[X]
Feedburner count

Universal Truck Rental

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
8 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very, Very Bad Experience With Universal Truck Rental
Posted by Zzzzmmmm on 02/14/2011
SASKATOON -- I totally agree with another review in my3cents.com about the Universal truck rental. "When we first reserved with Universal Truck Rental the staff was efficient. ...It was a surprise when the service charge was added to my credit card. ...From that point the representative was the most arrogant, rude service person I ever have the misfortune to encounter. He had access to my credit card, and a huge sense of entitlement. Our experience was a mixed one, we had a truck that did not start properly and one representative who has not been trained to deal with people." That is so true. The company and service person is the worst company and worst person I have ever met. I had almost the same experience. I moved on Jan.31, 2011 from 2KM away. when I made the reserve, I called the service person, he told me that there will not be a cold start problem. But when the truck can not be started, I called for the emergency help. I was waiting outside the cold weather of -31 degree for 4 hours until somebody came to boast the truck, but boasting didn't work. So a towing company came and tried to tow the truck back to the company location. He didn't care about what I gonna do. At that time, all my stuffs were in the truck.

So I decided to ask the towing company to tow the truck to my new place, which is only 2 KM away. I paid 40 dollar to the towing company for towing to my new place. However, when the bill comes, I found that I have to pay another 270 dollars for this sucking moving.

When I asked the details of the bill, the guy even threatened me that he will charge me $25 for any more email and phone. In conclusion, this is the worst service I have ever met.

Read Company Response
Company Response on 04/29/2011:
Hello...I am the managing partner of Universal Truck Rental Canada and I agree this was an unfortunate experience for both the renter and rental company.

Unfortunately the rental truck would not start because of a cold start problem. A third party service provider checked the vehicle for mechanical defects and did not find any problems. Unfortunately our rental agreement does not cover cold starts & no starts and if the truck needs to be boosted or towed the renter is financial responsible.

We clearly state our cold start and no start policy on our on line rental agreement and every renter must sign off acknowledging their acceptance. See Link Below

http://www.surveycanada.ca/checkbox/Survey.aspx?s=14e71e55eab8453fae8831d90b396997&ForceNew=true

When a vehicle will not start for no apparent reason there is a good chance a human was involved and did not plug in the block heater.

Unfortunately, this client was expected to pay the invoice for the service call because they called the 24 hr emergency road side service. All our trucks are equipped with block heater for cold weather starts.

This charge could have been avoided by double checking that the block heater was plugged in and working.

Please note this renter lives in Saskatoon and acknowledged the temperatue was minus -31. We confirm with the clients statement that "he should not have a cold start problem"...what was left out was..."if you plug the block heater in for a minimum 4 hours". (Really ... who lives in Saskatchewan in minus -31 degree weather and does not know to plug a vehicles block heater in.)

Rental trucks are not magically trucks. They require the same care as your personal vehicle in all weather conditions.

We are committed to helping Canadian's move cost effectively, worry free and with excellent over the road support. We are glad to hear the emergency road side provider was responsive and efficient.

We look forward to your business and can be contacted at 1-866-518-0150 to book your next truck rental needs.

Sincerely Steve Baty
Director of Sales & Marketing


     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Skye on 2011-02-14:
What does this statement mean?

"He had access to my credit card, and a huge sense of entitlement".


Nobody likes bad service, and I understand your frustrations.
Posted by A on 2013-08-23:
This manager sounds like a douche too..I was thinking of getting a quote from them but this changed my mind..
Posted by Moving BC to ON on 2014-02-02:
hmmm, not sure on this one. When I started to read Steve's response I wasn't impressed with his comment "unfortunate experience for BOTH renter and RENTAL COMPANY". With a customer this upset and talking to new potential customers, I don't think you want to attempt to play the sympathy card for yourself. By the end of his response I think I get the gist of what he's saying and almost understand their perspective. HOWEVER, I'm not completely clear on "No Starts". So if YOUR truck that I am paying to rent just won't start and needs to be boosted or towed, then I am financially responsible for it? Really??? And this is based on your regular mechanic/buddy/the guy who gets regular business from you and wants to keep your business - I mean a 3rd party service provider looking over the truck after it wouldn't start? I'm not sure I like my odds there. What if said mechanic can't find the problem or can't explain why a problem he finds occur? Then customer pays? I think I'm needing that contract to say "if the mechanic can find EVIDENCE of the renter either abusing the truck or neglecting to follow proper procedure (i.e. not plugging in block heater, etc.) THEN the renter is on the line for costs". Rental trucks are often driven hard, so I imagine its not a stretch for one to break down. I'm a little uneasy signing a document that says if it does break down then I'm on the hook. I have no idea what kind of service and care you have provided for your vehicle, so I'm not taking on that responsibility.

Having said that, I do understand that properly using block heaters is important in the Prairies, and if this renter didn't follow proper procedure then I do understand him paying for the extra expenses. If this has happened more than once, then I would suggest doing something to get the point across to customers better. Like having an additional form for them to complete where they actually have to write in or type in the words "I WILL MAKE SURE TO PLUG IN BLOCK HEATER FOR 4 HOURS.....ETC." and sign. It might stick in their brains more effectively that way.

My other concern with Steve's response is the fact that he never addressed the accusations of HIS STAFF being rude and arrogant. Or for them threatening to charge an additional $25 if the customer called or emailed anymore. I suspect it was because this customer just wasn't getting it, and just kept contacting them hoping for some kind of "shut up and go away" refund. If that is the case, then perhaps if Steve had politely and professionally touched on that issue suggesting that the customer was 'mis-behaving', then others like myself would be more understanding of the situation.

As it stands right now, I live in BC and will be moving to ON (don't ask me why. Hopefully it will only be for a few years). I haven't decided yet if I will just liquidate everything and just buy new stuff at the other end, or rent a truck and drive some select stuff back myself (in which case I might need Universal's services twice), or bite the bullet and pay a moving company to take everything back. This was the first review I found for Universal. Steve's response was enough for me not to hold this review against them
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Stay Away
Posted by Teajay123 on 06/26/2012
SASKATOON -- I am not sure about anyone else but when I am moving across the country I would like to be assured that I indeed will have a truck.
I called and booked a truck a month in advance, yet I had to wait until up to 24 hours before I was scheduled to pick up the truck to find out whether or not they will actually have it. Moving across the country is stressful enough.

I strongly suggest to anyone reading this that you spend a little extra and rent from a REPUTABLE company and make sure that you WILL HAVE A VEHICLE on moving day. By reputable I mean a company that has at least ONE good review online. Do your research and let all these bad reviews that you find influence your decision.

However, I am sure after reading this and posting some sort of 'reason for why my truck was not there' that Steve Baty the Director of Sales and Operations for Universal Truck Rental, Moving & Storage will spend some time online writing up a few good reviews instead of trying to make sure that customers vehicles will be there.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 11/21/2012:
My Name is Steve Baty the Managing Partner with Universal Truck Rental.

I am a little confused about this complaint. This is how one way truck rental works. Someone has to move into your area so you can move out. If there are no trucks in the area the truck rental company can not assign you a vehicle. This is the same for all One Way Truck Rental Company's.

No different than an air line that books all the seats on a plane. If there are no tickets available they can not assign you seat to fly.

All one way truck rental company's have the same reservation policy. If you want a guarateed truck reservation greater than 30 / 10+ plus days you need to book a local truck and pay & go round trip.

Sorry that is how "One Way Truck Rental Works" and it not a reflection on our industries reputation.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2012-06-27:
You may want to make a complaint about this to the Saskatchewan Consumer Protection Branch via http://www.justice.gov.sk.ca/cpb
Posted by The original poster on 2013-01-06:
I should not have been told that I would have a truck when I first called and booked.
This Steve Baty character can keep making excuses however if you are reading this and thinking about renting from this "company" just read a few more reviews from others and try and find even a few good comments in comparison to bad.
I REPEAT STAY AWAY!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply

Absolutely most horrific experience - zero customer service
Posted by Alwayannoyedcustomer on 10/17/2011
CALGARY -- " Without Prejudice "

When deciding to move provinces I made the standard phone calls to companies with trucks for rent, as my family is a 3 person family ( Myself, Husband and little girl) my main concern was that there was enough seat belts to accommodate us.

I stumbled upon universal truck rental and gave them a call, during the initial quoting phase I advised the agent that I needed 3 seats to which she replied that in order to get that I would need to get a 24' straight truck as the smaller model does not have 3 seats despite the fact that this truck was too big for my move I was willing to eat the cost as I was the one with the need for the 3rd seat.

After checking with other companies I found it standard that the bigger trucks had more seats and after doing my homework ( checking websites, and making calls) I decided to book with universal as I was GUARANTEED I would have a 3rd seat along with the website stating that truck specifications also said 3 seats.

I was advised to make a reservation with an additional company so as not to be left stranded if they could not get me a truck, so I made the second reservation and a few days later I was told I had a truck and AGAIN I asked the agent if there was a 3rd seat and I was again told yes ( not once was I advised it was a possibility there would be no 3rd seat)

I was sent an e-mail with my rate quote, and all the info I needed but when the time came to collect the moving truck we arrived and there was ONLY 2 seats, I called the company immediately to sort out the problem and I was greated by an agent who argued with me that the truck did in fact have 3 seats and apparently I was blind!

after arguing for a few minutes I told her I could send her a picture to which she replied ok maybe there is no 3rd seat, I immediately advised her that without the 3rd seat this truck was useless to me and she then advised me ----> rest to follow in comment section
Read Company Response
Company Response on 11/21/2012:
Hi my Name is Steve Baty the Managing partner for Universal Truck Rental and this issue concerns me as all client issues do.

The client claims they asked for three seats ...
they even comment as follows.

"I resorted to advising the man on the phone that his website stated the 3rd seat and when I went to copy the page I noticed he had now changed the website to reflect what he was saying, as I am sure he anticipated I would not have a leg to stand on however, when I returned to their website it had been changed to reflect what he was now saying that a 3rd seat is not a guarantee."

All I can say is the web site clear states the number of seats each truck has.

http://www.universaltruckrental.ca/truckspecs.html

...We suggest if seating is an important part of your rental talk with your reservation coordinator up front.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alwayannoyedcustomer on 2011-10-17:
that I could take it or leave it ( if I took it I got charged and if I didn't I got charged so there was nothing I could do)

After incurring more expenses by finding an alternate way for my 6 year old to travel( because according to universal they are not Greyhound and my seat concerns were not their problem) and after I arrived at my destination ( 1800 KM's round trip) I called the company and was immediately greeted by a man who informed me that the truck moved my stuff so it had accomplished what I had rented it for so what was my problem??

I have tried numerous times to explain to this man that I ONLY RENTED THE BIGGER TRUCK FOR THE 3rd SEAT and had I NOT needed that I would have gotten the smaller truck, and more over because he did not deliver the 3rd seat ( which I was assured would not be a problem ) that it stands to reason that a discount of the cost difference between the smaller truck and bigger truck was not unreasonable.

However the more I protested the more arrogant and rude he became, and within hours of a Better Business Bureau complaint we were informed that even though we filled the fuel tank with $325.00 worth of fuel as the gage would not move any further and we had contacted the company and been advised that we had done enough and it was ok, somehow we were 21 liters short, and more over there was now a crack in the window that we would be charged for.

When I confronted this man he acted both entitled and indignant despite my many attempts to resolve this as adults, I had even offered him the chance to just refund our entire deposit $500.00 less the fee's he was tacking on which is substantially cheaper then refunding the cost difference between trucks, he however could not wrap his head around it and became like a broken record stuck on the same sentence over and over again advising me the matter was closed.

When all else failed and we were getting no where, I resorted to advising the man on the phone that his website stated the 3rd seat and when I went to copy the page I noticed he had now changed the website to reflect what he was saying, as I am sure he anticipated I would not have a leg to stand on however, when I returned to their website it had been changed to reflect what he was now saying that a 3rd seat is not a guarantee.

Somewhere along the way he decided to inform me that I had absolutely no cause for complaining because I had been given a discount from the get go, I immediately looked at my quote and there is absolutely nothing about a discount, nor was I informed of it or aware I was entitled to a discount and yet somehow I am supposed to be grateful for a discount I neither asked for or was informed about because I am confident it does not exist.

Rather then taking the time to be customer service orientated the man I spoke with would rather run you around in circles advise you to fill out a claim for upper management and he would pass the complaint along( come to find out he is Upper management and was wasting my time.) and offer bogus Gift certificates for his company that anyone with half a brain who has used his services would keep a 10 mile distance from him and anything that involves him.

This man could really careless about supplying a good, honest product with no strings attached he is simply sitting there waiting for you to say something he does not like and then intimidating you like a grade school bully until you back down and walk away MINUS your lunch money.

I see numerous complaints here and they all have the same tone and yet this man would have you believe it is us who have the problem, well no more I won't back down and I won't be bullied and I will not stop until he is brought down a peg or 2.
Posted by Gabster on 2011-12-27:
I had the EXACT same experience...extremely frustrating that a business could operate in this way and the consumer is left with little to no options for recourse...if you get this comment, message me as i would like to hear the rest of your story.
Posted by was a potential customer on 2012-01-02:
Thank you all for your detailed descriptions and comments as this has helped me decide that I would rather pay more than have an experience where you are held hostage. I read all the terms and conditions already and did my homework, but what was missing were reputable reviews of any kind, so now I know why. Some comments reflected some responsibility on the part of the customer, but yours especially is well written, precise and troublesome that despite all your best efforts, you were caught with a company that is dishonest and has little interest in repeat business or referrals, which is apparent in the customer service skills of the individuals they hire and train to deliver their service. Your comments are important and thank you.
Posted by Alwayannoyedcustomer on 2012-11-21:
For your review Mr Baty - you stated the following. -

...We suggest if seating is an important part of your rental talk with your reservation coordinator up

If you had actually read my complaint (which I have copied for you below) you would see I DID DISCUSS 3 SEATS WITH THE AGENT ON THE PHONE. . Infact I'm sure it was the first question I asked!


***** I stumbled upon universal truck rental and gave them a call, during the initial quoting phase I advised the agent that I needed 3 seats to which she replied that in order to get that I would need to get a 24' straight truck as the smaller model does not have 3 seats despite the fact that this truck was too big for my move I was willing to eat the cost as I was the one with the need for the 3rd seat.*****

Let's just call it like it is, you keep talking because you think I will eventually shut up because that's how you've always handle dissatisfied customers, the difference here is I know a bully when I see one and you will never get me to walk away defeated.

You don't see customers you see dollar signs and I imagine with this type of service you don't see much money . Too bad you can't see you judgment errors and attempt to change imagine what a little kindness and compassion could do for your business??? Or maybe you like being in control and holding thing's over people's heads who knows. All I know is your company was worse then any other I have dealt with and if that makes you proud I feel so sorry for you.
Posted by Alwayannoyedcustomer on 2013-08-29:
Gabster I don't know how to message lol
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
GREAT Experience w/ Universal Truck Rental!
Posted by Jett_grrl on 12/03/2013
CANADA -- Seriously, I do not understand all the bad reviews!

I booked this truck on the phone, the woman I spoke to, Shauna, was as friendly, helpful, and polite as can be. The price was great. She really helped me to keep the cost down, and it was all smooth. When I read all the terrible reviews I called and spoke directly to the owner, Steve. He answers the phone. Anyone who says they can't reach him sure isn't trying very hard. I expressed my concerns based on the reviews, and he did his best to put my fears to rest.

Over the next two weeks I must have called Shauna at least 4 times changing the reservation - pick up day, pick up time, drop off location even! Every time we spoke Shauna was again super friendly and helpful. She would have been within her right to start getting annoyed at me! But she didn't.

When I picked up the truck it was in great shape. My only complaint was the engine was running when I got there. I was 1/2 hour late arriving, which means 1/2 hour of gas burned and emissions released :O( I didn't love that. But otherwise the truck was great. No problems at all. The inside was clean - not Mr. Clean clean, but who the hell expects that! I had no mechanical issues. The ramp design is bad - you need a second person to hold the catch out of the way when you push it back in. The door in the cab rattles like mad. And their gas policy is ridiculous. In order to make sure I have NO empty space in the gas tank, it went to overflowing both times! A bit too much. But that is minor.

Overall I had a great experience, and I would definitely use them again! Don't be scared by these other reviews. I had a small business. I know how easy it is to anonymously slam someone. It's a power trip, and often what's written is not even true. So try these folks out. I was happy I did, and it saved me a lot of money!

     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Save Yourself The Hassle, Don't Book Universal Truck Rental
Posted by Mimisamos on 10/06/2013
This company is terrible. Moving is a difficult enough experience on its own, DO NOT make your life more difficult by utilizing universal truck rental. The list of problems we had with them was long....

First off, the cargo area of the truck leaked. We drove from Calgary to Vancouver island and obviously there was some rain along the way. When we arrived, our mattress and box spring were soaked (we had to trash them and get a new one), along with some other boxes (luckily most of our stuff was in watertight bins) because the one whole side of the truck leaked. When I complained about this to Shauna in customer service and asked if they would offer any compensation for our damaged goods, she advised me it was our responsibility to insure our belongings. I understand that the company is not responsible for our goods (if they get stolen or we get in an accident, or if something falls and breaks), but this damage was directly due to their truck leaking, and they don't seem to care, I don't even think she reported the fact that the truck leaks so that the company would fix it for the next client. So be careful.

They also wouldn't let us drop the truck off on Vancouver Island, as they said they had too many trucks on the island, so we had to pay for the ferry and drive it all the way back to Vancouver after our move. They are so anal about the gas being full to the brim, that they actually advise you to keep filling after the auto shut off at the gas tank so that you can see the fuel at the base of the neck (this is actually a safety issue...those auto shut offs exist for a reason, to prevent gas spills at the pump and it is irresponsible for the company to be advising people to do that.) I wanted to fuel up as close as I could to the drop off location, so I called the location to find out the closest fuel station that could accommodate our large truck (because the nearest one could not) and they weren't even able to give that info.

The pick up location in Edmonton was very difficult to find and the map the company gave us was not accurate.
There is no one there when you pick up or drop off the truck and the keys are in it and you have to trust that someone completed a proper damage report of the truck before you take it (but they don't leave a copy for you in the truck). When we picked up our truck it was dirty, the key to the cab doors was broken (so we were never able to lock the cab of the truck which was inconvenient when we stopped for the night), and there was a good sized chip in the windshield. The chip was so obvious we were certain it would have been recorded in the inspection and thought nothing of it. (of course we had no copy of the inspection and no human contact so we had no way of knowing). But of course, a week after dropping off the truck, my deposit had not been returned and I had not been contacted by the company. It took me several days and 4 unreturned voice messages until I finally got in touch with someone who advised they were holding my deposit due to the chip in the windshield...turns out it was NOT on the inspection report!! Big surprise!

Needless to say I was frustrated at this point given we had thrown out a perfectly good bed due to their leaking truck, had spent hundreds of dollars getting the truck back over the ferry and they were now trying to hold back my money for a chip in the windshield that THEY failed to report. I told Shauna how useless their pick up/drop off and inspection process is if we don't get to see it at the time of pick up and questioned whether any of the reports (pick up or drop off) mentioned a key broken in half and in the cup holder...she advised they did not. Clearly their inspection is not quite as thorough as they claim. She basically just cut me off and told me she would close the investigation and I would get my deposit back as soon as she realized that I was going to pursue the issue further.

So I did eventually get my deposit back, but the way it was handled was questionable at best. Be very wary of dealing with this company. They don't give a damn about you or your belongings. I have dealt with U-haul several times in the past and my experiences were far superior (the only reason we didn't use U-haul was because we booked too late and they didn't have any trucks available).
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
DO NOT rent with Universal Truck Rental
Posted by Marty_5555 on 04/05/2013
TORONTO -- I tried to rent a truck for Easter weekend 2013. It was a terrible experience. The previous renter did not leave the keys in the truck, as explained in every possible communication with the company. I arrived to pick up my truck at 9 am, and found there were no keys. This is not the company's fault, but no one at the company was working on a Saturday (somehow), so I had to call the emergency line. It took the emergency line over 2 hours to get a hold of someone to come with another set of keys, and by the time I had tracked down a Uhaul van in another city to rent. Because we were basically 3 hours behind schedule, we did not make it to the Goodwill location where we were dropping off our vanful of stuff in time, and had to call my uncle to store it at his place.

The fun really started when I contacted the company, explained what happened, and asked them to credit me a truck for a couple of hours so I could move the stuff I dropped off at my uncle's. They waived the rental fee but still charged me for kilometers and insurance. When I got the bill they had charged me an additional 75 dollars because my dad (who moved the items in the truck, since I had moved to another city)apparently had not refilled the truck (which the manager, whom he talked to when he picked up and dropped off the truck, did not explain to him).

My dad went 22 kilometers, and he says the needle hadn't even moved from when he picked it up and dropped it off. When I called to complain, reminding them that the only reason I had needed the truck the second time was because of the debacle the first time, they refused to waive either the admin fee or the fuel charge.

They were unbelievably unhelpful, and I cannot stress enough to NOT rent from this company. It was by far the worst moving experience and customer service experience I have ever had the displeasure of being a part of. DO NOT RENT FROM HERE.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 04/08/2013:
We at Universal Truck Rental recall this rental vividly. It was really unfortunate that the previous renter did not leave the keys with the vehicle. Universal Truck Rental provides written instruction to every renter on how the self check in - check out program works. Our clients must even sign off that they have read the self check-in instructions. Unfortunately this issue beyond our control. The emergency road side service team did their best, after hours, to get things back on track quickly.

We understand the first rental attempt did not go as planned and have apologized. As the renter acknowledged. UTR offered a replacement truck and waived the daily rental fee to help complete the move as a show of good faith.

Universal Truck Rental has a ZERO tolerance policy on fuel. The client confirmed his family drove the truck 22 km and did not fuel. What did they think the truck engine was running on???

Universal Truck Rental will not under and circumstances compromise the fuel return program/policy. Full means Full. If you rent a truck from Universal Truck Rental or any vehicle rental organization always return the vehicle full of fuel or be prepared to pay.

As this renter commented Please "DO NOT RENT FROM HERE" if you are going to test Universal Truck Rental's fuel return program/policy and expect positive results in your favour.

PS If this client would have returned the truck full of fuel they would of had a better chance getting the entire rental cost (km and insurance) waived. If the renter does not bring the truck back full of fuel and you are going to find very little sympathy, regardless of the contribution factors.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by marty_5555 on 2013-04-13:
This response basically sums up the company's attitude and policy of blaming the customer. Yes, my father, who was not informed of the fuel policy by the employee who spoke to him, was trying to "test" the fuel policy by making off with a whopping 22 kms of fuel for free, for which we were charged 70 dollars. I also wonder who and when they took the picture of the fuel gauge, since it was not my father, who says that the fuel gauge hadn't moved when he brought it back (not surprising, since he only drove 22km).

Anyway, I personally will not be renting from here ever again (taking Steve's own advice to "not rent from here"), but feel free to if you want to add more stress and frustration to your move.
Posted by Alwayannoyedcustomer on 2013-08-29:
I would not argue with him, he is a vile waste of the air we breathe. Kharma sucks and between your experience, and mine.and the countless others I am sure his day will come and I can only hope " upper management " is just as pleasant to deal with as he has been.

Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Universal Truck Rental Has Poor Customer Service
Posted by Linhs_ on 03/26/2013
KITCHENER -- My first impressions of this company were great! I had excellent customer service and felt that I had received a good deal. I was looking for a one way truck from Halifax to Toronto and it seemed like I would be saving a lot of money.

I then received an email saying that I had been "upgraded" to the larger truck for free. I told them that I did not feel comfortable driving a larger vehicle and they told me that I would "have to wait" for them to hear from another customer before telling me if the smaller truck (that I CONFIRMED the reservation for) was still available. It ended up working out that I got the smaller truck.

When I arrived to pick up the rental truck at Maritime Fleet Centre (they use another company's parking lot) in Dartmouth, the staff said I was "lucky" because they are "normally already closed by 4:30pm on Fridays." My scheduled pick up time was 4:30pm. They also informed me that they were not surprised by the fact that Universal Truck Rental company would have made an appointment during closed hours. Needless to say, this was not a good start to what I thought would be a simple/easy process.

The gas tank was not full when I picked the truck up and the driver's cabin was dirty. There was garbage left behind by the last driver. There was a chocolate milk bottle, a muffin wrapper and crumbs everywhere, an empty pop bottle and used napkins. The washer fluid was also completely empty.

The visor on the driver's side of the truck was broken and borderline dangerous. The clip is broken off. It sagged down into the driver's line of sight. This vehicle is not safe for anyone to be driving.

Also, I was charged $60 for "not filling the tank fully". I was then told that there would be an admin fee to see a scanned copy of the receipt showing that they added gas to the tank. Prior to dropping the truck off, I filled the tank to the point where gas spit out at me and onto the side of the truck. They do not do the inspection while you are there-- take a photo of the dash before you leave the truck with them. The mileage on these trucks are horrible. It cost me $600 in gas for 1840 kms.

Lastly, I am very disappointed with the customer service overall. I asked Shauna for a senior manager's name/contact information and was denied because she could " not give out that information." I called the Mississauga office and they provided me with Steve Baty's name and number, no problem or questions asked.

Needless to say, this was a horrible experience. I would pay the extra cash and go with a company that doesn't have an average rating of 1 star... You get what you pay for!

Read Company Response
Company Response on 04/08/2013:
My name is Steve Baty. I am the managing partner with Universal Truck Rental Canada. I have read this clients comments over many times and dealt with this clients feed back initially. I am really sorry but I am not sure what the issue is.

The client was offered a FREE upgrade and turned it down. Therefore, they received the vehicle size requested. So what is the issue?

Universal Truck Rental offers a 24 Hour 7 days a week self check in - check out program. The truck was scheduled for a self service check out at 4:30 Pm. The renter picked up the truck at 4:30 Pm and talked to the day shift as they were getting ready to go home. The truck was parked where it was promised, at the time promised. With the keys in the ignition, as promised. The computerized satellite tracking system engaged the starting system, so the truck would start, as promised. So what is the issue?

Universal Truck Rental's outbound digital inspection record indicated the truck was full of fuel. The fuel gauge is digitally photo recorded between every rental.

What this client failed to mention was they drove the truck home. Once they got home they recorded the fuel gauge with a photo of their own. Well of course the fuel gauge was not full ... they drove the truck and burned fuel.
So what is the issue?

YES the truck cab was dirty. Universal Truck Rental has discussed this issue with our Halifax dealer. They oops and confirmed the truck was not cleaned after the last rental.

The sun visor clip was broken and UTR has a digital photo showing the broken part. The part was ordered and replaced asap. The client drove from Halifax to Mississauga, so I am not sure how this would rank as a safety item. The client obviously felt comfortable enough driving the vehicle 2300+ km. So what is the issue?

This client received a copy of the inbound digital inspection photo indicating the truck was not returned full of fuel including a copy of the fuel receipt. FULL means Full and the client signed off and accepted the fuel return program.

They were informed up front they would be charged if the truck was dropped off requiring fuel.
So what is the issue? Return the truck full of fuel or pay the fees, no exceptions. UTR provides a web based video to assist our clients with the minimum fuel return expectations.

Yes cube vans have a gas engine and use a lot of fuel. They will get approximately 8 MPG moving 4000 lbs of payload and or 840 cubic feet. This is the best the industry manufactures ... So what is the issue?

Unfortunately this client had a bad rental experience. I suspect the bad rental experience may have been slightly exaggerated because this client asked for compensation over and over including free top off fuel.

They indicated they would pay extra for "a better experience"....so why did they not just pay the extra and top up the fuel tank? Problem solved.

Universal Truck Rental has very clear guidelines on compensation spelt out on their web site. None of these client's issues met the minimum compensation criteria.

As per the fuel incident. The client confirmed they received the inbound dash board inspection photo showing the fuel gauge did not read full... Full means Full. If the truck is returned requiring fuel, regardless of the factors. Please be prepared to pay the admin fee and cost of fuel or PLEASE bring the truck back FULL OF FUEL.

Universal Truck Rental takes client comments very seriously and offers a process for customer feed back. Unfortunately this client wanted to by pass clients services to communicate directly with senior management to ask for compensation, with disappointing results.

To recap;

The client picked the truck up as promised, where promised, moved their house hold furniture from Halifax to Ontario as promised then dropped the truck off at the location provided, as promised.

So what is the real issue?

A few items accidently left in the cab of the truck from a previous renter and the top off fuel?

This client had high expectations for compensation. Unfortunately Universal Truck Rental does not participate in a complaint for compensation program.

We welcome all client comments and feedback. UTR has the highest satisfaction level in the One Way Truck Rental business in Canada. Regretfully we disappoint a very small few ... very rarely.

Sincerely Steve Baty
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by D on 2013-06-30:
Whoa, the managing partner's snide answers to every single negative review are telling. This company sounds like one to avoid.
Posted by Jay on 2013-07-29:
Yup, avoid at all cost! We had a worse experience with them...
Close commentsAdd reply

Will never rent from them again.
Posted by C.w on 09/14/2011
CANADA -- We rented a moving truck from Universal in March to move some things to BC. We showed up at 9 am when we were told the truck would be waiting for us. it wasn't there. no one was around and no one answered any of the phone numbers we had. The truck finally showed up - late. The guy jumped out, said he just drove from Calgary to get it to us "on time" and then handed over the keys. Inside, the cab was covered in dog food. We had to clean it out just to be able to drive it. Even though we returned it far cleaner than the condition we received it, we were charged a cleaning fee.

We moved the things we needed to, and then had to return the truck the evening before it was due to be returned. The place we were told to return it to had open drug deals occurring in the parking lot we were to return the truck to - and, according to the instructions, we had to leave this truck there with the keys in it! There was no room in the parking lot to actually get the truck in there anyway (it was full of drug dealers and users), so the truck was parked on the street. We called the next day to make sure everything was OK and there were no issues with the return of the truck. We were told everything was fine. A week later, we received an email saying they couldn't find the keys. Even though they already told us everything was fine with the return of the truck. For the week they didn't contact us after we returned the truck, they charged us for the parking tickets!

I would never recommend this company to anyone. The service is horrible. They are difficult to get a hold of, and when you do manage to speak with someone, they're rude and have no desire to listen to what you're saying. They will do anything to charge more on your credit card.

Read Company Response
Company Response on 10/14/2011:
Hi I am the Managing partner with Universal Truck Rental and I do recall this rental. When returning a truck the renter is responsible to park the truck in the receiving dealers yard, turn off the motor and leave the keys in the ignition. Universal Truck Rental vehicles are GPS tracked and central dispatch will disable the engine by satellite so the truck can not be stolen. Unfortunately this client parked the truck on the street and received parking tickets. We tried to move the truck into the yard however the keys were not in the ignition. On day 2 the receiving dealer found the keys hidden in the truck. There was no need to hide the keys. I share in the renters frustration but their driver parked the truck on the street and "got" parking tickets. So who should pay for the parking tickets???

Parking tickets are not cover by any car or truck rental agreement.

If the renter noticed illegal activities, like drug dealing and using, they should have called the police not the truck rental company.

I am concerned this client did not feel they were dealt with properly. However I can only assume it was because they wanted something for free and the rental company was not prepared to pay for their "parking tickets". Not all clients can be satified.

If you see illegal activity, please report it...to the police.

Sincerely Steve Baty
     
Add reply

Top of Page | Next Page >