Preview Review

Next Review

Toshiba Amer Info Systems Inc Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Warranties Expirations
By -

SPRINGFIELD, OHIO -- I'm upset that I could not extend my warranty after the expiration date. When I call to see if any of the supervisors can help the lady that supposedly helped me which she was very rude and sarcastic, said to me that no manager or supervisor can change the date of purchase to accommodate me to buy an extended warranty. The item as being nothing but a pain since I got it, it was a gift from my husband and since he was the one that purchased it I have no idea when he bought it, so when I tried to extend the warranty, the item had expire for 1 week and there was no way they were going to give me any extension on a warranty.

The computer has had so many problems I lost track. I took the item to a Best Buy to have it looked at and the only thing they did was give me the runaround. So I'm surely screwed of a warranty and I still have this darn computer that does not work properly. Is there any way I can get a warranty for it in order to fix the darn thing since is just brand new basically?

Replies
Advertisement
Works Like A Charm!
By -

I just bought this laptop from Best Buy this week, and I love it! It is very easy to use, and, although I was skeptical of the Windows Vista program installed, I have not had ANY problems with it! It's much faster than my other laptop because of the dual processor, and it's easy to type on too. The only complaint I have is that the tab key sticks now and again, but I can live with it. I bought a notebook cooler today too to extend the life of it.

I love that the battery has a life of two hours off the adapter! My old one only had an hour (cheap Dell). Unfortunately, this is a clearance item to make way for the new Toshiba models, but I would definitely recommend that you go and get one if you can! I got it on sale this week for $349.99! LOVE IT!

Replies
Complaint
By -

I tried to purchase an extended warranty for my Toshiba Laptop. The phone was answered by a **. She was very rude. The laptop was purchased on the 17th of January 2008. She claimed I purchased it on the 11th, therefore, I could not obtain an extended warranty on my laptop. According to my receipt and charge account I purchased the laptop on the 17th.

When asked to speak to a manager she claimed they didn't have any managers on the weekend. With that she hung up on me. When I got her back again, she hung up again. Is this the treatment I get for purchasing a Toshiba laptop? Next time I will purchase a different brand. One who appreciates me purchasing their product(s).

Replies
Laptop Computer Service And Warranties Worth Nothing
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I'm a hard core New Yorker. I am direct, specific, take notes on discussions. I have dealt with contractors, designers, lawyers, etc., and I have never had the breadth and depth of trouble I have had with this company. Dec. 27th I started to try to get help for my 2 year old laptop. It's been 10 days of conversations with Level 1, 2 and 3, plus customer service (they were the worst) during which time I've been disconnected without call backs (they have 2 of my tel. #'s) - this happened 5 times; 3 different diagnosis; reps at different levels telling me different things about their capabilities in connection to switching me over to the next level - basically and blatantly lying.

I finally got a Level #3 person with their name and tel. # who sounds competent and sincere and was (again) promised to have parts overnighted to their NY service group. First thing this AM the service group said that they received an email saying that my parts order was rejected. I paid a lot of money for an extended warranty and for in-office/house service for this business computer, and all I'm getting is an ulcer and a computer that not only doesn't work correctly (as it had problems last week), but now doesn't even receive a signal.

This company doesn't give a crap about is consumers. I would never, ever, ever buy a Toshiba again. I've loved their laptops, but God forbid anything should go wrong and you will end up in a quagmire of lying, stupidity, institutionalized manipulation. The very worst.

Replies
Advertisement
Toshiba Computers Disregards Lemon Product Issues
By -

The clock has never kept time properly. In June 2007 I suffered a randomly generated BIOS password that caused the system to be unbootable. On September 3, 2007, I first started having critical issues with this computer. Windows Vista described this problem with a code named "Blue Screen." Apparently the computer had spontaneously rebooted itself due to some unexpected error. On September 9, 2007, the hard drive in my Toshiba notebook computer crashed. They installed a new hard drive and a new motherboard. On November 27, 2007, the USB ports were not working.

The computer had another motherboard put in, as well as a new USB board. The computer is exhibiting the same symptoms tonight that it did just before having the second motherboard and USB board replaced. After several hours on hold I finally spoke with a "Customer Relations Agent." I again explained my situation and was again cited the company policy about exchanges.

When I related to her the repair history of my computer, she said that it "is not rare" for one of their computers to have multiple major system components replaced within the first year. After spouting off several threats, I was hung up on by this "Customer Relations Agent." I would like this computer replaced.

Replies
Faulty DVD Player
By -

LENOIR, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased a Toshiba laptop in July 2006. By June of 2007 the DVD player was not working. I called Toshiba and they suggested I take it to an authorized service center, which I did. They supposedly fixed it but now 4 months later it's not working again. I let a friend of mine fix it who works on computers and he said the DVD player was shot. So either the service center didn't fix it or it broke again, so don't buy a Toshiba laptop. They're not worth the money you pay for them. I have a 7 year old Dell desktop and a 10 year old IBM laptop and I have never had any issues with them. So don't buy a Toshiba.

Replies
Warranty Is Worthless!
By -

We have been trying to contact Toshiba about repairing a laptop since January 2007. They told us to contact a company which cannot be reached nor do they return phone messages. We keep being transferred to some place in Manila.

Then we are transferred to their customer relations. We wait for 50 minutes then are transferred and are not told that we will have to give them information. They gave us 5 seconds to give them the information and then they hung up. They need to change the way that they help their customers. In a range from 0 - 10 with 0 being low I would have to rate them a 0 for their customer service. I seriously doubt if we will purchase anything from them again.

Replies
Disappointing Experience
By -

After reading some of the other comments, I felt had to tone down my rhetoric from "mad as hell" to "disappointed". Wow! Has customer service/tech support changed. I am complaining about a Satellite M45 computer I purchased for my son in May 2005. We have spent about $150 in troubleshooting a problem with powering the computer on. Since it was no longer under warranty, we sent it to Laptop Repair Services (whom I would recommend), who told us the motherboard needed to be replaced. The cost of the repairs is more than the value of the computer, so we are buying a new one.

We also had problems with overheating and restarting the computer after sleep mode. It appears these are common problems with this model and probably contributed to the motherboard failure. Maybe I am being naive, but why should the motherboard fail after only two years of use? The $1200 computer I hoped would get my son through 4 years of college has only lasted 2 years. Needless to say, the replacement computer will NOT be a Toshiba.

Replies
Advertisement
Toshiba has stood behind their warranty
By -

PENNSYLVANIA -- I have been reading a lot of horror stories about various companies and thought I would let you know about my experience with my Toshiba laptop. I previously owned a HP laptop that I was having problems with. I had bought it from Best Buy and knew from previous experience that they would have it for 3-5 weeks (very aggravating) but at least Best Buy always honored their warranty with me. I left the laptop with Best Buys to be repaired and went home.

I need a computer for my job and discussed the problem with my wife. We had been thinking about buying a new computer and decided this would be a good time. We did some research on her work computer and found some good deals at Best Buy on Toshiba computers. I was not crazy about the Best Buy warranty and decided to research 3rd party warranties.

During the course of my research I discovered that Toshiba has a warranty for their computer products at Toshibadirect.com (probably common knowledge, but new to me). The warranty was for 3 years and 1/2 the price of the Best Buy warranty. The warranty covered everything Best Buy claimed to cover. They also claimed that if I had a problem, they would send a box for it free of charge, repair it the next day, and send it back immediately. This cinched the Toshiba for me.

I went to Best Buy and purchased the computer. They tried to pressure me into buying their extended warranty, but once I explained the Toshiba warranty to them they said they could not match the service of the Toshiba warranty and left me alone.

I have had the computer for about a year now. During that time the speakers went bad, the DVD-ROM went bad, and the LCD screen had a bunch of bad pixels. Each time I called the tech support and they sent a box for it. The first time the speakers came back fixed within four day of being sent out. The second time they had the computer for a week and a half because they were waiting for a part. They did give me a $100 gift certificate towards something from their website after I complained about the wait. I sent the computer in for the LCD screen problem last Tuesday. It came back Friday. They replaced the old one and it looks great.

Obviously I am not happy that I have had these problems with the computer. I am happy with how the situation has been handled all three times. Because of the support I will buy Toshiba products in the future. (Standing by their warranty cannot be understated.) At the time they had an accidental breakage policy for an extra $99. This policy is now included in their regular extended warranty policy and is still half the price of Best Buy warranty. After all the horror stories I have read on this site I thought I would share a positive story.

Replies
If You Want to Fustrate Yourself Buy a Toshiba Laptop
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

US, FLORIDA -- The worst laptop I have ever had by far and I have had many.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Toshiba Amer Info Systems Inc Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Toshiba Amer Info Systems Inc
Toshiba America
New York, NY 10020
212-596-0600 (ph)
212-593-3875 (fax)
www.toshiba.com
Compare Computer Companies