True.com

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
3 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Scammers and Dating Sites
Posted by on
IRVING, TEXAS -- To whom it may concern,

I am writing to you in concerns to all the scams that has been reported by thousands of people over the internet relating to dating sites and the scammers who rip off people in this country for thousands of dollars a year. Personally I have fallen into one of the many scammer traps that exist on the internet. Unfortunately, I am one of those who has been ripped off by a so called scammer from Russia posing as someone who lives here in Wisconsin, while searching Yahoo Personals.

Concerned with the many problems we all are having with those who think it is o.k. to take from others, I did some research myself that I feel would be very helpful. Some of the same problems I had with Yahoo Personals, I also experienced with TRUE.com. The way in which they implement their system and service appears to be identical in certain areas.

The real problem I see with the scammers from others countries and possibly from those in this country is that dating sites are being used as vehicles for scammers to get in contact with consumers here in the United States by obtaining fraudlent/stolen information used on these sites, through dating sites from other countries, and by stealing I.P. Addresses from dating sites through "hacking". The most problematic seems to be that dating sites are operating without the proper security to protect consumers from these type scams and people who hack their system to steal information from their database.
As a customer with TRUE.com I was able to get employees to answer some questions that would help prove my theory. They are as follows:


Q.) ARE YOU AFFILIATED WITH YAHOO PERSONALS IN ANY KIND OF A WAY?
A.) The employee answered no we are not.

Q.) ARE THE PEOPLE WHO APPEAR ON YOUR WEB PAGES REAL, OR DO THEY ACTUALLY EXIST AS INDIVIDUALS WHO CAN BE CONTACTED BY A PERSON LIKE MYSELF WHO MAY WANT TO EMAIL OR RESPOND TO A SO CALLED EMAIL OR WINK THAT THEY MAY HAVE SENT TO ME?
A.) The employee answered yes, all members on our site are real. As a single employee, one of the benefits we receive is to be able to post a profile on the site to search for someone.

On two separate occasions, two employees stated that they had profiles on the site.

During my research I noticed that people have complained about agencies using their employees as decoys to fool or have fun with a person who thought they were getting the service they had paid for on the site. I obtained the information by searching the company's name through google.com.

Q.) WHY DO I RECEIVE RESPONSES FROM INDIVIDUALS WHO EITHER DO NOT FIT THE PROFILE OF A PERSON I AM LOOKING FOR OR WHO IS NOT LOOKING FOR A PERSON THAT FITS MY PROFILE?
A.) The employee stated that the responses are computer generated and that people are matched up according to what their compatibilities are. For example: If two people or more have the same basics, interest, personality, communications, sexual, romantic, and commitment in common, then those people are considered compatible according to the out come of the tests. The individuals are then matched up, the computer sends out the winks you receive according to those who are compatible to you in those areas, NOT according to your entire profile, which happens to be the most important. That way a person would not receive false information based on partial input on the agency's part. The most important information to the test that would be more reliable is being omitted for some reason.

I responded to the employee by saying that if the individuals entire profiles are not considered, then these are not compatible matches, which was why I was getting computer generated winks from those who do not fit the profile of the individual I am searching for. This is why I ended up contacting a person who emailed me back to say that she was not interested in smokers. I did not match who this person stated she was looking for according to how she set up her profile, therefore I ended up contacting someone who had no interest in me because that I was a smoker. Although she did think that I was an attractive man.

Of course I got the run around on how the system works and that it was an option to have winks turned on or off, which still did not matter because the computer generated winks were coming to my mail box even after I had cancelled my service with TRUE.

From what I noticed, the employees have been trained quite well as to what to say to a customer once they have complained about what ever may not seem right with the site or how the system works. Some even get attitudes when questioned, while others seem reluctant to answering questions.

