United States Postal Service - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
99 reviews & complaints.
www.usps.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The USPS refuses to accept a complaint
Posted by on
22 years ago, I tried to complain about a USPS employee. 22 years later, I am still trying.
I do not mean the USPS did not agree with me, as in I accused a letter carrier of stealing checks from my mail and the USPS said they found no evidence of it, I mean, there is no way to complain. No one will accept the complaint.
The employee works for Operations Support, the USPS will not discuss Operations Support with me, but my own investigation suggests they are an internal department, and should not be contacting the public. This alone should be a red flag.
It all started when I asked the postmaster for the name and address of a business using a PO box that did not send me items I had paid for. The postmaster referred my letter to the Postal Inspectors for the area of the PO box. Next I get a letter from someone using a Regional Chief Postal Inspector letterhead stating she would contact the company for me, but could not get a refund. She signed it "Supervisor, Operations Support".
I think any normal human being would respond to a request for a PO box holders name and address in one of three ways, 1. release it. 2. refuse to release and explain why. and 3. refuse to release, explain and tell what I would need to do to get it released, such as sue.
She refused to respond to repeated requests to explain why she would not release the information, or turn the matter over to her supervisor.
I complained to the Regional Chief Inspector on the letterhead, 21 years ago and I am still waiting for him to respond.
The Chief Postal Inspector refused to speak to me for five years. He still, 17 years later, refuses to accept a complaint against the supervisor, instead insisting I find the owner of the company I dealt with. The Chief Postal Inspector interviewed the owner of the company many years after I first complained and told me the company was sold to an unknown man, and I should look for him.
The Postmaster General refuses to speak to me.
The Postal Board of Governors went into hiding after I contracted them, I can not find any information on them any more.
My local Postal Inspectors released the form the PO box holder filed, it appears to be a fake form.
I have recently complained to the USPS website, only to be referred to either my local postmaster, I do not think he is going to hop into his car and drive two thousand miles to investigate a Regional Chief Inspector that out ranks him and whose position, along with every one else I dealt with, was eliminated after I dealt with them.
or to some nut who claimed he could not help me because it has been 22 years. I explained the USPS waited 22 years, not me. The USPS is responsible for the actions of their employees, their employees refused to investigate for 22 years, so now he has to investigate it.
He admitted if my mail carrier buried my mail in his back yard 22 years ago, the USPS would dig up the mail and deliver it, but he refused to explain why that was different from my complaint.
The USPS refused to admit the employee in Operations Support even existed, until after she had retired.
Apparently, USPS employees have it in the union contract that they can not be investigated for crimes after they retire. No one one will explain what being retired has to do with it.

All I want to do is complain about the supervisor of Operations Support, I believe she set up a phony mail order company and impersonated a Postal Inspector, If they tell me she did her job according to policy, then all I want to do is complain about that policy. If I can not have a PO box holders name and address, just say so.
The only reason why I can think of that this would take 22 years is, they know I am right, but it is easier to cover it up, then admit some janitor was able to walk into a Regional Chief Inspectors office and steal his letterhead, then set up and operate a phony mail order company.
The USPS should have a way to complain, a form to fill out, a supervisor to talk to.
I have all of the letters documenting this posted on line, if any of the " oh no, the USPS would never do that " crowd, would like to see them.
The what is "Operation Support " crowd, is also welcomed to read the letters .
     
Read 53 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
I have to admit I didn't read the whole review. I stopped when I saw it happen 22 years ago!!! The first thing I thought of was the review about the 1977 Ford F150.
OP, let it go. Move on with life.
WScott on 08/21/2009:
1. "All I want to do is complain..." Seems like you've done that.

2. All other considerations aside, what about the Statue of Limitations???
PepperElf on 08/21/2009:
wow. a 22 year grudge

I don't know many people - I mean healthy people - who hold on to anger that long
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:

MaggieMcT on 08/21/2009:
OP, I say this with NO sarcasm, and NO interest in putting you down, but seriously -- you really need to talk to a professional therapist. Holding on to this for 22 years is affecting your health; not just mentally, but physically. Really, please, get some help.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
I have to believe the OP is on some sort of Federal watch list.
DebtorBasher on 08/21/2009:
YFrank...if the same company is still using that PO Box, send me the name and PO box address through Email or IM (You'll find the email and IM link on my profile page) and I will get you the information you're requesting.
SLR+ on 08/21/2009:
Please, please tell me that the company in question stole millions of dollars and your first born child! Otherwise, you seriously need to move on. You've wasted way too much of your life on this. It's so sad that you've spent so much of your time, energy and emotions being upset with the postal office because they could not provide you with the information you wanted.

By the emotion you poured into your post I can positively say that you bring this up to everyone you meet and all your old friends sigh and roll their eyes every time you start talking about it. It's okay to let it go.

Don't be the person that when you pass away, people at your wake say "At least now I won't have to listen to the story about how ABC company stole from him and how the post office prevented him from getting his money back for the last 22+ years."
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
This is a joke.... it has to be, no one is really this insipid...except maybe Tabitha Eileen.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
Ken, you really miss those gals, don't you?
DigitalCommando on 08/21/2009:
"The Postmaster General refuses to speak to me."
Have you tried sign language?
MaggieMcT on 08/21/2009:
And the Board of Governors didn't exactly go into hiding:
http://www.usps.com/communications/newsroom/bog.htm
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
I find it admirable that someone would pursue something for this long. As for me, life is just too short. After even 5 years (or less), I would have long given up and forgotten about it. So, I applaude yfrank for his perserverance.
BokiBean on 08/21/2009:
YFrank, take Debtor up on her offer..she's a professional skip tracer, and that's a generous extended hand offer that you should consider.

Nice DB!

Ken, I can't believe you said "insipid". This guy is anything but..he's dogged, determined, maybe fiercely stubbon, some might even say obsessed, but not insipid.
andbran on 08/21/2009:
I thought my mother in law could hold a grudge. you should have let it go and gone on with your life
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
Anger? If it was anger I would be sending death threats, I am just moving through the system at the pace set by the USPS. As just one example, it takes five years for the Chief Postal Inspector to respond to a complaint, whether I need therapy or not, that amount of time does not change.
Again, my complaint is not about the USPS disagreeing with me, It is about them ignoring me. Every few years they refer me to someone else, send another form, then I have to wait a few more years. This started 22 years ago, but my last contact with the USPS was last month. Again, I did not wait 22 years, this is just how long the process takes.
as for a statute of limitations, I am not a lawyer, but I am certain that expired on the criminal complaint of setting up the phony PO box 17 years ago, that was the day they mentioned the name of the the employee I was complaining about. They said they could not investigate her because she had retired, five years after I notified the USPS of my problem. I am certain they intentionally denied her exsistance to protect her, and the USPS.
As for a statute of limitations on a complaint, there is none. For all I know, Operations Support is still allowed to set up phony PO boxes. As far as I can tell, they report to no one, they have no supervision.
If someone sent you an ad for child porn in the mail, if you were able to identify the person who sent it, wouldn't you report it? If it took 30 minutes on hold to report it, or 30 days before they got back to or even 30 months, would you just give up? it takes as long as it takes, I have no control over the USPS.
As for finding the owner of the company, losing money to him was my fault, not the USPS, assuming the company existed. I believe the company was made up by the USPS.
If you think I am making this up, I will send you the link to the letter I have posted.
as for the Postal Board of Governors, I have not been able to find any trace of them in years, all of this information used to be posted on line, this was how I was able to contact the Postmaster General and the Chief Postal Inspector. I will check that link.
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
"If you think I am making this up, I will send you the link to the letter I have posted"

should read ,
"If you think I am making this up, I will send you the link to the LETTERS I have posted. "

there is a lot of correspondence between me and the USPS, not just one letter.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
I do, MM, I really do


Wait! Did we just get married?
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
Yes, and no.
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
Do you know why the USPS isn't dealing with you? Because they think your nuts, and are hoping you will go away. Postmaster can't give out other peoples address due to privacy law. Please, please move on and live a happy life this just isn't worth your time and energy!
PepperElf on 08/21/2009:
"If you think I am making this up, I will send you the link to the LETTERS I have posted. "

this is just giving fuel to the "therapy" fires.
jktshff1 on 08/21/2009:
Couple of simple questions. 1. How many $$ are we talking about? 2. How did you pay for something, not knowing the address or name of a business? 3. Apparently you have the box number. Why did you not send a letter to the box number explaining the situation?
Other than that, I think you are beating a dead cat.
PepperElf on 08/21/2009:
poor kitty.
andbran on 08/21/2009:
if I got child p*** in the mail I would actually give it to the police. they would have more success than I would.
jktshff1 on 08/21/2009:
OK, story changed, read your last reply. Are you saying you received porn or are you using that as an example? If you did receive child porn, the police would be the first one to contact, what was it you ordered?
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
*black helicopters, the Unibomber and and the entire psych ward at Bellview Hospital are awestruck at this Postal employee*
Ben There on 08/21/2009:
What type of company did you wrong 22 years ago that started this whole mess? You seem to be implying a conspiracy against you so I want to know what was in the package you never got.
bargod on 08/21/2009:
yfrank, If it make you feel any better I was the one who tee peed your house 15yrs ago.
PepperElf on 08/21/2009:
Is that way someone covered it with TP the next day? to absorb the urine ? :)
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
chex_mix -

""The Postal Board of Governors went into hiding after I contracted them."

I'd go into hiding too, if you contracted me.:"

should read "contacted". I never claimed I could proofread.
DebtorBasher on 08/21/2009:
YFrank...did you read my offer to you?
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
Eloise - if they can not give out the information, then the proper response is" we can not give out that information" .
also it is not true, which is why they did not say it.
they did release the form the PO Box holder filled out.A year later. It arrived without a return address.
At about the same time, my local Postal Inspectors released the same form .
The USPS will not even confirm or deny if they release the form PO box holders fill out or not.
Now, why do you suppose no one will just read a written policy to me?
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
Because they think that nothing can placate a person who sees a conspiracy when there isn't one. Your wasting too much time on a no win situation! Give it up!
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
jktshff1 -

"Couple of simple questions. 1. How many $$ are we talking about? "
I forget, I would have to look it up, I believe it was $150.00. but that money is gone due to no fault of the USPS. All I ever wanted from the USPS was the name of the owner of the company so I could get my money back.

"2. How did you pay for something, not knowing the address or name of a business? "
I had the name and address, it was a PO box. Which was why I wanted the name of the person who rented the box.

