Tree Classics

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.3 out of 5, based on 48 ratings and
74 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Customer Service Ever!!!!!!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I ordered a 9 Christmas Tree and 4 9ft garlands from this company on November 2, 2014. The tree arrived in 2 days I was so impressed. We opened the tree immediately that evening and set it up. As I fluffed each section I was in awe of the beauty of the tree. It is full and so real looking. I have been a Frontgate customer for years and I was even more impressed with this tree. We got to the last top section of the tree....plugged it in and half the lights did not work. We did all the trouble shooting recommended by the company. Nothing worked. I immediately sent and email to the company the next day. I got a generic email back telling me how to trouble shoot the light problem which I had already explained in my first email that I had done. So I called them. The customer service representative said that my email had been forwarded to the technical department but it had not been opened or read yet. She suggest I send some pictures so I did.

I waited two days and still no response. I called customer service back and was put on hold for 40 minutes waiting to speak to a supervisor. They never came on the line and the customer service representative said she would have them call me. That again did not happen. Today I called back. I did get a supervisor. I explained the situation. She also was unable to help me. She said they would have to make a warranty claim with the tree company in order to get me a replacement part for the tree.( I thought you were the tree company) She had no idea how long that would take. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!! How can a company penalize it's customers for defective products and make me wait indefinitely to fix it. How does a warranty come into play of a product you just shipped a customer a week ago????? I asked to return the tree. She said I would have to pay the return shipping and a 10% restocking fee for a defective product! I am still waiting for any resolution and to top it all off...I ordered 4 garlands and only 3 were shipped! No answer on that problem either. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!! Frontgate I am on my way back to your excellent customer service!!!!!! $1000 spent with this company......I am so disappointed and I will not recommend this company to anyone!!!!
Company Response 11/12/2014:
Thank you for your valuable feedback, Karen. We’re so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our product and for any frustration this experience has caused you. We have found your order and have reviewed the exchange you've had with our customer service. Our records indicate that a request has already been sent out for your replacement section to be shipped soon. We have also followed up the status of your fourth garland and we will inform you once we receive an update from our shipping team. Please send us an email to marketing@treeclassics.com if we can provide any further assistance.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Product, Awful Customer Service, Stay Away!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I purchased a Christmas tree from Tree Classics just over 2 years ago. The tree cost $670!!!!!!! Supposedly a "quality" tree, well the tree is defective. It is a tree with pre-installed lights and two years into owning it and half the lights on the tree have gone out. The tree is low quality, defective and now useless. Along with either receiving a refund or a replacement for the tree I want to make sure others know not to do business with this company.

I called their customer service department and followed all of their instructions in terms of how to fix the tree lights. After all of their suggestions failed (replace fuses, wiggle the lights, etc) Haley (worst representative ever) tells me that I was out of luck and good luck with the tree. Are you kidding?!?! Just barely outside the warranty and nothing they are willing to do to help with their defective product.Just an awful company with horrible customer service.

Seriously, stay far away from this company. Their products are horrible/defective as is their customer service.
Company Response 01/23/2014:
Hi Rooneys2006, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding your tree’s lights and the service you received from us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you. We would like to help you with your Tree Classics Order and resolve this issue. Please forward your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com so we can personally verify the specifics of your Order and look into further possible options for your tree. Thank you.
Company Response 02/07/2014:
Hi Robert, we apologize for any inconvenience the lighting issue may have caused you. After sending initial troubleshooting steps to you, we have escalated this concern to our Management team to look into your account. We have determined that unfortunately, your tree’s light warranty has expired. We deeply apologize that we are unable to service your tree and if the outcome is not what is expected. Please let us know if we can answer any further questions by sending us an email to marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Rob on 01/30/2014:
Just want to update everyone on this. Yes, Tree Classics did post this message and I provided them the information they asked for. I have not heard anything since (over a week now). I'd hope that they didn't post this in order to simply make it look to the public as if they were trying to help with no intention of ever doing anything. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt for now, but the holidays are over so it can't be all that busy there. If they do make good on their promise to help I will let you know. If this was just a backhanded attempt to make it appear as though they were going to make things right without ever intending to do so I will let you know as well. That would be diabolically immoral of them though.
Rob on 02/07/2014:
And, as expected, Tree Classics provided no solution to the issue except to say "good luck with our defective product". My original comments still stand. Stay far away from this company. When you pay over $600 for a product like this there is an expectation of a certain level of quality. The product breaking down and becoming unusable after only one use does not meet those expectations. I originally bought from this company because their website claimed that their products are of the highest quality, so I spent the extra money (as opposed to buying from a Costco where they actually stand by their products) with the expectation that this product would last for many years. I guess I'll have to live with the fact that I've been scammed and paid top dollar for a low quality product. You don't have to go through that experience if you heed my advice here.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Terrible Company to Deal With
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- If you want a great looking tree, are willing to pay good money for it and expect good consistent customer service DO NOT BUY A TREE FROM THIS COMPANY, www.treeclassics.com! The problem we had is so ridiculous I plan to post this almost daily for one year. Here is what happen.

