OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I have had a terrible experience with Tree Classics that I hope you will share so that others will not suffer the same shameful service. I wish that I had read the negative reviews on mythreecents.com, the BBB website, and Tree Classics Facebook page. As I detail below, I received a defective tree from their company that they refused to replace or repair, even though a 30-day warranty is posted directly beside the tree on their website. When I asked every customer service representative I dealt with about this, they said that they had meant to take the warranty down but hadn't done so yet.
I never asked for a refund for the original cost of the tree, but requested that they allow me to credit the cost of the tree toward another purchase from their company. After over a month of e-mails and phone calls, they ultimately refused to take any action. Here are more details:
I either received a defective Flip Tree, or Tree Classics is knowing continuing to sell an inferior product. The tree I received had an approximately 1-foot gap on each side of the tree. (See photos.) Because the problem is on both sides, this tree is unusable because I can't even set it up to hide the problem.
Their website provides no disclaimers regarding this problem with the tree, nor did they provide specific instructions on how to fix the problem on the website or in the shipping box. I cannot imagine other customers have not experienced a similar problem. Moreover, they have not posted a negative review I submitted to their website. Other customers have complained of the same problem on Tree Classics Facebook page.
There were significant problems with the delivery of my tree. My purchase immediately cleared my bank account, but I did not receive it in a timely manner, nor was it shipped from FedEx as promised on the Tree Classics website. It was shipped from a company called My Seko. Although I e-mailed Tree Classics repeatedly and asked that someone call me to resolve the matter, I only received e-mails advising me to contact the shipping company directly and was sent a faulty tracking URL. I finally looked up the My Seko number on the internet, called, and learned that Tree Classics had provided them with an incorrect phone number, thus they had been unable to deliver the tree. My tree had been sitting in their warehouse for days, but Tree Classics never intervened on my behalf or offered a satisfactory explanation regarding this problem.
This company's website claims that it prides itself on the finest products and excellent customer service, but that has not been my experience. Please share this review so that other customers will not make the same mistake I made in purchasing products from this company.
Hi Cindy, we're very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Our customer service team called in last December 4th to try to reach you and had left a voice message. Please feel free to call back or send us an email at marketing@treeclassics with information on the best time to call you and if you would like to be called at a certain telephone number so we can coordinate with our customer service team.
I ordered a 9 Christmas Tree and 4 9ft garlands from this company on November 2, 2014. The tree arrived in 2 days I was so impressed. We opened the tree immediately that evening and set it up. As I fluffed each section I was in awe of the beauty of the tree. It is full and so real looking. I have been a Frontgate customer for years and I was even more impressed with this tree. We got to the last top section of the tree....plugged it in and half the lights did not work. We did all the trouble shooting recommended by the company. Nothing worked. I immediately sent and email to the company the next day. I got a generic email back telling me how to trouble shoot the light problem which I had already explained in my first email that I had done. So I called them. The customer service representative said that my email had been forwarded to the technical department but it had not been opened or read yet. She suggest I send some pictures so I did.
I waited two days and still no response. I called customer service back and was put on hold for 40 minutes waiting to speak to a supervisor. They never came on the line and the customer service representative said she would have them call me. That again did not happen. Today I called back. I did get a supervisor. I explained the situation. She also was unable to help me. She said they would have to make a warranty claim with the tree company in order to get me a replacement part for the tree.( I thought you were the tree company) She had no idea how long that would take. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!! How can a company penalize it's customers for defective products and make me wait indefinitely to fix it. How does a warranty come into play of a product you just shipped a customer a week ago????? I asked to return the tree. She said I would have to pay the return shipping and a 10% restocking fee for a defective product! I am still waiting for any resolution and to top it all off...I ordered 4 garlands and only 3 were shipped! No answer on that problem either. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!! Frontgate I am on my way back to your excellent customer service!!!!!! $1000 spent with this company......I am so disappointed and I will not recommend this company to anyone!!!!
Thank you for your valuable feedback, Karen. We're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our product and for any frustration this experience has caused you. We have found your order and have reviewed the exchange you've had with our customer service. Our records indicate that a request has already been sent out for your replacement section to be shipped soon. We have also followed up the status of your fourth garland and we will inform you once we receive an update from our shipping team. Please send us an email to email@example.com if we can provide any further assistance.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I purchased a Christmas tree from Tree Classics just over 2 years ago. The tree cost $670!!!!!!! Supposedly a "quality" tree, well the tree is defective. It is a tree with pre-installed lights and two years into owning it and half the lights on the tree have gone out. The tree is low quality, defective and now useless. Along with either receiving a refund or a replacement for the tree I want to make sure others know not to do business with this company.
I called their customer service department and followed all of their instructions in terms of how to fix the tree lights. After all of their suggestions failed (replace fuses, wiggle the lights, etc) Haley (worst representative ever) tells me that I was out of luck and good luck with the tree. Are you kidding?!?! Just barely outside the warranty and nothing they are willing to do to help with their defective product.Just an awful company with horrible customer service.
Seriously, stay far away from this company. Their products are horrible/defective as is their customer service.
Hi Rooneys2006, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding your tree's lights and the service you received from us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you. We would like to help you with your Tree Classics Order and resolve this issue. Please forward your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org so we can personally verify the specifics of your Order and look into further possible options for your tree. Thank you.
Hi Robert, we apologize for any inconvenience the lighting issue may have caused you. After sending initial troubleshooting steps to you, we have escalated this concern to our Management team to look into your account. We have determined that unfortunately, your tree's light warranty has expired. We deeply apologize that we are unable to service your tree and if the outcome is not what is expected. Please let us know if we can answer any further questions by sending us an email to email@example.com. Thank you.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- If you want a great looking tree, are willing to pay good money for it and expect good consistent customer service DO NOT BUY A TREE FROM THIS COMPANY, www.treeclassics.com! The problem we had is so ridiculous I plan to post this almost daily for one year. Here is what happen.
The trees are gorgeous. We were delighted with our tree. It was simple to put up. The problem started after Christmas as we were putting away the tree. We discovered we misplaced replacement lightbulbs. We accepted our error and need to buy more replacement bulbs. I called the company. They informed me they were out of stock. No problem, right? WRONG! The day was 1-28-13.
They informed me they were out of replacement lights and it was up to me to call them back IN SEPTEMBER or OCTOBER of 2013, (8 months from now), when they would get more stock. I was shocked. Year long service, supply and demand is evidently not this company's business plan. What if a business wanted to have “Christmas in July?”
I told the Treeclassics.com's initial “management rep” -as he described himself - this was not exceptable. They were asking me to accept THEIR responsibility of selling more product. I was the customer, not the buyer or sales person! I refused to keep any note reminding me to order more bulbs in Sept. 2013. They were not willing to assist. After many fake apologies by them and my insistence to complain higher up, the same representative called me two hours later telling me they would send the bulbs out. He tried to take my order but it would not go through. I was asked to wait.
A new person got on the phone and acted like he knew nothing of the issue and also informed me they do not get new stock in until Sept. or Oct. 2013. I patiently asked him to read the notes they surely must have made on my account. He still did not act like he knew the problem. I was flabbergasted. He had complete information on me and my personal info, yet did not act like he had notes on the two earlier discussions with them that day- or communicated to the person forwarding the call to him?
Bad Company: These trees are expensive. They are obviously made and come from overseas. The box says China. If this company is not going to have the “business brains” to maintain small inventories of accessory stock for their trees DO NOT BUY them. I strongly discourage buying from www.treeclassics.com. Why?
Whose to say the bulb style will stay the same next year? They will- but should you believe them?
Whose to say they won't run out of other tree parts, and there are many? They will- but should you believe them?
Whose to say they can look at your records and intelligently help you? They will- but can you believe them?
When you spend good money for quality artificial Christmas trees buy it from someone that will be able to help EVEN “after” Christmas too.
Search for “Best Artificial Christmas Trees” and DO NOT CHOOSE Treeclassics.com!
I was told that since my tree is 3 years old I'm out of luck. I was hoping to get a suggestion of the cause and possible remedy. She suggested I buy a new tree! Really! Why would I buy another poorly made product from Tree Classics.
Hi Eileen, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our customer service and the experience you're having with your lights. Please forward your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org so we can review your order and the conversation you had with our customer service team. We hope to provide you with further options.
JACKSON, MI, MICHIGAN -- My tree arrived soon after it was ordered. It was in good shape and was easy to put together. All lights worked and I was fascinated that I could choose clear, multi-colored or the chase feature of clear & multi-colored lights. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend Tree Classics to anyone who may be shopping for a new Christmas tree.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- We purchased a pre-lit Christmas tree in late November. Shortly after arriving strands of lights started to go out. When we called we were told to change the fuses on the effected light strands. The idea that (a week after receiving a new tree) having to replace the fuses seemed a bit unreasonable, never mind mind the difficulty (including several broken ornaments) in reaching such fuses and trying to figure out which fuses were for the effected lights. Even considering the issues noted above, we replaced all the fuses and bulbs but the lights still did not work.
I called customer service to complain. I was then told that we bought a "Clearance" item (all their trees are marked down, so all are Clearance) and we only had 10 days to receive a refund or replacement. I pointed out that the lights were under a 30 day warranty and the customer service representative took my number and told me that someone would call back. When over 24 hours passed, I called again and spoke with a gentleman who told me that they would send me a replacement tree and he would send via 2 day mail. After I received the tree he said I was to donate the original tree to a non-profit. After several days passed, I tried calling back multiple times but could not get through to a live person. I was on the phone multiple times listening to their recording, only be disconnected after over 40 minutes of waiting. I then started to send more emails but never received a reply. Finally, on Dec 21 we received a phone message that I needed to send them a copy of the donation receipt to continue the replacement process. I did not get the message until 12/24 and called customer service. The woman on the phone told me that I needed to donate the tree that day, otherwise, it would be considered "using the tree" over Christmas and they would not honor the request for replacement.
I pointed out that it was completely unreasonable for me to donate a Christmas Tree on Christmas Eve and furthermore, they had not engendered any level of trust with us to make me believe they would live up to their end of the agreement. Even if I had someplace to donate the tree and was willing to do without a tree on Christmas, I had no reason to believe they would honor the request for replacement. The response was silence and then the service representative noted that she would enter the fact that I was refusing to abide by their return process, so I was now on my own. In the end she said they would send me replacement strands for a pre-lit tree. The idea of removing all the lights and then attaching new lights for a brand new tree seems completely unreasonable, and doing so in the week before Christmas is ridiculous. We paid for a pre-lit tree but received a potentially dangerous product (lights worked initially and then started going off, so there could be a short) that they will not stand behind.
Bottom line, this shop did not honor their warranty and seems to be a complete scam. I wish I did a little more research before doing business with them. I do not recommend doing any business with Tree Classics or their owner Heavenly Holidays LLC. They do not stand behind their product .
Hi! Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the lighting issues you encountered with your tree and for your experience with us thus far. Please send your Order ID to email@example.com. We would like to review your order and further assist you with your concern.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- My wife purchased a tree from this company. In some website debacle somehow we received confirmation for 3 trees. We called immediately to report the problem and were told the trees were already shipped which would make this company the fastest shipping company in history. After calling Fed Ex and finding out that indeed the packages were not shipped we called back to let the customer service reps of the info we received from Fed Ex. (Phone call durations were 25 minutes before you actually would speak to someone at your company). We thought that would be the end of it but just when you think it couldn't get any worse the customer service reps informed us that either they would escalate the problem to a manager, or that we were inevitably responsible to pay for your mistake.
Your company decided to take the second option and charge our credit card for all 3 trees. In case anyone was doing the math that would be $900 for the purchase of 1 tree but force fed 3. We called back again and told them that the extra charges had occurred and again we were told that the problem will be escalated to management. Well, we had to go to our credit card company and tell them what had occurred to get the extra $600 removed from the credit card balance. Then we had to call your company back because the emails that were sent went unanswered.
Again, 25 minutes of hold time only to be told again that we were responsible for the charges and if we tried to reject the extra 2 Christmas trees that we would be charged a $75 restocking fee and $50 each for the return shipping. At the end of the day the only correspondence that occurred that we did not initiate were 2 emails that we just received on 12/18/14 and 12/19/14. Each said that you were sorry for the inconvenience but you were really busy. The first one spelled out your process for returns and charges that would apply. The second email said you apologize again but that you couldn't find our orders. (You had no trouble finding my credit card number to charge me 3 times) we still have yet to receive a phone call from anyone at your company. Not 1 email apologizing for the inadequate treatment from anyone at your company. And just so you don't think that I think that I was very friendly to your reps, I was not and neither would anyone have been if you were put in the same situation.all I can say is that your gestapo tactics and trying to strong arm people into paying for your mistakes leaves an extremely bad taste in my mouth.
Your company turned what should have been a cheerful jolly experience of buying a Christmas tree and made it complete hell. [removed - tos violation] I'm sure even after this review nobody from your company would feel compelled to pick up the phone and simply apologize for ruining this experience. But from the King family in Duluth Georgia, I hope you have a Merry Christmas. But, perhaps reviewing your processes and the way you try to get people to pay for things they didn't order or pay for mistakes that your company makes might be a very important new years resolution for the powers that be at your company. Thank god this is finally over!!!!!!!!!!!!
We sincerely apologize for the mishap on your order and the resulting customer service you experienced with our team. We would like to attend to your concerns and help resolve this issue immediately. Please send us your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org so we can review what happened to your order and determine what course of action we can take on your behalf. Thank you.
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, Eric. Our sincere apologies for your customer experience thus far. Please send your Order ID to email@example.com. We would like to review your order and further assist you with your concern.
BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- Twice I have written negative reviews on this company but neither was ever published. The 5 star ratings products are deceptive and misleading since all negative reviews are suppressed.
The expensive tree I ordered was defective after its first year of use-- from frequent breakage of the ends of branches (fortunately, so far you can't tell) to burned out lights after one season. Each year after the first year of use, I have had to replace 100 lights on my 800 light tree. Not only that, I have to order from the company because the size is so odd only their replacement lights fit. WAIT! IT GETS WORSE!!! The replacement lights don't fit the light strands; their bases are too big.
So you have to pull the bulb out of both the new and old light base and then thread the new bulb into the old base. Can you imagine the trouble it has been to keep this up for the last 2/4 years of ownership? Since the company supposedly changed hands, the new CSRs are sympathetic to the mess I have with this tree, but can only process my order for new bulbs. Two packs of replacement lights (100 lights) cost more than a string of 100 incandescent lights.
So I am now stringing my own lights into this tree so it is sufficiently lit. How is this convenient? Worry-free? If you look carefully on the company's FAQ page, they will tell you that the replacement bulbs don't fit the old strands of lights on the tree and that you have to go through a bulb swap. And still customers give these replacement lights 5 stars and glowing reviews on how great it is to have a way to keep a tree going that would have otherwise burnt out in a couple years! Unhappy consumers like me can't warn potential buyers with our reviews. I can go in my account right now and see my reviews, and even edit them if I want, but no one sees them but me.
We are sorry to hear about the experience you are having with your lights. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We would like to review the specifics of your order so we can provide possible options for you. Please send your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org. Thank you.
REDWOOD CITY, CALIFORNIA -- First off, I'm a former Balsam Hill customer who then bought a tree from Tree Classics in the hopes of getting something of a better quality. That didn't happen. Not only was my "Balsam Fir" rated "overall best" by Good housekeeping (yea right what a joke) completely fake-looking and sparse, but after 1 season lights all over it started going out. They claim that if one goes out the rest stay lit, that was a complete lie.
Next year in 2010 I bought a tree from Tree Classics "the worlds finest artificial Christmas trees" ...so they claimed. Well, found out again that this time not even 1 season went by before lights started going out all over the place. I called the company and was told that after Christmas we'd be able to bring the tree there for a fix no problem.
February comes 2011 and I find out the company phone was disconnected, they are out of business!!!!! To make matters worse, I find out two weeks ago through emails and online reviews that Tree Classics' name and website address was bought out by NONE OTHER THAN BALSAM HILL. Hilarious and ironic as that is, they are using some made-up parent company name called "Heavenly Holidays" to hide their own horrible brand and trying to separate themselves from another horribly rated brand. Its like trying to put out fire with fire with these people. So now I find out that treeclassics.com is owned by balsamhill.com, Balsam Hill also owns treetopia.com and Christmastreemarket.com. So they have all these pyramid scam sites all over the place selling the exact same products to different, unsuspecting clients. Its abominable and should be shut down!
After calling the new owners of treeclassics.com (Balsam Hill) I talk to a rude individual who knows nothing and says they cannot help us in regards to ANY Tree Classics warranty. So they buy the name and take no responsibility for any customers its an absolute joke.