Q.) WHY WOULD A "COMPUTER GENERATED" WINK BE SENT TO ME WITH A PROFILE OF AN INDIVIDUAL IF THAT PERSON IS NOT LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO FITS MY PROFILE?
A.) The employee stated that the computer matches people up according to the results of the compatibility test that you take when you set up your profile. You turn on the option when setting up your profile, but if you do not want computer generated winks sent to you then you can turn them off.
I asked to have nothing that was computer generated sent to me anymore because I was tired of responding to a computer that never got back to me or acknowledged any of my responses. From what I was told on 03/21/08, the computer generated winks was turned off for me on that day and I should not receive anymore of them.

Q.) WHY WOULD A "COMPUTER GENERATED" EMAIL BE SENT TO MY MAIL BOX WITH A PROFILE OF AN INDIVIDUAL WHO IS NOT LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO FITS MY PROFILE?
A.) The employee stated that some things are computer generated but emails are not, which kind of confused me a little because the employee also stated that not all emails are written by the person whom it came from. If that is the case then who actually sent the email?

Q.) WHY WOULD A "COMPUTER GENERATED" FLIRT ALERT BE SENT TO MY MAILBOX WITH A PROFILE OF AN INDIVIDUAL WHO IS NOT LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO FITS MY PROFILE?
A.) This is an option you have when you set up your profile which can be turned off if you do not want the computer to send out winks for you.
I noticed that a flirt alert was sent to me on 03/20/08 as well as six (6) other winks, the day after I cancelled my service on 03/19/08 with TRUE. When I contacted TRUE on 03/21/08 about the flirt alert and winks I received, I also complained about the service I was receiving. I was then offered an extension on the seven (7) day free trial period, which was until 03/31/08 to decide whether I wanted to continue with the service before I would be charged. In order to find out who these people were, I accepted the offer from TRUE on 03/21/08.
After the o.k. with TRUE for me to continue to search, I replied to the flirt alert when I received an email that stated:

"You have replied to an unmonitored email address. Your email is important to us. Please see our contact information below and we will be happy to assist you."
Of course when I contacted TRUE again on 03/21/08, it was explained to me why I received the flirt alerts and winks, which evolved around how the email options were set when I set up my profile. The employee explained to me that I could not reply to the message directly because the message came from a computer, which cannot accept my response. I told the employee that I did not want anymore computer generated messages sent to me, and asked that they be turned off. According to the employee they were turned off and I should not receive anymore.
Like myself, I'm sure most people do not know how their system works and are led to believe that they were contacted by someone who does not have a clue that the flirt alerts and winks were sent out to those whose profiles do not fit that of individuals whom they are searching for.

Q.) OTHER THAN A "COMPUTER GENERATED" RESPONSE, I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A WINK OR AN EMAIL FROM ANY INDIVIDUAL LISTED ON YOUR SITE. IS THIS NORMAL OR ARE ALL EMAILS AND WINKS COMPUTER GENERATED?
A.) The employee answered, no they are not. Emails are not computer generated. People can send winks on their own or they have the option to have the computer send them when they set up their profile.
The problem I have with that is, if a person has cancelled stating that they do not wish to continue with the service, then the person who wants to email or send a wink to this person who has cancelled, does not know that this particular person has cancelled although their profile is still posted on the site. At the same time, the person who has cancelled does not know that their profile is still being used to send out the winks to others who think that the person who has cancelled still has service with the site because their profile is still on the site.

My point is that a person who has cancelled is unaware that their profile is still being used and you cannot tell if a person still have service with TRUE or not because those who cancel still have profiles on the site even though they are not available to be contacted, misleading people to believe that all these members who they see on the site are actual people whom they can get in contact with, when who knows how many may have cancelled because TRUE does not state that when you cancel your service (while at the same time TRUE is still trying to lure this person who has cancelled, into re-subscribing to the site by constantly sending out fake winks to them). They only state to the person who has cancelled, that they will still have access to their profile and any remaining paid subscription time. Not that, we are removing your profile from our site and will no longer use it.

This leads people to believe that the person is still available to email or send winks to when in reality it is not true because technically speaking, if a person has cancelled the service then they are no lonoger available to communicate on the site. Therefore that person's profile should no longer be used by the site as an active member.

Q.) HOW DO I KNOW IF ANY OF THESE PEOPLE ON YOUR WEBSITE ARE ACTUALLY PEOPLE WHOM I CAN CONTACT SINCE ALL RESPONSES I HAVE RECEIVED HAVE BEEN COMPUTER GENERATED?
A.) The employee answered, I guarantee you that the people are real. One way to find out will be to use the option who's online located on the left of the screen, and the people who are online will appear on the screen once you pull it up. Another way would be to go into the chat rooms and you will find a list of people who are currently on line to chat with.

Checking to see who's online or in the chat room really is no definite assurance, because the person you might be interested in reaching might not be in the chat room or online. If that person who still has a profile posted on the site has cancelled the service without your knowledge, then you are stuck with trying to reach a person who does not exist in reality. To me this is very misleading!

Besides, since you cannot see the person and do not know who they are because you have never met them before, then you really do not know who you are communicating with even if you chat with them in the chat room or contact them online somehow. Even a live cam is unreliable for that matter. How will a person ever know who they are speaking with if they have never met or have had some kind of physically contact with that person?

Winks are usually sent with a hint that states "I am much more likely to reply to your email." If that's the case, then a person would not expect to find whomever sent them a wink in the chat room because they have been directed to send an email to that person, who never seem to respond back for some reason.
From my experience, I was only able to reach one person whom I emailed after she so called sent a wink at me (computer generated), who then emailed me back stating that she was not interested in smokers.

Those who were supposedly online or who were listed in the chat rooms could not be reached once I attempted to do so. Besides, how would a person know that they are not communicating with an employee or someone who is "being paid" by TRUE or any dating site who gives the benefit of posting a profile on the site to their employees, since they are allowed to have a profile on the site as well?... I guess one will never know!!!

Q.) WHY ISN'T IT MANDATORY FOR AN INDIVIDUAL TO POST THEIR PHOTO ON YOUR WEBSITE WHEN THEY CREATE A PROFILE TO BE SEEN BY OTHERS WHO MAY BE INTERESTED IN THEM?
A.) The employee stated that they cannot force a person to post a photo of themselves because some people do not want others to know that they are on the site. People who have jobs that will not allow them to, or have professional positions and do not want to be seen on the site, so we allow them to post their profiles without a photo. You can request that person to send you a photo of themselves once you get in contact with them ( in my opinion, if you ever do get in contact with that person).

Q.) DO YOU FEEL THAT YOUR SITE IS BEING USED AS A VEHICLE FOR SCAMMERS TO GET IN CONTACT WITH OTHERS WHO ARE NOT INTERESTED IN THEM, KNOWING THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE TO POST A PHOTO OF THEMSELVES?
SCAMMERS CAN VERY EASILY BE IDENTIFIED BY OTHERS AND YOURSELF IF YOU MADE THIS MANDATORY.
A.) The employee stated that some people do use the site as a vehicle to scam others, but the internet itself is being used as a vehicle also.
I asked the employee since this is so, then don't you think this makes your site unsecure? The employee stated that yes it does to a certain extent but nothing is 100%. I told the employee that this was true but if you were to make it mandatory for people to post their photo as well, you could stop a lot of the scammers from getting onto your site. The employee referred back to the identity of those who do not wish to be seen on the site.
I told the employee that they were operating an unsecure site and was leading people to believe that it was secure, which isn't true at all. Of course the employee did not fully agree with me and I did not want to continue the conversation with the employee because I was aware of the facts of their site as well as other dating sites. Besides, why would the employee agree with me, knowing that it could hurt the business?

Q.) I NOTICED THAT A SCAMMER FROM RUSSIA WITH THE SCREEN NAME "DETECTIFROLLA" CONTACTED ME RIGHT AWAY (MY FIRST EMAIL), CLAIMING TO BE A 25 YEAR OLD FROM PHOENIX, AZ., SEEKING 30 - 50 YEAR OLD MEN. OF COURSE THIS PERSON DID NOT HAVE A PHOTO BUT WAS ABLE TO POST A PROFILE ONTO YOUR SITE WITHOUT YOU NOTICING. SHE MUST HAVE SLIPPED THROUGH THE CRACKS. HOW OFTEN DOES THIS HAPPEN IN YOUR OPINION?
A.) The employee stated that it happens sometimes, but we have a team of people working for us who checks for scammers on our site, but some do get through.
I told the employee that somebody must had fallen asleep, because I was contacted by a scammer right away.

Q.) IN YOUR OWN WORDS, WHO IS OR PLEASE DESCRIBE TO ME THE CHARACTER OF DETECTIFROLLA? I NOTICED AFTER TAKING YOUR INTEREST TEST THAT THE SCAMMER WHO CONTACTED ME GAVE A SCREEN NAME THE SAME AS THIS CHARACTER. IS THAT JUST COINCIDENTAL?
A.) At first the employee answered yes that is just coincidental, until I made it clear that this happened after I had taken the interest test. It was then explained to me that "detectifrolla" was a the name of a group of hackers from Russia who steal I.P. addresses from dating sites, sell them to scammers who then go onto dating sites to contact people who are on the sites.
The employee went on to tell me that the scammer must have viewed my results from the interest test, which did not sound quite right to me because first of all, that person would have to be very fast to read the results of the test and still have time to type the short letter to me telling me how to get in contact with him/her.
Why would that person want to call themselves detectifrolla if they are aware that TRUE is looking out for scammers on their site? I know that person was aware because he/she stated that they were aware in the email that was sent to me by that person. It seems to me that such a name would be a dead give away and True's team who check for scammers on the site would have caught that a lot sooner, knowing that this group exist.
After the employee explained to me what was going on, I stated the reason I asked the question was because I got suspicious of whether one of their employees was trying to be a smart ass by sending me the email to see if I would try to get in contact with this person. I went on to tell the employee that I was aware of scammers because I am a victim myself, which is how I knew this person was a scammer. Especially after reading the email that was sent to me by this person.

Q.) DO YOU SCREEN INDIVIDUALS BEFORE POSTING THEIR PROFILES ON YOUR SITE? IF SO, HOW IS IT DONE AND HOW LONG DOES IT TAKES FOR YOU TO GET THE INFORMATION YOU NEED ON THE INDIVIDUALS?
A.) The employee responded, yes we do screen everyone who is posted on our site by running their names through the system to see who are criminals and who might be married. We get our results instantly!
The fact that they are only screening for criminals and married people during that time does not help the situation at all. It seems to me that if a company would want to ensure that their site is very secure, then scanning for scammers should also be included during the screening process. If they can find them later then why can't they find them now (during the screening period) and cut their chance of being able to reach your customers to a very minimum, if not totally.
Personally I think a lot of important things are being overlooked during the screening process and I feel that they are being overlooked purposely.

Q.) HOW CAN A SCAMMER GET ONTO YOUR SITE IF YOU SCREEN EVERYBODY WHO POST A PROFILE ON YOUR SITE?
A.) The employee stated that the scammers are able to obtain stolen/false information that is used when signing up on the site.
I told the employee once again that they are operating an unsecure site and that people should not be able to use stolen information to get onto their site. If a person has stolen someone else's credit card and used it to get unto your site then that is fraud and is wrong. You have no way of knowing that you are allowing someone who has stolen material onto your site which happens to be another problem. The employee replied, we have no way of knowing the information has been stolen is right, but nothing is 100%, people steal credit cards all the time.
I then told the employee that this happens to be another problem with dating sites, which is why some people are so reluctant to using them anymore. The employee stated that it was all understood but nothing is 100% and we cannot catch everybody who scam or rip people off, then stated that it was unfortunate that people get scammed as well as feel sorry for those who do get scammed.

Q.) ARE MARRIED PEOPLE AND CRIMINALS SUCH AS FELONS THE ONLY PEOPLE YOU SCREEN FOR ON YOUR SITE?
A.) The employee answered, yes.
In my opinion, this is another way scammers are able to get onto their site. Checking for them right away would make more sense to me, but that is just my opinion. Scammers know this information about dating sites as well as others, which is how they are able to get around a lot of things.

Q.) CAN A PERSON POST A PROFILE ONTO YOUR SITE WITHOUT YOUR KNOWLEDGE?
A.) The employee answered, no. Everybody who are allowed on our site has to be screened first.
I feel that if everybody is being screened properly then a scammer should not slip passed, but when things are not done thoroughly and approved so fast I guess some scammers would slip passed.

Q.) I NOTICED THAT SOME PHOTOS OF INDIVIDUALS WHO IS POSTED ON YOUR SITE IS NO LONGER THERE BUT THEIR PROFILE STILL EXIST. DID THIS PERSON ALL OF A SUDDEN JUST DECIDE THAT SHE NO LONGER WANT HER PHOTO ON THE SITE?
A.) The employee responded, maybe. Sometimes people no longer wish to have their photo on the site if they were to go on vacation or decide they did not want to search for the time being, but wants to leave their profile on the site in case they may want to re-subscribe to TRUE on a later date.

Whether that person may be aware that their profile is still being used or not to send out winks or for any other purpose is a different story. People with profiles who has cancelled the service but is still on the site, are being used to make it seem as if the site has so many members onboard when some of the members cannot be reached. TRUE then tell the customer that the reason the person may not be responding is because they may not be checking their email or that person may not be interested in you, or whatever they feel you might believe. I was even told by one employee that the member may not be an active member at the time, which could be why I was getting no response. When the truth is that the person's service has been cancelled but the computer continue to use the profile to send out fake winks.

Q.) I NOTICED THAT PARTIAL PROFILES OF PEOPLE (3) WERE ATTACHED TO AN EMAIL SENT TO ME BY CUSTOMER CARE ON 03/16/08. IS THIS NORMAL?
A.) I forgot to email this question back to the employee the day all other questions were answered.

Q.) WHAT IS THE NORMAL "REAL" (NON-COMPUTER GENERATED) RESPONSE TIME FOR AN INDIVIDUAL TO RECEIVE AN EMAIL OR TO FIND SOMEONE ON YOUR SITE TO DATE?
A.) The employee stated that there was no "real" time frame. You could be on site anywhere from one day to months before you find someone.
I told the employee who was really reluctant to answering any of my questions, and who wanted to know specifically why I was asking all the questions, that I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend months looking for someone this way, and now that I have the questions that I was curious about answered, it would be easier for me to decide if I wanted to use the service as my way of finding someone to date.

I kept repeating as an answer to why I was asking the questions, that I was a customer and had the right to ask questions about the site if there are questions I need answers to in order for me to continue with the service.
By this time after all the hesitation and reluctance, the employee felt more comfortable and actually apologized for being so defensive. I then told the employee that I had called my credit card company ahead of time and cancelled the card because I was very suspicious of their site and was not about to be ripped off again. The employee thanked me for being honest, although allowed the so call "free" trial service to continue.

Q.) I GET EMAILS OR WINKS FORM THOSE I HAVE NOT EMAILED OR WINKED AT. WHEN I SET UP MY PROFILE I SPECIFICALLY NOTED THAT I WAS INTERESTED IN A SLENDER PERSON. MAJORITY OF THOSE WHO RESPONDED DID NOT FIT THE DESCRIPTION OF THE PERSON I SET UP MY PROFILE TO DATE. I NOTICED WHEN I REVIEWED MY PROFILE AGAIN, THIS SECTION HAD BEEN CHANGED. HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS CAN HAPPEN?
A.) The employee answered, I'm not sure.
I noticed that every time I called with a question or concern, each employee I spoke with needed to know my screen name, first and last name and the last four digits of the credit card I used to set up the account with. The fact that they have all this information is enough to make me think that one of them could have gone into my profile and made the change in order to justify why I was getting responses from those who did not fit the description (body type wise) of the person I set up my profile of interest. I told the employee that these women were not the type females I date and that I was a small person who preferred slender women, so I know how I set up my profile. The profiles of the women sent to me was not even close to what I set up in my profile to meet. To them this is all a game. When giving me her last name, one employee stated that her last name initial was "T" as in toy then giggled. This happened when I first called with a couple of questions on how to use the system.

From what I can tell they were only playing me for fun, and I did not have a chance of meeting someone on this site and probably would have spent a lot of money on trying to meet someone whom I had no way of reaching or seeing no time soon, especially during the so called "free" trial period.
I'm sure most people who go onto this site is unaware of how this company actually implement their system. As far as their success stories, I do not believe any of them to be true no more than I believe this dating site to be true.


FINAL THOUGHTS:

Through my research, I have concluded that the scammers are truly a problem but they are not the only problem. Dating sites, the vehicles which carry the scammers are just as much a problem as the scammers themselves are. Without the aid of dating services, which also have problems outside of just being a carrier for scammers, these people would have no way of getting in contact with consumers in this country as easily as they do now. All dating sites seem to be very dishonest and misleading in their own way. Customers are led to believe that they are receiving the services they are paying for but is getting something totally different in return. And in some cases, if anything at all. To me scammers and dating sites together show great relations between one another. They actually fit like a hand in glove.

While searching for someone to date on Yahoo Personals I experienced, and was scammed by someone supposedly from Russia posing as a resident here in the state of Wisconsin. I was contacted by this person solely due to a lack of security provided by the dating site I was searching on. This is just one of the many problems dating services seem to all have in common.

Without proper security on the site there leaves a great chance for someone like a scammer to get into a company's database to steal such information and contact those who really wish not to be bothered by someone like themselves or in some cases steal personal information relating to another person's account.
For any company to imply that they are operating a secure site when they really aren't, is really not good business practices at all in my opinion. Companies that operate secure sites do not have all these problems dating sites have and they certainly do not have all the complaints filed against them like dating sites, who tend to have problems that are quite common among them.


Another problem dating sites seem to have in common is dishonesty. Customers are led to believe that they are getting great service as well as free service in some cases, being lured in for a scam that only steal their money and leave them wondering why things didn't go so well for them or how a company could get by with what these people get by with on a daily basis and still operate.
Everything done by these dating sites seems to be under a very enclosed and controlled environment. By that I mean, The way they implement their systems tells me that people are only getting minimum service and are being fooled when they should be getting all they pay for and was promised. The contacts of the people on the sites with profiles appears to be controlled by the sites rather than openly and by the people themselves. People are being tricked, lied to, mislead, you name it, and the dating sites are laughing all the way to the bank just like the scammers do when they trick people out of their money by promising them something they never get.

The scammers seems to be the only intruder who pops into peoples mind when they think of the problems that are posed upon consumers using the internet. Russian scammers are being used as shields for those who do just as bad as they do. I happen to know that the scammers are not alone and they are getting to everybody through dating sites one way or the other who are ripping people off left and right as well. Security should be the utmost important thing for businesses like those of dating sites. For some reason it is very sloppy and the problems are still accumulating as the days go on.

A lot of information is being passed through these sites concerning people's lively hood. If they cannot keep a scammer from stealing their I.P. addresses from their database then what else is at risk?

Revenue should not be a concern because when people get ripped off, money is actually lost through the process in some form or another. Scammers and other crooks do not pay taxes and therefore gets by with a nice chunk of money that he/she does not have to account for. So who is really being ripped off!!!!!!!!

I think the problem will have to be solved through the process of elimination. The bottom line is that, if the dating sites were taken out of the equation then that would leave only a Monday, March 31, 2008 fraction of the problem to be solved. Dating sites are not just operating unsecure sites, being dishonest with their customers, Lying, seducing, and misleading consumers, but they happens to be the carrier of the scammers (rather than protector of the consumer) who pose the problems upon consumers in this country. These are problems consumers do not want to deal with and therefore should be eliminated as soon as possible if trust will ever have the chance to be restored in those who use the internet often to do business. To allow something like this to continue will certainly ruin all trust in due time.