The trees are gorgeous. We were delighted with our tree. It was simple to put up. The problem started after Christmas as we were putting away the tree. We discovered we misplaced replacement lightbulbs. We accepted our error and need to buy more replacement bulbs. I called the company. They informed me they were out of stock. No problem, right? WRONG! The day was 1-28-13.

They informed me they were out of replacement lights and it was up to me to call them back IN SEPTEMBER or OCTOBER of 2013, (8 months from now), when they would get more stock. I was shocked. Year long service, supply and demand is evidently not this company’s business plan. What if a business wanted to have “Christmas in July?”

I told the Treeclassics.com’s initial “management rep” -as he described himself - this was not exceptable. They were asking me to accept THEIR responsibility of selling more product. I was the customer, not the buyer or sales person! I refused to keep any note reminding me to order more bulbs in Sept. 2013. They were not willing to assist. After many fake apologies by them and my insistence to complain higher up, the same representative called me two hours later telling me they would send the bulbs out. He tried to take my order but it would not go through. I was asked to wait.

A new person got on the phone and acted like he knew nothing of the issue and also informed me they do not get new stock in until Sept. or Oct. 2013. I patiently asked him to read the notes they surely must have made on my account. He still did not act like he knew the problem. I was flabbergasted. He had complete information on me and my personal info, yet did not act like he had notes on the two earlier discussions with them that day- or communicated to the person forwarding the call to him?

Bad Company: These trees are expensive. They are obviously made and come from overseas. The box says China. If this company is not going to have the “business brains” to maintain small inventories of accessory stock for their trees DO NOT BUY them. I strongly discourage buying from www.treeclassics.com. Why?

Whose to say the bulb style will stay the same next year? They will- but should you believe them?

Whose to say they won’t run out of other tree parts, and there are many? They will- but should you believe them?

Whose to say they can look at your records and intelligently help you? They will- but can you believe them?

When you spend good money for quality artificial Christmas trees buy it from someone that will be able to help EVEN “after” Christmas too.

Search for “Best Artificial Christmas Trees” and DO NOT CHOOSE Treeclassics.com!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Sinclair on 02/05/2013:
Tree Classics is owned and operated by Balsam Hill. The original company went bankrupt. Balsam Hill is known as a terrible business for Christmas trees online so this is no surprise. Look around for the very few alternatives to high-end artificial trees but stay away from these guys.
Close commentsAdd reply
Tree Classics & Balsam Hill Review - Buyer Beware Pyramid Scam
Posted by on
REDWOOD CITY, CALIFORNIA -- First off, I'm a former Balsam Hill customer who then bought a tree from Tree Classics in the hopes of getting something of a better quality. That didn't happen. Not only was my "Balsam Fir" rated "overall best" by Good housekeeping (yea right what a joke) completely fake-looking and sparse, but after 1 season lights all over it started going out. They claim that if one goes out the rest stay lit, that was a complete lie.

Next year in 2010 I bought a tree from Tree Classics "the worlds finest artificial Christmas trees" ...so they claimed. Well, found out again that this time not even 1 season went by before lights started going out all over the place. I called the company and was told that after Christmas we'd be able to bring the tree there for a fix no problem.

February comes 2011 and I find out the company phone was disconnected, they are out of business!!!!! To make matters worse, I find out two weeks ago through emails and online reviews that Tree Classics' name and website address was bought out by NONE OTHER THAN BALSAM HILL. Hilarious and ironic as that is, they are using some made-up parent company name called "Heavenly Holidays" to hide their own horrible brand and trying to separate themselves from another horribly rated brand. Its like trying to put out fire with fire with these people. So now I find out that treeclassics.com is owned by balsamhill.com, Balsam Hill also owns treetopia.com and Christmastreemarket.com. So they have all these pyramid scam sites all over the place selling the exact same products to different, unsuspecting clients. Its abominable and should be shut down!

After calling the new owners of treeclassics.com (Balsam Hill) I talk to a rude individual who knows nothing and says they cannot help us in regards to ANY Tree Classics warranty. So they buy the name and take no responsibility for any customers its an absolute joke.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 11/13/2011:
Thanks for the review. It's that time of season when the complaints come rolling in regarding these Christmas tree's, and nobody seems to be happy with them.
trmn8r on 11/13/2011:
Yes, Tree Classics went out of business. A company named "Heavenly Holidays" bought TCI's *assets* but not its liabilities. Therefore you are out of luck. It isn't the new company's fault.

http://www.treeclassics.com/lettertocustomers-s/180.htm
Slimjim on 11/14/2011:
Interesting their website makes no mention of new ownership, yet they absolve themselves from the former entity's transactions. They only want the appearance of the long standing business prior to the sale. That will come back to haunt them with complaints. Watch in a short time if there doesn't pop up a notice of new ownership and no prior ties on the site.
I would recommend seeing how far a real Christmas store is from anyone locally if you want a better tree than K-mart offers. We bought a 9 1/2' beautiful tree 10 years ago from one and only in the last couple years has light outages need addressing. Had it given me trouble though early, I knew where I could take it back stat.
DianFranc41 on 11/28/2011:
Tree Classics built a fine reputation over many years in the Chicago area and yes they were having problems near the end as many fine companies have. Heavenly Holidays is using that reputation in its advertising and I can tell you the customer service at the new company is non-existent. Only a matter of time before Heavenly Holidays suffers the same fate. Karma for trading on another company's reputation instead of building a good company on its own ...
EvilWoman on 12/13/2011:
Great review! What a nightmare before Christmas! I feel horrible as I fell victim to misleading photos and description of a White Christmas tree from Treetopia.com. They shipped for free, but that was the only good thing from my experience. The tree I purchased for $268, listed at $598. What a joke! The tree looks cheap. It sheds like crazy. We took at least an hour trying to fluff up the tree, but since there was an obvious design flaw in this pitifull tree; it was missing a row of branches in the center section, the wires and trunk show, and not installed my pros. as they claim. The wires were the only thing holding up some of the branches - not the hinges. Thick on top, and bottom; sparse in the center. All they could say is that it's my fault for not fluffing the tree properly, and to send it back. It will cost me about $80, after paying for shipping back to them, plus their 10% restocking fee. Not worth the hassle, so I am stuck with an ugly tree! I may donate the tree to the Salvation Army, and cut my losses. Do NOT buy from Treetopia! My written review of this tree on their site was never posted. All I saw were good reviews, especially now since they are trying to sell out all of their stock! Thanks for letting me vent. What a SCAM! :(
Patty on 01/02/2012:
I was looking online to purchase a white 7.5ft pre lit Xmas tree and I found Balsam Hill n treetopia to have the best reviews (on their website). I did a lot more research outside of those sites and found very bad reviews on their overall service so I did not purchase my tree at a discount price. Is there a site that a consumer can actually trust to purchase such an expensive tree? If I don't like the tree or should it not be as described in the website, we should have the right to return it with no penalties! I found no website that will return the item at no cost to you if you are not satisfied with the tree and at this time, I am not willing to take that gamble. I guess I will wait till next year to purchase my tree at a store near me in Milpitas, CA.
Steve on 01/04/2012:
Glad I found this site. Between actual reviews and researching with the BBB complaints I'll stick with a local vendor.
As a side note, we purchased an artificial tree 10 years ago from a local store and in that time we have replaced 3 bulbs...that's it!
Thanks again to all for taking the time to share their experiences with us. Sorry we are going to learn from your bad luck.
Monica on 12/02/2012:
Hi Patty. Like Steve, I avoided the poorly reviewed brands online and went with a local company instead. Place not too far from me in Barrington called Treetime. I was shopping online and found them via www.treetime.com but saw they were actually near my home and went to their Christmas store. I've had no bad experience with my tree at all and it is very real looking for being a fake tree. The lights don't go out when I pull one out, either. I honestly won't buy from any company that doesn't have an actual, physical location other than a huge company like Amazon for example. But yea, for a great artificial Christmas tree? Definitely look up Treetime.
macdaddy on 12/04/2013:
Balsam Hill was a horrible experience because they shipped a defective tree and made me pay to return it and then took longer than 30 days to refund. Tree Classics was just as bad and now I find out they are under same parent company. Treetime advertises so much their prices are out of line, went to their "Christmas wonderland", surprised they didn't charge a fee to walk through the door, and their trees are poorly designed.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Some Strands of Lights on My Christmas Tree Are Very Very Dim.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I was told that since my tree is 3 years old I'm out of luck. I was hoping to get a suggestion of the cause and possible remedy. She suggested I buy a new tree! Really! Why would I buy another poorly made product from Tree Classics.
Company Response 11/20/2014:
Hi Eileen, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our customer service and the experience you’re having with your lights. Please forward your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com so we can review your order and the conversation you had with our customer service team. We hope to provide you with further options.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Favorable Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
JACKSON, MI, MICHIGAN -- My tree arrived soon after it was ordered. It was in good shape and was easy to put together. All lights worked and I was fascinated that I could choose clear, multi-colored or the chase feature of clear & multi-colored lights. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend Tree Classics to anyone who may be shopping for a new Christmas tree.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unbelievable
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WISCONSIN -- Was refurbishing a home with a huge brick wall fireplace and 22 foot high pine ceilings and so with a fantastic picture of a future Christmas in my head, I ordered a 15 foot Cascade Fir end of December 2011 for $899.77. Tree arrived timely in January 2012. House finally ready in spring 2013 and one of the things I was looking forward to was Christmas and that great tree! ...till we took it all out of the four boxes it was shipped in on Monday, 12/16. The good thing was each section of lights worked even after sitting in its boxes for nearly two years. The very bad thing? No instructions! FOUR boxes of tree and the instruction CD is blank! It was too late to call customer service back east (I am on Oregon coast) so I called Tuesday and explained but customer service cannot help. Huh? Cannot email me instructions? Cannot get a tech on the phone? No, but they could forward my request to Support and suggested I email my questions also since I would probably get a faster response. So I sent an email advising problem with connectivity of lights from section to section (too many males, not enough females) and inquired as to what are/how to use/why all the extra metal bars enclosed and then included my telephone number and email address. Wednesday, 12/18, received an email reply thanking me for my inquiry and to please provide a telephone number! I again sent my telephone number via email. Then I called customer service again in hopes of getting faster action. Not a chance. Thursday, 12/19, I received an email thanking me for my telephone number and received assurance someone would get back to me. A FULL WEEK LATER, ON CHRISTMAS DAY, I received an email stating Tree Classics could not help me. Ya think? Good thing we bought a cut tree, donated our $899.77 Tree Classics fiasco to a shelter, and had a pleasant holiday. And there is no refund, no partial credit, NO APOLOGY, no return shipping unless at my expense, etc... I would never, never, never, never purchase another item from Tree Classics and will spend time on review sites, talking to anyone who will listen, notifying the Better Business Bureau, etc... to warn against this company.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 01/10/2014:
The tree was almost two year old. What was the warranty?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Awful Customer Service—Don't Buy From This Company
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CALIFORNIA -- A century ago, the poet Joyce Kilmer famously wrote that "only God can make a tree." Mr. Kilmer, of course, had no way of anticipating the advent of the artificial Christmas tree industry.

On the second Saturday of this past November, my wife ordered a manufactured Christmas tree with LED lighting from Tree Classics. That night, Mollie's sleep was interrupted by the sudden precognition that our large collection of Hallmark electric ornaments would be incompatible with an LED configuration. "Don't worry about it," I told her. "In the morning you can call and change the order to a tree with standard lighting. Certainly they don't ship over the weekend."

Unfortunately, although the folks at Tree Classics are skilled at approximating divine arboreal creation, they proved to be absolutely incapable of preventing the shipment of the LED-lit tree that still resided within their warehouse at the time of the call. The representative explained to my incredulous wife that the only means of exchanging trees was for us to ship the unwanted tree back to the warehouse that it had not yet departed—at our considerable expense—and order the second tree. Tree Classics agreed to cheerfully return the purchase price of the first tree when it was once again in their possession.

The tree that we now own is pretty much like all other artificial trees: convenient, but—as if to confirm the words of the poet—not likely to be confused with the trees found in nature. It was in every way as advertised; my low rating has nothing to do with the quality or construction of the tree. The single star represents my experience with what Tree Classics curiously refers to as "customer service".

I am writing this review nearly two months (and three telephone calls) after the original purchase and we have yet to receive our refund. A fourth call informed me that if I ever see my refund, it will reflect a 10% restocking fee.

Company Response 01/10/2014:
We sincerely apologize for the service you've received thus far from our customer service, wise1245, and for any inconvenience this has caused you. We’d like to review the conversations you've had with our customer service team and hope to provide you with further options for this issue and also follow up on your refund. Please send to us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CrazyRedHead on 01/09/2014:
I bout a 7.5 artificial tree from Walmart and it was really nice after decorating it and cost less than $100.00. I buy unlit so I don't have to deal with the included lights and I don't have to worry about blown bulbs.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buyer Beware!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- Twice I have written negative reviews on this company but neither was ever published. The 5 star ratings products are deceptive and misleading since all negative reviews are suppressed.

The expensive tree I ordered was defective after its first year of use-- from frequent breakage of the ends of branches (fortunately, so far you can't tell) to burned out lights after one season. Each year after the first year of use, I have had to replace 100 lights on my 800 light tree. Not only that, I have to order from the company because the size is so odd only their replacement lights fit. WAIT! IT GETS WORSE!!! The replacement lights don't fit the light strands; their bases are too big.

So you have to pull the bulb out of both the new and old light base and then thread the new bulb into the old base. Can you imagine the trouble it has been to keep this up for the last 2/4 years of ownership? Since the company supposedly changed hands, the new CSRs are sympathetic to the mess I have with this tree, but can only process my order for new bulbs. Two packs of replacement lights (100 lights) cost more than a string of 100 incandescent lights.

So I am now stringing my own lights into this tree so it is sufficiently lit. How is this convenient? Worry-free? If you look carefully on the company's FAQ page, they will tell you that the replacement bulbs don't fit the old strands of lights on the tree and that you have to go through a bulb swap. And still customers give these replacement lights 5 stars and glowing reviews on how great it is to have a way to keep a tree going that would have otherwise burnt out in a couple years! Unhappy consumers like me can't warn potential buyers with our reviews. I can go in my account right now and see my reviews, and even edit them if I want, but no one sees them but me.
Company Response 11/22/2013:
We are sorry to hear about the experience you are having with your lights. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We would like to review the specifics of your order so we can provide possible options for you. Please send your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
cmthru on 11/19/2013:
Not to defend them but it's their web site and they can control comments. I have a habit of never believing any comments on a vendors own pages, even if they are negative.

You have done the proper thing by using a consumer forum to post your complaints.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Extremely Disappointed With Tree and Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Buyer Beware! We ordered this tree in November and were disappointed with the tree style and quality. We contacted the company for an RMA, and were told to send the tree back to the address on the box (in Georgia) for a refund. Well that is where all the problems started.

The tree was received in the Georgia warehouse on 11/29. We called several times during the first part of December to check the refund status and were told they were processing the refund. In late December we called to confirm they were processing the refund, and were then told the tree should have been shipped to Fresno, California. So why did they not tell us this sooner???

OK...so the nice lady said they would need to ship the tree to Fresno for the return (and a $50 fee in addition to the 10% restocking fee). She assured me that it would ship and the refund would be processed. I called a week later and another nice person told me "this is our busy season and it may take more time to ship the tree out to Fresno, but we will expedite the process." So this same conversation took place every few days throughout the end of December and until 9 January 2013.

I called today (21 January) and was told they have no records of the tree being shipped to Fresno, and that it can take up to 3 weeks to check the Georgia warehouse. Really, 3 weeks to check a warehouse! I was then told it may take 2 weeks to arrive in Fresno, and 30 days after that before the refund would be processed. Are you kidding me!?!?!

Oh...not to mention that when we originally received the tree it was covered in dust and smelled musty...great tree...not! Just forewarning if you are considering buying a tree from Tree Classics...better be sure you want the tree because they are HORRIBLE with returns! We will NEVER buy another tree from this company.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >