Preview Review

Next Review

Toys R Us Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Item Purchased
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I will never ever purchase anything from that scam artists company ever again! On February 21, I purchased the Graco Forever All in 1 Car Seat on Babies R Us website for $326.61. A few days later I viewed my bank statement and the money was returned to my account and was taken out again. On the 25th I got an email stating that my order was shipped. On Thursday I got a call from the FedEx driver that he was outside my house, I told him that no one is at home, so he then replied I will return tomorrow the same time with the package. I said "Ok I will have someone there to sign for it."

Friday the 26 the FedEx driver never came. I decided to track my package and realized that it was actually delivered on the 25, so I decided to call Toys R Us, spoke to a representative, and I was told that a claim will be made to investigate that situation and I should get an email within 24-48 hrs which I never did. I decided to call 72 hours later and the representative told me that FedEx stated that the item was delivered so I then replied "So where the hell is my product and why the hell should I waste my time to call If I received my item?" She stated that she will then send in a request for either a replacement or a refund so I will have to wait another 24-48 hours, heard nothing from them nor an email.

Long story short this thing escalated from the entire month of March. I then called back and spoke to a supervisor which then explained that my request was denied due to a glitch in their system and she is going to approve the request for my refund and I have to wait another 24-48 hrs and then 3-5 days depending on my bank.

Tuesday April 1st, I decided to call my bank and I was told that there is not pending refund in my account from Toys R Us so I called Toys R Us up again and another set of ** was said to me so I went ballistic and I also mentioned to them that I will have to get my lawyer involved. I requested to speak with a supervisor and she told me yet another story and I will have to give it another 24-48 hrs. I then said "Ok, but this is the last time that I am calling and I will definitely have my lawyer contact them including the news channels." I'm now waiting for April 3 to receive an email, indicating that my refund is approved.

Replies
Advertisement
Order Online for in Store Pick---All Emails in Regards to Item Had a Different Total Amount
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOHNSON CITY, NEW YORK -- I purchased an item online for store pick up and was told and emailed that total was $24.06 (for Wii game and protection on disc). Second email from Toys R Us stating confirming purchase stated total $23.88. Email stating item ready for pick up stated total was $21.59. I waited much longer at store (after getting ready for pick up email) for item than if I had just gone to the store and purchased item off the shelf.

Noticed a sale on the same game that I had purchased online with in-store pickup so I decided to purchase the same game again as well as a few others due to the sale being buy 1 get a second game for $2. After making that purchase I went to customer service to return the online order. She had trouble getting the refund bar code on my printed email slip, mumbled about refunding my money via gift card, (which was NOT going to happen since I had the receipt!). She was able to process my refund and I left the store.

While I walked to my car, I noticed that the refund receipt was for only $19.16. I knew that this was the incorrect amount but since it was cold out and I had my two young children with me I planned on returning in a day or two for correction of my refund. When I got home I got to thinking that I paid quite a bit more via PayPal for the item, so I printed up all my emails in regards to this purchase and called the store. I spoke with some manager who told me to return to the store with my emails and he would look at it. So I loaded the kids back into car, drove back to store, had to tell story to customer service representative before she would get the manager.

The manager arrives. I showed him the emails with the 1st one stating total was $24.06. PayPal was charged $24.06, second email stated total was $23.88, 3rd email stated total was $21.59 and my refund receipt showing cashier only refunded me $19.16. He acted like I was trying to cheat the company by commenting after looking at all the emails that the $21.59 sounded more like the total. Which [snip] me off, seeing that I had the email from PayPal showing I was charged $24.06 for item. I then had to go back out to the car for my license and wait while he refunds my card $5.29.

No apologies for their massive screw up, no apologies for trying to cheat me out of my $5, no apologies or explanation as to why 3 different emails showed 3 different totals and no apologies for cashier giving me wrong refund amount. No apologies for the huge waste of my time and gas on this, let alone the long wait that I had to endure when waiting for the pick up of original item after receiving order is ready email.

I'm totally disgusted with the poor shoddy customer service at Toys R Us. No where else was I ever treated so poorly. Other stores, when I have had issues with something (which was simple issues with wrong items being sent to me etc and was not cheated on my refund due to me) they bent over backwards to make me happy with a sincere apologies and a small gift card for my troubles with promises that my issue would be passed on to higher authority. Not at Toys R Us! They do not care!

Replies
Not Happy With the Protection Plan!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WEST COVINA, CALIFORNIA -- I'm not very happy with the Buyer Protection Plan that was sold to my husband and myself when we purchased our Graco Ready2Grow stroller. I bought the stroller in Feb 2013 and after getting a 25% discount for trading in an old pack n' play the sale price was $149.99. Then I added the protection plan for $24.99. The cashier explained how the plan worked and we thought it was great to pay $24.99 instead of full price of the stroller ($199.99) if we ever had to replace it for whatever reason.

At the beginning of July I noticed that the basket bellow the stroller had a rip on the side and I figured I could easily sew it back up and put duck tape over it since I never really carry heavy stuff in there (although it would've counted as wear and tear). Around a week later I noticed there was a small tear on the front canopy, but it was so small that the sun didn't come through and it did not bother my daughter so I figured I would let it go and just report it if it became any bigger.

Yesterday July 21st I opened up my stroller since we were going to the park and when I opened the same front canopy I realized that some of the plastic was broken and now it is difficult for me to make it work. I decided to finally call it in today July 22nd. At first I received great customer service, but at the end of filing my claim I was told by the representative that I needed to go back to Babies R Us and purchase another stroller, then send them a copy of my original receipt and a copy of my new receipt and in 10-15 business days they would send me a check for the purchase amount.

Since I don't have anything else to turn into Babies R Us to get the 25% discount I have to pay the full price for the stroller which is $199.99. My husband informed me that we would not have the money to do that for about two weeks and he brought up a good point when he said that when the cashier explained the process to us she said we would get a card sent in the mail with the purchase amount so that we could go back into the store and replace the product (of course we would have to pay taxes again but that wasn't an issue).

I called back and explained to the representative how I would not have the money to go buy another stroller for a while, since I don't just have $200 lying around, and I asked if there was anything they could do like just send me the gift card for the amount since that is what we were told would happen if we needed to call in and make a claim for the product. The representative was then very rude and said if they didn't get two receipts, one from Feb 2013 and one from after July 22 2013 that there was nothing they could do.

After this happened I looked up other reviews that were somewhat related to my situation and I found one that was exactly like mine, but in a different state. A woman, who used part of her rent money to replace the stroller out of pocket as instructed to do so by the buyer protection plan rep, sent in her first and second receipt but since it would take approximately 2-3 weeks for her to receive her reimbursement she figured she could do without the stroller for a few weeks but not without her rent money for that long. She then went and returned the stroller and got her rent money back, but never received her check for the original purchase price in the mail.

I am now worried about going and spending money out of pocket to replace the stroller and not receiving my reimbursement. Not only would I be out $50 plus tax (which I would have to spend anyway when replacing the stroller for full price [even with the gift card with the replacement amount of $149.99]) but I would be out $149.99 for the stroller and the $24.99 for the protection plan (which should be covering at least $149.99 of the $199.99 that I will have to spend to replace it).

In total I would be out $224.98 instead of just $50. This would all be avoided and I would be much happier and much more satisfied if they would just sent me the gift card with the replacement amount of $149.99 like we were told would happen if we ever needed to call in and make a claim on the item.

Replies
Extremely bad customer service based on pure assumption
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURLINGTON, CALIFORNIA -- To all consumers. As I work at a company that has strict policy and procedures, I would like to start off with the fact that I am fully aware of return policies and what items are not returnable. I had a difficult labor of 20 hours and upon arriving home from the hospital I wanted to do everything possible to breast feed, I began to nurse. The same day, I advised my husband that in the event that I would like to pump and store the milk, I would like to look into purchasing a breast pump and keep it handy for when I can use it.

So, he went to Baby's R Us and spoke to a really nice informative sales person who gave him enough information about the product. My husband also called me from the store in which I as well spoke with the saleswoman who explained the products features, she informed my husband not to open it unless we are surely going to use it, otherwise the item cannot be returned.

It was quite the investment at $500.00 but we made the purchase determined that I will use this product one day. My husband brought it home but I never decided to look at this item because I had a full description when I spoke to the lady on the phone, so there sat a $500.00 item completely untouched in the bag with the receipt.

Within the next 3 days I had excruciating pain from the recovery and was given high meds to cope, I was told I could not give my baby breast milk because of the meds in my body. I told my husband that day to return the breast pump to the store and we can always buy it another time. I did not expect the following events to take place.

As I was at home dealing with my pain and trying to care for my first newborn child, my husband calls me all upset, they were NOT accepting the breast pump back. I was furious! As my husband entered the store with their clear bag, an older lady at the counter automatically told my husband, "you cannot return that" already jumping to a conclusion that the item was opened, I fell sick to my stomach when he told me this. She had not even seen the box. Then my husband said “what are you talking about? Yes I can, the item is not opened.” She then proceeded to call her manager, yet another ignorant employee.

The manager looked at the box and accused my husband of tampering with the box. (Meanwhile I was on the phone hearing this) despite the pain I was going through I told my husband, “let me speak to her.” I explained how we never looked at the box when we purchased it, what was wrong? She said the seal looked as though it was tampered and the box edges were not flush.

This only got me more furious! It's not our problem that the box had a manufacturing defect! She accused us of something we did not do. I even mentioned my personal situation and who in their right mind could even afford to do something like that when they know that they cannot return it once opened, it sure as heck was not cheap!

Apparently all the breast pump boxes were dented in some manner. They also had the spider rope that presses the box inwards. I put through a complaint, again nothing was done. I called back, starting my story off that I was returning a breast pump, she too on the phone automatically assumed I opened it and started telling me the policy. Before she continued, I stopped her and mentioned I understood the policy, angry even more, I mentioned the item was not opened or even viewed for that matter!

That day my husband decided to go to another location to return it, and the funny thing was that the manager there looked at it carefully and said everything was fine, she gave our money back. Weirdly, we mentioned what happened at the other store location and she carefully looked at the seals and said it does not look touched because of the spider rope that is what was the cause of the dents and is not the customer's fault!

Going back to the bad Baby's R Us location, the customer service line served as no help. She mentioned a complaint will be put through and it will be brought to the store manager's attention, as far as I am concerned, nothing was ever done. Be careful when purchasing any big item with the spider rope or even just the regular sticker seals, the boxes even get damaged coming off the truck which is not the customers fault! I felt so degraded, insulted and hurt to be accused of something I did not do. Based on my rating below it is not all store locations, just the one in Burlington.

Replies
Advertisement
Rude Manager and Associates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I went to store # 7031 3/28/13. I asked the associate ringing up my item if the discount had been given – all he had to do was say yes instead – he was rude and inconvenienced me. Instead he said – “No, it's buy one get one 30% off." The sign clearly said all Scaris Dolls – 30% off – no BOGO at all. He sent the manager to check it out – as she was gone he continued to be rude to me so I left to make sure she knew what the issue was. I was surprised to find she didn't care. ** does not require associates to know promotions.

** not know promotions even though she is the manager of the store - she made that clear. ** does not require associates to ring people up in order. I had to wait while he rung up several people who came after me – because I knew the price of the item and the associate didn't. ** doesn't require the associates to be friendly or helpful and she's fine with them being extraordinarily rude.

I went through all that for no reason. It turns out the discount had automatically gone through – so the associate gave me wrong information twice – the associate remained very confident and cocky in being allowed to give wrong information – he never apologized or showed any remorse and ** supported his actions and his attitude in full. She does not feel as the manager that she needs to know promotional information either – this promotion began four days prior to this incident on one of the biggest sellers they have. The monster high dolls and she had no knowledge of it even though the sign had been in her store for four days.

Replies
Cancelling Pre-Orders
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- They initially canceled my pre-orders a few weeks after placing them, then offered me a coupon and exclusive link to re-order them, so I did. Received a confirmation email instantly and then another email a week later saying they were getting ready to ship, then they got canceled again. The problem occurred when I initially ordered from Toys R Us instead of Gamestop, Wal-mart, Amazon or any other seller that had amiibos. Toys R Us ran out, so now I can't get them.

I contacted Toys R Us and their customer service gives me a generic canned response, so I contacted BBB due to their customer service, which went as well as can be expected, BBB did say that they would monitor Toys R Us account over the next few days for similar complaints, so if anyone has had any issues ordering from Toys R Us website, amiibos or not, I invite you to file a complaint.

Replies
Items Paid and Not Shipped
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- I had 3 Layaways online Totaling $533.00. I paid them off a week ago and they are marked shipped. No tracking numbers were provided online or through email. I have not received anything. I have called them several times and no one knows why they have not been sent or what is going on. They keep telling me that they will escalate this and someone will call me. So far no one has. Two of the layaways are Christmas presents and the other was to be a Birthday present for my grandson next week. I have no idea what to do next.

Replies
Toys-R-Us Buyer Protection Plan a SCAM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, OHIO -- In September 2013, I purchased the Xbox Grand Theft Auto Video Game from Toys R US. I also purchased the Buyer Protection Plan. The video wouldn't load, my son couldn't wait for me to send it in so I purchased another THINKING I would be getting a Gift Card from the Plan. WRONG. It has taken 6 months and three phones calls to be mislead into thinking after I send it back (never got the UPS label the first two times) I'd get a GC. Even though it states in the brochure "Convenient "R" us Gift Card reimbursement on replacement plans, if it's a VIDEO GAME they will only repair or replace!

It doesn't specify this in the brochure nor do the sales reps tell you this. When I asked to speak to a manager they referred me to their legal department - and it's an address only! If I ever go in the store again I will tell everyone not to buy the Protection Plan. A complete waste of money and time!

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Experience,will Never Recommend It to Anyone
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARYLAND -- We bought my son a Tabeo tablet for Christmas. He was so excited to get a tablet, but little did we know that it will not connect to WiFi. It freezes and shuts off, and when I called the support line it is busy and it NEVER rings. Then I sent an email to try to get help the email it is not a real email, so, I went on my computer and found a number for Toys R Us customer service. I got through and they asked me what the problem was and I told them. They went silent for about 5 minutes. I had to continue to ask if they were there.

When they decided to talk to me, they said it is very busy this time of year and to keep calling. I'd like to say, it is very sad they have CEO for this company and they do nothing to help their customers with their complaints. We are the reason they are still open. They do not mind taking our money they just do not want to help us when we have a problem. I will never ever buy from them again, their customer service is very bad and I say this to the executive staff, why are you not helping your customers that are having problems?

Replies
Fraudulent Transactions
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE ORDERING, NEW YORK -- Ordered baby bottles online. My account was charged three times. Luckily my bank cancelled two of the transactions. Paid $29.00 for express shipping on November 6, 2013. Today is November 12, and still no delivery. The worst customer service - does not even explain my week of misery from this company. They are rude, degrading and thieves. This order was cancelled on Friday, November 8, 2013 and they charged my account again on Monday November 11, 2013.

After calling the corporate number I was assured the order was cancelled on Friday, so why in the ** is my account for the fourth time getting hit??? When I asked for the Corporate phone number I was told by one of their representatives that they did not have that number. I had to find the number through research. This went on and on for most of last week and now this week so far. Ordering or canceling online should not be this difficult. What is wrong with this company? Today, November 12, 2013 I was told I would get a call back before the end of the business day and never did so tomorrow I will call yet again. Here we go again... what a nightmare!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Toys R Us Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
176 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Toys R Us
461 From Road
Paramus, NJ 07652
201-262-7800 (ph)
201-845-0973 (fax)
www.toysrus.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores