Preview Review

Next Review

Toys R Us Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Happy With the Protection Plan!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WEST COVINA, CALIFORNIA -- I'm not very happy with the Buyer Protection Plan that was sold to my husband and myself when we purchased our Graco Ready2Grow stroller. I bought the stroller in Feb 2013 and after getting a 25% discount for trading in an old pack n' play the sale price was $149.99. Then I added the protection plan for $24.99. The cashier explained how the plan worked and we thought it was great to pay $24.99 instead of full price of the stroller ($199.99) if we ever had to replace it for whatever reason.

At the beginning of July I noticed that the basket bellow the stroller had a rip on the side and I figured I could easily sew it back up and put duck tape over it since I never really carry heavy stuff in there (although it would've counted as wear and tear). Around a week later I noticed there was a small tear on the front canopy, but it was so small that the sun didn't come through and it did not bother my daughter so I figured I would let it go and just report it if it became any bigger.

Yesterday July 21st I opened up my stroller since we were going to the park and when I opened the same front canopy I realized that some of the plastic was broken and now it is difficult for me to make it work. I decided to finally call it in today July 22nd. At first I received great customer service, but at the end of filing my claim I was told by the representative that I needed to go back to Babies R Us and purchase another stroller, then send them a copy of my original receipt and a copy of my new receipt and in 10-15 business days they would send me a check for the purchase amount.

Since I don't have anything else to turn into Babies R Us to get the 25% discount I have to pay the full price for the stroller which is $199.99. My husband informed me that we would not have the money to do that for about two weeks and he brought up a good point when he said that when the cashier explained the process to us she said we would get a card sent in the mail with the purchase amount so that we could go back into the store and replace the product (of course we would have to pay taxes again but that wasn't an issue).

I called back and explained to the representative how I would not have the money to go buy another stroller for a while, since I don't just have $200 lying around, and I asked if there was anything they could do like just send me the gift card for the amount since that is what we were told would happen if we needed to call in and make a claim for the product. The representative was then very rude and said if they didn't get two receipts, one from Feb 2013 and one from after July 22 2013 that there was nothing they could do.

After this happened I looked up other reviews that were somewhat related to my situation and I found one that was exactly like mine, but in a different state. A woman, who used part of her rent money to replace the stroller out of pocket as instructed to do so by the buyer protection plan rep, sent in her first and second receipt but since it would take approximately 2-3 weeks for her to receive her reimbursement she figured she could do without the stroller for a few weeks but not without her rent money for that long. She then went and returned the stroller and got her rent money back, but never received her check for the original purchase price in the mail.

I am now worried about going and spending money out of pocket to replace the stroller and not receiving my reimbursement. Not only would I be out $50 plus tax (which I would have to spend anyway when replacing the stroller for full price [even with the gift card with the replacement amount of $149.99]) but I would be out $149.99 for the stroller and the $24.99 for the protection plan (which should be covering at least $149.99 of the $199.99 that I will have to spend to replace it).

In total I would be out $224.98 instead of just $50. This would all be avoided and I would be much happier and much more satisfied if they would just sent me the gift card with the replacement amount of $149.99 like we were told would happen if we ever needed to call in and make a claim on the item.

Replies
Advertisement
Extremely bad customer service based on pure assumption
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURLINGTON, CALIFORNIA -- To all consumers. As I work at a company that has strict policy and procedures, I would like to start off with the fact that I am fully aware of return policies and what items are not returnable. I had a difficult labor of 20 hours and upon arriving home from the hospital I wanted to do everything possible to breast feed, I began to nurse. The same day, I advised my husband that in the event that I would like to pump and store the milk, I would like to look into purchasing a breast pump and keep it handy for when I can use it.

So, he went to Baby's R Us and spoke to a really nice informative sales person who gave him enough information about the product. My husband also called me from the store in which I as well spoke with the saleswoman who explained the products features, she informed my husband not to open it unless we are surely going to use it, otherwise the item cannot be returned.

It was quite the investment at $500.00 but we made the purchase determined that I will use this product one day. My husband brought it home but I never decided to look at this item because I had a full description when I spoke to the lady on the phone, so there sat a $500.00 item completely untouched in the bag with the receipt.

Within the next 3 days I had excruciating pain from the recovery and was given high meds to cope, I was told I could not give my baby breast milk because of the meds in my body. I told my husband that day to return the breast pump to the store and we can always buy it another time. I did not expect the following events to take place.

As I was at home dealing with my pain and trying to care for my first newborn child, my husband calls me all upset, they were NOT accepting the breast pump back. I was furious! As my husband entered the store with their clear bag, an older lady at the counter automatically told my husband, "you cannot return that" already jumping to a conclusion that the item was opened, I fell sick to my stomach when he told me this. She had not even seen the box. Then my husband said “what are you talking about? Yes I can, the item is not opened.” She then proceeded to call her manager, yet another ignorant employee.

The manager looked at the box and accused my husband of tampering with the box. (Meanwhile I was on the phone hearing this) despite the pain I was going through I told my husband, “let me speak to her.” I explained how we never looked at the box when we purchased it, what was wrong? She said the seal looked as though it was tampered and the box edges were not flush.

This only got me more furious! It's not our problem that the box had a manufacturing defect! She accused us of something we did not do. I even mentioned my personal situation and who in their right mind could even afford to do something like that when they know that they cannot return it once opened, it sure as heck was not cheap!

Apparently all the breast pump boxes were dented in some manner. They also had the spider rope that presses the box inwards. I put through a complaint, again nothing was done. I called back, starting my story off that I was returning a breast pump, she too on the phone automatically assumed I opened it and started telling me the policy. Before she continued, I stopped her and mentioned I understood the policy, angry even more, I mentioned the item was not opened or even viewed for that matter!

That day my husband decided to go to another location to return it, and the funny thing was that the manager there looked at it carefully and said everything was fine, she gave our money back. Weirdly, we mentioned what happened at the other store location and she carefully looked at the seals and said it does not look touched because of the spider rope that is what was the cause of the dents and is not the customer's fault!

Going back to the bad Baby's R Us location, the customer service line served as no help. She mentioned a complaint will be put through and it will be brought to the store manager's attention, as far as I am concerned, nothing was ever done. Be careful when purchasing any big item with the spider rope or even just the regular sticker seals, the boxes even get damaged coming off the truck which is not the customers fault! I felt so degraded, insulted and hurt to be accused of something I did not do. Based on my rating below it is not all store locations, just the one in Burlington.

Replies
How Babies 'R' Us Rips People Off
By -

Here's how Babies 'R' Us sucks today: My mom bought me a glider "nursing" chair for ~400$. Looked amazing, had great reviews. It was shipped to the house, we assembled it, and it felt like it was made for a Munchkin. So, we had to disassemble it and return it to a store that would ship it back for us. When we took it to the store, they said they would re-assemble it and keep it as a floor model, which is what I suggested on the phone to them, when I called to see if we could just return it assembled, rather than run the risk of damaging it by disassembling it. No, they wanted it back in the box.

Babies 'R' Us put the $ on a merchandise credit card that I have to use it in the store or online. I found a chair in the store models that I prefer, so I went home to order that one. Well, to have it shipped to my house would cost 200$ for just the shipping alone... I don't think so! So, I opted to have it sent to a store for pick-up. I placed the order only to have it cancelled within the hour, for ambiguous reasons. I decided to call customer service.

After a long conversation and the woman offered me a whopping 50% off on the shipping (yeay, only 100$ shipping!), I said, "So, unless I pay a massive shipping fee for a freight delivery, which should be the cheaper option, there is no way I can obtain this chair? It cannot be sent to your store so I can pick it up???" "Yes ma'am, that is correct." I told her this is the kind of experience that causes people to say, "I am done with Babies R Us and their inconvenient policies. I will get my chair elsewhere." She obviously didn't care. It's a massive chain. This isn't even a drop in the bucket. And she's probably making minimum wage.

The exact scenario is happening to my mother-in-law who has been trying to order a bassinet for us. Basically, Babies 'R' Us has a bunch of products that they keep out of the stores, in some mysterious warehouse, and when you want to order them, they slap a massive "shipping" fee on it or else you can't have it. And because my money that I can use for this purchase is on their merchandise credit card, I am basically at their mercy. I'm sure that, somewhere, when my mom bought the first chair that we returned, she, as we all have done, clicked "OK" to a statement that said, "All returned items will be refunded in the form of store credit only." Meaning, I HAVE to spend my money there.

I am unbelievably frustrated. I just want a nice place to nurse my baby. Once this is said and done, even if I do have to give them my money for this, I will NEVER shop there again. I hope you will give it a second thought too. Pretty much every other option is better; even Wal-Mart...I can't believe I'm saying that! Gross.

Replies
Baiting People To Their Stores-False Advertising
By -

THE WOODLANDS -- Couple of weeks ago, my wife and drove about 10 miles to our local Toys R Us, to buy one item from them for our granddaughter for Christmas. It was advertised $ 24.99. That was 10 dollars off. Normally it is $ 34.99. I had checked their website prior to us going to Toys R Us and the Imaginarium Double-Sided Easel - Pink--Item#: **, was in stock at this store. We checked the area of the store where these items are usually kept and found none. I found one of their associates who had one of the inventory scanners and a walkie-talkie.

I showed him the small cards which you usually take to the front and an associate will go and get your item and bring it to the register. He checked the item number and it showed 6 of them in stock. He and another associate went looking for the easel. They were gone for some time, about 20 minutes. He said he could not find them. I went to customer service and her computer records showed 6 of them in the store. Somewhere. She sent someone else to look for the easel. No luck either. I asked for a rain-check since the sale was over that night on the easel. She gave me one and told me to wait a few days and come back.

We waited a few days. My wife and I went back to the Toys R Us, located in the Woodlands, Texas by our local mall, again. They looked for about 1 hour, and found not a single one of them. Their computer, just like their website, showed they had the item. Six of them. And they were $ 34.99 now. But they would accept my raincheck price if they found even one of the 6 easels. No luck. Just wasted more time. Aggravated... This time customer service told me to wait a few days and call them to see if they found them.

We waited about 5 days and called them at Toys R Us. I held on the phone for about 20 minutes while they looked again. Supposedly. The lady came back on the phone and said they just must be lost, or possibly somebody had just walked out with them. Big as they are I do not see how and they have security devices attached to them. She just advised to try to find another store that might have it.

I told her honestly, they needed to remove the ITEM AVAILABLE from their website, instead of having customer after customer coming to their store looking for the same easel, which does not exist. (It has been 2 weeks since our first visit) and their website still lists this item (easel) is available. Bait and switch, like a car lot.

I called another Toys R Us about 15 miles away that said they had it, per the website. Bad mistake. They put me on hold. And never came back. After 20 minutes on hold, I called the 800 number for customer service on my home phone. I spoke with **, who amazingly, seemed to care. I explained to him we were trying to buy this kid's easel for our Granddaughter for Christmas, and having no luck, since they were the only one that sold this type. He gave me reference number after typing in all the information.

He apologized. And said I would receive a call from them within 3 days. I was still on hold on my cell phone from being put on hold. It had been 35 minutes on hold at the time. I let ** even listen to their music that is played after being on hold. ** told me that I could go ahead and hang up. He said his main computer showed that the store I was calling now had no kids easels in stock. Sold while I was on hold I guess.

I waited 4 days, and never heard from anyone at Toys R Us. I emailed them at their main email address, and was advised back the next day via email that I would be hearing from them in 3-5 days. That never happened either. I went to their website and it showed they had plenty for online purchase. I ordered it online and paid full price $ 34.99, plus tax, and shipping, just to make sure my granddaughter got it for Christmas. It has arrived, and is wrapped now.

Toys R Us are just a bunch of scam artists, and it seems bait and switch. While in the store they had tried to sell me the much more expensive kids easel ($ 49.99). Toys R Us does not care about its customers. They just try to get you to the store with phony ads, and hope you buy something while their. We will never shop at their store again, and I told all our friends and relatives that we would hope they did not either.

All that read this story should stay away from the Toys R Us. It will save you a lot of time, and aggravation. Especially the one by the Woodlands Mall in Conroe, Texas (Montgomery County). Maybe our Attorney General here in Texas needs to look into the way Toys R Us runs its business in Texas.

Replies
Advertisement
Was Not Sold What I Was Told I Was Buying - Worst Customer Service Experience I Have Ever Experienced
By -

ST PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- Simply put, told me I was buying an XBox 360/Kinect Bundle Package for $200. It was Black Friday, last box on the shelf, 3:30 in the morning, and the sales associate told me it was what I was asking for. What do you do? You scoop it up before anyone else does, without thinking twice. (I know the bundle is supposed to be $300, but I thought maybe since it was Black Friday I was getting a deal).

Really it was just the XBox. It was Black Friday, so I was not able to return. Because of this mishap, I was not able to get any of the real deals. For example, if I had wanted to buy just an Xbox, I could have picked one up at any of the other stores I went to that day shopping and would have gotten 2 to 3 free games to go with it. FOR THE SAME $200. Needless to say, I felt wronged, and thought maybe customer service would be there to help make it right. I wasn't expecting anything for free, I understood it was early, and a busy day, lots of commotion, but I should not have been lied to.

I would have gladly paid the extra $100 to get what I was originally seeking, however, by the time this whole fiasco was over, the bundle I was looking for was sold out everywhere. If nothing else, at least get me the Kinect system for $100, instead of the $150 it's supposed to be. You know, since that's what I was told I was getting in the first place. All I wanted was both components, and was absolutely willing to pay the difference.

Had to file an 'incident report' with 800 number customer service line 5 times over the next 2 weeks. The first 3 got 'lost' in the system, never to be found. 1 was 'accidentally closed' when it was supposed to be 'elevated' to corporate (who was supposed to get back into contact with me. The final, got me to a supervisor, who basically told me it was my fault for not knowing what I was buying.

(Shouldn't you just be able to trust the sales associate?) and there was nothing she could do and I should call the store. When I called the store they told me "All of our employees were informed beforehand that we didn't have any of the bundles in stock anyway, so there's no way that could have happened."

How it happened: I was in the electronics dept., browsing, when I was reminded by my wife that we wanted to get this for the family (it was early in the morning and I wasn't ready to start thinking yet). I asked the nearest associate if they had any 'XBox Bundles' in stock. His reply was, "No, We don't even have any XBox's" I looked over his shoulder to the glass case and saw one box, with a picture of Kinect on the side (now I know the picture was just advertising it, and not meaning it was being included).

So, I asked him, "Isn't that one right there?" still referring to the Bundle. He said "Yes, it is, I forgot we had that one". I guess it was a 'ticketed' item. Someone had reserved it and not picked it up. After checking to see if it was available, he told me it was, and told me it was $200. I was concerned about the low price, so I verified WITH THE ASSOCIATE that this was the box that included the Kinect and the only thing I was not getting was a bigger hard drive and the headset that comes with the other package. He agreed and nodded the whole time.

My biggest complaint here is that because of all of this mess, I was not able to actually get any of the best deals on what I was trying to buy, and their customer service did not even attempt to accept fault or make it right. Absolute worst customer service I have ever seen, and coming from a well-known company this large was absolutely shocking. 3 weeks later, I was able to come across the bundle I was looking for, at target, for $300, with a free game.

Again, that's all I originally wanted. So I purchased it, and returned the one I got from toys r' us. Toys R Us has absolutely no concern or regard for its customers, will not ever even attempt to admit that one of their employees may have made a mistake, and you have even less of a chance getting them to try to make it right.

Replies
What ever happened to customer service
By -

We received a trike as birthday gift for my son. He already owned one! My wife brought the bike back to the store and was told that there was a “policy” in place that said she could not return anything without a way to validate it was purchased there (a receipt or the credit card it was bought with). Other than the few fortunate times you get a gift receipt, how would anybody have either of the things they are asking for?

The thought of going to my son's great grandfather and asking for this would be insulting to him and, simply, rude. I would never do that. Well, the store manager decided to keep placing all of his blame on the store policy. He told her that this happens “every day” and he has to “turn away unhappy customers all the time, but that is the “policy.” Wow- some policy! He suggested we call the corporate customer service phone number and lodge a complaint, so I did.

The woman on the phone states that the “policy” is correct as it was told to us, but there is also a “no quibble policy.” She then puts me on hold to speak with somebody, comes back on the phone and says that original policy of “no returns” trumps the “no quibble” policy. Interesting. She was kind enough to agree that the situation was asinine, but her hands were tied.

She suggested I ask my son's great grandfather for the receipt. I asked if she would be so rude in her family and I was told she would not do that either. She then agreed to escalate my concern and complaint to the corporate office, but it would be 3-5 days before I heard back from somebody there. I sat stunned to think that a company would allow a customer to brew in anger for 3-5 days. But that is their “policy.”

I was at a point where I just wanted some justice. I then e-mailed the CEO of Toys R US, Gerald Storch, my story. I figured somebody at the top should know how crazy the policies are and they don't always work out so well. I figured, as a business owner myself; this is something I would want to know.

I sent off my note only to get an e-mail back from the Coordinator of Executive Guest Services (some title!) stating “On behalf of Toys “R” Us, please accept my sincerest apologies for the difficulties you encountered when attempting to return your unwanted item. While it is never our intent to inconvenience you with our policies, I am sorry that we are unable to make an exception at this time.” Seriously, am I dreaming? For $35 this company is going to alienate a customer? Do they realize they are treating me like a criminal?

I decided that I was done wasting my time trying to make them a better company and that the best thing I could do was post something on Facebook letting my 300+ “friends” that there are better places to buy toys. What I did not realize was that posting was also going to pop up on their corporate Facebook page. I am not sure if it was that Facebook posting or my earlier email, but within 30 minutes of my Facebook posting I received a phone call from their district manager with a totally different attitude.

This man apologized. He told me I was right and they were wrong. He said the right things. He ended up overriding the previous poor decisions that were made by his company and asked for us to come back for the store credit. He hung up after giving me his cell phone number and asked that if I were to ever have a bad experience again, to please call him. This is a story about too little too late.

Replies
Treated like DIRT for returning dud product (for the 3rd time)
By -

CALGARY -- I had the most horrible service at Toys R Us on Mcleod Trail in Calgary, Alberta tonight. I went to return a toothbrush (only $7 but still it is the point of the matter) as it did not play music or even rotate as soon as I opened it. The employee, instead of greeting me proceeds to gossip for a couple of minutes while I wait for service. (Gross, inappropriate things). When I explain that I was not impressed that a product that I opened did not work, she barked that I should have known to replace the batteries.

I said that I did not think it my responsibility to go to the trouble and expense to do that as it was a brand new product that should work as it says, 'batteries included'. So we continue to argue for a bit, her being very nasty and unreasonable and passing the buck, saying, "Blame the manufacturers- it's not our problem!" OK, I am feeling really disrespected here, what happened to consumer confidence in products or the faith knowing that if you get a faulty product, you can return? I buy many thousands of dollars worth of toys and return things with no hassle at the Bay or Wal-Mart.

I tell her this and she ACTUALLY says to me, "So shop there!" Can you believe that?!! You better believe that I will, no way will I give my money over to a business that has their people follow no protocol or professionalism! This same employee had given me a really hard time months ago when I tried to return a faulty stroller! It was dangerous and even the manager I spoke to just told me to send it back to the manufacturer!

(Total passing the buck just to save money) I gave up on that one, why would I send back something that would cost me $50-$100 to post, and have no guarantee as I am sure they would make an excuse or simply not reimburse me? I asked to speak to a manager at this point and complained about all the things mentioned above in a calm (yet angry) voice, simply stating facts in an appropriate manner.

I can't say the manager made me feel better. She never apologized. Never told the girl to stop arguing with me. The manager even stood there and said nothing as the girl shouts, "Don't blame ME for all your problems!" (That was ridiculous actually- pathetic as the only problem I mentioned was...a toothbrush...What a stupid and rude thing to say to a customer, especially since the issue at hand was HER attitude.

I replied, "Yeah, it CAN'T be YOU that is the problem." So she says, "You're the only one that has a problem with me..." And I laughed out loud, that was so funny, the rudest girl I have ever come across that says absolutely shocking things to people, never has any issues with customers? So I laugh and say, "I'm sure, I'm really sure."

Toys R Us is really cheap (and dumb) to save a few measly bucks they have lost me as a customer, as I will never return there, I will only go to places that have good return policies (and expectations of staff to not abuse people).
So if you think you may possibly get something that is dirty/faulty/unsafe or just want to be able to change your mind, do not shop at Toys R Us! I have never been able to return one out of three things- think that is a coincidence? Save your money as it is theirs for keeps (you get to keep the junk) if you buy there. Not to mention getting horrible customer service where they care nothing about your patronage. Toys R Us does not return products!!!

Replies
Bike Bah humbug
By -

I bought a bike for my child for Christmas amongst other toys for family & friends. I price compared several retailers at the time and they had the best price of all. SO I thought. Buyer must always beware they say. At check out $30 additional dollars was added to price of the bike. I asked how the price went up $30? And pulled out my Sunday flyer ad to show why I chose them for my shopping needs.

The cashier explained it was a Warranty. I said I would forgo the warranty. Only $10 was taken off. I then asked why it was $20 more excluding tax. I was told that was the bike assembly fee I had to pay. I said an unassembled bike was fine. They had 5 none of which were disassembled she said. I asked for a manager on duty. (Kindly I am no stranger to retail or customer service industry. I am always respectful knowing employees have no control over policy but have had my fair share of negotiations to make a sale and keep a customer). That is business and I am holding their flier after all.

I asked for a manager and explained that I came in for the bike at the advertised price and would like to purchase said bike at that price as advertised no upgrades. The manager did not respond to me just whispered to the girl. The girl said the manager would honor that. I said thank you to them both. Manager walked away.

I was told another employee would bring out the bike. The manager whispered to that employee not in my ear shot. I assumed to go get the bike. I had many other items too so was glad I did not have to walk away from sale. Punishing employees on ethics in advertising to the hassle of restocking my cast off items due to failure of negotiations is not ideal. They got far more than $30 additional out of me excluding bike. Win win I thought. Smart manager. A different employee was sent back to retrieve the bike for me. It took 20 minutes. My husband called and asked what is taking so long. I thought maybe they were taking bike apart I thought-well...a little odd but hey.

Instead a complete bike came out. I thought all was well just busy holiday season- hard working employee. One has to wait. I said thank you to this employee too. And was on my way hustling for my children were hungry and restless and crying in the car with hubby. Upon getting home- It's tires were low and a plastic chain guard a little lose. I thought no biggie I have a bike pump and a screwdriver and they worked with me so OK. I tightened the screw the guard popped up in that one area that did not lay flat. Tried again and got it I thought. I pumped the tires and packed and hid it for the big day. Christmas morning the tires were flat and the guard once again ill fitting.

My hypothesis-Every lemon piece from all 5 bikes must have been combined into one in those 20 minutes. My son was broken hearted not to be able to test ride it Christmas morning and he is too young to understand why Mom has to take it to the bike shop. I could buy a Schwinn from a professional for the end cost of all these shenanigans. TRU clearly knows kids love character bikes etc and use it to their advantage. Like taking the bike back would not traumatize a child-it does. Making me the bad guy-what parent wants to further ruin Christmas for a 2 1/2 yr old- kid after TRU already has.

And what fool who would actually bring the bike back to complain just to test their ethics further and prove the cliche -fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me. Bike shop it is! A very expensive lesson in retail to learn TRU is not the company it once was. Yuck! In the 70's Venture and the like would just advertise and have your "rain check" last forever with no product ever arriving-Not sell you a lemon. So just as my parents felt heartache for the Barbie Dream house rain check that never was honored for me. I too have that parenting experience with a lemon bike.

At least one day should my grandchildren and son have this unfortunate event. I know it won't be due to TRU because surely its customers will drop like flies one shenanigan at a time, another retailer is just dying to swoop in and take their business, or BBB will uncover them for whom they now have become.

Replies
Advertisement
Gift cards and PayPal
By -

My grandson is turning 10 tomorrow and I have been very ill, so I decided to purchase a gift card for him. With express shipping it would have been there tomorrow and on time. On 28 November 2009 I went online to the TRU website and purchased a $100 gift card, this transaction was paid for with PayPal. A great option for online shopping.

I received a confirmation email at 10:48pm that the order was being processed. At 11:24pm I received another email stating that "after attempting several times to contact you, unsuccessfully the order had been cancelled." Now I am really confused at this point as obviously in the time frame between emails no one tried to contact me, and I know the funds are available for the transaction, so what is going on?

Beginning at 7:00am the following morning I first called my bank, yep the funds were on memo hold just waiting for TRU to claim them. So nope that is not the problem. Called TRU who informed me that it was a PayPal problem. Called PayPal and was told the funds were just waiting for TRU to pick them up and there was absolutely no problem on their end.

This ping-pong action went on for the better of 4 hours and finally I am at screaming match point. I was told after screaming at the top of my head in frustration that...TRU does not take PayPal for some purchases. Now you have to understand THEY offer PayPal as an option at checkout. Also the woman told me that all I needed to do was repurchase the card using a different mode of payment. Here is the true dilema. I am mother of 6, grandmother of 9, have 3 birthdays this month and Christmas to boot. At that moment I did not have an additional $119.17 for them to just hang on to until they felt like giving it back.

So to date I have filed with the BBB, with whom TRU has an *F* rating. They do not respond to complaints, nor do they feel the need to rectify them. I have also filed a complaint with PayPal, as they had never heard of anything like this, unless funds were not available. Also just a bit of information from PayPal when a company contracts with them to use this as a clearing house they MUST stipulate in the contract what if anything PayPal would not be good for. TRU has not done this.

So here it is Monday morning and I have no money and no gift for the grandson, my bank said that although TRU said they removed the hold on the funds there has been no such order. I want to find others who have, had this done to them and I would like to file a class action. I also think it is time to hurt them were it hurts the most, their pocketbooks. I would like to gather any related stories and turn them over to the media. I am using this venue because I do not want this to be a local story. I live so far out in the woods we don't even have a TRU by us. So please, send me anything related to TRU/PayPal. You can send it to: **.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

WARRINGTON, UNITED KINGDOM, NEW JERSEY -- At 1614 hours on 18th July 2009 I spent £221.33 at Toys R Us at the Warrington Store, United Kingdom, items purchased included 2 in 1 Dolls House - £99.99, 12” girls Snowflake - £39.99 (bike). This is for my daughter's birthday on 30th Aug 2009, so on 29th Aug 2009 I began to build the Doll House and only at around eleven at night did I find out that a vital piece was missing!

In relation to the bike, there seems to be a fault to it from the first day namely the back wheel was wobbly, I tried to fix it by adjusting the brakes and that but it did not work. This back wheel together with the chain came in one piece from the manufacturer that means it was faulty from the moment I opened the package.

So at 1144 hours on 30th Aug 2009, I went back to the store with my daughter and spoke with a ** at the Customer Service Desk, she told me because I have had the bike for more than a month, I couldn't have a new one or a full refund, it will have to go to repairs and that will take about 2 – 7 days. I also asked for a full refund for the dolls house because I was very annoyed with the products from that store, ** stated I needed to bring the product back in order to obtain a full refund, the house is about 5 foot by 5 foot by 6 foot and I was not bringing that product back (I will need a van), I stated the store should come and collect it, I then asked to speak to her supervisor.

** the Manager turned up, I repeated the request to her, she gave me the same answer as ** did, and I said I was not happy about this. Suddenly she told me that I was raising my voice and refused to help me but will help my daughter. I reassured her that I was not raising my voice aggressively; she only said this because her products were faulty. I wanted other customers to hear the kind of services the store was being provided to me. She then threatened to call the police so I said to her ‘call the police' as I did not commit any offences whatsoever.

A male member of staff was standing behind her and he never said anything, as he was probably useless as well. I stated to ** the Manager I am not asking for your help, I am a customer and you are under an obligation to make sure the products bought by me was what it described, you have breached your contract. ** the Manager that stated I will help your daughter but not you because you have raised your voice, I stated this is not a raised voice and I stated just give me my bike back and I will pursue this elsewhere.

** the Manager was unable to give me my bike back because the repair person has already taken it in and probably taken it apart. ** the Manager then liaised with the repair person by phone, she knew that the bike was faulty from the minute I bought it. ** the Manager then stated to me that "just go and choose another bike and I will give you £10 for your petrol on a gift card, in relation to the house I will have to go to the Ancoats store in Manchester to collect the missing piece."

She also stated “DON'T TALK TO ME ANYMORE OR I MIGHT CHANGE MY MIND ABOUT HELPING YOU.” ** the Manager stated she did not like my attitude. I did not pass an attitude test when I purchased the products, did I have to pass an attitude test when their products are faulty? Talk about customer services, what customer services?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Toys R Us Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
173 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Toys R Us
461 From Road
Paramus, NJ 07652
201-262-7800 (ph)
201-845-0973 (fax)
www.toysrus.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores