Preview Review

Next Review

T-Mobile Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The service is very bad
By -

I'm the customer of T-Mobile since I reached to United States for 8 years. I always get the T-Mobile services from the dealers since 2010. Someone use my husband name to opened an account without we known that. We only know when we received a billing statement one day. We settled this unknown account about 9 months. As this happened we decide to open an account at the T-Mobile store at Flushing. The Code store is 7683 Main Street of Flushing.

When we open a new phone services the service is very good and I brought a insurance also from the T-Mobile in case the phone had a problem but when it happen when we really need the backup service is very very bad as I don't figure out this will happened to me. I went to line up the line but when is my turned I asked a favor to check my phone the sales represent asked me to called to 1800 toll free number to claim my phone. I said I did called but the insurance company asked a few question that I don't know how to answer.

The first question is about the, “Is it a device problem?” The second question is a memory card problem and the third question is the Sim card problem. I don't know how to answer them so I went to the store to get the answer and asked them directly called to the insurance company and you know what happened? After is my turn on line they called to 1800 toll free they walk away without helping. When I asked the person who helped me before to talk to the insurance company to see what happened he said he not free. Can you believe that?

He name is Paul but on that day there is 2 people name Paul. He an American guy not only that on the same day. I still remember is on 08/09/2011. I buy accessories I tried to paid can you believed that the store manager name Jack asked me to make a line again and I said I did make a line already and the person who in serve me walked away without helping. You know the store manager said then, “You have to make a line again”. Can you believed that?

When I was waiting for the my turn to paid the accessories I asked the store manager Jack if someone can help me to use this accessories. He said yes but when I paid already and asked for helped again what happened? The sales representative name called Hoa said he don't know how to fix the accessory and when I was with him that time he went to serve another customer to opened a new account and asked me to wait when it was my turned. He trying not to serve me because I'm not opening a new account I'm buying a accessory and just make a claim of my phone.

I told Hoa, “You now make already twice in a line and you ask me to wait because you want to serve another person that is behind 2 of me," and I getting so angry and I tell him about it but he feel like nothing. I said very loud over there, “I not a customer of the T Mobile? Why nobody can serve me?” Then come another person called Jack, “He is not the store manager, he just a sales representative. He come to me and said, “Let me help you.” He fixed my accessory and also helped me to answer the question for the insurance claim company about the three question that the insurance company asked.

He told me that the insurance company supposed to do the claimed for me in the phone and the question that they asked of course as the customer how they can answer only the person who works the in the T Mobile can answer. Jack the representative also mention that the insurance company is not helpful at all so the claimed of my phone he have to do in the store directly and he said it not supposed to do it in the store. You see I went to the store for 4 hours waiting on line for twice and nobody is helping until I shouted in the store for help. I remember that time was 2 Paul and 2 Jack.

The Jack store manager don't ever want to help you when he know you are on trouble getting help. He know that because I asking him for help. The store at 7683 T Mobile had the discrimination at the Chinese people because the sales representative including store manager was thinking I am the Chinese person come from China and they are American Chinese with a good education.

I cannot believe that Chinese people treat Chinese like that. I feel so bad about it and hard feeling. My husband and daughter was there that time also. They cannot believe also. The discrimination and the service in the Chinese area. Vivivn and Steven feel so disappointed about the service in store 7683 in Main Street Flushing.

Replies
Advertisement
Coverage Has Gone From OK to Deplorable
By -

ALBUQUERQUE,, NEW MEXICO -- We have been T-Mobile customers for 7-8 years, we have never gotten great cell coverage in our area, but acceptable. In May of this year our service started to deteriorate on our 4 T-Mobile phones, poor coverage at home, work places and school. I called to inquire and was told they would troubleshoot my phone... Blah blah... 3 hours later the phone just says SOS, no bars, they said I need to go through this process on all the phones, that coverage was normal, service never improved.

