Preview Review

Next Review

Tree Classics Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not the Quality or Customer Service I expected
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WISCONSIN -- After much research and comparison, I purchased a 7 1/2 ft pre-lit Lake Shore Blue/Green Spruce tree five years ago. First year tree looked great. Each year more sections of each of the three sections do not light. This year the top barely lights and those that do are dimmed.

Sat on phone for 30 minutes waiting for customer service who immediately wanted to sell me lights obviously not listening to my description of the problem. Told me there was nothing they could do. So, I have an $800 tree without lights. Most likely will cut the light strings off so I can restring so tree is fully lit. Do not waste your money. Although the branches and 'needles' look good it was not worth the money to get a pre-lit tree if the lights don't work after the first year. Defective lights; extremely poor customer service.

Company Response 12/10/2015:

Hi Deborah, we're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with your lights. Tree Classics provides a Two Year Light Limited Warranty and it covers most lighting issues during this period. Bulb burnout is normal for Christmas tree lights and is caused by a number of factors, such as:

• Change in temperature
• How the tree is stored
• Static electricity in the air

If your tree was purchased 5 years ago, we regret to inform you that it's beyond the warranty period. For your reference about our warranty, here's the link: http://bit.ly/1SR2Z7P. For out of warranty lights, we offer replacement packs for $4.99 that include 50 incandescent bulbs and replacement fuses. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to email us at marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Trees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLEN'S FALLS, NEW YORK -- Back on Sept 20 I purchased what I thought was going to be one of the better artificial trees made. I opened it today and started to assemble it. What a surprise the bottom two sections looked much like a Charlie Brown tree! The only section that may have been ok was the top, with the other two looked ridiculous. I do not want a replacement tree because I am dissatisfied with this whole deal.

I would like to send this tree to your main office so they can see where the company has come in 40 yrs. All I ask is for a shipping label to send it back so you can see how bad it is. If you do not think so you may keep the tree for free, no refund. If you like it, put it up in the main office. TERRIBLE. Thanks For Your Attention. Dissatisfied Customer.

Company Response 12/24/2015:

Hi Michael, thank you for your honest feedback and we're sorry to hear that your tree is not as full as expected. We have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate department as Tree Classics strive to improve our products and services. We'd like to help you further, please send us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com so we can work on your issue right away. Thank you.

Replies
VERY Expensive One-time Use Tree
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- We brought out our Tree Classics tree for our second year of use. The bottom section drooped - all the branches. The top 2 sections were just fine. After troubleshooting and calling customer service we were asked to send a picture of the faulty section, which we did. We were told that the section is out of stock and would be ready to ship in February or March. REALLY? We spent a lot of money on this tree and will not be able to use it.

There is a 5-year warranty on foliage but no use to us if we cannot use the tree. After talking to them on our third call, we have been assured that we will receive a replacement tree by Thursday, December 24. After reading all the reviews, I have my doubts that we will have a tree for Christmas this year. Feels rather Scrooge like to me.

Company Response 12/24/2015:

Hi Laura, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have had. We would like to check the status of your replacement. Kindly send us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com so we can update you as soon as possible. Thank you.

Replies
9 Ft. Flip Christmas Tree
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OREGON -- Paid over $700.00 for a 9 ft. Christmas tree from Tree Classics last December 2014. The top one-third of the lights did not work & one limb hung on the floor and had to be wired up. I called customer service and after talking with several people was told that their warranty did not cover a sale item. I wish now that I had reported them to the Better Business Bureau because they should have been. I think it is such a shame we have companies that won't stand behind their product.

I told the company I just wanted a replacement not a refund. Didn't happen. I'm writing this review this year (2015) because we just brought the tree in from storage, plugged the lights in and now the bottom lights do not work. We have checked the fuses, and jumped through all the hoops. Crappy Company!

Company Response 12/04/2015:

Hi Lucretia, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and we're sorry for the level of customer service you received. We will discuss this with our customer service training department to ensure this issue will not occur again. We would like to help you further. Kindly send us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com so we can check the specifics of your order and find a solution as soon as possible. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Product Is Defective and Has Been Nothing but a Headache
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I have to agree with other reviewers -- the lights on this tree are defective. The first year everything was fine. The tree is easy to assemble, all the lights worked, and the completed product was very attractive. Year number 2 was a different story. The lights on the entire top level of the tree refused to light. I called customer service and although the representative was very polite she was also clueless and was of no help at all. I went through the entire change all the fuses, check all the bulbs, etc. procedure but nothing worked. She finally agreed to send new light strands.

To say that getting the old strands off and the new ones on is a nightmare is an understatement. Also, although the instructions say to remove the existing lights one section at a time and replace them with the new strands this is impossible. Whoever strung the original lights split the wire and went around the tree in opposite directions. No doubt this contributes to the lights failing.

This is now year 3. This year the lights on the middle section have failed. I am now attempting to restring this section with lights I had left over from last year. As I work the lights go on and off. I am praying they last through New Years. Then the tree goes on the curb. Do not buy a tree from this company.

Company Response 11/27/2015:

Hi. We apologize that your experience with our customer service and product is unsatisfactory. We strive to continuously improve our customer experience and we appreciate your feedback. Please send us an email with your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com as we would like to review the details of your purchase and help resolve your concerns. Thank you.

Replies
Order Not Yet Shipped
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WISCONSIN -- Terrible!!! Placed order on Nov. 30th and it is the 3rd now and it still has not shipped. On their website it states, orders placed before midnight go out the next day. My wife placed the order knowing she would need it by a certain date and it definitely isn't going to make, hope it makes it for Christmas?? Called to check on order and the guy has no clue when it will go out. Will never order another thing from this company and will leave reviews as well so people know to never order from them.

Company Response 12/10/2015:

Hi, we understand how frustrating this must be and we cannot apologize enough for this. We'd like to check the status of your order, please send us an email at marketing@treeclassics.com so we can review and update you accordingly. Thank you.

Replies
Defective Products -Sub-Standard Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- Received the tree and put it up the same day just to test lights, etc. One light socket doesn't work. Tried replacement bulbs (most of which are defective and don't work) but even the ones that did didn't resolve the problem. Sent an e-mail to Classic Trees yesterday evening (same day of receipt and discovery) notifying them I am returning for full replacement.

  1. They will not pay for shipping on defective products.
  2. They will charge me a 10% "restocking fee" on defective products.

This place is a scam. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THEM.

Update 11/04/2015:

Tree Classics,

I have e-mails from your office referring me to your return policy, which states I MUST pay for the return shipping. There is no offer to send me a shipping label, even though I specifically asked. Let's not play games here.

Days later, when I filed a complaint with PayPal (the means by which I paid) your company suddenly sends me a Fedex return label AFTER I confirmed I returned the tree to you AT MY EXPENSE. The e-mail replies still say I must pay a 10% restocking fee. However, suddenly you have refunded my entire purchase price (no 10% restocking fee) via PayPal, at least that was your companies response to PayPal. I am still monitoring for credit to my account.

Your company is still silent regarding reimbursing me my nearly $100.00 return shipping costs.

My order number is 143608. Let's see if you reimburse my return shipping fee. Had you advised me you would pay for return shipping and sent me a return label, I would not have had to pay for it myself.

I believe only when a consumer goes public with your firm do you actually take notice. This is not customer service. Let's see what you do now.

Company Response 11/03/2015:

Hi Karen, we're sorry to hear about your experience with our customer service and that there were charges for returning your tree. We understand how frustrating this must be and we'd like to help you. Tree Classics would never expect you to pay for a defective product. We would like to request for your Order ID, please send it to marketing@treeclassics.com so we can review the specifics of your order and find a solution as soon as
possible.

Replies
Defective Products and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I have had a terrible experience with Tree Classics that I hope you will share so that others will not suffer the same shameful service. I wish that I had read the negative reviews on mythreecents.com, the BBB website, and Tree Classics Facebook page. As I detail below, I received a defective tree from their company that they refused to replace or repair, even though a 30-day warranty is posted directly beside the tree on their website. When I asked every customer service representative I dealt with about this, they said that they had meant to take the warranty down but hadn't done so yet.

I never asked for a refund for the original cost of the tree, but requested that they allow me to credit the cost of the tree toward another purchase from their company. After over a month of e-mails and phone calls, they ultimately refused to take any action. Here are more details:

  1. I either received a defective Flip Tree, or Tree Classics is knowing continuing to sell an inferior product. The tree I received had an approximately 1-foot gap on each side of the tree. (See photos.) Because the problem is on both sides, this tree is unusable because I can't even set it up to hide the problem.

  2. Their website provides no disclaimers regarding this problem with the tree, nor did they provide specific instructions on how to fix the problem on the website or in the shipping box. I cannot imagine other customers have not experienced a similar problem. Moreover, they have not posted a negative review I submitted to their website. Other customers have complained of the same problem on Tree Classics Facebook page.

  3. There were significant problems with the delivery of my tree. My purchase immediately cleared my bank account, but I did not receive it in a timely manner, nor was it shipped from FedEx as promised on the Tree Classics website. It was shipped from a company called My Seko. Although I e-mailed Tree Classics repeatedly and asked that someone call me to resolve the matter, I only received e-mails advising me to contact the shipping company directly and was sent a faulty tracking URL.

I finally looked up the My Seko number on the internet, called, and learned that Tree Classics had provided them with an incorrect phone number, thus they had been unable to deliver the tree. My tree had been sitting in their warehouse for days, but Tree Classics never intervened on my behalf or offered a satisfactory explanation regarding this problem.

This company's website claims that it prides itself on the finest products and excellent customer service, but that has not been my experience. Please share this review so that other customers will not make the same mistake I made in purchasing products from this company.

Company Response 12/09/2014:

Hi Cindy, we're very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Our customer service team called in last December 4th to try to reach you and had left a voice message. Please feel free to call back or send us an email at marketing@treeclassics with information on the best time to call you and if you would like to be called at a certain telephone number so we can coordinate with our customer service team.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered a 9 Christmas Tree and 4 9ft garlands from this company on November 2, 2014. The tree arrived in 2 days I was so impressed. We opened the tree immediately that evening and set it up. As I fluffed each section I was in awe of the beauty of the tree. It is full and so real looking. I have been a Frontgate customer for years and I was even more impressed with this tree. We got to the last top section of the tree.... plugged it in and half the lights did not work. We did all the trouble shooting recommended by the company. Nothing worked.

I immediately sent and email to the company the next day. I got a generic email back telling me how to troubleshoot the light problem which I had already explained in my first email that I had done. So I called them. The customer service representative said that my email had been forwarded to the technical department but it had not been opened or read yet. She suggest I send some pictures so I did.

I waited two days and still no response. I called customer service back and was put on hold for 40 minutes waiting to speak to a supervisor. They never came on the line and the customer service representative said she would have them call me. That again did not happen.

Today I called back. I did get a supervisor. I explained the situation. She also was unable to help me. She said they would have to make a warranty claim with the tree company in order to get me a replacement part for the tree. (I thought you were the tree company) She had no idea how long that would take. ARE YOU KIDDING ME! How can a company penalize its customers for defective products and make me wait indefinitely to fix it. How does a warranty come into play of a product you just shipped a customer a week ago?

I asked to return the tree. She said I would have to pay the return shipping and a 10% restocking fee for a defective product! I am still waiting for any resolution and to top it all off... I ordered 4 garlands and only 3 were shipped! No answer on that problem either. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! Frontgate I am on my way back to your excellent customer service!!! $1000 spent with this company... I am so disappointed and I will not recommend this company to anyone!!!

Company Response 11/12/2014:

Thank you for your valuable feedback, Karen. We're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our product and for any frustration this experience has caused you. We have found your order and have reviewed the exchange you've had with our customer service. Our records indicate that a request has already been sent out for your replacement section to be shipped soon. We have also followed up the status of your fourth garland and we will inform you once we receive an update from our shipping team. Please send us an email to marketing@treeclassics.com if we can provide any further assistance.

Replies
Faulty Wiring on a Pre-Lit Christmas Tree and Worthless Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- We purchased a pre-lit Christmas tree in late November. Shortly after arriving strands of lights started to go out. When we called we were told to change the fuses on the effected light strands. The idea that (a week after receiving a new tree) having to replace the fuses seemed a bit unreasonable, never mind mind the difficulty (including several broken ornaments) in reaching such fuses and trying to figure out which fuses were for the affected lights. Even considering the issues noted above, we replaced all the fuses and bulbs but the lights still did not work.

I called customer service to complain. I was then told that we bought a "Clearance" item (all their trees are marked down, so all are Clearance) and we only had 10 days to receive a refund or replacement. I pointed out that the lights were under a 30 day warranty and the customer service representative took my number and told me that someone would call back. When over 24 hours passed, I called again and spoke with a gentleman who told me that they would send me a replacement tree and he would send via 2 day mail. After I received the tree he said I was to donate the original tree to a non-profit.

After several days passed, I tried calling back multiple times but could not get through to a live person. I was on the phone multiple times listening to their recording, only be disconnected after over 40 minutes of waiting. I then started to send more emails but never received a reply.

Finally, on Dec 21 we received a phone message that I needed to send them a copy of the donation receipt to continue the replacement process. I did not get the message until 12/24 and called customer service. The woman on the phone told me that I needed to donate the tree that day, otherwise, it would be considered "using the tree" over Christmas and they would not honor the request for replacement.

I pointed out that it was completely unreasonable for me to donate a Christmas Tree on Christmas Eve and furthermore, they had not engendered any level of trust with us to make me believe they would live up to their end of the agreement. Even if I had someplace to donate the tree and was willing to do without a tree on Christmas, I had no reason to believe they would honor the request for replacement. The response was silence and then the service representative noted that she would enter the fact that I was refusing to abide by their return process, so I was now on my own.

In the end she said they would send me replacement strands for a pre-lit tree. The idea of removing all the lights and then attaching new lights for a brand new tree seems completely unreasonable, and doing so in the week before Christmas is ridiculous. We paid for a pre-lit tree but received a potentially dangerous product (lights worked initially and then started going off, so there could be a short) that they will not stand behind.

Bottom line, this shop did not honor their warranty and seems to be a complete scam. I wish I did a little more research before doing business with them. I do not recommend doing any business with Tree Classics or their owner Heavenly Holidays LLC. They do not stand behind their product.

Company Response 01/08/2015:

Hi! Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the lighting issues you encountered with your tree and for your experience with us thus far. Please send your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com. We would like to review your order and further assist you with your concern.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Tree Classics Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 69 ratings and
95 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Tree Classics
6508 S 27th St, Suite 9200
Oak Creek, WI 53154
1-877-699-6278 (ph)
www.treeclassics.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Home/Garden Companies