Preview Review

Next Review

Time Warner Cable Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unethical contract and threats
By -

I contact Time Warner Cable to connect a home-based business/personal internet service. My residence was zone both residential or commercial. I resided there and obviously requested residential service as it was almost half the cost of business service & that I would be using it for mostly personal. The percentage of business use in the residence was less than 30% of the total square footage. Time Warner refused to provide residential service and claimed they would only offer business class service with a 3-year contract, and a difference of $82 (residential) vs $162 (business class) per month for internet.

After installation, the installer handed me a slip for me to sign agreeing that service was connected. I had no idea that the slip I was signing was for the 3-year contract. I had hoped to negotiate the contract on my account after connection. After connection, I tried to discuss this contract with a representative on the phone. He was quick, vague, told me the contract was my only option, they only offered 3-year contracts and mentioned NOTHING about termination fees.

After closing my account 9 months later and early, due to economic downfall of my industry and inability to cover my monthly personal and business expenses, I was informed that I owed them over $3000.00 for future service per my contract. I disputed this and informed the representative that I was unaware of an early termination fee and to please explain it to me. The representative said he would "settle my account" and I would be invoiced for a lesser amount. I waited for an invoice. One never came.

Twenty two months later, in early February 2011, I received a letter from CMI collection agency stating I owe "their client" $633.33. I contact CMI asking what this is for, and they stated Time Warner sent my old business account to collections. I asked CMI representative why Time Warner Cable did not make attempts to collect the outstanding balance they claim I owe FIRST, or send me an invoice, and the representative could not answer that question. I disputed and sent CMI a letter asking to settle, as I was told back in April 2009 that Time Warner would agree to settle my contract. I am not capable of paying this in full at this time.

I received a letter from CMI, simply stating Time Warner does not settle accounts. No additional documentation I asked for was provided (ie. final invoices or their attempts to collect). I disputed a second time and stated I would seek legal action and CMI threatened they would "purposely damage my credit" if I did not pay in full immediately.

I feel coerced into an unnecessary lengthy business contract and threatened by CMI's claim they will purposely damage my credit. I find sending a consumers account to collections, regardless if they owe or not WITHOUT their knowledge or offering an opportunity to be informed of status of their account, is unlawful. Why should Time Warner be allowed to dictate whatever settlement "amount" they want? Especially since their rates have reduced since 2009. They will never receive a dime for this "early termination fee", and these contracts should be against the law.

Replies
Advertisement
Undue effort for promised $100 "gift card"
By -

The Short Story: After putting me through over seven months of effort, more than fifteen phone calls, and a tremendous amount of aggravation, Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. could not even provide the full $100 that they promised when I signed up for their Fios "Triple Play" promotion. In the end, I only received $93.50. ** at Private Network Communications has not returned my calls thus far.

Comments: Almost all of the people that I spoke to (below) were very polite. This was such a drawn out series of lapses and inactivity that it seems unfathomable to me that overall, it was simply an issue of incompetence or indifference among staff level employees. Is Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. actually making a good faith effort to honor and issue all of the "gift cards" due to Time Warner's customers or is something else happening here?

When Time Warner outsources, they need to take some responsibility for the actions of the organizations that they hire. Does Time Warner effectively have a monopoly in NYC? Personally, I have no other option for cable television services. On the gift card instruction sheet provided by Saveology, no mention is made anywhere of "Private Network Communications" although they perform most of the customer services and administrative functions regarding the "gift card". Many of the calls that I made to Saveology have not been documented. I spelled the names of all employees phonetically; they may be misspelled.

The Long Story: On 10/12/2008, I signed on for Time Warner Fios "Triple Play", and was promised a $100 Mastercard gift card. On 11/16/2008 I completed and mailed the "Time Warner Cable Promotion Redemption Form" in order to receive my $100 Saveology gift card. The form indicates that a card should be received 16-18 weeks after all qualifications and subscriber obligations are satisfied.

On 2/2/2009, I spoke to ** at Saveology, requesting the status of my $100 gift card. She informed me that I did not use the proper rebate ID in completing the redemption form, and instructed me to add the proper rebate ID to my copy of the form, and fax it to Saveology.

On 5/8/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** informed me that they did not receive my faxed, corrected, redemption form in February. When I stated that I have the successful fax confirmation, she again stated that the person who receives all faxes was not able to locate it. She asked me to fax it again, and told me that she would call me back to confirm that they had received it this time.

On 5/8/09, after not hearing back from ** for several hours, I called ** myself, and she confirmed that she did receive my corrected redemption form. Upon my request, ** stated that since they have been delinquent in processing my card, she was willing bring my redemption form to her supervisor in order to expedite it more quickly.

On 5/28/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** stated that my redemption form was in fact escalated to a supervisor on 5/11/09, but that no progress had been made. ** stated that she did not know what the issue was or why the supervisor had not acted since receiving the form on 5/11/09. ** volunteered to look in to why my card had not been processed and call me back on 5/29/09. On 6/3/09, I attempted to call Saveology five times using the "Offer Redemption Center" phone number provided on the Redemption form of 1-877-405-5035, but each time I receive a message stating that the phone number is out of service.

Again on 6/3/09 I finally reached Saveology by calling a phone number on their website, once again to request the status of my card. I reached ** (ID# **) in Customer Service, and requested to speak to **. I was told that ** was having lunch. I explained my frustrating situation to **, and ** stated that if she could put me on hold for a few minutes she would find out as much as she could about my situation from her colleagues.

Within five minutes, ** discovered that my card had indeed been mailed to me in March. When I asked why nobody else at Saveology could figure this out for me, ** did not have an answer. ** provided me with the name and phone number of the person at the company who is responsible for issuing the cards. ** did not know the name of the company who had this responsibility.

On 6/3/09, I spoke to the Executive Vice President of Private Network Communications. He informed me that a card had been mailed to me in March, but that it did not have any charges against it. I told him that I did not receive the card. He confirmed my name and address, and said that I should have my card within 7-10 days. I received the card with its instructions in the mail on 6/10/09.

On 6/11/09 I attempted to activate the card through the automated menu, but did not have the required PIN number to do so. The instruction sheet that the card came attached to indicated that the PIN number should be on the instruction sheet, right where the card had been attached, but there was no such number printed. I reached a customer service representative who was able to activate the card anyway.

On 6/12/09 I attempted to make a purchase with the card, but apparently any use of a debit card requires a PIN number, which I did not have. Also on 6/15/09, I called Saveology for help, read my card number to the customer service rep, and they told me that my PIN number would be right behind where the card was attached on the instruction sheet. I told them that no such PIN number was printed, so she transferred me to "Cardholder Services", which is part of Private Network Communications, Inc.

After reading my card number to **, at Private Network Communications, told me that my card actually did not have a PIN number, and needs to be used as a Credit Card, as opposed to a Debit Card. When I explained to ** that my card has "Debit" printed on it, and the instruction sheet indicates that I should have a PIN number, he apologized, but offered no explanation of what may have gone wrong. Also on 6/15/09, I successfully made a $79 purchase using the Saveology card as a credit card.

On 6/16/09 I attempted to make a purchase using the remaining balance on the card. I attempted to make the $21 purchase using the card first as a credit card, then as a debit card. Both times, the card was rejected. On 6/17/09, I spoke to ** at Saveology and explained that the previous representative that I spoke to transferred me to Cardholder Services in an attempt to help resolve the issue of my remaining balance, but I cannot reach anyone there because the automated menu requires a PIN number, which, in my case, I do not have. ** told me that there was nothing that she could do because Cardholder Services is handled by an entirely different company.

Also on 6/17/09, I called Saveology again, and reached **. I explained my dilemma about the remaining balance on my card, as well as the fact that I do not have a PIN number. ** was able to provide me with a different phone number for Cardholder Services which does not require a PIN number. Also on 6/17/09, unable to reach anyone in person, I left a voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, using the phone number given to me by **. In my message, I explained the issue about the remaining balance on my card, and asked her to call me.

On 6/18/09, I left a second voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, asking her to call me. I tried to reach ** five different times by phone between 6/17/09 & 6/18/09. Also on 6/18/09, at a store, I was able to determine that there was actually only $14.50 remaining on my card, and that was why the $21 purchase had been rejected. After all this work to obtain my "gift card" and to actually get it working, Time Warner / Saveology / Private Network Communications had only given me a $93.50 "gift card", not the $100 actually promised.

Replies
The Worst Company I've Ever Dealt With
By -

SANTA MONICA, CALIFORNIA -- I had previously had trouble with Time Warner before when I was a cable customer. I canceled my service, and because of their practice of billing for the coming month, they still owed me money for one month. They sent it to my old address, and I had to call numerous times to get my address successfully changed. 2.5 years later, I still have not received my refund. In fact, they no longer have a record of my account.

In Jan. 08, I moved into a new apartment with my boyfriend, and our only option for DSL was Time Warner, unless we got a landline. I decided to give them another chance. Their internet connection was so bad that I couldn't pick up the signal even though I was right next to the modem. My computer picked up our neighbor's unsecured network, but not our own network that we were paying $45 a month for.

We cut off our service that month, and they assured us that we would be getting a refund because of the forward-billing that they do. Instead of getting a check, every month I kept getting a new bill with a growing balance. Each month, I would have to call them and speak to an idiotic customer service representative who did not know what was going on. They would try to convince me that I did not in fact cut off my service, and that I still owe them money. I would have to point out to them that it was not possible for me to be a customer when I returned my modem months ago. At this point, I would hear an "Oh, let me talk to my supervisor".

The customer service agent would come back on after putting me on hold, tell me it was their mistake, and they would cut off my service immediately, and I should no longer get a bill. Each time I would fall for it because I believed that it should not take a company numerous tries to shut off service to one customer. But then each month, I would come home to a growing bill.

The second to last person I talked to actually looked through my account and said once again that I never cut off my service. All the calls that I had made before were logged down as "bill inquiry" and "general programming". When I once again pointed out that I returned my modem in January, he "talked to his supervisor" and offered me a $40 credit to my bill, which was a ridiculous offer because Time Warner is the one who owes ME money, not the other way around. I said that I could not accept that offer, after which he talked to his supervisor again, and agreed to wipe my balance clean.

At this point, I was willing to accept a loss because I do not ever want to deal with this company again. This is of course conditional on the fact that they would finally shut off my service. I wanted to talk to his supervisor, and was put on hold, at which point I was hung up on. I had to call back again, and go through the whole process again, and finally got someone who said that all the previous customer service reps had tried to cut off my service online, when they actually needed to send someone to my apartment to cut off the cable manually. He promised that it will not happen again, but we will see next month if I get another bill or not.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
By -

ENCINO, CALIFORNIA -- We have had the worst experience with Time Warner customer service. We needed to change our plan from just internet and basic cable to include also a phone service. At the same time we found their package called All the Best which we have decided to opt for. To get this installed they scheduled a guy to come in over a week from then between 1 and 4 pm, which I guess is typical? As annoying as it is to have to wait a week. We figured fine let it go. They are busy.

The date finally comes and 3 pm hits so my wife calls them to see if the guy is still coming, which they assured us he would be before 4 pm. At 4 pm we call them again and they assured us that the guy would be there shortly. Around 5:30 we call them again and they say "Sorry the guy can't make it. We have to reschedule" give us some reimbursements etc. While we are doing all this annoyed on the phone the guy shows up finally. (Makes you wonder how much the support people on the phone know, apparently nothing. They just BS you all day long to shut you up.)

Then the guy starts installing all the new services when he gets a call from his boss, apparently they have a problem with another customer so he needs to go for 30 minutes to deal with that. He leaves his equipment behind as he assures us he will be back.

1.5 hours later we decide time to call support. They tell us that the guy is not coming back and we need to reschedule etc, which this time we refuse to listen to and after about 30 minutes going back and forth on the phone with the customer support trying to get them to understand that the guy left his equipment and our current service is not even working the guy finally comes back. (Again support has no clue what is going on with the field people.)

The guy gets everything hooked up, and we check everything, seems like phone and internet are finally working properly. However we do not have the cable package we had ordered. The technician informs us that his orders do not say anything about the new cable lineup thus there is nothing we can do and we have to call Time Warner to get it figured out. We call customer service again, and they tell us they can schedule a technician to come two days from then between 1 and 4 pm. Which we are extremely annoyed about, but apparently there is nothing we can do about it (by now it is 9 pm) so we accept.

Two days goes by and it is 1:07 pm, my cell phone rings with "Private Number" which is what my apartment buildings downstairs front door shows up as so I answer. I hear some fumbling and then the phone hangs up. After few moments the phone rings again with "Private number" again, I answer and hear nothing again except fumbling, I figure it is the technician at the front door so I hit the key to open the front door. Just because I felt something weird might be going on I get my shoes and walk downstairs, there is nobody at the door, so I figured must have been someone else as any number that the caller ID cannot fetch shows up as "Private Number".

After all you would think that if the front door was giving problems the technician would call the home number on the account to see if they can get hold of someone, which is my cell phone. An hour goes by and my wife gives me a call after she has landed from her flight and apparently the technician has left a voice mail on her cell phone stating that he was here and that he could not get hold of anyone in the apartment.

After this I give a call to customer service yet again, assuming that they can just dispatch the guy back to my building the same day as it is only 2 pm still well within the 4 hour time that the technician was supposed to show up. However I am given the same runaround. Now I have a time for the technician to come install it tomorrow between 9 am and 7 pm (yes anytime during the day).

My other alternative according to the guy is week from now because according to them "it is not their fault nobody was in the apartment when technician came by". Which baffles me as out of any number the tech should have been calling it would be the number on my cell phone not the one on my wife's and of course the front door is our fault if the technician doesn't know how to speak to the telephone headset on it as those haven't been around that long... even though he did figure out how to dial my apartment from it.

Now I already know that I will not be able to be here all day tomorrow, however I am hoping that they show up at a time when I am there. (Although I am sure that this will not be the case.) Thanks Time Warner for the worst customer service experience of my life so far! I would not wish my worst enemy to have you as the cable provider. Now I have to go research who I can switch at least the phone and internet to, unfortunately I am not allowed to install satellite TV on my apartment building so I will be stuck with Time Warner for that.

Replies
Advertisement
They Would Not Be Accountable For Their Mistake!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREEN BAY, WISCONSIN -- I receive my statements on-line, which is an email saying its ready, but I don't log into the site and look at them. It is the same amount every month. Also being a busy summer, I briefly scan my checking account and confirm balance and know my TW is set up auto pay. Well I happened to check it just yesterday 8/21/2013 and saw the balance was over $600. I had a heart attack. Thought how could this be, and how do I still have working cable and internet? I went and traced back my checking account and sure enough they have not taken out a payment since April. (I pay $116 a month).

I of course am so frustrated thinking I was paying all along and now I have yet another bill to add to my pile! My expiration date had changed in May, so why didn't they call me by June to tell me I am past due? The few other auto pays I have set up contact me a month prior to expiration, as they should if they want to get paid and appreciate the auto payment process.

I pick up phone and call them. 1st person somewhat understands, but I said, I would really like to talk to someone because this is not entirely my fault and I cannot just pay $600 in full right now! He says he has to transfer me to billing. Well I get Collections on the phone. They state, I must pay $475 immediately. I again state, "it is not that I don't want to pay it, but I am asking for some help here, because this is not totally my fault. And for the 3rd time, I am the one calling you, being honest and informing you of your defected system and the issue it has caused!" She says I must have to talk to customer care then as she is only a collections department and if I am not making a payment she cannot do anything.

Guy number 3 on the phone, basically says the same thing and I say, "I just want to talk to someone who can work this out for me. I have been a loyal customer for over 4 years, paying monthly on time always!" I state, "I can pay $300 in two days, but I would like to know what I am getting in return for your fault." He says "well it looks like they won't shut you off until next week." After an hour later, I said, "fine, I will call back Friday and make a payment."

I get home during tornado warnings and storms and guess what? NO TV or Internet! I was furious! I call and talk again to three different people and one a supervisor. They are now saying after I said I will pay $300 now if you turn my TV back on. Again the whole thing that this is not my fault and I have always paid and would not have called you in the first place if I wanted to stop paying! They tell me now at 8:00pm that I can only pay with Cash or cashier check! WHAT? Where do I do that at 8:00PM!

I said that is it, I am so done and this is absolutely ridiculous, how I am being treated for no reason at other than being honest and make the first attempt to fix an issue at hand! Had I not even called, I wonder how long before they would shut me off! I have dropped them, DISH is coming tomorrow and I will be paying a personal visit to return DVR and modem and let them know, they now will not see a dime of what I might owe in free Cable service, because of how they treated me and have no customer care service at all!!

I also have 2 friends who dropped them today and I will work on at least 7 more! Do the math TW!! How much money are you going to be out now? I should go to Netflix or Amazon Prime Broadcast and streamline everything for free, but until I am ready to go that route, I know one thing! Time Warner will never be used and I will make it an effort to exploit them in every way!

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- My cable and internet were shut off due to non payment, because the account holder moved out and has not yet switched ownership over to me so my fiance called to pay just the past due balance so we could at least get service back. We paid $137.90 and were told that our services would be turned back on immediately. SIX days later they were still off. So I called and they said they had no record of our payment on our account, despite the payment showing up on our credit card history. So the woman told us she would mark it as a missing payment and a mistake on their part, and reconnect our service immediately.

I told her to stay on the line with me until it came back online. It never did. She scheduled me an appointment with a technician for the following day at 1:00 pm. The next day, I waited until 3:00 pm before calling. I told the woman he was two hours late and we needed our cable and internet. She said the reason why no one showed up was because our account wasn't even paid in full, that we still owed $50.

Outraged, I asked her how that was possible since we paid the past due balance and were promised our service back. She said there is an additional $50 fee to reconnect a past due account and that they took that $50 out of the $137.90 that we paid, so technically our past due balance was then $50 short.

Nobody had mentioned that extra fee when we paid initially and they didn't even bother to call and tell me the technician wouldn't be coming. They just left me waiting for no one. So, being short on cash because I had already paid them, I had to borrow $50 from a family member. I paid the money, and was told once again that my service would be up and running in a few minutes. It never happened.

I called back and got a guy who didn't know what he was doing. He actually suggested to me that I try turning off my TV, and turning it back on again as if the TV would make a difference with the cable problem. After each question he would ask me, I could hear him relaying the information to someone else on the side, like he was equally as clueless as I was. So who is supposed to be helping me here? Certainly not him.

After 10 minutes of him telling me to restart my computer and turn off my TV, which was useless, he suggested I wait until midnight to check it again, because that's when my account would be refreshed. This morning it still wasn't on, so my fiance called AGAIN. They said they would send a specialist to come look at it but didn't give us a specific time of day. They said they would call before they came over.

So here I am now, waiting for the specialist again and the worst part is, I know they aren't going to refund me for the time we haven't had service, even though we've paid. If Time Warner wasn't the only service provider around here, I would drop them in a heartbeat. But I believe that's why they don't care about actually doing their job, because they don't have to fear losing customers seeing as they are our only option and they know it.

