Preview Review

Next Review

T-Mobile Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have been with T-Mobile for 7 years. During that time I have had them disconnect my phone when I called in to activate a phone for another line. I have had several coverage and billing issues. The worst is that I was lied to in order to be signed to a new contract. I called T-Mobile in January because I was having problems with my phone and I was close to renewal. I asked if there was anything they could do for me since I had been with them for so long.

The girl I spoke to exclaimed that she could give me the Samsung III for $10.00 as long as I signed up for another 24 month agreement with all of my lines. I advised I wanted to make sure that one of my lines did not have a contract as I planned to disconnect it and I also advised that I wanted to be sure that when my husband's phone came up for renewal I would be able to get a discounted phone for him as well. I was advised that I would be able to get him the same phone I have for $189.00. I explained that if it was not possible I did not want to sign another contract. Again I was assured it would be done. A month later I got a bill for $900.00.

I called the company to find that I had been charged full price for my phone and that the girl never noted that she had only charged me $10.00 but they went ahead and gave me the credit for the phone that I was promised. I again verified with them that I would be able to get the promo price for my husband's phone when his phone came up for renewal. I was again told that I would. I called again the next month to make a payment over the phone and again I asked another representative was it noted that my husband's line would get the discount. I was told yes.

I called back this month because his phone is eligible for upgrade this month to ask what date I could upgrade his phone for discount pricing. I was told they no longer do discounted phones and that I would have to put a down payment of $249.00 and pay $20.00 a month for him to up upgrade. I was livid and asked to speak to a supervisor who also informed me that they would not honor what they told me but she would allow me to pay $180.00 down that day and pay 20.00 a month thereafter.

I explained that was not was I was told originally and that I wanted the deal that was offered to me. She would not budge and told me I could do it that day but could not guarantee it would be available to me after that date. I filed with the BBB and I spoke to my attorneys who wrote them a letter. Still to this day I have not heard back from them.

I called today and spoke to a supervisor who had a nasty attitude that advised me she could ask her manager to release my other lines from contract so I would not say they were forcing me to stay in contract under false pretense. She got her manager to release the other line out of contract but my husband's contract is not out until June. So he is now stuck with a phone that freezes up on him and no options. T-mobile does not care about their customers at all, it is all about the money. I have been a loyal customer for 7 years and they basically gave me the finger. And to top it off they still left me in contract so I have to go to court to be let out of this agreement.

Replies
Advertisement
The Squeaky Wheel...
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

READING, PENNSYLVANIA -- We have had a contract with T-mobile for 9+ years now, starting with just 2 phones then by 2005 going up to 4 phones on their family plan. We've had a good deal of trouble in the past 3 to 4 years with billing, costs of services and problems that T-mobile's own customer service operators have caused by not listening, not being properly informative, and just general laziness on the part of their customer service.

Here's a few ways that we got the problems fixed. First, my husband started the plan and even though we were both at the kiosk in our local mall, they put all His information on the plan, so if I had a question or He needed me to call due to his not being able to while at work, they refused to speak to me as I was not on the plan. Solution: a simple one, all I had to do was to have my husband call as soon as he got home from work, ask for a customer service supervisor and put my name on the plan as a person who could do everything he does.

Second, there were billing issues now at least 7 times where fraudulent companies billed us for things through our T-mobile account. This was basically due to my mother-in-law going on the Internet and giving out her cell phone number to places, mostly through FaceBook.

Solution: another fairly simple fix, once again my husband had to get on the phone with a customer service supervisor to get the problem fixed. Since HE was not the person who activated the charges, they were bound by their own contract to reverse these charges and to block Her line from ever making them again. He also had an interesting conversation with his mother which I won't repeat as I'd have to leave a lot of "bleeps" because of how he explained it to her...whew...

Third, and our most difficult problem to date: Our daughter truly wanted one of those smart phones and when she found out that T-mobile Was letting current customers get the phones with only a 2 year upgrade and a full rebate for the over $300 of course he did this for her. He was assured at the time by the store sales associates that he would get a full refund on his money. So far it's been more than the 8 weeks promised and we did not get the refund.

So, our daughter went to the store to find out what was going on, as that's where we bought (a free phone?) this phone. Now they're telling us that the paperwork, which was extensive, for the rebate through their own company, was completed incorrectly, but they won't give us a copy of the paperwork, and the problem on it is the numbers that the personnel at the store had to have put on it.

I'll tell you this much. In the earlier 2 incidents my Husband Had to be the one to call because he does NOT get intimidated, but the csrs (customer service reps) at T-mobile do. He will stay calm, until he feels that he must yell, and when doing that he'll do it with the first few customer service representatives that answer the phone, as they will be the ones who will block him from the customer service supervisor, and they will also be the ones who can't really do anything for him.

Once they list him as an Angry Problem Customer and get him on with a Supervisor, he'll be calm, explain how much we pay for service with them, also explain how Loyal we've been to them and how many of our friends and family we've gotten to switch to them for their own plans. THEN he will do everything and stay on the line forever until he is assured to get his money back.

Basically with T-mobile or any other cell service, cable company, movie rental place, home phone service...etc. "the Squeaky Wheel Always gets the Grease"...meaning that the loudest, most angry, and most immovable person will always Win out over these companies.

I know that there are people out there who will say, "Yeah, but that will never work for me" but it really does work. It would probably work just as well for a woman, any other woman, but I lose my cool too easily and being someone who worked Customer Service for most of my life until I had to go out on disability from the severe pain I have (I have a Chiari II malformation - which was diagnosed way too late to help much). I am extremely hard to please as it was ME who was "kissing the butts" of other people for so many years, at my employers' requests. I'm just not one of the women who can get this to work.

Anyone can get their problems, legitimate problems, resolved if they make themselves enough of an annoyance, and that means keeping at the customer service personnel the same day, not giving in and thinking you'll call back at a different time or date. As a former Customer Service Person, I know that you just have to stick with the issue and NOT give in, and eventually the situation will be resolved to your satisfaction. Customer service, good customer service is what makes the world go around right now, so no company can truly afford to have bad customer service, though sometimes they do try.

Replies
Misrepresentation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- Account Number **. Phone Number **. My Contact number is **. Primary Account Holder is **... to speak on the account is.. **....** has the **, the number in question to be turn off. In July of 2011, I was paying my bill by phone. The customer service told me about a new family plan that would save money, so I changed over. He told me everything that I already had would just roll over to the new plan.

From the beginning there were a lot of mistakes on his part. I made so many calls back to T-Mobile, because my phone wasn't working. I had lost my text messages as well as my picture texting. He had made such a big mess out of everything. Then as he repair the 918--number the problems begin with the 520. She wasn't able to text, he also made my broadband stick for my Internet phone line where my Internet wasn't working for weeks.

I called T-Mobile every day or two, to fix the problem. If that wasn't enough mistakes, when my bill came, it was over 9,00 dollars because of the mess up and had me paying all types of things. If you would just read back through all of the notes on the account please, it would indeed enlighten you.

Now I was told I could drop off ** line in April. Now when I just called them, it's July 2013. She no longer needs the phone. She had the phone because she was going to college out of state, but due to family matters she had to return back to California ASAP.

I can't understand why I've been done in the matter. I have been a very faithful customer. I don't feel I should have to pay to have the line turn off. I didn't make the mistake. You don't have very smart people working there, if they're giving us the wrong information just to make points. If you have any questions for me you can reach me at **. I would like to stay on with T-Mobile, but not if I'm not treated with the respect I deserve.

Replies
Misrepresentation of phone prices in stores
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- T-Mobile has been difficult to work with through customer service for any resolution. I went into the store when my contract was expiring on November 23, 2011. I had information with me from Verizon with their plans and fees for an iPhone to compare to the smartphones and plans at T-Mobile. I am a single mother of two special needs children, so our budget is very important for our family and I needed to consider value.

The customer service person told me that I should renew because the phones were the same price... Verizon offers the iPhone at 199.99 with a 2 year contract, and the T-Mobile representative said their HTC Sensation would be 199.99 and the plan would be much cheaper than Verizon per month as well. I resigned with him for another 2 year contract in store.

Now, I received a bill stating payment "3 of 21 for $15". I called T-Mobile customer service to explain there is a mistake and that I purchased a phone for $199.99 with a 2 year contract renewal. The representative told me that the phones are $499.99 and that I paid in store a "down payment of $199.99 and still owe $270 to payoff my phone at $15 per month via statement for 2 years". I was shocked! I would NEVER have invested $500 into a cellphone!

The representative told me to go back to my local store and see what they could do. I did so the following day and the employees were not helpful. They just said call customer service and stated that I bought the Sensation when it just came out and no one in the store actually knew the price of the phone!

They also showed me their bold price signs by each phone and said the $199.99 is a down payment NOT price of phone with 2 year contract. The price is very large and bold on the tags next to each phone, BUT very tiny print under each price says down payment, and in even finer print much lower on the tags, it states two plan options and the full retail price of the phone. BE SURE TO READ ALL THE FINE PRINT BEFORE YOU SIGN A CONTRACT!

I am appalled at T-Mobile for misleading advertising, sales and contracts. I would never have considered purchasing a phone for $499.99 anywhere. This was my first upgrade to a smartphone and data plan, so I came from a free Gravity 2 with my first T-Mobile 2 year contract at Costco in 2009. That was reasonable and HONESTLY EXPLAINED to me at the time of purchase. This renewal was underhanded, misleading and inappropriate. The T-Mobile attitude is no resolution and basically that the 2 year contract is signed and binding.

I will not renew with T-Mobile again based on this experience. They would charge me $200 to leave my contract now, so I am stuck for 18 months paying full retail price for a phone I was told was "199.99 with my renewed 2 year contract just like Verizon"... NOT TRUE!

I would rather pay more at Verizon for honest representation and upfront plans, than ever go through this again... I hope anyone looking for an economical break really compares the plans and reads the fine print before signing on or renewing with T-Mobile. Our family was definitely taken, and don't you think T-Mobile could or would remove the $270 balance on a misrepresented phone or downgrade our phone to one that fits our budget and IS what we asked for initially? Then, to add insult to injury, the customer service reps on phone and in store, were trying to add services which cost more per month to us!

From my experience, T-Mobile is all about the short-term sale not longevity with clients and customer satisfaction. Sad. I would like to take this problem higher up in T-Mobile so they realize they are losing good customers, and so this does not happen to others. I have always overpaid my monthly statements and been a great customer. There is no reason to mislead and treat customers with a cold shrug of the shoulders and a " too bad, you signed the contract" attitude with no recognition or resolution to the problem. Thanks.

Part 2: To add to this review, I would like to notify others that I contacted T-Mobile customer service AGAIN and spoke with a supervisor who suggested that I go back to the store where I purchased the phone/plan and speak with that store manager for my second visit to resolve this issue. I called and left a message because the store manager, **, was on another line. He never even had the courtesy to call back to resolve anything.

Next, I have to find a regional manager for help, and then up to the corporate level. The amount of time, frustration and energy it takes to reach a person who actually cares is unbelievable. This is all taking time away from my special needs children as well... all for a misrepresented phone. T-Mobile is not a good place for customer service from our family's experience. They back the legality of their contract, the sales employee and not the customer. Your needs are not their concern once you have signed on for another 2 years. You are stuck so be sure you know exactly what you are getting into and ALL THE FINE PRINT.

I was absolutely told by their salesman that my htc sensation phone would be "the same $199.99 as the Verizon iphone I was looking at plus a cheaper monthly plan..." Now, 3 months later, my discovery on my invoice that I was sold a full retail 499.99 phone on a payment plan is considered my fault! The phone supervisor said I should have called sooner and that I am out of my grace period, so he could not help.

So, I owe $270 on a phone and $200 to get out of a contract, or I am stuck with T-Mobile for another year and 9 months. What a great way to treat customers who always pay bills on time and have been most honorable! Buyers beware... No resolution in sight to date for us. :(

Replies
Advertisement
The service is very bad
By -

I'm the customer of T-Mobile since I reached to United States for 8 years. I always get the T-Mobile services from the dealers since 2010. Someone use my husband name to opened an account without we known that. We only know when we received a billing statement one day. We settled this unknown account about 9 months. As this happened we decide to open an account at the T-Mobile store at Flushing. The Code store is 7683 Main Street of Flushing.

When we open a new phone services the service is very good and I brought a insurance also from the T-Mobile in case the phone had a problem but when it happen when we really need the backup service is very very bad as I don't figure out this will happened to me. I went to line up the line but when is my turned I asked a favor to check my phone the sales represent asked me to called to 1800 toll free number to claim my phone. I said I did called but the insurance company asked a few question that I don't know how to answer.