As far as who should pay for all the problems, I can only see the dating sites themselves being responsible because they are the carriers of the scammers who rip people off and they choose to run unsecure sites which allows consumers to be ripped off in every way possible due to the poor security they provided to the consumers.
Money gets past over the internet in many different ways and those who use the internet to do business expect to be able to do so without interruption from a crook in any way. We cannot see who we are dealing with over the internet, and people like scammers and dating sites take advantage of the situation to rip people off. For the business they are in, this is the perfect set up for them to do what they do, while at the same time, make it easy for them to get away with a lot.

The fact that we cannot see who we are dealing with should not be as much of a deal as it is but since things are the way they are then we all have to try to be as cautious as possible because there are people out there who just do not want to earn a living honestly if they can find a so called much easier way by ripping others off.

Dating sites even lead people to believe that there is nothing they can do to stop the scammers when they provide the vehicles that carry the scammers, when they are aware of the hackers who steal their information from their database then sell it to the scammers, when they are the only ones who can defend the consumer but fail to do so because of the lack of security provided to consumers, when they know people obtain stolen / fraudulent information and get onto their sites, and when they know that scammers exist but fail to alert their customers in any way before they operate on their sites. So we can see that datings sites do know a lot but they do very little to stop the predators.
Although there are websites that post photos and profiles of scammers, this brings no guarantee when dating sites do not make it mandatory for people to post their photo on the site as well. Scammers are aware of the different site that expose them and their ways so they use the information they get from the sites to get around what is being said about them.

The truth of it all is that dating sites do not want to stop the scammers because if they did then they would make their sites a lot more secure than they are and people would have less worry of being contacted by a scammer through a dating site. Those who operate dating sites happens to know more than they say they do and they appear to know exactly what is going on. In opinion, every time a consumer is contacted by a scammer through a dating site and gets ripped off, the dating site should be held responsible to the fullest!

In my case, I have contacted IC3 and the Moscow Embassy. If there is any other advise you may have for me I will be more than happy to hear from you.

Thank you for your cooperation.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Ponie on 2008-04-07:
OMG, beheard! I can't thank you enough for posting this 'complaint.' I have been hounded by Ruskies day in and day out. I lay awake at night wondering if that last wink I got was sincere or the work of another scammer. I was afraid to answer the last flirt alert I got, thinking it was another Rusky. You have done a great service to mankind by warning us of the shenanigans these sites pull. If it were in my power to do so, I'd immediately award you six stars for this extremely informative complaint.
Anonymous on 2008-04-07:
Lesseee...People regularly write to m3c with complaints about ordering flowers, hotel reservations, electronics, furniture, and a myriad of other goods from Internet vendors. Seeking a mate or significant other via the same medium is frought with scammers, hackers, and poor service? Surely not!
Speceba ('thank you' in Russian) for a very informative post. I second Ponie's call to vest you with many stars!!!
bargod on 2008-04-07:
So have you a least got a date yet?
Ponie on 2008-04-07:
bargod--truly LOL!
Anonymous on 2008-04-07:
Had one date...it didn't work out...she fled (screaming something in Russian) when the poster began showing his collection of Star Wars action figures to her.
old fart on 2008-04-07:
It was a lot easier in the old days when we used to just prowl the bars. there was always a chance you might pick something up beside a case of the crabs that was worth a second look..
Sometimes when you woke up in the cold light of morning, you would turn your head on the pillow, look at your "date" and think,"oh my god, WHAT HAVE I DONE"..!!!
sunny73 on 2010-11-18:
I believe all the above and wonder why the companies do not do any more than they due to police their service.

I have seen the same person as rwo different identities on the one site, surely this can be managed by the staff, alrhough I do not think many of them can speak English s her is put for him and she is used for he over and voer again

The trouble if they never return moy to anyone.
jktshff1 on 2010-11-18:
sunny, Aside from this being over 2 yrs old, your comment speaks for itself.
"alrhough I do not think many of them can speak English s her is put for him and she is used for he over and voer again

The trouble if they never return moy to anyone."
PepperElf on 2010-11-18:
Also... something that many people in the US don't always think about...

Some of those dating sites with contacts overseas - (especially if they're advertising "foreign" girls) ... might actually be human trafficking organizations.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Attitude Poor Service and Poor Response
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DEL RIO, TEXAS -- On July 2, 2012 I had a confirmed reservation with this company's rental manager. This reservation had been made over 2 weeks earlier. When I showed up to pick up the equipment, it was only then that I found out that it was rented and would not be back anytime soon. I understand that this sort of thing may happen, but the issues I have are.

The rental agent when confronted just thought OH well and had no care or concern about the matter. They did have my cell number and could have contacted me in advance that the equipment was not available. Instead I ended up paying for labor and making a 100 mile round trip for nothing. This is poor leadership to say the least. Not to mention their attitude.
I did make a complaint and the store owner. Mr. Clayton [snip]just shuffled it off with some BS PC statement and showed no concern either. When I contacted True Values headquarters in Chicago. All I got from them was. You have to understand how True Value works. Even though the name on the building says True Value each store is independently owned and is up to them to take care of it. In other words, they hide behind corporate rules to create a layer of defense in their minds anyway.

Very bad corporate attitude. So when you see the commercials expounding on how they are not like the big box stores. Do not be leave it, they have the same corporate mentality as any corporation. Mr. Davenport I hope you read this.

STAY AWAY FROM TRUE VALUE HARDWARE STORES!!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

trmn8r on 2012-07-14:
I don't agree. True Value corporate likely has no influence over the rental practices of this store. The True Values I deal with don't rent equipment.

True Value-branded hardware stores are generally excellent in my experience, both the product line and the skill set of the workers. I believe your complaint lies squarely with the store in question.
wlinzmier on 2012-07-15:
Afraid we will just have to disagree trmn8r. When paying for goods at a True Value that is the name that I pay on the check or credit card. That means they are responsible for their stores period. No matter WHO owns them, they are using the name on the door. No hiding behind their layers of corporate deniability. If the store does not handle the problem than your only option is to move it up the corporate ladder.
As far as your good luck in True Value. I am happy for you. I cannot on the other hand agree. The staff was uncaring and only exasperated the situation. Also pleas don't tell me that if a corporate honcho did not like something at a store that he would not have any recourse. I did run my company for over 30 years and it was my reputation on the line. Just because your a cooperation does not mean you may discount or ignore your customers.
Plus if you look at their product line it is the same brands for the most part of the so called box stores at a cheaper price.
jktshff1 on 2012-07-15:
Trm, I got to side with the poster re TV corporate involvement. While I have also had great service from them, in this case some kind of apology would have been good.
Close commentsAdd reply
How True.com Tricks/Entices People To Sign Up.
Posted by on
How is it possible that I get appx 12 emails from different people each day when my profile doesn't have any information or picture. That's how True.com tricks people in signing up.

Of course, when you see "Just wanted to say hi", "how are you", "hey had to say hello", "you have a message from crocket71" "hi" (actually subj lines in my Inbox by the way), you want to see who's it's from. Normally, if I had gone through the trouble of setting up my profiles, I'd jump at finding out who's trying to contact me. But knowing that I didn't put anything out there except basic info that I chose from drop-down box, it was easy to figure that there's a great possibility that True paid people to contact prospective customers.

Do you, or do you know of anyone who, contact people whose profile is just stuff they selected from drop-down list, and don't have any photo on their profiles?

True.com is running a scam.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
I'm pretty sure this website has automated bots or employees sending users messages to lure them in to sign up for a subscription.

A lot of these paid websites do these kind of things.
Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
Isn't Facebook, Myspace, and Twitter enough? How many more social websites do we need?

Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
Little, True.com is a dating site.
Anonymous on 2011-01-21:
Oh I thought it was like Twitter or something. There's too many dating sites out there for me to know every one. I don't use any of them anyway.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >