Tree Classics - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.1 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
84 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unbelievable
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WISCONSIN -- Was refurbishing a home with a huge brick wall fireplace and 22 foot high pine ceilings and so with a fantastic picture of a future Christmas in my head, I ordered a 15 foot Cascade Fir end of December 2011 for $899.77. Tree arrived timely in January 2012. House finally ready in spring 2013 and one of the things I was looking forward to was Christmas and that great tree! ...till we took it all out of the four boxes it was shipped in on Monday, 12/16. The good thing was each section of lights worked even after sitting in its boxes for nearly two years. The very bad thing? No instructions! FOUR boxes of tree and the instruction CD is blank! It was too late to call customer service back east (I am on Oregon coast) so I called Tuesday and explained but customer service cannot help. Huh? Cannot email me instructions? Cannot get a tech on the phone? No, but they could forward my request to Support and suggested I email my questions also since I would probably get a faster response. So I sent an email advising problem with connectivity of lights from section to section (too many males, not enough females) and inquired as to what are/how to use/why all the extra metal bars enclosed and then included my telephone number and email address. Wednesday, 12/18, received an email reply thanking me for my inquiry and to please provide a telephone number! I again sent my telephone number via email. Then I called customer service again in hopes of getting faster action. Not a chance. Thursday, 12/19, I received an email thanking me for my telephone number and received assurance someone would get back to me. A FULL WEEK LATER, ON CHRISTMAS DAY, I received an email stating Tree Classics could not help me. Ya think? Good thing we bought a cut tree, donated our $899.77 Tree Classics fiasco to a shelter, and had a pleasant holiday. And there is no refund, no partial credit, NO APOLOGY, no return shipping unless at my expense, etc... I would never, never, never, never purchase another item from Tree Classics and will spend time on review sites, talking to anyone who will listen, notifying the Better Business Bureau, etc... to warn against this company.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 01/10/2014:
The tree was almost two year old. What was the warranty?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Awful Customer Service—Don't Buy From This Company
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CALIFORNIA -- A century ago, the poet Joyce Kilmer famously wrote that "only God can make a tree." Mr. Kilmer, of course, had no way of anticipating the advent of the artificial Christmas tree industry.

On the second Saturday of this past November, my wife ordered a manufactured Christmas tree with LED lighting from Tree Classics. That night, Mollie's sleep was interrupted by the sudden precognition that our large collection of Hallmark electric ornaments would be incompatible with an LED configuration. "Don't worry about it," I told her. "In the morning you can call and change the order to a tree with standard lighting. Certainly they don't ship over the weekend."

Unfortunately, although the folks at Tree Classics are skilled at approximating divine arboreal creation, they proved to be absolutely incapable of preventing the shipment of the LED-lit tree that still resided within their warehouse at the time of the call. The representative explained to my incredulous wife that the only means of exchanging trees was for us to ship the unwanted tree back to the warehouse that it had not yet departed—at our considerable expense—and order the second tree. Tree Classics agreed to cheerfully return the purchase price of the first tree when it was once again in their possession.

The tree that we now own is pretty much like all other artificial trees: convenient, but—as if to confirm the words of the poet—not likely to be confused with the trees found in nature. It was in every way as advertised; my low rating has nothing to do with the quality or construction of the tree. The single star represents my experience with what Tree Classics curiously refers to as "customer service".

I am writing this review nearly two months (and three telephone calls) after the original purchase and we have yet to receive our refund. A fourth call informed me that if I ever see my refund, it will reflect a 10% restocking fee.

Company Response 01/10/2014:
We sincerely apologize for the service you've received thus far from our customer service, wise1245, and for any inconvenience this has caused you. We’d like to review the conversations you've had with our customer service team and hope to provide you with further options for this issue and also follow up on your refund. Please send to us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CrazyRedHead on 01/09/2014:
I bout a 7.5 artificial tree from Walmart and it was really nice after decorating it and cost less than $100.00. I buy unlit so I don't have to deal with the included lights and I don't have to worry about blown bulbs.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Extremely Disappointed With Tree and Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Buyer Beware! We ordered this tree in November and were disappointed with the tree style and quality. We contacted the company for an RMA, and were told to send the tree back to the address on the box (in Georgia) for a refund. Well that is where all the problems started.

The tree was received in the Georgia warehouse on 11/29. We called several times during the first part of December to check the refund status and were told they were processing the refund. In late December we called to confirm they were processing the refund, and were then told the tree should have been shipped to Fresno, California. So why did they not tell us this sooner???

OK...so the nice lady said they would need to ship the tree to Fresno for the return (and a $50 fee in addition to the 10% restocking fee). She assured me that it would ship and the refund would be processed. I called a week later and another nice person told me "this is our busy season and it may take more time to ship the tree out to Fresno, but we will expedite the process." So this same conversation took place every few days throughout the end of December and until 9 January 2013.

I called today (21 January) and was told they have no records of the tree being shipped to Fresno, and that it can take up to 3 weeks to check the Georgia warehouse. Really, 3 weeks to check a warehouse! I was then told it may take 2 weeks to arrive in Fresno, and 30 days after that before the refund would be processed. Are you kidding me!?!?!

Oh...not to mention that when we originally received the tree it was covered in dust and smelled musty...great tree...not! Just forewarning if you are considering buying a tree from Tree Classics...better be sure you want the tree because they are HORRIBLE with returns! We will NEVER buy another tree from this company.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Quality and Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
This was my first pre lit artificial Christmas tree. Paid in excess of $1500 for this disaster. Although the 12 foot tree is very nice, After one season of storage according to manufacturer guidelines I assembled the tree the next year and found that I needed to replace almost 1/3 of the lights that had burned out. I Called customer service to complain and got the run around about their bankruptcy/new ownership and inability to honor any warranty. They said the "New owners" just bought the company name and were not responsible for product problems prior to re-organization. I swear to God the customer service representative was the same lady who took my order the year before! I did some research and found that they lost a court fight with some Chinese manufacturer for poor quality light products in 2010 and filed for bankruptcy to avoid paying the damages awarded. Looks Like I am the unlucky recipient of whatever product quality they were fighting about. They sold me a product that they knew they were in trouble within 2010. In 2011 I had to purchase 15 replacement packages of fifty lights each(750 individual lamps)and could not even secure a lousy 10% discount on them in lieu of the lost warranty coverage. I am out of replacement lights now in 2012 as I have spent the last three nights replacing about four lights on every branch as I assembled the tree. There is clearly something wrong with the product quality of lights in the pre lit tree product line sold by this company prior to 2011 as it looks like they have moved to a different mini light vendor in later products. I would be very wary of buying here. I understand that bankruptcy changes things. But you would think that a purchase in excess of $1500 would at least get you some consideration and perhaps keep me as a returning customer by providing some free replacement lights or at leas a discount on a new tree. I won't buy from this company again. In fact I might just go back to non lit. Its a heck of lot easier to string your own lights than to replace a couple hundred every season. The replacement bulbs they sold do not fit into the socket so I have to take each each new lamp bulb out of the socket it was shipped in and replace it into the socket of the burned out lamp. Not fun.
The bulbs do not release easily and its a real ordeal.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
At Your Service on 12/13/2012:
Was this a purchase made in 2010 or 2011? It sounds as if you've had the tree for a couple of years.

I can appreciate the frustration. I don't think I'd feel much different. On the other hand, I prefer to purchase more locally, but expect a little more in local support. Some retailers will even offer extended warranties on these forms of purchases so that, in the event something doesn't work correctly, they're the ones standing the expense and problems, not you as a consumer.

Thank you so much for posting.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Communication on Tree Order
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- My wife and I purchased a Christmas Tree with TreeClassics.com on Nov 18, 2012 and were informed that the tree would be delivered in 5-7 business days. No problem, right? Well we called on day 5 to inquire if the tree had been shipped because the online order status showed to be 'processing.' The representative told us that he showed the tree to be shipped and that a tracking number was not available because of the quick delivery special that they were providing. In the special they don't take the extra day to assign a tracking number and get it out sooner. I waited until day 7 and called back again and the representative said it had shipped and they would escalate the case to another department that could locate a backup tracking number. We received a call the next day stating that the tree was out of stock and they would not have more. All this time our credit card had already been charged for the tree. We were given the option to order another tree and only after asking if we could receive a discount because of the inconvenience did they offer a $50 credit toward a new tree. I asked why we weren't notified earlier, before our card was charged, that it was out of stock. Their response was that they were only able to track this after I had called in. The company does not have a good system in delivering trees. Since we were notified of this on Dec 1st, we decided to buy a tree elsewhere. Save your money and time and purchase with a different company.
     
Add reply
Never buy from this company
Posted by on
PINCKNEY, MICHIGAN -- I paid A LOT of money for a tree that has an entire section that doesn't light and the plugs don't work properly between the sections. Now I am using two extension cords snaking up the $750.00 tree and I'm unable to use just the white lights (which I paid extra for). I am EXTREMELY dissatisfied with this company and wish I had checked these online reviews before purchasing this tree. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY! They have no interest in resolving this issue, believe me, I have tried. I went to the Better Business Bureau to file a complaint and they have an "F" rating. Run away!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 12/16/2011:
Before your complaint can be properly addressed, it is critical to know when you bought it.

While there is a new company named Tree Classics, it bought only the assets of the old company that is in bankruptcy and did not assume any of the liabilities (including warranties) of the old company. This is explained somewhere on the Tree Classics website, that is maintained by the new company.

If you ask me, they should have ditched the name, because all the previous customers who have crappy expensive non-functional trees are going to hold the new company responsible.
Close commentsAdd reply
Tree Classics - Beware
Posted by on
WISCONSIN -- Do not purchase from this company. They were "supposedly" purchased by a new company in January and do not have information from the previous owner and cannot help you if you bought a tree from them. Although their website boasts since 1976. They will charge your credit card when they do not even have the product. They also cannot tell you where your order is when you call, and hang up on you when you ask where it is and when it was shipped. POOR and rude service! Since I did not receive my order I wanted to know what type of bulbs were on the tree and they said they didn't know, and that I could not purchase them in a store. Do not waste your money!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 12/03/2011:
There are two things going on here. First, yes they are a new company and do not support the trees sold prior to their ownership.

Did you order replacement bulbs from the new company, and if so, when? How did you know which to order if the new company doesn't sell bulbs for the trees sold by the previous one?

There is no call for the CSR's to be rude.
Nohandle on 12/03/2011:
It's my understanding these trees are very expensive. Why would a new company boast of being in business since 1976 when they apparently don't know anything about the previous business? It doesn't sound as if they bought the *Good Name* franchise. Good grief, tell prospective customers you are the new boy on the block and tell them what you have to offer.

I've heard of individuals purchasing pre-lit artificial trees and having to buy strings of lights if they wanted any working lights at all. Somewhat defeats the purpose. Thanks for the warning.
Close commentsAdd reply
Snookered
Posted by on
BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- Bought a $1,000 Christmas tree from Tree Classics after the season in January 2010 with a 1 year/10 year warranty. At 11 months middle section stopped working. Called Tree Classics for return authorization. As instructed sent middle section back to Tree Classics January 2011. Called in April to check status of repair, no response. Finally figured out that this company was out of business/bankrupt even though their internet page was still up although not operational! Surprise in fall 2011! Tree Classics internet page operational again in fall 2011 but with different address/phone, different state. Same look, same feel, 10 year warranty, etc. Called for my missing section. Advised that this is "new" company that bought assets from previous bankrupt company but know nothing about my missing section -- they didn't buy company records or the my pending warranty work. "Sorry" -- I'm out of luck. But they have a "special" discount deal for old customers of the previous Tree Classics. How would they know if I was an "old" customer if they didn't have the records? My experience, my recommendation: don't get snookered, don't buy from this company that advertises decades of service.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
swimjim on 11/27/2011:
Seems you're out of luck, and the "new" owners don't appear to be to sympathetic or enthusiastic. I'd inquire if they'd give you a deal on only the section you need in exchange for not reporting them to the BBB, not that they'd likely care.
Red Foreman on 11/27/2011:
Good review. I agree swimjim. Changes of ownership are usually a turn for the worse for established consumers.
Helpful on 12/01/2011:
Just an FYI, there is a new company that opened up in that location in Barrington called Treetime. Different company but selling Christmas goods. They managed to actually save hundreds of Tree Classics customer's warranty trees that were being thrown out by Balsam Hill who bought Tree Classics last Spring when they were moving all saleable goods out of the Illinois location. I know because part of my tree section was one that was saved and thankfully there are some nice people left in this world or we would have been out nearly 1000 bucks with 1/2 a tree missing. I went there and spoke to the Treetime owner who managed to find my tree part. Call up Treetime 847-527-8880 and ask them they might actually have your tree part in their warehouse!!!!
Aqua on 01/18/2012:
DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM Tree Classics.com. I have a 12 ft prelit LED tree that I purchased a couple of years ago for over $2000 and when I called today they told me about the buyout and said they didn't have any replacement bulbs and didn't know where I could get any. This company is a total rip-off. They probably just wanted to get out of all their warranties.
Boston on 12/02/2012:
I found actually that the original Tree Classics' owner / founder had passed away. Company went bankrupt and was bought by Balsam Hill (terrible rated company as well). Some of the people who lost their jobs and others started Treetime.com, same place old Tree Classics used to be. No affiliation to the old company. It's a shame though that the new owners of Tree Classics don't stand by the brand. It used to be a very reputable business.
Close commentsAdd reply
Poor lights on tree, garlands & wreath
Posted by on
LAKE BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- In Nov '07, I spent $800 and purchased a 7' Barrington frasier fir tree with multicolored lights and two Monaco spruce garlands and wreath with clear lights. After the first season I had to replace approximately 50 lights. I called Tree Classics about this and they sent me additional bulbs. The next year the same thing happened and I called again since I was still within the warranty period.

Once again I was sent additional bulbs. Each season when I put away my tree and garlands, I replace any burned out lights. When I put up my Christmas decorations the following year, there are more bulbs that have burned out. I don't understand that. This year, I replaced about 20 bulbs at the start of the season and then about 50 after the one month they were used. The bulbs are very hard to remove and this annual job is becoming very frustrating to me.

You assume that when you pay top dollar for the Christmas decorations that they would work properly. I noticed on the internet, that quite a few customers have experienced the same problems as I have had. I sent two e-mails to Tree Classics this month ( Jan '11) in order to get more clear bulbs and have received no response, so customer service is lacking as well. Recently, when you go on their website, you have trouble getting to their customer service.

Tree Classics is obviously using poor quality string lights. My hopes were to have little work with a prelit tree, garlands, and wreath. I thought I was buying a good product from a reputable company, after all they have "The World's Finest Artificial Christmas Trees". Instead I am spending more time replacing bulbs (50-70 per season) than ever before.

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
timmyj3 on 01/25/2011:

This company sells defective import junky trees and advertises them as a high end full warranty product. I too have had nothing but grief with the lights. I replaced 150-200 after the first year and finally just pitched the tree out as it was a fire hazard.

I suggest filing an online complaint with the Barrington,IL BBB. It won't do much good but at least it will be on file. They have many many complaints with the BBB. A credit card chargeback could be tried but if its over 6 months you probably won't have any luck.

All we can do is get the word out on any consumer web-site we can. Tree Classics is a fraud and doesn't stand behind their products.
Close commentsAdd reply
Tree Classic pre-lit tree - Had to buy more lights to make up for problems.
Posted by on
LAKE BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- Purchased an expensive (over $700) multi-color mini-lite Christmas tree in 2009 from Tree Classics. The tree was functional for the 2009 Christmas. We were looking forward to setting up our tree for the 2010 Christmas - an activity that gradually turn into frustration. There were a large number of bulbs that would no longer lite. We contacted the Company and Linda (customer service - very polite and helpful) sent out 25 replacement bulbs and then (after a second call) an additional 25 bulbs. However, we soon learned that not all of our outages could be resolve by replacing lights. We had one entire section that was not functioning, even after replacing (multiple times)the fuse for that light section.

Contacted the Company again, and were informed that they did have some "lighting problems" and we could return the problem tree section for repair - after Christmas. I was not happy about the unnecessary aggravation factor (tree sections are heavy/awkward), but it seemed a reasonable solution. Then during the Christmas holidays two additional strings of lights went out - on other sections of the tree. Now we had a tree with "holes" in it. Our only solution was to go purchase "stand alone" light strings to supplement the lights on our pricey and dysfunctional pre-lit tree.

Once again I contacted the Company and spoke with friendly Linda. Explained my problem - I was sold a "bad" pre-lit tree. I offered to return the non-functioning tree and was willing to pay the difference in price to upgrade to LED pre-lit tree. (I know I may be throwing good money after bad.) Linda said she would explain the circumstances to Alex (supervisor) and he would contact me. He never called. After several days I called back and was informed that Alex would surely contact me - he never called. I called back again and happen to catch Alex in the office. He knew nothing about my problem. After re-explaining, he said that he would have to refer the matter to the owner - Leon Ganze. Either Alex or Mr. Ganze would contact me.

Waited several days for a call back which never came. So I called again on Jan. 18, 2011. Their answering machine message stated that their business was closed until April 1, 2011. Their web site was also frozen on their home page. I sent an email looking for anyone to call me - no response.

I just didn't believe that this Company would ignore a customer and disappear for months - particularly after committing to a call back. I choose this Company because they had been in business for a long time. Apparently longevity is not necessarily an indication of quality products or timely customer service.

I am still hopeful that this Company will do the right thing - starting with contacting me and replacing a defective product. This tree was not worth $700.

























     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
joeyvv on 01/24/2011:
Sorry to hear about your problems. We are all in the same boat with this fraudulent company. They offer NO service after the sale. My worry free lights are anything but.

Some posters have urged BBB online filings. It is probably too late for CC chargeback. At least these crooks are being exposed on consumer websites.

Sorry that you got rip-offed too.
timmyj3 on 05/22/2011:
This has to be one of the worst internet sellers out there. They have light issues big time and then sell their junk as "worry free". yeah right.

I suggest the credit card chargeback. Some cards will go back a full year. As above comment. the bbb is just a good way to hang another report on them.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >