United States Postal Service Priority Mail

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
United States Postal Service
475 L'Efant Plaza
South West Washington, DC 20260-0010
202-268-2500 (ph)
202-268-4860 (fax)
Compare Delivery Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
USPS 2-3 Day Priority Mail
By -

I ordered an item on Friday, July 16, 2010. The only shipping option was USPS Priority Mail. I even offered to pay for Federal Express shipping, but the vendor only uses USPS Priority Mail. I knew I would be in for trouble, but hoped for the best. As of today, no package. I just spoke to a USPS customer representative, who was apologetic, and I thanked her. They now tell me it is only an estimation of delivery, but it could actually take up to, two full weeks for USPS Priority Mail delivery. I asked her, then why do they call it Priority?? She did not have an answer, and I do not blame her. She does not own USPS, nor does she make the rules.

I am only in Colorado. The package was shipped from Chicago. Apparently my package left Chicago on July 17th, at 1:59AM. After that, no tracking information until today, which now shows, package left Chicago, on July 21st, at 1:59AM. Basically, it's the waiting game now; Processed through Sort Facility, July 21, 2010, 1:59 am, CHICAGO, IL 60701; Processed through Sort Facility, July 17, 2010, 1:59 am, CHICAGO, IL 60701; Electronic Shipping Info Received, July 16, 2010.

The package was physically shipped out on July 16th, yet now it's on a mystery journey somewhere, most likely touring Chicago. I wonder how USPS actually is able to have mail delivered out of the United States, after all, they seem to have plenty of trouble just delivering inside our country. I understand they are delivering millions of packages a day, as well as the regular mail, flyers, magazines, etc., but it seems every time I have something shipped United States Priority Mail, there is a problem. This isn't the first problem, and unfortunately, it will not be the last.

USPS Nightmares
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I spend about 6 months in Florida and 6 months in Massachusetts each year. I've always had problems getting packages from FL to MA; they usually disappear in Jacksonville. This time it actually made it to NJ before it was sucked into the void. It's been 7 days since it was sent "priority", 5 days since it supposedly left NJ. I could've walked to NJ and back by now.

I called the 800 number to initiate a search and the CSR dyslexic'd my P.O. box number. The receiving P.O. called me and filled me in on that but do ya think she would/could correct the mistake??? What really chaps my a** about this incident is that my friend was intending to send it express and the CSR at the P.O. talked her out of it and told her express is a waste. I have tried and tried to tell people to never never never send anything slightly important by any other way than express.

"Track and Confirm" is so incredibly misleading that the USPS should be forced to drop the "track" part. Bottom line - do NOT send anything even slightly important or time sensitive through the USPS. If you have no alternative, use express mail only and DO NOT let any CSR talk you out of using express. I am hoping against hope that this package appears by tomorrow but I really think it's gone to the place socks disappear to, never to be seen again. Will update if it is delivered.

Update: My package arrived at 2 pm after 7 days, the last 5 days floating around Vermont because somewhere along the way the zip code was "keyed in wrong." mmm hmm... It was crushed pretty bad but, due to decent packing, the contents were OK. My son sent me an express envelope from the same location yesterday at 3 pm. It arrived by 10 a.m. today, 4 hours before the lost package. Lesson learned...

They Always Let Me Down, 2-3 Priority Mail
By -

COLORADO -- I ordered a watch for my sister on September 15, 2010. The best shipping method they offered was USPS 2-3 day Priority Mail. Now of course I know this is NOT the best shipping method, but I chose it so I could follow the feeble tracking information and have a delivery confirmation. Not really expecting to have it in less than 2 weeks, which is what I was told last time, priority mail can take up to. So much for the priority part.

This is what has me aggravated. It was missent somewhere along the way, and when I called USPS, the automation voice told me they cannot give me any tracking information, I MUST call my local post office. I called my local post office, and they also could not give me any information.

Here is my tracking information: Processed through Sort Facility, September 19, 2010, 11:37 pm, DENVER, CO 80217; Missent, September 18, 2010, 5:53 am; Processed through Sort Facility, September 16, 2010, 10:34 pm, DENVER, CO 80217; Electronic Shipping Info Received, September 16, 2010; Processed through Sort Facility, September 15, 2010, 7:44 pm, CINCINNATI, OH 45235. Apparently it was missent to where, who knows, on September 18, 2010. Wherever it is, I hope to see it before Christmas!

Delivery of Priority Mail Is NOT a Priority of the USPS
By -

Last December (2009) I was caring for my parents who were both recovering from major operations. I had been mailing via Priority Mail through the USPS, keepsakes and other personal items from my childhood and teenage years back to my home in Georgia. When each package arrived my wife questioned the manner in which I had packaged each box before mailing. She would then inform me that upon arrival each package would be damaged, and beat up with the contents spilling out from damaged seams.

On the last day of my trip I went against my better judgment, and again utilized the United States Postal Service to ship my package, this time I insured my package for $200 and again shipped it priority mail. The box contained a gift from a friend that I hadn't seen since high school, and several VHS home videos of relatives and friends who are no longer living.

To summarize the story my 'Priority Package' that I insured weighed 5 pounds when I sent it, and when it arrived a week later the box had been split on one side and re-taped, the irreplaceable contents were GONE. What was left in its place was a broken cable modem, and pile of papers from someone's class notes from school. I filed a complaint, and after further investigation I learned that Atlanta is the USPS national location to send all 'Lost' items.

Learned that all unclaimed and lost items are auctioned off to the highest bidder at a warehouse on the other side of the city. I made a visit to this warehouse in hopes of finding my belongings. I spoke with one of the employees who will remain nameless.

She told me, "If I sent something through the mail and the contents such as my home movie had no return name or address then it is thrown into the garbage." I asked if there was a way to look for my property or person to speak with about getting permission to search through the lost and found items, and was told NO, the USPS doesn't allow citizens to search for their lost items. The woman apologized for my loss.

I sat through the auction for just a few minutes because that's all that I could stomach, I just couldn't bear the thought of knowing that my families irreplaceable home videos are gone forever. To make matters worse the only money that has been forwarded to me was for the cost to send the package and the cost of the insurance. The USPS claims department has said, that since I don't have a receipt(s) for the VHS video's and other personal items they 'will not' reimburse me for my loss.

That was the day I vowed to my wife, "That whenever I have to mail another envelope I will pay the additional cost and send my mail via United Parcel Service, or Federal Express. The United States Postal Service deserves to go bankrupt because of their incompetence.

Late Delivery or None Delivery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANAHEIM, CA, CALIFORNIA -- Three week ago, I sent a certified mail to Birmingham, Alabama. It took 2 weeks of back and forth tracking before it was finally delivered. The package was sent back to Anaheim after shipping to Alabama, back and forth. Then on the 31st July, I sent a priority mail that was supposed to arrive Alabama and be delivered on 8/2/13, according to USPS receipts. They said the mail was sent to Florida where it remained for 3 days.

Upon much calling and fussing, they finally sent it to Birmingham sorting facility where it remains till today because nobody from the USPS can still tell me the whereabouts of this mail, today is Sat. 8/10/13, and I have been calling the Anaheim main post office yet same runaround. I am very frustrated. If the FEDs can no longer manage the post office, they should hand it over to private companies since they cannot recruit competent people to run it. As at this time of writing, I have not received any call back for the complain I filed even when they promised a return call within 24 hour. I will update if anything changes.

As Usual, USPS Has Once AGAIN Lost My Package
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I get it. Priority USPS service does not guarantee 2 to 3 business day delivery. I know according to USPS, it can take up to two weeks. My issue is, again, they lost my package. Seriously, if it was great service all the time, an occasional error I could live with, but with USPS, the only consistent thing about them is, they lose my package.

I don't live in a rural area. I have a mailbox. I do not understand why they always always always lose my packages. Right before I left work, I checked my package, and it was out for delivery. I get home, no package in my mailbox. I check my package online, and the dreaded "missent" message now appears. So I call USPS customer service, and after yelling into the phone, "no I don't need a zip code, I need a customer service representative", the automated machine cooperated, and connected me with a living live person. But alas, she was not helpful, and sounded bored that I interrupted her afternoon siesta.

I chose USPS Priority, because the shipper only offered that, as the next option, after regular USPS mail. I wanted the delivery confirmation option. Lot of good it did me, other than give me agida. I told the customer service representative, I get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach when the only shipping option offered is USPS. She said they're working on getting my package to me. Well hopefully, I will receive it in May, hopefully. I do not have any faith in the USPS, and they don't care. I guess this will teach me! Must be the snow storm we're having today, that caused my package to misdirect itself!

Priority Mail - For Those Who Don't Care If It Ever Arrives
By -

I needed to mail concert tickets from Ohio to West Virginia to a business associate. The concert was scheduled for 04/22/10. On 4/15/10 I went to the local post office, told them I had concert tickets, and asked what the best mailing option was in terms of ensuring the tickets would arrive before 4/22/10. The clerk said, "Just send them Priority Mail. That only takes 2-3 days for delivery." If you are worried, just get a tracking #." Sounded good so that is what I paid for. Big mistake!

On the evening of 4/21/10, the business associate called and said the tickets had failed to arrive. I checked the tracking via the USPS website and it showed the tickets were last seen in Missouri on 4/17/10. I called the national USPS customer service number the next morning and the representative was not only worthless but rude. She said, "Well, we don't guarantee anything."

My associate actually contacted the Missouri PO on 04/22/10 where the tickets were last seen and reached a supervisor who said, "Yeah, I know where they are. I'm looking right at them. They are here sitting on top of a box here. They were misrouted and they've been sitting here since the 17th." To make a long story short, the tickets still are in Missouri (it is now the evening of the 22nd, 8 days after I mailed them and there is no telling when the tickets will actually arrive at their destination; regardless, they will arrive far beyond the concert date).

My point is this: In terms of business ethics, the USPS should be required to post information concerning what consumers can expect in terms of Priority Mail. For instance, it should state, "There is no guarantee that Priority Mail will arrive in 2-3 days or will even arrive at all. 1 out of 4 items sent via Priority Mail is delivered 4 days or greater after mailing or is never actually delivered. If you are mailing an item that absolutely needs to arrive at a destination in less than 4 days, do not use Priority Mail."

Priority?- Twice Longer Than Ground Shipping but Twice More Expensive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- I can not believe USPS can get away with false claims like Priority 2-3 day shipping ! I always used UPS ground to ship from OH to NC, always 2 delivered in 2 days. Needed to ship small box, used USPS Priority, 2 day shipping. Well, it's been 4 days, not there yet! This is such a scam, I could have shipped first class as package was 3 ounces, but I paid 3 times more and it is arriving twice later. Well, they get away with having fine print - DELIVERY TIME IS NOT GUARANTEED. That is for sure, I concur- not guaranteed and not even close to promised 2 days they list on the shipping label I purchased. What a scam! Never again, will stick with UPS.

United States Postal Service - Priority Mail
By -

Here I go again, having to deal with the USPS. They misrouted my package. Believe me, they aren't my first shipping choice, but that's who the shipper uses, so I had no other choice.

I placed an order, Monday morning. The shipper sent me an email, with the USPS label/receipt number. I also requested the delivery confirmation option, to show my item was delivered and there wouldn't be any hassles later. My item was being sent priority mail. My item was shipped from Kentucky, on Monday, November 16, 2009. Well wouldn't ya know it. My order was sent, by USPS to Santa Clarita, California. It has been there since Tuesday, November 17th. I contacted the shipper and they told me if I do not receive it by Monday, they will reship. That's a good thing, but I really wanted my item today.

I then called USPS, and after dealing with the insane automated system, got a live person, yes a live person, who then gave me the wrong information, telling me, my package was shipped from California on Monday. I then promptly told her, no, my package was shipped from Kentucky, my address is in Colorado, and she was like, "oops, I was looking at the wrong screen." Yea, ha ha, so funny. She finally confirmed what I knew, that my package had been misrouted, and hopefully it would arrive in Colorado by tonight, or tomorrow. Still doesn't do me any good.

Yes, I know mistakes happen, but it seems anytime I have used USPS Priority Mail, they have constantly run into problems with my packages. I also understand their, "tracking" system, isn't like UPS or FEDEX, and not real time, but just a small way of showing your package status. I'm done using them. If I need to order anything, and the only shipping option is USPS, then my order will never be placed. I hope my package is enjoying it's misrouted time, in Santa Clarita.

Resolution Update 11/21/2009:

My package finally showed up today, November 21st, at 10:30 AM.

The Post Office Just Won't Deliver to Apartments
By -

I have been told point blank that the Post Office does not deliver directly to apartments - only to mailboxes. If your item does not fit in the mail box, you have to pick it up at the post office. I do not own a car and would have to take off work to pick up mail which is addressed to my apartment, not a mail box. When I complained I was treated with hostility and for a while even stopped receiving mail. Sometimes they shove items in the mailbox that don't fit, often damaging or even breaking items so they can fit them in the mail box. Twice now an oversized item has blocked the lock so I can't open the box and have to get the lock popped and replaced.

As far as I am concerned, the post office can go out of business - that way vendors will have to use UPS. I do not mind paying more in order to receive my items undamaged and at my home address. It appears the post office will only deliver to people affluent enough to own a home. Apartment dwellers appear not to be entitled to postal service. My only option appears to be not to order items online if they are to be delivered by the postal service.

Top of Page | Next Page >