Preview Review

Next Review

Total Protect Home Warranty Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
This Company Will Not Honor Their Contract
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FT. LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- I entered into a contract for home warranty 09/2013 on 05/2014. After paying $44.95 for 20 months I filed a claim to have my A/C unit repaired and they declined the repair. They claim my fan motor was installed improperly. My compressors were purchased brand new. They also claim I had corrosion on my coil and this caused a leak. However my contract covers the issues with my A/C unit.

This company has found a legal way to steal from consumers. I filed complaints with several agencies. I am filing a lawsuit against this company!! I hope one of the agencies I complained with investigated this company. Please do not use this company for your homeowner's warranty!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Major RIP OFF
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I've had Total Protect since 2007 and during this time, I have only used this service less than 10 times since I joined.

Within the last 2 summers I have encountered major air conditioning problems each time Total has rejected payment for any replacement parts, saying it was as a result of owners lack of maintenance, referring me to the home service agreement which states "we agree to pay the covered costs to repair or replace the items listed as covered on your agreement coverage summary if any such items become inoperable during the term of this agreement due to mechanical failure caused by routine wear and tear, subject to the terms and conditions of this agreement."

They send independent contractors who only want to sell you their services which of course cost an additional out of pocket cost to the homeowner. In July 2013 they sent Royal Flush AC&H who stated the outside coil was 50% clogged, unit low on freon, inside coil leaking and unrepairable. They contacted Total who disapproved any repair work and left me stuck without air period. Back and forth I went with Total only to get a call on a Sunday morning from some representative who said "sorry" but we are not paying because of owner negligence. With Total it is always owner's negligence.

I then asked them to refer me to anyone who does the work for Total which they provided 4 names. The estimates given went from $1850 to $2600. I chose North Star Mechanical who finally showed up on a Monday, after missing the initial scheduled appointment (which was on a Saturday), and putting me off until the next Monday.

They replaced the evaporator coil in July, now in August, one month later the unit is freezing up, the blower is out and the person who did the earlier work has been fired and Total refuses again to pay and North Star wants more money for something they should have detected when they were out in July, but of course it's the owners fault.

Instead of keeping you with the original company that did the initial work, Total schedules you with company after company which is not a wise decision. Instead of them keeping me with North Star Mechanical they again wanted to send out another company. I had to call in and ask permission to get North Star to return since they had come out and replaced the coils in July. Total reluctantly agreed and instructed me to call North Star which I did.

The technician arrived the following day and reminded me about the service fee without so much as looking at the problem. He then tells me the problem is the blower which needs cleaning which would be an additional $85, he leaves and says he will return the next day. I told him I would contact Total to ascertain if the blower is covered.

I called Total and spoke with a representative who led me to believe the blower was covered only to find out today (8/23) during a conversation with a Total representative that again they would not cover any services to which I responded that I am not surprised, you never do anyway and that I am sick and tired of Total and I would be cancelling the service effective today. The technician from North Star stated to Total that the motor was gone and this would cost an additional $385 plus the $85 for the blower. The technician was up in the attic with the unit on 8/22 but never said anything about a motor until he returned on today (8/23) supposedly to replace the blower.

Prior to his return he had contacted Total and all of a sudden the motor is an issue. I chose Total because it could be included in my mortgage payment, but as of today, I'm through with them. I'm cancelling the membership and searching for a company that will service its clients. TOTAL is a TOTAL waste of the homeowner's money. And if your emergency is on a weekend you can forget it, as they do not have anything in place for the contractor to come on a weekend, possibly because they know it will cost them more money.

Company Response 08/26/2013:

We're sorry you're having issues with a claim. Thank you for letting us know. We'll reach out to you directly to discuss your concerns.

Replies
Stay Away from Total Protect Home Warranty (also known as Homesure of America Inc)
By -

FRISCO, TEXAS -- This is the worst company I have had to deal with ever! I am a mortgage customer of Countrywide and in 2006 they offered Total Protect to me as a Home Warranty service - and since it offered an easy monthly deduction along with my mortgage payment, I signed up. My front-loading washer broke down in early July 2008. I called Total Protect on July 9, and logged a claim. They assigned a contractor - Authorized Service Center (Garland, TX) to service my claim. STAY AWAY FROM AUTHORIZED SERVICE CENTER TOO...

On July 10, ASC sent a tech who pronounced the master control board in the washer defective, said they would order the part and be back. After a few follow up calls, the tech returned on July 17, popped in the replacement board and the washer would not work. He then said that Kenmores were not great - and I should have bought a Maytag and also said he had to program the board - however he did not know how to - cause there were too many models" and said he'd be back the next day to call the manufacturer and program the board.

The next day (Fri) he never showed up and after several calls to ASC they informed me they'd be back on Monday. The following Monday (7/21) when I called ASC - they informed me that I had to call Total Protect to send them a "recall" order - since they had FIXED the machine and it failed. In spite of my several attempts to explain that the washer had not been fixed ASC was adamant that since they put in a part the machine was fixed regardless of whether it worked or not! Even though I was incredulous I had no choice but to call Total protect. They promised to send the paperwork in a few minutes.

When I called ASC for a service appointment the next day (7/22) they claimed that they had not received the order. So for the next 3 days Tues, Wed, & Thu I kept calling ASC and Total Protect until they both relented and sent the tech out to my house on Friday - 7/25.

The tech came in called the manufacturer and was still unable to get the washer working. Apparently the manufacturer told him it might not be the board, it could be something else and asked him to check the door latch. Now the tech appeared totally clueless and asked me to sign something, which I refused to. I called up ASC's office manager who basically threatened me - "Do you want the tech to leave or for us to complete your work?" I told them that I obviously wanted the washer to be fixed. In any case the tech left and till this day (8/1) he has not come back.

After that I called Total Protect on 7/25, 7/28, 7/29 and 7/30. They stalled in connecting me to supervisors and when the supervisors stalled - I ask to speak to someone higher. They gave me the name of a director - with an email and fax #. I have written a 5 page letter to him outlining what's happened on 7/30 and emailed and faxed it - however there is no response or even acknowledgement of my complaint. The crux of the issue is this: Total Protect is supposed to pay me $500 towards the purchase of a new washer when they deem it unfixable.

The supervisor that last spoke to me on July 30 told me that they would pay me $300 - because they had paid $200 to ASC for fixing my washer. I debated with him that they had not fixed anything, and that my washer still does not work. I told him that in addition they had also "run" away with my $60 deductible, and that ASC should not get a dime. He kept sounding like a broken record and told me that I have to option to either take the $300 or they could send another tech from another company - and he would assess it and we could go from there.

I was also told that the service call for the new tech + any parts and labor would be subject to the remaining $300 cap and if they could not get it done - basically I get nothing. Also Total Protect would not commit to a timeline. I found this proposition ludicrous, and then wrote to this supposed Director - and I am yet to hear from him.

I have since purchased a new washer and am fighting my case to get at least $500 - my original front loading washer cost a lot more... I also am writing to Countrywide asking them to back up their promotion of Total Protect, and if there is no response from any of these guys - will complain to BBB and also will join any class action suit against Total Protect / Homesure of America Inc.

BTW I tried calling their membership services today and they sympathetically gave me a fax number to refax my letter to their director - and guess what? That number does not exist. Also my email to their director has come back as undeliverable - and that my mail system would try for another 2 days! All this reeks of TOTAL FRAUD. These guys must be put behind bars for misrepresenting and cheating unsuspecting customers. Buyers Beware!

Replies
TotalProtect Home Warranty a Waste of Money.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I have been a customer of TotalProtect Home warranty for over six years. I wanted to share my experiences with this company and hopefully save other consumers some grief. TotalProtect happily takes your premium every month and slowly but continually will raise the deductible per claim. I started at $50 and was up to $75. I only made a few claims a year if even that because I often found that most covered repairs could be done for less than the deductible. TotalProtect has many loopholes so that they can deny many types of claims calling them non-covered fixtures or other language like that. I put my trust in this company to help with home repairs.

After carefully analyzing my costs to carry this coverage vs the cost of repairs, it would have been far better to put the monthly premium dollars into a savings account and then draw from that account when repairs were needed. If you are one of those few lucky people who just happened to have a central heat/air failure and dodged all their attempts to deny your claim then good for you. I would never recommend this company for covering any home repair expenses. Do yourself a favor and put premium dollars into a household repair savings account. If you must have a home warranty policy, then select a different company than TotalProtect.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Waste Your Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- Complete waste of time, energy and money. I have been paying for an advanced service for the past 30 days with nothing to show for it. When it finally came time to use this service they completely failed me. It was literally like pulling teeth, and when I cancelled and told the man on the phone that I was reporting them to the BBB, his response was "No worries". No worries for him but for me, a member of the United States military it is a WORRY for me that they would treat customers this way and have no conscience about it. I will warn every military member that I can to not do business with this company.

Replies
Broken Dyer Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased their service and in 3 weeks' time my dryer broke. I called them up and I paid $60 for the service tech (agreed price with the contract). Local tech comes and starts the dryer and concludes broken exhaust fan. 3 days later no response, so I call up the company and they say they are waiting for report from tech. After another 2 days of waiting they say that the problem was a pre-existing condition and will not be covered.

I canceled my contract right away... but I am afraid of this crooks having my credit card number. I called Sears the next day and asked them for a protection plan and they came home and fixed the dryer in 10 minutes. 2 weeks of talking on the phone with no results... that's what Total Protect is about. This company is a scam. I did not due my due diligence of researching reviews. I am not surprised they don't have any good reviews. They will find a way to steal your hard earned money.

Replies
Dishwasher Went Down 12/23/13, Still Has Not Been Fixed to Date
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONDON, KENTUCKY -- Dishwasher went down on 12/23/13, called Total Protect show sent someone out 5 days later. They ordered parts and came back after Christmas to install parts which they determined to be wrong, again ordered more parts. On January 5, came back with more parts this time the tech putting parts on dishwasher, ripped a whole in one of the parts by accident and they again had to order another part. January 11, brought yet another part which they determined to be wrong and took out dishwasher to take to parts dept. or see if they could determined what part was needed.

Tech called and said that they could not determine what part was needed that part was no longer available. Tech says he called Total Protect and requested that dishwasher be replaced but when I talked with them they stated that they were again trying to get another part. I told them I wanted my dishwasher replaced if it could not be repaired and they said they could not do that at this time as their review team had to look at all the info. I asked them why anyone needed to look at anything if part could not be found that obviously it would have to be replaced.

Total protect said they would call me in 24 hrs. to give me an answer as to what their next step would be, I told them they had better or I would be filing a lawsuit against them. I am still waiting on their call and am in process of filing something through small claims court. I will be cancelling my policy to say the least. This company should be shut down, they are nothing but a scam.

Company Response 02/05/2014:

Larry Herron, thank you for your feedback about Total Protect. We sincerely apologize that the wait time you experienced was not in keeping with your expectations. We want to assure you that your experience was not representative of our turnaround times for service. We are investigating the specifics of your situation and will contact you directly to address your concerns.
-- eRelations Specialist Total Protect
/sm

Replies
Over a Year and Washer Is Not Repaired
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARYLAND -- I paid $60 on two occasions to cover the fee to have someone come out to look at the machine. It was not repaired the first time. The second time they said they will not cover the repair of $400 so now I have to either pay the $400 out of pocket or by another machine. :(

Company Response 11/03/2014:

Dear michaelg714425,

I'm sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the your warranty experience. I would like to investigate the specifics of your claim to ensure that you have received every benefit your warranty affords. Please send an email to erelations@totalprotect.com with your name, property address and phone number. I will contact you directly to address your concerns. Thank you – Stephanie, eRelations Specialist Total Protect

Replies
Advertisement
No Respect for Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AURORA, ILLINOIS -- I used them for 6 months. Had filed two complaints. First took over two months. Second also was open for 2. I was told multiple times that they are working on identifying the issue and will solve it ASAP. Had to cancel this weekend. I was just not ready to spend any more money on them. Very bad company.

Replies
Horrible a Sheer Nightmare. Stress and Tears
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- They have about 3 names: Total Protect, Home Sure and one more. It should be a law against this. In mid-summer I have been dealing with them over 27 or more days. They are full of crap. Tried to get me to pay them 260.00 or 210.00 service man did not put it on paper. I paid him 75.00 after I refused to pay him that other fee that he asked me for. He said he charged the freon and it was OK.

I asked him to use a thermometer on the vent to see if it was cooling and he told me it was cooling and I gave him the 75.00 check and he had the nerve to ask me for my driver's license and I refused. He lied and said I didn't pay him the 75.00. He spent more time on the phone with Total Protect trying to set us up. That Monday they sent out another company and he said "I am sorry I can't help you." When they contacted me again they said my portion to fix the ac was 500.00 plus, then they went down to 350.00 last week.

I called an attorney and after copy the contract he could not understand why they would not live up to their agreement. I kept a record of how many times I called them to be talked to like a piece of crap. I and my 75 year old husband with numerous health issues have been traumatized. I call two other people very reputable, and both said that the compressor is gone. They are liars and who wants somebody like that in their homes? I am out of fees to get two other opinions and lawyer fees and my unit is still. I also let my mortgage co. know they are promoting and deducting for a bogus co. It is a shame that this happens. If I did something like this I would be in jail.

They would not even respect or deal with my attorney. We will have to replace air conditioner because the price of repair would be 2,700 and they offer me 663.00 and I was told that would come nowhere near fixing our unit. Please take a few minutes to tell of your experience it may make you feel and I really wish I had taken the time to read their negative review.

Company Response 08/27/2013:

We're sorry you're having issues with a claim. Thank you for letting us know. We'll reach out to you directly to discuss your concerns.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Total Protect Home Warranty Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 34 ratings and
51 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Total Protect Home Warranty
1625 NW 136 Ave., Bldg. E, #200
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33323
954-835-1900 (ph)
www.hmsnational.com
Compare Warranty Services