Value City Furniture - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
67 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Service - Can't Get a Hold of Managers
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TOLEDO, OHIO -- Hi I purchased an icomfort mattress and adjustable box in October of 2013 from Value City in Toledo, Ohio. I was told I would receive a $300 gift card. This is the only reason I paid for the set at that moment. I have not received gift card and have been given the run around with every store visit and office call about the issue. Not one time had an manager apologized for the inconvenience nor have I even spoken to a manager due to they are never available when I call or visit. The customer service reps keep saying the same thing time after time -they will note my account. I don't receive a call back or anything. Now if I don't hear from someone I would like for Value City to just pick up the mattress and I can spend my money else where. I have dealt with Value City for years and this is actually quite ridiculous. I have down about and maybe over $4000 for the set and to have to make many calls over a gift card is ridiculous!!! I will no longer shop at this store and I will never refer anyone either. If the issue is not addressed I will take further action. It's not just about the gift card anymore it goes further than "just" that. I spent my hard earned money in this store and the least I could get is a meeting or call with a manager!!

I've tried to contact corporate about the issue and even that is hard to do. As a business you should try to make a repeat customer happy. I am not satisfied with my last purchase or the customer service!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Damaged Velvet Headboard
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I purchased a velvet headboard from Value City Furniture and the box appeared to be in good shape, no holes or anything. After making arrangements to have this item picked up, I get it home and open the box and it has a big hole in the headboard and someone had patched it up. The supervisor told me that it wasn't his fault that it was the manufacturer. What kind of mess is that, Value City is selling the furniture but when it comes to a damaged item now its not their fault. Anyway after informing them that I will be giving them a review and contacting the BBB, then they tell me they would give me back $25.00 on a $220.00 headboard. Won't be purchasing anything else from them!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
COLUMBUS, OHIO -- I ordered a daybed with a trundle via Value City Furniture's website for my son's room June 26, 2013. They left me an automated message Saturday July 13th and told me they would deliver the bed to my home Monday July 15th. Since I work and was unable to be at home that day, I called them and asked them for a Saturday delivery (July 20th). I was given another automated message Friday, July 19th, telling me to expect the bed between noon and 2pm the next day.

I called them at 3pm on the 20th because the bed had not arrived. They then informed me that the bed was OUT OF STOCK (even though they had initiated two calls to me to set up delivery), and would not be available until August 8th.

I think it is tremendously poor service to schedule delivery of an item not once, but twice, and then make the homeowner wait for a delivery when the item was not even in stock.

I will be cancelling my order (of course they've already charged my credit card) and will be taking my business elsewhere, for this bed and for all future furniture purchases.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 07/20/2013:
Good move. There is another name people call this company by that rhimes with "City". If they don't give you a refund in a timely manner, be prepared to file a dispute with your cc company. You should check with the cc company to see how long you have to file a dispute - I believe it isn't much longer than 2 months.
Value City Furniture on 07/22/2013:
We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience, Andrea. If you would like to discuss the issue further, please contact our corporate customer service team at 1-888-751-8552. We're here to help! Thank you!
Tracy Cools Rockwood, MI on 07/24/2013:
On July 2nd 2013 my mother purchased furniture from the Taylor, Michigan store. She was moving into an apt. that weekend and needed the furniture or wasn't going to buy it. The salesman whom we dealt with (Louis Cintron) promised that the furniture would be there and that she received the last ottoman, which came free with the sectional. Well, come moving day, we went to pick up furniture (because of holiday no delivery available), mind you...my mother rented a truck from 42 miles North of the city she was moving too, and was dropping it off right down the street from her new apartment. When we got to store they told us that our fabulous sales rep (Louis Cintron) had actually had her furniture delivered to Toledo, Ohio....because apparently that's where we wanted to pick it up, yeah right! I mean if we wanted to drive to Ohio to get furniture....we would have BOUGHT IT FROM OHIO, makes sense doesn't it? Well, we had to deal with one rude manager or sales rep after another and finally they gave us a $75 credit WHOOPEE, considering it cost her an extra $120 for the rental truck in gas and miles! We drive all the way to Ohio, and of course the whole set is NOT THERE, no ottoman....again! So they tell my mother that it comes in on July 19 and will be delivered on July 24 (today)....well of course it's not coming! Now they are telling her "sometime in August".....This is absolutely crazy! Why are they selling things that THEY DON'T HAVE???? And what should I do? I'm fed up! It's just an ottoman, but that is sooo not the point! I don't know why I let her even look in that store...me and my husband have bought furniture twice from them, and almost the same situation as this. I'm sick of these salesmen that blow smoke up your butt and aren't even knowledgeable to have it sent to the store it was purchased from....Do they train them or do you just have to be a good liar? My mom has been looking forward to having her COMPLETE living room set that she PAID FOR and just keeps getting screwed around!
Renee on 08/13/2013:
ordered sofa sleeper 7/13/13 set up for pick-up 7/24. Received message back order till 7/31/13. Received message back order till 8/22/13. Called store and was told would get $ 50.00 credit for trouble (item went on sale so they would have had to meet that price anyway) and told me one located in Chicago with my name on it receive no later than 8/17/13. Received message back ordered to 9/6/13. Called 1-888 number and was told that they are only getting about 10 a week and there is a line for them but couldn't tell me where I was in line and that it could be extended past the 9/6/13 date. Credit card was charged day of purchase and I am already paying interest on a sofa I don't have. Terrible business practice!!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Does Not Stand Behind Warranty. Does Not Believe Customer.
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND -- This is my second review - same issue. I did receive a call from corporate headquarters. Even after I was assured they would correct the problem of the leather peeling, they did not want to do what the warranty stated. After a couple calls, I am told we can either have the back replaced for a fee or forfeit the remainder of the 6+ years of the 7 year warranty and they will replace the back for free. We paid the same price for the warranty as they were going to charge us for the new back. We chose to discontinue the warranty because they didn't stand behind it anyway. We will get a new back (hopefully) and that will be that. Even though I mentioned to the corporate office that the two sides did not match (leather and color is different), she simply said that there are discolorations and they are not always the same. We feel certain that the side that is peeling off was one that was previously damaged and they gave it to us. We will not go to Value City Furniture in the future to purchase anything. Customer Service is so very important and they do not have it there.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Loleta on 07/08/2013:
I have also experienced the same thing with Value City Furniture. I purchased 3 rocker recliners, and one of them started peeling. I contacted Value City, and also Corporate. They sent someone out to look at one of my chairs because it had started peeling. Corporate told me that they would replace my backing, but then 3 days later I received a letter saying that they would not replace it. This is true - they do not back their so called warranty. I also purchased a Madrid Queen bedroom set, and the top (which looks like contact paper) started peeling. I will NOT ever buy anything else from Value City.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service? I Apologize
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OHIO -- Would you like a couch? Don't go to Value City. Would you like customer service? Don't go to Value City. Do you want to have nothing but problems after you have place an order? Or do you want to wait for a product to be back ordered continually. If so you want to go to Value City. That is exactly what you will get, and after days, weeks and months of frustration you know what you get? I apologize for the inconvenience. I'm sorry to. That after the dissatisfaction I have received repeatedly I will never step foot in your store again,. and be sure to tell everyone who will listen the horrible service I received. I too work in a customer driven industry usually 2 or more homes a day, people like to talk so I plan to talk about this in every home I go into. NOT TO MENTION DAILY POST ON SOCIAL MEDIA SITES. I am usually pretty even tempered but this is unbelievable to me. they don't care about there customers. or the inconvenience they give to you. DAVE R.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bed warranties
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- We purchased two twin bed mattresses from Value City Furniture and the sales representative NEGLECTED to tell us that YES we had a sleep comfort warranty, but they won't credit us for the purchase - just in store credits. That changes EVERYTHING when you are pricing mattresses!!! Would not have bought from this store if we knew this - other stores we shopped DO NOT do this!!! The bed worked for my husband, but not for me. Unfortunately we bought the most expensive bed they had and now are STUCK with the beds. In store credit is of no value as we will NEVER be going back. They are recommending that we start all over and try to find a bed that works for both of us. Truth is - that's what we tried to do originally - the whole reason we got split twin beds so we could have choices. We do not want a 13" mattress beside an 11" mattress - would look terrible.

Great customer service - "Sorry, we know you tried to get two twins to resolve two different sleep issues (2 twins/King), but pick another one and yes, you won't get your money back so you can just buy more furniture here. Not a good way to Win customers!!!! Why would anyone buy beds here when the sleep warranty doesn't help resolve the money differences in the end. Your purchase price is FINAL!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't bother with warranty - they won't pay
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Since we had full leather damage coverage, we called in the damage we noted on the sofa. After 2+ weeks, a representative from the warranty company came out (he was as rude in person as he was on the phone). You could tell that his sole purpose was to try to find a way to NOT pay for the damage. He told us nothing.. but low and behold.. 3-4 weeks MORE (a total of almost 8 weeks later) we got a letter saying it was denied. There was only one spot peeling and the rest of the sofa was well kept but still they denied.

Never again will VCF see any of my business. Absolutely atrocious!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 10/23/2012:
There are lots of complaints online about the Value City leather and fabric protection plans - they sound like a waste of money, and the fact people are trying to make claims makes me wonder about the initial quality of the product.
Value City Furniture on 10/26/2012:
I'm so sorry that this is the experience you've had. We hope that you are satisfied with the resolution that was reached between you and our customer service team. If you need further assistance, please email us at vcf.facebookfans@vcf.com. Thank you!
ML on 12/10/2012:
Hi,
This comment is for vcf rep attending this blog. I am in a similar situation. we recently filed a claim in nov 2012, regarding a tear/rip we noticed on my sofa. warranty company dispatched a rep to inspect the damages. after a few days when we called in to check on the status of our claim, we were told that our claim was denied because of accumulation of damaages. we were so surprised, especially because we called immediately after we noticed the tear. about a year ago, we had called for slight cracks we had noticed on our sofa, then too they had denied saying that it is not covered in the warranty. Now they are saying that this is accumulating. they didn't repair our sofa in the first place and are now blaming it on us. We are going to the harassment of calling them everyday to see if someone will listen to us especially since we did our part of reporting to them each time something was noticed. But they keep turning us down. VCF is the last place to shop for us.
vic on 05/20/2013:
I just went through this with my leather set. I called over 3 months ago to put in a claim for my couch..let them know that the leather was pealing in several areas. It took 2 weeks for someone to take a look at it and it was confirmed that it would be taken care of. I was just told after calling them that basically I am out of luck because they no longer make this set so they can not fix it ..But they are willing to give me $80 toward a new couch...I can not afford to buy a new couch... how do I tell my wife that we will not have a couch here in the near future.. I will never deal with VCF again...I am very upset a disappointed in the quality of the furniture and the customer service....
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Biggest rip off
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GREEN BROOK, NEW JERSEY -- We signed the contract and paid in full for a set of power reclining sofas. A day later we were contacted by the sales person saying the price was only for manual reclining and that power recline would be $309 more. We had to cancel the contract because they were not willing to "eat the loss". I looked these people up on Better Business Bureau and they had an awful rating! I should have done that in the first place and saved myself the heart ache. The manager actually said to me that I was threatening him when I said I would post my experience on-line. I don't do threats. I just hope this posting helps other people/consumers.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
SteveWiginowski on 04/27/2012:
Very helpful review. It seems like you handled this very well and I agree that you didn't threaten him, you just said what you were going to do (which you did do as seen with the post here).
Nohandle on 04/27/2012:
What was the total price on the contract for the set of power reclining sofas? If the price was too good to be true a $309.00 loss might have honestly put them in the red on your particular sale. Agreed, the salesperson royally messed up. If the price quoted you would have made them *break even* with no profit whatsoever that's one thing. Add another $309.00 and a business person would have had to ask himself if it was worth $309.00 to his business to keep a customer happy.

I was not privy to the actual conversation between you and the manager so I don't know what was said. He might have taken it as a threat and you took it as a promise because you didn't get the signed contract price. AND, don't pay much attention to BBB. If you belong and pay your membership fees nothing, to my knowledge, is ever mentioned in a derogatory manner. They lost their credibility many years ago because of that practice.
SteveWiginowski on 04/27/2012:
NoHandle, I've tried to look at complaints made at the BBB website, but I can only see that complaints have been made against certain companies, but not the actual complain.

I'm going to be filing one (and on Angie's list as well) against a company soon. I wanted to see if others experienced what I did based on the complaints on the BBB.
Nohandle on 04/27/2012:
Drag up a chair and let us chat Steve. I don't personally have anything against BBB but a rep wanting our company to sign on a membership, somewhat costly, boasted he could tell me anything about a company. Fine, I gave him the name of a well known local company and he ran a search. His results were absolutely pristine and this was with BBB. Thank you, but no. Everyone in this area was fed up with the company. They had sent complaints to BBB since they knew the company was a member. Nothing appeared of an unfavorable nature. Wonder why?

You guessed it. That same company owed my company a sizeable amount. Promise after promise for payment which had gone on for months and all we wanted was to be paid. Our calls were ignored after a while and nothing but a answering machine. We learned our lesson and after nearly a year were paid. They even took a 2% prompt pay discount. Talk about nerve.

Nope, I don't give any value to BBB. If you are a member nothing is shared of an unfavorable nature. Do what you wish with that information.
trmn8r on 04/27/2012:
The BBB *can* be useful when a company *isn't* a member. I have had them resolve complaints for me against multiple companies and I recovered several hundreds of dollars.

I do agree that is companies are members of the BBB, they somehow earn crystal clean ratings even though they have hundreds of complaints. Therefore, when I see "A" or "A+" I pretty much throw it out as useless information. When I see "C-" or "F" that is a completely different matter.

As to this complaint, it sounds like the salesperson made a mistake. I don't see why the store should "eat the loss" though.
SteveWiginowski on 04/27/2012:
NoHandle, I appreciate the information. When they came in for their sales pitch, they said there was only 1 complaint against them (unresolved) on the BBB and explained the circumstances (making it sounds like a foolish complaint). My complaint against this company would make it 2 complaints, and I feel mine is legit.

I'm not going to post it here quite yet, since I am getting a lawyer involved. Once everything does get resolved, I may post it here, but will absolutely post on BBB and most importantly, Angie's List.
Value City Furniture Feedback on 05/01/2012:
I would like to start with saying I am sorry for any inconvenience you have had. I do see that your sale was entered for a Power Sofa and a Manual Loveseat. You were given the manual sofa and manual loveseat Pricing. However for your troubles and our error we will be happy to honor the pricing and reinstate your original sale. Please feel free to email me at Feedback@valuecitynj.com with any questions or concerns. I would also like you to know that the Value City Furnitures in New Jersey are a different company from the other Value City Furniture/department stores that are located in several other states and the BBB reviews that you are reading are for the other company. Once again if there is anything else I can help you with please feel free to contact us.
broken furniture on 03/20/2013:
I would like to add that had I gone on line and looked at reviews I wouldn't have bought furniture from Value City. I am in new Jersey and just received my furniture a week ago and the problems have started....They delivered the couch and I tested to make sure it wasn't falling apart (I should have had an inspector here to check it). As I was sitting on couch it felt like I was leaning to one side so I had others check it out without saying anything to them and they said the same thing. So we started checking it out and there were several problems so a technician was sent out and said nothing was wrong and it was up to factory standards. So I had someone with furniture knowledge take a look at it and good thing I did because not only was the couch damaged but it could have burnt down the house because there were two staples going through the power cord which made it past the factory inspector, the installer and the technician. Now I'm stuck with a broken new couch that I didn't even have for a week. I don't want their broken furniture in my house to have person after person to come and check it out I WANT IT OUT.....
Close commentsAdd reply
Lost table
Posted by on
ESSEX, MARYLAND -- I bought a whole livingroom set and 2 wooden tables for my basement. When ALL the furniture was delivered (except one of the wooden tables)and set up. I asked about the second table that was paid for. They said the people in the store couldn't find it. I wanted to take 2 of them at the time of order, but they wouldn't let me. Now I am missing a table and they don't sell them any more. They can't find one anywhere. They had to have sold the table I already paid for to someone else. Next time I'm taking what ever it is right off the showroom floor before they have time to sell to another person.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Value City Furniture on 01/31/2012:
I am so sorry that happened and definitely want to help. I work for Value City Furniture and manage their social channels. Please email me at vcf.facebookfans@vcf.com. I will get your information to our corporate customer service team asap. Thanks again!
Close commentsAdd reply
Awful Customer Service
Posted by on
NOVI, MICHIGAN -- I ordered a bedroom set in December 2010. The first time that they came to deliver in their two hour window they were late.. and of course one of the pieces that was delivered was broken. Had to set up another two hour window which they were late again and then came with the incorrect furniture and I had to set up another two hour window. AGAIN they were late and this time by over two hours. I had to reschedule AGAIN and really you would think that I wouldn't be surprised but they were late again and this time by over three hours...and they are still not here. I have to say by far the WORST customer service place I have ever dealt with.. I WOULD STRONGLY SUGGEST NEVER BUYING ANYTHING FROM HERE!!! They have poor customer service and their employees do nothing. IT has been the worst experience I have ever had dealing with any company.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >