Toys R Us - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
177 reviews & complaints.
www.toysrus.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Treated like DIRT for returning dud product (for the 3rd time)
By -

CALGARY -- I had the most horrible service at Toys R Us on Mcleod Trail in Calgary, Alberta tonight. I went to return a toothbrush (only $7 but still it is the point of the matter) as it did not play music or even rotate as soon as I opened it. The employee, instead of greeting me proceeds to gossip for a couple of minutes while I wait for service. (Gross, inappropriate things). When I explain that I was not impressed that a product that I opened did not work, she barked that I should have known to replace the batteries.

I said that I did not think it my responsibility to go to the trouble and expense to do that as it was a brand new product that should work as it says, 'batteries included'. So we continue to argue for a bit, her being very nasty and unreasonable and passing the buck, saying, "Blame the manufacturers- it's not our problem!" OK, I am feeling really disrespected here, what happened to consumer confidence in products or the faith knowing that if you get a faulty product, you can return? I buy many thousands of dollars worth of toys and return things with no hassle at the Bay or Wal-Mart.

I tell her this and she ACTUALLY says to me, "So shop there!" Can you believe that?!! You better believe that I will, no way will I give my money over to a business that has their people follow no protocol or professionalism! This same employee had given me a really hard time months ago when I tried to return a faulty stroller! It was dangerous and even the manager I spoke to just told me to send it back to the manufacturer!

(Total passing the buck just to save money) I gave up on that one, why would I send back something that would cost me $50-$100 to post, and have no guarantee as I am sure they would make an excuse or simply not reimburse me? I asked to speak to a manager at this point and complained about all the things mentioned above in a calm (yet angry) voice, simply stating facts in an appropriate manner.

I can't say the manager made me feel better. She never apologized. Never told the girl to stop arguing with me. The manager even stood there and said nothing as the girl shouts, "Don't blame ME for all your problems!" (That was ridiculous actually- pathetic as the only problem I mentioned was...a toothbrush...What a stupid and rude thing to say to a customer, especially since the issue at hand was HER attitude.

I replied, "Yeah, it CAN'T be YOU that is the problem." So she says, "You're the only one that has a problem with me..." And I laughed out loud, that was so funny, the rudest girl I have ever come across that says absolutely shocking things to people, never has any issues with customers? So I laugh and say, "I'm sure, I'm really sure."

Toys R Us is really cheap (and dumb) to save a few measly bucks they have lost me as a customer, as I will never return there, I will only go to places that have good return policies (and expectations of staff to not abuse people).
So if you think you may possibly get something that is dirty/faulty/unsafe or just want to be able to change your mind, do not shop at Toys R Us! I have never been able to return one out of three things- think that is a coincidence? Save your money as it is theirs for keeps (you get to keep the junk) if you buy there. Not to mention getting horrible customer service where they care nothing about your patronage. Toys R Us does not return products!!!

Replies
Bike Bah humbug
By -

I bought a bike for my child for Christmas amongst other toys for family & friends. I price compared several retailers at the time and they had the best price of all. SO I thought. Buyer must always beware they say. At check out $30 additional dollars was added to price of the bike. I asked how the price went up $30? And pulled out my Sunday flyer ad to show why I chose them for my shopping needs.

The cashier explained it was a Warranty. I said I would forgo the warranty. Only $10 was taken off. I then asked why it was $20 more excluding tax. I was told that was the bike assembly fee I had to pay. I said an unassembled bike was fine. They had 5 none of which were disassembled she said. I asked for a manager on duty. (Kindly I am no stranger to retail or customer service industry. I am always respectful knowing employees have no control over policy but have had my fair share of negotiations to make a sale and keep a customer). That is business and I am holding their flier after all.

I asked for a manager and explained that I came in for the bike at the advertised price and would like to purchase said bike at that price as advertised no upgrades. The manager did not respond to me just whispered to the girl. The girl said the manager would honor that. I said thank you to them both. Manager walked away.

I was told another employee would bring out the bike. The manager whispered to that employee not in my ear shot. I assumed to go get the bike. I had many other items too so was glad I did not have to walk away from sale. Punishing employees on ethics in advertising to the hassle of restocking my cast off items due to failure of negotiations is not ideal. They got far more than $30 additional out of me excluding bike. Win win I thought. Smart manager. A different employee was sent back to retrieve the bike for me. It took 20 minutes. My husband called and asked what is taking so long. I thought maybe they were taking bike apart I thought-well...a little odd but hey.

Instead a complete bike came out. I thought all was well just busy holiday season- hard working employee. One has to wait. I said thank you to this employee too. And was on my way hustling for my children were hungry and restless and crying in the car with hubby. Upon getting home- It's tires were low and a plastic chain guard a little lose. I thought no biggie I have a bike pump and a screwdriver and they worked with me so OK. I tightened the screw the guard popped up in that one area that did not lay flat. Tried again and got it I thought. I pumped the tires and packed and hid it for the big day. Christmas morning the tires were flat and the guard once again ill fitting.

My hypothesis-Every lemon piece from all 5 bikes must have been combined into one in those 20 minutes. My son was broken hearted not to be able to test ride it Christmas morning and he is too young to understand why Mom has to take it to the bike shop. I could buy a Schwinn from a professional for the end cost of all these shenanigans. TRU clearly knows kids love character bikes etc and use it to their advantage. Like taking the bike back would not traumatize a child-it does. Making me the bad guy-what parent wants to further ruin Christmas for a 2 1/2 yr old- kid after TRU already has.

And what fool who would actually bring the bike back to complain just to test their ethics further and prove the cliche -fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me. Bike shop it is! A very expensive lesson in retail to learn TRU is not the company it once was. Yuck! In the 70's Venture and the like would just advertise and have your "rain check" last forever with no product ever arriving-Not sell you a lemon. So just as my parents felt heartache for the Barbie Dream house rain check that never was honored for me. I too have that parenting experience with a lemon bike.

At least one day should my grandchildren and son have this unfortunate event. I know it won't be due to TRU because surely its customers will drop like flies one shenanigan at a time, another retailer is just dying to swoop in and take their business, or BBB will uncover them for whom they now have become.

Replies
Gift cards and PayPal
By -

My grandson is turning 10 tomorrow and I have been very ill, so I decided to purchase a gift card for him. With express shipping it would have been there tomorrow and on time. On 28 November 2009 I went online to the TRU website and purchased a $100 gift card, this transaction was paid for with PayPal. A great option for online shopping.

I received a confirmation email at 10:48pm that the order was being processed. At 11:24pm I received another email stating that "after attempting several times to contact you, unsuccessfully the order had been cancelled." Now I am really confused at this point as obviously in the time frame between emails no one tried to contact me, and I know the funds are available for the transaction, so what is going on?

Beginning at 7:00am the following morning I first called my bank, yep the funds were on memo hold just waiting for TRU to claim them. So nope that is not the problem. Called TRU who informed me that it was a PayPal problem. Called PayPal and was told the funds were just waiting for TRU to pick them up and there was absolutely no problem on their end.

This ping-pong action went on for the better of 4 hours and finally I am at screaming match point. I was told after screaming at the top of my head in frustration that...TRU does not take PayPal for some purchases. Now you have to understand THEY offer PayPal as an option at checkout. Also the woman told me that all I needed to do was repurchase the card using a different mode of payment. Here is the true dilema. I am mother of 6, grandmother of 9, have 3 birthdays this month and Christmas to boot. At that moment I did not have an additional $119.17 for them to just hang on to until they felt like giving it back.

So to date I have filed with the BBB, with whom TRU has an *F* rating. They do not respond to complaints, nor do they feel the need to rectify them. I have also filed a complaint with PayPal, as they had never heard of anything like this, unless funds were not available. Also just a bit of information from PayPal when a company contracts with them to use this as a clearing house they MUST stipulate in the contract what if anything PayPal would not be good for. TRU has not done this.

So here it is Monday morning and I have no money and no gift for the grandson, my bank said that although TRU said they removed the hold on the funds there has been no such order. I want to find others who have, had this done to them and I would like to file a class action. I also think it is time to hurt them were it hurts the most, their pocketbooks. I would like to gather any related stories and turn them over to the media. I am using this venue because I do not want this to be a local story. I live so far out in the woods we don't even have a TRU by us. So please, send me anything related to TRU/PayPal. You can send it to: **.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

WARRINGTON, UNITED KINGDOM, NEW JERSEY -- At 1614 hours on 18th July 2009 I spent £221.33 at Toys R Us at the Warrington Store, United Kingdom, items purchased included 2 in 1 Dolls House - £99.99, 12” girls Snowflake - £39.99 (bike). This is for my daughter's birthday on 30th Aug 2009, so on 29th Aug 2009 I began to build the Doll House and only at around eleven at night did I find out that a vital piece was missing!

In relation to the bike, there seems to be a fault to it from the first day namely the back wheel was wobbly, I tried to fix it by adjusting the brakes and that but it did not work. This back wheel together with the chain came in one piece from the manufacturer that means it was faulty from the moment I opened the package.

So at 1144 hours on 30th Aug 2009, I went back to the store with my daughter and spoke with a ** at the Customer Service Desk, she told me because I have had the bike for more than a month, I couldn't have a new one or a full refund, it will have to go to repairs and that will take about 2 – 7 days. I also asked for a full refund for the dolls house because I was very annoyed with the products from that store, ** stated I needed to bring the product back in order to obtain a full refund, the house is about 5 foot by 5 foot by 6 foot and I was not bringing that product back (I will need a van), I stated the store should come and collect it, I then asked to speak to her supervisor.

** the Manager turned up, I repeated the request to her, she gave me the same answer as ** did, and I said I was not happy about this. Suddenly she told me that I was raising my voice and refused to help me but will help my daughter. I reassured her that I was not raising my voice aggressively; she only said this because her products were faulty. I wanted other customers to hear the kind of services the store was being provided to me. She then threatened to call the police so I said to her ‘call the police' as I did not commit any offences whatsoever.

A male member of staff was standing behind her and he never said anything, as he was probably useless as well. I stated to ** the Manager I am not asking for your help, I am a customer and you are under an obligation to make sure the products bought by me was what it described, you have breached your contract. ** the Manager that stated I will help your daughter but not you because you have raised your voice, I stated this is not a raised voice and I stated just give me my bike back and I will pursue this elsewhere.

** the Manager was unable to give me my bike back because the repair person has already taken it in and probably taken it apart. ** the Manager then liaised with the repair person by phone, she knew that the bike was faulty from the minute I bought it. ** the Manager then stated to me that "just go and choose another bike and I will give you £10 for your petrol on a gift card, in relation to the house I will have to go to the Ancoats store in Manchester to collect the missing piece."

She also stated “DON'T TALK TO ME ANYMORE OR I MIGHT CHANGE MY MIND ABOUT HELPING YOU.” ** the Manager stated she did not like my attitude. I did not pass an attitude test when I purchased the products, did I have to pass an attitude test when their products are faulty? Talk about customer services, what customer services?

Replies
Nightmare customer service/ "I'm a crook?"
By -

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- So less than a month ago my husband and I were in Jacksonville, FL visiting from Tallahassee. I have always loved the Toys/Babies R Us there until now! We have bought everything from furniture, bedding, travel systems, and so on from them. Luckily we have never had to return anything until now. Our son is over a year old and we recently gave away our old travel system and I needed a new stroller for him.

On our last day in Jacksonville we purchased 'the perfect' stroller. We bought the Chicco Trevi- Extreme. It was a nice color, lightweight, and compact.... we were very happy with our new find! The man who was working the floor seemed to be very knowledgeable and informative about everything. Nice guy except for his FOUL MOUTH, but hey that's OK. We bought it! After leaving Jacksonville we stopped & picked up our two children up. All of our luggage wouldn't fit in the car because of the box. We took the stroller out of the box, folded it out, put the baby in it, and rolled it around for less than a minute.

Everything seemed to be fine so we trashed the box! Now two and a half weeks later I needed the stroller for the first time. I put the baby in and we started off. I noticed the metal piece that locks the frame IS BENT! I guess my 1st mistake was to not thoroughly inspect every last inch before throwing the box away. I quickly called the store we purchased it at. I explained exactly what was wrong. The metal piece is badly bent. I have my receipt but no box, and asked what I should do.

The CSR was nice & said she could only do an exchange since it was broken & I DID have my receipt but no box. I asked again if she was sure before I drove the two and a half hour to get there and SHE WAS! I get there and she unfolds it and looks at. She then walks across the store without a word and brings back a manager. The manager takes one look at it and says "I'M NOT TAKING THAT BACK!” I asked why not and he rudely replied that they don't sell strollers in that condition. It's a safety hazard and he'll never be able to resell it. It came in a freaking box so how the crap does he know what condition they sell in? Do they open every box? I only wanted to exchange it.

The guy was extremely hateful and made out like I had broken it. Before he RAN ME OUT of the store I asked what he thought I should do. He said that he didn't care what I did and that they sell $29 umbrella strollers if I wanted one of those! And yes ran me out! He told me if I wasn't going to purchase something I needed to leave because he was not going to exchange it. I had just spent over $100 not to mention the cost to travel back to the store for nothing. The manager could have at least apologized for his employee and the inconvenience.

But no, nothing! I called customer service today and no help from them either. The only thing that led to was an employee complaint. The whole time the guy made me out to be a crook or scammer. It's more like Babies R Us are the ones scamming people! I've received better service at Wal-Mart & Kmart. YOU WOULD HAVE TO PAY ME BEFORE I WOULD EVER SHOP HERE AGAIN! I DON'T THINK ANYONE SHOULD BE TREATED & TALKED TO THE WAY I WAS!!!

Replies
Take Our Side
By -

The workers in this company are targeted when it comes to these reviews. Any negative review that corporate finds out about is turned around to us not doing our jobs. (except for the return policy that got changed without notice, so people who already purchased something suddenly couldn't return it)

It's going to sound kind of mean, but if you don't like the service in the stores, don't shop there. And instead of complaining about the employees service, complain about the policy behind it, or the obvious lack of training that the employee received.

Let corporate see that they are the cause of these problems. True, there are going to be horrible workers, but until you can see the stress put on the workers, you'll never understand why. Just an example: Our work performance is based on YOUR credit score. You're not buying a car, the bank doesn't take ownership of your crib until its paid off. Our work performance depends on if Chase thinks that you will pay them back.

Besides that, workers all over the place are forced to carry 80+ lb boxes alone because they understaff people capable of carrying it. 60lb boxes are stored on top shelfs requiring a ladder to get down.... OSHA would have a lot of fun doing a surprise inspection of these stores. So when a worker doesn't even look to see if we have something, or they're hesitant to sell you the thing that you wanted, remember, we care about our safety, the company doesn't. We're just trying to avoid that risk of injury.

So if the service is that bad, which I agree that it is, go to Walmart or Sears to buy what you need and save money while you're doing it.

If you're using this page, unless its a complaint about a specific worker, try to limit it to complaining about the policy that caused your complaint, not the person who had to tell you the policy, because we get blamed when it seems like it was just a bad worker.

And if you do shop there, be ready for an even more extreme game of 20 questions every time you shop, because the company got more strict on BPPs, batteries, and credit cards, to where its actually a write-up, with the chance of being fired, for forgetting to ask ONE person about those 3 things, and then any random charity we're taking donations for.

As workers, I know you all understand, job stress causes bad workers, theres a point where you just "snap", you stop caring, and you stop trying, especially when your paycheck doesn't even pay for the gas to get to work. We're not out to get the customer, we all know that your repeat business is what gives us a chance of getting hours, we want you shopping there so that we have a job. But now, its obvious the company doesn't care, they make more money in credit sales than they do in actual sales. OUr jobs are constantly at risk because of how our customers choose to use their own money outside of our stores. This isn't a way to run a business, boycott us, let corporate see that they're driving our customers to shop somewhere else. Make them know that they have to actually train their employees, that the average person doesn't have perfect credit, that you just don't need batteries for a crib or stroller...

The customers are the ones with the power to change how the company runs, as long as you keep shopping at our stores, corporate sees it as working fine, and any problems are with the employees. Almost every complain in here is based on how the company is run, let them know it. Stop shopping at our stores, tell your friends to stop shopping, call corporate and tell them that the store across the street treats you like a person and not a dollar sign, just let them know that their policies, staffing habits, prices, and high interest credit cards just don't work.

Replies
Customer Dis-Satisfaction Culture
By -

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- February 25, 2009
Chairman and CEO Gerald L. Storch
Toys "R" Us, Inc.
1 Geoffrey Way
Wayne, NJ 07470-2030
Customer Service (800-869-7787).

RE: Customer Satisfaction

Chairman Storch:

I am writing to you today, bringing to your attention the extreme dissatisfaction my family and I have with the behavior exhibited within Toys "R" Us, specifically Store #9540.

Shopping for her first bicycle, my wife and four year old were looking at the selection available in your store 9540. After examining the bikes, we settled on the 14" Dora the Explorer by Huffy (SKU: 3BA03462) retailing for $79.99. Per the store instructions on the bike, we pulled one of the voucher slips, which indicated the price of the bike ($79.99), and [paraphrasing] "bring this slip to one of the cashiers and a bike will be brought out". After waiting in the checkout line for several minutes, the cashier instructed me that I would need to go to the back of the store and get an assembled one. Questioning the cashier, I told her that I wanted a bike that hadn't been used as I was looking for a brand new bicycle for my daughter. The cashier proceeded to call to see if the store had any bikes still in the box. To my dismay, the answer was no, as its "store policy to assemble all the bikes". We did not have an option as the voucher indicated.

Conceding that I would not be able to have a "brand new" bike, as all the bikes in the store were used by other kids, I went to the back of the store and brought up one of the two Dora bicycles. Waiting in line another five minutes or so, and adding to my discomfort, I learned that I would need to pay a $10 assembly fee. Informing the same cashier, and manager standing beside her that I was not going to pay a "mandatory" assembly fee for something that I did not want to have assembled, (nor did any customer have an option to avoid), I was told if I wanted the bike, the fee was going to be applied. Upset, I decided to take my business Target, purchasing a comparable bicycle, still in the box, for less money.

The very next weekend, my family and I were back in the same store [9540], as we had two 15% off one item coupons that were set to expire in a few days. We found and were ready to purchase a $59.99 WowWee Alive Cubs Lion Cub (SKU: AAE81639) and a $9.99 safety sign to complement the bike we purchased the week prior. As the Lion Cub was a surprise for our daughter, I stood behind to purchase this separately (in another line), while my wife and daughter purchased the safety sign (using one of the two 15% off coupons) in front of me.

After their transaction was complete, it was my turn but was immediately told that I could not use my 15% off, as this coupon was only good for baby products. The coupons' disclaimer read that this was not to be used for iPods, video games etc but made no mention to stuffed animals. I told the cashier that my wife just used the very same coupon ten seconds earlier but she did not budge. I then offered to return the $10 sign and use that coupon for this more expensive ($59.99) item and we were told that once the coupon was used that it cannot be used again. Extremely frustrated, I asked to speak to a manager as I could not understand this unwillingness to work with a customer who wants to spend money at your store. Ten minutes went by waiting for a manager to help resolve this issue before I gave up and decided to take my business to another retailer.

I cannot imagine that this behavior is part of your company culture which is why I am bringing this to your attention. In these hard economic times, many customers are seeking value in their selection process and are willing to take their business elsewhere if they are not receiving it. These two separate events represent lost business to your company as I was able to get the value I needed from another retailer. As my family is expecting another little one in September, we hope these types of issues are resolved so we can continue to include Toys "R" Us in our purchasing decisions.

Replies
To The Customers... Listen Here
By -

I've been an associate of TRU for 3 years, for the most part I enjoyed my job, and I get a good laugh from reading the "complaints" people have about the company here.

The return policy bothering you? Gasp, you bought something and lost your receipt, and now you decide you want to return it? Nope, rules are rules. Not only does the back of your now lost receipt have the full return policy details on it, but so does the front, the customer service desk, and every register. There is NO way you can be unaware you need a receipt. Even if you somehow miss the signs and don't read your receipt, it's basically common sense. No receipt no return means no receipt no return. If we made an exception for you, we'd have no policy.

Which leads to customers who think they deserve special treatment. We see hundreds of people come through register/desk/line of sight on our shift daily, and you are in no way any more special then the other X amount of people we've helped that day. If the cashier doesn't want to chat it up with you or laugh at some lame joke you make, deal with it, don't get offended or complain, that cashier has probably been standing there 7 hours and just wants to go home to her family.

And those surveys that print at the top of your receipt? Yeah, don't be an ass and give everything a 1 just because you were mad that we sold out of something and you came in 5 minutes before closing. The company actually cares about those, and you bring a biased jerk doesn't help. I've seen many a good cashier get a "talking to" from management because one of the customers they rang out filled out a negative survey, even if it had nothing to do with them.

Other than being pissed about not having something or a so called "rude" associate (one of those associates mentioned above who doesn't laugh at lame jokes or feel like making small talk) the other complaints are about having to stand in line. You have to stand in line nearly everywhere, I'm sorry if there's 2 people ahead of you, learn some patience.

I'm also tired of people saying that we're "going out of business" or "their company is going down the tubes"....nope, quite the contrary actually. Before our new CEO TRU was having some problems, but we've been growing in the past 5 years and we're opening NEW stores, not closing any. Don't cite facts about a company you know nothing about internally.

Never assume an associate has the power to change anything or is in some way holding information from you. If they say they're sold out of an item and don't know when it will be in, its the truth. Rarely do we know the exact date a SPECIFIC item will be in. Sometimes we know when trucks come, but if your item will actually be on it is another question, and when it will be filled on the floor is another. Don't try and ferret "secret" information out of the employee, if they knew they'd tell you.

So to wrap it up, don't try to return something without a receipt, don't get pissed at an overworked or shy cashier, don't assume the employees are all knowing and in some way keeping you in the dark, DO give all 10's on the surveys and THANK the associate that helps you, it may be our job but we deserve thanks for putting up with more crap then you know. Thanks ^_^

Replies
Cancelling Pre-Orders
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- They initially canceled my pre-orders a few weeks after placing them, then offered me a coupon and exclusive link to re-order them, so I did. Received a confirmation email instantly and then another email a week later saying they were getting ready to ship, then they got canceled again. The problem occurred when I initially ordered from Toys R Us instead of Gamestop, Walmart, Amazon or any other seller that had amiibos. Toys R Us ran out, so now I can't get them. I contacted Toys R Us and their customer service gives me a generic canned response, so I contacted BBB due to their customer service, which went as well as can be expected, BBB did say that they would monitor Toys R Us account over the next few days for similar complaints, so if anyone has had any issues ordering from Toys R Us website, amiibos or not, I invite you to file a complaint. http://www.bbb.org/new-jersey/business-reviews/toys-retail/toys-r-us-in-wayne-nj-29003690/

Replies
Items Paid and Not Shipped
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- I had 3 Layaways online Totaling $533.00 I paid them off a week ago and they are marked shipped. No tracking numbers were provided online or through email. I have not received anything. I have called them several times and no one knows why they have not been sent or what is going on. They keep telling me that they will escalate this and someone will call me. So far no one has.

Two of the layaways are Christmas presents and the other was to be a Birthday present for my grand son next week.

I have no idea what to do next.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >