Preview Review

Next Review

Tree Classics Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Disappointed With Customer Service
By -

FOREST, VIRGINIA -- We purchased the 9' Regency Evergreen in October 2007 and paid extra for the bright white LED lights. That season it looked great. When we set it up for Christmas 2008, all the lights with the exception of 2 branches had gone to a dingy yellow color. It's not an electrical problem as we did a test to swap out bulbs to different branches and the color of the LED lights followed when we plugged them in different locations. It is definitely a bulb problem.

We have been working with their customer service now for over 4 mos. to get resolved. We have been told by their representatives that most people prefer the "soft" color. We do not and it seems this is just an excuse for a difficult problem they seem not to be able to resolve. We have had the tree returned and sent back to us twice now. They admit they had issues with a batch of white LED lights back when we purchased the tree. They have yet to fix the problem.

When we sent it back we spent a lot of time on the phone with them and specifically mentioned the two white branches. What they did was simply removed all the white lights from those two branches and replace them with the dingy yellow LED lights, say it was fixed, and then shipped it back to us. However, they missed two single lights thus proving our point.

On both occasions we have specifically mentioned details about the tree while they had it there for repair; however, the tree comes back to us in the same condition. During the last time, I even mentioned I wanted the floor on/off pedal switch replaced as it had broken. They never fixed it, never said a word about it and just shipped the tree back.

At this point I am very disappointed with them and would not recommend them to anyone. Unless they can make good on this situation, my opinion of the company will not change. I do have names of people I talked to; however, I do not feel it appropriate to mention names in a public forum such as this as it would not be professional, but would gladly discuss this with a company representative if they would like to contact me.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Tree, Horrible Warranty, Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- We purchased a new tree from Tree Classics in 2010. They had to replace 2 sections because the tips get breaking off. The next year, in 2011, we continued to lose tips and called them. We find out that the previous owners declared bankruptcy and anyone with a tree purchased prior to a specific date in 2011, were no longer covered. One year old, and we were out of luck with any warranty issues. We were provided a form to file a claim against the previous owners to be considered in the bankruptcy, which probably wouldn't happen because they owed so many other vendors.

The new owner offered a "one time deal" to use a coupon toward another tree. It was for much off, I don't remember now, but it would have been too much money to buy another tree, even with their "one time offer" toward another tree. The lights on our tree also keep burning out. Each year when we put it up, there are tons of lights to replace. I purchased replacement bulbs from the "new owners" of Tree Classics, however, these don't really fit and we have to pull the bulb out and thread it into the old light base - a real pain.

We've had this tree for 4 years now, and we really feel like we are stuck with a poor quality, expensive tree. Every year, I dread putting it up, in fact, I just want to sit down and cry! I can't believe that people are still having the same problems even though they just bought a tree from the new owners this year, 2014! I also don't understand how the new owners can still call themselves Tree Classics and say they've been in business since 1976, when this just isn't true.

Who protects consumers from businesses like this? There is absolutely no recourse. I agree with a previous reviewer - Frontgate's products and customer service are by far superior. We have a beautiful pre-lit garland that we've have 4-5 years now, and have never replaced that first bulb!

Company Response 12/10/2014:

Hi Sharon, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the transition has caused you and for the issues you are having with your tree. Please know that Tree Classics Inc. (TCI) was founded in 1976 by Triumph International and in 2011 it was purchased by Heavenly Holidays LLC. More information can be found online at this address: https://www.treeclassics.com/lettertocustomers-s/180.htm. Please email us at marketing@treeclassics.com if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Replies
Unbelievable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WISCONSIN -- Was refurbishing a home with a huge brick wall fireplace and 22 foot high pine ceilings and so with a fantastic picture of a future Christmas in my head, I ordered a 15 foot Cascade Fir end of December 2011 for $899.77. Tree arrived timely in January 2012. House finally ready in Spring 2013 and one of the things I was looking forward to was Christmas and that great tree! Till we took it all out of the four boxes it was shipped in on Monday, 12/16. The good thing was each section of lights worked even after sitting in its boxes for nearly two years. The very bad thing? No instructions! FOUR boxes of tree and the instruction CD is blank!

It was too late to call customer service back east (I am on Oregon coast) so I called Tuesday and explained but customer service cannot help. Huh? Cannot email me instructions? Cannot get a tech on the phone? No, but they could forward my request to Support and suggested I email my questions also since I would probably get a faster response. So I sent an email advising problem with connectivity of lights from section to section (too many males, not enough females) and inquired as to what are/how to use/why all the extra metal bars enclosed and then included my telephone number and email address.

Wednesday, 12/18, received an email reply thanking me for my inquiry and to please provide a telephone number! I again sent my telephone number via email. Then I called customer service again in hopes of getting faster action. Not a chance. Thursday, 12/19, I received an email thanking me for my telephone number and received assurance someone would get back to me. A FULL WEEK LATER, ON CHRISTMAS DAY, I received an email stating Tree Classics could not help me. Ya think?

Good thing we bought a cut tree, donated our $899.77 Tree Classics fiasco to a shelter, and had a pleasant holiday. And there is no refund, no partial credit, NO APOLOGY, no return shipping unless at my expense, etc... I would never, never, never, never purchase another item from Tree Classics and will spend time on review sites, talking to anyone who will listen, notifying the Better Business Bureau, etc... to warn against this company.

Replies
Awful Customer Service—Don't Buy From This Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- A century ago, the poet Joyce Kilmer famously wrote that "only God can make a tree." Mr. Kilmer, of course, had no way of anticipating the advent of the artificial Christmas tree industry. On the second Saturday of this past November, my wife ordered a manufactured Christmas tree with LED lighting from Tree Classics. That night, **'s sleep was interrupted by the sudden precognition that our large collection of Hallmark electric ornaments would be incompatible with an LED configuration. "Don't worry about it," I told her. "In the morning you can call and change the order to a tree with standard lighting. Certainly they don't ship over the weekend."

Unfortunately, although the folks at Tree Classics are skilled at approximating divine arboreal creation, they proved to be absolutely incapable of preventing the shipment of the LED-lit tree that still resided within their warehouse at the time of the call. The representative explained to my incredulous wife that the only means of exchanging trees was for us to ship the unwanted tree back to the warehouse that it had not yet departed—at our considerable expense—and order the second tree. Tree Classics agreed to cheerfully return the purchase price of the first tree when it was once again in their possession.

The tree that we now own is pretty much like all other artificial trees: convenient, but—as if to confirm the words of the poet—not likely to be confused with the trees found in nature. It was in every way as advertised; my low rating has nothing to do with the quality or construction of the tree. The single star represents my experience with what Tree Classics curiously refers to as "customer service." I am writing this review nearly two months (and three telephone calls) after the original purchase and we have yet to receive our refund. A fourth call informed me that if I ever see my refund, it will reflect a 10% restocking fee.

Company Response 01/10/2014:

We sincerely apologize for the service you've received thus far from our customer service, wise1245, and for any inconvenience this has caused you. We'd like to review the conversations you've had with our customer service team and hope to provide you with further options for this issue and also follow up on your refund. Please send to us your Order ID at marketing@treeclassics.com. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.

Replies
Advertisement
Extremely Disappointed With Tree and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Buyer Beware! We ordered this tree in November and were disappointed with the tree style and quality. We contacted the company for an RMA, and were told to send the tree back to the address on the box (in Georgia) for a refund. Well that is where all the problems started.

The tree was received in the Georgia warehouse on 11/29. We called several times during the first part of December to check the refund status and were told they were processing the refund. In late December we called to confirm they were processing the refund, and were then told the tree should have been shipped to Fresno, California. So why did they not tell us this sooner?

OK... so the nice lady said they would need to ship the tree to Fresno for the return (and a $50 fee in addition to the 10% restocking fee). She assured me that it would ship and the refund would be processed. I called a week later and another nice person told me "this is our busy season and it may take more time to ship the tree out to Fresno, but we will expedite the process." So this same conversation took place every few days throughout the end of December and until 9 January 2013.

I called today (21 January) and was told they have no records of the tree being shipped to Fresno, and that it can take up to 3 weeks to check the Georgia warehouse. Really, 3 weeks to check a warehouse! I was then told it may take 2 weeks to arrive in Fresno, and 30 days after that before the refund would be processed. Are you kidding me!?!

Oh... not to mention that when we originally received the tree it was covered in dust and smelled musty... great tree... not! Just forewarning if you are considering buying a tree from Tree Classics... better be sure you want the tree because they are HORRIBLE with returns! We will NEVER buy another tree from this company.

Replies
Poor Quality and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This was my first pre lit artificial Christmas tree. Paid in excess of $1500 for this disaster. Although the 12 foot tree is very nice, after one season of storage according to manufacturer guidelines I assembled the tree the next year and found that I needed to replace almost 1/3 of the lights that had burned out. I called customer service to complain and got the runaround about their bankruptcy/new ownership and inability to honor any warranty. They said the "New owners" just bought the company name and were not responsible for product problems prior to re-organization.

I swear to God the customer service representative was the same lady who took my order the year before! I did some research and found that they lost a court fight with some Chinese manufacturer for poor quality light products in 2010 and filed for bankruptcy to avoid paying the damages awarded. Looks like I am the unlucky recipient of whatever product quality they were fighting about. They sold me a product that they knew they were in trouble within 2010. In 2011 I had to purchase 15 replacement packages of fifty lights each (750 individual lamps) and could not even secure a lousy 10% discount on them in lieu of the lost warranty coverage.

I am out of replacement lights now in 2012 as I have spent the last three nights replacing about four lights on every branch as I assembled the tree. There is clearly something wrong with the product quality of lights in the pre lit tree product line sold by this company prior to 2011 as it looks like they have moved to a different mini light vendor in later products. I would be very wary of buying here. I understand that bankruptcy changes things. But you would think that a purchase in excess of $1500 would at least get you some consideration and perhaps keep me as a returning customer by providing some free replacement lights or at least a discount on a new tree.

I won't buy from this company again. In fact I might just go back to non lit. It's a heck of lot easier to string your own lights than to replace a couple hundred every season. The replacement bulbs they sold do not fit into the socket so I have to take each each new lamp bulb out of the socket it was shipped in and replace it into the socket of the burned out lamp. Not fun. The bulbs do not release easily and it's a real ordeal.

Replies
Tree Classic pre-lit tree - Had to buy more lights to make up for problems.
By -

LAKE BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- Purchased an expensive (over $700) multi-color mini-lite Christmas tree in 2009 from Tree Classics. The tree was functional for the 2009 Christmas. We were looking forward to setting up our tree for the 2010 Christmas - an activity that gradually turn into frustration. There were a large number of bulbs that would no longer lite. We contacted the Company and Linda (customer service - very polite and helpful), sent out 25 replacement bulbs and then (after a second call) an additional 25 bulbs.

However, we soon learned that not all of our outages could be resolve by replacing lights. We had one entire section that was not functioning, even after replacing (multiple times) the fuse for that light section. Contacted the Company again, and we're informed that they did have some "lighting problems" and we could return the problem tree section for repair - after Christmas.

I was not happy about the unnecessary aggravation factor (tree sections are heavy/awkward), but it seemed a reasonable solution. Then during the Christmas holidays two additional strings of lights went out - on other sections of the tree. Now we had a tree with "holes" in it. Our only solution was to go purchase "stand alone" light strings to supplement the lights on our pricey and dysfunctional pre-lit tree.

Once again I contacted the Company and spoke with friendly Linda. Explained my problem - I was sold a "bad" pre-lit tree. I offered to return the non-functioning tree and was willing to pay the difference in price to upgrade to LED pre-lit tree (I know I may be throwing good money after bad). Linda said she would explain the circumstances to Alex (supervisor) and he would contact me. He never called. After several days I called back and was informed that Alex would surely contact me - he never called.

I called back again and happen to catch Alex in the office. He knew nothing about my problem. After re-explaining, he said that he would have to refer the matter to the owner - Leon Ganze. Either Alex or Mr. Ganze would contact me. Waited several days for a call back which never came. So I called again on Jan. 18, 2011. Their answering machine message stated that their business was closed until April 1, 2011. Their web site was also frozen on their home page. I sent an email looking for anyone to call me - no response.

I just didn't believe that this Company would ignore a customer and disappear for months - particularly after committing to a callback. I choose this Company because they had been in business for a long time. Apparently longevity is not necessarily an indication of quality products or timely customer service. I am still hopeful that this Company will do the right thing - starting with contacting me and replacing a defective product. This tree was not worth $700.

Replies
Defective Pre-Lit Tree, Little or No Service
By -

LAKE BARRINGTON, ILLINOIS -- We purchased a 9ft. pre-lit Heritage tree with 1550 lights in October 2009. We used it for Christmas 2009 and we were very happy with it. I assembled the tree on 11-11-10 for this 2010 Christmas season. I plugged it in and to my dismay 100+ random lights were burned out. The sockets of the burned out bulbs were warm/hot. I also noticed one plug looked to be a touch melted (I replaced the cord on my own).

I called Tree Classics. I talked with a nice lady several times. Not really getting anywhere. The dilemma seemed to be they didn't have the "Heritage" anymore. OK. She really didn't seem to have anything to offer other than a few replacement bulbs. I was not happy and she suggested that I speak to the service department.

I didn't get a call back that afternoon or the next morning so I called again. I did finally get a lady in the service department. She admitted that this was a defective tree and they had many light issues with it. She admitted this. I was encouraged that this company stands behind their product. Not so fast my friend. After several calls it was clear they were only going to send replacement bulbs. It actually took a bit to convince them to send 100. They should embarrassed. What can I do? I accept that I will replace the bulbs myself.

I then ask if they could be sent next day air so we can finish our decorating. No. Too costly for Saturday UPS delivery. I suggest USPS priority mail as I live one state away. No. I received my 100 replacement bulbs on 11-15-10. After 3 hours of changing out these bulbs with a staple puller. (I have the sore fingers to prove it!). I still have a good 50-75 bulbs that are burned out. I think they are burning out as I watch them.

We have pretty much decided to disassemble this thing and discard. The risk of fire seems to be real. You would think that a tree with a KNOWN defect would have been replaced with a comparable tree or a credit toward another tree the moment I called, but no. They were worrying about sending 100 lights! Sad. A must to avoid!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Communication on Tree Order
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- My wife and I purchased a Christmas Tree with TreeClassics.com on Nov 18, 2012 and were informed that the tree would be delivered in 5-7 business days. No problem, right? Well we called on day 5 to inquire if the tree had been shipped because the online order status showed to be 'processing.' The representative told us that he showed the tree to be shipped and that a tracking number was not available because of the quick delivery special that they were providing. In the special they don't take the extra day to assign a tracking number and get it out sooner.

I waited until day 7 and called back again and the representative said it had shipped and they would escalate the case to another department that could locate a backup tracking number. We received a call the next day stating that the tree was out of stock and they would not have more. All this time our credit card had already been charged for the tree. We were given the option to order another tree and only after asking if we could receive a discount because of the inconvenience did they offer a $50 credit toward a new tree.

I asked why we weren't notified earlier, before our card was charged, that it was out of stock. Their response was that they were only able to track this after I had called in. The company does not have a good system in delivering trees. Since we were notified of this on Dec 1st, we decided to buy a tree elsewhere. Save your money and time and purchase with a different company.

Replies
Never Buy From This Company.
By -

PINCKNEY, MICHIGAN -- I paid A LOT of money for a tree that has an entire section that doesn't light and the plugs don't work properly between the sections. Now I am using two extension cords snaking up the $750.00 tree and I'm unable to use just the white lights (which I paid extra for). I am EXTREMELY dissatisfied with this company and wish I had checked these online reviews before purchasing this tree. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY! They have no interest in resolving this issue, believe me, I have tried. I went to the Better Business Bureau to file a complaint and they have an "F" rating. Run away!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Tree Classics Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Tree Classics
6508 S 27th St, Suite 9200
Oak Creek, WI 53154
1-877-699-6278 (ph)
www.treeclassics.com
Product/Services
Compare Home/Garden Companies