Preview Review

Next Review

Total Protect Home Warranty Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
30 Days And Still No A/C
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ELGIN, SOUTH CAROLINA -- A claim was started the week of May 12, 2018. A repairman came out and determined that the compressor was not working. It is now June 12, 2018 and we still do not have AC. Total Protect was told that there was a critically ill person (stage 4 liver failure) living in the home and this needed to be considered a medical emergency.

The house has averaged a temperature of 85 degree with an outside temperature pushing 95. We offered to pay outright for the repair and wait for a refund and they will only reimburse $853. In a nutshell once you purchase this warranty they have you by the **... you are at their mercy. Stay away... put that money into a separate account and save up for your home repairs.

Replies
Advertisement
Failure to Comply With Contractual Requirements
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- On Dec 15th 2017 my washing machine was not spinning to extract water, claim called in. Serviceman came out 12/16/17. Then nothing happened, I called back. Was on hold over 20 minutes. Was told no decision. I made repeated phone calls and eventually on 1/6/2018 I was told the parts had been ordered. The next day another phone call. Parts were back ordered and would be in 1/12/18.

Parts were received 1/16/18, 2 parts of the same kind were sent and waiting would continue, I waited another week still no parts, called Total Protect. They seemed to be unaware of the problem with the parts and I was told they would contact the service company again. I waited 2 more days. Still no resolution, called Total Protect again to cancel. Spoke at length with claims. I was told a manager would call me within 2-3 days with a resolution. I then canceled the coverage. By this time I had been a customer for 2 yrs 6 months.

I had called twice before and always received satisfactory service but something had happened with this company since my service requests in 2015. I have shared these comments with Total Protect and have requested that they return my last service fee as the service company did not complete the service, so far the silence has been deafening. I believe this company slow walked my claim.

Replies
False Security Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Garbage product. Signed up, no claims first year. Premium increased 20% upon renewal. Filed 1st claim, they dispatched plumbing service tech who barely spoke passable English so direct communication was difficult (I don't speak whatever East Euro dialect he was native in). The option I was given was, they could authorize the plumber to cut a hole through my wall, inspect the pipe and then I would be responsible for the cost to repair hole and pipe. My response (No!) I had to pay deductible for service call. Called to cancel contract and agent answered with the wrong company name. Stay away from this sham.

After my poor experience with Total Protect, I received a performance survey that I opened that contained only one question regarding whether my request was closed to my satisfaction. I clicked "no" but that was it, no additional questions or dialogue box to add comments, that was two weeks ago. Within hours of posting my first negative review, the company reached out to "make things right". Sorry, I already canceled but thanks for proving that the brand and money grab are what's important, not the poor saps like me buying false security.

Replies
Violation Of Warranty Coverage & Agreement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- When I signed up for Total Protect, they assured me “Unlimited Claims Coverage; No matter what the total cost of repair or replacement, all covered claims will be paid for by Total Protect.” However, when my hot water heater cracked and required replacement, they only covered $648.65 out of the $1876.88 cost to replace. To make matters worse, the hot water heater was specifically listed as a covered item.

TotalProtect also assured me that “There are plenty of service technicians in your area to help with any claim” and that “Total Protect pre-screens the service professionals in your area so that you're guaranteed a reputable and trustworthy service company.” However, there was only 1 pre-screened plumber in the entire city of Raleigh who wasn't even professional enough to return our multiple phone calls and/or voicemails. It has been 4 days and I still have received a call.

What's an even bigger violation of their promise that “Total Protect will take care of things further,” is that when TotalProtect was notified their service provider failed to return our calls, they said “Figure it out yourself.” My wife had to call every plumber in Raleigh to see if they would accept 3rd party billing. After hours of calling people she found 1 person who would. However, because they were fixed rate and not itemized, TotalProtect refused to honor the full claim amount.

I could not be more disappointed in the coverage TotalProtect provided. They violated the terms of the warranty coverage and then Robin and her supervisor; Crystal, refused to work with us after the fact to cover the entire cost of the repair. Since I have 3 homes warrantied through TotalProtect, I will not be renewing my contract with them. 100% dissatisfied with their service!

Replies
Advertisement
Worse Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Bottom line, this is a summary of our experience: We spent 15 nights out of our home and returned on the 16th day. The temperatures during this time were between 110-116 degrees. I had to spend many hours away from work to be available to meet the vendor that Total Protect used. They didn't show, came late...did not respect or value my time.

Ordered parts that didn't fit creating a complete waste of time. No consideration was given for the excessive time to complete the job, money spent for accommodations, or loss of wages from time off work. We experienced a complete lack of: professional courtesy, customer service, work ethic and integrity, not to mention complete disregard for us as people.

Replies
Home Warranty Company — Terrible Service — 90 Degrees in My House Day #2
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- My air conditioner stopped working on Sunday afternoon. I immediately called TotalProtect to file a claim and get a repair person out. After 3 phone calls and 2 hours on the phone it was determined that no one could come on now Sunday evening. Monday at 11 AM a technician arrives, asks for my $125.00 deductible which used to 75.00 when I began as a customer 8 years ago. Determined the problem was a bad contactor & cap. He said he had to email TotalProtect and would be back when it was approved.

I called TotalProtect and they tell me it could be 24 hours as they have to review the claim. They would not let me speak to a supervisor although I asked on all 3 calls to them. It is now 90 degrees in my home for the 2nd day in a row and still could be tomorrow. No way to run a company.

Replies
Very Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- I have had this warranty for awhile and have always had trouble getting service. Once I waited a week I called to cancel and they wanted to charge me $25.00! Really? I just waited 40 minutes on the phone to do this too. Get another company, not this one. I have absolutely nothing nice to say about this company.

Replies
Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LATEXO, TEXAS -- I would not recommend this company for the following reasons. Bad business practices, slow to respond to a claim, false statements among other things. When I called to find out about their services before signing up with them I specifically asked about service technicians in my area as I live in a rural area and had had trouble with another warranty company finding service techs to come out here in the country. I was assured by the lady on the phone that they had plenty of companies in the area to perform service for Total Protect. I asked and was told several times that they had people in the area.

I called in to file a claim on my AC unit not working properly on the 31st of July. The temperatures were in the high 90's and heat index of over a 100. I was told that I was being placed on the "high priority, emergency list". I called back two more times and was told the same thing and that they were having trouble finding a service tech, this after I had been assured there were plenty in the area. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was given several different excuses and never did speak to one and was basically told not to call back that they would contact me when they found someone to come out and check the AC unit.

Meanwhile the temperatures were steadily rising until they were over 100 degrees. A week later I finally got a call from a service tech from a city that was over an hour away and he came out and diagnosed a bad evaporator coil. Said he would call it in when he got back to the shop. Another week passed before I got a message to call Total Protect about my claim. When I called they told me that I needed to give them the ok to order the parts and that I would have to pay another $185 out of pocket after already paying my $85 deductible, said it was for reclaiming and disposing of refrigerant and fixing the drain pan.

Also said it would take two to three business days before the parts came in and then the service tech would call me to schedule an appointment. Can't help but wonder if this will take another two weeks on this "high priority, emergency claim" to be fixed. As far as I can tell there was nothing wrong with the drain pan. I told them that I didn't think I should have to pay for all that when it took two weeks for them to get back to me even though it says in the paperwork that they don't cover it. I think that they should have paid it due to the heat and how long it took them to take care of this "high priority, emergency claim".

Of course they refused to and they were oh so sorry and apologetic about the delays. I feel as I was lied to about service people from the very beginning just to get my money and they do not care about the customer even if they call it a "high priority, emergency claim". I am seriously considering canceling my account with them after my AC does get fixed. Also I am going to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I think Total Protect has very shoddy business practices and care not about their customers, but only about getting the customers money.

Replies
Advertisement
Total Ripoff. Do Not Use Them.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- This company is a ripoff and finds reasons not to pay. I signed up in January and my plan became effective February. I called when there were loud noises from my AC unit. They took a few days to reply after the claim. You continuously have to call and push to get help. They finally had Four Seasons come and the guy was very rude. He ended up rescheduling because he couldn't fit in my attic. After he came back they told me the insurance needed to pay for a new compressor and he would let them know. I signed the paper and he left.

A week goes by and no reply so I called the insurance for them to say I need to send in my home inspection to show my unit was okay when I purchased the house. I sent the paperwork and they said allow 3 business days. 7 days goes by no reply so I called again. This time the excuse was that although the inspection showed my unit was fine when they checked that the service tech said it looked like my unit was tampered with. This is not true and why wasn't I told this last time. I asked for a supervisor who told me the tech said my contractor was 10 days old so this is pre-existing. Each time I speak to someone it's different.

They said we could pay for a second opinion out of pocket so we did. They advised we need a new contractor. I sent the report in and a week later no reply so I called. They said it will still be a pre-existing condition and the claim is still denied. Why let someone get a second opinion if you're still going to deny. I asked if they even called the second tech and the representative said no they did not. But they called the first guy. I need the information from the second tech.

They are very unprofessional and give different reasons to prevent them from having to pay. I asked for a corporate or upper level contact and they would not get one. I am going to file a complaint with BBB. I have an infant and 8 year old who are without heat. February is when it started getting cold. We had to buy heaters. This is unacceptable. I am beyond angry. I was given inaccurate and inconsistent info. Bad customer and tech service.
Paid out of pocket for second opinion and still denied.

Replies
Horrible customer support
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 2/51

FREEHOLD, NEW JERSEY -- My tenants hot water heater was not working. They sent a plumber over who took apart the gas burner and didn't put it back together. He wrote a ticket saying the sensor was not working due to lack of maintenance. First let me say, our lack of maintenance made the heater last three years beyond the warranty. The plumber left me a message saying the sensor doesn't work and there was a backdraft from the chimney. He also said he does not service this area.

The first CSR I spoke to told me he said I needed a new sensor but he didn't order it and that they would review the ticket to determine what they would do. I asked for it to be escalated as there were children in the house and temps were expected to drop. Each time I called, the CSR gave me a new story. But each time they said in 48 hours I should get a call back from a manager.

I called three times on Saturday, they kept me on hold for a manager. They failed to say that the 48 hours does not include the weekend. The first call was on Wednesday, on Friday the original plumber went back to reassemble the parts he took apart. On Sunday my husband went out and purchased a water heater because we didn't want to leave the Tenant without hot water another day.

When I finally got to speak to a manager on that Monday, she was going to compensate me with 100.00 for the purchase of the new heater but then noticed that on the ticket it said the plumber changed the thermo coupling. No one in the approximate 20 calls I made ever mentioned that he changed anything. Hence, they closed my ticket.

Apparently this company does not stand by their word and with the notes they supposedly had how did not one CSR notice a part was changed! So disappointed in the lack of customer care and the lack of understanding by the managers. By the way, we tried to speak to another manager. Two weeks later, still waiting for a callback.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Total Protect Home Warranty Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 45 ratings and
62 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Total Protect Home Warranty
1625 NW 136 Ave., Bldg. E, #200
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33323
954-835-1900 (ph)
www.hmsnational.com
Compare Warranty Services