Preview Review

Next Review

United States Postal Service Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Issues With 2 of 2 Packages
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- Ordered a number of items from Amazon. Most of them shipped UPS. The two that were shipped USPS had problems. Those were the two I KNEW were going to have problems. Isn't it funny how one just knows... The first one, which was a bike light and somewhat fragile, was packed in a beige bubble envelope. It arrived looking like it had been through a wood chipper, open and torn in several places with black streaks all over it. Somehow and I'll never figure out how, the light survived. I should have taken a photo. It was somewhat unbelievable, the damage.

The second package which has yet to arrive, was ordered on 9/22/2015 and shipped on 9/23/2015. Addressed to me in Pittsburgh, PA it was sent from the Lehigh Valley area, PA (about 282 miles due east of Pgh) to Syracuse, NY. Due north of Allentown/Lehigh Valley area. The first, "Eh?!". The "Wuh?!" comes when the package is received and then re sent (within the same day, kudos on that) from Syracuse, NY, but then disappears COMPLETELY off radar for SEVEN DAYS!! I'm assuming the truck driver took a few days R & R en route, somewhere between NY and PA (most likely NY's southern tier around Chautauqua Lake area which is a nice vacation region).

Why the Package left PA to begin with is beyond me. Finally, it reappears in Warrendale, PA at 6:40am yesterday morning, 10/1/2015. Warrendale is 22 miles north of Pgh. Just 22 miles. That's all. It's STILL not here today, 10/2/2015. This where the "What the H**L?!!" comes in. That's ten days since I placed the order. Nine days to travel 282 miles. If I would have known this in the beginning, I would have biked to Allentown and picked up the bike part myself. I would have been there and back six days ago.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Use
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Ordered an item on eBay (espresso tamper). It's been over two weeks. Still don't have it, been at the process facility in New York going on 6 days... I didn't choose to have it shipped USPS, and I'll tell you what after this experience, I will NEVER use USPS again if it's within my ability practically speaking... I tried to call and inquire to determine what was going on and was on hold for over 20 minutes and finally had to hang up because I didn't have time to hang around any longer.

This is supposed to be a branch of our federal government? Our tax dollars are paying for these services? How very unprofessional, shows just how far as a country we've fallen, just like ancient Rome, nothing but lies and corruption everywhere... As the saying goes "You reap what you sow." Spread the word about how horrible USPS and don't give them another dime!

Replies
Missing Mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- For several weeks, my volume of mail had declined significantly. I normally receive a number of magazines some are weekly and others are monthly. In the last several weeks, I have not received any magazines and am missing several weekly ones plus a few monthly versions. I am also starting to miss first class mail such as bills. The Torrance post office cannot be contacted, phone off the hook. The main USPS site is non- responsive, its a voicemail hell of infinite hold times. Since I have to make trips to the bookstore to buy magazines every week now I might as well cancel all of my subscriptions.

Replies
Misleading
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

UNITED STATES -- I sent my elderly father-in-law a package that needed his signature twice, once return receipt and the other was restricted delivery. The restricted delivery was selected b/c it supposedly can only be signed for by the addressee or another with written permission. Signatures are supposed to be legible. "Manager" at location was allowed to sign, without being required to show written permission to accept. Am unsure if the 2 required signatures match each other. Postmaster in Plano gives various explanations. Getting runaround from postal inspection. Customer service kind, but ineffective.

Package was mailed in late June. Still can't get verification that intended recipient got it. Filed insurance claim. Will be interesting to see how they get out of paying that.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible USPS priority mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESTMONT, ILLINOIS -- I had an oversize package need to be sent out of Illinois. I went to the USPS website and was happy to find that the online price of priority package is cheaper than the regular price. So I printed out everything and brought to the local office (Westmont, IL). I was told there that my price was not correct and was charged the difference between the online and regular prices. I called the USPS customer service and was confirmed my price was correct. BUT the customer service said I have to call the local office to get refund. Then I did, the manager was careless and rude. First he said if I get the price online, I should ask for a pick-up. If I brought it to local office, I should pay the price got from an office terminal. What a terrible excuse it is! Later he said since my package has been delivered, he cannot see it to confirm its weight, size, so he would not refund me! This is the worst customer service I have met, next time I will try FedEx or UPS!

Replies
Christmas Packages Sent Priority Mail Mis-routed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALEVILLE, INDIANA -- We mailed a number of packages all over the country for Christmas. Most arrived (Connecticut, Virginia, and Houston, TX) within 3 to 4 days.

Two packages mailed to Daleville, Indiana seemed to have done some extra travel.. both were mailed on December 17th, 2013.. both arrived at the Daleville post office on Dec 20th. One even said 'out for delivery' but two days later it was back in Indianapolis at the sorting center, then on to Ft. Smith, Arkansas, back to Muncie and finally arrived at the delivery address today (Dec 26, 2013). The other package left Daleville and headed back to Indianapolis.. that is the last we have heard of it..

I am on hold to file a complaint.. I suspect the problem is the post office in Daleville.. They must have gotten packages arriving and needing to be delivered with packages people were mailing from there.. that is the only thing that makes any sense..

The packages contained cookies for Christmas.. nothing expensive but it's like the post office went out of its way to make sure our packages didn't arrive before Christmas! How nice of them, right? Still trying to get through to main number to find out status on second package.. It was in Daleville 6 days ago and headed out to who knows where..

Replies
Constantly Harassed by Post Office Employee!
-

I am frequent customer of your downtown location and one of your counter employees seems to have a major chip on her shoulder! I don't know her name but she's the only counter employee of a particular race. Nothing, I repeat nothing, ever meets her standards and she is not nice about it! A few months ago, I had my 3 year old with me. Next to the supply counter is a metal stand with tape and decorative mailing supplies. On this day, my daughter was walking to where I was in line and tripped on the corner of the display. This employee yells at my daughter to stop climbing on the display!

Yesterday, I was shipping something in a flat rate box and there was a slight bulge in the top of the box. Thanks to all the bubble wrap my husband used, the bulge was raised less than half an inch! I have been shipping and receiving packages via USPS priority mail for YEARS and I have been told by the postmaster himself that if it fits in the box and is under 70 lbs, they will act the package. The seals do not have to be flat. The same thing goes for flat rate envelopes. If the item fits in the envelope, it is acceptable. The envelope does not have to be flat.

And wouldn't you know, this darn employee gets made and says the box has to be flat! But yet, she still accepted my package. I having been doing this for years and I know she just has a chip on her shoulder. None of the employees at this location or the Davis branch ever have a problem with my packages. But today...today takes the cake and I have had it. I will not tolerate this woman any longer.

Today I went to ship a package, again in a flat rate box. This time, I made sure there were no bulges. I filled out the shipping label at home but didn't have a delivery confirmation label. It's 95 degrees today and I am 6 months pregnant. I walk inside, grab the DC label intending to write the addressee's name on it while I am in line. I get in line and reach into my bag for a pen and this damn woman, who is the only person working the counter today, yells at me to get out of the line because the DC label has to be filled out beforehand!

So I get out of line and go to the back counter and of course, I forgot my pen! And none of the pens at the counter will work and of course, this woman doesn't have a pen I can use! I left practically in tears and went home and had my husband take the package to another location to ship it! (And I won't get into how pissed my husband is at me right now because I didn't go to the location inside Nob Hill like he told me to.)

This woman really needs some customer service training or a new job! Every single I have dealt with her, she has been on a power trip and she comes off very abrasive! I am seriously considering filing a complaint against her because this is just getting ridiculous now!

Replies
USPS Has really Let Me Down!
-

USPS you've really let me down. Over the last few months, I've been singing praises about your priority mail service, namely how cost effective it is and fast delivery time. And until now, you've always come through and delivered my packages (whether I was the sender or receiver) safely and in a timely manner. And now it looks as though you have lost a package. I knew it was bound to happen sooner or later.

I have had a few scares in the last few months where I would have a package out for delivery yet the mail would arrive sans any packages, and then a few hours later, the doorbell would ring and lo & behold, I would see the mail truck driving away and there was my package next to the mailbox! But not this time. My package was scanned as "Out for delivery" at 8:30 am YESTERDAY. I watched the mail lady delivery my mail and rushed out to get it as soon as she was done, but my package wasn't there and it wasn't delivered a few hours later.

I thought it would show up today but lo & behold, my husband caught the mail lady just as he was leaving for work and again, no package. I went to the post office to find out where the hell my package was and why it hasn't been delivered. And the only thing they could tell me is that they have to talk to the carrier when she returns. And that I should call tomorrow morning between 6-8 am before the carrier has left, to see if they've found my package, and to let them know if I want it delivered or to pick it up myself! I am beyond angry now. There is absolutely no excuse for this!

I don't understand how my package could be allowed to sit on a mail truck for 2 days now! It should be required, if it isn't already, that mail trucks are inspected upon return to make sure all of the day's mail has been delivered! I read somewhere that sometimes packages are delivered by another carrier and that's why they sometimes show up after the regular mail has been delivered. Well this is a small town, there is no way in hell it should take an extra day or 2 to deliver a package. The mail carrier screwed up royally and I can't even hold her accountable!

If I had my way, I would press charges for theft or at least negligence because the post office has determined that at one point or another, my package was on her truck! This really really sucks. I am glad that it's just an inexpensive eBay purchase ($30 shirt) that has been lost and not a check or a credit card. But now whenever I'm expecting a package and it doesn't show up with the regular mail, I'm going to worry that it too has been lost!!! I will be filing a formal complaint against the letter carrier because there is no excuse for this! None whatsoever!

Replies
Advertisement
Birthday Card (with money) Never Received
By -

My mother sent my daughter a birthday card for her 19th birthday. She mailed it from her local post office in Wall, N. J. on Friday, 11/6/09 as soon as they opened in the morning, on her way to work. The card was going to Saint Augustine, FL, hopefully in time for her 11/11 birthday. Well, it is now almost 3 weeks later, and still no birthday card. It was CLEARLY a birthday card... pink envelope, happy birthday sticker on the back, etc. and it contained not only $50 cash, but a $50 gift certificate to Michael's Arts and Crafts store.

On our end, we get our mail everyday directly from the mailman. My husband has a routine where he walks the dog when he hears the post truck pass on the other side of the street and meets our postman at the mailbox to get our mail. So I know it did not get stolen out of our mailbox.

What a shame that the USPS has a bunch of petty thieves working for them. They target mail that looks like it could contain cash or gift cards. And no one can be held accountable anywhere along the way, unless you pay extra for insuring or registering the mail. It is sorta like governmental racketeering - pay extra, or maybe it won't make it to your destination!

Of course, my mom - who is on a fixed income, is devastated and has complained and questioned the USPS in person, on the phone, and via the internet. But of course, there is nothing they can do, nobody wants to hear it, give it more time... One time I sent a card to my grandson and it didn't arrive until a month and a half later, it had been damaged in the machine! (that's what the USPS customer complaint person who finally called her back told her).

I guess the moral of the story is: DO NOT USE THE USPS IF YOU CAN AVOID IT. Pay your bills online. Send email correspondence or call the people you want to talk to, or pay their blackmailing fee if you really want the letter to get there. If you are really feeling like chancing it, take the extra time to completely disguise your letter and maybe you can fool the criminals that sort the mail into not stealing your stuff.

Replies
Internal Mail Theft/Non Replacement of Money Orders
By -

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- On May 16th, 2008, I went to the counter of my local post office and purchased a money order from the post office with the reference number of **. I advised the clerk that I needed to make sure that I could track this mail and get a confirmation when it is delivered. She advised me that the certified mail service would take of my concerns. This letter and money order was going from Jacksonville to Jacksonville.

As of today, the recipient has not received it. I have made several calls to my local postal service. I have made a complaint with the postal inspection reference **. I have made a complaint to the Northeast Florida Consumer Affairs reference ** and to ** that handles complaints for the e Postmaster General office. All of these entities told me that someone would contact me.

On top of that, I was advised that I could put a stop payment on the money order for a fee of $5.20 and wait for 60-90 days to get my money back. All of this is unacceptable, because it was the post office that either lost or stole my mail, which included my money order. I have found out that the post office I utilize already had complaint of thief from others. I want my money back ASAP. This is outrageous.

Today, I spoke with ** at my local post office, which was rude and less than helpful and had the nerves to tell me that she was familiar with the situation and asked me "why was I calling". I am calling because, I have made complaints with several entities about this situation and was promised a callback within one day and it has been two. I am calling about the lack of cooperation and consideration that I have received. I am calling because, I paid for a service that sets my mail apart from the regular mail and I did not get what I paid for.

Apparently, other people have similar situation, which is how I found your email and fax number. In the middle of drafting this email, I just got a phone call from ** from the consumer affairs office. She advised me that the mail has not been located. She also advised me that the post office does not have a way to put a stop payment on the money order that I purchased from them and that I indeed would have to wait that long to receive my money, which is just ridiculous.

This is what I am going to do. I am going to fill out the forms for my money order. I have been trying to figure out a way to not use the post office ever again. I have spoken with UPS and was advised that to mail a letter, I could use the UPS ground service, which would cost about $7.00 for a letter. I will attach a copy of my complaint in every piece of mail that I send to charities, sports entities and any other contact. Surely, no charitable organization needs to purchase a money order from the post office. I am going to make sure that every website that I build has something about my experience with the U.S. Postal Service and the chain emails has proven to be priceless.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United States Postal Service Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
117 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United States Postal Service
475 L'Efant Plaza
South West Washington, DC 20260-0010
202-268-2500 (ph)
202-268-4860 (fax)
www.usps.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services