"3. Apparently you have the box number. Why did you not send a letter to the box number explaining the situation?".

of course I did, no response. I called their phone number and the guy who answered said he was not that guy and he was just given this number as a new number from the phone company.
The USPS contacted the owner repeatedly. then when I asked for the new address they were using, they claimed he did not leave a forwarding address when he closed the PO box.
five years after this, the Chief Postal Inspector found the guy and told me he sold the business to an unknown man( wore a mask to the closing, I guess) and I would have to locate the unknown man.
The Chief Postal Inspector refused to say how an unknown man was going to help me with a complaint against the USPS.

yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
jktshff1 -

"OK, story changed, read your last reply. Are you saying you received porn or are you using that as an example? If you did receive child porn, the police would be the first one to contact, what was it you ordered?"

child porn was an example. The point being, if you knew a crime was committed, wouldn't you take as long as it takes to report it? even if it had to be reported to the police, still, it takes as long as it takes.
I believe a USPS employee impersonated a Postal Inspector and set up a phony business in a PO box. complaints against the company were handled by her. Meaning, the USPS would never receive a complaint.
I wish there was an easy way to report it, but there is not. So far, it has taken me 22 years.
You would think, if I was wrong, 22 years ago they would have said" yes, she is a Postal Inspector, we found no evidence of her being connected with the PO box holder".

yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
Ben There -

"What type of company did you wrong 22 years ago that started this whole mess? You seem to be implying a conspiracy against you so I want to know what was in the package you never got."

auto repair manuals.
Ben There on 08/21/2009:
Just to recap: You ordered something 22 years ago. You never got the product. The post office looked for the scammer for about 5 years, then they gave up, or a conspiracy against you started. Do I have that right?
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
I think you got it spot on. Can you imagine wasting 22 years on this?
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
DebtorBasher

"YFrank...did you read my offer to you?"

if I understood it, you are willing to get me the name and address of the PO Box holder. I already have that, I just do not think it is real.
According to the Chief Postal Inspector, the guy that rented the PO box was not the one that skipped with my money. He is the unknown man the owner of the company sold the business to.
If you would like to skip trace an unknown man, the only information on him I have is, he is unknown. he successfully bought a company without ever giving a name or address. never even appeared in person.
that is not my "conspiracy theory" that is the Chief Postal Inspectors story.
madconsumer on 08/21/2009:
yfrank14, this is all information YOU can gather yourself. it is called public information. you can also for 14.99$ have an in depth search performed. but you do need to have names and such.
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
DB, she doesn't want your help. She would rather drag this around. She'd rather think someone from the post office stole from her rather than she got scammed by some fly by night company. Pretty screwed up, huh?
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
Eloise -
"Because they think that nothing can placate a person who sees a conspiracy when there isn't one. Your wasting too much time on a no win situation! Give it up!"

what is "Operations Support"? Isn't that a simple question? If I asked about the duties of Postal Inspectors, you could tell me, couldn't you? Why does "Operations Support" cause so many problems?
Why is it, no one will touch my complaint as soon as they see "Operations Support"?
I will be more than happy to send you the return address "Operations Support "used, if you would like to research them.
When you are unable to determine why they would handle a request for a PO Box holders name and address and use a Postal Inspectors letter head, perhaps you will see the problem.
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
Your wasting too much time on a no win situation! Give it up!"

yfrank, please, please take your own advice! I think you really need to talk to a doctor about your 'conspiracy theroy' this just isn't a rational way to spend your time.
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
Ben There -

"Just to recap: You ordered something 22 years ago. You never got the product. The post office looked for the scammer for about 5 years, then they gave up, or a conspiracy against you started. Do I have that right?"

No. the USPS was never asked to look for the scammer. A request for the PO Box holders name and address was met with "we have contacted the company" When I asked for the forwarding address they were using , " we have contacted the company", when I asked to speak to her supervisor, "we have been unable to contact the company".
5 years after I complained to the Chief Postal Inspector, he spoke to the guy that rented the PO box and said he was not the guy that skipped with my money. The guy I wanted was an unknown man. When I asked how an unknown man could help with a complaint against the USPS, he refused to respond.
All I want to do is complain about that first employee. I believe there are only two responses to a request for a PO box holders name and address. 1. you release it, 2. you state why it can not be released. The USPS chose to involve them selfs and attempt to speak to the owner of the PO box, I never asked for their help.
Anonymous on 08/21/2009:
22 years and 6 months ago you should have gotten a court order to release the info you needed. Case closed.
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
madconsumer -

"yfrank14, this is all information YOU can gather yourself. it is called public information. you can also for 14.99$ have an in depth search performed. but you do need to have names and such."

I have the name of the USPS employee, well, she is probably dead of old age by now, retired about 17 years ago, but that does not do me any good. I do not have the power of arrest, I do not even have the authority to call personnel and see if she was a Postal Inspector. I need the USPS to do that, but the will not accept the complaint. Again, I do not mean they looked into it and said I was wrong, I mean they will not accept a complaint against an employee of "Operations Support".
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
Eloise

"DB, she doesn't want your help. She would rather drag this around. She'd rather think someone from the post office stole from her rather than she got scammed by some fly by night company. Pretty screwed up, huh?"

first, it's "he".
If the USPS had nothing to do with stealing my money, then I just have a bad customer service complaint. which I would have made 22 years ago, if there was someway to make the complaint, but there is not.
Eloise on 08/21/2009:
I'm done with this. Nothing any of us can say can begin to convince this person that they seeing consiracys that just aren't there!
yfrank14 on 08/21/2009:
here is the letter head the USPS employee used that I would like to complain about.

USPS
Office of the Regional Chief Inspector
Chicago, Il 60607-5401

the person I dealt with signed the letters ,

Supervisor, Operations Support

first letter was dated ,

6-22-87


you are welcomed to try to find any information about Operations Support and why they would use this letter head.

I remain convinced she was not supposed to contact me, use this letterhead or handle a request for a PO Box holders name and address.
Anyone here is welcomed to prove me wrong by digging up anything on Operations Support .

If I felt this was a conspiracy, I would have to believe this site was set up by the USPS to trick me, or trap me or spy on me.
of course, I guess I could be sitting her with a tin foil beanie on to protect me.
PepperElf on 08/21/2009:
I think aliens stole it
jktshff1 on 08/21/2009:
I'm sorry, but you are beating a dead horse.
What you really need is a therapist to help you work through this. You have problems that no one here can help you with or understand.
Do that or just give it up and go away.Good luck.
yfrank14 on 08/22/2009:
there is nothing to work through. in simplest terms, I have a complaint. all I want to do is complain about an employee. if they say she did her job the way she was supposed to, then I would like to complain about USPS policy that requires an employee to not respond to a request for a PO box holders name and address. this is a very simple complaint, the USPS has chosen to drag this out for 22 years. Why would I need therapy for the USPS taking 22 years to process a complaint?
if you wait in line for an hour at the USPS do you need therapy? if you want to complain about waiting an hour, do you need therapy?
If my letter carrier does something wrong, I can walk up to my local postmaster and complain, if the letter carrier was following USPS policy, then I can complain to the postmaster about that policy, why cannot I complain about this employee ? why cannot I complain about the Chief Postal Inspector refusing to speak to me for 5 years?
I work for an American Indian owned casino. If you want to cvomplain about me, I call my supervisor. If you are still not happy, he calls my shift manager. still not happy, you are given the phone number and address of the director of my department.
any one of them can investigate the complaint, review security camera coverage, file a report, and take a written statement from me. still not happy, you can take your complaint through the VP's and up to the CEO. you can also file a written complaint with the gaming commission, which reports to the owners. they can take their own action on a complaint. which could be a reprimand for me or even fired.
my point is, I think all USPS employees should report to supervisors, the one I want to complain about reports to no one, or if she does, they stay well hidden.
there should be a supervisor to speak to or a form you can fill out when you have a complaint.
where I work, you might not like the answer you get to your complaint, but at least you get to speak to someone and you know they took the complaint seriously.
right now, if a USPS employee breaks the law. If you see them break the law, there is no one you can report it to.
what if I am right? what if, a USPS employee set up a phony business in a PO Box, I need therapy because I want to report it?
Again, I am not talking about the USPS taking the complaint and telling me I was wrong. they even told me the person I wanted to complain about did not exist. as soon as she retired, they admitted she existed.
And I need therapy?
22 years is just how long it takes to get a complaint through the USPS. It is a very slow process.
Jane on 04/09/2012:
Well, no actually the USPS gives out other peoples' addresses when it insists you receive other people's mail. They deliver all kinds of junk to my house, not one item is addressed to me.
Close commentsAdd reply
USPS: When The Machine Breaks Down, We Break Down
Posted by on
OHIO -- The recent cutbacks at the U.S. post office, which included early retirement for experienced, dedicated postal carriers, has produced a new breed of carrier (well, at least in my postal district).

Residents here in my district have had a very reliable carrier retire recently. He was a punctual carrier, always willing to make sure his clients receive their mail and packages (especially). Our particular little apartment community are walk in units situated in a small cluster, with mailboxes grouped in the middle of the complex outdoors. Each of the mailboxes have numbers to each apartment unit, so even a child could figure out where to put mail if they wanted to. Inside each numbered mailbox slot are stickers with the names of the present tenant residing at that unit number to make mail delivery even more easier. Along with the individual mail slots there is a package 'box', or depository, whereby tenants are to receive small parcels or medium sized packages. While that box's door is always open, it has a key in the keyhole where, when a package is to be delivered the package is placed inside the box by the carrier, who then takes the key out of the keyhole and places it into the appropriate recipient's mail slot so they may open the package box and take delivery. The key automatically remains in the keyhole for further use.

Sounds fairly simple huh? Not any more. Since our reliable carrier has retired we have had the misfortune of acquiring a new carrier.
Although our new carrier has been on the job for 20 + odd years, she exhibits the type of behavior that any company calling themselves reliable should not retain.

She has 'dumped' other peoples mail into the wrong boxes regardless of the unit number or name affixed. Can she read?

She seems to drag mail out of her mail truck one at a time, which increases the amount of time she spends at each mail stand. Is she tired?

She refuses to deliver packages (of any size) to the recipients door (unlike our former carrier), and even refuses to use the package box, claiming the packages are 'too big', even though the deposit box is large enough. Instead she leaves notices where recipients either have to pick the packages up themselves at the local post office, or call and reschedule delivery (which does not make sense since she probably won't delivery the second time either). A fellow tenant asked her why she did not bring a package to her door, which is just a few yards from the mail stand. The carrier replied, 'you expect me to carry that package to your door?' Is she lazy?

So, is this what the post office has come to, after cutbacks, lay offs, and 'saving money?' Get rid of all the good workers in favor of lazy, non-compliant workers? Makes one wonder if some mail is even being delivered at all (I've been expecting some parcels lately that seem to be taking a long time to arrive).Maybe the parcel was placed in the wrong box somewhere?

This blog, along with formal complaint has been sent to the USPS, and other places of interest. What's going to happen is, at least on my part, I will suspend having deliveries through the USPS, and opt for some other carrier instead, and connect via email whenever possible to avoid or limit postal services (something I've implemented anyway the past few years). Thus, the USPS will lose even more money, and not just from me, but many along this carrier's route (through further investigation I found the very same complaints from other apartment complexes along my area that this carrier 'handles').

Numerous complaints from tenants to the local office that the carrier works went unresolved, and in fact seemed to be shrugged off (as in 'yeah, whatever'). This kind of attitude signals a fast decline for any company, considering the current climate of things in this country. The USPS is a powerful entity, and dismissal of employees only occur when one of them kills someone. This whole business of 'dominating the market' in this type of service is over given the rise of technical outlets and email possibilities.



     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
PepperElf on 06/06/2009:
contact your postmaster with this complaint

not the carrier, go inside and request the postmaster
Anonymous on 06/06/2009:
I agree with Pepper. Go here to find your local postmaster general, in case/he she is not located at the office closest to you.
http://www.usps.com/postmasterfinder/
Close commentsAdd reply
Lies & Refusal To Deliver - USPS 4213 S PORT AVE, CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
Posted by on
CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- I've had horrible experiences with the local post office at

4213 S PORT AVE, CORPUS CHRISTI, TX 78415-9998
(361) 855-6718

I'll explain in two situations which have happened in the last few months...

Situation one...

My family in Alaska sent me 3 large packages for the holidays and the mailman was driving by my house each day without knocking (I work from home). He also didn't leave a pink slip in my mailbox so I had no idea he was doing this until I called my family. They gave me the tracking number and it said he had tried delivery 3 times which was completely untrue. The day after this I hear a vehicle loudly honking outside of my house. I go out on the porch and it's the mailman who quickly jumped out of his truck. He only had 2 of the 3 boxes. I asked him why he had been saying that he tried to deliver when he didn't and why he wasn't leaving my pink slips to let me know and his response was "I don't leave pink slips, I just scan the box and try again the next day". I then asked him how would I know he tried to deliver the package without a pink slip and he said nothing.

After finding this out, I called the post office and spoke to [snip] the manager and reported this. He said "He leaves pink slips" as if he knew that he was leaving them. When I told him that he wasn't and that he admitted it to me he sounded shocked. The end of the story was that I had to go to the post office to pick up my package. He also said that he understood and would talk to him to make sure that my packages were delivered from now on.

The lying about attempted delivery and not even notifying me a package was available would have led to all of my packages being sent back to Alaska. My family spent $100 to mail these items for the holidays for my two young daughters.

Situation two..

Next I order something online. Once again, I'm home all day and no one comes to deliver the package. I sign the pink slip and put a large note on it that says "I was here all day yesterday" and place it back in my box as it asks. 3-4 days go by and that package isn't delivered. Ironically 2 other packages are delivered to my home in the meantime. I called the post office and spoke with the manage [snip] again. I explained that this person lied and didn't try to delivery on Tuesday and was ignoring the pink slip in my mailbox. [snip] said "There's no way for us to deliver to all of the mobile homes". I'm thinking "What? Isn't that what the post office does?". He also said they have been advised to not deliver the packages and just put pink slips into mailboxes so everyone has to come to the post office to pick up their packages. I then asked him why I inconsistently received packages from the post office and he said "I don't know, they must be people not usually on the route".

When I asked him who advised him to say that they wouldn't deliver to our home he then said "I did". I then asked for his supervisors name and he refused only saying "I'm the manager".

We are a one car family with 2 young girls (3 and 14) and going and picking up all of our mail that doesn't fit in our box is ridiculous. If this was an apartment that would be one thing (leaving it at the office) but it isn't. It's a large, mapped out mobile home community. It looks like this post office is just doing what they want because of laziness. The manager, [snip] told me that he would make sure that my packages would be delivered after the first situation and now he's making excuses saying they don't have to deliver here without providing any way to contact a supervisor above him.

I tried to call USPS to report this but all I could get was an hour of looping menus that won't let you talk to a person. When I found the postal inspectors site, it says to contact your local post office with a complain which I've done and gotten no where.

If you could provide contact information to someone above [snip] and this one post office location, I would deeply appreciate it.

Please help someone!
Chris Elliott
     
Add reply
Complaint to Postmaster General is not effective
Posted by on
ALTOOONA, WISCONSIN -- On July 16, 2007, I posted the following comment to this forum, and in response a participant forwarded to me the e-mail address for the Postmaster General. Thank you. On July 27, 2007, I forwarded the following complaint to the Postmaster General at pmgceo@usps.gov.
_________________

"I have an ongoing problem with my business mail not delivered to me. Occasionally, I receive a neighbor's mail. Once when I complained to the post office about missing mail, I was told simply that the rural carrier had delivered all the mail to the wrong boxes as she went down the street (she was off by a box and did not check the address as she made the deliveries) and "that happens." Not even an apology, no idea where my mail went, and no attempt to track it down. Since this is my business mail, missing mail is a serious problem.

The last time I tried to file a complaint with the post office I was given the run around. The local post office told me to get the complaint form from the USPS website, but the complaint form was not available on the USPS website. Of course, the local post office could not help with that problem either.

Most recently, I requested that my mail be held from July 5 through July 7, and delivery resume on July 9. There was no mail in the rural box on the morning of July 9, and later in the day (I never know what time of day the carrier will pick up and deliver) a banded stack of mail with the hold request appeared. Everything seemed fine until I realized I had not received a utility bill (I called the utility on Friday the 13th and they had mailed the bills out on July 6th) nor the July issue of a magazine which should have been delivered by now. I am concerned about other mail sent to me and not delivered of which I may not even be aware.

I did go to the local post office to inquire about my missing mail. They told me there was no mail being held, and offered me a form to file a complaint. However, the only form available specifically stated the mail had been rifled or stolen, which it had not, so I declined to use that form. My rural mailbox is in full view from my office, so theft is not a possibility. The mail simply was not delivered to my box.

How do I go about finding my lost mail? And more importantly, how do I get some accountability and improvement in service from the local post office? The local postmaster just ignores my complaints and makes excuses for the carrier."
___________________

I received no response to my e-mail, and on September 4, 2007, I re-sent the complaint (via e-mail) with a request that someone investigate the problem. Last Friday, the 7th of September, I received a telephone call from Deborah Fuller, who said that she had snail mailed a response to me on August 13. I never received it. Her only solution was that I contact the local consumer affairs office.

What more does the Postmaster General's office need to take this complaint seriously? I do not think Ms. Fuller was untruthful when she claimed to have sent a response by US mail. Even she cannot get mail through to me and that indicates this problem has not been addressed and resolved. I would be interested in other's success with the Postmaster General's office, since most of what I have read on this forum suggests the PMG is the only sure route to getting such delivery problems resolved.

Thank you.

K
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 09/10/2007:
I too have had problems with the USPS. I e-mailed the Postmaster General in late August. About a week later someone from Consumer Affairs called me and started working on the problem. Unfortunately, just last week, my package was, again, delivered to the incorrect address. Consumer Affairs was called, again, and the woman was on vacation. A week later, I am still waiting for a call-back from her. She probably really needs a vacation after having to constantly dealing with the PO. BTW, the consumers affairs office seemed to really care about resolving the problem. It hasn't yet been resolved, so I asked the local PO to hold all my packages and I'll pick them up there--if they actually leave me a notice. It really is a hassle, but I think our hands our tied when it comes to the PO. It's only as good as the employees they hire, unfortunately. I wish you luck in getting the problem resolved in your area.
moneybags on 09/10/2007:
Go to your post office and ask for a Postal Inspector. Ask for an investigation. he PO takes theft of mail very seriously. Could be the mail carrier wanted to read the magazine.
GothicSmurf on 09/10/2007:
I've been having issues with my PO as well. There was a few packages that were never delievered and one that was next day that I had to chase down. I'm really starting to see all mail carriers like Newman on Seinfield.
Anonymous on 09/26/2007:
I understand that a lot of people are or have had problems with the USPS.
I voted your review 'Very Helpful'.
marsha on 07/02/2011:
my mail, on numerous occasions has been delivered to the wrong address. it happens because my number matches the number on a house two streets away from me. I called the post office n my area and was told, " they deliver a thousand pieces of mail and the mail is sorted in numerical order and delivered as such". what does this have to do with being able to read the name of the street correctly along with the house number. read everything , not just the number. due to this error my water billed was not delivered and the water company incurred a $6. interest charge, and was three weeks late. you are increasing the cosst of postage, cutting back n deliveries, thinking of shutting down some locations and yet you can not deliver the mail properly. what are you being paid for? maybe the people would not have a problem with paying more if the service was good and did not deteriorate. get a grip government, and perform like your pay and benefits are really deserving.
nan on 07/15/2013:
we don't have one regular carrier, instead there are 4 ,all but one do their job..However,one is not delivering small packages, which get dropped off at a separate time than the letters, those appear to be getting delivered..however the larger issue it that the carrier does not leave a pick up slip..so we have no idea it's been returned to the PO..then because we do not go get it, the unclaimed package is returned to sender..I have lived at this address for 13yrs and the other carriers,past and present (except for this one)leave all packages at the door..after the first incident ..which by the way had a note on package to leave at door..I place a 9x6 note stating Leave all packages here ..do not return to post office..that didn't even work..since my first complaint to the po, I have had 2 more packages taken back to the PO, again no pickup slip left ..and my local PO just brushes off my complaints..isn't mishandling the mail illegal even if it is by an employee..cause this guy is doing it on purpose..no accident..he doesn't even take the package out of his truck..why isn't he fired.
mike on 07/26/2013:
I don't understand how these ppl get the job?!
Do they not know how to read letters and numbers? I recently ordered something from eBay and they sent it to the wrong address. I made a complaint to the supervisor but he don't seem to care either! I told them to pay for my missing package but they claim its not their fault. WTF! REALLY?! I really want the supervisor and everyone working there fired! By reading everyone's complaint it seems like its hopless! No one seems to care!
Postal employee on 08/07/2013:
I have been reading all of your complaints about the PO. I believe they are justified. Having been an employee at one of the largest processing distribution plants in the country for almost 19 years, I witness first hand the problems that the PO has. I have always believed in providing the best service to every customer who uses our mailing service. It is getting harder to provide the excellent services that us veteran employees are accustomed to. When a new employee walks into our building, they are given little training before they are expected to perform the job. Its all about numbers. Most employees couldn't even tell you the difference between committed mail, that is overnight delivery and non-committed going to another state. Keep in mind that I am at a plant processing mail for the carriers, not dealing with the customer service side that are related to your complaints. With that being said, I believe it is a huge problem down the line. My daughter recently started carrying mail for the PO. She was trained for a 3 or 4 days before being sent on practically a different route every day, at a different station everyday. I am sorry to tell you, it is more than likely going to get worse. In the past year, they have hired a number of people for a newly created position. They are called Postal support employees. They are non-career employees that start at a decent wage, extremely attractive wage to the younger generation. Not to descriminate against the younger generation, but a lot of them are attracted to the starting wages, so in turn, do not further their education. Most of these employees are seriously doing the best job that they can. It is not their fault that they are not properly trained. I kid you not, the PO is the most unrewarding job you could possibly have. I am not talking about the customers, I am talking about how mismanaged that entire place is. I am that employee that does the very best job I can possibly do each and every night. Most supervisors are not trained to deal with people and barely have a highschool diploma. I wish I could resolve all of your issue's, I really do, but I am at a loss myself. Yes, I have a wonderful paying job with some of the best benefits that one could ever imagine having, but the old saying is true. Money cannot buy happiness. If given the choice, I would give up half my pay to enjoy my job. There is a documentary on Netflix abiut the carrier that gave us the name "Going Postal" If you all could view that sometime, it would give you a netter outlook on the life and stress of a postal emplyee. I related to everything in that documentary. There are some emolyees who really do not give a rats ass about anything, like any place you would work, but most employees do care about the customer. Be kind to the carriers. Even your window clerks, or supervisors at a station. They may ot be at fault for problems with your mail. They can only perform their jobs as well as they are trained. I wouldn't even deal with them, you need to take your complaints as high up as you can.
Stacey on 09/09/2013:
My husband and I recently moved 5 miles to a new location. I went to go get my lights transferred over to the new house. the light place gave me my new address from the meter that they had over there. we went put up a new box and things went fine for a month. then we started having trouble. I was to have 3 packages delivered to my box the tracking numbers said they had been delivered I went to my box ... no packages. so I rushed up to the PO the guy was locking the door as I got there. I told him I just wanted him to check and see if my packages where there his reply was I am sorry I can't I have to count my register. needless to say this upset me but I left. the following day my husband went. we where told that the packages had been delivered when we told them no they hadn't a lady behind the counter said she would check into it. 3 days later still no packages and no word from the PO. we were told that the carrier put 1 package in our box, then they told us to check the box next to ours, last time I checked this is a federal offense. however we looked no packages. so we went back talked to the post master this time. He was a real jerk. he told us that our box that we put up had been there for years, he also said that the carrier wouldn't remember how many packages she delivered in our box. then he proceeds to tell me that our address isn't correct. what the crap the light bill place now doesn't know where they have there meters? anyway I told him I delivered mail before and I know how it works he can hold our packages if we leave a not stating that's what we want done. he proceeds to tell me if it fits in my box he is going to have it put in there, then he tells me I am not in the county I delivered mail for, and"HE IS THE POSTMASTER THERE AND WHAT HE SAYS GOES ....GOES" at this point I lose my temper and tell him to his face he is nothing but a glorified paper boy and he may get called master at home but he isn't at home. I also told him that he and postmasters like him are the reason post offices are getting shut down cause his customer service sucks and so did his attitude. my problem isn't solved but I have changed my box to a lock box that only letters can fit in so now he has to hold my packages or face federal charges for tampering with the mail.
RaysZ28 on 12/17/2013:
So I wonder how many of You write to your Representatives about these Issues as well? you know the Do NOTHING Lame dumb asses who keep this organization afloat? Any other Business in America would be shut down with all the complaint I see and it is getting worse. THE USPS can not be relied upon anymore to deliver on its promises. Even the Advertising is false. I have had perishable packages delayed for more than six or seven days, even though they went Priority (3-day). This is fraud to not delivered as guaranteed. Why aren't heads rolling , and why aren't Americans insisting better service?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Christmas Packages Sent Priority Mail Mis-routed
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DALEVILLE, INDIANA -- We mailed a number of packages all over the country for Christmas. Most arrived (Connecticut, Virginia, and Houston, TX) within 3 to 4 days.

Two packages mailed to Daleville, Indiana seemed to have done some extra travel.. both were mailed on December 17th, 2013.. both arrived at the Daleville post office on Dec 20th. One even said 'out for delivery' but two days later it was back in Indianapolis at the sorting center, then on to Ft. Smith, Arkansas, back to Muncie and finally arrived at the delivery address today (Dec 26, 2013). The other package left Daleville and headed back to Indianapolis.. that is the last we have heard of it..

I am on hold to file a complaint.. I suspect the problem is the post office in Daleville.. they must have gotten packages arriving and needing to be delivered with packages people were mailing from there.. that is the only thing that makes any sense..

The packages contained cookies for Christmas.. nothing expensive but it's like the post office went out of it's way to make sure our packages didn't arrive before Christmas! How nice of them, right?

Still trying to get through to main number to find out status on second package.. it was in Daleville 6 days ago and headed out to who knows where..
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
My Package Got Lost
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DAVENPORT, IOWA -- I sent a small package to Costa Rica by Priority Mail on May 14th 2013. After 3 months of waiting for my package to get Costa Rica, finally I realized that something wrong happened with my package. I contacted USPS Customer Service and I tried to file a claim, but they said it wouldn't apply to my package because it was too small. Also they said, that Priority Mail small flat rates don't have any way to track the package, for instance it was impossible to know what happen with my package. Just like that! Too easy for them! But what about me, and the money that I lost on the item that I was shipping to Costa Rica. Do you think that is fair? I trusted in the USPS, I never expect something like that. My package disappeared like in the magical way, neither USPS or Costa Rica mail service can tell me nothing about my package. Nowadays, It is impossible to believe... I think the USPS should do something in order to guaranty customer's satisfaction.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Weedwhacked on 08/21/2013:
The USPS doesn't deliver to Costa Rica. It gets transferred to that country's postal service company. They could have lost it. If you didn't pay for delivery confirmation then that was a risk that you took.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
They Are Costing Me Money Because They Cannot Deliver Packages
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
VICKSBURG, MICHIGAN -- The US Post Office has lost my package twice in the last couple of months. The real joke here is that both packages had tracking on them. That only works if the employee actually scans the package. In both cases I am out the money for the items because I did not insure them. No one at the post office cares either. I will only use them going forward if I have to. I cannot afford to keep replacing items at my cost because their system is clearly incompetent. Only the government could operate like this. A real business would eventually close down.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Package travels 1,150 miles in wrong direction!
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
I mailed a package from Lindsborg, Kansas to California on April 22nd 2013 to the correct address. The package went East 385 miles {not West} to DES MOINES, IA 50395 Depart USPS Sort Facility where it sat for 3 or 4 days. Then it was sent 190 miles to Kansas City. Once at Kansas City it was sent 190 miles back to DES MOINES, IA 50395 ! After traveling 1,150 east of Lindsborg, Kansas it was sent to California. Today is April 30th and the package has still not been delivered! This is not the first time I have experienced this kind of problem with the USPS. I am just 1 person, just think of the other 300,000,000 + people in the US alone who have most likely experienced just 1 experience like this? And Congress shrugs of the USPS loss of $25,000,000 per day. YES, the USPS is losing 25 MILLION dollars each and every day!


Here is the tracking # 9449009699939823591381

Have a look at 6the path of this item!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 04/30/2013:
What kind of delivery is it (Express, Priority, etc)?

Agreed that the indicated path of travel is suspect.
Judy Duvall on 08/01/2013:
I sent a box from Smithfield, Ky. to my daughter in Ft. Collins, CO. on July 18th, 2013. It arrived at DesMoines, Iowa sort facility on July 20th....Not to be seen since, no tracking updates, no response from the complaint center, It has been 15 days and no one is doing anything to find my package which I paid almost $25 to send!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!
Sean on 10/25/2013:
what is it with Des Moines? I sent a package to Cali, it made it there and two days later was in Iowa and has now been "processed" 5 times and nobody can tell me why or where it is. Typical government run operation! everyone has their head up their but and knows nothing!
michelle on 12/29/2013:
I sent a package from Ohio to New Mexico it was to be delivered dec 24th. last updated departing des moine Iowa on dec 21st. no more updates and not delivered 8 days later...
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Mail Is Not Being Deliver to the Correct Address
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- We have been receiving other streets' mail, we have not been getting packages delivered to our apartments and we have to call the postal service and complain.

The companies think that we are lying and doesn't care because of the area we live in. So, all the neighbors have complained and nothing is being done about it. Check your log.

What I am going to do with all respect is to call the news' channel and let them bring you proof that your mail carrier is not giving us our mail. If I involve the news in it, then you will look into it.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 08/11/2012:
Some listings that may help you: KABC-TV, (818) 863-7777; CBS, (818) 655-2000; KTLA, (323) 460-5500; NBC, http://www.nbclosangeles.com
DebtorBasher on 08/11/2012:
Sounds like you may be living on a 'training' route. When we had a lot of mis-delivered mail, I reported it to the post office and that's what they told me, we lived on a training route.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Inconsistent mail delivery
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BERTRAM TX -- First, I'd like to say that I have already talked with the gal behind the counter at the Bertram, TX post office. Subject discussed with the lack of
receiving some mail. Of course, the response was if I get one company's mail then there's nothing wrong with their delivery service. It's the companies. Really.
Verizon mail is inconsistent in delivery.
Allstate mail in inconsistent but one important piece of mail which lead to a collection issue was not delivered. As a matter of fact 2-3 pieces of this type of mail never got to me.
Settlement Notice was sent in January and not received which was a shock. They sent three notices and I finally got the one sent 7-3-12.
Doctor has been sending bills since last Oct '11 and I've not received one statement. Went to collections.

So, if I have this correctly, at least four companies are wrong. Not the post office. The companies whom I've verified have my correct mailing address.

What's scary is that I don't know why other important mail is not getting to me.

I know the counter gals at the post office have no authority to do anything. They didn't offer one solution. They probably don't know how to check into undeliverable mail. Oh, and while I was there I found out they've been holding a package for me. Not notice in my mail box.

This is not customer service. There is no responsibility on their part. They cannot be fired to the best of my knowledge. I take the brunt of their lack of competence.
Kath Long
raku4clay@Yahoo.com
ps: They don't deserve 1 star rating.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 07/12/2012:
The comment that the "type" of mail shouldn't matter rings true, because that makes sense. Is there a chance someone has stolen select pieces of your mail?

I've never had any issue with the Post Office losing or not delivering mail. I can't imagine what solution the PO could come up with, if only you and none of your neighbors has this same problem.
Get a Post Office box that might help! on 07/12/2012:
Remember how Newman wouldn't deliever important pieces of mail out of spite?
DebtorBasher on 07/12/2012:
When you control the mail, you control information!
frak on 07/12/2012:
Skip talking to the people at the counter and conact the USPS in a more formal manner:

https://www.usps.com/customer-service/customer-service.htm

Other sources to contact:

USPS Consumer Advocate
475 L'Enfant Plaza SW
Washington DC 20260-2200

Patrick R. Donahoe
Postmaster General
475 L'Enfant Plaza SW
Washington DC 20260-0010

You have to send actual mail to these two addresses.

As far as your doctor goes, since you never received a single invoice, maybe they had the wrong address. You should talk with them about that AND ask them to withdraw the collections action (which would mean you need to pay them in full).
ok4now on 07/13/2012:
Snail mail is getting worse and the Post Office doesn't seem to care. I don't get my mail until after 4:00 pm, now I know why. Everyday I take my dog for a walk in the afternoon and have observed the mail carriers truck parked in a secluded spot. He is taking a nap!! Also I frequently get my neighbors mail addressed for delivery several blocks away. Apparently the mail carrier only looks at the house numbers but not the street address.

For this reason I pay all of my bills electronically over the computer. Like clockwork they are posted in 48 hours. No snail mail delays or wrong addresses.
CowboyFan on 07/13/2012:
The internet indicates Betram, Texas is a town of about 1,300 people. The Op does not say whether the mail does not get to his house, or if it is a post office box. Some suggestions:

a) Lots of times in rural areas, mail boxes at houses and locations are more difficult to find. Get a p.o. box if you do not have one.

b) Perhaps giving the full 9 digit zip code to the people that you deal with would help.

c) Consider having the mail sent to where you work if that is feasible.
blackcloud925 on 07/13/2012:
Guess I've been lucky in west knoxville, Tennessee.In all these years I only had one water bill that did not arrive and never has. My mailboxes are clearly marked and so are my properties with the green reflective address signs that you get at wallmart for around. 18 dollars. Whirlpool washing machines? not so lucky. wtw4950wx1 top loader, ITS JUNK!!!!!!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >