I ordered a 9 Christmas Tree and 4 9ft garlands from this company on November 2, 2014. The tree arrived in 2 days I was so impressed. We opened the tree immediately that evening and set it up. As I fluffed each section I was in awe of the beauty of the tree. It is full and so real looking. I have been a Frontgate customer for years and I was even more impressed with this tree. We got to the last top section of the tree.... plugged it in and half the lights did not work. We did all the trouble shooting recommended by the company. Nothing worked.
I immediately sent and email to the company the next day. I got a generic email back telling me how to troubleshoot the light problem which I had already explained in my first email that I had done. So I called them. The customer service representative said that my email had been forwarded to the technical department but it had not been opened or read yet. She suggest I send some pictures so I did.
I waited two days and still no response. I called customer service back and was put on hold for 40 minutes waiting to speak to a supervisor. They never came on the line and the customer service representative said she would have them call me. That again did not happen.
Today I called back. I did get a supervisor. I explained the situation. She also was unable to help me. She said they would have to make a warranty claim with the tree company in order to get me a replacement part for the tree. (I thought you were the tree company) She had no idea how long that would take. ARE YOU KIDDING ME! How can a company penalize its customers for defective products and make me wait indefinitely to fix it. How does a warranty come into play of a product you just shipped a customer a week ago?
I asked to return the tree. She said I would have to pay the return shipping and a 10% restocking fee for a defective product! I am still waiting for any resolution and to top it all off... I ordered 4 garlands and only 3 were shipped! No answer on that problem either. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! Frontgate I am on my way back to your excellent customer service!!! $1000 spent with this company... I am so disappointed and I will not recommend this company to anyone!!!
Thank you for your valuable feedback, Karen. We're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our product and for any frustration this experience has caused you. We have found your order and have reviewed the exchange you've had with our customer service. Our records indicate that a request has already been sent out for your replacement section to be shipped soon. We have also followed up the status of your fourth garland and we will inform you once we receive an update from our shipping team. Please send us an email to firstname.lastname@example.org if we can provide any further assistance.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- We purchased a pre-lit Christmas tree in late November. Shortly after arriving strands of lights started to go out. When we called we were told to change the fuses on the effected light strands. The idea that (a week after receiving a new tree) having to replace the fuses seemed a bit unreasonable, never mind mind the difficulty (including several broken ornaments) in reaching such fuses and trying to figure out which fuses were for the affected lights. Even considering the issues noted above, we replaced all the fuses and bulbs but the lights still did not work.
I called customer service to complain. I was then told that we bought a "Clearance" item (all their trees are marked down, so all are Clearance) and we only had 10 days to receive a refund or replacement. I pointed out that the lights were under a 30 day warranty and the customer service representative took my number and told me that someone would call back. When over 24 hours passed, I called again and spoke with a gentleman who told me that they would send me a replacement tree and he would send via 2 day mail. After I received the tree he said I was to donate the original tree to a non-profit.
After several days passed, I tried calling back multiple times but could not get through to a live person. I was on the phone multiple times listening to their recording, only be disconnected after over 40 minutes of waiting. I then started to send more emails but never received a reply.
Finally, on Dec 21 we received a phone message that I needed to send them a copy of the donation receipt to continue the replacement process. I did not get the message until 12/24 and called customer service. The woman on the phone told me that I needed to donate the tree that day, otherwise, it would be considered "using the tree" over Christmas and they would not honor the request for replacement.
I pointed out that it was completely unreasonable for me to donate a Christmas Tree on Christmas Eve and furthermore, they had not engendered any level of trust with us to make me believe they would live up to their end of the agreement. Even if I had someplace to donate the tree and was willing to do without a tree on Christmas, I had no reason to believe they would honor the request for replacement. The response was silence and then the service representative noted that she would enter the fact that I was refusing to abide by their return process, so I was now on my own.
In the end she said they would send me replacement strands for a pre-lit tree. The idea of removing all the lights and then attaching new lights for a brand new tree seems completely unreasonable, and doing so in the week before Christmas is ridiculous. We paid for a pre-lit tree but received a potentially dangerous product (lights worked initially and then started going off, so there could be a short) that they will not stand behind.
Bottom line, this shop did not honor their warranty and seems to be a complete scam. I wish I did a little more research before doing business with them. I do not recommend doing any business with Tree Classics or their owner Heavenly Holidays LLC. They do not stand behind their product.
Hi! Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the lighting issues you encountered with your tree and for your experience with us thus far. Please send your Order ID to email@example.com. We would like to review your order and further assist you with your concern.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- My wife purchased a tree from this company. In some website debacle somehow we received confirmation for 3 trees. We called immediately to report the problem and were told the trees were already shipped which would make this company the fastest shipping company in history. After calling FedEx and finding out that indeed the packages were not shipped we called back to let the customer service reps of the info we received from FedEx. (Phone call durations were 25 minutes before you actually would speak to someone at your company).
We thought that would be the end of it but just when you think it couldn't get any worse the customer service reps informed us that either they would escalate the problem to a manager, or that we were inevitably responsible to pay for your mistake.
Your company decided to take the second option and charge our credit card for all 3 trees. In case anyone was doing the math that would be $900 for the purchase of 1 tree but force fed 3. We called back again and told them that the extra charges had occurred and again we were told that the problem will be escalated to management. Well, we had to go to our credit card company and tell them what had occurred to get the extra $600 removed from the credit card balance. Then we had to call your company back because the emails that were sent went unanswered.
Again, 25 minutes of hold time only to be told again that we were responsible for the charges and if we tried to reject the extra 2 Christmas trees that we would be charged a $75 restocking fee and $50 each for the return shipping. At the end of the day the only correspondence that occurred that we did not initiate were 2 emails that we just received on 12/18/14 and 12/19/14. Each said that you were sorry for the inconvenience but you were really busy.
The first one spelled out your process for returns and charges that would apply. The second email said you apologize again but that you couldn't find our orders. (You had no trouble finding my credit card number to charge me 3 times.) We still have yet to receive a phone call from anyone at your company. Not 1 email apologizing for the inadequate treatment from anyone at your company. And just so you don't think that I think that I was very friendly to your reps, I was not and neither would anyone have been if you were put in the same situation.
All I can say is that your gestapo tactics and trying to strong arm people into paying for your mistakes leaves an extremely bad taste in my mouth. Your company turned what should have been a cheerful jolly experience of buying a Christmas tree and made it complete hell. I'm sure even after this review nobody from your company would feel compelled to pick up the phone and simply apologize for ruining this experience. But from the ** family in Duluth Georgia, I hope you have a Merry Christmas. But, perhaps reviewing your processes and the way you try to get people to pay for things they didn't order or pay for mistakes that your company makes might be a very important new years resolution for the powers that be at your company. Thank God this is finally over!!!
We sincerely apologize for the mishap on your order and the resulting customer service you experienced with our team. We would like to attend to your concerns and help resolve this issue immediately. Please send us your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org so we can review what happened to your order and determine what course of action we can take on your behalf. Thank you.
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, Eric. Our sincere apologies for your customer experience thus far. Please send your Order ID to email@example.com. We would like to review your order and further assist you with your concern.
OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- I purchased a Christmas tree from Tree Classics just over 2 years ago. The tree cost $670! Supposedly a "quality" tree, well the tree is defective. It is a tree with pre-installed lights and two years into owning it and half the lights on the tree have gone out. The tree is low quality, defective and now useless. Along with either receiving a refund or a replacement for the tree I want to make sure others know not to do business with this company.
I called their customer service department and followed all of their instructions in terms of how to fix the tree lights. After all of their suggestions failed (replace fuses, wiggle the lights, etc) ** (worst representative ever) tells me that I was out of luck and good luck with the tree. Are you kidding?! Just barely outside the warranty and nothing they are willing to do to help with their defective product. Just an awful company with horrible customer service. Seriously, stay far away from this company. Their products are horrible/defective as is their customer service.
Hi Rooneys2006, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding your tree's lights and the service you received from us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you. We would like to help you with your Tree Classics Order and resolve this issue. Please forward your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org so we can personally verify the specifics of your Order and look into further possible options for your tree. Thank you.
Hi Robert, we apologize for any inconvenience the lighting issue may have caused you. After sending initial troubleshooting steps to you, we have escalated this concern to our Management team to look into your account. We have determined that unfortunately, your tree's light warranty has expired. We deeply apologize that we are unable to service your tree and if the outcome is not what is expected. Please let us know if we can answer any further questions by sending us an email to email@example.com. Thank you.
I was told that since my tree is 3 years old I'm out of luck. I was hoping to get a suggestion of the cause and possible remedy. She suggested I buy a new tree! Really! Why would I buy another poorly made product from Tree Classics?
Hi Eileen, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our customer service and the experience you're having with your lights. Please forward your Order ID to firstname.lastname@example.org so we can review your order and the conversation you had with our customer service team. We hope to provide you with further options.
JACKSON, MI, MICHIGAN -- My tree arrived soon after it was ordered. It was in good shape and was easy to put together. All lights worked and I was fascinated that I could choose clear, multi-colored or the chase feature of clear & multi-colored lights. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend Tree Classics to anyone who may be shopping for a new Christmas tree.
BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- Twice I have written negative reviews on this company but neither was ever published. The 5 star ratings products are deceptive and misleading since all negative reviews are suppressed.
The expensive tree I ordered was defective after its first year of use-- from frequent breakage of the ends of branches (fortunately, so far you can't tell) to burned out lights after one season. Each year after the first year of use, I have had to replace 100 lights on my 800 light tree. Not only that, I have to order from the company because the size is so odd only their replacement lights fit. WAIT! IT GETS WORSE!!! The replacement lights don't fit the light strands; their bases are too big.
So you have to pull the bulb out of both the new and old light base and then thread the new bulb into the old base. Can you imagine the trouble it has been to keep this up for the last 2/4 years of ownership? Since the company supposedly changed hands, the new CSRs are sympathetic to the mess I have with this tree, but can only process my order for new bulbs. Two packs of replacement lights (100 lights) cost more than a string of 100 incandescent lights.
So I am now stringing my own lights into this tree so it is sufficiently lit. How is this convenient? Worry-free? If you look carefully on the company's FAQ page, they will tell you that the replacement bulbs don't fit the old strands of lights on the tree and that you have to go through a bulb swap. And still customers give these replacement lights 5 stars and glowing reviews on how great it is to have a way to keep a tree going that would have otherwise burnt out in a couple years! Unhappy consumers like me can't warn potential buyers with our reviews. I can go in my account right now and see my reviews, and even edit them if I want, but no one sees them but me.
We are sorry to hear about the experience you are having with your lights. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We would like to review the specifics of your order so we can provide possible options for you. Please send your Order ID to email@example.com. Thank you.
BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- We purchased a new tree from Tree Classics in 2010. They had to replace 2 sections because the tips get breaking off. The next year, in 2011, we continued to lose tips and called them. We find out that the previous owners declared bankruptcy and anyone with a tree purchased prior to a specific date in 2011, were no longer covered. One year old, and we were out of luck with any warranty issues. We were provided a form to file a claim against the previous owners to be considered in the bankruptcy, which probably wouldn't happen because they owed so many other vendors.
The new owner offered a "one time deal" to use a coupon toward another tree. It was for much off, I don't remember now, but it would have been too much money to buy another tree, even with their "one time offer" toward another tree. The lights on our tree also keep burning out. Each year when we put it up, there are tons of lights to replace. I purchased replacement bulbs from the "new owners" of Tree Classics, however, these don't really fit and we have to pull the bulb out and thread it into the old light base - a real pain.
We've had this tree for 4 years now, and we really feel like we are stuck with a poor quality, expensive tree. Every year, I dread putting it up, in fact, I just want to sit down and cry! I can't believe that people are still having the same problems even though they just bought a tree from the new owners this year, 2014! I also don't understand how the new owners can still call themselves Tree Classics and say they've been in business since 1976, when this just isn't true.
Who protects consumers from businesses like this? There is absolutely no recourse. I agree with a previous reviewer - Frontgate's products and customer service are by far superior. We have a beautiful pre-lit garland that we've have 4-5 years now, and have never replaced that first bulb!
Hi Sharon, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the transition has caused you and for the issues you are having with your tree. Please know that Tree Classics Inc. (TCI) was founded in 1976 by Triumph International and in 2011 it was purchased by Heavenly Holidays LLC. More information can be found online at this address: https://www.treeclassics.com/lettertocustomers-s/180.htm. Please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org if there is anything else we can assist you with.
WISCONSIN -- Was refurbishing a home with a huge brick wall fireplace and 22 foot high pine ceilings and so with a fantastic picture of a future Christmas in my head, I ordered a 15 foot Cascade Fir end of December 2011 for $899.77. Tree arrived timely in January 2012. House finally ready in Spring 2013 and one of the things I was looking forward to was Christmas and that great tree! Till we took it all out of the four boxes it was shipped in on Monday, 12/16. The good thing was each section of lights worked even after sitting in its boxes for nearly two years. The very bad thing? No instructions! FOUR boxes of tree and the instruction CD is blank!
It was too late to call customer service back east (I am on Oregon coast) so I called Tuesday and explained but customer service cannot help. Huh? Cannot email me instructions? Cannot get a tech on the phone? No, but they could forward my request to Support and suggested I email my questions also since I would probably get a faster response. So I sent an email advising problem with connectivity of lights from section to section (too many males, not enough females) and inquired as to what are/how to use/why all the extra metal bars enclosed and then included my telephone number and email address.
Wednesday, 12/18, received an email reply thanking me for my inquiry and to please provide a telephone number! I again sent my telephone number via email. Then I called customer service again in hopes of getting faster action. Not a chance. Thursday, 12/19, I received an email thanking me for my telephone number and received assurance someone would get back to me. A FULL WEEK LATER, ON CHRISTMAS DAY, I received an email stating Tree Classics could not help me. Ya think?
Good thing we bought a cut tree, donated our $899.77 Tree Classics fiasco to a shelter, and had a pleasant holiday. And there is no refund, no partial credit, NO APOLOGY, no return shipping unless at my expense, etc... I would never, never, never, never purchase another item from Tree Classics and will spend time on review sites, talking to anyone who will listen, notifying the Better Business Bureau, etc... to warn against this company.
CALIFORNIA -- A century ago, the poet Joyce Kilmer famously wrote that "only God can make a tree." Mr. Kilmer, of course, had no way of anticipating the advent of the artificial Christmas tree industry. On the second Saturday of this past November, my wife ordered a manufactured Christmas tree with LED lighting from Tree Classics. That night, **'s sleep was interrupted by the sudden precognition that our large collection of Hallmark electric ornaments would be incompatible with an LED configuration. "Don't worry about it," I told her. "In the morning you can call and change the order to a tree with standard lighting. Certainly they don't ship over the weekend."
Unfortunately, although the folks at Tree Classics are skilled at approximating divine arboreal creation, they proved to be absolutely incapable of preventing the shipment of the LED-lit tree that still resided within their warehouse at the time of the call. The representative explained to my incredulous wife that the only means of exchanging trees was for us to ship the unwanted tree back to the warehouse that it had not yet departed—at our considerable expense—and order the second tree. Tree Classics agreed to cheerfully return the purchase price of the first tree when it was once again in their possession.
The tree that we now own is pretty much like all other artificial trees: convenient, but—as if to confirm the words of the poet—not likely to be confused with the trees found in nature. It was in every way as advertised; my low rating has nothing to do with the quality or construction of the tree. The single star represents my experience with what Tree Classics curiously refers to as "customer service." I am writing this review nearly two months (and three telephone calls) after the original purchase and we have yet to receive our refund. A fourth call informed me that if I ever see my refund, it will reflect a 10% restocking fee.
We sincerely apologize for the service you've received thus far from our customer service, wise1245, and for any inconvenience this has caused you. We'd like to review the conversations you've had with our customer service team and hope to provide you with further options for this issue and also follow up on your refund. Please send to us your Order ID at email@example.com. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.