We were OK with having to place our phones in the window and run outside in the rain, heat or cold weather to keep the call from dropping, but now we have to drive 2 or 3 miles just to pick up one bar. We can't reach my child at her school, she cannot call us if she needs to. They suggested we use our wireless router to improve service which works OK at our offices but does not work at our house, but if we take a call at the office we can't leave till the call is over or the call will drop.

My wife and I are both in sales and rely heavily on our phones, text messages and e-mails. We have the family unlimited plan, which is basically the family very limited plan since the phones do not work 90% of the time. I made a couple trips to the local T-Mobile store to speak with a human, always nice, say they will send a tech out to our area and they will report back.... Guess what... They never did.

Go visit again... Same thing... No results. We finally get someone on the phone one day that has a solution, they send us a booster that we place in our window at home and this will improve coverage in one of the areas, only problem is the booster requires 2G or 3G service, at least one bar. I have never seen a 2G or 3G signal on my phone, best is 3 or 4 bars with EDGE on it which I believe is another carriers tower. I review the T-Mobile coverage map to see it has changed since our service has, still shows we get good service at home, school and work.

We begin thinking we will have to switch phone companies, buy new phones, deal with all our contact information, set up new blackberries or smart phones, learn the new features, find the right plan etc., but T Mobile wants $700.00 to terminate our phones which don't work, they tell me to fax a letter to the Customer Relations Department, only the representative was not aware that they don't receive faxes anymore.

After 7 days I call to follow up and they tell me I have to write a letter, Customer Relations only relates to letters, no phones, faxes or e-mails, so I send a letter and quickly get a response... NO.. A form letter... They won't waive the fees, but if I would like to speak with someone about troubleshooting my phone to call the Customer Care department.

Customer Care does not care and Customer Relations does not want to speak with Customers, very odd company! I was told there was no one else I could speak with and to write another letter. I googled the corporate office and was transferred to "corporate customer relations", left a message, will report back on the outcome. Really can't understand how a companies service can get so bad, so quick and they want me to be penalized for leaving. If my cable didn't work I don't think my cable provider would expect me to pay or charge me for cancelling.

Replies
If T-Mobile Calls, RUN for Your Life...
By -

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- RUN as fast as you can if you are considering doing business with this company!! I signed up for service 4/26/2011. I got my phones and activated them on 4/27/2011, and they were disconnected for non-payment the next day. I was holding a receipt in my hand that said PAID IN FULL. The Sales dept and the Tech Support dept could see the payment in the system, however, Billing (which is located in some foreign country) said I never paid.

Never mind the fact that I had to pay before they would even ship the phones, never mind the fact that the Sales dept and Tech Support conference called Billing for me and told them I paid. The ONLY thing billing had to say was "what is your credit card number?"

Of the approximate 40 calls I have placed over the past few weeks, the only time that I spoke to people in US was when I called Sales or Tech Support. I did get one person in Tech that seemed knowledgeable but all the other times I called, they seemed to be reading from a script and the decision tree always led them to "Remove battery to reset phone, that will take care of it. If it doesn't, call back in an hour." After the first 5 times you reset the phone, I would have to say that may be you should try something different.

When you ask for a supervisor, you will be denied. If you get lucky and get a supervisor on the phone, they will tell you they are going to research it and call you back. I have been waiting for 20 days. No call yet. When the Executive Response team gets involved (their number is 877-290-6323), they will ask you to fax them copies of the receipt to prove payment (I did) and then they will ignore all the emails you send and voice mails you leave for the next 2 weeks.

I did file complaints with the FCC, the FTC, the Public Service Commission in my state, the State Attorney Generals office, the BBB, the Consumerist, Rip-Off Report and My3cents. I don't know if it will do any good. I paid $204. I have a receipt and sent them a copy, yet T-Mobile Missing Payment dept says I did not pay, they will not investigate it further, no credits will be issued to my account.

They also informed me that since there is a balance of $204 on my account, I cannot cancel service until it is paid in full and that I will be charged early termination fees. I think I deserve a FULL REFUND. I have to travel 2 miles from my home to get 'Edge' service, forget about getting 3G. I have been insulted by several representatives and ignored by others.

I have some recommendations for anyone unfortunate enough to get involved with T-Mobile. Document EVERYTHING. I have screenshots of their website 'My Account' -- good thing, because it changed daily. Keep every e-mail and scrap of paper they send you. Like receipts that say "PAID IN FULL". And when you send back their phones and literature, follow the directions exactly and I dunno, maybe have your friend videotape you packing up the box at the local UPS office. ;)

I have sent e-mails to all the departments I could think of at T-Mobile-dot-com. Sales, Customer Loyalty, Operations, Executive Response. If you can get a list of people in those departments (check Bloomberg Businessweek) their e-mail is 'first name dot last name at T-Mobile dot com'. ;)

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what else I can do? I have considered small claims court. Would it be defamation of character to report me to a credit bureau after I show proof of payment? Does anyone have any ideas? HELP!

Replies
Ripped off and lied to and charged more fees
By -

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- Posted by ripped off & lied to just so you can be rich | April 22, 2011 - 6:32pm. I counted the days until my 2 year T-Mobile contract ended. On March 31, 2011, it was finally OVER. I switched to Verizon. My phone number was ported out on the 31st and less than 30 minutes after I switched to Verizon. I got a final text message from T-Mobile clearly identifying the fact that my contract was over.

I called T-Mobile within the same hour and asked for my prorated bill amount through the 31st of March. I was told that they could charge me another month because I didn't give them 30-day's notice and while I was on the phone I contested that with the fact that it clearly was not in the contract. So then I figured they would not try again to gouge me.

But today I just got a bill from them charging me for two additional weeks of service. I called them and was told oh yes they can charge me for a whole extra month because they said it was in their contract and I must have signed it. I said no way and that I will filing a complaint with the FCC and the attorney general's office for unfair billing practices. Not to mention that I always felt I had paid too much for the amount of time I actually used on my phone but they would NOT let me downgrade my service unless I signed up for two more years.

So I got sucker punched with paying them big bills for minimum use and very, very poor service in the form of multiple dropped calls, multiple loss of service even within my own home. So needless to say I am sick and tired of these companies charging for service even though they actually do not provide good service. I stayed in the contract and counted the end of contract days so I would not get gouged with extra fees and they still found a way to rip me off.

I did my part by paying them on time (for bad service) and waiting until the contract was clearly over yet they found a way to get it all. To rip me off anyway, to get their full payments from me, and finding a new way to gouge me further. As a consumer, we don't have any rights anymore it seems from these large corporations. They get it ALL, both ways yet we get the shaft! I never recommended this company to anyone in the first place but now more than ever I am speaking out loud! I am sick of this. Where are my rights?

I followed contract, they appear to have stashed so much crap in between the lines that they always get their way! Wow!!! If I ran a business like that, no one would come back to me! Big business, they get their tax breaks, we don't. They get their rights to charge fees for nearly everything and call is 'local tax or service fees' or some other 'pretend term for tax' and then they get tax breaks! They only care about their shareholders and screw the public! They promise service but have numerous 'dropped calls' and don't have to refund us for the inconvenience.

They gouge us if we go out of contract with huge fees, they gouge us when we follow instructions for ending contracts, they get away with all this but yet if the general public were to try any of their 'antics' we would be in big trouble. They get away with taking advantage of their customers, lying to their customers and if they 'piss off' a customer, well who cares?

They get other customers who are unknowingly being promised big lies and signing up on contracts as we speak. We customers are simply disposable property to them and they are ready at any given moment to steal or lie to us in order to get what they want...money...profits, tax breaks....selfish greedy liars!

When do we get our breaks! They charged me one partial monthly payment 3/15/2011 to 3/30/11 $26.66 then on the 31st they continued the billing by charging me for that ONE day another 'partial' fee of $23.33 and then repeated the same method with text messages 3/15/11 to 3/30/11 $2.66 and then for ONE day 3/31/11 charged me another $2.33. Then add all their real and 'pretend taxes' to get an amount owed to them of $68.48. Yet on the 31st, they canceled my service before noon and charged me anyway!

Replies
Advertisement
T-mobile --here's how to get your money back
By -

To similar complainants, do not bother contacting Robert Dotson. He already stepped down as T-Mobile CEO. You may not also receive a response back from their Executive Customer Service email address. Your best bet would be to file a complaint with the BBB, FCC, and State Attorney General. In my case, T-Mobile finally agreed to credit the $300+ fee after my BBB complaint. Yet somehow in their response they managed to deny any fault/responsibility on their part- go figure. Here was my original complaint to BBB:

I'm filing a complaint against my cell phone provider, T-Mobile, because T-Mobile has wrongfully billed us of a one time charge of $327.99 and is unwilling to waive the charge. My entire family and I have been customers of T-Mobile for many years. On August 23, 2010, I renewed our two year contract with T-Mobile and purchased a Samsung Vibrant at PhoneX, a T-Mobile retail store. However, the Samsung Vibrant started having trouble turning off and on. The phone was never dropped and always had a protective covering.

On January 15, 2011, my husband and I brought the phone back to PhoneX. The employee at the store inspected both the outside and inside of the phone (took the phone apart) in front of us. He called T-Mobile and put in the exchange request for me. I asked him multiple times if this exchange is free and whether I would be charged for anything, and he said NO since there was no physical damage and ensured us that the shipping fee was all we had to pay.

However, when we received our February statement, a whopping $327.99 was charged as a one-time fee. Below is the documentation of the phone exchanges that took place afterwards with T-Mobile consumer service. Please note that some names were not spelled out over the phone so I had to guess on the spelling.

3/4/11 evening: Angela says that the phone was charged because although no outside damage was found with the phone, there was "inside damage." I say, of course there was inside damage because it was a defective phone from the get-go! She was not able to provide any evidence of where exactly the phone was damaged. I tell her that since my T-Mobile store employees already checked the phone, that either the phone was damaged on the way to the return center or the examiner there purposely damaged it. She could not provide an answer and transferred me to her supervisor Herbetta.

Herbetta says that there's no way that I would get a defective phone because all phones are checked when they leave the manufacturer (Toyota probably said the same thing by the way). I ask her why T-Mobile even offer warranty if all phones are PERFECT. She offers to reduce my fee in half as part of "good will." I told her that is unacceptable and that I will not pay a penny. She transfers me to her manager Victor.

Victor tells me that my T-Mobile store was not really a T-Mobile store but a dealer. I tell him that since the store carries T-Mobile phones and sells your plans, how could the customer possibly distinguish which is a store is completely T-Mobile which one isn't? I explain to him that the store employees had verified the return process on the phone with someone else at T-Mobile.

Victor also offers me a 50% reduction which I do not accept. Victor tells me that he will look into the records of what exactly was wrong with the phone and pull up the phone conversation that took place with the PhoneX employee on the day the return request was made. He tells me he will give me call back at 11 AM the next day. He never called.

3/30/11 evening: Pammy - She transfers me to her manager Anaette. I tell her that I want to speak to Victor and gave her the ID number. She tells me that she doesn't know of a Victor and that the ID number doesn't exist. She denies that anyone at T-Mobile ever offered the 50% reduction. I ask her to provide evidence of where the phone was damaged or just return the phone to me so I can get a third party to look at it. She says that she can't do either and hangs up on me.

3/31/11 and 4/4/11: I go on the web and I find the email and number for T-Mobile's Executive Customer Service team. I send an email on each day and receive no response. I also call the number provided for the Executive Customer Service team only to be sent directly to a voicemail box that says that it's currently full in messages. 4/5/11 afternoon: I find the number of Robert Dotson (T-Mobile CEO) on the web and call the number. I learn from the operator that he's no longer with the company and she transfers me to someone else's voicemail so I can leave a message.

During this time, PhoneX has also called T-Mobile customer service numerous times to explain the situation on our behalf and told me that a T-Mobile customer service representative will call me to provide a resolution or evidence. I never received any calls. The PhoneX senior store manager is also willing to provide a statement if requested.

Replies
Incompetent, Unqualified Customer Care Service Representatives
By -

This happened to me twice already. Last July-August, 2010 I was unhappy with my postpaid account so I switched prepaid. The lady I spoke to said she is offering me a $25/month plan for 200 minutes/month if I switched back. But I had already paid $50 for the prepaid card. She said that the offer is good for 90 days if ever I decide to switch back. So after consuming the $50 in 2 months, I tried to take up on that offer.

When I called back customer care, a different lady told me that the plan I was promised no longer exists. It just recently was scrapped off. And I had to wait 24h to be converted back to postpaid. I waited 48h. When I called back, they said anytime from 24h to a week. So I waited a week, with no phone. After a week, I called back already frustrated and they said they can only offer me the 500 minutes plan for $30 and added text messaging. I was billed for $60 that month, and when I looked, the messaging feature wasn't included. They didn't make me pay for the text charges at that time.

The second incident is when I cancelled my no-contract account most recently and had my number reserved so I could use my sister's extra account. The only thing they had to do for me is to change the number of my sister's extra phone line to the number I had reserved. My sister called a representative and he said I had to wait until the current billing cycle is over. When that day came, my number and account got deactivated.

My sister called another customer care representative who said that my number was switched to prepaid. This is after having spoken to another representative who was asking her to confirm her identity by waiting for a password being sent to her email. My sis had me call prepaid customer care who knew nothing and who passed me on to the next postpaid customer care representative who this time seemed to make sense.

I was asking for her extension number but said she has none and offered to call my sister, which she did and was able to make the changes, but we had to wait for another 24h for the activation. So tomorrow we will see if they were true to their promise. If not, you'll see me writing here again.

What I learned from these two experiences are the following: (1) A majority of the T-Mobile customer care representatives either don't want to help you or are not equipped with the necessary information and training needed to carry on with their job. (2) It's best to take note of the name of the rep, the date and time you called, the length of your call if necessary and the reference number of your conversation.

So when you call back for a follow-up, you can refer them to the reference number instead of having to retell your predicament again. (3) Be persistent. You're the customer here and all you really need is some quality service for the price you pay and for the number of years you stayed with them.

Replies
Tired of being charged for services I don't use because they can't sell me on them.
By -

I was a SunCom customer for years. NEVER and I mean NEVER had a complaint with their service or customer care. When they told you that they were going to do something you could count on it. Their word meant something! Then T-Mobile took Over. What a total nightmare that has been! I have three phones, one for myself and the other two for my daughters while they were in school and you know how the girls like to text to their friends. I quickly found out it was cheaper to get unlimited services on the phones. I told them that I would pay for their phones until they were out of college and got a job.

The oldest got out and got married to a Marine (takes such good care of her). I was going to call and cancel one of the phones. The woman on the line at the time was very nice and said that I could keep all three phones for the same price and my youngest daughter is just starting college and getting married (to a musician!). Nothing against musicians - but sometimes it takes a while so I decided to keep the phones. They already had a child and another on the way, my daughter was in college and working too so. I even had internet put on the phones. Which brought the bill to $190. The nightmare is just beginning! It gets better! (I'm sarcastic I know.)

My mother was told that she had two weeks to live that she had stage 4 cancer. I went to Tennessee to tend to her believing that she was dying. I called to make sure that my phone was covered in that area and was told yes that it was. The next month I received a $2,980.00 dollar phone bill. (Remember - I have unlimited EVERYTHING on my phones.) I called for days arguing about it. I ended up paying around $800 for their mistake which has become the norm. (I'm so stupid for not just going with someone else, but I have had a lot going on in my life.)

My mother is dying, I'm still trying to get over being poisoned by someone who was supposed to love me for insurance money and I have to deal with severe pain on a daily basis, while not trying to let anyone down. I figured that was the best that I would do with some of the most hateful and rude customer service people that I had ever had the displeasure of talking to and made the best out of it, while my poor mother's hair was falling out from the chemo, she was going blind and actually did from the tumors behind her eyes, and was in a wheelchair because the cancer had eaten through both of her hips. I'm getting off track.

I called to see how much it would cost to put internet on my phone and they told me it would be $30 a month, I declined. She was extremely hateful about it so I told her "you know what - just take it off my daughter's and her husband's phones too." They didn't really need it. They have internet service at home and I really needed to save as much money as I could right now. My Phone bill never went down. I still pay $190. I just was too busy with my mother to question it and figured that they would just tell me that it was some kind of monthly upgrade fees of some kind so.

I wasn't in the mood to argue with any nasty customer service person about it with my mother dying and my nerve pain was getting worse. But then my bill after that wasn't just $190 (the first month or two) but after that it was $240 I had to call every month. They said it was internet charges. I tried to tell them that I couldn't use the internet on my phone because some web2go page had started popping up every time my wi-fi box would pop up. I would pick my service and the browser would open up to web2go, not always, but when it did I couldn't use it because it said that I had to agree to pay $1.99 a MB so I would close it out.

It seemed however they were able to manage to put T-mobile in as my internet carrier so that they could track my wi-fi usage. I was able to take care of that. But still can not use my phone most of the time. And when I do they can tell me when I do. It is none of their business. I have asked every month for it to be taken off of my phone and blocked. It is an invasion of privacy. I shouldn't be forced to order a service that I don't need. I talked to a nice man today but still had to pay for service that I didn't use. Can they really be hurting that bad that they have to steal from their customers. I can promise them that I need my money more than they do.

I had the creep's name and employee number but I am trying to get in touch with the president of the company. I want to show him that I still have the web2go on my phone and never agreed to pay for ANY web charges!!! But have paid for many because I have been lied to and told they were for my children's 411 calls and other things like that. This guy had just put that charge back on my phone a couple days ago after it had been taken off by a supervisor several months ago and as mean as he was a won't be completely satisfied until he is fired!!!

I pray that someone makes some serious personnel changes in this company and policy changes. You don't keep customers by charging them for services that they do not order every month and then telling them that it's new policy!!! It won't be long and this company will lose every customer they have. If they keep going like this.

They don't even have an e-mail address so you can send them complaints and you know that the complaints sent through the mail are promptly filed - file #13. Thanks to this site I found a bunch of them so they will all hear from me.

Replies
Service Issues
By -

CINCINNATI AREA -- When I first signed up for T-MOBILE back in 2008, I was quite pleased with the plan I purchased. I did the Fave Five Plan. It was affordable and exactly what I needed. My phone was decent, the payment was decent and the first month I was very content with T-Mobile.

Sometime after this I started having a lot of dropped calls. It was very awful! I assumed it was my phone so I called Tech Support and they had me reset my phone and told me that they would have someone look into the cell tower closest to my home. I really did not believe this would be my solution. I had "retry", "not available" errors on my phone and was told to replace my SIM card, which a T-Mobile store did for me at no charge. I figured the next thing I needed to do was to get a new cell phone, and I did.

What is great about T-Mobile is they allow you to do an early upgrade, they allow you to also make installment plans on a phone with NO interest. I was happy I was able to upgrade my phone before my two year contract expired. I was also pleased that when I erroneously ordered the 500 minute Even More plan (thinking it had Fave Five), their customer service allowed me to go right back to the Fave Five grandfather plan and there was no error in billing because of it. I get my new phone thinking it might actually improve my service. I even added more to the phone such as unlimited internet.

However -- NO SERVICE issues still, this was horrible! There was absolutely NOTHING I could do to get better service. Nothing. Dropped calls, constant texts in limbo, my texts getting sent days later or I get texts days later. Internet was a total JOKE. I saw absolutely NO reason to keep a phone I cannot use because I rarely had service.

98% of the time I was in my home my cellphone had NO bars and was constantly saying "searching". I had a call drop twice during a phone interview. I had calls drop during long waits for customer service, I had calls drop in the middle of me trying to leave a voicemail of a client. I could no longer trust T-Mobile's service.

I ported my number in August 2010. My new carrier took my T-Mobile number over and I didn't have to do a thing. My T-Mobile account was deleted as soon as my number was ported, which took no more than 30 minutes to do.I am so very happy with my new service. T-Mobile did not mess up my bill, my final bill was $0 and I have yet to receive a termination fee, which confuses me because I agreed to a new two year contract when I did the upgrade. My new carrier works amazingly and I am glad I am no longer with T-Mobile because of the service issues.

If you live in the Cincinnati area (corner of Indiana, Northern Kentucky) you will probably get very spotty service. Meeting a person that worked for T-Mobile, he told me that about 50% of the people they sell plans to come back within the 14 day period because they can't get service in this area. I have yet to know of anyone personally that has been happy with their T-Mobile service here. It might be great elsewhere, but I would make sure you test the hell out of it within your trial period or you'll be just as frustrated as I was for almost TWO years because of NO service at home, work or anywhere really!

I honestly do believe that my area had decent coverage and at some point that changed. I even attempted to roam on the two networks that my phone picked up when I could not get a signal, AT&T and Cincinnati Bell. I was unable to do this.

In my area I am very pleased to say that AT&T is really great for coverage. There has only been one place in the middle of nowhere my phone did not have a signal with AT&T. T-Mobile was spotty and terrible. I do believe you should stay away from T-Mobile if you live in this area because it is quite frustrating not being able to hold a 5 minute conversation without a dropped call.

If you decide to test another cell company out, see what their return period is and test it for at least a week, or at least two depending on the time frame of the policy. If you decide you like the new carrier's service better, have them port your old cell number to your new phone. This cancels everything with your previous carrier. PS. Still not sure why I have not received a notice for a cancellation fee.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service is a Joke!
By -

My boyfriend and I recently switched from Verizon to T-Moble so we could share a plan together. My boyfriend was the main account, but we added myself so if I needed assistance or to make changes, I would be able to do so. We were told by a sales representative when we purchased the phones that it was available to us and my boyfriend set it up with a customer service representative on the phone within the next week. We both decided to wait to switch our numbers until our Verizon contract ended which was the following month. He called and got his switched immediately no problem.

Today I try to do the same. I provided all of the information they requested of me, including my bf's name and last 4 numbers of his social security. I was told by the representative today that with this information, I would be able to switch the numbers. I was then surprised when he said he needed to speak with the main billing account, my bf. Unfortunately, he was in a situation where he couldn't even have his phone so I tried to explain that he's unavailable. Their response was, "Well, we can't do anything until we speak with him."

I was annoyed, but I've worked in customer service before and I know what's it like to be on the other side of the phone so I kept my cool. I explained that my bf is unavailable, but I have provided the information you requested, so please follow through with the process. His response is again, "Well, we can't do anything until we speak with him." I was starting to get annoyed. I said that I understood him the first time, but he's unavailable. I asked why he couldn't fulfill my request when I was added to the account. He then just repeated himself again! I felt like I was talking to a broken record.

Knowing this conversation was going nowhere, I asked to speak with a supervisor to come with a solution. He puts me on hold, then a couple of minutes later, asks for my bf's number so he can call him instead of transferring me to the supervisor. I mean really, what part of "He's not available" is hard to understand? I was getting frustrated at this point and asked for the supervisor again, having to spend a few minutes why I must speak with a manager. Only then did he do it after making me wait at least 7 minutes.

So I get on the line with the supervisor and I explain my situation to him. After I finish, he pauses, and then says the EXACT same thing as the customer service representative! At this point I am mad and normally I am a laid back person. I asked why they would add me to the account if it doesn't do anything? I also asked if there was ANY other solution possible, but he just kept repeating himself, not listening to me.

After the 4th time I had to cut him off, stating that I understood him the first 3 times he said it. He started to repeat himself again, which I interrupted and said, "Look. I not hear to yell or argue with you. I asked to speak with you to see if there are any other options for me. I know what your policy is, you've been repeating it non-stop since we started. If you have nothing to actually offer me, then this conversation is over. So, do you have any solutions for me?" He paused and meekly said no. I mean, I felt like I was talking to a little robot kid!

I called another number to file a complaint, but I can only do it online through the account (not including those who were added of course) or I could get a power of attorney. Really? I have to go that far just to get my old number? I have never dealt with such horrible ignorance they call customer service until now. I cannot believe they would treat their customers this way and have nothing to offer. Once our contract is over, I am leaving T-Mobile in a heartbeat!

Replies
Customers Evidentially Are Not Very Important!
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- Earlier this month I went into a T-Mobile store to purchase a phone that I had been interested in. A Blackberry curve. I asked the sales associate if they had the phone available in the color that I wanted and when I was told that they did, I asked about the price. I was told that it was $99.99 up front with a $50 mail in rebate. This was all that was said about the price at this time.

When I got to the counter to complete the transaction I was told that the phone needed the internet. I informed the sales associate that I did not want the internet. I just wanted to use it as a phone and she stated that was possible but in order to have all functions of the phone it required the internet. I stated that I just needed it to work as a phone.

9 days later I noticed that there was a $2 charge on my bill for a partial month of required blackberry web. I immediately called customer support to see what this was. I was informed that it was a requirement of getting the phone at the price I received it at. I explained to them that this was never disclosed to me and they told me I would have to take it up with the store and have them remove the data plan for me.

After hanging up, I immediately called the store and spoke with the assistant manager that was on duty. He continued to basically call me a liar by telling me there was no way that happened because his employees are trained properly. I called customer support back to try to get some help in this matter. They offered to lower the data plan from $30 to $20 per month, which still was not satisfactory to me considering I did not want the plan and was not informed that it was going to be added to my bill in the first place.

The next day I called the store back and spoke with the store manager who told me he would not remove the data plan but would reimburse my gas for me to come return the phone since I live 37 miles from the store. I asked to speak with the district manager and was told that the manager would give him a call and call me back. When he called me back, I was informed that I could not contact the district manager to actually speak with him, but could have his email address. However, he was not going to remove it either.

The biggest issue was that I had already sold the phone I had previously. I feel that T-Mobile stole from me in a sense because now I will be forced into getting another phone (that I didn't want in the first place) at a higher price and be stuck in a 2 year contract extension with them. I have been a customer since 2003 and always pay my bill in full every month. I have 5 lines of service with them and am on their highest minute plan and messaging plan for these lines.

I felt that there was more that could be done, so I again tried customer support - (a supervisor this time). They told me again that there was nothing they could do. I eventually got sent to the customer loyalty department who after about 20 minutes of talking said the most they could do for me was offer me a $20 credit to my bill for the inconvenience.

I asked why they could not at least give me a better deal on a phone since I wasn't going to be getting what I actually wanted and would have never bought the phone (or sold my other phone) if the sales representative would have disclosed the "catch" to me getting the discount on the phone I purchased. They give great discounts to new customers, why can they not do the same for a customer that (when I take back the phone) will not be contractually obligated to stay with them. I was told that they do this for new customers to generate new revenue.

What a ridiculous answer! You are basically losing money to make money because they will now lose me and my 5 lines as well as the rest of my family which is 10 accounts all together because none of us are under contract and all because I am not as important as a new customer. They really should train their associates better - or better yet maybe not have young kids selling on commission - because I really feel that the associate purposely omitted the "catch" because she knew she would lose the sale (and thus the commission) since I had already told her that I did not want the internet.

As a side note, the data plan also was not listed on the contract that I signed and was given a copy of. I brought this up to every single person that I spoke with and was told that it is not on the written contract because it is not required on every phone purchase and when it is required it is ALWAYS disclosed and explained to the customer before they sign the written on contract. What a load of crap!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

T-Mobile Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 111 ratings and
447 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
T-Mobile
12920 S.E. 38th St.
Bellevue, WA 98006
800-318-9270 (ph)
425-378-4040 (fax)
www.t-mobile.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services