Replies
Mistreatment of Their Customers,disgusted by Their Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORONA, CALIFORNIA -- I have been a customer with Time Warner ever since they took over Continental cable. Since the beginning, we have had an ongoing problem with tiling and freezing of the picture on our T.V. The typical process for me is.. I call for a technician to come out and they always have fixed the problem doing something out in the box at curbside. Then after six or so months, the tiling and freezing begins to build back up again. Oh by the way, each tech has a different lie as to why I am having this problem.

This “new way” of Time Warner is.. that when you make an appointment, there will be an automated call the night before and if you are not there to answer that call, then they will.. CANCEL.. the appointment.. WITHOUT.. letting you know. That leaves the customer sitting home waiting for a technician to show up that is not coming, like our time is not as precious to us as your time. This has happened to me several times. This is.. NO WAY.. to treat your customers and is wrong, wrong, wrong and a sure way to lose customers.

Then to add insult to injury, this last time I had to call in for the “same problem” I had another no show of the technician. Called back “again” for another technician to show up and usually the second time you make an appointment, they will actually show up, but only if you answer the phone an hour before they come out. If you miss that call for any reason, throwing trash outside, going to the bathroom, they will not leave a message to let you know its them, they just won't show up. Why would anybody want to stay with a company who treats us this way???

Then a tech did show up, and after staring at my TV for a few minutes (don't know what that did) he said that the problem must be out in the street, and that he was not a street tech and I was told that he would send out a street tech the next day and hook up to my cable and screen for two hours to see if he could catch the problem. They never did this before. Why would Time Warner send out a tech that could not fix the problem which I told them before that the problem has always been in the street and that is where they have always fixed the problem in the past? I was told that I did not have to be here for that. I was here anyway just to see if one would actually show up.. he did not.

I called back and said that I was still have the tiling problem and freezing and was told that they would send out yet another tech. The techs name was ** and I felt that he was the first guy to be honest with me and gave me some instruction as what to do to get to the bottom of this ongoing problem. He told me that if these things did not work, then to call back and ask for him so I don't have to keep explaining the problem to new techs. I did just that as the problem still was not fixed.

I talked with a girl named ** who completely ignored me when I told her that I need ** to come out. She said that she could not guarantee ** would be the one to show up. I told her, "then don't bother having someone other than ** come out as I would not open the door and it would be a waste of his time and mine." Her response to me.. “have a nice day Ma'am.” Then I called back to speak to a supervisor and got someone named ** whose title was escalation specialist, whatever that means. He was sort of laughing at the problem, but told me he would see to it that ** came out and then proceeded to ask me to call the next morning at 8:00am to make sure that ** was coming out. I told him I would, even though I did not think I should have to do that.

I spoke to a man named ** who put me on hold for a minute or two, then came back and promised me that ** would be out that same day between the house of 3 and 4:00pm. Guess what happened.. ** DID NOT SHOW UP, some other tech showed up instead. As I told **, I sent him away. Another day wasted of mine through no fault of my own. Time Warner, would it have really been so hard for your employee tell me up front which day ** can come out instead of playing these games with your customers. This is the last straw for me.

At this point I am willing to go to any other service despite their own set of problems. I will not stand to be treated disrespectfully and lied to and laughed at and ignored by any company, yet alone putting up with the same problem for years. I WAS willing to stay with you even though you could not seem to fix the problem. As long as I could have six months of no tiling and freezing, I was willing to live with that. But your customer relations is getting worse and worse by the day.

It is sooooo funny to me that after an appointment is made the employee will say that I will be getting a call to see how I was treated by that person. You are more interested in how polite your employee was on the phone than actually hearing if they have fixed the problem and the frustration and lies the customer had to go through to get the problem fixed. I will not be fooled that you care by making sure the employees are polite on the phone, that is only a part of the problem. And I am not getting any of these calls that the employee says is coming my way.

I am left feeling that Time Warner no longer cares about the customers who keep them in business. I have been laughed at by your employees, I have been ignored by your employees, I have been lied to many times by your employees.. I am tired, very tired of being treated this way by the Time Warner Company. You do not run your business honestly, you treat your customers as if we have no alternative to switch to another service. We do, and I will. My husband and I are currently searching for a new service.

Yes, every cable company or dish service has their set of problems. It is not the problems that bother me. It's the way I am being treated by Time Warner that is getting “me” (a long time customer) to switch to another service. I am really surprised that Time Warner is still in business the way you run your company. It's not right the way you treat your customers! You might want to think about changing the way you do things before you lose anymore long time faithful customers.

Replies
Product Delivery with Poor Customer Service
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- In November, we relocated to the Santa Clarita Valley of California. We quickly established service with TWC for Home phone, Internet, and cable television. We have had issues with our telephone service from the beginning. Most of our incoming calls were not coming through. Individuals and businesses were getting a message that our telephone service had been disconnected or is out of service.

Needless to say, this was alarming since my oldest son attends elementary school where they had tried to call us on a number of occasions and got this message. This has been the case with Doctors, Family Members, and perspective employers and casting agencies.

When I learned of the situation, I immediately contacted TWC and alerted them to the problem. At first, I was told that it was probably because I had not paid my bill. However, I quickly corrected the individual by informing him that the bill has been paid on time. In fact, as a general rule, we pay our bills when we receive them. This was the case with TWC.

We have had more technicians coming out here to our residence to investigate the problem. They have done a few things to try to appease us, such as change out the Telephone modem. Each and every time, they suggested that there was no such problem and that they felt I was trying to get out of paying the bill. Again, stupid since each time, the bill is always paid. Just as I did the other day. Only once did a TWC customer service representative acknowledge that it happened to him twice and he ended up calling me to my cellphone.

The other issue is that they repeatedly point the finger at AT&T, suggesting that they are fowling the telephone line somehow. However, this recorded message was occurring with all carriers, both landline and cell. Interestingly, they have managed to clean up most of it. However, the one that seems to be a problem is AT&T landlines calling into my TWC Line. I had been accused making it up. Yet, there are just too many witnesses.

Recently, I got fed up with TWC's failure to fix the problem and called the offices of the President, Glenn Britt. His Executive Customer Service Intervention team was put on the line where I was told there was nothing they could do, accused me of lying and threatened me with service disconnection and call the police. Naturally this infuriated me more and demanded to speak with a supervisor. We got into a heated exchange and they hung up on me while calling me an "Ass".

I pay them for a services that are not being delivered. Since this occurred, we have experienced problems with the sound coming from both our television set boxes and our internet connection. We loose sound and have to reset the cable boxes at both TV's. I have had to reset the Internet Modem as well, due to issues there. We experienced something new last night with the telephone. You could not hear the person on the other end of the call when the called more than a minute. You started to hear an echo, became scratchy, and much of the call was inaudible. This occurred several times.

Replies
Advertisement
TIME WASTED!!!
By -

CARLSBAD, CALIFORNIA -- My Mom died on 9.04.2008. Time Warner Cable owes us a huge refund, and just found out they want more money from my Mom. I called to find out why my cable was going in and out. I used my cell phone. I gave Time Warner my cell to resolve the credits due us. So during the call it goes to collections and wants me to pay some figure for some service???. I went down to my other hard line and called and got right through (12 min), the NBA games where causing the spotty service. OKAY. I asked what's up with my cell and some money due? Well she says it because of this and that. Typical Time Warner.

When my Mom bought this home in April 2008, with the bundle, phone, Internet, TV, package, we hoped see would enjoy the new home and the bundle package. My mom got worse. During late April 08, May, June, July, Aug, she passed on Sept 4, 2008... she kept on paying Time Warner. She never got to use the TV, phone, computer. We were in hospitals, out of town, in town, hospice out of town. A very tough time. She paid the bill every MONTH.

In Sept I had to write out the bill. But every time we would get back to Her home there would be several calls from Time Warner about some collection. My mom was too sick to handle it so I would call and they said, sorry it must be an old number and yes your mom's account is just great. I said please do not keep calling, as this upsets Her. Well it continued on and on. Did not matter if we had paid. Her phone number was linked.

So around the end of December 2008, I called TWC and asked to speak about this service that nobody was using. They said "we are so sorry about your mom. We can shut down the service and we will credit you for the following months". I told them OKAY... They said "just keep paying the bills, YOU WILL get a credit".

Now we are up to APRIL 2009. One year and now the bills are coming in a la carte. I must have made 200 calls to TWC. I used to get INDIA. Then I got Desert Falls, but the same old run around. If you needed to speak to ** she was not in, but ** would help you. I felt like this was some sort of shell game! I STOPPED Paying TWC in Month number 13 or 14 and still with the new a la carte issues I was still way behind. They have now put my mom account in collections and they still send me bills about someone that lived at that address years before my mom.

I have spoke to so many folks that said I will HANDLE IT. It has never happened. I called about just my own personal service on my cell phone and the Lady said "DID YOU MAIL IN A DEATH CERTIFICATE". I did. It was returned. I was told **, we know there is no usage, we know. You did not have to do that. The tragic saga goes on. It is now May... almost JUNE 2010. TWC still has not paid me back. So TWC in San DIEGO is horrible. Good luck to all that due the right thing and still lose with this firm. Making $$$$$$ off a victim of CANCER. Time Warner Customer service is horrible. I am calling New York. Take Care. **.

Replies
The Worst Company Ever
By -

CARROLLTON, TEXAS -- If you are thinking to get service with Time Warner Cable think it twice. I have been with Time Warner Cable in the past and to this date they still suck. I have decided to accept an offer that was left in my front door. "Get Time Warner Cable today with installation fee waived." Well I have decided to call and had them come to my home. I was getting the basic cable TV and wireless service 3. I have decided to get more channels and a higher range on the wireless so I called the Time Warner customer service the day before the technician came over to my home. I was told to tell the guy to call Time Warner from my home to upgrade and get what I wanted.

Well it turned into "The nightmare before Cable". Lol! This guy was rude to start with. My partner was home when he got there and I called to tell him to call Time Warner for me instead of getting basic TV and internet 3 to get cable and internet #7. I was like OMG! Was this guy having a bad day or what? (Wait I am the one who will have bad days with Time Warner.) This guy (if I can call him technician) had no clue what he was doing. I hung up with him and was on my way home hoping to be there on time to talk to him in person but he was already gone. The cable TV was installed all right. The internet...

He installed the basic 3 not the range 7 and I could not get a signal in my computer at all. Here I go calling Customer Service again. The phone representative said "Sorry for the inconvenience. We will reschedule to install the following week". "Wait wait a minute! Next week? No no no. I need my internet now" (I said). The phone representative then said she will contact the guy that was in the area already to get it installed. Oh God here we go again.

The guy came. Not so rude this time. He was not able to install the internet at all for some reason. I don't know why. I am not a technician. He is. Well, he had no clue either. Can somebody please help me here? I got so frustrated and told the guy to just install the standard cable and forget about the internet. Everything was OK. We were enjoying our TV until the bill came over. Wow! What the **? Time Warner was charging me 3 installation fees, $29.99, $39.99 and another $39.99. Does this make sense to you? I was supposed to get free installation but I got 3 charges here.

Here I go again. I called customer service but of course the call had to escalate to a supervisor. I was livid (Not rude. Let me make that clear). Time Warner decided to remove those charges and they told me that it will take about 3 days before my due date 8/27/09 to get just the normal charge. Should I believe them? I am so afraid of that new bill. Bottom line, I have Time Warner Cable because I have no choice. They are the only ones in my area unfortunately. I hope that Verizon or anybody else get our area also for me to say "bye bye" technician.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Time Warner Cable Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 62 ratings and
176 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Time Warner Cable
60 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10023
1-800-892-4357 (ph)
Timewarner (fax)
www.timewarnercable.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services