying after I said I will pay $300 now if you turn my TV back on. Again the whole thing that this is not my fault and I have always paid and would not have called you in the first place if I wanted to stop paying! They tell me now at 8:00pm that I can only pay with Cash or cashier check! WHAT? Where do I do that at 8:00PM!

I said that is it, I am so done and this is absolutely ridiculous, how I am being treated for no reason at other than being honest and make the first attempt to fix an issue at hand! Had I not even called, I wonder how long before they would shut me off! I have dropped them, DISH is coming tomorrow and I will be paying a personal visit to return DVR and modem and let them know, they now will not see a dime of what I might owe in free Cable service, because of how they treated me and have no customer care service at all!!

I also have 2 friends who dropped them today and I will work on at least 7 more! Do the math TW!! How much money are you going to be out now? I should go to Netflix or Amazon Prime Broadcast and streamline everything for free, but until I am ready to go that route, I know one thing! Time Warner will never be used and I will make it an effort to exploit them in every way!

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- My cable and internet were shut off due to non payment, because the account holder moved out and has not yet switched ownership over to me so my fiance called to pay just the past due balance so we could at least get service back. We paid $137.90 and were told that our services would be turned back on immediately. SIX days later they were still off. So I called and they said they had no record of our payment on our account, despite the payment showing up on our credit card history. So the woman told us she would mark it as a missing payment and a mistake on their part, and reconnect our service immediately.

I told her to stay on the line with me until it came back online. It never did. She scheduled me an appointment with a technician for the following day at 1:00 pm. The next day, I waited until 3:00 pm before calling. I told the woman he was two hours late and we needed our cable and internet. She said the reason why no one showed up was because our account wasn't even paid in full, that we still owed $50.

Outraged, I asked her how that was possible since we paid the past due balance and were promised our service back. She said there is an additional $50 fee to reconnect a past due account and that they took that $50 out of the $137.90 that we paid, so technically our past due balance was then $50 short.

Nobody had mentioned that extra fee when we paid initially and they didn't even bother to call and tell me the technician wouldn't be coming. They just left me waiting for no one. So, being short on cash because I had already paid them, I had to borrow $50 from a family member. I paid the money, and was told once again that my service would be up and running in a few minutes. It never happened.

I called back and got a guy who didn't know what he was doing. He actually suggested to me that I try turning off my TV, and turning it back on again as if the TV would make a difference with the cable problem. After each question he would ask me, I could hear him relaying the information to someone else on the side, like he was equally as clueless as I was. So who is supposed to be helping me here? Certainly not him.

After 10 minutes of him telling me to restart my computer and turn off my TV, which was useless, he suggested I wait until midnight to check it again, because that's when my account would be refreshed. This morning it still wasn't on, so my fiance called AGAIN. They said they would send a specialist to come look at it but didn't give us a specific time of day. They said they would call before they came over.

So here I am now, waiting for the specialist again and the worst part is, I know they aren't going to refund me for the time we haven't had service, even though we've paid. If Time Warner wasn't the only service provider around here, I would drop them in a heartbeat. But I believe that's why they don't care about actually doing their job, because they don't have to fear losing customers seeing as they are our only option and they know it.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Time Warner Cable Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 62 ratings and
176 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Time Warner Cable
60 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10023
1-800-892-4357 (ph)
Timewarner (fax)
www.timewarnercable.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services