Preview Review

Next Review

Tree Classics Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not the Quality or Customer Service I expected
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WISCONSIN -- After much research and comparison, I purchased a 7 1/2 ft pre-lit Lake Shore Blue/Green Spruce tree five years ago. First year tree looked great. Each year more sections of each of the three sections do not light. This year the top barely lights and those that do are dimmed.

Sat on phone for 30 minutes waiting for customer service who immediately wanted to sell me lights obviously not listening to my description of the problem. Told me there was nothing they could do. So, I have an $800 tree without lights. Most likely will cut the light strings off so I can restring so tree is fully lit. Do not waste your money. Although the branches and 'needles' look good it was not worth the money to get a pre-lit tree if the lights don't work after the first year. Defective lights; extremely poor customer service.

Company Response 12/10/2015:

Hi Deborah, we're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with your lights. Tree Classics provides a Two Year Light Limited Warranty and it covers most lighting issues during this period. Bulb burnout is normal for Christmas tree lights and is caused by a number of factors, such as:

• Change in temperature
• How the tree is stored
• Static electricity in the air

If your tree was purchased 5 years ago, we regret to inform you that it's beyond the warranty period. For your reference about our warranty, here's the link: http://bit.ly/1SR2Z7P. For out of warranty lights, we offer replacement packs for $4.99 that include 50 incandescent bulbs and replacement fuses. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to email us at marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Favorable Experience
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

JACKSON, MI, MICHIGAN -- My tree arrived soon after it was ordered. It was in good shape and was easy to put together. All lights worked and I was fascinated that I could choose clear, multi-colored or the chase feature of clear & multi-colored lights. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend Tree Classics to anyone who may be shopping for a new Christmas tree.

Replies
Horrible Tree, Horrible Warranty, Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- We purchased a new tree from Tree Classics in 2010. They had to replace 2 sections because the tips get breaking off. The next year, in 2011, we continued to lose tips and called them. We find out that the previous owners declared bankruptcy and anyone with a tree purchased prior to a specific date in 2011, were no longer covered. One year old, and we were out of luck with any warranty issues. We were provided a form to file a claim against the previous owners to be considered in the bankruptcy, which probably wouldn't happen because they owed so many other vendors.

The new owner offered a "one time deal" to use a coupon toward another tree. It was for much off, I don't remember now, but it would have been too much money to buy another tree, even with their "one time offer" toward another tree. The lights on our tree also keep burning out. Each year when we put it up, there are tons of lights to replace. I purchased replacement bulbs from the "new owners" of Tree Classics, however, these don't really fit and we have to pull the bulb out and thread it into the old light base - a real pain.

We've had this tree for 4 years now, and we really feel like we are stuck with a poor quality, expensive tree. Every year, I dread putting it up, in fact, I just want to sit down and cry! I can't believe that people are still having the same problems even though they just bought a tree from the new owners this year, 2014! I also don't understand how the new owners can still call themselves Tree Classics and say they've been in business since 1976, when this just isn't true.

Who protects consumers from businesses like this? There is absolutely no recourse. I agree with a previous reviewer - Frontgate's products and customer service are by far superior. We have a beautiful pre-lit garland that we've have 4-5 years now, and have never replaced that first bulb!

Company Response 12/10/2014:

Hi Sharon, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the transition has caused you and for the issues you are having with your tree. Please know that Tree Classics Inc. (TCI) was founded in 1976 by Triumph International and in 2011 it was purchased by Heavenly Holidays LLC. More information can be found online at this address: https://www.treeclassics.com/lettertocustomers-s/180.htm. Please email us at marketing@treeclassics.com if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Replies
Unbelievable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WISCONSIN -- Was refurbishing a home with a huge brick wall fireplace and 22 foot high pine ceilings and so with a fantastic picture of a future Christmas in my head, I ordered a 15 foot Cascade Fir end of December 2011 for $899.77. Tree arrived timely in January 2012. House finally ready in Spring 2013 and one of the things I was looking forward to was Christmas and that great tree! Till we took it all out of the four boxes it was shipped in on Monday, 12/16. The good thing was each section of lights worked even after sitting in its boxes for nearly two years. The very bad thing? No instructions! FOUR boxes of tree and the instruction CD is blank!

It was too late to call customer service back east (I am on Oregon coast) so I called Tuesday and explained but customer service cannot help. Huh? Cannot email me instructions? Cannot get a tech on the phone? No, but they could forward my request to Support and suggested I email my questions also since I would probably get a faster response. So I sent an email advising problem with connectivity of lights from section to section (too many males, not enough females) and inquired as to what are/how to use/why all the extra metal bars enclosed and then included my telephone number and email address.

Wednesday, 12/18, received an email reply thanking me for my inquiry and to please provide a telephone number! I again sent my telephone number via email. Then I called customer service again in hopes of getting faster action. Not a chance. Thursday, 12/19, I received an email thanking me for my telephone number and received assurance someone would get back to me. A FULL WEEK LATER, ON CHRISTMAS DAY, I received an email stating Tree Classics could not help me. Ya think?

Good thing we bought a cut tree, donated our $899.77 Tree Classics fiasco to a shelter, and had a pleasant holiday. And there is no refund, no partial credit, NO APOLOGY, no return shipping unless at my expense, etc... I would never, never, never, never purchase another item from Tree Classics and will spend time on review sites, talking to anyone who will listen, notifying the Better Business Bureau, etc... to warn against this company.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful Customer Service—Don't Buy From This Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- A century ago, the poet Joyce Kilmer famously wrote that "only God can make a tree." Mr. Kilmer, of course, had no way of anticipating the advent of the artificial Christmas tree industry. On the second Saturday of this past November, my wife ordered a manufactured Christmas tree with LED lighting from Tree Classics. That night, **'s sleep was interrupted by the sudden precognition that our large collection of Hallmark electric ornaments would be incompatible with an LED configuration. "Don't worry about it," I told her. "In the morning you can call and change the order to a tree with standard lighting. Certainly they don't ship over the weekend."

Unfortunately, although the folks at Tree Classics are skilled at approximating divine arboreal creation, they proved to be absolutely incapable of preventing the shipment of the LED-lit tree that still resided within their warehouse at the time of the call. The representative explained to my incredulous wife that the only means of exchanging trees was for us to ship the unwanted tree back to the warehouse that it had not yet departed—at our considerable expense—and order the second tree. Tree Classics agreed to cheerfully return the purchase price of the first tree when it was once again in their possession.

The tree that we now own is pretty much like all other artificial trees: convenient, but—as if to confirm the words of the poet—not likely to be confused with the trees found in nature. It was in every way as advertised; my low rating has nothing to do with the quality or construction of the tree. The single star represents my experience with what Tree Classics curiously refers to as "customer service." I am writing this review nearly two months (and three telephone calls) after the original purchase and we have yet to receive our refund. A fourth call informed me that if I ever see my refund, it will reflect a 10% restocking fee.

Company Response 01/10/2014:

We sincerely apologize for the service you've received thus far from our customer service, wise1245, and for any inconvenience this has caused you. We'd like to review the conversations you've had with our customer service team and hope to provide you with further options for this issue and also follow up on your refund. Please send to us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.

Replies
9 Ft. Flip Christmas Tree
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OREGON -- Paid over $700.00 for a 9 ft. Christmas tree from Tree Classics last December 2014. The top one-third of the lights did not work & one limb hung on the floor and had to be wired up. I called customer service and after talking with several people was told that their warranty did not cover a sale item. I wish now that I had reported them to the Better Business Bureau because they should have been. I think it is such a shame we have companies that won't stand behind their product.

I told the company I just wanted a replacement not a refund. Didn't happen. I'm writing this review this year (2015) because we just brought the tree in from storage, plugged the lights in and now the bottom lights do not work. We have checked the fuses, and jumped through all the hoops. Crappy Company!

Company Response 12/04/2015:

Hi Lucretia, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and we're sorry for the level of customer service you received. We will discuss this with our customer service training department to ensure this issue will not occur again. We would like to help you further. Kindly send us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com so we can check the specifics of your order and find a solution as soon as possible. Thank you.

Replies
Product Is Defective and Has Been Nothing but a Headache
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I have to agree with other reviewers -- the lights on this tree are defective. The first year everything was fine. The tree is easy to assemble, all the lights worked, and the completed product was very attractive. Year number 2 was a different story. The lights on the entire top level of the tree refused to light. I called customer service and although the representative was very polite she was also clueless and was of no help at all. I went through the entire change all the fuses, check all the bulbs, etc. procedure but nothing worked. She finally agreed to send new light strands.

To say that getting the old strands off and the new ones on is a nightmare is an understatement. Also, although the instructions say to remove the existing lights one section at a time and replace them with the new strands this is impossible. Whoever strung the original lights split the wire and went around the tree in opposite directions. No doubt this contributes to the lights failing.

This is now year 3. This year the lights on the middle section have failed. I am now attempting to restring this section with lights I had left over from last year. As I work the lights go on and off. I am praying they last through New Years. Then the tree goes on the curb. Do not buy a tree from this company.

Company Response 11/27/2015:

Hi. We apologize that your experience with our customer service and product is unsatisfactory. We strive to continuously improve our customer experience and we appreciate your feedback. Please send us an email with your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com as we would like to review the details of your purchase and help resolve your concerns. Thank you.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VERY DISAPPOINTED with this company! Due to a website malfunction, I ended up with two identical trees. I called as soon as I received two separate shipping notices stating that the tree had shipped, Tree Classics said they couldn't do anything since the trees were in transit. I asked to speak to a supervisor and they said they would have someone contact me.

After multiple emails and several phone calls I still never directly spoke with a supervisor. I ended up shipping the extra tree back at my own expense, PLUS they charged me a 10% restocking fee. I have never experienced such shoddy customer service, Oh, and guess what, I wrote a negative review on their site and it never was posted (and no, there was no profanity, etc.). I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND Tree Classics!

Company Response 02/19/2015:

Hi! We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the customer service you received from us and we apologize for the issues you have encountered while placing your order. Our customer reviews are not immediately seen on our website since we have to approve each one individually. Reviews that appear to be spammy, not product-related, or contain sensitive personal or company-related information will be rejected. Please send us your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com as we would like to review your order details and assist you further with your concern.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst customer service experience EVER!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I was shipped a defective tree on 12/2/14 (do you see a theme here? Bad suppliers!! Low quality products!!) I initiated a warranty claim and it took the company 10 days to figure out what to do. You never get to contact anyone from customer service directly. You sit on hold waiting on the general 1-800 number forever. Tree Classics finally got back to me and instead of shipping me a tree right away based on THEIR defective product they are requiring me to provide a receipt that shows that I took THEIR defective tree to a charity.

Why is it MY responsibility to fix their problem? They will not send a replacement until I take time out of my schedule to get them a receipt. You cannot talk to anyone empowered to make an exception to their "policy". It is such a typical customer service toll free attitude. Their reps are not given the authority to make sure the customer is taken care of. They can't send you to someone who does have the power to help. Really sad situation. DO NOT BUY FROM TREE CLASSICS!!! If THEY send you a defective product you are going to be the one who is responsible to fix it.

Company Response 12/22/2014:

Hi Matt, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the customer service you received and for the inconvenience you experienced. We have found your order and see the correspondence you've had with our representatives. Your feedback has been forwarded to our Leadership Team to help us improve our customer experience and how we process warranty claims. Please email us at marketing@treeclassics.com if there is anything else we can help you with.

Company Response 12/29/2014:

Hi Matt, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the customer service you received and for the inconvenience you experienced. We have found your order and our notes indicate that your replacement has been shipped last 12/26/2014. Please email us at marketing@treeclassics.com for the tracking information and if there is anything else we can help you with.

Replies
Horrible, Defective Product - Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a tree from this company and the lights do not work in two sections of the tree. I called customer service and waited for over an hour for a representative to answer the phone. Once I spoke to the representative they informed me the warranty was only valid for 30 days because I purchased a clearance tree... how on earth it was a clearance tree is beyond me. I purchased it on a discount, but it did not say clearance anywhere or state the ridiculous 30 day warranty. I purchased in October so I can have it for Christmas. Thanks for the crappy tree. I could have bought a better tree from Walmart for a quarter of the price. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Company Response 12/09/2014:

Hi, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the issues you are having with the lights of your tree and for the time it took to get through our customer service. Clearance items are covered under warranty within 30 days of purchase. This is stated in our Product Warranties and Part Replacements: http://www.treeclassics.com/warranty-s/65.htm. Please email us your Order ID to marketing@treeclassics.com so we can review your order and hopefully provide other options for you.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Tree Classics Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Tree Classics
6508 S 27th St, Suite 9200
Oak Creek, WI 53154
1-877-699-6278 (ph)
www.treeclassics.com
Product/Services
Compare Home/Garden Companies