Preview Review

Next Review

United States Postal Service Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lost Package, Rude People
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KATY, TEXAS -- My bank account was hacked 1 week ago. My new debit card was mailed to me 2-day priority mail envelope on 10/9/2015. Scheduled delivery of no later than 10/13/2015. On 10/13/2015 it was pushed back to 10/14/2015. On 10/14/2015 tracking said "out for delivery" at 9:06 am. I waited all day for my lifeline to my bank account to come in and nothing. As of 11:06 pm 10/14/2015 it was still "out for delivery".

On the morning of 10/15/2015 I called both local post offices with no answer, 10 time each. I went to the office and waited in line for 35 minutes for them to tell me that the package was not there and that the carrier assigned to my address did not have it either. Why have tracking numbers at all?! I then returned home, extremely upset, and the mail person was there. He was extremely rude saying that it was not his problem it was lost and telling me I was lying that it was out for delivery at 9:06 am because they did not leave the building that early.

I proceeded to pull up the tracking on my phone and show him in which he gave me his supervisor's number. I called the supervisor and before I could get two words out he informed me that the number I was given was his personal cell and he would not talk to me over that number. I said I need another number to call then and he said "I won't be at the post office for an hour. Call the number online then" and hung up! I WILL NEVER USE USPS AGAIN. Without this new card I cannot access my accounts. They are screwing with people's lives and don't even care. I asked why even offer 2-day priority mail if it won't be delivered by then?!

Replies
Advertisement
Issues With 2 of 2 Packages
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- Ordered a number of items from Amazon. Most of them shipped UPS. The two that were shipped USPS had problems. Those were the two I KNEW were going to have problems. Isn't it funny how one just knows... The first one, which was a bike light and somewhat fragile, was packed in a beige bubble envelope. It arrived looking like it had been through a wood chipper, open and torn in several places with black streaks all over it. Somehow and I'll never figure out how, the light survived. I should have taken a photo. It was somewhat unbelievable, the damage.

The second package which has yet to arrive, was ordered on 9/22/2015 and shipped on 9/23/2015. Addressed to me in Pittsburgh, PA it was sent from the Lehigh Valley area, PA (about 282 miles due east of Pgh) to Syracuse, NY. Due north of Allentown/Lehigh Valley area. The first, "Eh?!". The "Wuh?!" comes when the package is received and then re sent (within the same day, kudos on that) from Syracuse, NY, but then disappears COMPLETELY off radar for SEVEN DAYS!! I'm assuming the truck driver took a few days R & R en route, somewhere between NY and PA (most likely NY's southern tier around Chautauqua Lake area which is a nice vacation region).

Why the Package left PA to begin with is beyond me. Finally, it reappears in Warrendale, PA at 6:40am yesterday morning, 10/1/2015. Warrendale is 22 miles north of Pgh. Just 22 miles. That's all. It's STILL not here today, 10/2/2015. This where the "What the H**L?!!" comes in. That's ten days since I placed the order. Nine days to travel 282 miles. If I would have known this in the beginning, I would have biked to Allentown and picked up the bike part myself. I would have been there and back six days ago.

Replies
Very Supportive!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

VISTA, CALIFORNIA -- I called the Post Office because a package had not been delivered, after tracking it, the information I received was that the package had not been delivered because of a wrong address, I called and spoke to an employee by the name of Julie, she was able to find the package and promised to have it delivered ASAP, the package I sent was for a senior citizen friend of mine whose birthdays too was today and it was important as she lived alone!...

One hour later I received a phone call from my friend to say that package had been delivered!... Julie went above and beyond in my opinion and deserves to be recognized for the excellent manner in which she conducted herself!... Many thanks Julie!

Replies
Lost Box for a Month Through USPS, Horrible CS Experience Too!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WATAUGA, TEXAS -- Sent 2 boxes to the same exact address in Puerto Rico from the Watauga USPS office in December 2015. 1 of the boxes made it to its destiny but the second got lost. I ended up submitting a claim which they never responded after 2 attempts, several calls to the Consumer Affairs office in Fort Worth, TX that they never responded, and long hours waiting for an agent on the phone. In case you have never contacted USPS 800 #, their average hold time is 1 hour.

31 days later after I got the box back to my house with a sticker saying that the box was undeliverable/person unknown, really? BUNCH OF LIARS!! How come the first box, which went to the same address made it fine?! I took the box back to the Watauga location to see what they had to say about the incident… and you would have thought they would accept they messed up and offered a solution for the inconvenience they caused.

"I‘ve worked in customer service for years, and the least I would had offer to an upset customer is a free overnight and a big apology…" right? Well no, instead the lady, who was in charge of the office said she could resend the box through the same cheap service… really? How in the world you think I am going to give my box back to the same guys who lost my box??! Like they say “You get what you pay for.” I thank God for FedEx and UPS, my new package delivery companies!

Replies
Advertisement
Lazy and Rude Mail Delivery Person
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA -- I had a package delivered from Amazon through USPS yesterday. It took me just about a minute to get to the door when someone rang my apartment's doorbell. When I opened the door, I saw the mail person already down the stairs (7-8 steps) from our landing. She turned to my direction and said, "I'm not going back there!" Immediately, she put the down package on the side of the lawn and minded her own business putting mail in mailboxes for the other tenants. I didn't mind going down there to get the package myself. But for her to say what she said, it's rude!
It also says a lot about what kind of worker she is.

Replies
I had to yell "I have a compliant" just to talk to a human
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MESA, ARIZONA -- I usually use UPS, but the person I bought this dress from used USPS. The package is literally down the street from me at the PO, but apparently, it is undeliverable as addressed. It has literally shipped across the country, and they suddenly lost the address?! **. I checked the address I gave to the seller and it was correct. I have no clue why it's not working.

I'm on hold for customer service as I am typing this. And with the customer service, it is nearly impossible to talk to a human. I literally yelled "I have a complaint" and I got sent straight to customer service, only to be on hold for like the past 2 hours. 22 to 45 minutes my ass. USPS is a terrible and unreliable service with horrible ways of dealing with customer service.

Replies
Don't Use
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Ordered an item on eBay (espresso tamper). It's been over two weeks. Still don't have it, been at the process facility in New York going on 6 days... I didn't choose to have it shipped USPS, and I'll tell you what after this experience, I will NEVER use USPS again if it's within my ability practically speaking... I tried to call and inquire to determine what was going on and was on hold for over 20 minutes and finally had to hang up because I didn't have time to hang around any longer.

This is supposed to be a branch of our federal government? Our tax dollars are paying for these services? How very unprofessional, shows just how far as a country we've fallen, just like ancient Rome, nothing but lies and corruption everywhere... As the saying goes "You reap what you sow." Spread the word about how horrible USPS and don't give them another dime!

Replies
Missing Mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- For several weeks, my volume of mail had declined significantly. I normally receive a number of magazines some are weekly and others are monthly. In the last several weeks, I have not received any magazines and am missing several weekly ones plus a few monthly versions. I am also starting to miss first class mail such as bills. The Torrance post office cannot be contacted, phone off the hook. The main USPS site is non- responsive, its a voicemail hell of infinite hold times. Since I have to make trips to the bookstore to buy magazines every week now I might as well cancel all of my subscriptions.

Replies
Advertisement
Misleading
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

UNITED STATES -- I sent my elderly father-in-law a package that needed his signature twice, once return receipt and the other was restricted delivery. The restricted delivery was selected b/c it supposedly can only be signed for by the addressee or another with written permission. Signatures are supposed to be legible. "Manager" at location was allowed to sign, without being required to show written permission to accept. Am unsure if the 2 required signatures match each other. Postmaster in Plano gives various explanations. Getting runaround from postal inspection. Customer service kind, but ineffective.

Package was mailed in late June. Still can't get verification that intended recipient got it. Filed insurance claim. Will be interesting to see how they get out of paying that.

Replies
Terrible USPS priority mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESTMONT, ILLINOIS -- I had an oversize package need to be sent out of Illinois. I went to the USPS website and was happy to find that the online price of priority package is cheaper than the regular price. So I printed out everything and brought to the local office (Westmont, IL). I was told there that my price was not correct and was charged the difference between the online and regular prices. I called the USPS customer service and was confirmed my price was correct. BUT the customer service said I have to call the local office to get refund. Then I did, the manager was careless and rude. First he said if I get the price online, I should ask for a pick-up. If I brought it to local office, I should pay the price got from an office terminal. What a terrible excuse it is! Later he said since my package has been delivered, he cannot see it to confirm its weight, size, so he would not refund me! This is the worst customer service I have met, next time I will try FedEx or UPS!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United States Postal Service Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
114 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United States Postal Service
475 L'Efant Plaza
South West Washington, DC 20260-0010
202-268-2500 (ph)
202-268-4860 (fax)
www.usps.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Delivery Services