The first question is about the, “Is it a device problem?” The second question is a memory card problem and the third question is the Sim card problem. I don't know how to answer them so I went to the store to get the answer and asked them directly called to the insurance company and you know what happened? After is my turn on line they called to 1800 toll free they walk away without helping. When I asked the person who helped me before to talk to the insurance company to see what happened he said he not free. Can you believe that?

He name is Paul but on that day there is 2 people name Paul. He an American guy not only that on the same day. I still remember is on 08/09/2011. I buy accessories I tried to paid can you believed that the store manager name Jack asked me to make a line again and I said I did make a line already and the person who in serve me walked away without helping. You know the store manager said then, “You have to make a line again”. Can you believed that?

When I was waiting for the my turn to paid the accessories I asked the store manager Jack if someone can help me to use this accessories. He said yes but when I paid already and asked for helped again what happened? The sales representative name called Hoa said he don't know how to fix the accessory and when I was with him that time he went to serve another customer to opened a new account and asked me to wait when it was my turned. He trying not to serve me because I'm not opening a new account I'm buying a accessory and just make a claim of my phone.

I told Hoa, “You now make already twice in a line and you ask me to wait because you want to serve another person that is behind 2 of me," and I getting so angry and I tell him about it but he feel like nothing. I said very loud over there, “I not a customer of the T Mobile? Why nobody can serve me?” Then come another person called Jack, “He is not the store manager, he just a sales representative. He come to me and said, “Let me help you.” He fixed my accessory and also helped me to answer the question for the insurance claim company about the three question that the insurance company asked.

He told me that the insurance company supposed to do the claimed for me in the phone and the question that they asked of course as the customer how they can answer only the person who works the in the T Mobile can answer. Jack the representative also mention that the insurance company is not helpful at all so the claimed of my phone he have to do in the store directly and he said it not supposed to do it in the store. You see I went to the store for 4 hours waiting on line for twice and nobody is helping until I shouted in the store for help. I remember that time was 2 Paul and 2 Jack.

The Jack store manager don't ever want to help you when he know you are on trouble getting help. He know that because I asking him for help. The store at 7683 T Mobile had the discrimination at the Chinese people because the sales representative including store manager was thinking I am the Chinese person come from China and they are American Chinese with a good education.

I cannot believe that Chinese people treat Chinese like that. I feel so bad about it and hard feeling. My husband and daughter was there that time also. They cannot believe also. The discrimination and the service in the Chinese area. Vivivn and Steven feel so disappointed about the service in store 7683 in Main Street Flushing.

Replies
Coverage Has Gone From OK to Deplorable
By -

ALBUQUERQUE,, NEW MEXICO -- We have been T-Mobile customers for 7-8 years, we have never gotten great cell coverage in our area, but acceptable. In May of this year our service started to deteriorate on our 4 T-Mobile phones, poor coverage at home, work places and school. I called to inquire and was told they would troubleshoot my phone... Blah blah... 3 hours later the phone just says SOS, no bars, they said I need to go through this process on all the phones, that coverage was normal, service never improved.

We were OK with having to place our phones in the window and run outside in the rain, heat or cold weather to keep the call from dropping, but now we have to drive 2 or 3 miles just to pick up one bar. We can't reach my child at her school, she cannot call us if she needs to. They suggested we use our wireless router to improve service which works OK at our offices but does not work at our house, but if we take a call at the office we can't leave till the call is over or the call will drop.

My wife and I are both in sales and rely heavily on our phones, text messages and e-mails. We have the family unlimited plan, which is basically the family very limited plan since the phones do not work 90% of the time. I made a couple trips to the local T-Mobile store to speak with a human, always nice, say they will send a tech out to our area and they will report back.... Guess what... They never did.

Go visit again... Same thing... No results. We finally get someone on the phone one day that has a solution, they send us a booster that we place in our window at home and this will improve coverage in one of the areas, only problem is the booster requires 2G or 3G service, at least one bar. I have never seen a 2G or 3G signal on my phone, best is 3 or 4 bars with EDGE on it which I believe is another carriers tower. I review the T-Mobile coverage map to see it has changed since our service has, still shows we get good service at home, school and work.

We begin thinking we will have to switch phone companies, buy new phones, deal with all our contact information, set up new blackberries or smart phones, learn the new features, find the right plan etc., but T Mobile wants $700.00 to terminate our phones which don't work, they tell me to fax a letter to the Customer Relations Department, only the representative was not aware that they don't receive faxes anymore.

After 7 days I call to follow up and they tell me I have to write a letter, Customer Relations only relates to letters, no phones, faxes or e-mails, so I send a letter and quickly get a response... NO.. A form letter... They won't waive the fees, but if I would like to speak with someone about troubleshooting my phone to call the Customer Care department.

Customer Care does not care and Customer Relations does not want to speak with Customers, very odd company! I was told there was no one else I could speak with and to write another letter. I googled the corporate office and was transferred to "corporate customer relations", left a message, will report back on the outcome. Really can't understand how a companies service can get so bad, so quick and they want me to be penalized for leaving. If my cable didn't work I don't think my cable provider would expect me to pay or charge me for cancelling.

Replies
If T-Mobile Calls, RUN for Your Life...
By -

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- RUN as fast as you can if you are considering doing business with this company!! I signed up for service 4/26/2011. I got my phones and activated them on 4/27/2011, and they were disconnected for non-payment the next day. I was holding a receipt in my hand that said PAID IN FULL. The Sales dept and the Tech Support dept could see the payment in the system, however, Billing (which is located in some foreign country) said I never paid.

Never mind the fact that I had to pay before they would even ship the phones, never mind the fact that the Sales dept and Tech Support conference called Billing for me and told them I paid. The ONLY thing billing had to say was "what is your credit card number?"

Of the approximate 40 calls I have placed over the past few weeks, the only time that I spoke to people in US was when I called Sales or Tech Support. I did get one person in Tech that seemed knowledgeable but all the other times I called, they seemed to be reading from a script and the decision tree always led them to "Remove battery to reset phone, that will take care of it. If it doesn't, call back in an hour." After the first 5 times you reset the phone, I would have to say that may be you should try something different.

When you ask for a supervisor, you will be denied. If you get lucky and get a supervisor on the phone, they will tell you they are going to research it and call you back. I have been waiting for 20 days. No call yet. When the Executive Response team gets involved (their number is 877-290-6323), they will ask you to fax them copies of the receipt to prove payment (I did) and then they will ignore all the emails you send and voice mails you leave for the next 2 weeks.

I did file complaints with the FCC, the FTC, the Public Service Commission in my state, the State Attorney Generals office, the BBB, the Consumerist, Rip-Off Report and My3cents. I don't know if it will do any good. I paid $204. I have a receipt and sent them a copy, yet T-Mobile Missing Payment dept says I did not pay, they will not investigate it further, no credits will be issued to my account.

They also informed me that since there is a balance of $204 on my account, I cannot cancel service until it is paid in full and that I will be charged early termination fees. I think I deserve a FULL REFUND. I have to travel 2 miles from my home to get 'Edge' service, forget about getting 3G. I have been insulted by several representatives and ignored by others.

I have some recommendations for anyone unfortunate enough to get involved with T-Mobile. Document EVERYTHING. I have screenshots of their website 'My Account' -- good thing, because it changed daily. Keep every e-mail and scrap of paper they send you. Like receipts that say "PAID IN FULL". And when you send back their phones and literature, follow the directions exactly and I dunno, maybe have your friend videotape you packing up the box at the local UPS office. ;)

I have sent e-mails to all the departments I could think of at T-Mobile-dot-com. Sales, Customer Loyalty, Operations, Executive Response. If you can get a list of people in those departments (check Bloomberg Businessweek) their e-mail is 'first name dot last name at T-Mobile dot com'. ;)

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what else I can do? I have considered small claims court. Would it be defamation of character to report me to a credit bureau after I show proof of payment? Does anyone have any ideas? HELP!

Replies
Ripped off and lied to and charged more fees
By -

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- Posted by ripped off & lied to just so you can be rich | April 22, 2011 - 6:32pm. I counted the days until my 2 year T-Mobile contract ended. On March 31, 2011, it was finally OVER. I switched to Verizon. My phone number was ported out on the 31st and less than 30 minutes after I switched to Verizon. I got a final text message from T-Mobile clearly identifying the fact that my contract was over.

I called T-Mobile within the same hour and asked for my prorated bill amount through the 31st of March. I was told that they could charge me another month because I didn't give them 30-day's notice and while I was on the phone I contested that with the fact that it clearly was not in the contract. So then I figured they would not try again to gouge me.

But today I just got a bill from them charging me for two additional weeks of service. I called them and was told oh yes they can charge me for a whole extra month because they said it was in their contract and I must have signed it. I said no way and that I will filing a complaint with the FCC and the attorney general's office for unfair billing practices. Not to mention that I always felt I had paid too much for the amount of time I actually used on my phone but they would NOT let me downgrade my service unless I signed up for two more years.

So I got sucker punched with paying them big bills for minimum use and very, very poor service in the form of multiple dropped calls, multiple loss of service even within my own home. So needless to say I am sick and tired of these companies charging for service even though they actually do not provide good service. I stayed in the contract and counted the end of contract days so I would not get gouged with extra fees and they still found a way to rip me off.

I did my part by paying them on time (for bad service) and waiting until the contract was clearly over yet they found a way to get it all. To rip me off anyway, to get their full payments from me, and finding a new way to gouge me further. As a consumer, we don't have any rights anymore it seems from these large corporations. They get it ALL, both ways yet we get the shaft! I never recommended this company to anyone in the first place but now more than ever I am speaking out loud! I am sick of this. Where are my rights?

I followed contract, they appear to have stashed so much crap in between the lines that they always get their way! Wow!!! If I ran a business like that, no one would come back to me! Big business, they get their tax breaks, we don't. They get their rights to charge fees for nearly everything and call is 'local tax or service fees' or some other 'pretend term for tax' and then they get tax breaks! They only care about their shareholders and screw the public! They promise service but have numerous 'dropped calls' and don't have to refund us for the inconvenience.

They gouge us if we go out of contract with huge fees, they gouge us when we follow instructions for ending contracts, they get away with all this but yet if the general public were to try any of their 'antics' we would be in big trouble. They get away with taking advantage of their customers, lying to their customers and if they 'piss off' a customer, well who cares?

They get other customers who are unknowingly being promised big lies and signing up on contracts as we speak. We customers are simply disposable property to them and they are ready at any given moment to steal or lie to us in order to get what they want...money...profits, tax breaks....selfish greedy liars!

When do we get our breaks! They charged me one partial monthly payment 3/15/2011 to 3/30/11 $26.66 then on the 31st they continued the billing by charging me for that ONE day another 'partial' fee of $23.33 and then repeated the same method with text messages 3/15/11 to 3/30/11 $2.66 and then for ONE day 3/31/11 charged me another $2.33. Then add all their real and 'pretend taxes' to get an amount owed to them of $68.48. Yet on the 31st, they canceled my service before noon and charged me anyway!

Replies
Advertisement
T-mobile --here's how to get your money back
By -

To similar complainants, do not bother contacting Robert Dotson. He already stepped down as T-Mobile CEO. You may not also receive a response back from their Executive Customer Service email address. Your best bet would be to file a complaint with the BBB, FCC, and State Attorney General. In my case, T-Mobile finally agreed to credit the $300+ fee after my BBB complaint. Yet somehow in their response they managed to deny any fault/responsibility on their part- go figure. Here was my original complaint to BBB:

I'm filing a complaint against my cell phone provider, T-Mobile, because T-Mobile has wrongfully billed us of a one time charge of $327.99 and is unwilling to waive the charge. My entire family and I have been customers of T-Mobile for many years. On August 23, 2010, I renewed our two year contract with T-Mobile and purchased a Samsung Vibrant at PhoneX, a T-Mobile retail store. However, the Samsung Vibrant started having trouble turning off and on. The phone was never dropped and always had a protective covering.

On January 15, 2011, my husband and I brought the phone back to PhoneX. The employee at the store inspected both the outside and inside of the phone (took the phone apart) in front of us. He called T-Mobile and put in the exchange request for me. I asked him multiple times if this exchange is free and whether I would be charged for anything, and he said NO since there was no physical damage and ensured us that the shipping fee was all we had to pay.

However, when we received our February statement, a whopping $327.99 was charged as a one-time fee. Below is the documentation of the phone exchanges that took place afterwards with T-Mobile consumer service. Please note that some names were not spelled out over the phone so I had to guess on the spelling.

3/4/11 evening: Angela says that the phone was charged because although no outside damage was found with the phone, there was "inside damage." I say, of course there was inside damage because it was a defective phone from the get-go! She was not able to provide any evidence of where exactly the phone was damaged. I tell her that since my T-Mobile store employees already checked the phone, that either the phone was damaged on the way to the return center or the examiner there purposely damaged it. She could not provide an answer and transferred me to her supervisor Herbetta.

Herbetta says that there's no way that I would get a defective phone because all phones are checked when they leave the manufacturer (Toyota probably said the same thing by the way). I ask her why T-Mobile even offer warranty if all phones are PERFECT. She offers to reduce my fee in half as part of "good will." I told her that is unacceptable and that I will not pay a penny. She transfers me to her manager Victor.

Victor tells me that my T-Mobile store was not really a T-Mobile store but a dealer. I tell him that since the store carries T-Mobile phones and sells your plans, how could the customer possibly distinguish which is a store is completely T-Mobile which one isn't? I explain to him that the store employees had verified the return process on the phone with someone else at T-Mobile.

Victor also offers me a 50% reduction which I do not accept. Victor tells me that he will look into the records of what exactly was wrong with the phone and pull up the phone conversation that took place with the PhoneX employee on the day the return request was made. He tells me he will give me call back at 11 AM the next day. He never called.

3/30/11 evening: Pammy - She transfers me to her manager Anaette. I tell her that I want to speak to Victor and gave her the ID number. She tells me that she doesn't know of a Victor and that the ID number doesn't exist. She denies that anyone at T-Mobile ever offered the 50% reduction. I ask her to provide evidence of where the phone was damaged or just return the phone to me so I can get a third party to look at it. She says that she can't do either and hangs up on me.

3/31/11 and 4/4/11: I go on the web and I find the email and number for T-Mobile's Executive Customer Service team. I send an email on each day and receive no response. I also call the number provided for the Executive Customer Service team only to be sent directly to a voicemail box that says that it's currently full in messages. 4/5/11 afternoon: I find the number of Robert Dotson (T-Mobile CEO) on the web and call the number. I learn from the operator that he's no longer with the company and she transfers me to someone else's voicemail so I can leave a message.

During this time, PhoneX has also called T-Mobile customer service numerous times to explain the situation on our behalf and told me that a T-Mobile customer service representative will call me to provide a resolution or evidence. I never received any calls. The PhoneX senior store manager is also willing to provide a statement if requested.

Replies
Incompetent, Unqualified Customer Care Service Representatives
By -

This happened to me twice already. Last July-August, 2010 I was unhappy with my postpaid account so I switched prepaid. The lady I spoke to said she is offering me a $25/month plan for 200 minutes/month if I switched back. But I had already paid $50 for the prepaid card. She said that the offer is good for 90 days if ever I decide to switch back. So after consuming the $50 in 2 months, I tried to take up on that offer.

When I called back customer care, a different lady told me that the plan I was promised no longer exists. It just recently was scrapped off. And I had to wait 24h to be converted back to postpaid. I waited 48h. When I called back, they said anytime from 24h to a week. So I waited a week, with no phone. After a week, I called back already frustrated and they said they can only offer me the 500 minutes plan for $30 and added text messaging. I was billed for $60 that month, and when I looked, the messaging feature wasn't included. They didn't make me pay for the text charges at that time.

The second incident is when I cancelled my no-contract account most recently and had my number reserved so I could use my sister's extra account. The only thing they had to do for me is to change the number of my sister's extra phone line to the number I had reserved. My sister called a representative and he said I had to wait until the current billing cycle is over. When that day came, my number and account got deactivated.

My sister called another customer care representative who said that my number was switched to prepaid. This is after having spoken to another representative who was asking her to confirm her identity by waiting for a password being sent to her email. My sis had me call prepaid customer care who knew nothing and who passed me on to the next postpaid customer care representative who this time seemed to make sense.

I was asking for her extension number but said she has none and offered to call my sister, which she did and was able to make the changes, but we had to wait for another 24h for the activation. So tomorrow we will see if they were true to their promise. If not, you'll see me writing here again.

What I learned from these two experiences are the following: (1) A majority of the T-Mobile customer care representatives either don't want to help you or are not equipped with the necessary information and training needed to carry on with their job. (2) It's best to take note of the name of the rep, the date and time you called, the length of your call if necessary and the reference number of your conversation.

So when you call back for a follow-up, you can refer them to the reference number instead of having to retell your predicament again. (3) Be persistent. You're the customer here and all you really need is some quality service for the price you pay and for the number of years you stayed with them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

T-Mobile Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 109 ratings and
445 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
T-Mobile
12920 S.E. 38th St.
Bellevue, WA 98006
800-318-9270 (ph)
425-378-4040 (fax)
www.t-mobile.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services